Hill's Prescription Diet j/d Joint Care Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food

List Price: $91.39
Price: $81.47 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping
You Save: $9.92 (11%)
In Stock
27.5-lb bag
  • 8.5-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag

Product Description

Improving your dogs mobility is as easy as feeding the right nutrition. Being proactive about mobility issues early can avoid the need for more aggressive treatments. Hill's Prescription Diet j/d helps your dog walk, run and jump more easily in just 21 days.

Key Benefits

  • Help improve your dog's ability to run, walk and jump in as little as 21 days with a clinically proven combination of nutrients
  • An excellent source of the Omega 3 fatty acid, EPA, to nourish cartilage
  • Controlled calorie content and added L-carnitine help maintain a healthy weight and avoid extra stress on joints

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69770
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
Brand
  • Hill's Science Diet
  • Science Diet
Food Form
  • Dry Food
Made in
  • United States
Breed Size
  • All Breeds
Lifestage
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Ingredients

Whole grain corn, chicken by-product meal, flaxseed, soybean mill run, brewers rice, soybean meal, pork fat, chicken liver flavor, powdered cellulose, fish oil, lactic acid, potassium chloride, l-lysine, calcium carbonate, choline chloride, iodized salt, dl-methionine, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement), l-threonine, taurine, soy lecithin, glucosamine hydrochloride, minerals (ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), l-tryptophan, l-carnitine, mixed tocopherols for freshness, chondroitin sulfate, phosphoric acid, beta-carotene, natural flavors

