Hill's Prescription Diet d/d Skin/Food Sensitivities Potato & Venison Formula Dry Dog Food

List Price: $104.99
Price: $73.71 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping
You Save: $31.28 (30%)
In Stock
17.6-lb bag
  • 8-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag

Product Description

There can be a variety of reasons for your dog's itchy, scratchy skin condition, including sensitivities to food. The good news is, most pets with these skin conditions can benefit simply by eating the right food. Nutritionists and veterinarians have developed clinical nutrition especially formulated to help your dog with a variety of skin conditions, and digestive discomfort due to food sensitivity. Hill's Prescription Diet d/d Canine is a complete and balanced food that provides all the nutrition dogs need.

Key Benefits

  • Highly digestible single intact animal protein source and single carbohydrate source to help avoid common food sensitivities
  • High levels of omega-6 and omega-3 fatty acids that help nourish the skin and coat
  • Combination of antioxidants helps maintain a healthy immune system and skin barrier function
  • Four different novel protein sources to provide more choices in managing food sensitivity
  • Complete and balanced for maintenance of adult adult dogs
  • Made in the USA

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69755
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
Brand
  • Hill's Science Diet
  • Science Diet
Food Form
  • Dry Food
Made in
  • United States
Lifestage
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Ingredients

Potato, potato starch, venison, potato protein, pork fat, soybean oil, natural flavor, lactic acid, dicalcium phosphate, fish oil, powdered cellulose, venison meal, potassium chloride, iodized salt, calcium carbonate, choline chloride, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement), dl-methionine, taurine, minerals (ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), l-tryptophan, mixed tocopherols for freshness, phosphoric acid, beta-carotene, natural flavors

