Free Shipping on orders $49+

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Cat Food

List Price: $70.19
Price: $55.39 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping
You Save: $14.80 (21%)
In Stock
8.5-lb bag
  • 4-lb bag
  • 8.5-lb bag

Product Description

Food sensitivity and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Cats that have a food sensitivity or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your cat suffers from adverse reactions to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. At Hill's, nutritionists and veterinarians have developed clinical nutrition especially formulated to help manage your cat's dietary sensitivity and help reduce the possibility of adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Hill's is going through a packaging change: Original was formerly Ultra; same great formula, just a new name!
  • Formulated with Hill's Hydrolyzed Protein System, highly digestible proteins that minimize the chances of adverse reactions to food
  • A single, highly digestible carbohydrate source to help avoid adverse reactions to food
  • Highly digestible carbohydrates and fats to help reduce gastrointestinal workload
  • Increased omega 3 and 6 Fatty Acids to help nourish the skin
  • Added antioxidants to help maintain a healthy immune system and skin barrier function

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69817
Special Diet
  • Sensitive Digestion
  • Prescription Food
Brand
  • Science Diet
  • Hill's Science Diet
Food Form
  • Dry Food
Country of Origin
  • United States
Lifestage
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Important Information

Ingredients

Brewers rice, hydrolyzed chicken liver, hydrolyzed chicken, soybean oil, powdered cellulose, lactic acid, calcium carbonate, calcium sulfate, glyceryl monostearate, potassium chloride, dl-methionine, choline chloride, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, calcium pantothenate, vitamin a supplement, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid), taurine, iodized salt, dicalcium phosphate, minerals (ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), mixed tocopherols for freshness, beta-carotene, natural flavors

