Free Shipping on orders $49+

Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Dry Cat Food

List Price: $47.39
Price: $38.99 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping at $49
You Save: $8.40 (18%)
In Stock
8.5-lb bag
  • 4-lb bag
  • 8.5-lb bag

Product Description

Kidneys are important because they remove waste substances from the blood, and maintain the normal balance of fluid and minerals within the body. Once kidney damage occurs, the consequences are usually irreversible. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet k/d, clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your cat's kidney health. In fact, k/d is clinically tested nutrition to improve and lengthen quality of life.

Key Benefits

  • Protects vital kidney & heart function
  • Boosts vitality & energy
  • Supports appetite & eating enjoyment
  • Sustains healthy body condition
  • Targeted levels of high quality protein
  • Controlled phosphorus
  • Low sodium
  • Lean muscle support complex
  • Made in the USA

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69843
Food Form
  • Dry Food
Brand
  • Science Diet
  • Hill's Science Diet
Country of Origin
  • United States
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
Lifestage
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Important Information

Ingredients

Chicken, brewers rice, corn gluten meal, whole grain wheat, pork fat, brown rice, wheat gluten, chicken liver flavor, dried beet pulp, flaxseed, egg product, lactic acid, calcium carbonate, soybean oil, potassium chloride, choline chloride, potassium citrate, dl-methionine, dicalcium phosphate, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, riboflavin supplement, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement), taurine, l-lysine, calcium sulfate, minerals (ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), mixed tocopherols for freshness, l-tryptophan, iodized salt, natural flavors, beta-carotene

