Free Shipping on orders $49+

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Canned Cat Food, 5.5-oz, case of 24

List Price: $67.59
Price: $57.49 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping
You Save: $10.10 (15%)
In Stock

Product Description

Food sensitivity and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Cats that have a food sensitive or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your cat suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. At Hill's, nutritionists and veterinarians have developed clinical nutrition especially formulated to help manage your cat's dietary sensitivity and help reduce the possibility of adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Hill's is going through a packaging change: Original was formerly Ultra; same great formula, just a new name!
  • Formulated with Hill's Hydrolyzed Protein System - highly digestible proteins that minimize the chances of adverse reactions to food
  • No intact animal protein to help avoid adverse reactions to food
  • Highly digestible carbohydrates and fats to help reduce gastrointestinal workload
  • Increased in omega 3 and 6 Fatty Acids to help nourish the skin and coat
  • Added antioxidants to support a healthy immune system
  • Made in the USA

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69815
Food Form
  • Wet Food
Special Diet
  • Sensitive Digestion
  • Prescription Food
Brand
  • Science Diet
  • Hill's Science Diet
Country of Origin
  • United States
Lifestage
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Important Information

Ingredients

Hydrolyzed chicken liver, water, corn starch, soybean oil, powdered cellulose, calcium carbonate, dl-methionine, potassium chloride, dicalcium phosphate, choline chloride, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, thiamine mononitrate, ascorbic acid (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, calcium pantothenate, vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, biotin, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid), iodized salt, taurine, calcium sulfate, minerals (zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), beta-carotene

