Free Shipping on orders $49+

Hill's Science Diet Adult Optimal Care Original Dry Cat Food

List Price: $31.49
Price: $28.49
You Save: $3.00 (10%)
In Stock
17.5-lb bag
  • 4-lb bag
  • 17.5-lb bag
  • 7-lb bag

Hill's Science Diet Adult Optimal Care Original Dry Cat Food, 17.5-lb bag

Hill's Science Diet Adult Optimal Care Original cat food provides Precisely balanced, easy-to-digest nutrition for a visible difference.

Key Benefits

  • Recommended for adult cats 1-6 years of age
  • Taurine and controlled levels of phosphorus promote healthy vital organs
  • High-quality, lean protein helps promote a healthy weight
  • Omega 6 fatty acids and vitamin E to improve skin & coat in 30 days
  • Real chicken #1 with natural ingredients and no chicken by-product meal
  • Made in the USA!

See all items by Hill's Science Diet »

Item Number 48903
Country of Origin
  • United States
Brand
  • Science Diet
Form
  • Dry Food
Lifestage
  • Adult

Chicken, Whole Grain Wheat, Corn Gluten Meal, Pork Fat, Brewers Rice , Wheat Gluten, Chicken Liver Flavor, Dried Beet Pulp, Dried Egg Product, Calcium Sulfate, Lactic Acid, Potassium Chloride, DL-Methionine, Choline Chloride, Fish Oil, Soybean Oil, Calcium Carbonate, Iodized Salt, Taurine, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), L-Lysine, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Oat Fiber, Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Phosphoric Acid, Beta-Carotene, Natural Flavors, Dried Apples, Dried Broccoli, Dried Carrots, Dried Cranberries, Dried Peas

