Free Shipping on orders $49+

Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food

List Price: $88.39
Price: $72.79 + Free Shipping!
You Save: $15.60 (18%)
In Stock
27.5-lb bag
  • 6-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag

Product Description

Hill's Prescription Diet Canine Metabolic Advanced Weight Solution is formulated with the following benefits:

  • Clinically proven to safely and naturally improve metabolism in dogs
  • Clinically proven to safely provide 28% body fat loss in 2 months in dogs
  • Clinically proven to avoid weight regain following a weight loss program
  • A Complete portfolio of dry food, canned food, and treats designed to work together to ensure safe and healthy weight loss and easy weight maintenance

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 786-528-6088 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69782
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
  • Weight Control
Brand
  • Hill's Science Diet
  • Science Diet
Food Form
  • Dry Food
Country of Origin
  • United States
Breed Size
  • All Breeds
Lifestage
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Important Information

Ingredients

Chicken By-Product Meal, Whole Grain Wheat, Whole Grain Corn, Corn Gluten Meal, Pea Bran Meal, Soybean Mill Run, Soybean Meal, Dried Tomato Pomace, Chicken Liver Flavor, Dried Beet Pulp, Flaxseed, Coconut Oil, Pork Fat (preserved with Mixed Tocopherols and Citric Acid), Lactic Acid, Powdered Cellulose, Pork Liver Flavor, DL-Methionine, L-Lysine, Iodized Salt, Dried Carrots, Dicalcium Phosphate, Potassium Chloride, Lipoic Acid, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Choline Chloride, minerals (Manganese Sulfate, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, L-Carnitine, Mixed Tocopherols added to retain freshness, Citric Acid added to retain freshness, Beta-Carotene, Phosphoric Acid, Rosemary Extract.