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 41 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far so good My vet recommended this product for possible allergic or sensitivity issues. I have only been using it for approx. two weeks, but but have not had any adverse reactions and the cat is eating it so far so good. March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific results!!! My cat had problems throwing up, scratching, and skin problems but since she's been on this food she has improved greatly! She also used to pull her hair out and now she doesn't do it at all! She's only been on this for 3 days and the results are remarkable. She loves both the dry and the wet z/d products. Thanks for a great product! January 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great taste my cats love this product and it has solved their problem with allergies December 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Yuck Recently my vet determined my cat Joe has food allergies so prescribed this food. Joe loves the dry but doesn't recognize the canned as being food at all. It comes out of the can like a brown gelatin lump. I've tried chopping it up with a knife to make it smoother but it just made it smaller lumps of gelatin. I then tried adding a bit of warm water and running it through the blender to make it smoother. Nothing worked. So I was stuck with 12 cans of something my cat wouldn't eat. I tried feeding it to the stray cats outside but they wanted nothing to do with it either. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cats thrive on Hill's Prescription Diet z/d As one of our cats has an immune issue, our vet put him on Hill's Prescription Diet z/d. We use both the dry and wet variety for both of our cats now, and they love, love, love their food. It is wonderful to have it delievered right to my door by Chewy. No more hauling bags and flats of cat food for me!!! :) October 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works for our cat Eddie is only two years old but has is struggling with IBD. Had to have surgery to remove some diseased bowel. Hill's z/d is all he's been able to tolerate. Just wish it came in different flavors. He gets bored with the same thing every day. September 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat likes the food and it is helping her. My 11-year-old calico has a history of digestive tract problems. A few weeks ago, her doctor prescribed the Hill Science Diet z/d food for her. She has always been a finicky eater, and I was afraid that she wouldn't want to eat this stuff. To my surprise, after a very brief period of transition, she has been eating it as if this is what she has always wanted. The only thing she likes more than her z/d food is a little bit of canteloupe. And chewy.com has been a blessing because this food is expensive and Chewy is saving me money. Thanks, Chewy for helping my cat and me. June 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cats love it. My cat has allergies and this has been prescription food that he enjoys. May 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Good Option For Special Diets I have two cats with IBD and although this not a cure, it is one of two choices that they can eat. They can only have wet hypoallergenic food. They both find the flavor palatable and they are very particular (as most cats are!). November 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for certain needs This food was prescribed by my vet for a cat who suffers from IBD (Inflammatory bowel disease). It (along with medication) has worked wonders for my kitty who was either throwing up or not eating. I am so glad that I could order this (with prescription) from Chewy.com. These folks are the best! November 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good food with thick solid consistency this food is easy to serve, but I need to break it into small pieces as it comes out of the can. It is thick and hard for my toothless cat to pick up and eat. But she loves the taste! October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Z/D feline wet food I love this product! I feed both my kitties the Z/D dry food. One kitty is a bit senior and sometimes forgets to drink water thoughout the day. Although the wet food doesn't provide all of the hydration she needs - it's water based and they love it. I leave out both wet and dry food and they eat both. Both need Z/D prescription variety and it seems to help with their allergies. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for cats with allergies! I give the Z/D wet food as a supplement to the Z/D dry food to my cats but use it especially when they are sick or have had dental work done, etc. I cut it up in little pieces for them which makes it much easier to eat since it is a jelly like texture. January 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat loves this food. My cat has tried several dry and canned foods. He developed problems with other foods that made him sick. He loves this food and licks the bowl clean. So far he has had no health problems with this food. I would recommend it to other cat owners. December 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bad consistency, cats find it unappetizing My cats will eat this food, but only as a food of last resort. The consistency of this food is very dense, and seems difficult for them to eat relative to most other canned cat foods. Also, the cost is very high, although Chewy.com does seem to have the best price around. November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by texture is great ,easy to sever and eat Max is a very picky eater. But he loves this , thank you !!!!! October 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I rescued a shelter kitty with food allergies. Apparently she had alopecia and switching to Z/D has eliminated any skin allergies. Lorissa spent 8 years in a local shelter. Apparently during her stay there it was determined that she had food allergies and suffered from alopecia. By switching her to Z/D diet, her skin and fur are now beautiful. As we work our way through our new relationship, the food is a great way to make our bond stronger August 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very strange texture. They didn't like the taste. This food was another something to try for a cat with continuing stomach problems. It has a very strange gelatinous texture. Even using a fork to try to separate it didn't really work. It came out of the can in a gelatinous clump. I started off mixing it with their usual food, but they just didn't accept it. I tried for a week, but they'd just stick their noses in the bowl, sniff it, pull back and walk away.....like they do. Our next something to try is pumpkin. June 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hypoallergenic food We tried this for our VERY fussy eater. She seemed to like it on the first day but refused to eat it after that. She is very hard to please when it come to wet food so, while she did not like it I would still recommend it to others who might need this Rx food for their pet. It provides an option for their pet if they are used to canned food. Chewy was wonderful and refunded me for all of the un-used cans! February 6, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cat did not like this food at all !!! Not for our our cat and a very expensive product ... January 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it It has a fluffy, velvety texture and my cat gobbles it all up. January 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by my cats favorite wet prescription food The only brand my cats will eat in the canned allergy foods January 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for cats with intestinal problems We started using this product on the recommendation of our Vet for colitis in our cat. It is a more easily digestible product than regular cat food. We use it in small amounts to add probiotic to daily. One can lasts 5 days. Our cat also eats hydrolyzed Cannon dry food. Since being on this diet, especially the ZD food, he doesn't shed much and the coat is shiny and healthier. His colitis is much improved and we are happy with this product. January 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent for cats with allergies to other foods. This food has definitely enhanced the quality of my senior cat's life. She is allergic to most of the ingredients in regular cat food as well as a thyroid problem. She's nearly 15 but now often plays like a kitten. She gained some much needed weight and her coat is soft, thick and has a shine not seen for a while. I'm grateful that our vet recommended this food...both the wet and the dry. My only request would be to increase the packaging to 25 lbs. December 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by quality has improved I have fed this food in the wet and dry formulas in the past and found the cats didnt care For it however it has definitely improved! My IBD baby loves it one day and is not in love with it the next but his brother and my outdoor babies love it. Depends on how picky the cat is I think. I usually add some warm water and mix it well. I believe they like it better that way since the consistency is different than other canned foods. December 30, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Food is very rubbery Food is very rubbery like jello. My cat refuses to eat this. December 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Speedy processing and delivery! I am extremely pleased with the speedy processing and delivery of my Hill Prescription z/d cat food. The packaging was great and all cans were in perfect shape; no dents! Chewy was recommended by a vet so they must have a good name!!! November 30, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by She wouldn't eat it I am sure it is good for her, but she just wouldn't eat it. Which is why I gave it a mixed review. I am sure it is a wonderful product, but I couldn't get her to get near it! She LOVES the chicken vegetable I/d food, so that is what I am back to. November 19, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Chewy dot come is great But my kitty doesn't like it although it is essential for health. I will keep trying others. November 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Be sure to mix with some water. It's easier to use Been using food for a month. Misha is 16 and doing really well on this food. No more throwing up. Call your vet if your pet is having trouble. These specialty foods can save their life!!!! November 4, 2015
  • 2016-02-09 T15:44:47.701-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_41, tr_41
  • loc_en_US, sid_69668, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 next>>
Questions? Call our friendly customer service team anytime. We're here 24 hours a day! 1-800-67-CHEWY (672-4399)