Free Shipping on orders $49+

Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Canned Cat Food, 5.5-oz, case of 24

List Price: $48.59
Price: $42.99 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping at $49
You Save: $5.60 (12%)
In Stock

Product Description

Kidneys are important because they remove waste substances from the blood, and maintain the normal balance of fluid and minerals within the body. Once kidney damage occurs, the consequences are usually irreversible. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet k/d, clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your cat's kidney health. In fact, k/d is clinically tested nutrition to improve & lengthen quality of life.

Key Benefits

  • Protects vital kidney & heart function
  • Boosts vitality & energy
  • Supports appetite & eating enjoyment
  • Sustains healthy body condition
  • Targeted levels of high quality protein
  • Controlled phosphorus
  • Low sodium
  • Lean muscle support complex

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69844
Food Form
  • Wet Food
Brand
  • Science Diet
  • Hill's Science Diet
Country of Origin
  • United States
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
Lifestage
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Important Information

Ingredients

Water, pork liver, chicken, pork by-products, brewers rice, oat fiber, corn starch, chicken fat, dextrose, potassium citrate, psyllium seed husk, guar gum, calcium carbonate, calcium sulfate, fish oil, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, thiamine mononitrate, ascorbic acid (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, calcium pantothenate, vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, biotin, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid), dl-methionine, choline chloride, taurine, iodized salt, cysteine, glycine, minerals (zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), beta-carotene

