Hill's Prescription Diet i/d Digestive Care Chicken Flavor Dry Cat Food

List Price: $50.49
Price: $36.85 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping at $49
You Save: $13.64 (27%)
In Stock
8.5-lb bag
  • 4-lb bag
  • 8.5-lb bag

Product Description

Dietary indiscretion, food allergies, or lack of digestive enzymes can affect your cat's digestive health. Efficient digestion is essential for your cat to be able to build and repair tissues and obtain energy, and for these reasons it is important to feed a food that is formulated to help support digestive health. Hill's nutritionists & veterinarians developed Prescription Diet i/d clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your cat's digestive health. In fact, i/d is clinically proven nutrition that helps improve digestion & stool quality.

Key Benefits

  • Replaces lost nutrients
  • Ensures easy nutrient absorption
  • Supports a healthy immune system
  • Meets the special nutritional needs of kittens
  • Highly digestible
  • High in electrolytes & B vitamins
  • Optimal blend of soluble & insoluble fiber
  • Enriched with omega-3 fatty acids
  • Clinically proven antioxidants
  • Made in the USA

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69848
Food Form
  • Dry Food
Special Diet
  • Sensitive Digestion
  • Prescription Food
Brand
  • Science Diet
  • Hill's Science Diet
Made in
  • United States
Lifestage
  • Adult
  • All Stages

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Ingredients

Chicken by-product meal, brewers rice, corn gluten meal, whole grain corn, pork fat, egg product, pea protein, pea fiber, chicken liver flavor, lactic acid, potassium chloride, calcium sulfate, choline chloride, dried beet pulp, dl-methionine, iodized salt, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, riboflavin supplement, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement), taurine, minerals (ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), mixed tocopherols for freshness, natural flavors, beta-carotene

