Free Shipping on orders $49+

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Canned Dog Food

List Price: $52.49
Price: $39.99 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping at $49
You Save: $12.50 (24%)
In Stock
13-oz, case of 12
  • 5.5-oz, case of 24
  • 13-oz, case of 12

Product Description

Food sensitivities and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Dogs that have a food sensitivity or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your dog suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet z/d clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your dog's skin and food sensitivities. In fact, z/d is clinically proven nutrition to help avoid adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Helps improve digestion & stool quality
  • Helps eliminate food related causes of skin irritation
  • Visible improvement in skin & coat
  • Helps maintain a healthy skin barrier
  • Highly hydrolyzed protein
  • Single carbohydrate source: Corn Starch
  • Essential fatty acid enriched
  • Clinically proven antioxidants

Note: Hill's is going through a packaging change: Original was formerly Ultra; same great formula, just a new name!

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69803
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
Brand
  • Hill's Science Diet
  • Science Diet
Food Form
  • Wet Food
Country of Origin
  • United States
Breed Size
  • All Breeds
Lifestage
  • All Stages

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Important Information

Ingredients

Water, hydrolyzed chicken liver, corn starch, powdered cellulose, soybean oil, dicalcium phosphate, potassium citrate, calcium carbonate, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, ascorbic acid (source of vitamin C) , niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement, menadoine sodium bisulfite complex (source of vitamin K)), dl-methionine, choline chloride, iodized salt, minerals (zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), taurine, magnesium oxide, l-threonine, l-tryptophan, beta-carotene

