Free Shipping on orders $49+

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Canine Ultra Dry Dog Food

List Price: $107.89
Price: $82.99 + Free Shipping!
You Save: $24.90 (23%)
In Stock
25-lb bag
  • 8-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 25-lb bag

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Canine Ultra Dry Dog Food, 25-lb bag

Food sensitivites and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Dogs that have a food sensitivities or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your dog suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food.

Prescription Diet z/d Canine Ultra is formulated with the following benefits:

  • Formulated with Hill's Hydrolyzed Protein System, highly digestible proteins that minimize the chances of adverse reactions to food
  • No intact animal protein to help avoid adverse reactions to food
  • Highly digestible carbohydrates and fats to help reduce gastrointestinal workload
  • Increased in omega 3 and 6 Fatty Acids to help nourish the skin
  • Added antioxidants to control cell oxidation and promote a healthy immune system and skin barrier function

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be fulfilled until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 786-528-6088 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69806
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
Brand
  • Hill's Science Diet
  • Science Diet
Form
  • Dry Food
Country of Origin
  • United States
Breed Size
  • All Breeds
Lifestage
  • Adult

Starch, Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Soybean Oil, Hydrolyzed Chicken, Powdered Cellulose, Lactic Acid, Dicalcium Phosphate, Calcium Carbonate, Glyceryl Monostearate, Potassium Chloride, Iodized Salt, Choline Chloride, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin D3 Supplement , Folic Acid), DL-Methionine, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Canine Ultra Dry Dog Food Customer Reviews