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 109 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is wonderful. My Fritz loves this dog food; he liked it the first time I give it to him. It seems like he can't wait for his second feeding and I'm serious. Fritz needs more exercise which I'm trying to do depending on the weather. I would recommend this dog food to anyone who has a dog with a weight problem. I must add, he loves the bones, too. I am very anxious to find out if Fritz has lost any weight. March 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by WORKED WONDERS FOR MY BOYS. MY SISTER WAS USING THIS FOR HER DOG TO SLIM DOWN AFTER A SURGERY AND IT WORKED SO GOOD I STARTED USING IT MY SELF FOR MY TWO BOYS AND THEY LOST THE WEIGHT TO PUT THEM BACK IN A THEIR WEIGHT BRACKET. COULDNT BE MORE PLEASED AND I DONT USUALLY BUY HILLS PRODUCTS. September 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product really works I have 2 overweight dogs and though I was skeptical that this product would help them lose weight, it really works! My dogs love it and each has lost approx 7 lbs so far. My vet highly reccomends it and has his dogs on it as well. August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am so glad my Vet. gave me a sample pack Hello Furry Friend Lovers! I have a small rat dog,Ha! Ha! Her name is Peanut, it should be Walnut! She is about four pounds overweight. That is a lot for her. I was given a sample pk. by my Vet. Wow! it was a huge pk. with lots of goodies inside. Her first feeding she was not sure. But, she ate it right up. Making pig noises! After only one week we could tell she was already looking slimmer. She also is a lot happier and wants to go for walks. She wants to go swimming in our pool. She wears a doggy life vest and loves to play! August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog's Hollie and Oreo love it Our vet recommended Metabolic Canine Dry food for both our dogs. The food was great but the vet's prices were not. My daughter told us about Chewy and I now order our dog and cat food (CD cat food) for our 5 cats. Chewy saves us a great deal of money and we are still getting the vet recommended food for our pets. THANK CHEWY August 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product has been very good for my dogs. I can see the difference in their weight since I have started using it Chewy;s is great!. No need to go anywhere else to buy your dog food or cat food. It is so great to find some people who really care!!!!' Kudos to you guys at Chewys. March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog Loves It!! My 9 year old Weimaraner needed to lose weight. She loves this food, is losing the weight, and I have noticed that she doesn't smell as bad as she would sometimes smell on other foods. It's expensive but temporary and worth it for my fur baby. June 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog loves it I was worried my dog would not like a prescription diet, but was so wrong. He ate it right away and didn't leave any in the bowl. Will have to update once he loses the required weight as he has been on it for only 2 weeks now. May 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A miracle for my dog Like many of you my dog was overweight by 10 pounds. After I put my 16 year old Shiba Inu down my younger Shiba went into grieving and was very depressed. He didn't even want to go for a walk and when I would hook the leash to him and pull on him he wouldn't budge. And he always loved his walks. After about a year of this behavior he had gained a lot of weight. I cut back on his food to the point that I thought it was almost cruel. But he still didn't lose weight and in fact continued to gain. My vet suggested Hills Metabolic diet and I started him on it 8 weeks ago. He prefers the canned but I give him the dry as treats. He eats less than is recommended and never seems hungry and he loves it. He is following the chart exactly as was printed out by my vet. He has lost 5 pounds in 8 weeks so he is halfway to his goal loss of 10 pounds. I also got a shiba inu puppy for him (and me) and he is now able to really play and run with her without tiring or grunting. I am so impressed with this food. Even when he reaches his goal weight I will continue him on this as I don't want the weight to come back. Great product with great results. May 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I know this is what my dog needs. My Golden needs to be on a strict diet and he is having a hard time transitioning over to just dry dog food. So I have to mix some wet in order to get him to eat it. April 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really works My Choc Lab has lost 10 lbs and has kept it off. So it really works. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by HIGHLY RECOMMEND My 13 year old Chihuahua was 3 pounds over weight. We tried all the weight loss foods on her with no results. Our Vet finally recommended a diet plan for her that included 1/4 c of metabolic Kibble and 1 treat a day. The treat was too large for her so I mashed it up and put a tsp. of low sodium fat free chicken broth on it. She ate that in the morning and the 1/4 cup of kibble in the evening. She has lost 2 1/2 pounds and will be at her goal of 6 pounds very soon. Since then we have added 1 tbsp. of Canned metabolic diet to her kibble. She loves it and she is now more energetic. She has a seizure disorder and a heart murmur. Loosing this weight is very beneficial to her health. March 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Diet Food Dogs Will Eat Of my 2 Mini-Schnauzers, one is a picky eater and the other needs weight management. This food is loved by both dogs! It is a hard, dry food but plumps up nicely with a little water if needed. I've noticed their stool is more firm with this food so I give some veggies and wet food to occasionally supplement (thus the 4 stars). Oh, and the price? At least $20 less than I was paying via the vet's office. And shipping was fast and easy with Chewy. No more big box pet store for us! January 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loves her new food I am a new customer with Chewy and ordered a bag of prescription dog food for my dog after the vet suggested that she should lose some weight. The price is great and much cheaper than the vet sells it for. The delivery to my door is so nice, convenient and fast. I also signed up for auto shipping so I don't have to remember to order new food before running out of the old. December 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helped my dog lose weight Along with canned metabolic dog food, my dog lost 20lbs in a year. He loves the combination of wet/dry food and is really satisfied when he's done eating. November 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great weight-loss product Sawyer was a rescue and 135 lb golden retriever. The rescue put them on this diet. We adopted him three weeks