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 77 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by this product has changed My Bischone has been eating Z/D hard and soft food for several years that we get from our vet. We were told the product can has changed however, the texture of the meat has become looking like a soupy mix. Sku 052742701806 What's the alternative to this product. It is more difficult to give her meds with this soupy food. August 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A big hit with our shih tzu! My incredibly picky shih tzu love this food. It's been a struggle to get her to eat, but Z/D has changed her tune. She'll eat the kibble but prefers the wet food. I mix the kibble and wet food and freeze it in an ice cube tray. I refer to it as a "pupcicle." She thinks it's an amazing treat! July 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great customer service! I can count on quick delivery and fresh food with Chewy. This company backs their products and always looking for ways to help the customer. Mike G. September 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The dogs loved this product You usually think that when the vet puts your dog on special food...they are going to hate it. Well both my dogs love it and now we take some of the wet food and bake it for treats. This allergy issue is for the birds...but it nice that they enjoy eating this product! November 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by My dog loves the ZD, working with Hills Purchased the smaller cans instead of the larger 15 oz. that we normally do. Received very quick. But, for some reason the smaller cans are a different consistency. Very wet and "gooey", and my dog doesn't like it. I called Hill's and sent pictures of the difference. They confirmed there is no nutritional difference, but she refuses to eat it. May 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product has returned our pet's digestive system to normal. Our pet was having terrible diarrhea. Our vet performed a number of tests hoping to find the cause of the problem. We tried a variety of diets, but nothing changed the problem. The final attempt was Hill's prescription diet z/d, and over night the problem was corrected. Our pet receives a can for breakfast and dinner, and we could not be more pleased. She LOVES the food and her digestive tract is functioning normally. November 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A positive note from Daisy Daisy (9 yr. old Jack Russell) has severe skin allergies. Having to put her on a special diet is a real problem because she refuses to eat the food the vet put her on which is a moist special diet formula. I couldn't believe it when she gobbled up a half a can and wanted more....and more... October 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has worked wonders for my dog. My dog was diagnosed with Inflammatory Bowel Disease. A change in diet was required as part of his recovery and he LOVES the food! It has made the biggest difference in the quality of his stools ... something that we had struggled with for years. From my experience, the food has done exactly what it states it should do and I couldn't be more thankful! September 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chewy.com is Amazing My 13 year old black lab was diagnosed with IBS in February and was prescribed the dry Z/D. We found Chewy.com to have the best prices, free shipping, and very fast delivery. She immediately gained back 8 of the 10 lbs she'd lost. However, last week she completely stopped eating the dry Z/D. The vet gave her a few bites of the canned Z/D and she ate it up. But when we got her home, she refused to eat it. Now she'll only eat a few bites before declining more. Still trying to decide what to do, seeing a specialist tomorrow. Meanwhile, it's a few bites of the canned Z/D, scrambled eggs, and lean chicken for now. The dry Z/D is still sitting in her bowl, waiting for her to love it again. June 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by z/d food has saved my pug's way of life! No more skin issues since he has been on z/d! So grateful that you carry this RX brand of food! My pug Lucky, suffered with skin irritations, infections and skin lesions for too long, until our Vet prescribed Z/D! Now, he is all about drama as evidence of how great he feels! Thank You! D d June 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Grizza loves her z/d! Grizza, my 8-year-old Bouvier, has an autoimmune issue; she is not retaining protein. Our vet prescribed the z/d formula of Hill’s Prescription Diet along with a low dose of prednisone, probiotics, and an anti acid. Grizza is much improved although her stools are still occasionally soft. Grizza gets a big can of z/d (with a 1/2 cup of z/d dry mixed in) three times a day. She loves it! Licks the bowl cleaner than clean. Thanks to chewy.com for more making her treatment a bit more affordable and a lot more convenient. June 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My pugs love the taste When the vet put my pugs on a strict diet and only ZD I was worried about how they would react to such a strict diet. The minute I gave them the dry food and some of the wet food they ate it up like candy. Eight months later they still love it! I no longer give them any kind of human food or any thing else but ZD products. The treats are also great. My pugs are happy and healthy. June 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loves this! Considering we have been feeding my dog the same high quality food as long as we have him, 10 years, he switched over to this brand happily. He cannot wait to eat. He wakes us at 6:30 in the morning for his breakfast! He loves the taste, and his breath is fresher. June 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solved the GI problems We switched to a combined diet of the wet food and dry kibble using the Hill's prescription Z/D after our Golden came down with pancreatitis and additional undiagnosed illness the vets believed was related to the pancreatitis. Our pet couldn't keep any food down and was rapidly losing weight, was lethargic and we were genuinely concerned that he wasn't going to make it to his 4th birthday. It's been over 2 weeks since we switched to the hydrolyzed food and he hasn't had a vomiting episode since. He's done a complete 180 degree turn and is slowly putting back the weight he's lost. He's energetic, his eyes are clear and he's just like his former self. We believe this dog food saved his life. We're slowly reducing the amount of the wet dog food and introducing more kibble to his diet. May 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog loves it! Only food product 12 yr. old Pomeranian can eat and digest properly. He loves the taste of the food! It solved his digestive issues. May 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hills prescription food My dog loves the hills prescription z/d food and is not having any digestion problems. She looks and feels good and has a lot of energy. December 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Doctor ordered It maybe a little bit early to write a complete review- Just 2 weeks in on the Z/D dog food. My dog was having very loose bowel movements. Doctor recommended we switch to Z/D only. No treats, human food or anything else. I use a combo of the dry and the wet and it seems to be holding. December 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome product. Once our veterinarian recommended this product our dog has never ate or looked better. August 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs really like the canned version. My 15 yo Boston Terrier has lost several of his teeth. I mix this with his softened dry food and he usually eats it all. April 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog loves it Quality food and Chewy made it easy and got the script from my dog's vet-I didn't need to do a thing! August 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Food I bought this food for my rough Collie as per my vet's instructions. He was having issues with his skin. He can sometimes be picky, but he loves this food. I give it to him with the dry Hills Z/D as well as the biscuits. The thing I like about the food is it doesn't give him diarrhea. Some times that can be a problem for him with canned food. It's too soon to tell if it will help with his skin issues, but I am hopeful. March 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is great. We have two Shih Tzu's and they both have allergies. Our male has food allergies, our vet had him tested and the results showed he's allergic to beef, and the ingredients in a lot of dog foods. It's so hard to fine hypoallergenic dog food at the pet stores. We recently moved from the East coast to the West coast and the Veternarian here doesn't have Hills, they carry a different brand but we rather keep him on Hills and it's cheaper to buy it online. Thank you Hills for your product it works great. November 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by z/d food I'm very pleased with this product I fed this to both of my dogs. I'm so glad I don't have to keep carrying them to the vet for skin irritation. I've spent a lot of money before they started eating this food. November 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paws adapted quickly to food and treats. Service on line and delivery perfect and as advertised. Thank You. November 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product agrees with my dogs digestive system My Boxer was having digestive issues. My local vet put my Boxer on this product and it worked. Plus my dog loves it! I saw that Chewy.com sold this product at a reseaonable price and It saved me from having to drive into town every so many days to purchase the cans from my local vet, which is not easy due to living in the country. Chew.com delivered right to my door. November 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mimi the Yorkie/Pom loves it! My mom's little dog has had food allergies for years & we've been buying z/d from the vet at a significant cost each month. Mimi LOVES the food & has no problem eating it but it is rather expensive. Alas, I have just found chewy.com & am SO GRATEFUL that they offer the food at a substantial savings. THANK YOU CHEWY! Side note: another reviewer made a comment about the food consistency in the smaller cans, and I have noticed the SAME thing; a runny, disgusting consistency & Mimi didn't like it either. So I've always stuck w/the larger cans after that experience. October 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Your full line of products are great. You are by far the best pet establishment I have ever seen product,price,and delivery,all A+ September 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product My dog loves this food and the company has been a pleasure to do business with. I will only order my dog food from them going forward. May 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service We always get this product for our pup, but found it constantly out of stock at our usual place of purchase - so turned to Chewy. Having the product ready at hand and the excellent customer service won us over. May 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for my IBD boy We had to switch to Z/D Ultra recently for my boy with IBD. Thank goodness it comes in canned form too. My boy doesn't have to sacrifice to get the benefit of his restricted diet. April 29, 2015
  • 2016-02-08 T16:33:45.648-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_77, tr_77
  • loc_en_US, sid_69628, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Questions? Call our friendly customer service team anytime. We're here 24 hours a day! 1-800-67-CHEWY (672-4399)