Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food

List Price: $88.39
Price: $79.05 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping
You Save: $9.34 (11%)
In Stock
27.5-lb bag
  • 6-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag

Product Description

Hill's Prescription Diet Canine Metabolic Advanced Weight Solution is formulated with the following benefits:

  • Clinically proven to safely and naturally improve metabolism in dogs
  • Clinically proven to safely provide 28% body fat loss in 2 months in dogs
  • Clinically proven to avoid weight regain following a weight loss program
  • A Complete portfolio of dry food, canned food, and treats designed to work together to ensure safe and healthy weight loss and easy weight maintenance

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69782
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
  • Weight Control
Brand
  • Hill's Science Diet
  • Science Diet
Food Form
  • Dry Food
Country of Origin
  • United States
Breed Size
  • All Breeds
Lifestage
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Ingredients

Chicken meal, whole grain wheat, whole grain corn, soybean mill run , corn gluten meal, soybean meal, pea fiber, dried beet pulp, dried tomato pomace, chicken liver flavor, pork fat, flaxseed, coconut oil, pork liver flavor, lactic acid, powdered cellulose, dl-methionine, l-lysine, carrots, iodized salt, vitamins (vitamin e supplement, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin c), niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, vitamin a supplement, biotin, vitamin b12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, folic acid, vitamin d3 supplement), lipoic acid, potassium chloride, choline chloride, minerals (manganese sulfate, ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), taurine, mixed tocopherols for freshness, l-carnitine, natural flavors, beta-carotene

