Free Shipping on orders $49+

Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food

List Price: $88.39
Price: $73.99 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping
You Save: $14.40 (16%)
In Stock
27.5-lb bag
  • 6-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag

Product Description

Hill's Prescription Diet Canine Metabolic Advanced Weight Solution is formulated with the following benefits:

  • Clinically proven to safely and naturally improve metabolism in dogs
  • Clinically proven to safely provide 28% body fat loss in 2 months in dogs
  • Clinically proven to avoid weight regain following a weight loss program
  • A Complete portfolio of dry food, canned food, and treats designed to work together to ensure safe and healthy weight loss and easy weight maintenance

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69782
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
  • Weight Control
Brand
  • Hill's Science Diet
  • Science Diet
Food Form
  • Dry Food
Country of Origin
  • United States
Breed Size
  • All Breeds
Lifestage
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Important Information

Ingredients

Chicken meal, whole grain wheat, whole grain corn, soybean mill run , corn gluten meal, soybean meal, pea fiber, dried beet pulp, dried tomato pomace, chicken liver flavor, pork fat, flaxseed, coconut oil, pork liver flavor, lactic acid, powdered cellulose, dl-methionine, l-lysine, carrots, iodized salt, vitamins (vitamin e supplement, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin c), niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, vitamin a supplement, biotin, vitamin b12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, folic acid, vitamin d3 supplement), lipoic acid, potassium chloride, choline chloride, minerals (manganese sulfate, ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), taurine, mixed tocopherols for freshness, l-carnitine, natural flavors, beta-carotene

