Free Shipping on orders $49+

Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Dry Dog Food

List Price: $95.99
Price: $79.99 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping
You Save: $16.00 (17%)
In Stock
27.5-lb bag
  • 8.5-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag

Product Description

Kidneys are important because they remove waste substances from the blood, and maintain the normal balance of fluid and minerals within the body. Once kidney damage occurs, the consequences are usually irreversible. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet k/d, clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your dog's kidney health. In fact, k/d is clinically tested nutrition to improve and lengthen quality of life.

Key Benefits

  • Protects vital kidney & heart function
  • Boosts vitality & energy
  • Supports appetite & eating enjoyment
  • Sustains healthy body condition
  • Targeted levels of high quality protein
  • Controlled phosphorus
  • Low sodium
  • Lean muscle support complex
  • Made in the USA

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 87466
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
Brand
  • Hill's Science Diet
  • Science Diet
Food Form
  • Dry Food
Country of Origin
  • United States
Lifestage
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Important Information

Ingredients

Brewers rice, pork fat, chicken, egg product, flaxseed, whole grain corn, whole grain sorghum, dried beet pulp, chicken liver flavor, powdered cellulose, soybean oil, lactic acid, pork liver flavor, calcium carbonate, potassium chloride, l-lysine, choline chloride, potassium citrate, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, calcium pantothenate, vitamin A supplement, riboflavin supplement, vitamin B12 supplement, biotin, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement), l-threonine, iodized salt, taurine, minerals (ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), mixed tocopherols for freshness, l-tryptophan, dl-methionine, natural flavors, beta-carotene