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 96 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prescribed by my veterinarian for my geriatric cat. My picky eater has been scarfing up this canned food. February 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Necessary, I suppose. Had to put cat on a low phosphorous diet for her kidneys. She eats this food reluctantly. Clearly she doesn't like it as she licks it a little and walks away. She comes back often as it's the only food available to her. She's 16 years old, and I've had her for her entire life so I know when she likes and dislikes a food. This food she dislikes. Also, for the high price, they seem to use a lot of garbage ingredients (Pork By-Products, Brewers Rice, Corn Starch, Glucose). If anyone knows a canned low phosphorus food that cats like better, please post. I'd love to give her something she likes better. July 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat Mitzy loves KD diet food it keeps her Healthy/ My Cat Mitzy has been on KD Can Food for About 6 months.She had Kidney Problems,She has been doing very well and loves the KD food.She always looking for more. April 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by chewy guys are awesome! My 16 years old Russian cat need science prescription food and chewy has absolutely the best $$$ and service online. They couldn't get hold of our vet because of the Thanksgiving holidays and instead of holding their shipment they send us food on good faith. I really appreciate that! Thank you so much! This is great food from great reseller! We are coming back to re order. December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My kitty LOVES this chicken recipe! Delivery time was excellent. I love all of your great sense's of humor! It's especially appreciated just after my old man (19 year old kitty) was just diagnosed with kidney disease. He absolutely loves this stuff. And as you all know, a cat can tell time; he lets me know exactly when it's time to eat. Thank you for such delightful and personalized customer service. Best, Karen February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the product; great service. This was my first time ordering from Chewy, but won't be my last. Ordering was easy, my product came quickly at the right price, and was well packaged to preserve the quality. January 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pet-approved by a picky eater When my vet informed me that my 19 year old cat had kidney disease and recommended this cat food, I worried desperately that my girl would refuse to change her diet. She is extremely picky, and throughout the years would only ever eat a specific brand and specific type of food. However, she eagerly eats the Hill's k/d food without hesitation. She is throwing up less, eating more, and generally much improved. I feel as though the food change has made a difference in her health and quality of life. December 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kitty loves My cat loved the ocean fish and just tried the chicken, he likes that too. Actually I caught my other cat eating the chicken too today, usually she keeps to her own non kidney food November 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the one he'll eat! Tony is my 17 year old baby! His pure gray coat is not as silky as it once was and he walks a little slower...but so do I. He still jumps on to the couch and settles into my lap as always and each day with him is special. But he started losing weight and was found to have kidney disease. And to my surprise, I learned that protein was not good for his kidneys. At first the Vet put him on Royal Kanin renal but Tony did not like it at all... he's spoiled but he MUST eat! I'm so relieved that he's found a cat foof that will help him an he actually likes. I'd do anything to make my little guy happy! November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nutritious, delicious renal health food My fussy cat immediately took to her new diet with K/D renal health canned food. It's concerning that it says "with chicken," but at least it's truth in advertising: There's a lot in this can that is not chicken. September 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cats' favorite One of my cats was diagnosed renal failure a year and a half ago, and has been given a diet of 50% k/d (or similar) and 50% "regular" food. My other cat has liver problems and is also on a low-protein diet consisting solely of kidney diet food. Both cats eagerly eat the k/d, and so far so good. This is the chicken flavor, and they also like the fish flavor when I can get it. September 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Picky cat loved it! I had to get a few cans of this at the vet for my cat with kidney problems and the cat loved it. The price at the vet was high, so I ordered it from Chewy and got a much better deal. Both of my cats now eat it and also get the same Hills k/d dry food. The automatic order makes it super-easy. Thanks Chewy! August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I received a sample of this product from my vet for my 14 year old cat. It has less protein content than any canned food I was able to find in stores My cat will eat this prescription food, but not all the time. I have to switch off with other brands having low protein content. I hope he will eat enough of the Hills to justify buying it on a regular basis. The product shipped very quickly and was received in good condition. I know buying it with Chewy was less expensive than ordering it with the vet. August 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome product! This food was prescribed for my 15-year-old cat whose kidney function was starting to decline. Within a few weeks of starting this new food, my cat is much improved. He is now a lot more playful than he's been in years. He no longer sleeps all day long - his energy level has definitely increased. His fur also looks so much better. This food has done wonders for him. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent choice for cat with kidney failure Our cat was diagnosed with kidney failure and has to be on prescription food. We tried various brands and found that Hills was the best option. It was the moistest of all the wet can foods that we tried and he likes the taste of both the chicken and fish flavor. August 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Required food by vet While I was not happy to feed my cat Hills since they aren't known for quality ingredients in their foods… the vet required that my cat eat this prescription food. I wish Hills would alter the recipe with better ingredients - however, as is, my cat does like this food. She loves the taste and eats it up quickly at feeding time. I've noticed that she doesn't drink as much water with the moisture content in this food. Chewy makes it really easy to submit your vet prescription too! July 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kidney Health What is there to say? It keeps my cat alive! Recommended. July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by enjoyable My cat, Katie, didn't eat much canned cat food. She was picky about what she'd eat when it was offered. She had no problems with with the k/d diet. She loves it! She had lost weight and knowing she's eating helps me feel good too. Occasionally she and her roommate kitty, Pinky, will swap a spoonful of each others food. Kate gets a little variety and I don't think the diet food will hurt Pink. Katie also has an issue with her teeth so I think eating the soft patte makes us both feel better. July 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seems to be tasty I had heard that renal soft food was unpalatable, so I was surprised when my cat seemed to enjoy this product. He was used to Friskies shreds/bits/tenders, and would really just lick the juice. He was never a fan of pate. However, when he had to go on a renal diet and went cold-turkey on the Friskies, this seemed to fit the bill! It's only been about a month, so I'm interested to see what his next blood work shows. June 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Effective and tasty to cats This cat food's reduced protein level allows my cat's kidneys to function better, and he seems to enjoy the taste. June 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We are grateful to have our Maggie, our 12.5 year old feline playing and sleeping next to us again We chose Chewy because they were the best priced, email with tracking on same day of order, and Chewy delivered Hills Prescription k/d promptly. Thank you. By the 2nd day of k/d diet she stopped throwing up after eating and now it's just the usual fur balls about 3 times a week. By all appearances it looks like we may have another year or two of enjoyment with her. Maggie has been on the K/D Feline Renal diet for 2 weeks now and has been acting frisky and affectionate. While I have not tasted her k/d food (yet), it actually smells very good and is the best quality I have seen in a wet food diet for felines. All the Best May 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cat appears better after just eating this food for 7 days. My cat developed kidney disease and this food was recommended by the vet. She appears to tolerate and it seems to be helping her. I would recommend this food if you cat has similar issues. May 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm so thankful there is a food like this for my aging but still oh-so-loveable kitty I don't have time to find the ingredients and prepare them for my cat, so this food is really a life saver (literally). This prescription will not only extend my beloved cat's life, but maximize the quality of that time as well. March 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprised with a great buy. Ease of ordering was the key. Chewy called my vet who authorized the prescription, otherwise I wouldn't know what to do. As for the product - it is pate style which is great for my kitty who has minimum teeth left. It helped that I was already feeding my cats Science Diet, so the transition was painless. It has only been a few days, and the cats love this. They lick the bowl clean. I haven't seen any adverse effects and don't expect to. February 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Feline Renal Health with Chicken Canned Cat Food I only recommend if a vet says it is necessary. With out vet you have the possibility of kidney failure or even death. Prescription Food if bought at the vet costs more to feed the cat than for my husband and I to eat. Chewy's saves me 40% or more of that and delivers it on a regular schedule so I never have emergency food disasters. January 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product The product came in a nice box and can food was not damaged. The product was recommended by the veterinarian for my older cat that is 14 yrs olds. The cat seems to enjoy the wet food. It is suppose to help with the cat loosing weight. It is great that you can send it monthly. It would be nice if it was free shipping. January 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat loves this Recently learned that my 14 year old had kidney failure. Was very worried that he would not take to this new food but he loves it. No worries about weight loss due to not eating. He loves both the wet and dry and makes sure I don't miss a meal time. It doesn't smell strong like many foods but my cat dives right in. December 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our kitty Masseuse loves the taste! Our cats have been eating Hills food for quite a while. Our vet said our Masseuse had to eat this special food for the rest of his life. He is 18 years old. We were afraid it may not taste as good to him and he may not eat it. He loves it. He is a happy kitty! December 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat loves it! Seriously, I think she'll knock me over one of these days trying to get it out of my hands. I tried this as part of a renal starter kit from my vet. This won the taste test against other brands such as Iams, etc. I also now mix in a glucosamine supplement which works fine. I feed my cat 1/2-2/3 in the morning and then the rest of the can in the afternoon. She's gotten pretty demanding about getting her food these days! December 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for all cats! We began to use this, at Vets recommendations, for our older cat. Thing is, our other 2 cats love it also. December 6, 2013
  • 2016-02-05 T16:13:48.263-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_96, tr_96
  • loc_en_US, sid_69648, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Questions? Call our friendly customer service team anytime. We're here 24 hours a day! 1-800-67-CHEWY (672-4399)