Free Shipping on orders $49+

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Canine Ultra Dry Dog Food

List Price: $107.89
Price: $85.99 + Free Shipping!
You Save: $21.90 (20%)
In Stock
25-lb bag
  • 8-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 25-lb bag

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Canine Ultra Dry Dog Food, 25-lb bag

Food sensitivites and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Dogs that have a food sensitivities or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your dog suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food.

Prescription Diet z/d Canine Ultra is formulated with the following benefits:

  • Hill's is going through a packaging change: Original was formerly Ultra; same great formula, just a new name!
  • Formulated with Hill's Hydrolyzed Protein System, highly digestible proteins that minimize the chances of adverse reactions to food
  • No intact animal protein to help avoid adverse reactions to food
  • Highly digestible carbohydrates and fats to help reduce gastrointestinal workload
  • Increased in omega 3 and 6 Fatty Acids to help nourish the skin
  • Added antioxidants to control cell oxidation and promote a healthy immune system and skin barrier function

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 786-528-6088 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69806
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
Brand
  • Hill's Science Diet
  • Science Diet
Form
  • Dry Food
Country of Origin
  • United States
Breed Size
  • All Breeds
Lifestage
  • Adult

Starch, Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Soybean Oil, Hydrolyzed Chicken, Powdered Cellulose, Lactic Acid, Dicalcium Phosphate, Calcium Carbonate, Glyceryl Monostearate, Potassium Chloride, Iodized Salt, Choline Chloride, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin D3 Supplement , Folic Acid), DL-Methionine, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Canine Ultra Dry Dog Food Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 94 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Prescription Food My yellow lab, Nixon, has severe food and skin allergies. He has been on medication for allergy infections and multiple diets to help with his food allergies. We have tried him on three different prescription foods and none have worked as well as the Hills Science Diet Z/D food. He still takes a regular dosage of allergy medication for his skin, but in conjunction with the Z/D formula it has helped clear up his skin problems along with the constant upset stomach. Since switching to Hills Nixon is much more regular and doesn't require me to constantly take him out for bathroom breaks. I am extremely happy with this food. September 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A must if your dog has allergies! I spent a good two years trying to find my dog a food that would help with his allergy/skin problems. I tried everything from holistic to grain free! Nothing worked! I ended up going to the vet and he put my dog on this food! Hydrolyzed Protein System made by Hills, it is so much better for my dogs system! His allergy and itchy skin problem has cleared up and I love this dog food! July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for my dogs and they love it One of my dogs got a flu-like illness about once a quarter with no apparent cause. My vet recommended this food and so far so good. She is well and loves the food which is great a she is picky. One of the best things is that my most picky eater a 16 year old cocker spaniel absolutely loves it! The first night I gave it to the one dog, my cocker did something she have never done--she went over to the other dog's bowl to steal the food. Well, it is a hit with all of my dogs and if it keeps them well it pleases me no end. The only problem is that it is unbelievably expensive. July 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very convenient to order the product on line. Reliable company, it certainly allows you the convenience of ordering a large quantity of food without the burden of carrying it oneself. January 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The z/d dog food relieved his severe itching/chewing. This is the third bag of the Hill's z/d dog food. It was recommended by our veterinarian to see if his excessive itching/chewing was related to a food (protein) allergy. It was completely effective in relieving his excessive itching/chewing. I did notice that his stools became much softer and the frequency was reduced from 2 to 1 stool per day- which the vet said is normal. Being a German Shepherd dog ( almost 9 years old) he has had digestive issues in the past. Although the food is very expensive, I was willing to pay it for his relief of allergy symptoms. Unfortunately, he now is very reluctant to eat it and often refuses it completely. He has had many dietary changes recently which may have contributed to this. Otherwise, the food was effective for him and I hope to continue with it. June 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our dog thinks it tastes great! Our dog is having some unknown allergies and therefore my vet suggested Hill's Science Diet z/d. I thought I would have a super hard time getting my dog to eat this but quite the opposite as he is enjoying meal time with no issues. To purchase through my vet would have been a little bit more so I am happy that I found it through chewy.com. Also purchasing through chewy.com allowed me to get my other dog food at the same time which was very convenient. I have been purchasing all my dog food for several weeks now on chewy.com and I am very pleased with the service and food I have received. March 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Really upset Ella's bowels My doctor recommended this product for my pitbull Ella for her allergy condition. Since she's been on it, her stools have been erratic and one step away from being diarrheal. She seems to have lost weight and is hungry all the time. To be honest, she has also been on medication which might have something to do with it, but she's been on the same medication before without any problem. Will have to see what the doc says at her next appointment. December 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent aid for allergies. Good product and great help with dog allergies. Wish it weren't so expensive. July 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not for my Rottie I can't speak for the allergy benefits of this food as my girl had tummy troubles with it. I can say that she didn't care for it even when I first presented it to her while mixed with her previous food. I just kept offering it to her as the vet said to do and eventually she ate it. For the few days she was on it she had a bad gas problem and diarrhea. So we're still looking for a food that will help her with her allergy problems. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only Food My Dog Can Eat Every other food I have given my dog have resulted in her getting hives and intestinal problems. Our Vet put her on this food and for once she is a happy and healthy girl. April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only for medical purposes For the record. I hate science diet. I think it's overpriced icky food. Having said that, I think it's helping with my dog's food sensitivities. I don't know what causes my dog's problems, but they seem to be subsiding now that he has been on antibiotics, anti-histamine and z/d. So, there you go. April 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by z/d dry dog food my pet likes this dog food and it seems to help her with her food allergy along with the z/d can food.the only thing i dont like is it is kind of big chuncks for my small old dog and it is hard for her to chew.i wish it came in a smaller chunk for small breed dogs.i do break it up now with a hammer into smaller pieces so she can chew it better. and i wish i didnt need a prescription to buy it. March 30, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will not purchase again I have a small dog with allergies, she is also a picky eater. This did not work for her all. She didn't eat more than a bite or two at meals, yet she was very hungry. What little she got in her night 6, she threw up. Nuggets are much too large for small breeds, the canned, my 1 year old yellow lab would not even go near it. I would not recommend if you want your dog to be able to eat !! Quite disappointed in this product, I had high hopes. