Free Shipping on orders $49+

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Canine Ultra Dry Dog Food

List Price: $107.89
Price: $84.99 + Free Shipping!
You Save: $22.90 (21%)
In Stock
25-lb bag
  • 8-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 25-lb bag

Product Description

Food sensitivites and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Dogs that have a food sensitivities or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your dog suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food.

Prescription Diet z/d Canine Ultra is formulated with the following benefits:

  • Hill's is going through a packaging change: Original was formerly Ultra; same great formula, just a new name!
  • Formulated with Hill's Hydrolyzed Protein System, highly digestible proteins that minimize the chances of adverse reactions to food
  • No intact animal protein to help avoid adverse reactions to food
  • Highly digestible carbohydrates and fats to help reduce gastrointestinal workload
  • Increased in omega 3 and 6 Fatty Acids to help nourish the skin
  • Added antioxidants to control cell oxidation and promote a healthy immune system and skin barrier function

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 786-528-6088 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69806
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
Brand
  • Hill's Science Diet
  • Science Diet
Food Form
  • Dry Food
Country of Origin
  • United States
Breed Size
  • All Breeds
Lifestage
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Important Information

Ingredients

Starch, Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Soybean Oil, Hydrolyzed Chicken, Powdered Cellulose, Lactic Acid, Dicalcium Phosphate, Calcium Carbonate, Glyceryl Monostearate, Potassium Chloride, Iodized Salt, Choline Chloride, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin D3 Supplement , Folic Acid), DL-Methionine, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 105 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Really upset Ella's bowels My doctor recommended this product for my pitbull Ella for her allergy condition. Since she's been on it, her stools have been erratic and one step away from being diarrheal. She seems to have lost weight and is hungry all the time. To be honest, she has also been on medication which might have something to do with it, but she's been on the same medication before without any problem. Will have to see what the doc says at her next appointment. December 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by So Far So Good Our dog has Inflammatory Bowel Disease and has become very sensitive to other dog foods. Its been about a week so far and all is looking good. He is eating and holding it down as well a having healthier 'movements'. He has his energy back and is gaining healthy weight as well. Might have to up my autoship ;) June 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr. Picky really likes it! We've had trouble finding a kibble that both meets our dog's allergy needs AND that he will eat. Z/D Ultra seems to be working great so far. We're very glad to have found it. June 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Same Great Food My dog has severe allergies and has been on this food for eight years. We couldn't live w/o these yummies in our house. Best price online, free and fastest shipping...Thanks chewy.com. June 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog loves it. Our cocker has allergies and this is the only food he has been able to eat and not have severe reactions. We love it and Chewey makes it easy to get. June 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hopeless to so happy!! I cannot say enough about this amazing food. I have two pugs that I have spent thousands of dollars on vet bills, ointments, shampoos,pills you name it. When the vet finally changed their diet I thought it was just to make or money, but it worked! My pugs are super happy and look great, no more bad odors or awful coat. The food cost are high but since I am no longer spending on the vet I have saved lots of money. BTW the dogs love the taste. Dry morsels are too big but I add some organic broth to moisten them a bit. June 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seems to have solved our dog's stomach problems. Our dog had bouts (twice a week or so) of upset stomach in the morning, diarrhea, and grass eating. We visited the vet and tried various diet changes, probiotics, and so forth. We had solid luck with Royal Canin hydrolyzed, but Hill's seems to be even more effective. Since we've switched to it I can only recall one morning (in ~3 months) that she had the above symptoms, and that was likely caused by some scraps she wasn't supposed to have. Bottom line: expensive (but not insane) but worth it for us to resolve our dog's issues. May 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solved the GI problems We switched to a combined diet of the wet food and dry kibble using the Hill's prescription Z/D after our Golden came down with pancreatitis and additional undiagnosed illness the vets believed was related to the pancreatitis. Our pet couldn't keep any food down and was rapidly losing weight, was lethargic and we were genuinely concerned that he wasn't going to make it to his 4th birthday. It's been over 2 weeks since we switched to the hydrolyzed food and he hasn't had a vomiting episode since. He's done a complete 180 degree turn and is slowly putting back the weight he's lost. He's energetic, his eyes are clear and he's just like his former self. We believe this dog food saved his life. We're slowly reducing the amount of the wet dog food and introducing more kibble to his diet. May 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Canine Ultra Dry Dog Food The Hills Prescription Z/d diet has been good for our dog who has a highly sensitive stomach/allergies to foods. She seems to enjoy the food! And she is reacting to it quite well to it. Hurray!! That works for me :-) May 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent dry food. This brand was recommended to my dog by the vet. My dog has a very sensitive stomach so he gets soft stool with any other food. With prescription diet z/d we are back on track. May 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by He loves it! Kodi loves the flavor and it's helping settle and heal his digestive track. Two weeks and he hadn't gained 1 pound so I give him more than the package says now so he can recoup and get back to his true weight. He's a busy dog and has regained his energy so I'm not surprised I have to give him more food. May 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great resource for dogs with advanceD IBD My oldest dog has had inflammatory bowel disease for the past 5 years. He has been eating a prescription diet that was working well for him until recently. Apparently his immune system had begun recognizing and attacking the proteins in that food. Rather than embarking on a process of experimenting with different foods, we opted to switch to Z/D Ultra, knowing that it avoids an immune response because of the hydrolyzed proteins. With the new food and medication to reduce the inflammation, my big boy is starting to feel better. April 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not for my Rottie I can't speak for the allergy benefits of this food as my girl had tummy troubles with it. I can say that she didn't care for it even when I first presented it to her while mixed with her previous food. I just kept offering it to her as the vet said to do and eventually she ate it. For the few days she was on it she had a bad gas problem and diarrhea. So we're still looking for a food that will help her with her allergy problems. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only Food My Dog Can Eat Every other food I have given my dog have resulted in her getting hives and intestinal problems. Our Vet put her on this food and for once she is a happy and healthy girl. April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only for medical purposes For the record. I hate science diet. I think it's overpriced icky food. Having said that, I think it's helping with my dog's food sensitivities. I don't know what causes my dog's problems, but they seem to be subsiding now that he has been on antibiotics, anti-histamine and z/d. So, there you go. April 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by z/d dry dog food my pet likes this dog food and it seems to help her with her food allergy along with the z/d can food.the only thing i dont like is it is kind of big chuncks for my small old dog and it is hard for her to chew.i wish it came in a smaller chunk for small breed dogs.i do break it up now with a hammer into smaller pieces so she can chew it better. and i wish i didnt need a prescription to buy it. March 30, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will not purchase again I have a small dog with allergies, she is also a picky eater. This did not work for her all. She didn't eat more than a bite or two at meals, yet she was very hungry. What little she got in her night 6, she threw up. Nuggets are much too large for small breeds, the canned, my 1 year old yellow lab would not even go near it. I would not recommend if you want your dog to be able to eat !! Quite disappointed in this product, I had high hopes. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food for sensitive stomachs Our dog used to be so sick all the time with all her old food. Since we started her on this, she is rarely sick. It is a little pricier, but worth every penny because she is healthy. March 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy ordering, quick delivery The weather this winter made it very difficult to get to the vet's office for prescription food for our dog . I called chewy.com to order the food for convenience. I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was. They aided in obtaining the prescription from my vet and within 1 day the food was delivered to my doorstep. So easy, it's the only way we will be purchasing Buddy's food! March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome! This product changed my dogs life! He is back to his old self again! Running and jumping just like when he was a puppy! I highly recommend it! February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like this product works fine for my dog. He suffer allergies this food does the job. No more irritation on his skin,and no more. Bacteria a very good product recommended. Finally found the right product.nu February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only food my dog can tolerate Hills Z/D has made a huge difference in my dog's life. We thought our 7-year old dog was just slowing with age, but he was actually suffering severe food intolerance. He has been on ZD for almost a month and his energy is back to puppy level! February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by For the severely allergic dog Our Vizsla was allergic to practically everything. She healed--improved doesn't begin to cover it--almost immediately on Z/D. Later we moved her to a less expensive high-quality non-prescription product made by Blue Buffalo that worked equally well for her, the oatmeal and fish that did NOT used to have chicken flavor in it. We are still using the Blue Buffalo Oatmeal & Fish, though it does have chicken product it seems to work. Z/D is EXCELLENT, but probably only necessary for dogs with severe and extensive allergic profiles. For moderate-allergy dogs, other high-quality limited-ingredient formulations may work just as well, so start reading ingredient labels! February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Doberman Loves the Taste! My doberman seems to be allergic to everything. She will break out in bumps and at times hives. Then she gets skin staph infections. This food has greatly reduced the bumps to just a few. I am also controlling staph with medicated chlorhexidine shampoos. I tried Royal Canins hydrolyzed formula and she refuses to eat it. Canins is soy based protein and Hills is Chicken. Glad to have a food she can eat. However is is very expensive. $100 a month for dog food! January 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Easy transaction & great customer service. Their products come right to your door. How much easier can it get! This product greatly helps if your pet has allergies. January 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth it! Sticker price for prescription food was a bit overwhelming but the overall effect has been better than we hoped. Our dog loves this food and is more eager than ever to eat now. He has had several symptoms going on and all of them are getting much better now! January 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good food, but does it work? The jury is still out as to whether or not this food is helping my dogs with their allergies. We are on day 5 of Hill's Prescription Diet and my dogs continue to scratch and chew themselves. They also receive allergy serum injections once-a-month and I'm overly cautious about whatever goes in their mouths or on their bodies. It's very frustrating. They love the food and gobble it right down. I also purchased the dog biscuits, which I cut into 4 pieces so they only get small bites for treats. Of course, those are a big hit as well. I'm unsure how long we need to wait to see if the food helps. I'll post an update later. January 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food recommended by my Vet. I am thrilled to hVe discovered Chewy.com. Extremely fast and courteous service, and discounted prices. I signed up for auto ship. No more trips to the vet and schlepping home 25 pind bags of food. Savings to boot! January 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happydogsx3 I have three dogs all with food allergies. We have tried every food there is with constant GI issues. The potato and venison Royal Canin was the only food they all tolerated with no problems. They have been on it for several years now. It is prescription and the price from the veterinarian was reaching over $100/bag for 25lbs. Tried another brands version but it resulted in more GI issues. Thought I was going to have to pay the high price until I discovered it thru Chewy.com. It is $25/bag less which makes it affordable and I have happy dogs! January 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is good for dogs with kidney or liver problems My dog likes this food. I do think that is it too expensive and should be at a more affordable price. January 5, 2015
  • 2015-07-01T12:50:25.903-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_105, tr_105
  • loc_en_US, sid_69629, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Questions? Call our friendly customer service team anytime. We're here 24 hours a day! 1-800-67-CHEWY (672-4399)