Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food

List Price: $107.89
Price: $89.23 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping
You Save: $18.66 (17%)
In Stock
25-lb bag
  • 8-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 25-lb bag

Product Description

Food sensitivities and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Dogs that have a food sensitivities or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your dog suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet z/d clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your dog's skin and food sensitivities. In fact, z/d is clinically proven nutrition to help avoid adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Helps improve digestion & stool quality
  • Helps eliminate food related causes of skin irritation
  • Visible improvement in skin & coat
  • Helps maintain a healthy skin barrier
  • Highly hydrolyzed protein
  • Single carbohydrate source: Corn Starch
  • Essential fatty acid enriched
  • Clinically proven antioxidants

Note: Hill's is going through a packaging change: Original was formerly Ultra; same great formula, just a new name!

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69806
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
Brand
  • Hill's Science Diet
  • Science Diet
Food Form
  • Dry Food
Country of Origin
  • United States
Breed Size
  • All Breeds
Lifestage
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Ingredients

Starch, hydrolyzed chicken liver, soybean oil, hydrolyzed chicken, powdered cellulose, lactic acid, dicalcium phosphate, calcium carbonate, glyceryl monostearate, potassium chloride, iodized salt, choline chloride, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid), dl-methionine, minerals (ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), taurine, mixed tocopherols for freshness, natural flavors, beta-carotene

