Hill's Prescription Diet y/d Thyroid Care with Chicken Canned Cat Food, 5.5-oz, case of 24

List Price: $61.69
Price: $53.34 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping
You Save: $8.35 (14%)
In Stock

Product Description

Prescription Diet y/d is the safe, effective and easy way to manage thyroid health. Clinically proven nutrition to restore thyroid health in 3 weeks.

Key Benefits

  • Clinically proven nutrition to restore thyroid health
  • Improves thyroid health in 3 weeks (when fed as the sole source of nutrition)
  • Complete daily nutrition with a taste your cat will love
  • Supports kidney health with controlled phosphorus and low sodium
  • Helps maintain bladder health with controlled mineral levels
  • Promotes heart health with essential nutrients like taurine and carnitine
  • Promotes healthy skin and a luxurious hair coat with high levels of omega-3 and -6 fatty acids

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69820
Food Form
  • Wet Food
Brand
  • Science Diet
  • Hill's Science Diet
Made in
  • United States
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
Lifestage
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Ingredients

Water, liver, meat by-products, chicken, whole grain corn, rice flour, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid), chicken liver flavor, powdered cellulose, calcium carbonate, fish oil, dried yeast, potassium chloride, l-lysine, dl-methionine, guar gum, vitamin E supplement, taurine, choline chloride, salt, l-cysteine, thiamine mononitrate, l-carnitine, dicalcium phosphate, ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, ascorbic acid (source of vitamin C), niacin, copper sulfate, manganous sulfate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, beta-carotine, calcium pantothenate, vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin, biotin, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 63 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING FOOD I cannot express how amazing this y/d food is. We thought our kitty would not like the food but we gave her the chance. This is such a great alternative to the ID treatment (that is costly but if we had to do it we would). Our cats thyroid level was very high and we put her on this food - only water and y/d. We were in compliance with it for four weeks and she went back to be tested and it was normal - even the doctors were AMAZED!! Added note: it must be refrigerated after opening - our kitty is spoiled so we take a quarter of the can and mash it up with a tiny bit of water and microwave it for 9 seconds - and she eats the whole thing (she hates it cold from the frig). Another great idea is slice off some like you would cranberry sauce from a can and cut into small squares and bake on a ungreased cookie sheet for 30 minutes in a 350 degree oven. It must be 30 minutes from trial and error or they are soft. After completely cooled, store them in a plastic bag. Don't spoil them to much with this treat. Again, we strongly recommend this y/d food. May 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Product should be temporary This prescription does lower the thyroid levels in hyperthyroid felines, however this food should not be use as a permanent food. Dogs and Cats need protein in their diet and this is only corn and soy based non nutritional food. felines on a long term diet have bone loss and other nutritional problems. This food is fed prior to the Radio iodine therapy. I have read the reviews and I believe that most reviewers think that this food should be given on a permanent basis. Please do your research. February 26, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by 14-year-old Murphy loves it! I'm not ready to give this food a recommendation. Murphy's been eating it for 3 weeks and my vet said to continue feeding it to Murphy for another 3 weeks until I have her thyroid tested again. She likes it a lot and gobbles it up with zest...which is, of course, a good thing. We'll see if it does the trick. March 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tammy Likes It! My 13 year old, Tammy has hyperthyroidism. She used to like the dry y/d food, but stopped eating it. She loves the wet food, and even gives me her "mom, feed me!" look. From a medical perspective, the vet told me that Tammy's thyroid levels are perfect thanks to this food! March 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is extremely effective in controlling thyroid levels. Since our cat has been eating Y/D (both dry and can), her thyroid levels have returned to normal. She has been on this diet for at least two years now. March 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleased w/everything Very pleased with the cat food ordered. Came fast & beats the price the Vet charges. Happy camper! March 8, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nope Unfortunately my cat won't eat it. $50 wasted. Not chewys fault, she's just picky. February 22, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Must have for thyroid disease I know that my cat needs this food, but I do not think he likes the taste at all. I've tried watering it down to a different consistency and he'll eat some...but I wish it came in different