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 67 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is very good for you pets skin. I I would recommend this these products for your pets they are very healthy for them and they seem to enjoy either of the good things about this particular product that it's very good for your pet skin and help with there digestive systems and keep your poop very firm . February 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food My dog loves this food. He is allergic to everything. He was diagnosed with Helicobacter as a puppy and my vet recommended this food and within weeks he was able to gain weight and not have diarrhea or vomit. Helps with his itchy skin also. January 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product We were glad to find this special food to be shipped because I am blind. It is delivered to my door. January 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by HIGHEST PROFESSIONAL QUALITY Fortunately for me my dog who suffers from apparent skin allergies has responded very well to this new dry dog food. I mixed it progressively over a 1 week period and he has now been on 100% Hills Prescription Died d/d Potato & Venison for just over a week. I've already noticed a general reduction in his typically irritated pink skin color and there have been days when his skin is completely normal. This food came VERY highly recommended by my veterinarian. I think I'll stick with Hills' Prescription Diet (not to be confused with Hill's Science Diet which does not require a prescription to purchase) for the foreseeable future. It's pricey, there's no way around that. But, I trust the quality that can hopefully bring about a resolution to my dog's food allergy problems but on top of it all . . . my dog just LOVES this food! Michael Bailey Sacramento, CA January 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Daisy loves this food I needed this product quickly and couldn't locate it anywhere. A Worker at a Pet Hospital suggested Chewy.com. The food was delivered quickly and my dog loves it. Thank you Chewy.com for making this easy for me. January 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenience and price I love that our dogs' food came directly to our door in two days and cost less than at our vet clinic. January 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chewy's excellent shipping and customer service Thank you Chewy for your excellent shipping and customer service, and that my order punctually arrived. My sweet adopted retired Marine dog Nero, was a bomb searcher and rescue dog for six years working alongside the Marines in Afghanistan. Nero is now 8 years old and I adopted him two months ago here in southern California. Nero is very special and his service [and that of all the dogs who check out bombs in war zones like Nero did for six years] are quite exceptional, because of all the lives they've saved while performing their very dangerous service for the U.S. Marines and the U.S. in general. Nero was very ill this past 2014 before I could take him home from the shelter. A university Vet hospital started feeding him the Hills prescription canned food Potato and Venison d/d canned food. Once I was able to take him home, I also gave him the dry, kibble d/d Potato and Venison as well. Now, Nero has gained back his weight, his digestive system has improved tremendously, and he looks like the great Belgian Malinois again that he is. Your excellent, and punctual customer service has been a great support in continuing this diet. Angela O. January 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Apparently delicious but a bit constipating My terrier loves the flavor but it seems to make him somewhat constipated. Hopefully he will adjust. November 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product and my dogs love it Our boxer/pitbull dog was diagnosed with skin allergies and the vet recommended this product. Almost immediately our dog's skin cleared up. The only downside is we have 3 big dogs and now the other 2 will not eat their own cheaper food. . . so now they all 3 eat the good stuff and their skin, hair, and coat has never looked better! October 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This great for dogs with skin & eating problems Our dogs love this food too!!! However, the one with skin problems will not eat it all of time so we are not able to see if it helps her allergy skin. November 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product and even Better Service! Chewy.com offers Hill's Prescription Diet food at the lowest available price but at the same time, offers great service in shipping the product and communicating with customers. Don't change your winning formula Chewy.com! October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by my dog starting eating this dog food immediately and she is a picky dog I was thrilled that my dog loved this dog food right away and I didn't have to add it slowly for her to get used to it October 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the dog food; my dogs shed less and skin, eyes and coats in great condition. Since using this dog food my dogs have been very healthy with great coats, skin, eyes shine. Big difference in dog hair in my house also which is a BIG plus. Great product. September 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by too soon to tell on the dogfood, but dog loves it, got a good price and it came fast My one-year old black lab has allergies, recurring ear infections, loose stools, and hair loss on underside. In an attempt to determine if these issues are food related, my vet recommended Hills d/d potato and venison as a limited ingredient diet. My dog has only been on this food for about a month, so it is too early to tell if food allergies were causing all/some of these issues. But, my dog loves the food and his stools are firmer. Also, some of his underside hair does appear to be regrowing. He has had another ear infection since starting. Chewy's seems to have the best price on this expensive food. November 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A perfect addition to canned d/d Zoey suffered from serious GI issues before she finally got on Hill's Prescription d/d. I feed her both wet and dry, and sometimes save the kibble for treat. She loves it! d/d has saved me a lot of money on vet bills. Thanks! August 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Trooper likes it! Our pit bull has pretty bad allergies and our vet recommended this food. So far after about 8 months of eating it, I haven't seen too much improvement but Trooper still really likes to eat it. He hasn't lost interest in the food like he does with other varieties. He also really likes the canned version that we give for treats. July 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Resolved itchiness, but it's expensive! My 1.5 year old lab came down with intense scratching and licking that was keeping me up all night. Our vet suggested a prescription diet, even though he'd already been on high quality, grain free food. We tried Hill's Potato and Venison - in combination with absolute restrictions on any other animal proteins in treats - and his itchiness has mostly resolved itself in about two weeks. The food is more expensive that the specialty dog store grain-free options, but I'm happy to pay it and keep him on it. It does smell pretty awful, but naturally he loves it. And the subscription from Chewy.com is super-convenient. February 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Look at the ingredients! hmmm . . . I'm afraid the guidelines hamper my expression! Don't go with this product/Hills' products, if you can avoid it. Look at the ingredients, is that what you would feed your child? Ask your supplier what s/he personally thinks and why. Admittedly this solved one problem, but produced another. Notice it's called "prescription." Prescriptions are meant to be taken temporrarilly. DON'T get fooled and go on intermidably. . . . Big pharma has ways of inducing doctors to prescribe their drugs. Inquire EXACTLY why vets recommend Hills. January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by No more itch! After taking our Golden to a dermatologist for skin testing we started monthly allergy shots and switched her feed to d&d. Within two years we had reduced her allergy shots and in another two years eliminated the shots altogether. We feel confident that changing her feed was the driving force in eliminating the shots. No licking her feet, scratching her back on the sofa, her skin issues are relieved. June 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Food excellent! Package opening/resealing needs help Transitioning from one food to another can be difficult. But not with this product. My two labs liked it better and adjusted to it easily after two weeks of blending old product and new. Hill's smaller bit size also makes it easy to portion out correctly. While Hill's package structure guarantees freshness, it is difficult to open and when working out of the bag difficult to close - with little possibility of creating a freshness seal like many other competitive products This excellent product can distinguish it self with one easy customer helpful packaging change. August 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have a new dog! My 5 year old rescued yellow Lab had frequent skin and ear infections. He had a rash over his front legs and abdomen which he scratched constantly. His coat was dry and brittle and very thin. He had bare spots on his legs. After trying medicated baths and Benedril, to no avail, our vet suggested Prescrition d/d Potato & Venison. I balked at the price, but decided to give it a try. After only 2 days, our boy's rash was gone. After 4 months on this diet, he has a soft, thick coat and no more itching! It is expensive, but worth it. June 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It Worked ... Fast! Finally! Something to stop my dog from chewing his tail into a bloody frenzy. I tried several different types of foods - nothing worked ... until now! It only took a few days and we started noticing a difference. No scratching, brighter coat, happier disposition. It's a bit pricey but its working and everyone is happier at this home. Phew!!! Next we'll begin discovering the culprit and avoid whatever it is from here on out. February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great Company called to make sure of the prescription , personal care, fast delivery good prices. Thanks July 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good Chewy.com has amazing customer response and service!!! July 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful coat. Her shedding is substantially less since she's begun eating this formula and her coat is so soft. Expensive but I'm very pleased. June 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Undecided at this time My German Shepherd has year round allergies so we are trying to determine if it is food related. The vet switched her the venison d/d prescription diet about 2 months ago. But she has to be on it for 3-4 months to determine if it will help. Meantime she is also on steroids and just finished antibiotics. She is improved but we don't know if it's the food, drugs or combination of. One positive outcome so far is that her stool is much firmer than it ever has been. November 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hills Prescription Diet Venison Formula The product that I order from CHEWY is exactly what has been recommended by my Vet. My dogs are very happy with this food that I order from CHEWY and the fact that I can get it delivered to my home saves me so much time. May 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fixed my dogs belly This food has helped my dogs belly issues. I am very pleased with the results! June 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog's Love It! I bought this food because my dog has been showing signs of a food allergy. I'm not sure what allergy he has yet but he is doing better since I bought Hill's Prescription food. He's only been on the food for a week so it's too early to tell what the allergy is but I can see an improvement in his digestive system. He has solid stool whereas he usually had diarrhea. He is also happy with the taste of the food. He cleans his bowl! September 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for sensitive skin So far food is working good on our scotty who's breed is known for skin problems. A little pricey but at least our dog can have some meat in his food again. He was on a vegetarian diet but vet said he was not getting all he needed and was eating dirt. Now since on this food the dirt eating has stopped so far. It's worth a try. We did and so far love it. January 10, 2015
  • 2016-05-29 T05:29:48.424-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_67, tr_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_69596, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 next>>