Free Shipping on orders $49+

Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food

List Price: $88.39
Price: $72.99 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping
You Save: $15.40 (17%)
In Stock
27.5-lb bag
  • 6-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag

Product Description

Hill's Prescription Diet Canine Metabolic Advanced Weight Solution is formulated with the following benefits:

  • Clinically proven to safely and naturally improve metabolism in dogs
  • Clinically proven to safely provide 28% body fat loss in 2 months in dogs
  • Clinically proven to avoid weight regain following a weight loss program
  • A Complete portfolio of dry food, canned food, and treats designed to work together to ensure safe and healthy weight loss and easy weight maintenance

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 786-528-6088 or e-mailed to

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69782
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
  • Weight Control
  • Hill's Science Diet
  • Science Diet
Food Form
  • Dry Food
Country of Origin
  • United States
Breed Size
  • All Breeds
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Important Information


Chicken by-product meal, whole grain wheat, whole grain corn, corn gluten meal, pea bran meal, soybean mill run, soybean meal, dried tomato pomace, chicken liver flavor, dried beet pulp, flaxseed, coconut oil, pork fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid), lactic acid, powdered cellulose, pork liver flavor, dl-methionine, l-lysine, iodized salt, dried carrots, dicalcium phosphate, potassium chloride, lipoic acid, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement), choline chloride, minerals (manganese sulfate, ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), taurine, l-carnitine, mixed tocopherols added to retain freshness, citric acid added to retain freshness, beta-carotene, phosphoric acid, rosemary extract