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Canine Ultra Dry Dog Food 4.8 5 49 49
Our dog thinks it tastes great! Our dog is having some unknown allergies and therefore my vet suggested Hill's Science Diet z/d. I thought I would have a super hard time getting my dog to eat this but quite the opposite as he is enjoying meal time with no issues. To purchase through my vet would have been a little bit more so I am happy that I found it through chewy.com. Also purchasing through chewy.com allowed me to get my other dog food at the same time which was very convenient. I have been purchasing all my dog food for several weeks now on chewy.com and I am very pleased with the service and food I have received. March 9, 2014
Really upset Ella's bowels My doctor recommended this product for my pitbull Ella for her allergy condition. Since she's been on it, her stools have been erratic and one step away from being diarrheal. She seems to have lost weight and is hungry all the time. To be honest, she has also been on medication which might have something to do with it, but she's been on the same medication before without any problem. Will have to see what the doc says at her next appointment. December 13, 2013
Excellent aid for allergies. Good product and great help with dog allergies. Wish it weren't so expensive. July 24, 2014
This produce is excellent for dogs who have allergies This product is excellent for dogs who have allergies. Both of my dogs have been using this product for 12 years. September 13, 2014
Works for my dogs allergies I was resistant when the vet said it would help with allergies. It works great for my dog. What I'm most excited about is that you deliver. Thanks September 8, 2014
Pure nutrition! My dog was suffering both from skin issues and random vomiting (1-2 times per week). Since switching to z/d, in the past month she has vomited only once, and had just a single skin flare-up. I'm hopeful that this will be even less frequent over the long-term. Also, it's the only dog food I've ever used that actually smells good! September 6, 2014
This product has helped our Yorkie Our Yorkie is picky about her food, but she really likes this product. It has helped her allergy problem. I recommended it to my sister for her itchy dogs. Thanks September 1, 2014
This works, and Jasper loves it. My vet recommended Hill's Prescription ZD for my dog's skin allergy. Jasper loves the taste and I can see the difference in his skin after just 1 week. No more red, raw patches. Jasper is a calm dog again. September 1, 2014
Product great. Chewy staff, even greater! Customer service was wonderful. Will definitely use this company again! Very impressed!!! Thank you! August 30, 2014
Works well enough My recent rescue and I have been struggling for a while to find a brand of dog food that didn't upset his stomach. Recommended by our Vet, Z/d has definitely helped in changing his stool from being liquid to being a soft level of 'firm'. With a sprinkling of Metamucil at each meal (2 1/8 teaspoons in the morning, 3 in the afternoon) we've finally achieved a level of firmness that I'm happy with (with the added bonus that cleaning up after my dog is now a lot easier). My reason for not giving 5 stars is mainly the price. I bought my first 8lbs bag from my Vet for $50, so am absolutely happy that I can find it almost $20 cheaper on Chewy. However when you compare it to other dog food brands it's still rather pricey. That said until I find another brand that works better, I'll keep coming back to Z/d. August 12, 2014
Chewy's is great! I love buying food and supplies from Chewy.com. I always get the items mailed to my door so I don't have to handle the heavy items like I do at the store. Getting litter in and out of the shopping cart is a major pain! I like that I can also get the prescription diet foods for less money than at the vet's office. We actually ordered a pet carrier that turned out to be too small for our kitty and they shipped us another without charge and told us to give the other one to charity or a friend. That happens so rare now that I have been buying supplies from Chewy everysince then. August 4, 2014
A must if your dog has allergies! I spent a good two years trying to find my dog a food that would help with his allergy/skin problems. I tried everything from holistic to grain free! Nothing worked! I ended up going to the vet and he put my dog on this food! Hydrolyzed Protein System made by Hills, it is so much better for my dogs system! His allergy and itchy skin problem has cleared up and I love this dog food! July 28, 2014
Great product and great for my dog. Our dog has allergies, therefore, our vet told us to use Hill's for him. He does well with it....thanks, Hill's July 24, 2014
Great treats for you pet with allergies! My dog, Max, was switched to these treats by his vet due to skin allergies. He never missed a beat..he loves them! They are a perfect size and very reasonable and convenient at Chewy's.com! I recommend them to you for your dog with allergies! July 23, 2014
Great for my dogs and they love it One of my dogs got a flu-like illness about once a quarter with no apparent cause. My vet recommended this food and so far so good. She is well and loves the food which is great a she is picky. One of the best things is that my most picky eater a 16 year old cocker spaniel absolutely loves it! The first night I gave it to the one dog, my cocker did something she have never done--she went over to the other dog's bowl to steal the food. Well, it is a hit with all of my dogs and if it keeps them well it pleases me no end. The only problem is that it is unbelievably expensive. July 18, 2014
My dog loves this food. Abigail loves the food and can't wait until dinner time each day. I am hoping that this z/d diet will also stop her food allergy so that she can enjoy life more. I will be buying more. July 15, 2014
does the job This is food for treatment/ management of illness so it is what it is. My girl seems to like it enough and it is controlling her digestive issues but it is very expensive. As a toy breed she has had a bit of difficulty with the size of the kibble so it would be nice to see it made in smaller bites for smaller dogs. July 8, 2014
This product doesn't upset my Shih-Tzu's tummy. I've tried many different foods, both canned and hard food, and this one seems to agree with my dog more than any others I have tried. Prior to ordering from chewy.com, I've been purchasing the food from Saluda River and was paying as much as $1.00 a can more at Saluda. July 7, 2014
