Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Dry Cat Food

List Price: $61.99
Price: $43.16 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping at $49
You Save: $18.83 (30%)
In Stock
8.5-lb bag
  • 4-lb bag
  • 8.5-lb bag

Product Description

Kidneys are important because they remove waste substances from the blood, and maintain the normal balance of fluid and minerals within the body. Once kidney damage occurs, the consequences are usually irreversible. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet k/d, clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your cat's kidney health. In fact, k/d is clinically tested nutrition to improve and lengthen quality of life.

Key Benefits

  • Protects vital kidney & heart function
  • Boosts vitality & energy
  • Supports appetite & eating enjoyment
  • Sustains healthy body condition
  • Targeted levels of high quality protein
  • Controlled phosphorus
  • Low sodium
  • Lean muscle support complex
  • Made in the USA

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69843
Food Form
  • Dry Food
Brand
  • Science Diet
  • Hill's Science Diet
Country of Origin
  • United States
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
Lifestage
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Ingredients

Chicken, brewers rice, corn gluten meal, whole grain wheat, pork fat, brown rice, wheat gluten, chicken liver flavor, dried beet pulp, flaxseed, egg product, lactic acid, calcium carbonate, soybean oil, potassium chloride, choline chloride, potassium citrate, dl-methionine, dicalcium phosphate, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, riboflavin supplement, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement), taurine, l-lysine, calcium sulfate, minerals (ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), mixed tocopherols for freshness, l-tryptophan, iodized salt, natural flavors, beta-carotene