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Hill's Science Diet Adult Optimal Care Original Dry Cat Food Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by 42 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by this has everything my cats seem to need I have used Science Diet for my cats for about 15 years. I will not give them anything else. They like it and it is recommended by their vet- can't get a better refrence than that. I haven't tried any other product in all these years and don't plan to try anything else. I have 2 cats and they both like it. June 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by My cats love this food. I have fed Hill's Science Diet to my cats for over 10 years and they love it. December 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Science Diet Optimal Cat Food I have been feeding this to our cats for years without out issue. Their coats are beautiful and their health issues are few. December 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied Cat After acquiring a 2 year old cat two months ago, I started feeding her the Optimal Care dry cat food. She enjoys it so much that she tries to help me pour it in her bowl. There is never a morsel left and her skin and coat look good. Thank you. December 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A good quality food We have 4 dogs and two cats. Our animals are well taken care of and loved so we feed what we think is the best quality November 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The cats Love it, and so do I We have rescue cats, and one of them recently had kittens. Now 14 weeks old, they and the other 4 adults have no problems with the Optimal Care. I know it's not meant for cats under 1 year, but they all thrive, and are very happy cats. We love it for the price and since it is Science Diet, we know we are feeding them the best. The local vet agrees totally. Thanks October 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kitty loves it Good nutrition for kitty and she loves every bite! September 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by So worth the price! Our young cat was recently diagnosed with FeLV. The vet said in order for him to have any chance at living very long he would need optimum care, including a high protein quality food. Hills meets that need and Sammie really loves it. He is maintaining a good weight and staying healthy so far. Thank you so much for supplying quality pet foods at affordable prices! September 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by LUV LUV LUV I am very happy with Hills Science Diet products and so are my 3 cats. They stay sleek and shiny and best of all, there is no odor from the litter box - even after several days of accumulation. As for Chewy, they are great, fast and inexpensive deliveries and a multitude of choices. September 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our 3 cats love it. We also use other Hill's cat food too, We use 2 flavor a of Hill's cat food. Sometimes we mix them up. All cat's love the prodoct so does the dog! August 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Daily diet for older cat I use as daily diet for 18 y/o cat. She eats this well. August 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great products, sloppy shipping These foods are loved by my cats, especially the treats! August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by good product My cat likes it from the first day he tries it.Good price as well. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good cat food My cat loves this food. He is beautiful. He has a beautiful coat and a nice trim body. August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfies my cats I was feeding another brand of cat food. My cats were constantly wanting to be fed and acting as if they were not ever satisfied. I began to wonder if they were not getting enough nutrition. After reading the labels at my local store I noticed chicken was the first ingredient in this cat food. Now they eat less and I am not actually out more money even though this food is quite a bit more expensive. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this product! I've had cats my entire life, and occasionally we try other brands of "better" cat food, only to come back to Science Diet. Our household of cats have fewer stomach issues, better health, and overall better/beautiful coats. We love our cats, and they love Science Diet! June 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cat Food a a Good Price I was able to buy the cat food I needed at a very competitive price. I set up a scheduled delivery. thanks for good service! Donald May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The litter box dont smell!! That is what I really love about it! And it takes very little to fill them up. I feed all five of my cats and the feral cats the same thing...it makes them look so pretty, I have the best looking feral cats in the neighborhood! May 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cats love it! Dublin chowed down as soon as I put Science Diet in his dish. Cali never eats but I have seen her nibbling. I used to feed them SD a few years ago. I will again now April 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Favorite of My Kitties! My Ebony ate SD and lived to 20 years! She was always active and trim. Several of my kitties do very well with this food. April 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good price for a good product This is the food used by the organization from which we adopted our new cat. They also provided a small bag. February 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Cat's Love IT! Fast shipping, packaged great!!! Will go to Chewy.com for my next dog and cat need order :) April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Science Diet Everyone knows Science Diet is a good product, but the best part of buying it at Chewy is price. I've saved quite a bit by shopping at Chewy, but I've saved more on this product than any other item. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is my cats choice of dry food. Science Diet is my cats favorite dry food. My cat Sassy will only eat this product. February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Stepping Stone As You Bring Your Kitties to No-Grain ! We rescued ferals in our general neighborhood for years. We would graduate them from the most tasty yet least pricey grain-laden (because we were not educated in feline nutrition) kibble to this brand once they decided we had finally tamed down enough for them to live with us. As applicable for their age, they, eventually had this particular kibble in their bowl. It is their early years comfort food. They don't eat much of it anymore but do like having it available. They sort of treat it like a granola bar that is already crumbled up for them, though the hard round pellets do offer them a challenge. They do have to slow down when they eat it or they end up tossing their cookies. By the way, this brand also offers a no grain kibble. Just saying, had I a do over opportunity, I would have gone with the no grain right from the start. And, yes, most likely, have chosen this particular brand. Enjoy! Love Those Felines of Yours! You are All Worthy ! February 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by New product for us. Have used two other Hills dry foods, but also ordered this for a change. Will see how cat likes it. February 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love to hear our new cat crunching on his dry food!! The adult optimal care cat food is a great product. All of our cats, past and present, have loved it!! January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hill's Science Diet Dry cat food Hill Science Diet is a very good product and I would recommend it to any animal lover. Great job on shipping my order and everything I ordered was received and in good shape. January 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by An absolutely fantastic product I breed Siamese cats, three of which have always had chronic diarrhea. Recently I was given a Bengal who started having diarrhea all over my apartment up to 6 times a day. My vet suggested that the food I fed my cats might be the problem. I decided to change to Science Diet but expected my food bill to skyrocket. Instead, the cats eat less, there is less solid waste in the litter boxes, all diarrhea has stopped and my cats are more playful and healthy. Using Science Diet with my nine cats actually cut my food bill by $30 per month and has benefitted my cat's overall health tremendously. I highly recommend this product. January 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by this product is great my calico is 11 years old and is a diabetic, the vet recommended this brand. she would rather eat this then her treats (temptations) . she is healthy and acts like she is 4 tears old. January 5, 2015
  • 2015-04-23T18:29:43.622-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_42, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_46242, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 next>>
Questions? Call our friendly customer service team anytime. We're here 24 hours a day! 1-800-67-CHEWY (672-4399)