flavors or a different consistency. Will continue to try and find the way that will allow my cat to enjoy the food he needs. February 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Flavor Cat's enjoy the taste since they gobble it up in no time! Just waiting on blood work in 3 weeks to check the cat's thyroid level. I sure hope the food does it for him! January 29, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too dry My cat likes gravy in her food. She doesn't like it. February 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cat food Will know more if food is working after our next blood work up. It's hard to make sure only the one cat eats it and no other food February 1, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by For thyroid problems This food is made only for cats who have a prescription. I have to say my cats do not like this unless I add liquid to it because it is a very dense pate and my cats prefer food that has more juice. January 10, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by My older cat loves it! Muffy has been on the food for about a week and a half. Already I've noticed she's getting more sleep and is not as hyper. She is still craving water but not as intensely as before. Hopefully we'll see more improvements very soon. Chewy got the food to me surprisingly fast. Very pleased with the service. I will order more from Chewy should the need arise. Thanks for being there. December 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by concern about one flavor If you read the ingredients you see that pork liver is the main ingredient. That is fine but how long will my cat tolerate the same flavor. I have not had my cat's blood levels taken since he is on y/d so I cannot speak to its effectiveness. I do know he will most likely be on it for life so that is why I am concerned about the limited flavors November 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My cat seems to really like the taste. My cat has made the conversion from other canned food to exclusively y/d. She seems to like the taste. We will get her T4 done next week to determine if her new thyroid levels are approaching normal. November 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hill's Science Diet Y/D saved my cats life Thank you for producing the Y/D formula to help cats with Thyroid issues. My cat really enjoys the can food and has no issues with it at all. The Y/D formula is great. November 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product really works! I have already seen improvement in my cat with hyperthyroidism after one month. It was easy to get. I just asked my local vet to write a prescription for me, and then faxed it at my local library. It is more expensive to buy the food than it would be to put her on medication, but believe me much easier than having to try to pill a cat twice a day!!! And she loves it! SD got this one right. There is no corn in product, which my cats have problems with in other prescription diets. Highly recommend anyone to try if you have a cat with this condition. June 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gets the Job Done Pros: Hill's Prescription Diet y/d Feline Thyroid Health Canned Cat Food has decreased my cat's thyroid count from 5.5 to 3.1 in just 4 weeks and that was done by only feeding him the prescribed amount of canned food. Cons: There is only one flavor in the canned food and I'm afraid that my cat will eventually get bored of the same flavor. Also, since the diet requires that you only feed your cat the prescription food, you cannot feed your cat anything else (i.e. treats). And unfortunately this brand does not have treats for the Thyroid Health diet which is a bummer since my cat loves treats and I love to give my cat treats. I wish the Company would come out with some! December 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product With two cats diagnosed with hyperthyroidism, one could take medication, the other could not tolerate it. The obvious solution was to put them both on Hill's Prescription Diet YD for thyroid. This is the only product they've eaten for nearly a month and in that time, I've seen remarkable changes in their personality - more relaxed and friendly, and in their bodies. Both have gained weight which they needed to do. They are both more relaxed. The blood tests done in a few more days should tell the tale even more so than just my observations. June 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I am guessing it will work if you use it as advertised. I bought this for my cat with hyperthyroidism. She really does not like it so I am mixing it with some washed tuna so I can get her to eat. It doesn't have the iodine in it that causes the hyperthyroidism but if she won't eat then I cure one problem and cause another. Basically it needs to be more appealing to finicky cats for them to actually eat it without doctoring. August 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A little too early to tell..... I may finally rate this a 5 star product, however it has been only 12 days. This was my sister's cat (she recently died and wanted me to take care of her). This sweet 11 year old cat was literally skin, bone and fur! She was always super