Free Shipping on orders $49+

Blue Buffalo Life Protection Formula Adult Fish & Sweet Potato Recipe Dry Dog Food

List Price: $61.99
Price: $44.99 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping at $49
You Save: $17.00 (27%)
In Stock
30-lb bag
  • 6-lb bag
  • 15-lb bag
  • 30-lb bag

Product Description

Blue Buffalo Life Protection Formula was created for the health and well-being of dogs. All formulas start with real meat, whole grains, garden veggies and fruit, plus added LifeSource Bits, a precise blend of nutrients that have been enhanced with a Super 7 package of antioxidant-rich ingredients. This Adult Fish & Sweet Potato Recipe features delicious, protein-rich deboned whitefish and other natural ingredients for a healthy meal your dog will love.

Key Benefits

  • High-quality protein for healthy muscle development
  • Essential proteins and carbs for energy for an active life
  • Calcium, phosphorus and essential vitamins for strong bones and teeth
  • Glucosamine for joint health and mobility
  • Omega 3 and 6 fatty acids for healthy skin and coat
  • Vitamins, chelated minerals and antioxidants for immune system health
  • No corn, wheat, soy or chicken (or poultry) by-product meals
  • Made in the USA

See all items by Blue Buffalo »

Item Number 46858
Food Form
  • Dry Food
  • Adult
Special Diet
  • No Corn No Wheat No Soy
Country of Origin
  • United States