ago and have continued with this great food. He is down to 115 pounds now and we hope to have him at his goal weight of 105 by next spring. His coat is good and his energy level is high I highly recommend this product for anyone working to get their dog back in shape. November 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic product My miniature loves this product and has been losing an average of one pound per week. Great, fast service from Chewy.com! November 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best food so far! My boxer gained much weight after I adopted her...and no matter what weight control food I tried, nothing was working. Vet recommended Metabolic. She began eating it as soon as I put the bowl down. She loves it! She has lost 4 lbs since we started. Her stools used to be soft with other brands I tried; the day I started using Metabolic, they were proper texture and form, making clean up very easy. I honestly cannot say enough good about this food. Expensive, yes, but the end results are worth it. November 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by It works! My 11-year old cattle/pit mix dropped 5 lbs in the first 3 weeks. Continued weight loss has been slow, but steady, without seeming to starve my pup. It must taste good, too, because dog #2 would gladly eat it. Only its expense keeps me from giving the product 5 stars. Chewy has by far the lowest price, which makes it easier to do the right thing and go after those doggie love-handles. October 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product really works. Great product! Helped our dog lose 3lbs in two weeks. She loved the food, and has a lot more energy. She still has another 4lbs to lose, and we are confident she will meet her goal. Thanks, Metabolic for making it easy. October 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has great features. I have a Lab and he is overweight by 20+ lbs. Per Vet's suggestion, I ordered the food from Chewy.com. I saved a bunch!!! My dog loves the food and looks forward to his meal. Initially I felt sorry for the quantity the Vet advised, but I can see my pet more active and I could feel that my dog was already losing weight. October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by weight loss results After starting my dog on it about 2.5 weeks ago he is already down 4 pounds. He has about 25 to go still, but he is making great progress! I did not have high hopes at first after my vet told us it could take 6 months to see results, but prior to starting him on this food we tried just decreasing the amount of food and treats we were giving him and increasing exercise and nothing worked. We even had his thyroid tested, which came back fine. People should be warned though that this seems to give the dog "puppy-like" energy. Despite the price, it is well worth it to have a happy, healthy dog! My dog also gets very excited for meal times and finds the food very tasty! October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally, a product that does what it promises My dog, a collie/Australian Shepard mix, loves this food and, in just 2 weeks shed 2 pounds! She is still active and does not beg for treats or appear hungry as she did while on previous weight loss foods I tried. Even better, Chewy delivers to my door for less cost than the vet or Petco. THANKS CHEWY!!! September 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by JUST WHAT THE DR. ORDERED Chewy.com was able to fill the prescription for our dog. Hill's Prescription Metabolic Canine Dog Food is what is making a difference in our pets life. This means more years we can share together. Thanks Chewy.com. This is just what the Dr. ordered. September 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by My dog Liked it too but.... My 13 year old minuture poodle is very picky about food (yes, still..lol), and he was eating Science Diet light SMALL BITES. He was neuter a few months ago and started gaining weight so the Doctor change him to the Metabolic. He did liked the food right from the first time he tried it. However, 2 weeks after he started I notice he wasn't eating until the end of the day. I would like to suggest the manufacture to do the same food in SMALL BITES as well. For senior dogs, small bites is better due to the fact that as they grow old they tend to loss teeths and small bites would be a great idea. In the meantime I'm adding a little water or homemade vegetable broth and let it sit with the food until it get soft. Only then he will eat it. August 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by It worked great, for my Weim... This is a prescription dog food. It is cheaper here than at the vet and I was glad Chewy carried it. There is a 50/50 chance it will work for your dog - all dogs metabolism are different just like humans. I was very fortunate that it has worked well for my female Weimeraner. She is losing weight and her energy has greatly increased... August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product While this product is very expensive, it really works. Our dog has steadily lost weight in a short time. I believe that she will be at the Vet's weight goal within another three months. She weighed 63 pounds and was 20% overweight when starting this diet, August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Yummy weight control dog food Hill's Weight Control Metabolic Diet dog food is excellent. My dog, a yellow lab, loves to eat, and with this delicious dogfood she can enjoy her meals and control her weight too. Plus the food smells very good even to me. July 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by not for small dogs We purchased this food in hopes that it would help our dog lose weight. When we received it the morsels were way to big for our small dogs to eat. We have 2 chihuahuas. I cut the morsels into small pieces but they pushed them around with their nose and ate everything else but the metabolic food. Food should come in small size pieces for small dogs. We purchased the treats as well they are also made for big dogs. A little disappointed with the size. Was a waste of money for us February 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far, so good! My dogs are now both on the new hill's metabolic food. One dog because she's on a diet prescribed by my vet and the other because he likes the food. I'm relieved that both of them started eating the food without difficulty in switching foods. It only took 2 days before both were eating the food when offered. I don't know what it is that made the food so appealing but I'm glad they both like it. Would recommend Metabolic for weight loss and as the maintenance diet. February 16, 2014
  • 2015-07-05T13:23:19.571-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_109, tr_109
  • loc_en_US, sid_69615, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Questions? Call our friendly customer service team anytime. We're here 24 hours a day! 1-800-67-CHEWY (672-4399)