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 187 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Got my 105lb Shepard regular. Very happy with this product. The only downfall is the prescription can hold up delivery. Ma March 7, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good for dogs with food sensitivities My dog seems to be doing well on this but she acts like she doesn't like the taste and has some flatulence on it. May switch back to the Hills Prescription Duck formula (but she gained a lot weight on it). I will say a positive in that this formula will help her lose some weight (she doesn't need as much to keep her from acting hungry and begging for more compared to the duck formula-which she loved and begged constantly for more). February 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Diet Z/D skin/ food sensitivities If your dog has food allergies this is a great. It really has helped my dog. He likes the taste had no problem switching he to it . March 3, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Maggie Loves It We have used this for a week and a half, Maggie loves the taste. We are waiting to see results. I was told it could take several months. February 24, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dog loves the flavor My Pekingese loves the flavor but I have to make small chunks for him. It would be nice if they made this in small chunks for smaller animals. February 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by the product really works worked great on our golden AFTER THE FIRST BAG OF Z/D A 100 % INPROVEMENT after the first bag of z/d a 100 % improvement a February 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Allery food for dogs. Would always buy, this brand the best. And my dog loves it. February 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hills Z/D Recommended by the vet since our lab has skin and food allergies. Tried many many other foods out there. So far so good. Food honestly doesn't smell the best but the dog doesn't seem to Mind so I guess that isn't an issue. He isn't scratching at his skin and he isn't digging at his paws nearly as much so that's an improvement from before. February 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Diet Food Never Tasted So Good What a Surprise: This food is Flavorful, has a Great Scent and is easy on the tummy and allergy free. WOW!!! We Love It! (check out the soft food and treats too) February 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Noticed a difference in coat in 3 days My dog started reacting to her old food bad, loss of fur... at first we thought she had lupus, but tests came back negative. Dr switched her to this and with in 3 days I noticed a shine back to her coat and her energy and attitude is back to being amazing. I thought she was "just getting old and crabby" but she really felt aweful for a while, I can tell that now. Poor dog. Thank god for this food. It gave me my old dog back January 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs My dog developed a stomach problem and the vet recommended this product after 8 years he didn't want the old food . So we switched the other 2 boys also so now we have three Bernese mountain dogs on this product ! January 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has helped prevent ear infections for my dog with food allergies My 3 year old lab, who is an outside dog, was getting ear infections every 6-8 weeks before we started using Hill's Prescription DietZ/D. Our doctor put her own this diet because he thinks that she has food allergies causing her to get these frequent ear infections. Once we completely switched to the Z/D diet she has not had a single ear infection. She was also in the obese category per her doctor, but she has lost 14 pounds since starting this diet, and she is now in the healthy range for her age and type. I would highly recommend this dog food and using Chewy.com to order your food because it's cheaper then at the vet or any other store and it is shipped right to your home. I have set up a bag of food to be delivered every 6 weeks, and I am looking forward to not having to worry about remembering to go to the vet to pick the food up. This is a great place to order your pets food from! January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy switch We had to switch from a kangaroo based food due to a new CA law and boy am I happy. My dog loves this food and is doing great on it. His itching has lessened. He's happy, I'm happy. January 27, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by good feed for dogs with health issues Have fed this food for 2 years but just ordered it from Chewy. The price was good, service was good and it arrived right on time. We will use chewy again January 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recommended by my vet This is a great product! Pricey; but good for my dogs! January 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is amazing for my pups This product is amazing for my pups, especially because they have allergies. January 21, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by this product has worked wonders on my dog My dog has had allergies that have not quit. We have tried many other foods and this one immediately has worked. His fur is growing back and he is looking much better. January 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best The only food that worked for my dachshund's sensitive stomach & digestive system-everything is normal & I am soooo grateful! January 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for our french bulldog Easy to order, they contact my vet, great discount, arrived fast January 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recommended by Veterinary Dog loves the taste and no problems switching from present dog food. Doesn't quite satisfy her hunger as much but of course doesn't have all the fillers. We will reorder. January 1, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by good and hard I have a Bichon that has allergies with everything he eats. This prescription z/d diet food is showing promise when he eats it .The kibbles are way too big and hard for our small dog. There should be different sizes for all dogs. I am disappointed in the food because he can't eat this food unless I break it down for him. This gets old when you have to grind 25 lbs. of dog food. December 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has REALLY helped my dog!! For many months, my dog, Darla, had been vomiting regularly (sometimes every day) and no one could figure out why. They just assumed she kept getting in to something in the yard. I knew that was NOT the case. Turns out after a lot of testing, the ultrasound showed a thickening of the bowel wall. The vet believed it to be inflammatory bowel disease and wanted her to try Hill's Prescription Z/D. I bought it and started her on it right away. The change was immediate!! She has been on this food for almost 2 years and has not gotten sick once. She has also put some weight on now that she is able to digest her food properly. I highly recommend this product!!! October 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs like the taste I haven't been using this for a long time but I've had no difficulty switching over to it with both my dogs. They both have skin issues so it's really too early to tell. Their skin starts to give them trouble in summer so that will be the true test. Love the free shipping and delivery to my door with a 25 lb. bag! Chewy.com is great! December 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great My 2 shih tzu's are very picky eaters but they love this. December 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far so good ) I was really happy at the ease of shopping on this site! I was bummed I was going to receive the food after my girl ran out, but the food was delivered before the expected date. I will definitely be ordering again! December 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog has food allergies. Not only does my dog like this food, it helps reduce his itching and scratching due to food allergies. It is the best food I have found for him. December 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product really helps with weight control. My dog needed to lose about 8 lbs and he has very sensitive skin. He was given a prescription for the ZD formula. The first week I mixed it half and half with his old food. He did have some loose stool; however, he is now very tolerant of the dry food and loves it. He lost 10 lbs in one month. Will continue to order. I also really liked the service with chewy.com. Very friendly staff and fast delivery. November 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Price and Convenience! We need the prescription food due to allergies and having found Chewy.com makes it so much easier. We text them the prescription and they keep track of how many refills we have. The convenience of having it come to the door on auto delivery is wonderful. We get the dry 25lb bag and the wet cans for our dogs. The prices of dog toys is so much better than any pet store also. Love Chewy.com! November 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by No hassle So glad my friend recommended Chewy! My dog has food allergies and requires hills prescription diet and my vet doesn't keep it in stock, it cost a fortune to ship to the house. Since I've used Chewy they confirmed the prescription with my vet and had it shipped free to my house within 3 days! December 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solved the GI problems We switched to a combined diet of the wet food and dry kibble using the Hill's prescription Z/D after our Golden came down with pancreatitis and additional undiagnosed illness the vets believed was related to the pancreatitis. Our pet couldn't keep any food down and was rapidly losing weight, was lethargic and we were genuinely concerned that he wasn't going to make it to his 4th birthday. It's been over 2 weeks since we switched to the hydrolyzed food and he hasn't had a vomiting episode since. He's done a complete 180 degree turn and is slowly putting back the weight he's lost. He's energetic, his eyes are clear and he's just like his former self. We believe this dog food saved his life. We're slowly reducing the amount of the wet dog food and introducing more kibble to his diet. May 27, 2015
  • 2016-05-23 T05:35:39.627-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_187, tr_187
  • loc_en_US, sid_69629, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>