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Important Information


Whitefish, Menhaden Fish Meal (source of Omega 3 Fatty Acids), Barley, Oatmeal, Brown Rice, Peas, Chicken Fat (preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Flaxseed (source of Omega 3 and 6 Fatty Acids), Tomato Pomace (source of Lycopene), Natural Flavor, Sweet Potatoes, Potatoes, Dried Egg, Alfalfa Meal, Calcium Carbonate, Salt, Potassium Chloride, Potato Starch, Dried Chicory Root, Choline Chloride, Caramel, DL-Methionine, Mixed Tocopherols (a natural preservative), Carrots, Garlic, Glucosamine Hydrochloride, Vitamin E Supplement, Ferrous Sulfate, Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Zinc Amino Acid Chelate, Zinc Sulfate, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Oil of Rosemary, L-Lysine, Parsley, Kelp, Blueberries, Cranberries, Apples, Spinach, Blackberries, Pomegranate, Pumpkin, Barley Grass, Turmeric, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Copper Sulfate, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Nicotinic Acid (Vitamin B3), Calcium Pantothenate (Vitamin B5), Taurine, Biotin (Vitamin B7), Manganese Sulfate, Vitamin A Supplement, Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, L-Carnitine, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Vitamin D3 Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement Vitamin B12 Supplement Vitamin B12 is a coenzyme in nucleic acid, protein and lipid synthesis. It is necessary for growth. Necessary for normal processing of carbohydrates, protein, and fat in the body. , Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Beta Carotene, Dried Yeast, Dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product, Dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, Dried Aspergillus niger fermentation extract, Dried Trichoderma longibrachiatum fermentation extract, Dried Bacillus subtilis fermentation extract, Folic Acid (Vitamin B9), Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 130 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thought I'd take a chance... My 3 dogs enjoy Blue Buffalo, but they were getting tired of the chicken and the lamb flavors so I thought I'd change it up and mix in a little fish & sweet potato to see if they liked it. When I opened the bag, I was surprised by the fish smell that wafted out of the bag. I'm not a fish eater myself, so I wasn't sure how I felt about it at first, but when I mixed it with the Chicken and rice, my dogs ate every morsel from their bowls! So far, it seems like my dogs enjoy the fish flavor, so this was a gamble that really paid off :-) April 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs LOVE this food! We have a Golden Retriever (who would eat the tires off a bus if you let her), and a very finicky Boston Terrier. We had changed their food a while ago just trying to find something healthier that would help with weight management and dry skin. Because the little guy is so picky I was leary to switch again, but so glad I did!! BB fish and sweet potato was an instant hit, and we are already seeing a healthy improvement in both dogs! June 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by High Quality dog food with quality ingredients. We feed our 5 dogs this food and not only do they love it - it has done wonders for their coats. They have been on this food for 18 months, having switched from Nutro, and the condition in the coats and digestive health was immediately evident. February 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Food for Long Haired Dogs I have a Tibetan Terrier. Before switching to this food, I have always had problems with his hair drying out. I had to add supplements to his food to control this. That problem was solved by feeding him BB Fish and Sweet Potato. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My three dalmatians love the mix We treat the three to a dry mix of Blue fish and Blue chicken twice a day and they sure "woof" it down. We are very pleased with their healthy coats and exuberance. March 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT! Huck & Minor are happy healthy dogs, We wanted the best food for their puppy years, so we bought Blue Buffalo. They are now one year old and we just can't give them anything else. We are Chewy fans for life. On top of the best choices, the antleers last for months, which is a great chew option (rather than shoes) delievery is to the door and reliable. One Happy Family December 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs love this It seems that dog food formulas are always changing. We've been through many different brands - from high end to low end - and this is the best! It's easy on sensitive stomachs, and the fish really helped with dry skin and dullness issues. Great food, reasonably priced, and worth every penny! February 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Girls love Blue Buffalo. I started my dogs on Fish and Sweet potato about a 9 months ago. They really like it. I changed from chicken and brown rice to hopefuly stop my Boarder Collies hot spots. We shall see if it helped in July. February 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dogs love it! Delivery was fast and easy. Dogs favorite food and cheaper than the pet store. October 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have looked forward to getting this food back into my dogs diets since S.O. wanted to change it because of cost of the food I do not remember our dogs shedding or cleaning as much when they used to eat this food. Unfortunately changed d/t the cost. I could not stand the constant licking they were doing or the increased shedding so have returned. Will just have to cut back somewhere else I guess. The fish smell is definitely strong, but they do much better on this food. October 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Blue Buffalo is a trusted Food for my Collies I raise Rough Collies and move between a couple of foods to feed them a high quality food that they thrive on. Blue Buffalo is one of the food choices and they love it. I know they are getting their nutritional needs met by giving it to them. I highly recommend this food! October 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So easy! My dog loves the food and I love that it's delivered to my door! September 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by dogs transitioned well great food and of excellent quality no digestive problems either September 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Both myself and my dogs love Blue Buffalo products! While this food doesn't resolve all of my dogs' allergy issues, it certainly makes them more manageable. I feel like I'm able to provide them with nutritious food to keep them healthy for a long time. September 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by product is great everything is just awesome, dogs just love it. solved our allergy issues September 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is wholesome and healthy! English Bulldogs can have some intestinal issues with certain foods and skin allergies. Since switching to Blue, I have healthy, happy dogs. September 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs love it and it's good for them! My dogs have been eating this dog food for many years and I am very pleased with it. My dogs certainly enjoy it and they are active and healthy. I ordered it from Chewy for the first time and was very pleased with my experience. The delivery was fast and convenient. I previously had been buying the product at a local petfood store, and I observed that the product I received from Chewy seemed much fresher. I will definitely be a repeat customer. August 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Food Blue products are especially good for dogs with some allergy problems. We go for the fish based products because they are easier on dogs with a lot of airborne allergies. While a bit expensive the auto ship function on is great in order to save a bit off of local retail for the same product. August 3, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Canola oil This dog food contains canola oil which isn't listed online. July 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by My review Trying this product for the first time. One dog will eat it if mixed with their regular food. The other three dogs are still not sure. July 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product Five star review all the way - made in the USA, three German Shepherds love love love this stuff. Have a ten year old male that just seems to be more active since dining on this delight - Had to change the auto-delivery freq. - they ate it quicker than I anticipated. Very happy with this product July 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good move. Great food. I recently began looking for a better food for my two dogs, one of which is a fourteen year old girl that did not seem to be doing well on the food I was using. Since I switched to Blue, both dogs are loving it and the old girl is looking better and acting more like her old self. This is great food and Chewy sells it at a good price. July 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great healthy mix for the family friends I have 2 miniature dachshunds father and son, and they've eaten blue buffalo exclusively and they are 9 and 10 years old, it's the only food we will buy for our buddies, they are quite sensitive dogs when it comes just about anything, especially their diet, and they didn't do good with chicken, or grain based products so this food was the perfect medium for them. would recommend this for any breed of dogs big or small, puppy or adult, blue is just the best! July 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Blue Buffalo Fish & Sweet Potato Dry Food We have three GSDs. The youngest is EPI and a VERY fussy eater because of the foul taste of the enzyme that is mixed with her food. The Blue Buffalo Fish & Sweet Potato Dry Food seems to really appeal to her in the best way. Of course the rest of the crew love it as well! June 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs happy Have used Blue Buffalo for my two standard poodles since their birth. Had not tried the fish blend earlier but the dogs love it. June 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs Love The Taste I switched to this food from another good brand and find my four dogs love the taste of this food better than they did the other brand. I like the fact that they can eat healthy, get the extra vitamins and joint care they need on a daily basis. June 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our dogs love this product Our chocolate lab, Lucy, has allergies to chicken or any kind of poultry. She loves this food as do my other 2 labs. This is the first time I have given her this variety of Blue; I usually get the limited ingredient kind with fish and potato. Just to give her a little change, I decided to try this. She just loves it. I like it too as it doesn't have a powerful fishy odor like the limited ingredient variety. We use Blue Buffalo exclusively for our dogs and Chewy exclusively for purchasing it. June 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Depends on individual dog I switched from Iam's to Blue because of the high ratings it has. But I have to go back to the Iam's. My puggle has allergies making him scratch like crazy. When I switched to Iam's it stopped within 2 days! But as I said I thought I'd give Blue a try in the same formula and he's back to scratching again, driving me nuts. Unfortunately, I'm stuck with a whole bag but it's my last! Going back to Iam's. It's just better for my particular dog. June 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by four large dogs ages 7-13 love it great ingredients. We switched from weight management with chicken to this one with salmon and sweet potatoes. Our four legged children needed the fish, omega, vitamins and nutrients. Better for their skin and coat for our two 7 hear olds, and better for arthritis and hip problems for our 11 and 13 year olds. Great product, great service, order two large bags and no shipping costs and arrive in less than two days. Cheaper and easier than going to the local pet store. Thank you Chewy. May 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Have two dogs and they both seem to really enjoy this product. My older dog actually sits by her bowl and guards it. May 25, 2015
  • 2015-11-30 T10:10:32.553-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_130, tr_130
  • loc_en_US, sid_45060, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Questions? Call our friendly customer service team anytime. We're here 24 hours a day! 1-800-67-CHEWY (672-4399)