Free Shipping on orders $49+

Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food

List Price: $88.39
Price: $72.49 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping
You Save: $15.90 (18%)
In Stock
27.5-lb bag
  • 6-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag

Product Description

Hill's Prescription Diet Canine Metabolic Advanced Weight Solution is formulated with the following benefits:

  • Clinically proven to safely and naturally improve metabolism in dogs
  • Clinically proven to safely provide 28% body fat loss in 2 months in dogs
  • Clinically proven to avoid weight regain following a weight loss program
  • A Complete portfolio of dry food, canned food, and treats designed to work together to ensure safe and healthy weight loss and easy weight maintenance

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 786-528-6088 or e-mailed to

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69782
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
  • Weight Control
  • Hill's Science Diet
  • Science Diet
Food Form
  • Dry Food
Country of Origin
  • United States
Breed Size
  • All Breeds
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Important Information


Chicken by-product meal, whole grain wheat, whole grain corn, corn gluten meal, pea bran meal, soybean mill run, soybean meal, dried tomato pomace, chicken liver flavor, dried beet pulp, flaxseed, coconut oil, pork fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid), lactic acid, powdered cellulose, pork liver flavor, dl-methionine, l-lysine, iodized salt, dried carrots, dicalcium phosphate, potassium chloride, lipoic acid, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement), choline chloride, minerals (manganese sulfate, ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), taurine, l-carnitine, mixed tocopherols added to retain freshness, citric acid added to retain freshness, beta-carotene, phosphoric acid, rosemary extract