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 174 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kidney care food that both my cats like! One of my cats has kidney failure, the other doesn't. I free feed dry food in addition to wet, and so I opted for this food my vet prescribed. The great part is that even the healthy cat loves it! This despite the fact that it's chicken flavor -- they've never previously liked anything that wasn't fish. It's pricey, but with two 14-year-old cats, nutrition makes a HUGE difference. April 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service Our first order from Chewy had a case of canned KD cat food that had leaked and was very messy. I called and it was replaced in two days. Thanks for the great service -- I'll be back when I need more food! April 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cats love taste Needed this prescription kidney diet for one cat but checked with vet and was advised it was ok for my 3 other cats. They all love the taste of it. Have only been feeding them a couple of weeks so can't say yet if it has helped. April 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by So thankful for CHEWY! My 7 year old kitty, Bella is in renal failure. Thanks to CHEWY, she loves the k/d Dry Food/Chicken flavor. Thank you so much. April 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far so good We give our cat a handful of this every so often; she thinks they're cat treats. April 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prescription cat food purchases The prescription kd food has helped our 4 yr old cat go from needing fluids under the skin several times per week to normal. The food has improved the health of his kidneys April 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by New To Kidney Disease Got JR. from a shelter who is 7 years old. Found out he has kidney disease and started feeding him Hill's. He likes his dry and canned food so far and is doing pretty good. April 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Improved my cats kidney numbers My cat has a very sensitive stomach so I was a little worried about the transition but she ate it with no problems at all and her blood work showed a huge improvement!!! April 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT..! I love that I can buy this amazing Vet-recommended product at such a savings at Chewy.com..! The fact that it delivers so quickly is the icing on the Chewy-cake..! April 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cats love this product One of my cats needs this product but the other cats love it also! Product arrived as promised and in great shape. I am totally sold on Chewy's and there wonderful service!! March 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prescription Food very good Since I've had my cat on food she has gained weight and looks and acts happier and younger. April 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cats love this dry food. My cats are very finicky but seem to love this dry food. They refuse to eat the wet food so am lucky they really like this dry food since one of my cats has kidney problems now. March 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Product !! My older cat was diagnosed by my vet with reduced kidney function. She absolutely loves the Hill's Prescription Kidney Care Dry Cat Food. Her appetite and energy has increased considerably since using this product. March 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cats love their food and it keeps them healthy. The food arrived on time. The price was great! My cat, Annabelle, has kidney problems and she needs to be on a KD diet food. I'm happy to have found Chewy.com! March 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only one for Miss Picky Jellytoes must have this K/D Diet and this is the only dry food she will eat....I think she might be spoiled after 20-years bossing me around. But the food has helped her kidney output and she is happier again! March 8, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by My baby loves it! My 14y old baby cat loves it! A little too much since now she does not wants the K/D soft food which she needs for her kidneys. Blending them helps! I totally recommend this product and Chewy is super friendly and helpful! March 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Proven positive results! I'm very happy with this prescription food for feline kidney disease (KD). My 10 year old cat was just diagnosed with KD 2 months ago. We switched to this food as well as KD supplements and we just found out his levels have improved instead of declining! February 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My kitty loves it! My elderly cat can be a finicky eater but she seems to love this food. March 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing results for my 14 yrs old cat My cat Maggie will soon be 15 yrs old and I took her to the vet for her check up. She was a lot less active and her eye color changed from yellow to orange. She didn't want to play anymore. My vet did a CBC blood test and one of her kidney functions was elevated. We changed Maggie over to the K/D food and within 2 weeks time, she was back to herself again. She was a lot more active, her eyes changed back to yellow, she wanted to play again. Her follow-up blood work showed her kidney levels back to normal. I was truly amazed. Both of my cats love it, I can hardly keep their dish filled. I would highly recommend this food for any cat that has kidney issues starting....it works. January 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by so far, so good Our two 9-year-old cats, Molly and Lucy, have only been on this cat food for a little over a week. It was recommended by the vet. They took to it just like it was their regular food. I may be imagining it, but it seems like the smell of urine in the cat box is hardly noticeable now. Also, no throwing up. We'll be going back to the vet in about 5 months to see how they are doing. February 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cat loves it, keeps her alive It has been years since my cat has been diagnosed with renal failure - having seen many friend's furry loved ones go through it, I was expecting the end to be near. I took the vet's recommendation and moved her entirely to a low-protein diet including Hill's K/D for her dry. Now, she's very picky about her wet food and rarely eats much of it, but she loves this dry! I'm sure there are many factors that have contributed to her longevity (being persnickety chief among them), but the Hill's K/D dry I'm sure has been a major help as well. Love getting it from Chewy's because the price is great and it saves me a trip to the vet's office! January 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprise--my cats love it! I did not have success with any of the wet food prescription diet products my vet had recommended. The kitties just went on a hunger strike. When I offered them a sample of the dry k/d they gobbled it up quicker than their favorite kitty treats! Now they think they are eating treats all day long:) February 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat LOVES this food! As soon as I put this food down ny cat comes running! February 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by All my cats love it None of them would eat the k/d wet food. But it's the opposite with the dry. They all love it, and they eat so much less, because it's higher quality. Worth the money. February 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is an excellent product that was recommended for my 11 year old precious kitty, Phoebe. My 11 year old, gray short-haired kitty, Phoebe likes the Hill's KD Chicken dry cat food very much. She is in pretty bad shape but there have been some improvements in her numbers and I believe that the Hill's products have been beneficial for her. (She also likes their Chicken, Ocean Fish and Tuna varieties in cans!) I would highly recommend that it be tried in an effort to better the overall health of Chronic Kidney Diseased cats. R. Arledge February 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product, fast shipping Hello, I have been very impressed with Hill's prescription food. I also get the urinary health wet and dry cat food for my cat. She loves the wet food. I'd also like to say how very pleased I am with the outstanding customer service I have received since ordering on Chewy.com. It's really amazing -- everyone has been so personable, friendly and professional. Thank you! Liz Connolley February 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat loes it. I've been giving this food to my now 20 year old cat for about 2 years. She likes it. So do the 2 younger cats. Everyone steals from each other so they all get the same food. February 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by 15-yr old Kitty Bella loves it! Bella eats the dry food everyday, supplemented with canned kidney food. It keeps her very fit. February 12, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seems to be the solution to the problem,. Appreciate the product and the firm's concern for the customer. February 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's Hills Prescription Diet It is what it is; Hill's KD. The food itself seems to effectively manage chronic renal failure. I had one cat live for 10 years on this, and now have been "blessed" with another poor, sweet baby who [at age 14] has entered renal failure. This has stabilized his condition, and he seems to have returned to his normal demeanor and activity level. The food has been readily (actually,eagerly) accepted by both of my cats who've required it. The price here is not any big savings over the vet's price, but it's much easier to order here than to try to get to the vet on my time off from work to pick it up during their limited hours of availability. I placed the order and provided my vet's name and contact info as requested on the Chewy site, and they apparently called to make the needed verification of the Rx. The food arrived (with the other items on my order) quickly. The package is freshness-dated, and the date is fine, not old or nearing expiration. I like the convenience and will probably continue to buy this food from Chewy instead of breaking my neck to get to the vet to pick it up. November 18, 2014
  • 2016-05-27 T05:42:28.564-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_174, tr_174
  • loc_en_US, sid_69650, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>