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food for sensitive stomachs Our dog used to be so sick all the time with all her old food. Since we started her on this, she is rarely sick. It is a little pricier, but worth every penny because she is healthy. March 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy ordering, quick delivery The weather this winter made it very difficult to get to the vet's office for prescription food for our dog . I called chewy.com to order the food for convenience. I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was. They aided in obtaining the prescription from my vet and within 1 day the food was delivered to my doorstep. So easy, it's the only way we will be purchasing Buddy's food! March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1st time customer First time Chewy.com user....the product came in excellent time, customer service excellent & kind. I enjoyed the savings for sure! March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome! This product changed my dogs life! He is back to his old self again! Running and jumping just like when he was a puppy! I highly recommend it! February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like this product works fine for my dog. He suffer allergies this food does the job. No more irritation on his skin,and no more. Bacteria a very good product recommended. Finally found the right product.nu February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only food my dog can tolerate Hills Z/D has made a huge difference in my dog's life. We thought our 7-year old dog was just slowing with age, but he was actually suffering severe food intolerance. He has been on ZD for almost a month and his energy is back to puppy level! February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by For the severely allergic dog Our Vizsla was allergic to practically everything. She healed--improved doesn't begin to cover it--almost immediately on Z/D. Later we moved her to a less expensive high-quality non-prescription product made by Blue Buffalo that worked equally well for her, the oatmeal and fish that did NOT used to have chicken flavor in it. We are still using the Blue Buffalo Oatmeal & Fish, though it does have chicken product it seems to work. Z/D is EXCELLENT, but probably only necessary for dogs with severe and extensive allergic profiles. For moderate-allergy dogs, other high-quality limited-ingredient formulations may work just as well, so start reading ingredient labels! February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent for allergy prone pets My pup is allergic to just about everything under the sun! From environmental factors to food allergies, he is very uncomfortable constantly. Scratching almost incessantly, up until we bought this food. He is finally finding some relief! February 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Doberman Loves the Taste! My doberman seems to be allergic to everything. She will break out in bumps and at times hives. Then she gets skin staph infections. This food has greatly reduced the bumps to just a few. I am also controlling staph with medicated chlorhexidine shampoos. I tried Royal Canins hydrolyzed formula and she refuses to eat it. Canins is soy based protein and Hills is Chicken. Glad to have a food she can eat. However is is very expensive. $100 a month for dog food! January 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has helped prevent ear infections for my dog with food allergies My 3 year old lab, who is an outside dog, was getting ear infections every 6-8 weeks before we started using Hill's Prescription DietZ/D. Our doctor put her own this diet because he thinks that she has food allergies causing her to get these frequent ear infections. Once we completely switched to the Z/D diet she has not had a single ear infection. She was also in the obese category per her doctor, but she has lost 14 pounds since starting this diet, and she is now in the healthy range for her age and type. I would highly recommend this dog food and using Chewy.com to order your food because it's cheaper then at the vet or any other store and it is shipped right to your home. I have set up a bag of food to be delivered every 6 weeks, and I am looking forward to not having to worry about remembering to go to the vet to pick the food up. This is a great place to order your pets food from! January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Easy transaction & great customer service. Their products come right to your door. How much easier can it get! This product greatly helps if your pet has allergies. January 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth it! Sticker price for prescription food was a bit overwhelming but the overall effect has been better than we hoped. Our dog loves this food and is more eager than ever to eat now. He has had several symptoms going on and all of them are getting much better now! January 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good food, but does it work? The jury is still out as to whether or not this food is helping my dogs with their allergies. We are on day 5 of Hill's Prescription Diet and my dogs continue to scratch and chew themselves. They also receive allergy serum injections once-a-month and I'm overly cautious about whatever goes in their mouths or on their bodies. It's very frustrating. They love the food and gobble it right down. I also purchased the dog biscuits, which I cut into 4 pieces so they only get small bites for treats. Of course, those are a big hit as well. I'm unsure how long we need to wait to see if the food helps. I'll post an update later. January 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food recommended by my Vet. I am thrilled to hVe discovered Chewy.com. Extremely fast and courteous service, and discounted prices. I signed up for auto ship. No more trips to the vet and schlepping home 25 pind bags of food. Savings to boot! January 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happydogsx3 I have three dogs all with food allergies. We have tried every food there is with constant GI issues. The potato and venison Royal Canin was the only food they all tolerated with no problems. They have been on it for several years now. It is prescription and the price from the veterinarian was reaching over $100/bag for 25lbs. Tried another brands version but it resulted in more GI issues. Thought I was going to have to pay the high price until I discovered it thru Chewy.com. It is $25/bag less which makes it affordable and I have happy dogs! January 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is good for dogs with kidney or liver problems My dog likes this food. I do think that is it too expensive and should be at a more affordable price. January 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product is excellent. With free shipping, your price is competitive with what my veterinarian charges. And delivery was prompt. The product is excellent. Your price was competitive. And delivery was prompt. January 4, 2015
  • 2015-04-17T16:51:10.409-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_94, tr_94
  • loc_en_US, sid_69629, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Questions? Call our friendly customer service team anytime. We're here 24 hours a day! 1-800-67-CHEWY (672-4399)