Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Canned Dog Food

List Price: $52.49
Price: $42.67 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping at $49
You Save: $9.82 (19%)
In Stock
13-oz, case of 12
  • 5.5-oz, case of 24
  • 13-oz, case of 12

Product Description

Food sensitivities and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Dogs that have a food sensitivity or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your dog suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet z/d clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your dog's skin and food sensitivities. In fact, z/d is clinically proven nutrition to help avoid adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Helps improve digestion & stool quality
  • Helps eliminate food related causes of skin irritation
  • Visible improvement in skin & coat
  • Helps maintain a healthy skin barrier
  • Highly hydrolyzed protein
  • Single carbohydrate source: Corn Starch
  • Essential fatty acid enriched
  • Clinically proven antioxidants

Note: Hill's is going through a packaging change: Original was formerly Ultra; same great formula, just a new name!

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69803
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
Brand
  • Hill's Science Diet
  • Science Diet
Food Form
  • Wet Food
Country of Origin
  • United States
Breed Size
  • All Breeds
Lifestage
  • All Stages

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Ingredients

Water, hydrolyzed chicken liver, corn starch, powdered cellulose, soybean oil, dicalcium phosphate, potassium citrate, calcium carbonate, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, ascorbic acid (source of vitamin C) , niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement, menadoine sodium bisulfite complex (source of vitamin K)), dl-methionine, choline chloride, iodized salt, minerals (zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), taurine, magnesium oxide, l-threonine, l-tryptophan, beta-carotene