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 129 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by it is starting to work So far using Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Canine Dry Dog Food for my dog is starting to work. My dog was weighting 14 1/2 lbs. now he is losing weight. thank you . April 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Bought this to help overweight pet to get back to healthy weight. Has really seemed to make a difference. Not just a "diet" dog food , a healthy dog food. Highly recommend April 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works quickly without hunger Our 12 yr old lab romped with a young dog all day and couldn't stand up the next morning, having done damage to a back disc. As part of her treatment her vet placed her on the Hill's metabolic. We introduced it over a week by mixing it with her old food. It did not cause any diarrhea or vomiting and she lost weight even though she was also taking steroids. She lost 20 lbs in a little over 3 months and did not beg for food between feedings (twice a day). She is once again a lean active dog. We feel like this food has prolonged her life and improved its quality. February 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product works My lab was over weight and we had tried everything to get some weight off of her. When the vet suggested this product I was hesitant due to the price but decided we had to do something and it worked. She loves it and it did not upset her bowels at all, she started eating it right away with no problems. She is almost to her suggested weight. January 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ♥♥♥ My dog loves this food...and he is losing weight. It's a win-win for both of us! December 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for weight loss Our dogs love the food and have lost and kept weight off. December 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product. The Metabolism dog food by Hill's Science has been great for our dogs for initial weight loss and ongoing weight maintenance. We have Dachshunds, who are notorious for weight gain. Even during periods when our dogs had to be on steroids for health issues, they've maintained their weight. Our Vet says they're her poster children for healthy weight maintenance! December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Excellent product, has helped get our overweight dogs back into a healthy range. Most foods on the market are generally fine for active dogs, but as they age or get inactive then the weight can become an issue. It was vet recommended to us. December 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product has been very good for my dogs. I can see the difference in their weight since I have started using it Chewy;s is great!. No need to go anywhere else to buy your dog food or cat food. It is so great to find some people who really care!!!!' Kudos to you guys at Chewys. March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am so glad my Vet. gave me a sample pack Hello Furry Friend Lovers! I have a small rat dog,Ha! Ha! Her name is Peanut, it should be Walnut! She is about four pounds overweight. That is a lot for her. I was given a sample pk. by my Vet. Wow! it was a huge pk. with lots of goodies inside. Her first feeding she was not sure. But, she ate it right up. Making pig noises! After only one week we could tell she was already looking slimmer. She also is a lot happier and wants to go for walks. She wants to go swimming in our pool. She wears a doggy life vest and loves to play! August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recommended by my Vet First reduced the weight of Duke (a senior golden) under the supervision of my vet, with Hills R/D and now use the Metabolic to maintain his weight. March 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far, so good! My dogs are now both on the new hill's metabolic food. One dog because she's on a diet prescribed by my vet and the other because he likes the food. I'm relieved that both of them started eating the food without difficulty in switching foods. It only took 2 days before both were eating the food when offered. I don't know what it is that made the food so appealing but I'm glad they both like it. Would recommend Metabolic for weight loss and as the maintenance diet. February 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by smells good! first time user vet reccomended for my 139 lb 8 year old dog-a little expensive but worth it for harley-did not think hed like it but he loves it with green beans!got small bag but will order large next since I know he likes it-plus it smells better than other dog food October 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for weight loss and older dogs My dogs (12 and 10 years old) are finally losing weight since switching from Science Diet WD to Metabolic. They actually love the taste of this dry food. I usually mix a small amount of a quality cannned food into the dry, but they love the taste of Metabolic by itself. It is amazing food. My daughter's dog (8 years old) has joint problems from years of frisbee competition and she is doing much better on Metabolic and has also lost weight. I have tried all the name brand "high quality" dry foods but Metabolic beats them all. My dogs really like the food and the our vet is pleased that they are losing weight. November 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This food does it! Metabolic Weight Dry Dog Food from Hill's Prescriptive is the best weight loss food our Golden Retriever has ever been on. She is 9 years old and had been overweight with the beginnings of hip trouble due to weight. We started her on this food, she weighed 78 lbs. With in 6 months, she weighed 66 pounds. Another 2 months, she hit her ideal weight of 63.1 lbs. She is healthy, running and playing with no current hip or leg issues. She acts like she's a puppy:) October 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Metabolic Handles Weight Control Excellent product. Dog loves it and his weight is kept in check. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Quick service right to my door. Saves all the lugging heavy bags home from the vet. Pronto delivery, 2 days if I recall correctly. September 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent They have been super fantastic over the phone with me given me all the discount. My order was much cheaper than any other website and they seem very accomodating. it was my first order. Thank you very much. September 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prescribed by Vet. Pleased it is made to help my dog and his health. Great service , prices and choices. September 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Miniature Aussie Loosing My Miniature Aussie weighed 52 lbs. The vet said last winter she should weigh 24 by measurements, but in actuality she thought 30 was more realistic. I put her on the Metabolic diet in Dec. 2014. I haven't weighed her, but she has her waistline back! I would say she is around 40 lbs but could be less. She is 12 years old. I have had her on the Hills RD and she was hungry all the time ad did not loose weight. She has battled weight since she was about 6 or 7. So, on the Metaboiic diet she is loosing weight, feels great and has her "puppy" back and isn't hungry all the time. It is wonderful!! July 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product We have 3 doxies that need to lose a little weight. We tried everything and nothing worked. They have been on this food about 5 weeks now and have all lost pounds. Chewy.com was also the least expensive place to purchase it. June 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It Works! My dog has struggled with his weight always, and even being on thyroid medication has not helped with his weight issue. I'd tried other diet dog foods and he always seemed ravenous, which caused additional worries about what he would find to eat since he thought he was 'starving'! He is finishing his first bag of Hills Prescription Metabolic and it's working! He has lost weight, has more energy, and has never acted like he is 'starving' between meals. This product so far seems like a miracle cure. He likes the flavor, too, and for the first time in his life, acts 'full' after eating! One caveat: the dog has to remain on this food, and the volume you feed will go UP once the ideal weight has been achieved. So, it's not an inexpensive solution, but for the dog that has serious weight issues and always seems "hungry", I highly recommend this food. June 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My dog loves the taste. My dog loves the taste BUT she hasn't lost any weight yet. She's been on it for 2 weeks so it might be too soon to tell. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good service. My pets give the food rave reviews at each meal. The fast service was greatly appreciated. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product seems to be working. With a dog who loves to eat. It's been hard to see him lick his bowl and ask with his eyes more please. But we see some weight loss, how much I don't know yet. February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product My dog loves this food. He is satisfied longer after eating and it does not upset his stomach or cause gas. He has lost some weight within one and half months. It smells really good too. February 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Weight loss dog food I was recommended by my vet to try this food for my pug who is about 5 pounds overweight. So far, I haven't noticed a real difference in his weight since he's been eating for about a month. I'm not sure if he likes it as much as his Purina One Chicken & Rice either. He also seems much hungrier on this food and poops more frequently too. January 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good tasting diet dog food Finally someone has a good tasting diet food for pets. I feed this to my cats and my dog. My cat was so fat that he could not even clean himself in those hard to reach places. He can now clean himself after being on the food for several months. I know he feels better and is much healthier! So far all my cats and dog love this food. I highly recommend it! January 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great control of weight The metrobolic diet has been the only food to control the weight of my two full sized collies. Although expensive, it has been the best for the health. January 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by working working working good stuff will continue using until our dog achieves proper weight December 26, 2014
  • 2016-02-12 T13:31:28.090-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_129, tr_129
  • loc_en_US, sid_69615, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Questions? Call our friendly customer service team anytime. We're here 24 hours a day! 1-800-67-CHEWY (672-4399)