hungry and hyper with a T-4 level reading of 19. Once I got the wet and dry food, she seems to have calmed down a bit. As I pet her on her spine it seems that she may have less bony ridges, but if that is the case it is still an issue. I have to constantly draw a fork through this densely packed wet food, which allows her to eat more. I will write another review after 3-5 weeks, as I'd love to have restored this sweet kitty's health! My other cat is a big extremely healthy Norwegian Forrest cat whose paws are over 2x the size of this grey long-haired tabby. They are slowly getting used to each other, but I hope that the new addition will be super healthy in a few weeks. It is better than the alternative of using a Radiated Iodine treatment that I am told costs $1,500 + 2 weeks in a vet hospital until the radiation exposure is safe. Ugh! I just wish that the food wasn't so expensive and that at least there would be another flavor, as a lifetime of one flavor is kind of tough. However it beats the alternative. Thank God that someone has seen to this solution for our unfortunate furry friends. December 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Has worked very well, so far My 14-year-old cat was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism. I fed her Y/D for a month. It caused her T4 level to go from 6.7 down to 2.0, which is normal. Several related symptoms have improved also. It took only a day to get her to switch over to Y/D completely. The one drawback of Y/D is that I have to feed it to her in numerous small portions, spread over the course of about 16 hours each day. This is because it becomes hard if left out on her plate too long. July 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a life savor. My cat loves the product and seems to be on the mends. As his owner/mommie I am very pleased. Thanks so much for having medicinal products for our loved ones. August 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Quality Ideal product unless you have finikie cat that won't eat one flavor continously. She also is only willing to eat food when the can is first opened and hates the same food at every meal. Despite being the health product needed for hypothyroidisn, the flavor value is missing. That's according to a 17 yr old Manx "indoor only" kitty, raised by a Pit Bull and use to a variety of cut up Melons, Grass Fed Beef cuts and organic chicken. She will munch occasionally on the dry Y/D but only when she thinks she's starving. The flavor restriction are a real problem for her and a challenge for me. :-( December 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unpleasant for my cat This cat food was not eaten by my cat, it did not smell good and had a very dry grainy texture. I will not be buying any more. August 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by For our cat, Talulah, this food has been a life saver. Our cat, Talulah, was rapidly losing weight, energy and her will to live when the problem was diagnosed. We could not afford the alternative treatments and the Vet recommended your diet. She is "finicky" and we worried that she would not eat this food, but she loved it from the first can. She eats the dry food too, but it is the canned food that she really feasts on. Talulah has gained weight and has gotten back her playfulness. We go back to the Vet soon, but we can see already that she just "feels better". You can tell. We are sticking with the diet all the way. For our cat, Talulah, this food has been a life saver. August 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for Thyroid Problems My vet reccomended this food for me, my older cat finally has not vomited once his food. I am hopeful he may even gain some of his weight back. The wet food for my cat was better, he turned up his nose at the dry from the same manufacturer. July 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product This product saved my 15 year old cat's life. Within a week she was eating again, and within a month her thyroid levels were normal. When I opened the can, I couldn't believe the wonderful smell. One can isn't like one can of regular cat food, it goes a long way. It is dense. July 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not good by itself - requires mixing with other types of food. My cat was diagnosed with thyroid problems - allergic to the medicine so had to go on RX for dry and wet food. She tolerates the dry food fine but this wet food is rubbery and not tasteful at all to her. I've tried mixing it with scrambled eggs, veges, and other wet food but she won't eat it. Now, however I chopped some deli turkey really fine and mixed it with this food and she is eating a little at a time. If your cat is finicky - she won't eat this by itself. The manufacturer needs to make it more appetizing. January 31, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Canned prescription Y/D cat food. My cat will not eat this food...she'll starve first. It does not look appetizing to me either. But it is the food the veterinary said she needs. July 25, 2015
  • 2016-05-29 T05:29:53.205-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_63, tr_63
  • loc_en_US, sid_69664, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 next>>