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 153 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by the product isn't working my dog has been eating this diet for 6 weeks and still no weight loss. disappointed because it is very expensive. November 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Metabolic Handles Weight Control Excellent product. Dog loves it and his weight is kept in check. October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My dog Liked it too but.... My 13 year old minuture poodle is very picky about food (yes, still..lol), and he was eating Science Diet light SMALL BITES. He was neuter a few months ago and started gaining weight so the Doctor change him to the Metabolic. He did liked the food right from the first time he tried it. However, 2 weeks after he started I notice he wasn't eating until the end of the day. I would like to suggest the manufacture to do the same food in SMALL BITES as well. For senior dogs, small bites is better due to the fact that as they grow old they tend to loss teeths and small bites would be a great idea. In the meantime I'm adding a little water or homemade vegetable broth and let it sit with the food until it get soft. Only then he will eat it. August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Miniature Aussie Loosing My Miniature Aussie weighed 52 lbs. The vet said last winter she should weigh 24 by measurements, but in actuality she thought 30 was more realistic. I put her on the Metabolic diet in Dec. 2014. I haven't weighed her, but she has her waistline back! I would say she is around 40 lbs but could be less. She is 12 years old. I have had her on the Hills RD and she was hungry all the time ad did not loose weight. She has battled weight since she was about 6 or 7. So, on the Metaboiic diet she is loosing weight, feels great and has her "puppy" back and isn't hungry all the time. It is wonderful!! July 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recommended by vet I got this by recommendation of Jack's vet because he was 15-20 lbs overweight. I had been overfeeding him Orijen adult and despite feeding him less, Jack wasn't losing weight appropriately. With Hill's I could feed him more but it just meant more poop. After one bag I switched back to Orijen - senior formula. He lost weight on that and I just felt it was better quality without so much coming out the other end. Jack isn't picky so he didn't seem to mind the change in taste of Hill's and it's the same price roughly. So in the end it was the poo factor (and maybe Orijen's sexy packaging?) that convinced me. June 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by HIGHLY RECOMMEND My 13 year old Chihuahua was 3 pounds over weight. We tried all the weight loss foods on her with no results. Our Vet finally recommended a diet plan for her that included 1/4 c of metabolic Kibble and 1 treat a day. The treat was too large for her so I mashed it up and put a tsp. of low sodium fat free chicken broth on it. She ate that in the morning and the 1/4 cup of kibble in the evening. She has lost 2 1/2 pounds and will be at her goal of 6 pounds very soon. Since then we have added 1 tbsp. of Canned metabolic diet to her kibble. She loves it and she is now more energetic. She has a seizure disorder and a heart murmur. Loosing this weight is very beneficial to her health. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Quick service right to my door. Saves all the lugging heavy bags home from the vet. Pronto delivery, 2 days if I recall correctly. September 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent They have been super fantastic over the phone with me given me all the discount. My order was much cheaper than any other website and they seem very accomodating. it was my first order. Thank you very much. September 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for dogs trying to lose a few lbs My dog loves the taste of the food and has lost a significant amount of weight. The one downside is that the food smells awful!!! But definitely worth trying if your dog is in need of weight loss. September 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by weight loss results After starting my dog on it about 2.5 weeks ago he is already down 4 pounds. He has about 25 to go still, but he is making great progress! I did not have high hopes at first after my vet told us it could take 6 months to see results, but prior to starting him on this food we tried just decreasing the amount of food and treats we were giving him and increasing exercise and nothing worked. We even had his thyroid tested, which came back fine. People should be warned though that this seems to give the dog "puppy-like" energy. Despite the price, it is well worth it to have a happy, healthy dog! My dog also gets very excited for meal times and finds the food very tasty! October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prescribed by Vet. Pleased it is made to help my dog and his health. Great service , prices and choices. September 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worked wonders My 11 year old lab gained weight after my daughter came back from college and table fed her. She was 88 lbs. She has been eating this product for over 9 months, starting at 84 lbs. She is now a svelte 71 lbs. She loves the food (though labs eat anything) and she seems to be more satisfied. The only drawback is the expense, She is on maintenance now which requires a lot more of the food than when she was reducing. My 6 year old golden also seemed to be heftier and we switched her to this food as well. Though we haven't weighed her, she seems to have lost weight as well. I would recommend but they need a follow up product for maintenance because of the cost. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Results My 10 year old dog loves this food and lost 12# in no time!! I'm putting myself on this diet Monday!! August 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is a diet food my dog really likes. I am really pleased with the quality of the food. I am anxious to see how much weight my dog loses and how soon. August 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product so far is everything it says it is. We have two yellow Labs. They love to eat and overweight dogs can be a problem. We have had Labs on diets before with minimal success. This product took off Five pounds each on both our dogs in a month of use. We are now weaning them back on to their regular food. This product has been great. The dogs did not appear to be hungary like they did on other diet foods. I would highly recommend this food. I would also highly recommend Chewy.com. We saved money ordering through Chewy rather than getting it from the Vet. We also got free shipping! That is a huge savings on almost sixty pounds of food delivered to my door! November 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog Loves It!! My 9 year old Weimaraner needed to lose weight. She loves this food, is losing the weight, and I have noticed that she doesn't smell as bad as she would sometimes smell on other foods. It's expensive but temporary and worth it for my fur baby. June 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dog Likes Metabolic I am not a big fan of the ingredients in any of the Hill's dry dog foods, but I needed something drastic for an overweight dog. My large dog with a sensitive stomach tolerates the Metabolic food well and seems to love it. He appears to be losing weight after 1.5 bags and I will get him weighed soon so that will be the proof. I also use the Metabolic dog biscuits which the dog loves. When I received the box from Chewey, the tape on the