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 121 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product works My lab was over weight and we had tried everything to get some weight off of her. When the vet suggested this product I was hesitant due to the price but decided we had to do something and it worked. She loves it and it did not upset her bowels at all, she started eating it right away with no problems. She is almost to her suggested weight. January 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ♥♥♥ My dog loves this food...and he is losing weight. It's a win-win for both of us! December 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for weight loss Our dogs love the food and have lost and kept weight off. December 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product. The Metabolism dog food by Hill's Science has been great for our dogs for initial weight loss and ongoing weight maintenance. We have Dachshunds, who are notorious for weight gain. Even during periods when our dogs had to be on steroids for health issues, they've maintained their weight. Our Vet says they're her poster children for healthy weight maintenance! December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Excellent product, has helped get our overweight dogs back into a healthy range. Most foods on the market are generally fine for active dogs, but as they age or get inactive then the weight can become an issue. It was vet recommended to us. December 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am so glad my Vet. gave me a sample pack Hello Furry Friend Lovers! I have a small rat dog,Ha! Ha! Her name is Peanut, it should be Walnut! She is about four pounds overweight. That is a lot for her. I was given a sample pk. by my Vet. Wow! it was a huge pk. with lots of goodies inside. Her first feeding she was not sure. But, she ate it right up. Making pig noises! After only one week we could tell she was already looking slimmer. She also is a lot happier and wants to go for walks. She wants to go swimming in our pool. She wears a doggy life vest and loves to play! August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product has been very good for my dogs. I can see the difference in their weight since I have started using it Chewy;s is great!. No need to go anywhere else to buy your dog food or cat food. It is so great to find some people who really care!!!!' Kudos to you guys at Chewys. March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for weight loss and older dogs My dogs (12 and 10 years old) are finally losing weight since switching from Science Diet WD to Metabolic. They actually love the taste of this dry food. I usually mix a small amount of a quality cannned food into the dry, but they love the taste of Metabolic by itself. It is amazing food. My daughter's dog (8 years old) has joint problems from years of frisbee competition and she is doing much better on Metabolic and has also lost weight. I have tried all the name brand "high quality" dry foods but Metabolic beats them all. My dogs really like the food and the our vet is pleased that they are losing weight. November 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This food does it! Metabolic Weight Dry Dog Food from Hill's Prescriptive is the best weight loss food our Golden Retriever has ever been on. She is 9 years old and had been overweight with the beginnings of hip trouble due to weight. We started her on this food, she weighed 78 lbs. With in 6 months, she weighed 66 pounds. Another 2 months, she hit her ideal weight of 63.1 lbs. She is healthy, running and playing with no current hip or leg issues. She acts like she's a puppy:) October 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Metabolic Handles Weight Control Excellent product. Dog loves it and his weight is kept in check. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Quick service right to my door. Saves all the lugging heavy bags home from the vet. Pronto delivery, 2 days if I recall correctly. September 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent They have been super fantastic over the phone with me given me all the discount. My order was much cheaper than any other website and they seem very accomodating. it was my first order. Thank you very much. September 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for dogs trying to lose a few lbs My dog loves the taste of the food and has lost a significant amount of weight. The one downside is that the food smells awful!!! But definitely worth trying if your dog is in need of weight loss. September 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prescribed by Vet. Pleased it is made to help my dog and his health. Great service , prices and choices. September 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Miniature Aussie Loosing My Miniature Aussie weighed 52 lbs. The vet said last winter she should weigh 24 by measurements, but in actuality she thought 30 was more realistic. I put her on the Metabolic diet in Dec. 2014. I haven't weighed her, but she has her waistline back! I would say she is around 40 lbs but could be less. She is 12 years old. I have had her on the Hills RD and she was hungry all the time ad did not loose weight. She has battled weight since she was about 6 or 7. So, on the Metaboiic diet she is loosing weight, feels great and has her "puppy" back and isn't hungry all the time. It is wonderful!! July 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product We have 3 doxies that need to lose a little weight. We tried everything and nothing worked. They have been on this food about 5 weeks now and have all lost pounds. was also the least expensive place to purchase it. June 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It Works! My dog has struggled with his weight always, and even being on thyroid medication has not helped with his weight issue. I'd tried other diet dog foods and he always seemed ravenous, which caused additional worries about what he would find to eat since he thought he was 'starving'! He is finishing his first bag of Hills Prescription Metabolic and it's working! He has lost weight, has more energy, and has never acted like he is 'starving' between meals. This product so far seems like a miracle cure. He likes the flavor, too, and for the first time in his life, acts 'full' after eating! One caveat: the dog has to remain on this food, and the volume you feed will go UP once the ideal weight has been achieved. So, it's not an inexpensive solution, but for the dog that has serious weight issues and always seems "hungry", I highly recommend this food. June 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My dog loves the taste. My dog loves the taste BUT she hasn't lost any weight yet. She's been on it for 2 weeks so it might be too soon to tell. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good service. My pets give the food rave reviews at each meal. The fast service was greatly appreciated. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product seems to be working. With a dog who loves to eat. It's been hard to see him lick his bowl and ask with his eyes more please. But we see some weight loss, how much I don't know yet. February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product - worth the extra money to buy quality food. Our Labrodoodle has been on Hill's Metabolic since February of last year. By following our vet's recommended feeding schedule he lost 14 pounds in 10 months (the amount he was supposed to lose). He is now on the maintenance plan - meaning he can eat more food each day to maintain his weight. Love the convenience of having it delivered right to our door. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Expensive, but worth the price Our two Pit Bulls were 20-30 lbs over weight, and the vet recommended we try this food to help get them down to a healthy weight. Both dogs lost 10 lbs in a little over 3 weeks! February 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product My dog loves this food. He is satisfied longer after eating and it does not upset his stomach or cause gas. He has lost some weight within one and half months. It smells really good too. February 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Weight loss dog food I was recommended by my vet to try this food for my pug who is about 5 pounds overweight. So far, I haven't noticed a real difference in his weight since he's been eating for about a month. I'm not sure if he likes it as much as his Purina One Chicken & Rice either. He also seems much hungrier on this food and poops more frequently too. January 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good tasting diet dog food Finally someone has a good tasting diet food for pets. I feed this to my cats and my dog. My cat was so fat that he could not even clean himself in those hard to reach places. He can now clean himself after being on the food for several months. I know he feels better and is much healthier! So far all my cats and dog love this food. I highly recommend it! January 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great control of weight The metrobolic diet has been the only food to control the weight of my two full sized collies. Although expensive, it has been the best for the health. January 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by working working working good stuff will continue using until our dog achieves proper weight December 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Our dogs love it. Our dogs (labs) love the taste, and one of them is very picky with new foods. However, after two weeks I am not yet seeing the results (3 cups each per day). Hopefully we'll see the pounds coming off soon or it may not be worth the money to reorder. I cannot recommend it until I can see that it works. December 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best weight loss food If your dog is overweight and you have tried everything, ask your vet to try Metabolic by science diet, best weight loss food I have ever used! November 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fur kids love the taste Super food for weight loss and great tasting too.. November 15, 2014
  • 2015-11-30 T10:10:11.991-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_121, tr_121
  • loc_en_US, sid_69615, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Questions? Call our friendly customer service team anytime. We're here 24 hours a day! 1-800-67-CHEWY (672-4399)