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 53 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Working very well on stomache issues & weightloss? My old girl, 13yrs, tried this because I would find little vomit spots all over. It has helped tremendously with that, as long as she doesn't find ribbon/leaves/etc otherwise that comes up. (My indoor/outdoor cat 15 yrs has not tried this yet.) I have noticed she has lost a lot of weight. It probably makes her the ideal weight. I am allowing her to eat as much as she wants. I am bringing her to the vet this week for a weight check. I have read most of the reviews below, but I have not seen anyone else mention this side effect. Her poop stinks, as does the food, from the human perspective! My 3rd maltese dog-child, stands under the table and cries because she wants this food so bad. Needless to say, the cat eats higher than the dog can jump. October 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hill's Perscription Diet z/d Dry Cat Food I love the convenience and the savings I get from ordering my cats' food through your website. It is delivered quickly. Given my hectic schedule, this is a most helpful and convenient way to purchase this food. October 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helps my cat's allergies Managing my cat's allergens has been never ending. He's allergic to multiple things. Science diet definitely helps (I think I've tried every possible diets). The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because my cat's stool stinks to high heaven on this food, but if it helps him not to lick himself bald....I'll deal with that. November 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by the only food our allergic cats are able to eat. Several years ago our domestic shorthairs were having great difficulty digesting their dry food. They had skin rashes, granulomas, hair loss, and general crankiness. Our vet recommended Hills Rx Diet z/d for Felines and, lo and behold, the problem was solved. We also give the little fur balls Hills Hypoallergenic Cat Treats--which they love. Thanks Hill's Pet Diet products, and Chewy, which makes it easy to keep the larder stocked and save money! We're hooked. Ann, Marc, and the Girls July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product! Super catfood for my ibd baby. Will continue to buy it as long as needed. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product - fantastico! This product is awesome! Our pet loves the food, and helps him to have a more full life instead of getting sick. I'm so glad that this product is available. We used to get it from the vet, but it is much cheaper this way. Thanks! November 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cat did not like this product at all !!! Not a good experience, our cat ate a bit and then thru up all over the bed ... January 23, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Marlee loves it! Our adopted kitty Marlee came to us with a sensitive tummy and food allergies. The vet reccomended Hill's Perscription Diet. Not only does she love dinnertime, she hasn't had any real problems since she's been on it. Not sure if it's an added benefit of the food but wow her fur is as soft as a chinchilla! January 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for allergy sufferers My cat suddenly started throwing up her kibble after every meal, the same brand she had always eaten. My vet prescribed her this food and I was surprised how much she liked it. One unexpected benefit was that the intense dandruff she had always had went away and now her coat looks so much shinier and healthier. This food isn't cheap but it has helped my cat so much. December 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by My siamese won't eat it Maya my siamese cat suffers from food allergies and the vet prescribed this food, but she won't eat it. She's very picky and now she barely eats anything. I've bought every brand possible. I don't know what to do anymore! November 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I wish it wasn't expensive. It's a small dark kibble and it smells like beef bouillon. I don't know what it is. We went from i/d, which was almost always spoiled when we got it to the zd. By the way, I now understand why I couldn't get Hills to sell feline i/d in larger bags. Even though it costs a lot more, at least it doesn't stink. I don't have to make anything from scratch, either. I'm glad to have a healthy food that I can feed to my cat and he likes it. You can and I do feed it to the healthy ones and the other two with sensitive stomachs. This food alone didn't cure my cat's problem. We're going through some additional medicine. November 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My cat will eat and can tolerate this food without vomiting. While my cat is not crazy about the food she will eat it and it does not cause gastrointestinal distress. My only great concern is that the soy product that is used most likely is a GMO soy because most soy products are. Since I think her food intolerance may have been caused by GMO's it would be better if it was GMO free. October 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Cats "Meow" We have two very different cats. One is female and one is male. The male is a main coon. Very large about 22 lbs. The female a tiny grey and white tabby about 6 lbs. They bot LOVE this food and think it's the cats "meow" . Their skin and fur are so soft and luxurious. They go nuts when they know it is time for some "crunchy" Tigger, the main coon, had skin issues and would itch his collar and neck area endlessly to the point of rawness. All gone, since he has been eating Hill's prescription diet z/d dry food. I highly recommend this diet to any cat who may have sensitive skin issues. September 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too early to tell if food is helping. Vet recommended putting my 12 year old cat on prescription food due to his itching. He's been on the food for one week. I can't tell any difference yet, but the vet said it may take 2 months to see a difference. He likes the food okay. He only eats a small amount at a time. August 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food for Cat with Food Allergies This food has made all the difference in the world to my cat Jordan. He was one sick little guy until the vet diagnosed his food allergies. Once his diet changed to this dry food (and corresponding canned food), his health changed immediately. He's a picky eater but Jordan likes this food. I am a relieved, grateful mama. June 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Matilda loves it! Oddly, she won't eat the wet version, but she loves the dry stuff. She is allergic to chicken, so this food has been great. June 23, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cat Kryptonite... I have two cats, one of whom has food allergies/bowel disease. This was recommended by the vet as an alternative to his diet. [Of course, I also hoped the other would eat it as well and make life easy.] Bottom line: neither of them would go near it. I also tried mixing it in with their current wet and dry food. They still wouldn't come near it. So get samples and try it out first. Clearly some cats won't eat it. June 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good food makes healthy cats This food stopped most of the chronic problems my cat had. She vomited frequently & had IBS, but this food fixed that. May 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product My cat has a liver problem - z/d sensitive was prescribed for her and she is doing much better on this food. I would highly recommend speaking to your vet if you have a feline with sensitivity issues May 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works well for cats This Food Z/d is a prescription diet for cats and dogs that have digestive problems. My cat was very sick and after several days at the vet, she was put on this diet. It works well and it's been over a year since any problem has occurred. This diet keeps her gastrointestinal problems in check. I would recommend this food for a pet with digestive issues. One important thing, since this is dry food your pet will consume more water so make sure a lot of water is available. April 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Product keeps my cats healthy My cats, Toffee and Cocoa, are healthy, eat less, and do well with this product. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Far, So Good I can't tell yet if this works for our "allergy boy," but so far it is good. It's a bit pricy, but we'll bite the bullet on that if we know it works. February 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by worked for IBD but cat did not like My cat had lost a lot of weight and was frail by the time he was diagnosed with IBD. At first the cat ate this and started gaining weight. Over time we had to sprinkle probiotics to get him to eat. After about 2 months he wasn't eating much of this food and was wailing every time we cooked or ate. He normally is a very quite cat, so unfortunately we had to try another brand. February 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good pet food for cats with allergies My cats like this food. I feel good knowing they are eating a nutritious diet . My only complaint is the food smells awful and their poop even worse! February 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is perfect! My cat has many allergies and is very particular about what she will and will not eat. She enjoys and often asks for more of the Hills Prescription Diet Z/D Formula dry cat food. The food is in small pellet form, making it easy to chew. February 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good service from Chewy.com I recently ordered pet food from this site and was VERY pleased at the service I received! I needed the food quickly and received quick and personal responses to my request. They treated me as though I already was a valued customer with my first order. I also received the product quickly. I have recommended this site to friends with pets and will continue to order my pet food and supplies from them. Thank you Chewy.com representatives! January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Used for years My cat has had stomach issues for years and been eating Z-D. I was getting it from my vet but the last two times I needed it they were out and only order once a month. When searching for other options, I found Chewy.com for about the same price. Very pleased so far. I've set up auto delivery so I shouldn't have any issues of running out again. January 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Missy loves it! Missy really loves this cat food, and the best part about it is that she is getting healthier eating it. Her allergies are under control and she looks great. Thanks Hills Prescription Diets! December 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by every cat eats it One cat with food allergies and one without so we were relieved that both cats like this. November 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by fantastic product my cats allergy is gone........................... November 18, 2014
  • 2016-02-08 T16:33:30.577-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_53, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_69667, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 next>>
Questions? Call our friendly customer service team anytime. We're here 24 hours a day! 1-800-67-CHEWY (672-4399)