Free Shipping on orders $49+

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Canine Ultra Dry Dog Food

List Price: $107.89
Price: $85.99 + Free Shipping!
You Save: $21.90 (20%)
In Stock
25-lb bag
  • 8-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 25-lb bag

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Canine Ultra Dry Dog Food, 25-lb bag

Food sensitivites and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Dogs that have a food sensitivities or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your dog suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food.

Prescription Diet z/d Canine Ultra is formulated with the following benefits:

  • Hill's is going through a packaging change: Original was formerly Ultra; same great formula, just a new name!
  • Formulated with Hill's Hydrolyzed Protein System, highly digestible proteins that minimize the chances of adverse reactions to food
  • No intact animal protein to help avoid adverse reactions to food
  • Highly digestible carbohydrates and fats to help reduce gastrointestinal workload
  • Increased in omega 3 and 6 Fatty Acids to help nourish the skin
  • Added antioxidants to control cell oxidation and promote a healthy immune system and skin barrier function

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 786-528-6088 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69806
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
Brand
  • Hill's Science Diet
  • Science Diet
Form
  • Dry Food
Country of Origin
  • United States
Breed Size
  • All Breeds
Lifestage
  • Adult

Starch, Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Soybean Oil, Hydrolyzed Chicken, Powdered Cellulose, Lactic Acid, Dicalcium Phosphate, Calcium Carbonate, Glyceryl Monostearate, Potassium Chloride, Iodized Salt, Choline Chloride, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin D3 Supplement , Folic Acid), DL-Methionine, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Canine Ultra Dry Dog Food Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 98 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent aid for allergies. Good product and great help with dog allergies. Wish it weren't so expensive. July 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Canine Ultra Dry Dog Food The Hills Prescription Z/d diet has been good for our dog who has a highly sensitive stomach/allergies to foods. She seems to enjoy the food! And she is reacting to it quite well to it. Hurray!! That works for me :-) May 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent dry food. This brand was recommended to my dog by the vet. My dog has a very sensitive stomach so he gets soft stool with any other food. With prescription diet z/d we are back on track. May 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by He loves it! Kodi loves the flavor and it's helping settle and heal his digestive track. Two weeks and he hadn't gained 1 pound so I give him more than the package says now so he can recoup and get back to his true weight. He's a busy dog and has regained his energy so I'm not surprised I have to give him more food. May 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great resource for dogs with advanceD IBD My oldest dog has had inflammatory bowel disease for the past 5 years. He has been eating a prescription diet that was working well for him until recently. Apparently his immune system had begun recognizing and attacking the proteins in that food. Rather than embarking on a process of experimenting with different foods, we opted to switch to Z/D Ultra, knowing that it avoids an immune response because of the hydrolyzed proteins. With the new food and medication to reduce the inflammation, my big boy is starting to feel better. April 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not for my Rottie I can't speak for the allergy benefits of this food as my girl had tummy troubles with it. I can say that she didn't care for it even when I first presented it to her while mixed with her previous food. I just kept offering it to her as the vet said to do and eventually she ate it. For the few days she was on it she had a bad gas problem and diarrhea. So we're still looking for a food that will help her with her allergy problems. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only Food My Dog Can Eat Every other food I have given my dog have resulted in her getting hives and intestinal problems. Our Vet put her on this food and for once she is a happy and healthy girl. April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only for medical purposes For the record. I hate science diet. I think it's overpriced icky food. Having said that, I think it's helping with my dog's food sensitivities. I don't know what causes my dog's problems, but they seem to be subsiding now that he has been on antibiotics, anti-histamine and z/d. So, there you go. April 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by z/d dry dog food my pet likes this dog food and it seems to help her with her food allergy along with the z/d can food.the only thing i dont like is it is kind of big chuncks for my small old dog and it is hard for her to chew.i wish it came in a smaller chunk for small breed dogs.i do break it up now with a hammer into smaller pieces so she can chew it better. and i wish i didnt need a prescription to buy it. March 30, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will not purchase again I have a small dog with allergies, she is also a picky eater. This did not work for her all. She didn't eat more than a bite or two at meals, yet she was very hungry. What little she got in her night 6, she threw up. Nuggets are much too large for small breeds, the canned, my 1 year old yellow lab would not even go near it. I would not recommend if you want your dog to be able to eat !! Quite disappointed in this product, I had high hopes. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food for sensitive stomachs Our dog used to be so sick all the time with all her old food. Since we started her on this, she is rarely sick. It is a little pricier, but worth every penny because she is healthy. March 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy ordering, quick delivery The weather this winter made it very difficult to get to the vet's office for prescription food for our dog . I called chewy.com to order the food for convenience. I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was. They aided in obtaining the prescription from my vet and within 1 day the food was delivered to my doorstep. So easy, it's the only way we will be purchasing Buddy's food! March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome! This product changed my dogs life! He is back to his old self again! Running and jumping just like when he was a puppy! I highly recommend it! February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like this product works fine for my dog. He suffer allergies this food does the job. No more