Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Canned Cat Food, 5.5-oz, case of 24

List Price: $64.99
Price: $45.58 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping at $49
You Save: $19.41 (30%)
In Stock

Product Description

Kidneys are important because they remove waste substances from the blood, and maintain the normal balance of fluid and minerals within the body. Once kidney damage occurs, the consequences are usually irreversible. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet k/d, clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your cat's kidney health. In fact, k/d is clinically tested nutrition to improve & lengthen quality of life.

Key Benefits

  • Protects vital kidney & heart function
  • Boosts vitality & energy
  • Supports appetite & eating enjoyment
  • Sustains healthy body condition
  • Targeted levels of high quality protein
  • Controlled phosphorus
  • Low sodium
  • Lean muscle support complex

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69844
Food Form
  • Wet Food
Brand
  • Science Diet
  • Hill's Science Diet
Country of Origin
  • United States
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
Lifestage
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Ingredients

Water, pork liver, chicken, pork by-products, brewers rice, oat fiber, corn starch, chicken fat, dextrose, potassium citrate, psyllium seed husk, guar gum, calcium carbonate, calcium sulfate, fish oil, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, thiamine mononitrate, ascorbic acid (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, calcium pantothenate, vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, biotin, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid), dl-methionine, choline chloride, taurine, iodized salt, cysteine, glycine, minerals (zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), beta-carotene