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 78 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helper My dog is doing much better. You were recommended to me by a veterinarian. March 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by good company to deal with Dr recommended this food for my husky that had arthritis and seems to be helping. Giving him less medication with this food. March 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Product for joint issues Dog has been on product for 6 months; I think it has reduced his joint pain. Price was lower at Chewy by 10.00 compared to my Vet's price. Shipping was free because it was over 49.00. March 8, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by It really seems to be helping my dog's mobility I was skeptical when my vet prescribed this food but my lab really seems to have improved mobility after @4 weeks of being on this food. I will keep using it. February 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing results in less than two weeks I have a Shepherd mix mutt rescue who has had some joint issues pretty much in all four legs. He got to a point of serious "head-bob" walking 24/7 so we took him to the vet (again), who said that there was no (expensive) surgery to fix things and that we should consider acupuncture or the J/D diet. We said we'd start with the J/D diet and in LESS THAN TWO WEEKS the limp entirely disappeared. We are thrilled with the results and are grateful for our guy to feel so much better! January 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Significant Results! I have a 13 year old Springer Spaniel. I was having to carry her up the stairs due to arthritis, etc. My vet's receptionist told me to try Hillside Prescription Diet. She said it's pricey, but after I see the results I will want to buy it again. Maggie now walks upstairs by herself, is more active and acts more like a younger dog! It tells me something about human's nutrition as well. January 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by We've noticed significant improvement When our vet suggested prescription food for our 12 year old Boxer, I was skeptical; however, I figured it couldn't hurt to try it. Well, Thai food is well worth the cost! We have noticed a significant improvement in her agility and movement. She now uses the stairs multiple times a day, whereas in the past she will avoid them. She is still an arthritic 12 year old Boxer, but her quality of life definitely seems improved. We highly recommend this product and will continue to use it. January 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent!! This is a good product. I feel it helps my dog. I still have to mix it with her other food as she is picky! I wish it came in a different flavor as well. It is pricsy but if it helps her I will continue to purchase it. February 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs love this dog food Both of my dogs have arthritis, and one of my dogs' joints would sometimes "pop" when he walked. After they started eating this dog food, my male dog stopped "popping" and both of my dogs are more active than ever. I wouldn't change a thing. January 28, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seems fine? Our 11 year old lab mix with sore hips has been eating this for about 2 months. I have to say I don't notice any improvement in his mobility, soreness, or ability to get up quickly, but he likes the food and hasn't had any troubles with it. I'm not sure it's worth nearly $80 if I don't see any other results, but otherwise no complaints. January 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Noticeable Improvement within 3 weeks!! My 7th month old cane corso has hip displasia. This food combined with stage 3 glysoflex has helped tremendously! Saw mass improvements within weeks!! He is no longer lethargic and moves around so much better!!! January 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hill's RX Diet - J/D Joint Care has been amazing in my girl's recovery and maintaining her health When my 7 yr old Golden Girl was diagnosed with a cruciate tear and mild hip dysplasia; my local veterinarian recommended to immediately do surgery with only a 50/50% of success. I found another recommended veterinarian for a 2nd opinion. Dr. Burns recommended "baby steps" and surgery was not necessary at this point; which I was thrilled with. She put her on J/D and meds and it was a total 180 degree turnaround!! She runs around and plays with her puppy friends! She's very happy and my silly girl! She loves her J/D Diet and has always devoured her J/D dinner without hesistation! i credit Hill's RX J/D diet and Dr Burns with returning my happy little girl back to where she was! And yay -- no surgery!!! :-) We definitely swear by Hill's RX J/D Diet and recommend anyone in our situation to give it a try! It'll amaze you! September 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hills Vet Recommendations for food The UC Davis Veteranary School recommended Hills for our dog's joint mobility. I assume it was to lose weight and maintain muscle using the Hill food. A 28# bag goes for $90 but Chewy sells it for $76. We will try it out and compare to the over the counter food that Hills produces for older dogs. January 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is great for dogs with joint problems Ever since my Chow Lee's Vet recommended this product I have noticed a great improvement in his walking, running and overall well being. January 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This food helped my dog amazingly well in weeks!! My vet recommended this for my 8 year old hound/heeler mix who was starting to limp badly due to his arthritis. In a few weeks of eating this food, his limp has disappeared and he is now able to keep up with our border collie who runs everywhere! I was skeptical that food alone might help, but it REALLY has!! January 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product My dog loves the food and it seems to work. I have been using for the last year or so based on my vet's recommendation. She runs like a young dog (she's 10 years old). Additionally, her stools are always firm. Previously her stools varied greatly, from watery to firm. Now there are never any accidents. Life is good! January 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by No need for extra meds and chewy is awesome My 11 year old dog has had arthritis his entire life. I always gave him Science Diet, but when his symptoms started becoming more noticeable in older age my vet recommended JD as an alternative or supplement to pain killers. My dog, and my friend's dog each have a significant different in their mobility. Also, Chewy.com is a lifesaver. They are more affordable, and they automatically deliver to my house. January 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent product The food was recommended by my vet for my young lab whose elbow did not grow together as a fetus. He explained that the nutrient in the food could not be duplicated by administering supplements. I also put my 10 year old golden on it as she was exhibiting some difficulty getting up from time to time. My golden acts like a young dog again and I haven't seen my lab limp since he has been on it. I feel I am giving the very best to my best friends. Chewy has a great price and wonderful service. December 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product for breeds prone to Arthritis we have had Great Danes for 35 years. All developed arthritis by age 6 and had to add supplements. Vet recommended this product and it helped significantly. We started our current Dane on this product at age 2. Now -5 years later ( age 7) NO signs of arthritis..... I would highly recommend this for any breed prone to developing arthritis. December 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food This food has helped immensely with my dogs arthritis January 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great results Dog loves it and can see great results. Will continue using December 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hills prescription JD I've been using JD for about 10 years, it's a terrific product, my Miss Molly loves it. December 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Science Diet j/d Have only used three large bags but I see an improvement in movement in all three of my large dogs. Will diffinitely continue using. November 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great fast shipping Great fast shipping and a good price too. Free shipping was a major plus. November 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is wonderful This product has been a life saver for my dogs joints since he is almost 11 years old. It was easy to order and was shipped super fast! October 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great dog food at a lower price Our Aussie has been eating this Science Diet Joint dog food for older dogs for two years, ever since she started limping due to arthritis as diagnosed by the vet. Since eating this food, she has mostly stopped limping and actually gets somewhat perky on her walks every day. We had bought this food at the vet or sometimes at a pet store before, but it costs $20 more there. At Chewy.com, we get the same food, though shipping is $10, so we do pay $10 less overall. Hey, every little nibble helps. August 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog move so much better when they are on this food. It takes a week or two for the results to be noticed, but the dogs move better and with less effort. It 's a great product. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Packaging was secure and the product was perfect! The bag containing food is plastic with a zip closure. It came packaged in a cardboard box that fit perfectly and was easy to maneuver into the house from the back porch. September 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Izzy loves it! Our 10 year old Golden Retriever, "Izzy", recently had her left knee rebuilt. The veterinary surgeon recommended the Science Diet j/d Prescription Dry saying his dogs love it and with the wet "You're paying a lot of money for water." He's right, too! September 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product REALLY works!! I have two dogs - one about 12 years old and the other 8 years old. The younger one had hip dysplasia problems from his early days as a puppy and I had considered surgery to correct it however, that was postponed indefinitely due to weight problem that would have aggravated his recovery. On one visit to the vet, I saw a promotional video that showed a dog before using Hill's j/d and after using Hill's j/d. The difference was so dramatic, I felt it had to be a propaganda video that would not have any merit. My first bag was provided complimentary by the vet. Within the first two weeks, my young pooch showed such a dramatic improvement, I was a confirmed believer in this product!! July 23, 2014
  • 2016-05-28 T05:33:19.710-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_78, tr_78
  • loc_en_US, sid_69607, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 next>>