irritation on his skin,and no more. Bacteria a very good product recommended. Finally found the right product.nu February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only food my dog can tolerate Hills Z/D has made a huge difference in my dog's life. We thought our 7-year old dog was just slowing with age, but he was actually suffering severe food intolerance. He has been on ZD for almost a month and his energy is back to puppy level! February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by For the severely allergic dog Our Vizsla was allergic to practically everything. She healed--improved doesn't begin to cover it--almost immediately on Z/D. Later we moved her to a less expensive high-quality non-prescription product made by Blue Buffalo that worked equally well for her, the oatmeal and fish that did NOT used to have chicken flavor in it. We are still using the Blue Buffalo Oatmeal & Fish, though it does have chicken product it seems to work. Z/D is EXCELLENT, but probably only necessary for dogs with severe and extensive allergic profiles. For moderate-allergy dogs, other high-quality limited-ingredient formulations may work just as well, so start reading ingredient labels! February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Doberman Loves the Taste! My doberman seems to be allergic to everything. She will break out in bumps and at times hives. Then she gets skin staph infections. This food has greatly reduced the bumps to just a few. I am also controlling staph with medicated chlorhexidine shampoos. I tried Royal Canins hydrolyzed formula and she refuses to eat it. Canins is soy based protein and Hills is Chicken. Glad to have a food she can eat. However is is very expensive. $100 a month for dog food! January 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Easy transaction & great customer service. Their products come right to your door. How much easier can it get! This product greatly helps if your pet has allergies. January 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth it! Sticker price for prescription food was a bit overwhelming but the overall effect has been better than we hoped. Our dog loves this food and is more eager than ever to eat now. He has had several symptoms going on and all of them are getting much better now! January 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good food, but does it work? The jury is still out as to whether or not this food is helping my dogs with their allergies. We are on day 5 of Hill's Prescription Diet and my dogs continue to scratch and chew themselves. They also receive allergy serum injections once-a-month and I'm overly cautious about whatever goes in their mouths or on their bodies. It's very frustrating. They love the food and gobble it right down. I also purchased the dog biscuits, which I cut into 4 pieces so they only get small bites for treats. Of course, those are a big hit as well. I'm unsure how long we need to wait to see if the food helps. I'll post an update later. January 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food recommended by my Vet. I am thrilled to hVe discovered Chewy.com. Extremely fast and courteous service, and discounted prices. I signed up for auto ship. No more trips to the vet and schlepping home 25 pind bags of food. Savings to boot! January 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happydogsx3 I have three dogs all with food allergies. We have tried every food there is with constant GI issues. The potato and venison Royal Canin was the only food they all tolerated with no problems. They have been on it for several years now. It is prescription and the price from the veterinarian was reaching over $100/bag for 25lbs. Tried another brands version but it resulted in more GI issues. Thought I was going to have to pay the high price until I discovered it thru Chewy.com. It is $25/bag less which makes it affordable and I have happy dogs! January 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is good for dogs with kidney or liver problems My dog likes this food. I do think that is it too expensive and should be at a more affordable price. January 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product is excellent. With free shipping, your price is competitive with what my veterinarian charges. And delivery was prompt. The product is excellent. Your price was competitive. And delivery was prompt. January 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by THE PRODUCT IS AWESOME FOR MY TOY YORKIE I LOVE THE FOOD FOR MY DOG. I HAVE A TOY YORKIE AND THE FOOD IS GREAT. SHE NEVER GETS AN UPSET STOMACHE WITH THIS FOOD. I AM VERY HAPPY AND PLEASED. NO COMPLAINS THIS WAY. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE. December 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really good option for dogs with allergies This is the third dog food we have tried with our dog. We have a three year old Labrador mix rescue who we adore. Roscoe has been such a joy however we have been challenged by his inability to keep his food down, itchy skin on his face and feet. He was on Science Diet when we first got him then we switched him to Call of the Wild which he has been on for 1 1/2 years. His symptoms are better but he still would throw up his food once a week and scratch his face periodically. We switched him to Hill's Prescriptions Diet and over the last month he has only thrown up one time. We are going to keep him on it for 12 weeks and beyond if he continues to do well. December 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for my dog who has allergies she loves it!! wish it came in smaller bites though as my dog is an elder chihuahua. I have to soak her food first. December 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great dog food My dog used this food 5 years ago for allergies. Everything about him improved. Decreased scratching, gorgeous hair and nails, happier. I wish I could have continued using this forever but the price increase of $30 inhibited this. Now we have to try it again as it will hopefully decreased his need for allergy meds and therefore balance out the cost. This was the best dog food ever and hopefully will work this way again. . December 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy to get Z/D Ultra at a good price First time I have used Chewy.com to order a product. They had the best price I could find and a fast delivery. Will buy again. December 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by mixed food with his previous food for about 1 week...minor stomach upset with the change of the food...but noticed my labs ears are better already! my labs ears are already improving...my dog loves the new food! December 17, 2014
  • 2015-05-24T18:50:27.486-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_98, tr_98
  • loc_en_US, sid_69629, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Questions? Call our friendly customer service team anytime. We're here 24 hours a day! 1-800-67-CHEWY (672-4399)