Excellent Quality My dog is on Hills ZD food and the quality of the food is great. I had some issues with the consistency of the ZD can food in the past being very dry and pasty but the consistency of the ZD can food Chewy provides is great. It is much more moist and hence more palatable and appealing to my little dog. The ZD kibble is of the quality I am used to. I also recommend the ginger and pumpkin treats they are just great for digestive issues. I give Chewy.com a rating of 10 for quality of food, service and price. July 1, 2014
The z/d dog food relieved his severe itching/chewing. This is the third bag of the Hill's z/d dog food. It was recommended by our veterinarian to see if his excessive itching/chewing was related to a food (protein) allergy. It was completely effective in relieving his excessive itching/chewing. I did notice that his stools became much softer and the frequency was reduced from 2 to 1 stool per day- which the vet said is normal. Being a German Shepherd dog ( almost 9 years old) he has had digestive issues in the past. Although the food is very expensive, I was willing to pay it for his relief of allergy symptoms. Unfortunately, he now is very reluctant to eat it and often refuses it completely. He has had many dietary changes recently which may have contributed to this. Otherwise, the food was effective for him and I hope to continue with it. June 16, 2014
Food was prescribed by vet to help allergies We are currently trying to "cleanse" our dog from meat proteins as suggested by our vet to help with her allergies. We are only about a month into it and it seems like her itching has subsided some, but is not totally gone yet. We were told to keep up with this for 3 months, so we will see if it works! June 11, 2014
Great product! My dog loves the flavor & after only a week she has no signs of food allergies! June 11, 2014
This product has helped Our yorkie has a food allergy... this food is very helpful to her. The kibble is very large for her. I would love to see it in a smaller kibble... :) May 20, 2014
How can anyone not recommend this product? I cannot begin to tell you how brutal it's been while I watched my little yorkie suffer through her food allergies over the past 3 years! I've had saliva testing, thyroid testing, blood allergy testing, skin testing, homeopathic meds, antibiotics, allergy shots, etc.. Nothing worked.. (Thank god for pet insurance!!!!) I originally didn't give this product a chance b/c the kibble size is tooo large, but I soak it in diluted apple cider vinegar and olive oil with warm water so it's easy to break down. Yum!! .. no.. more like yuck! lol!, but she eats it! I stayed the course with this one, and after 6 weeks, the dry spots finally went away and she may itch a tiny bit, but little and normal tolerable stuff. No more hair loss with bloody faces from rubbing her head into the carpet!!! yuck! The funny thing is that I was able to get my hands on the new APOQEL drug for dogs that stops the itch.. It's supposedly safer than pred and the other med and specifically targets the itch ONLY. Well, it's not available in this country yet b/c it has been held up at the manufacturer.. I ended up ordering from the UK and have it on hand "JUST IN CASE".. lol! I'm assuming I won't be needing it any time soon... I only wish the kibble of this food was smaller so I didn't have to make it mushy for her, but hey; I'll do what I have to do!! Anything is better than watching your little doggie suffer in an ungodly fashion! Now I just need to know if she can stay on it for the rest of her life?? Does it provide her with enough nutrients that she needs as she gets older? A+++! May 15, 2014
Allergy Relief My dog has food intolerances and environmental allergies. Since feeding him ZD dry and Canned, he has no digestive issues and 90% of his itching has subsided. May 15, 2014
Does the trick for my dogs. I have two boston terriers who have food allergies. My vet put them on this food several years ago, and they haven't had any problems since. April 26, 2014
Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Canine Ultra Allergen-Free Dry Dog Food We have two Wheatons and they tend to have several allergies, some food and some yeast. We have tried so many things to control our poor pups discomforts and the Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Canine Ultra Allergen-Free Dry Dog Food was the ticket! We are so thankful and pleased! February 21, 2014
Provided relief from skin irritation and scratching. The Hills dog food was effective in neutralizing the incidence of scratching, open sores my 7-year old lab/coon hound mix has experienced over the last year. I mix two tablespoons of brown rice (for fiber) with a cup and 1/4 of the dog food. She loves the food and no more health issues. February 14, 2014
Such a great product! My 8-year-old golden retriever has had allergy problems and constantly had ear infections. One vet was content to just keep giving her steroid shots; I never liked that, and they were not only not helping much anymore, but they were hurting her hips. The new vet said he's had about a 90-95% success rate with dogs that have used this food, so we gave it a try. I had tried so many different foods, including limited ingredient ones that got great reviews, so one more couldn't hurt. She's been on the z/d food for more than 2 mos. now, and it's made such a big difference. There was a time or two I was tempted to stop it because it didn't seem to be helping, but the vet said it can take 6-8 wks. or more to really see a difference, so we hung in there, and I'm so glad we did. It has totally cleared up her ears, and they were always so bad before. If your dog has allergies, I recommend giving this food a try. It's pricey, but its formula works, and it's worth the cost. The Chewy price and service are awesome. January 16, 2014
Dog is Allergy Free My two year old doberman developed severe allergies and ear infections. Vet said lets start with food, since it is the most common allergy. He also said food allergy tests are not very accurate. It worked!! Horrific hives, ear infections, etc are all gone. Of course we need to wait till summer comes and see if it holds true. Otherwise it is allergy testing for grass, etc which are very accurate, so my vet says. I have even put my 11 year old dobe on it and her tummy issues have cleared up. Plus my dogs love this food. January 10, 2014
<<prev2 3 next>>
Questions? Call our friendly customer service team anytime. We're here 24 hours a day! 1-800-67-CHEWY (672-4399)