Free Shipping on orders $49+

Hill's Prescription Diet y/d Thyroid Care with Chicken Canned Cat Food, 5.5-oz, case of 24

List Price: $61.69
Price: $52.49 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping
You Save: $9.20 (15%)
In Stock

Product Description

Prescription Diet y/d is the safe, effective and easy way to manage thyroid health. Clinically proven nutrition to restore thyroid health in 3 weeks.

Key Benefits

  • Clinically proven nutrition to restore thyroid health
  • Improves thyroid health in 3 weeks (when fed as the sole source of nutrition)
  • Complete daily nutrition with a taste your cat will love
  • Supports kidney health with controlled phosphorus and low sodium
  • Helps maintain bladder health with controlled mineral levels
  • Promotes heart health with essential nutrients like taurine and carnitine
  • Promotes healthy skin and a luxurious hair coat with high levels of omega-3 and -6 fatty acids

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69820
Food Form
  • Wet Food
Brand
  • Science Diet
  • Hill's Science Diet
Country of Origin
  • United States
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
Lifestage
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Important Information

Ingredients

Water, liver, meat by-products, chicken, whole grain corn, rice flour, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid), chicken liver flavor, powdered cellulose, calcium carbonate, fish oil, dried yeast, potassium chloride, l-lysine, dl-methionine, guar gum, vitamin E supplement, taurine, choline chloride, salt, l-cysteine, thiamine mononitrate, l-carnitine, dicalcium phosphate, ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, ascorbic acid (source of vitamin C), niacin, copper sulfate, manganous sulfate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, beta-carotine, calcium pantothenate, vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin, biotin, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 48 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING FOOD I cannot express how amazing this y/d food is. We thought our kitty would not like the food but we gave her the chance. This is such a great alternative to the ID treatment (that is costly but if we had to do it we would). Our cats thyroid level was very high and we put her on this food - only water and y/d. We were in compliance with it for four weeks and she went back to be tested and it was normal - even the doctors were AMAZED!! Added note: it must be refrigerated after opening - our kitty is spoiled so we take a quarter of the can and mash it up with a tiny bit of water and microwave it for 9 seconds - and she eats the whole thing (she hates it cold from the frig). Another great idea is slice off some like you would cranberry sauce from a can and cut into small squares and bake on a ungreased cookie sheet for 30 minutes in a 350 degree oven. It must be 30 minutes from trial and error or they are soft. After completely cooled, store them in a plastic bag. Don't spoil them to much with this treat. Again, we strongly recommend this y/d food. May 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Hill's Prescription Diet y/d used for thyroid health. Although this is my first experience with Chewy, the Hill's Prescription Diet y/d has been Dylan's, our cat, only source of nutrition for almost a year as recommended by our vet to control a rise in her thyroid number. Dylan's yearly check-up is next month. Hopefully, the y/d will show to be just what she needs to stay healthy and live a long life. November 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our cat likes Hills and is finally starting to gain weight. We nearly lost our 13 year old cat. She was not eating very much and losing weight fast. Hills Y/D has stablized her thyroid and she is starting to gain back a little weight. Much healthier now! October 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing return to health My 12 year old cat had lost weight and was vomiting on almost a daily basis. After a thyroid profile, the vet discovered a thyroid problem. I started her on the Hill's canned y/d and she loves it. The vomiting has subsided and she is back to her old self. Thank you for this wonderful product. October 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved my kitty! My 14 year old cat was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism. We tried the typical meds prescribed, but my cat did not respond well, nor was it easy to administer. After reading up on our choices, we decided to try Hill's Y/D Prescription food. In less than 4 weeks, my cat's thyroid levels went from somewhere around 9ish, back down to just over the normal limit. He LOVES the dry food, and likes the wet. I do add water to the wet food since he was used to gravy. Definitely recommend! October 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by For our cat, Talulah, this food has been a life saver. Our cat, Talulah, was rapidly losing weight, energy and her will to live when the problem was diagnosed. We could not afford the alternative treatments and the Vet recommended your diet. She is "finicky" and we worried that she would not eat this food, but she loved it from the first can. She eats the dry food too, but it is the canned food that she really feasts on. Talulah has gained weight and has gotten back her playfulness. We go back to the Vet soon, but we can see already that she just "feels better". You can tell. We are sticking with the diet all the way. For our cat, Talulah, this food has been a life saver. August 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A new cat! I had to put my 14 year old cat on this food due to her thyroid problem and not being able to handle the pill. She is like a different cat! Went from just laying around and quickly losing weight to sustaining her weight and acting like a kitten again. I highly recommend this food! July 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by So far, so good All three of my cats want to eat this. The cat with the thyroid problem needs a blood retest next week to see if it is helping with his problem. December 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by My cat will not eat it; only a few licks---and cries for food Chewy should offer a trial sample as an option before the customer purchases a case--- I will end up with 3/4 of case since my cat will not eat the product---only a few licks....and cries for food. I have tried to make a transition plan---but she does not want it. March 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Was worried the cat wouldn't like it but he does!! My cat has put on a only a little weight but he has only recently started on this diet. He does like the food and that's what its all about. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by good product At first my cat would not eat it, and then I mixed up a small portion with water and made it mushy, mixed in a few pieces of dry y/d with it and she ate it up. Also, I've learned that to give her only small portions at a time, and refrigerate the rest. Then half an hour before the next feeding, take out the cold food and let it sit until the chill comes off. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helps keep our older cats levels in a safe range she looks much healthir So far ordering was easy and loved that it was delivered so quickly to our home July 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by tremendous improvement this product has tremendously improved the health of both of my cats. even though it is pricey it is worth it. fewer hairballs and vomiting, improved look and feel of their coat, neurological function is better, weight has stabilized. highly reccommend if your cat suffers from thyroid dysfunction. June 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product really works! I have already seen improvement in my cat with hyperthyroidism after one month. It was easy to get. I just asked my local vet to write a prescription for me, and then faxed it at my local library. It is more expensive to buy the food than it would be to put her on medication, but believe me much easier than having to try to pill a cat twice a day!!! And she loves it! SD got this one right. There is no corn in product, which my cats have problems with in other prescription diets. Highly recommend anyone to try if you have a cat with this condition. June 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased with this food My 17 year old cat just could not handle Methimazole for her elevated thyroid situation. Tried two different compounds and spread out different ways over two months. She could not even keep a half of the amount prescribed down. Thought that radiation was the only option left which would have been more traumatic than I think she could handle. Wondered if she would like this food and would have any trouble keeping it down. She likes it and no trouble for her sensitive stomach. January 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A little too early to tell..... I may finally rate this a 5 star product, however it has been only 12 days. This was my sister's cat (she recently died and wanted me to take care of her). This sweet 11 year old cat was literally skin, bone and fur! She was always super hungry and hyper with a T-4 level reading of 19. Once I got the wet and dry food, she seems to have calmed down a bit. As I pet her on her spine it seems that she may have less bony ridges, but if that is the case it is still an issue. I have to constantly draw a fork through this densely packed wet food, which allows her to eat more. I will write another review after 3-5 weeks, as I'd love to have restored this sweet kitty's health! My other cat is a big extremely healthy Norwegian Forrest cat whose paws are over 2x the size of this grey long-haired tabby. They are slowly getting used to each other, but I hope that the new addition will be super healthy in a few weeks. It is better than the alternative of using a Radiated Iodine treatment that I am told costs $1,500 + 2 weeks in a vet hospital until the radiation exposure is safe. Ugh! I just wish that the food wasn't so expensive and that at least there would be another flavor, as a lifetime of one flavor is kind of tough. However it beats the alternative. Thank God that someone has seen to this solution for our unfortunate furry friends. December 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Quality Ideal product unless you have finikie cat that won't eat one flavor continously. She also is only willing to eat food when the can is first opened and hates the same food at every meal. Despite being the health product needed for hypothyroidisn, the flavor value is missing. That's according to a 17 yr old Manx "indoor only" kitty, raised by a Pit Bull and use to a variety of cut up Melons, Grass Fed Beef cuts and organic chicken. She will munch occasionally on the dry Y/D but only when she thinks she's starving. The flavor restriction are a real problem for her and a challenge for me. :-( December 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gets the Job Done Pros: Hill's Prescription Diet y/d Feline Thyroid Health Canned Cat Food has decreased my cat's thyroid count from 5.5 to 3.1 in just 4 weeks and that was done by only feeding him the prescribed amount of canned food. Cons: There is only one flavor in the canned food and I'm afraid that my cat will eventually get bored of the same flavor. Also, since the diet requires that you only feed your cat the prescription food, you cannot feed your cat anything else (i.e. treats). And unfortunately this brand does not have treats for the Thyroid Health diet which is a bummer since my cat loves treats and I love to give my cat treats. I wish the Company would come out with some! December 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat loves it! Everyone cautioned me that my cat might be reluctant to eat y/d feline, but my cat loves it. I am so glad to have found this. November 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by My cat won't eat it. It's too dry and the texture is unpleasant so my cat won't eat it. February 4, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too dry My cat likes gravy in her food. She doesn't like it. February 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cat food Will know more if food is working after our next blood work up. It's hard to make sure only the one cat eats it and no other food February 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Flavor Cat's enjoy the taste since they gobble it up in no time! Just waiting on blood work in 3 weeks to check the cat's thyroid level. I sure hope the food does it for him! January 29, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by For thyroid problems This food is made only for cats who have a prescription. I have to say my cats do not like this unless I add liquid to it because it is a very dense pate and my cats prefer food that has more juice. January 10, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by My older cat loves it! Muffy has been on the food for about a week and a half. Already I've noticed she's getting more sleep and is not as hyper. She is still craving water but not as intensely as before. Hopefully we'll see more improvements very soon. Chewy got the food to me surprisingly fast. Very pleased with the service. I will order more from Chewy should the need arise. Thanks for being there. December 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by concern about one flavor If you read the ingredients you see that pork liver is the main ingredient. That is fine but how long will my cat tolerate the same flavor. I have not had my cat's blood levels taken since he is on y/d so I cannot speak to its effectiveness. I do know he will most likely be on it for life so that is why I am concerned about the limited flavors November 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hill's Science Diet Y/D saved my cats life Thank you for producing the Y/D formula to help cats with Thyroid issues. My cat really enjoys the can food and has no issues with it at all. The Y/D formula is great. November 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My cat seems to really like the taste. My cat has made the conversion from other canned food to exclusively y/d. She seems to like the taste. We will get her T4 done next week to determine if her new thyroid levels are approaching normal. November 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a life savor. My cat loves the product and seems to be on the mends. As his owner/mommie I am very pleased. Thanks so much for having medicinal products for our loved ones. August 27, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unpleasant for my cat This cat food was not eaten by my cat, it did not smell good and had a very dry grainy texture. I will not be buying any more. August 20, 2015
  • 2016-02-09 T15:44:47.509-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_48, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_69664, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 next>>
Questions? Call our friendly customer service team anytime. We're here 24 hours a day! 1-800-67-CHEWY (672-4399)