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 143 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's Hills Prescription Diet It is what it is; Hill's KD. The food itself seems to effectively manage chronic renal failure. I had one cat live for 10 years on this, and now have been "blessed" with another poor, sweet baby who [at age 14] has entered renal failure. This has stabilized his condition, and he seems to have returned to his normal demeanor and activity level. The food has been readily (actually,eagerly) accepted by both of my cats who've required it. The price here is not any big savings over the vet's price, but it's much easier to order here than to try to get to the vet on my time off from work to pick it up during their limited hours of availability. I placed the order and provided my vet's name and contact info as requested on the Chewy site, and they apparently called to make the needed verification of the Rx. The food arrived (with the other items on my order) quickly. The package is freshness-dated, and the date is fine, not old or nearing expiration. I like the convenience and will probably continue to buy this food from Chewy instead of breaking my neck to get to the vet to pick it up. November 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Dry Cat Food My kitty, Pookey Mittens, about 6.5 yrs old, was diagnosed with stage 4 kidney failure. I took him to the Veterinarian and they gave him fluids and pills, Daily. Needless to say, Pookey did not like this and became quite a different cat, not trusting me and his surroundings anymore. I started giving him K/D Kidney Care food along with distilled water and a powder supplement and no more trips to the Vet. Pookey has responded quite well with this treatment and his trust in me and his surroundings have been restored. October 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cats like it. I switched my cats from Iams to this Science Diet k/d dry food as suggested by my vet. They like it and are eating it. The kibbles are smaller than Iams and I think that's why they like it. Both my cats are missing teeth so this is easier for them to swallow. Plus it's supposed to be good for them. October 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has greatly improved my cats health! My cat had been on another kidney food but was starting to have more health issues. Our vet said the previous kidney food had too much sodium. After one week on the Hill's k/d kidney diet, I could see a remarkable difference in my cats health and well being. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food for Kidney issues My cat loves this food. Her vet put her on it because of having kidneys that aren't doing to well. My cat is 18 and still going as strong as she can. Chewy has the best price around. Thanks Chewy.com! December 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by hills My cat's health has returned almost completely since starting this diet. He is 12 years old and was very ill. Both kidneys were testing as close to failing. Now only one tests as having a slight problem. Service from chewy was quick, well priced and they took care of contacting my vet for the prescription. I think I will like the auto refill feature that I could set up on a schedule that suits me and modify if necessary. December 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The one dry renal food that my cat likes While luckily our 14-year old cat Kif doesn't have full blown CRF, two years ago, his blood tests indicated that he did have some kidney changes. Our vet recommended that we start with dietary changes rather than medication. It was a struggle at first to find wet and dry food that he liked, but we finally hit on K/D as his favorite. He gets very excited when he hears the kibble being poured into his bowl. The poor boys has also had to have several teeth removed, but that doesn't stop him from gobbling up this nicely sized kibble. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for my cat that has health issues I have 2 simeese cats and this food has been so good for both of them they are much healthier on it. April 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by My cat does not like it. After being given a sample of this food from the Vet, I tried it on my 19 year old cat. She ate the sample, so I ordered it online. It was a prescription food and the script had to be approved by the Vet via email before they would fill the order. After a few days the Vet approved the order, I received the food. I had ordered a substantial quantity to qualify for free shipping. However, she will not touch it! Even when there was no other food available, she would not eat at all! She did not eat for several days until I finally went and got the food she normally ate and she is back to eating again. Both of the foods were dry food, so that was not a factor. I have since discussed this with other cat owners with similar situations and they experienced tha same thing. September 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by My cat hates it. My cat ins't a finicky eater, but she hates this. She refuses to eat more than a bite or two of it, and that is with crumbling a treat or two over it to try to coerce her into it. Would not recommend. June 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taste great and Works well My senior cat loves eating this food and the other cats try to steal it. It tastes great and helps her fight her kidney disease. June 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good product Of course, my cat doesn't eat this by choice because it's prescribed for her kidneys; nonetheless, she ate it straight away when she was started on it & continues to eat it with no problem, so she does like it. It does help the kidneys too, so if your cat has a problem in this area, I recommend this food. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprised !!! My 4 Year old Cat, Mr. Little Foot, has Renal Problems and I got this food for him.He Loves it and eats it like crazy. April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good eats I used to feed this to my cat exclusively but as she ages her teeth are re-absorbing making it difficult for her to eat. I have always free fed her so between can food feedings I leave a bowl of this dry food down & she doesn't feel deprived (she also has a hyperthyroidism) March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat liked it. My cat liked the dry food as well as the wet. Ordering through the internet was easy. March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cat in Renal Failure When my Vet told me my elderly male cat, Stormy, was in renal failure and to switch him to this food, I was afraid he wouldn't like it. But, I was so happy that he LOVES it! No problem switching him over from his regular food. My other cat eats it now too. It's much better on their kidneys. February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kitty Crack My elderly cat won't eat any of the canned Renal foods except this dry food...she loves it! February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality food This is an excellent product that we have used for 20 years!!!!!!!! Never a worry about quality, contamination, etc. January 25, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by It is alright at best. My cat was diagnosed with the beginning stages of Kidney disease and was recommended she start a kidney friendly diet. I started her on the Hills K/D dry and wet. The wet she wouldn't touch, but the dry as time goes on, she eats on and off. I can't say she loves it, but she doesn't hate it either. Occasionally she stops by her bowl and crunches away. Sometimes adding a little water helps or adding a little bit of food she does like. The food is guaranteed so it is always worth a try if your cat needs it. January 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by outstanding service my cat sparky loves this food. he has been very picky about all other kd foods but not this one. he gobbles it down. also great customer service.shipment arrived quick and in good condition. I would definitely order from Chewy again. It is very easy and convenient and the prices are great. Thanks Chewy January 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The customer service is great The product was very good and the customer service was great. January 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well liked So happy to see my kittie likes this food, and knowing it's good for her condition makes me feel comfortable giving it to her. December 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product We have a 15 year old cat who was diagnosed with kidney issues. Her doctor prescribed this food. She is a picky eater and I was skeptical that she would even try the food. She loves it!! December 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product met all expectations. Both kitties seem to like the taste and size. Health of one kitty that needed the special formulas appears to have improved. Thanks December 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by She loves Renal Health--and it's good for her! My kitty likes Hill's Prescription Feline Renal Health dry food--and I think it is helping her stay healthy. It was so convenient to order through Chewy--and delivered in a timely manner. Thanks, Hill's--and Chewy. December 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Working fo rBuddy This was purchased for our rescue cat who came to us at 13 y/o with kidney issues. He wasn't thrilled with the change in food at first, but is now eating well. His health seems to be stable. We are grateful for a food to help keep him the best he can be. November 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cats loved it I have two cats. One eats mainly dry food and the other (with a urinary issue) mainly canned food. Well, they both love this K/D Feline Renal Health Dry food. Surprised me, but am pleased that I found something that both cats enjoy. November 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have a senior cat on this food So far she loves it and I want her to live awhile longer. November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific! When our cat, Jake, who is 14 1/2 was diagnosed with some kidney failure, the vet recommended Hills KD. We were not optimistic since Jakie hates everything. How lucky we were when he took to this food right away and continues to enjoy it. We were so happy because we know how good it is for his condition and hope that it helps to slow its progression. Thanks for such a wonderful product! November 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Price Around!! I shopped all over to find the best price I could on prescription cat food. Chewy.com won, paws down! Purrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrfect!! November 7, 2014
  • 2016-02-10 T15:25:33.446-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_143, tr_143
  • loc_en_US, sid_69650, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Questions? Call our friendly customer service team anytime. We're here 24 hours a day! 1-800-67-CHEWY (672-4399)