Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food

List Price: $88.39
Price: $79.05 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping
You Save: $9.34 (11%)
In Stock
27.5-lb bag
  • 6-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag

Product Description

Hill's Prescription Diet Canine Metabolic Advanced Weight Solution is formulated with the following benefits:

  • Clinically proven to safely and naturally improve metabolism in dogs
  • Clinically proven to safely provide 28% body fat loss in 2 months in dogs
  • Clinically proven to avoid weight regain following a weight loss program
  • A Complete portfolio of dry food, canned food, and treats designed to work together to ensure safe and healthy weight loss and easy weight maintenance

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69782
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
  • Weight Control
Brand
  • Hill's Science Diet
  • Science Diet
Food Form
  • Dry Food
Country of Origin
  • United States
Breed Size
  • All Breeds
Lifestage
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Ingredients

Chicken meal, whole grain wheat, whole grain corn, soybean mill run , corn gluten meal, soybean meal, pea fiber, dried beet pulp, dried tomato pomace, chicken liver flavor, pork fat, flaxseed, coconut oil, pork liver flavor, lactic acid, powdered cellulose, dl-methionine, l-lysine, carrots, iodized salt, vitamins (vitamin e supplement, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin c), niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, vitamin a supplement, biotin, vitamin b12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, folic acid, vitamin d3 supplement), lipoic acid, potassium chloride, choline chloride, minerals (manganese sulfate, ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), taurine, mixed tocopherols for freshness, l-carnitine, natural flavors, beta-carotene