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 116 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far, so good! My dogs are now both on the new hill's metabolic food. One dog because she's on a diet prescribed by my vet and the other because he likes the food. I'm relieved that both of them started eating the food without difficulty in switching foods. It only took 2 days before both were eating the food when offered. I don't know what it is that made the food so appealing but I'm glad they both like it. Would recommend Metabolic for weight loss and as the maintenance diet. February 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by smells good! first time user vet reccomended for my 139 lb 8 year old dog-a little expensive but worth it for harley-did not think hed like it but he loves it with green beans!got small bag but will order large next since I know he likes it-plus it smells better than other dog food October 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recommended by my Vet First reduced the weight of Duke (a senior golden) under the supervision of my vet, with Hills R/D and now use the Metabolic to maintain his weight. March 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The dogs loved he taste. I rescued a two year old Australian Cattle dog that is 30 pounds overweight. I used this food for 3 months, I followed the feeding guide and gave him no other treats or food. He only lost 3 pounds. I am very dissapointed with the minimal weight loss. The dogs loved the taste and I wished it had worked. I am switching him to Blue Buffalo for the next couple of months to see how he does with that. I highly recomend your site to all my friends amd will continue to placemy orders with you. Thank You. March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Quick service right to my door. Saves all the lugging heavy bags home from the vet. Pronto delivery, 2 days if I recall correctly. September 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent They have been super fantastic over the phone with me given me all the discount. My order was much cheaper than any other website and they seem very accomodating. it was my first order. Thank you very much. September 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for dogs trying to lose a few lbs My dog loves the taste of the food and has lost a significant amount of weight. The one downside is that the food smells awful!!! But definitely worth trying if your dog is in need of weight loss. September 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prescribed by Vet. Pleased it is made to help my dog and his health. Great service , prices and choices. September 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Results My 10 year old dog loves this food and lost 12# in no time!! I'm putting myself on this diet Monday!! August 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is a diet food my dog really likes. I am really pleased with the quality of the food. I am anxious to see how much weight my dog loses and how soon. August 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Miniature Aussie Loosing My Miniature Aussie weighed 52 lbs. The vet said last winter she should weigh 24 by measurements, but in actuality she thought 30 was more realistic. I put her on the Metabolic diet in Dec. 2014. I haven't weighed her, but she has her waistline back! I would say she is around 40 lbs but could be less. She is 12 years old. I have had her on the Hills RD and she was hungry all the time ad did not loose weight. She has battled weight since she was about 6 or 7. So, on the Metaboiic diet she is loosing weight, feels great and has her "puppy" back and isn't hungry all the time. It is wonderful!! July 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product We have 3 doxies that need to lose a little weight. We tried everything and nothing worked. They have been on this food about 5 weeks now and have all lost pounds. was also the least expensive place to purchase it. June 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It Works! My dog has struggled with his weight always, and even being on thyroid medication has not helped with his weight issue. I'd tried other diet dog foods and he always seemed ravenous, which caused additional worries about what he would find to eat since he thought he was 'starving'! He is finishing his first bag of Hills Prescription Metabolic and it's working! He has lost weight, has more energy, and has never acted like he is 'starving' between meals. This product so far seems like a miracle cure. He likes the flavor, too, and for the first time in his life, acts 'full' after eating! One caveat: the dog has to remain on this food, and the volume you feed will go UP once the ideal weight has been achieved. So, it's not an inexpensive solution, but for the dog that has serious weight issues and always seems "hungry", I highly recommend this food. June 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My dog loves the taste. My dog loves the taste BUT she hasn't lost any weight yet. She's been on it for 2 weeks so it might be too soon to tell. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good service. My pets give the food rave reviews at each meal. The fast service was greatly appreciated. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product seems to be working. With a dog who loves to eat. It's been hard to see him lick his bowl and ask with his eyes more please. But we see some weight loss, how much I don't know yet. February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product - worth the extra money to buy quality food. Our Labrodoodle has been on Hill's Metabolic since February of last year. By following our vet's recommended feeding schedule he lost 14 pounds in 10 months (the amount he was supposed to lose). He is now on the maintenance plan - meaning he can eat more food each day to maintain his weight. Love the convenience of having it delivered right to our door. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Expensive, but worth the price Our two Pit Bulls were 20-30 lbs over weight, and the vet recommended we try this food to help get them down to a healthy weight. Both dogs lost 10 lbs in a little over 3 weeks! February 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product My dog loves this food. He is satisfied longer after eating and it does not upset his stomach or cause gas. He has lost some weight within one and half months. It smells really good too. February 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Weight loss dog food I was recommended by my vet to try this food for my pug who is about 5 pounds overweight. So far, I haven't noticed a real difference in his weight since he's been eating for about a month. I'm not sure if he likes it as much as his Purina One Chicken & Rice either. He also seems much hungrier on this food and poops more frequently too. January 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good tasting diet dog food Finally someone has a good tasting diet food for pets. I feed this to my cats and my dog. My cat was so fat that he could not even clean himself in those hard to reach places. He can now clean himself after being on the food for several months. I know he feels better and is much healthier! So far all my cats and dog love this food. I highly recommend it! January 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great control of weight The metrobolic diet has been the only food to control the weight of my two full sized collies. Although expensive, it has been the best for the health. January 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by working working working good stuff will continue using until our dog achieves proper weight December 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Our dogs love it. Our dogs (labs) love the taste, and one of them is very picky with new foods. However, after two weeks I am not yet seeing the results (3 cups each per day). Hopefully we'll see the pounds coming off soon or it may not be worth the money to reorder. I cannot recommend it until I can see that it works. December 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best weight loss food If your dog is overweight and you have tried everything, ask your vet to try Metabolic by science diet, best weight loss food I have ever used! November 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fur kids love the taste Super food for weight loss and great tasting too.. November 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product and good pricing. My Chocolate Lab is fairly inactive and overweight, so my Vet recommended this food for her. She's been on it now for about 2 months and I can already see results. She seems to have more energy and looks forward to mealtime, which tells me she likes the taste of the food. So glad I switched! October 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! My golden retriever was overweight and since he was put on this food he has lost the weight and is trim and fit. He loves this food! October 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome food! This food is great! My dog has been on this diet for a month and she has already lost weight. My other two dogs try to steal her food it taste so good. I would highly recommend. September 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product with results. This product has helped our Corgi's keep the weight off. Hopefully, with this product it will help us extend their time with us. September 14, 2014
  • 2015-10-04T15:46:54.342-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_116, tr_116
  • loc_en_US, sid_69615, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Questions? Call our friendly customer service team anytime. We're here 24 hours a day! 1-800-67-CHEWY (672-4399)