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 110 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by My ill Maine Coon does well on this. Our 13 year old cat was diagnosed with fluid on the lungs and possible heart failure. He has been put on various meds and the vet prescribed this Hills kd food to protect his kidneys. He eats one to 1 to 1 1/2 food tins daily (5.5 oz chicken) with the dry food and is doing much better. We tried him on the smaller chicken with vegetable tin which he'll eat but he seems to prefer the consistency of the larger tin. March 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cats love it I wasn't sure if they'd like this as they're more into the stew dishes but they both love this. March 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Fussy Feline Adores this Product My cat has a kidney ailment but gobbles this up, even though I mix his Meds in with it. I have to lock the other cat in the other room or they'll fight over it. What little remnants are left I leave out for the raccoons and they polish the can until it shines. This is great stuff. The fish flavor is popular with my furry charges as well. March 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finicky Cat I have the most finicky cat in the world. I have to go extra steps to get him to eat. He is now eating the pate and doing well with it. March 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by You'd think catnip was a secret ingredient! our cat loves this so much, she will actually sit in front of the fridge until we give her more. The vet said she might tire of it, but so far, she's licking the bowl clean every time. February 17, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Cat Likes It My elderly cat lost alot of weight & is always hungry but she is missing some teeth. The Hill's kidney diet was recommended by my veterinarian. It is easy to digest & my cat likes the taste. I'm glad I found something to keep her happy. I sometimes mix in a spoonful of another flavor of wet catfood to change up the taste for her. February 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by good for health Once the prescription was to Chewy we were able to have the food shipped. Our one cat is in need of this variety of food. It is very easy to do as we live north and south each year. It works really well. Thank you February 12, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good cat food My cat has kidney disease and has been eating this but I have to add some chicken broth to entice her to eat it (and she does). January 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat's kidneys purr My vet put all three of my cats (9-12 years old) on this PLUS has me mix water in with it, since felines don't drink enough. She says, technically, all cats should be on wet food as a preemptive measure. The cats love it. I just don't like the smell and prep. January 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by He likes it! Getting cats to eat a prescription diet can be trying at the best of times. And when your cat has Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) and you are hoping he lives as long as possible, you are desperate to find a kidney diet he will eat! Luckily, The Zach Attack (or "Zach" for short) loves k/d wet food. He has an esophageal problem, and cannot eat the kibble, which he would actually prefer. So finding something he likes and eats is important. Cats can be finicky, and I know some cats won't touch this stuff - but I know I'm happy with the product, and so is Zach. December 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stabilized Kidney Condition in Elderly Cat On recommendation of my vet, I bought Hill Prescription k/d for my old kitty. Murphy's lost 25% efficiency in his kidneys but for 17, that's not all bad. The Hills enabled him to stabilize with 48 hours and he can't get enough of the chicken pate. Add the second-to-none customer service from Chewy.com, and my beloved animal companion will be with me well into the New Year--for which I'm profoundly thankful. Thanks! John December 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just starting. My cat just began eating the k/d food. She has been eating turkey and chicken with gravy, so she turned her nose up at the k/d. I started mixing a bit of the k/d with the gravy food and she has begun eating it. I hope to be able to withdraw all the turkey & chicken w/gravy as I add more of the k/d. If that doesn't work, I will need advice on that to do. January 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cats LOVE It! My 13 and 14 year old cats love the food and it doesn't smell awful like the Ocean Fish flavor. Win-Win for all! January 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat likes it Feline renal food has begun to get more flavor and texture options over the last year. While my cat enjoys this, she still likes the standard chicken flavor pate. This is a little softer than most other canned pate I'm used to, but she doesn't mind. December 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by This she eats. We first tried the chicken&veg and tuna@veg stews, but she wasn't interested in them. She would ignore them in favor of the other cats' food. She would eventually eat a stew, but only after the other food was consumed. This she will eat right off. She will still swipe the other food, but at least she starts off with the right stuff. December 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat loves it! My cat loves this flavor! Processing as a prescription was super convenient! December 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful product!!! This product seems to be a miracle product. Not only does my cat LOVE it, it also seems to be making a huge difference. Living with a cat with kidney disease is not easy, but this food is helping my boy. kD wet food paired with the fluids we inject in him daily have helped to keep his BUN down from 100+ to 40!!! Totally recommend! November 10, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Paws down Ate it a couple days now just snub it, won't even eat a little bit. November 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Cat Barely Eats This My title says all. She will only nibble on it when desperate. November 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best of class Lowest phosphorus by dry weight analysis available, most palatable of all CKD prescription foods tried so far (also recommend hills tuna stew k/d for paletabillity - although fish protein in general is not desirable hill's fills in the amino acid hole with additional ingredients) Cat must eat! Try them all, mix them with other low phosphorus foods like hill's chicken, turkey or beef dinner. don't let your cat lose weight because he doesn't like the food. September 24, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by WON'T EAT THE REFUSES TO EAT ALL WET CAN K/D FOOD. ONLY EATS THE DRY FOOD. November 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by good food, great price, great service My cat loves it and it is very nutritious. The price and delivery was all I could ask for. November 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Saving money is always good if not Great. We are using it on all of our cats and some time the dogs like it too. Our cats are not well and they need to use this product. October 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Veterinarian recommended this product because my 14 year old cat has early stage renal insufficiency. This food seems to have helped and she eats it without any problem. I buy it from Chewy's because it is less expensive than at the Vet. Also, this is a prescription food so Chewy's will either need to contact your Vet or you can take a picture of your prescription card and email it or fax it to them...This was not a hassle- I just took a picture of the prescription card and emailed it. September 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cat enjoys food. My cat seems to be gobbling up the new food and putting on weight. He meows for more when he gets his portion finished. October 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Shoot! Kitty HATES this I ordered this food not realizing that it was a different product than what Lola had eaten before. There is another type of K/D that comes in smaller cans, which she had eaten in the past. This product has a loose but kinda gummy consistency, which cat will NOT touch. I thought I was ordering the smaller can, a different product -- I will have to research this so I do it right the next time, and I'm embarrassed to have to talk to the nice people at Chewy AGAIN... August 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Product Is Reliable My cat, who has become exceptionally fussy and who is losing her appetite, did not respond favorably. This situation, of course, is no reflection of the product's quality. She adores the K/D Chicken and Vegetable Stew. Not much more I can cay. September 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ocean Fish vs. Chicken I ordered a case of 24 of both chicken and ocean fish not knowing if the change in our kitty's food would be welcomed. It turns out she loves the ocean fish and won't eat the chicken. There isn't anything wrong with the chicken, she just prefers the ocean fish. In fact a couple of our cats that don't need a kidney diet seem to like the chicken. August 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by my cat doesn't like it I have to mix it with the Hill's Prescription AD or he will not go near it. If it weren't recommended by my vet to place my cat on a kidney diet, I would not buy this product It would just go to waste. September 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Calvin likes it The quality is good, but he is picky... It's hard to get him to eat this at times... September 4, 2015
  • 2016-05-24 T05:28:30.693-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_110, tr_110
  • loc_en_US, sid_69648, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>