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 126 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product We recently adopted an older dog from a cruelty situation and learned she is in kidney failure. She was vomiting daily. We switched her to Hills KD and she not only loves it, but the vomiting has stopped and she is feeling so much better! May 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My dog really likes it. Our vet prescribed this for our dog's kidney issues. It has really helped with his kidney issues in that he can process the food more easily and his kidney isn't taxed as much. April 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great deal I got a great deal on the 35 lb bag, 1/3 cheaper than at my vet's plus free shipping. My dog really likes it mixed with the canned, and his kidney results have greatly improved. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good food Unfortunately our little 1.5 yr old Gracie is in kidney failure. Prognosis is not encouraging, and our Vet insists this type of diet and food is a must. The bite pieces are tiny, which I think make it easier for Gracie to digest. I'm told the dry food alone is not great tasking, so we also mix in a little bit of the wet, canned food of this brand as well. She seems to like it. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by feed what they love they love this stuff so it's easy to feed. their weight is good (15 year old Pekingese, 15 year old mini dachshund) February 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by you gotta do what you gotta do My 10 year old Weimar was recently diagnosed with kidney failure. My vet told me this is the food she needed to be on. My dog surprisingly likes it. I only gave it 4 stars as the ingredients leave a bit to be desired. This isn't a top shelf quality dog food, to be quite frank, there is a lot of junk in it. But, my dog has to be on it so, you gotta do what you gotta do. As a side note, chewy.com is $30 cheaper than what my vet was selling it for!!! October 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product for price. Our schnauzer recently diagnosed with renal insufficiency. Vet prescribed the Hills k/d dry dog food. Our dog loves it. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our picky eater LOVES this product! Our dog had to switch foods due to health issues related to age. She is a very picky eater and we were concerned that she would turn her nose up at the food. Thankfully she seems to love this food just as much if not more than her previous food. May 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helps keep my dog healthy My 7 year old Cheasapeake Bay Retriever has early kidney insufficiency and has been on K/D for about 2 years. I believe this special diet, along with her meds, has helped slow the progression of this disease process. April 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dog loves it When your dog has kidney disease, you have to feed her what the vet orders! Fortunately, my dog LOVES this food. Time will tell how it treats her kidneys, but I have no worries. March 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prescription Food Our dog was recently placed on this prescription food due to his failing kidneys. I shopped around, and I found the best price with Chewy. I was not required to pay shipping and sales tax. On top of that, the food arrived almost immediately. Who can ask for more? I didn't have to go shopping and haul it to my car. Instead, it arrived on my doorstep! Thank you, Chewy! January 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fussy eater My dog who is on the k/d diet is a fussy eater so I was amazed when she ate the new food. It's too soon to tell if it's helping her kidney problems or not. But the fact that she will eat it is great. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product gave my 12 yo miniature schnauzer a new lease on life! My miniature schnauzer was very ill, had been in ICU several times with renal failure. He was lethargic, and not at all his usual self. His vet prescribed Prescription Hill kidney care ( k/d )! The change has been phenomenal! He is literally bounding down the stairs and out the door in the mornings and we hear him playing with his squeaky toys in the other room in the evenings now too! I am very thankful for this product because it was touch and go for a few weeks. If your dog is having renal issues I highly recommend k/d, or if he is just not as active as he was. This product definitely increases energy levels! If your dog does not like it as first, just keep offering it, per my vet, a change in food flavors can be difficult. So he refused it twice and and we put some in his crate with him and he gobbled it up, now he wants more! November 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by too easy so easy! so quick! delivery with in 2 days fantastic! I needed special dog food and your price was cheaper than the vets! I will continue to use! November 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helped my dog with her kidney issues My dog had some poor renal numbers come back on a recent pre-dental blood test. Her Vet put her on this food and a daily prescription and her numbers are great now. Didn't take very long and she was able to get the much needed dental work. Chewy had the best prices I could find and ordering was very easy! Especially for something so large. Will continue as long as she needs the food. November 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product is a mandatory prescription for my 7 year old lab. I was so happy to receive this product at my front door! The price is exceptional & I no longer have to run to the store to purchase every 6 weeks. October 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeping my dog healthy This product has contributed greatly to keeping my dog healthy. At the age of 5, she had elevated enzymes in her blood work indicating the start of kidney disease. She's going on 12 years now, and her blood work is normal. Keeping her on this food, plus a renal vitamin daily has made all the difference. A great asset is that she loves it! October 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to measure and pour into bowl. 13+ dog seemed to be drinking, but not eliminating it. Vet put her on k/d instead of store-bought food. After buying 2 bags from their office, I found Chewy.com. Paid a bit over the 2-bag price for 4X the amount. Pleased Pup-Mama. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Pet New Food We recently adopted an older dog from the shelter they told us he had some dietary health issues. And gave us a left over bag of this food. They said he needed to stay on it and get regular blood work to see if it is helping him out. So after adoption I took him to our vet and he recommended Chewy.com for purchasing this food. As we could get it cheaper here then from him. He was right. Are new dog is doing great on it. And the vet even recommended that we put our older dogs on it. So we did, and they all love the taste. October 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dog Likes Prescription Food My 12 year old pup needs to be on this food for her kidneys. She gobbles it right up, no problem but I do use the KD Beef Stew as a topper to give her extra fluid. The only reason I gave the food 4 stars is because there are fillers, which I know is necessary for this diet. September 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vet recommended and it has made a huge difference Our 14 year old poodle had lost weight and was lethargic and we eventually determined he had a kidney issue. The vet recommended this diet and he has been on it now several months. He has gained weight and his kidney values have improved, he is running around and better than before. We combined the dry with the wet version and he loves it. September 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Happy dog, happy house The dog loves the food and seems to be helping with his kidney issues. He's as lively and active as ever. September 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product My dog has only been on this food for a a few weeks and his blood work reveals his kidneys are now back within normal range! August 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It seems to be working This dog is a greyhound and he,s 14 this keeps him alive December 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by thought they wouldn't like it but they did! We have 2 picky retired greyhounds. Only one really needed the restricted diet and the vet told us they might not be thrilled about it BUT both seem to really like it! Big relief for us. Also, Chewy went out of their way to get a script from my vet. It was a really busy work week and Chewy contacted the vet directly - an added bonus. Thank you. November 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vet Recommended, Less Expensive at Chewy's My 14 yr old Am Staf has the beginnings of kidney failure. Vet recommended putting her on this prescription food to try to slow the progression of the kidney failure. She seems to like the taste. I made the transition slowly (1/4 new food + 3/4 old food for 2 days; 1/2 new + 1/2 oldfor 2 days; etc.) This seemed to minimize problems. After a couple of days of loose stool, all seems well. I won't know for a few months how well the food works at putting off her kidney issues. May 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Health improved after switching to this diet Our dog has been on this food for quite a while due to Kidney issues. It smells terrible, but I've never met a dog food that smelled tasty. So as long as it provides my dog the nutrition and kidney support she needs, we'll keep using it. Her health has improved greatly since we started her on this diet. She liked it at first, but seems to get tired of it after a while. We add the wet/canned k/d and some white rice to it sometimes to get her interested in eating it again. April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Working to reduce kidney insufficiencies My 9 1/2 yr. old black Lab was diagnosed with chronic renal failure in the fall of 2012. We started her on the k/d kibble and canned foods immediately. At her 3 month check-up, her kidney numbers are back to normal. I DO have a labrador who will willingly chow down on anything put in her bowl. Can't evaluate whether a picky eater would make the change without complaint. January 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food for chronic kidney disease My little boy was just diagnosed with chronic kidney disease and has to be on a special diet. We tried other brands and he seems to enjoy this brand the best - very fussy eater. Let's hope he continues to enjoy this product - smells good !!!! October 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product Prescription diets are not always palatable, but my dog seems to like this fine, with a little doctoring. I add foods she can have, to make it a little more tasty. I do believe this food is helping her kidney function. I would recommend this product if your dog needs a prescription diet for kidney disease. July 10, 2014
  • 2016-02-04 T17:41:09.153-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_126, tr_126
  • loc_en_US, sid_69609, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Questions? Call our friendly customer service team anytime. We're here 24 hours a day! 1-800-67-CHEWY (672-4399)