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 73 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dry food dilemma My cat was prescribed Hill's i/d and started on the canned food. She like that so I took a chance and ordered the 4 lb. bag of dry food as she eats both. I was relieved she actually likes the dry food as well as she often turns her nose up at healthier dry foods. My other two cats like it too so I will feed the i/d to all the cats. February 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Satisfied! I couldn't have been happier with not only the speedy shipment, but the offer chewy.com has for me to have my order scheduled to arrive every so often as I schedule the shipment! And since the food is a prescription diet, they contacted my veterinarian office for me to confirm my permission to purchase! Absolutely love the communication with this website. I couldn't be happier ordering anywhere else!! January 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only food cat would keep down. We have three younger cats. After a year or so on Blue Buffalo one cat started regurgitating every meal. We have always delt with occasional regurgitating but suddenly one of the cats couldn't hold any food down. After a check with the vet and trying several over the counter foods we ended up on Science Diet i/d. We also started using slow feed bowls to make sure they were eating slower. It has been a huge improvement. Minimal regurgitating. So we will stick with it. I have set up an automatic shipment so I hope that saves us some money and trips to the vet since the pets stores can't sell it. January 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cats love it, perhaps too much ! I have two cats, one of which started throwing up a lot on SD Sensative Stomach. The vet suggested trying I/d. Both cats like it a lot, so much so that overeating has become a slight issue. My one cat that was throwing up a lot has definitely had less issues since the switch to I/d. She is also getting steroid shots at the vet, so it is hard to say which is having the biggest impact, but I can say for sure that both cats love the I/d. January 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prescription Cat Food Order Chewy.com got me my cat food fast so I didn't have to buy another bag at the expensive vet! Thanks Chewy! Food works miracles for my cat with pancreatitis! Great product and great service! January 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Resolved most issues in days Thanks Chewy, for getting the prescription issue with my vet resolved and then timely sending my order. Your price was considerably lower than what I would have been charged elsewhere. Happily my cats digestive issues seem to be clearing away and she is much more comfortable. January 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the best food for our cats because it is gentle on their stomachs We are very happy with this food because it helps aid in gentle digestion in our cats. We tried other brands and flavors but this one far outshined the others in helping prevent upset tummies. January 17, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cats don't like it This food was prescribed for 2 of my 3 cats. The oldest will eat it if I hand-feed him but for some reason will not eat it on his own. He always ate his other food happily on his own, except one other time when he was on s/d food, then it was the same scenerio. The one cat that doesn't need this food (I was told by the vet I could feed this to her as well) won't touch it. The youngest will peck at the food half-heartedly. 3 cats and none of them like it. They do however love the canned version of this food. I was also told by the vet this food CANNOT be used long-term, only til the diarrhea stops then slowly transition back to other food. Yet the bag says precisely balanced to meet the special nutritional needs of kittens and cats......???? October 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seems to Work I adopted a cat from a shelter, not realizing just how terribly ill she was. She had every parasite, worm and bacteria known to man, was severely malnourished, so tiny and fragile...she weighed 4.5 lbs at 3 yrs old. After getting all the bugs cleared out, she was still unable to process food and had constant diarrhea with regular vomiting. In full panic mode, I took her back to the vet who suggested another prescription high fiber food, dry and wet, but my little one didn't like it and stopped eating. Given her condition, she HAD to eat. Another emergency vet visit, and this food was a last hope before specialists were required. It took a couple of weeks to get her intestines scrubbed out, but after a massive blow-out of awful black sludge, now my baby is not having accidents and has started to give me formed poo. She really likes the food so is gaining weight, her fur is softer and shinier, and she's running and playing! The big boy cat I adopted at the same time likes this food as well and is growing too. This food has been a miracle for us. I love the Chewy Autoship option too. Never running out of this food is very important around our house! May 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by All the kitties love this product I purchased the dry food because one of my cats is has got chronic IBD. It's fairly easy to see that he gets the I/D wet food, but there was no way to put out regular dry food for my other 4 kitties and not have him get into it. I know it's very expensive, but I had to buy a bag and use it for all my cats so that my Teddy Baer would not eat something that would upset his stomach. Teddy's IBD should settle down by the time the bag is gone so he can go back on a regular diet. All the kitties love this food. So, if you need to feed your cat this I/D diet, be assured that there will not be any going to waste. LOL! November 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by good product so far very helpful in the GI health of our cats. Think it will be a successful food for them. December 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cats love this food! When one of my cats had stomach issues, the vet recommended this food. My cat is now feeling better and doing great. December 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product keeps my cat in a healthy balance. Website was easy to navigate, product was available and came in a timely manner. Thank you. November 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gus, Maine Coon Loves Chewy.com! If you have a Maine Coon or other cat with possible constipation and want to avoid Megacolon, then get your vet to order this cat food. We tried High Fiber but turned out it was not the best choice. After some consultation (Vet to Vet) they recommended Hill's Prescription Diet i/d Feline Gastrointestinal Health Dry Cat Food. Food is "low residue" and now our cat, Gus, does not strain. Has regular BM's. It was the answer to our concerns. We couldn't get the large bag at local store so looked on-line. Chewy.com had best price and will deliver free at scheduled intervals. Can't ask for better than that! I even sent Chewy a picture of Gus (in the Chewy box) after we received our 1st delivery. And another of him eating the food. he is 25 lbs! GUS Loves Chewy.com! November 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice size pellets My cat has been having diarrhea and occasional vomiting for about a year. My veterinarian put my cat on this for a month to see how he does. He had a steroid shot, fluids, loperamide pills and a food change. He's been on this food for four days. For the first two days he liked it, but now he'll just eat a teaspoon and leave. Most of the time he rejected it. He will drink the juice if I add distilled water. But so far he has rejected both the dry and the i/d canned chicken. August 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2 contented kitties Our vet recommended this dry food for 1 of our Abyssinian kitties when she was going through inflammation gastrointestinal symptoms a few years ago. Cinderella "Cinder" has been maintained on this diet without any further problems. Our boy Abyssinian kitty, Pumpkin, could not help himself and decided to be maintained on this diet as well. September 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Quality My kittens were put on this food after having parasites and serious GI issues. Within 2 days they were back to having normal bowel movements. They enjoying eating it and I feel like I'm giving them something nutritious. They are at an ideal weight and their fur is soft and shiny. I will continue to give my fur babies this food. I was ordering it from my vet but found it at a better price on Chewy and I have it auto shipped. This makes my life so much easier not having to think about it. I have done auto ship with other websites but nothing compares to Chewy. Their customer service is excellent. Everyone in my family orders from Chewy. I will continue to shop here for all my pets needs March 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice We adopted an 11 yr old adult cat. His previous owner stated that he needed this special food. She gave us some, but I was happy to be able to order it online . Saved me an unnecessary trip to the vet. Our cat was seen recently. September 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cats love it! Both of my cats love it, even the finicky eater gobbles it up. The crunchiness of the product makes me think it's good for their teeth. August 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved a lot of mess! Our little adopted Benny cat started having digestion problems after a series of antibiotics that never seemed to clear after many food changes and many vet visits. Finally!!!!! We found the food that keeps his stools solid. Plus, it's good for him overall. August 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by like how the pieces are smaller My cat is picky she didn't seem to want the dry as much as the wet kind but she is slowly starting to eat it when i add a little bit to her wet. July 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This a prescription diet Bailey, my beautiful Siamese has a inflammatory bowel and does well with the Hills I/D July 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a Wonderful Product!!!! My cat has thrown up since I got him when he was 5 months old and he's now 11 years old. In the past few months I changed vets and the new vet recommended both the dry and the wet food described above. It was like a miracle happened, and he's nearly stopped throwing up. He must have a very sensitive stomach, and even though I tried to give him food for sensitive systems, I didn't know that a prescription food would be so wonderful for him. I am so grateful that this food was suggested to me by my vet!!! And I think my cat is even more grateful! November 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by My cat loves it My cat Simba had been very sick to his stomach and looking miserable. He had no energy, looked depressed and he was losing weight and vomiting everything he ate up. We were worried he was going to die soon if it continued. We were desperate to find out what was wrong with him. We were feeding him the best wet food money could buy, the stuff that's more expensive than people food, and he was still getting sick each and every time, slowly losing his will to even eat. Luckily we were able to get him in to see a vet, and she told us to try this food, both the wet and dry versions, and he has not vomited but twice in the last month or so. (And he only vomited because he hoarded his dry food after he got a bit hungry overnight. So he gets wet food first thing in the morning from now on). He's gained his weight back. His coat is soft and shiny and he's well-hydrated. He's more lively than he's been in ages and he's 13 this month! Ideally Simba would be on that very expensive wet food that's low carb and has only the best ingredients. I love my cat and want him to live a long life, and some of the ingredients in this food just sound less than ideal. But the fact is, he's not vomiting and he feels good. So really that is all I can ask for and I'm grateful that we found something that will not upset his stomach like the premium wet cat foods were. Sometimes you just have to do what works for you pet because their quality of life is really what matters. December 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works well for cats with IBS & diarrhea My cat has IBS & had very watery diarrhea. This product helped immensely with these problems. June 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by ID Dry for Cats Very good, my cat loves it. I plan on ordering another bag as soon as this one is finished. June 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Products is great My cat was very sick losing weight, and the runs. Since I started him on these products I have seen a big difference in him. He is gaining weight and doesn't have the runs. I highly recommend these products. May 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really helped my cats! My oldest cat kept eating and throwing up. She started getting skinny so I took her to the vet. The Dr suggested this food and it did the trick! No more throwing up and she started putting on weight. Its expensive but totally worth it. I use it for both my cats now. Plus I noticed they don't need to eat as much so I don't have to buy as much. February 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great food - my cat likes it too! My cat has IBD, and needs to eat this food. Fortunately he really seems to like this. This food works, and sits very well with him. The only things keeping me from giving it 5 stars is the price (it is expensive, but my cat is definitely worth it) and I wish the first ingredients were not by-products and grains. It does work though, and has really helped my cat. January 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This food saved my relationship with Molly My persian cat Molly apparently couldn't digest properly. I tried a slew of foods for GI sensitive cats, including cooking food myself according to recipes for sensitive stomachs, and NOTHING worked. She vomited constantly, and was always constipated. Then I found this brand and I'm happy to report that since feeding it to Molly, I no longer have to clean up her vomit, and her excretory functions have normalized. October 20, 2014
  • 2016-05-29 T05:29:52.044-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_73, tr_73
  • loc_en_US, sid_69645, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 next>>