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 152 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by For losing weight it is great! My terrier, Penne, has become slightly larger in a year by a whole 9 lbs! I was going crazy with what to do as she loves to EAT! My vet, suggested to try Metabolic, as it could possibly work. l did, and in 5 weeks she has lost 1.25 lbs! I am hoping for the next month to be higher, but I will take what she does. She still is always hungry, so I bought the biscuits too. She gets one a day at night. It is still difficult, but she is losing. I have to say I have 3 other dogs that are not overweight that doesn't help. She wants their food too! She is 29.5 now and should be about 20! Thanks April 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Balanced weight loss food. My dogs don't realize they're on a diet. They loved this food immediately at one-quarter less the amount of their previous food, feeding twice a day. I add hot water and let it sit for a few minutes and they love the gravy it produces. They are full, content and their poop is firmer. In two weeks they've lost one pound, which I've heard is equivalent to 10 lbs. human weight lost. Our goal is two months on this food, per our veterinarian's instructions, and then will reassess their diet. They look healthier, act younger, and have more energy. April 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Results with Hill's Prescription Diet Dog food! Can't say enough about weight control for our dog. It's the BEST dog food we have found for our 8 year old English Black Lab for weight and health. April 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by WIN, WIN, WIN Cheaper than the competition, delivered to my door and my FurBaby loves it. April 5, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Loosing Weight My dog has such a cute face that it's hard to say no when you're eating to give him table scrapes. But over time, we started to notice his enormous stomach. Took him to the vet to find out if he had a thyroid problem or if something else was wrong. After blood work and thyroid test we realized we were over feeding him. He was 124 lbs which is way to large for a collie/chow mix dog. Our vet recommended a Metodolic dog food that you can only get by perscrption. We can see in less than two weeks of him eating this dog food he has more engergy and is starting to lose weight. He still has a long way to go but we know we are on the right track to get him down to 80 lbs February 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product does what it says it will do. My dog loves it! Gobbles it up! March 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reommend this to anyone with over weight dogs My vet (VCA) recommended this dog food for my over weight Chihuahua (26 lbs) should be 12. She gave me the amounts to feed her- I mix canned with the dry. And in the past year she has lost a total of 7 lbs, yep she is down to 19 lbs using metabolic dog food. She gets around a lot better and my other Chihuahuas love it too... Yes the chunks are alittle big but it doesn't seem to bother any of them because the food isn't as solid as the other brands...light and airy. Best thing I could have done for my dogs. February 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Proof enough for ME I have struggled to keep one of my doxies from being overweight. I used to have them on Hill's RD which is a very restrictive dog food, but it makes your dog use the restroom excessively. It also made one of my girl doxie overly hungry where she was constantly begging for food. It was non-stop begging. After multiple testings with nothing wrong I decided to change the food. I tried a natural and organic dog food, multiple brands such as Instinct and it caused my doxies both to gain a lot of weight. So now I'm using this dog food and both of them have lost weight. My girl is heavier and dropped two pounds. She was weighing nearly sixteen pounds and she is a mini dachshund. In a month's time, she dropped two pounds. I can see that she is slimming down and I'm so grateful for this dog food. It has also slimmed down my boy doxie but he was only slightly overweight and he reached his goal weight already. If you are a dachshund owner, you know how important it is for a dachshund NOT to be overweight because it can cause major back issues. January 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Food We were prescribed this food by out vet for our 13" beagle that is a foodie and eats everything and anything. Cutting out extras and putting her on this food a few months ago she has lost 6 lbs. She loves the food. March 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It Works! My Chocolate Lab needed to drop some weight, so my Vet recommended Metabolic. It works and he loves the food, so both I and my Vet are pleased. February 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible results Product has done wonders for our 2 year old choc lab - after 6 months she has lost over 20% of her body weight. Hoping to move to a mtce program in another few months once we get another 10lbs off... We used other products to get weight off but nothing works like Hills February 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by worked for my dog My dog was the perfect candidate for this product. She gets no food other than what I weigh and measure for her. So when I switched from grocery store brands to this brand, we would know for sure if it worked or not. She lost 7% of her body weight in the first month. February 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this food! I have a 6 yr old Bichon Frise and he was overweight weighing in at 29.1 - my vet started Bogie on it in 4/2015 and by July he has went to 24.2 - I was so excited! So I thought I could change him back to natural balance for fat dogs, he threw it up it didn't even dissolve. Everytime I try to go back to original food he gains weight, so from now on he's staying on this. February 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog loves this food Our bulldog is overweight and his vet recommended this food for him. He loves it and it seems to be working. He has just started on it so hopefully in 2-3 months we will really see some results. February 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by MY PUG LUVS IT Doing great on losing weight!!! so far so good. would recommend. February 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It Works! We have put my very overweight dog on several types of foods/diets over the last year and a half and have been unsuccessful with them all. We took her in for thyroid monitoring an was told her numbers were in range. We were about to give up when this formula was suggested to us. She has been on it for about a month and is visibly thinner. She loves the taste and seems very excited to eat it during mealtimes. February 4, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful product Great! So much cheaper than the veternarian office!!!! February 19, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by WE ARE IN CLOVER!! After 2 weeks of feeding Hill's Metabolic Diet to my dog, there is a visible weight loss for the first time!! I am extremely happy with this progress!! I have used other "weight loss" diets without any results whatsoever. Hills Metabolic has proven to be the best for my "Clover!! February 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It Works! My dog has struggled with his weight always, and even being on thyroid medication has not helped with his weight issue. I'd tried other diet dog foods and he always seemed ravenous, which caused additional worries about what he would find to eat since he thought he was 'starving'! He is finishing his first bag of Hills Prescription Metabolic and it's working! He has lost weight, has more energy, and has never acted like he is 'starving' between meals. This product so far seems like a miracle cure. He likes the flavor, too, and for the first time in his life, acts 'full' after eating! One caveat: the dog has to remain on this food, and the volume you feed will go UP once the ideal weight has been achieved. So, it's not an inexpensive solution, but for the dog that has serious weight issues and always seems "hungry", I highly recommend this food. June 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Great deal on great dog food, shipping was super fast too January 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good food As long as I give my dog only this food it keeps her full and she is loosing weight January 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by A miracle for my dog Like many of you my dog was overweight by 10 pounds. After I put my 16 year old Shiba Inu down my younger Shiba went into grieving and was very depressed. He didn't even want to go for a walk and when I would hook the leash to him and pull on him he wouldn't budge. And he always loved his walks. After about a year of this behavior he had gained a lot of weight. I cut back on his food to the point that I thought it was almost cruel. But he still didn't lose weight and in fact continued to gain. My vet suggested Hills Metabolic diet and I started him on it 8 weeks ago. He prefers the canned but I give him the dry as treats. He eats less than is recommended and never seems hungry and he loves it. He is following the chart exactly as was printed out by my vet. He has lost 5 pounds in 8 weeks so he is halfway to his goal loss of 10 pounds. I also got a shiba inu puppy for him (and me) and he is now able to really play and run with her without tiring or grunting. I am so impressed with this food. Even when he reaches his goal weight I will continue him on this as I don't want the weight to come back. Great product with great results. May 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I was impressed with the service. I thank Chewy for contacting my vet and obtaining a prescription for the Science Hill food that I needed. My order was received in no time. I will order again this product from Chewy. My dog appears to love this Science Hill Metabolic dry food. Also, the price was very reasonable. Thank you Chewy. December 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for weight loss and older dogs My dogs (12 and 10 years old) are finally losing weight since switching from Science Diet WD to Metabolic. They actually love the taste of this dry food. I usually mix a small amount of a quality cannned food into the dry, but they love the taste of Metabolic by itself. It is amazing food. My daughter's dog (8 years old) has joint problems from years of frisbee competition and she is doing much better on Metabolic and has also lost weight. I have tried all the name brand "high quality" dry foods but Metabolic beats them all. My dogs really like the food and the our vet is pleased that they are losing weight. November 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product, our dog loves it. Excellent food recommended by out Vet for weight management of our spoiled dog. She loves the taste and eats it up every meal. This food is effective for weight loss. Delivered promptly with no issues. Saved a bundle with Chewy.com versus purchase from Vets office. December 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My furbaby loves it..... Although she has not lost weight that I can see....she loves it. But, she hasn't been on it long enough for results yet either. I am hoping it works! December 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by This works. Our vet recommended this food for our overweight dog and he has lost weight. However he seems to be hungry all the time. December 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wish they made this for humans My 12 year old lab has been eating this since June and has lost over 15 lbs. there has been no decrease or increase in activity but you can tell he feels better with the weight loss. Nothing I have ever tried has worked like this. November 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This food does it! Metabolic Weight Dry Dog Food from Hill's Prescriptive is the best weight loss food our Golden Retriever has ever been on. She is 9 years old and had been overweight with the beginnings of hip trouble due to weight. We started her on this food, she weighed 78 lbs. With in 6 months, she weighed 66 pounds. Another 2 months, she hit her ideal weight of 63.1 lbs. She is healthy, running and playing with no current hip or leg issues. She acts like she's a puppy:) October 19, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by the product isn't working my dog has been eating this diet for 6 weeks and still no weight loss. disappointed because it is very expensive. November 15, 2015
  • 2016-05-24 T05:28:27.735-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_152, tr_152
  • loc_en_US, sid_69615, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>