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 91 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prices keep climbing! Food is fantastic for my dog's health but over the past six months the price on here keeps climbing. It's almost no savings compared to my vet anymore. April 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is great This is not what I was picturing a canned food to be but it works great- and it is a nice treat for our dog since she has terrible allergies and can't have special treats. April 4, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by The food is to mashed/patued Wish it had chunks. My dog doesn't really like it. March 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is an excellent food source for dogs with environmental and skin allergies. It is also a great product for dogs with digestion problems. I have tried at least 20 different dog foods for my dog. Each one came with side effects. Countless dollars had been spent on various expensive dog foods over the years that claimed to prevent digestion issues, skin issues, etc. My veterinarian gave me samples of the Hill's Prescription Diet zd dog food to try. I was amazed! Prior to trying this brand, my dog was constantly at the vets for skin irritations and staph infections on his skin. Before, he constantly was chewing his paws and anywhere else he could reach to obtain relief from constant itching. He also suffered from digestion issues. He would get hiccups, bloated belly and bowel problems. With in a week of using this product, the rashes went away and the paw chewing had subsided. He has had no more hiccups, bloating and has regular, normal bowel movements. Also, he likes the flavor. One can is enough for three meals, for he is a small breed. So, it is actually cheaper than all the other foods we have tried. He has even lost weight and is more energetic. I only wish that Hill's would manufacture the dry dog food in the zd in tiny bites for small breed dogs as mine. They do have it in a small size however, I purchased it for my dog and he would not eat it because the morsels were still to large for his tiny mouth. January 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by She says it's good! My Peanut was prescribed this food as she had not been doing well. I highly doubted that she would eat it, as I had tried numerous different things to no avail. Well, getting it home and giving it to her...SUCCESS! she absolutely loves it. Had never been around pate, it had a weird consistency. But hey, if she eats it I don't care how it looks! February 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our dog's life has changed Our poodle now eats prescribed Hill's z/d, and she now eats twice-a-day. In the past she might have eatten twice but usually once. Buying the canned dog food from Chewy has made it so easy. The two cases arrive as part of a standard order and the cost is a bit less than most other suppliers, including the vet's office. Good food and a good price delivered on a regular schedule, it's a dog's life. February 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smells like Human Grade - Rocky Says YUM! What a Surprise: This food is Flavorful, has a Great Scent and is easy on the tummy and allergy free. WOW!!! We Love It! (check out thedry food and treats too) February 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Game changer for my hound My sweet hound mix has always struggled with awful digestive issues. Not to be too graphic, but before switching to his food, she'd never once had a totally firm stool and often had chronic diarrhea. After 2 years of trying meds and all kinds of diets, I got a referral for her to see specialists at the Univ of GA vet school. It turns out she has protein allergies. This food has been the miracle cure. She loves it - eats it right up. So thankful to have found this via the awesome doctors at the UGA vet school. January 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm buying more. Our dog "Fred" loves the food and his skin has cleared up. He is a little 8 lb. rescue dog who is now feeling much better. February 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chewy ROCKS! Love the price & delivery time This was our first time trying Chewy.com and it won't be our last. Our toy poodle is on Hills z/d and we needed to buy a large supply of the canned. Chewy had the best prices and FREE delivery over $49. The food arrived in a reasonable amount of time and we saved $$$. Z/d is awesome in helping our furry kids with their tummy and skin problems. We only wish we had started our Raven (poodle) on it years ago. z/d and Chewy.com ROCKS! December 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by just what my dog needs It is unfortunate to have a pet with gastric issues but when my girl got to where she could not eat anything without upsetting her system the vets recommendation to the z/d has allowed her to return to a normal, healthy life. As a specialty food it is not cheap but to see my girl feeling good it is worth the money. January 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best can food I've found My shih tzu's are very picky eaters. I have thrown away, given away and returned so much can food. This may be a little expensive but it is well worth it for me. My dogs love it. It has a kinda peanut butter consistancy but thicker. I scoop it out of the can and cut into pieces for my pups. And no grains or any of that other yucky stuff. December 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Use as an extra treat!! Besides my pet's hypoallergenic dry dog food, I use the canned food to stuff the Kong balls. Thoroughly enjoys this treat!! January 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by strange consistancy but it works for our dog! The food has really helped, but more than the food the way chewy helped us to get to that point was amazing! Thank you Chewy, you really are THE BEST! December 30, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by still scratching I got this recommended food from our vet to help stop the scratching on our Bichon and so far has not worked. December 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great to add to dry product I purchased this in conjunction with the same dry food. I add just a little to their daily feedings and they feel like it's a great treat! Found that I had to decrease the amount of dry for my smaller dog because he couldn't eat it all. Working great for me! December 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solved the GI problems We switched to a combined diet of the wet food and dry kibble using the Hill's prescription Z/D after our Golden came down with pancreatitis and additional undiagnosed illness the vets believed was related to the pancreatitis. Our pet couldn't keep any food down and was rapidly losing weight, was lethargic and we were genuinely concerned that he wasn't going to make it to his 4th birthday. It's been over 2 weeks since we switched to the hydrolyzed food and he hasn't had a vomiting episode since. He's done a complete 180 degree turn and is slowly putting back the weight he's lost. He's energetic, his eyes are clear and he's just like his former self. We believe this dog food saved his life. We're slowly reducing the amount of the wet dog food and introducing more kibble to his diet. May 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is great. We have two Shih Tzu's and they both have allergies. Our male has food allergies, our vet had him tested and the results showed he's allergic to beef, and the ingredients in a lot of dog foods. It's so hard to fine hypoallergenic dog food at the pet stores. We recently moved from the East coast to the West coast and the Veternarian here doesn't have Hills, they carry a different brand but we rather keep him on Hills and it's cheaper to buy it online. Thank you Hills for your product it works great. November 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our dog loves this food... Because of some allergies and other food sensitivities our vet prescribed Z/D. We had really resisted moving to "wet" food because of the inconvenience and mess compared to dry however the dog absolutely loves it, so we just couldn't bring ourselves to move back to dry. The only two issues I know of with this dog food are that (1) it doesn't smell great and (2) it is expensive as compared to other dog food no matter where you buy it. One thing to think about when setting up auto delivery is the number of cans you need vs. the default ship schedule. After I setup auto delivery, I contacted customer service and they were good enough to modify the auto ship schedule so that I won't run "over" building up a surplus of cans over time, and also wont run short so that we run out of cans before the next shipment arrives. Thanks Chewy! January 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mimi the Yorkie/Pom loves it! My mom's little dog has had food allergies for years & we've been buying z/d from the vet at a significant cost each month. Mimi LOVES the food & has no problem eating it but it is rather expensive. Alas, I have just found chewy.com & am SO GRATEFUL that they offer the food at a substantial savings. THANK YOU CHEWY! Side note: another reviewer made a comment about the food consistency in the smaller cans, and I have noticed the SAME thing; a runny, disgusting consistency & Mimi didn't like it either. So I've always stuck w/the larger cans after that experience. October 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by "Very Pleased" I am very pleased and I can tell my dogs are very happy with the taste. I received the shipment the second day after I placed the order, and it was delivered right to my front door. This was very helpful. I plan to order again. Thank you, Jo Tudor December 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product agrees with my dogs digestive system My Boxer was having digestive issues. My local vet put my Boxer on this product and it worked. Plus my dog loves it! I saw that Chewy.com sold this product at a reseaonable price and It saved me from having to drive into town every so many days to purchase the cans from my local vet, which is not easy due to living in the country. Chew.com delivered right to my door. November 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product has returned our pet's digestive system to normal. Our pet was having terrible diarrhea. Our vet performed a number of tests hoping to find the cause of the problem. We tried a variety of diets, but nothing changed the problem. The final attempt was Hill's prescription diet z/d, and over night the problem was corrected. Our pet receives a can for breakfast and dinner, and we could not be more pleased. She LOVES the food and her digestive tract is functioning normally. November 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solved the digestive track problems Quincy is a rescue that has demonstrated bowl problems since we found her. We tried several grain free diets but problems persisted until our vet prescribed Z/D. We haven't had an incident since and Quincy remains healthy, happy, and full of pep. November 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by z/d food I'm very pleased with this product I fed this to both of my dogs. I'm so glad I don't have to keep carrying them to the vet for skin irritation. I've spent a lot of money before they started eating this food. November 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worked! Since being on Hills Prescription z/d diet, my Maltese has had no obvious stomach ailments. A bonus is that he really loves the food! What better review than that? November 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chewy.com is Amazing My 13 year old black lab was diagnosed with IBS in February and was prescribed the dry Z/D. We found Chewy.com to have the best prices, free shipping, and very fast delivery. She immediately gained back 8 of the 10 lbs she'd lost. However, last week she completely stopped eating the dry Z/D. The vet gave her a few bites of the canned Z/D and she ate it up. But when we got her home, she refused to eat it. Now she'll only eat a few bites before declining more. Still trying to decide what to do, seeing a specialist tomorrow. Meanwhile, it's a few bites of the canned Z/D, scrambled eggs, and lean chicken for now. The dry Z/D is still sitting in her bowl, waiting for her to love it again. June 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paws adapted quickly to food and treats. Service on line and delivery perfect and as advertised. Thank You. November 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A positive note from Daisy Daisy (9 yr. old Jack Russell) has severe skin allergies. Having to put her on a special diet is a real problem because she refuses to eat the food the vet put her on which is a moist special diet formula. I couldn't believe it when she gobbled up a half a can and wanted more....and more... October 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has worked wonders for my dog. My dog was diagnosed with Inflammatory Bowel Disease. A change in diet was required as part of his recovery and he LOVES the food! It has made the biggest difference in the quality of his stools ... something that we had struggled with for years. From my experience, the food has done exactly what it states it should do and I couldn't be more thankful! September 2, 2015
  • 2016-05-26 T05:39:33.109-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_91, tr_91
  • loc_en_US, sid_69628, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 next>>