box had come loose and the dog food bag was split open on one side. I think a move to a plastic bag rather than a paper bag would be a good thing. May 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Diet Food Dogs Will Eat Of my 2 Mini-Schnauzers, one is a picky eater and the other needs weight management. This food is loved by both dogs! It is a hard, dry food but plumps up nicely with a little water if needed. I've noticed their stool is more firm with this food so I give some veggies and wet food to occasionally supplement (thus the 4 stars). Oh, and the price? At least $20 less than I was paying via the vet's office. And shipping was fast and easy with Chewy. No more big box pet store for us! January 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for maintaining weight We have a Jack Russell who had a terrible problem every winter of gaining a ton of weight. Actually her weight would flucuate by as much as 5-6 pounds every few days. She just looked unhealthy. One vet suggested putting her on a green bean diet which we did last year. But, she did not like green beans. She would be hungry and then get mean. Not good at all! Since she has been on the Hills Metabolic diet dog food her weight has been very consistent. Her coat looks good and she has lots of energy. She likes it ans is a very happy dog. No doubt, it is a great dog food. April 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works quickly without hunger Our 12 yr old lab romped with a young dog all day and couldn't stand up the next morning, having done damage to a back disc. As part of her treatment her vet placed her on the Hill's metabolic. We introduced it over a week by mixing it with her old food. It did not cause any diarrhea or vomiting and she lost weight even though she was also taking steroids. She lost 20 lbs in a little over 3 months and did not beg for food between feedings (twice a day). She is once again a lean active dog. We feel like this food has prolonged her life and improved its quality. February 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weight Control Dog Food In trying to control the weight of my dogs who love to eat, my vet suggested Hills RD dog food. This was slightly before Hills launched their Metabolic food. So we fed our dogs the RD for about 3 weeks but did not see any weight loss in them. As soon as our vet received the Metabolic we switched our dogs to that new food. Our dogs love the flavor and taste of Metabolic and after being on it for 4 weeks we finally saw weight loss in our dogs. They have been on the Metabolic now for almost a year and our vet is very happy with the weight loss results and so are we. February 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very effective weight loss diet that dogs love My two herding dogs who are well exercised every day, have struggled with weight gain as they have reached middle age...just like us humans. I put them both on this Metabolic diet for the past seven months and they have done very well with their weight management regimen, almost down to their ideal weight, a collective weight loss of over 30 lbs. They like the taste and seem to be satisfied with smaller portions. Along with significant weight loss, both have enjoyed increased energy, decrease in joint pain from arthritis and are less prone to soft tissue injury. December 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product We have 3 doxies that need to lose a little weight. We tried everything and nothing worked. They have been on this food about 5 weeks now and have all lost pounds. Chewy.com was also the least expensive place to purchase it. June 28, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by This product didn't help and added more trouble. My vet recommended this dog food for my 10 year old pug. She didn't lose much weight so I cut the amount food but still didn't lose much. Addition to the disappointment, she started to going poo inside the house. She didn't have any control of when she needed to go and couldn't wait to go outside, the poo just pushed out. My poor pug. She felt bad going inside the house, but she couldn't help it. We thought it was because of her old age, but after we switched her food to her previous food, it's all improved. We will never go back to the food. August 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am so glad my Vet. gave me a sample pack Hello Furry Friend Lovers! I have a small rat dog,Ha! Ha! Her name is Peanut, it should be Walnut! She is about four pounds overweight. That is a lot for her. I was given a sample pk. by my Vet. Wow! it was a huge pk. with lots of goodies inside. Her first feeding she was not sure. But, she ate it right up. Making pig noises! After only one week we could tell she was already looking slimmer. She also is a lot happier and wants to go for walks. She wants to go swimming in our pool. She wears a doggy life vest and loves to play! August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best food so far! My boxer gained much weight after I adopted her...and no matter what weight control food I tried, nothing was working. Vet recommended Metabolic. She began eating it as soon as I put the bowl down. She loves it! She has lost 4 lbs since we started. Her stools used to be soft with other brands I tried; the day I started using Metabolic, they were proper texture and form, making clean up very easy. I honestly cannot say enough good about this food. Expensive, yes, but the end results are worth it. November 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loves this food Our vet put our Gus(Samoyed)on a prescription diet. 20 lbs overweight. Since he can be a picky eater, I was afraid he might not get the nourishment he needed. Gus loves this food. He is more active now to play with his sister and has that sparkle back in his eyes. The food even smells great. It is hard to restrict your dogs food, but it helps to know that he really enjoys what he's eating. It has only been a couple of weeks on this diet, but I'm sure we have a healthier, happy dog. He also loves the dog treat in this brand. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog loves it I was worried my dog would not like a prescription diet, but was so wrong. He ate it right away and didn't leave any in the bowl. Will have to update once he loses the required weight as he has been on it for only 2 weeks now. May 27, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by The dogs loved he taste. I rescued a two year old Australian Cattle dog that is 30 pounds overweight. I used this food for 3 months, I followed the feeding guide and gave him no other treats or food. He only lost 3 pounds. I am very dissapointed with the minimal weight loss. The dogs loved the taste and I wished it had worked. I am switching him to Blue Buffalo for the next couple of months to see how he does with that. I highly recomend your site to all my friends amd will continue to placemy orders with you. Thank You. March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weight loss has started! We put my Cardigan on the Hill's Metabolic after she gained 3 lbs over winter, and she was already 7 lbs overweight. In the first month, she has lost 1.2 lbs. Some of the weight loss would be from the increase in exercise (now that the deep snow is gone) but also from the food source. She also is given the Hill's metabolic biscuits for a snack. She seems to love the food, and has had no adverse affects from it. Very satisfied with this product! May 16, 2014
  • 2016-05-26 T05:39:32.253-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_153, tr_153
  • loc_en_US, sid_69615, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>