Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food

List Price: $107.89
Price: $89.23 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping
You Save: $18.66 (17%)
In Stock
25-lb bag
  • 8-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 25-lb bag

Product Description

Food sensitivities and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Dogs that have a food sensitivities or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your dog suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet z/d clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your dog's skin and food sensitivities. In fact, z/d is clinically proven nutrition to help avoid adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Helps improve digestion & stool quality
  • Helps eliminate food related causes of skin irritation
  • Visible improvement in skin & coat
  • Helps maintain a healthy skin barrier
  • Highly hydrolyzed protein
  • Single carbohydrate source: Corn Starch
  • Essential fatty acid enriched
  • Clinically proven antioxidants

Note: Hill's is going through a packaging change: Original was formerly Ultra; same great formula, just a new name!

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69806
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
Brand
  • Hill's Science Diet
  • Science Diet
Food Form
  • Dry Food
Made in
  • United States
Breed Size
  • All Breeds
Lifestage
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Ingredients

Starch, hydrolyzed chicken liver, soybean oil, hydrolyzed chicken, powdered cellulose, lactic acid, dicalcium phosphate, calcium carbonate, glyceryl monostearate, potassium chloride, iodized salt, choline chloride, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid), dl-methionine, minerals (ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), taurine, mixed tocopherols for freshness, natural flavors, beta-carotene

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 188 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by RX dog food - no choice I have no choice but to buy this food due to my dog's food sensitivities. I must say, he does enjoy it though. My review is more about the convenience of auto ship. I should have done this years ago! April 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such a great product! My 8-year-old golden retriever has had allergy problems and constantly had ear infections. One vet was content to just keep giving her steroid shots; I never liked that, and they were not only not helping much anymore, but they were hurting her hips. The new vet said he's had about a 90-95% success rate with dogs that have used this food, so we gave it a try. I had tried so many different foods, including limited ingredient ones that got great reviews, so one more couldn't hurt. She's been on the z/d food for more than 2 mos. now, and it's made such a big difference. There was a time or two I was tempted to stop it because it didn't seem to be helping, but the vet said it can take 6-8 wks. or more to really see a difference, so we hung in there, and I'm so glad we did. It has totally cleared up her ears, and they were always so bad before. If your dog has allergies, I recommend giving this food a try. It's pricey, but its formula works, and it's worth the cost. The Chewy price and service are awesome. January 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not the same :( Our Doxie has been on this for years for acute ear infections. It's not only the package that has changed. He has been to Vet 3 times for ear infections and tearing at his skin. Have 2 Rescued Doxies that were switched to this for their meat/protein allergies...they got worse :( Next is to try Royal Canine :( April 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast shipping and packaged well. Arrived quickly and was packaged well, so not to be punctured or split during shipping. April 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Z/D Dog Food For the last year, my 2 year old German Shepherd's skin allergies has done a number on his coat and his skin, especially around his ears. Since eating the Hills diet Z/D dry food along with his current meds, the hair on his ears has grown back and his skin is no longer red. April 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a wonderful product... My dog had been losing his hair for about 2 years, and was quite bald on his back. The vet recommended Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food. After a few short weeks, his hair is growing back. I am so amazed and pleased! And he likes his new food. :) April 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is amazing We have a puppy with terrible allergies- she has been on meds for months and this is the first dog food she has been able to eat and not break out in dermatosis- We are thankful that she is not in pain anymore and can act like a puppy again. April 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog is allergic to everything so this is all he can eat! I appreciate that you offer this specialty food for pet because my dog can only have ZD and non-allergic treats. Thank goodness he likes it so much! April 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Z/d diet Great product! My dog has been on this z/d diet since he was diagnosed with skin allergies and it works great April 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chewy is the best for buying Hill's Z/d food This food has been a godsend for our toy poodle who has suffered several bouts of pancreatitis over her 13+ years. Chewy.com has the best price and gets the food to you right away. You guys ROCK!!! April 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the expense My Shih Tzu, Sammy, has had several ear infections and issues with itchy paws. His poor paws have even become inflammed and swollen. It looks like it was all related to food allergies. After being on this for a few weeks his paw stopped itching and the redness subsided. My poor little guy just had allergies. He also has a very sensitive stomach and he's a very picky eater. He LOVES this food. I don't have any issue getting him to eat. I do have to measure his food other one will overeat which is very new for us. In the past, he wouldn't eat. I could leave his food out and he would eat a bite here and there. This is marvelous. I'm so happy he is eating so well. March 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My highly allergic dog loves this food! My 8 1/2 year old pit-boxer mix has severe food allergies to many protein sources and has had difficulties with many foods during his life. Since California's reinstatement of the ban on Kangaroo meat in January, we had to switch him off of the Iam's Kangaroo prescription blend (which had worked for him for almost 8 months!), and moved over to Royal Canin PV (venison), which he refused to eat after just a few days. When we offered him this z/d formula, he immediately inhaled it, and has had no stomach, intestinal or skin issues. I'm hugely impressed with Chewy, who refunded me the full value of the PV bag I had just ordered (and not even opened yet) and asked me to donate it to a local shelter, so that I could instead order the Z/D. February 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Expensive but worth it I hate the cost of this food, but it works. My dog was having ongoing stomach and allergy issues even on a bland eggs and rice diet. He has done very well on ZD. He and my other dog love it. I use the kibble for training treats also since he can't eat anything else for the ZD to work properly. Both of my dogs do obedience, Rally and agility and I am very happy that they like it enough to be motivated by it! March 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by this works Until this food, my dog has been unable to tolerate standard or prescription dog foods for very long, and even then has required supplemental herbs and medications. This stuff is a lifesaver. I still keep her on a small dose of prednisone to help her with stress responses, but in routine settings, she does not require any supportive medications or supplements to digest her food. The bonus is she absolutely devours this stuff. March 17, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seems to be working. .. After our german shepherd started loosing weight and has had stomach issues our vet recommend this for our dog. As you know prescription dog food is not cheap, but the product here is best value I could find. It's hard to say since she is on medication, but since being on z/d she has not had any vomiting and has started to gain some weight. March 15, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by This's an okay product. Wish the product came in different sizes like for small dogs. The food is alittle bit to big for small dogs to eat. March 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally, a solution to our dog's skin issues! our 5-year old female rescue pug Tia always seemed to have ongoing skin/fur and ear infections. We hated having to always medicate her continuously, usually with limited success. Our vet suggested the change of her daily kibble in her diet. This product immediately showed results. AND.. she loves to food too. March 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by z/d Hill's Prescription Diet is excellent for allergic dogs Thank you shipping my order on time. Hill's Prescription Diet z/d, in this case, is great for allergic dogs. Laura March 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Got my 105lb Shepard regular. Very happy with this product. The only downfall is the prescription can hold up delivery. Ma March 7, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good for dogs with food sensitivities My dog seems to be doing well on this but she acts like she doesn't like the taste and has some flatulence on it. May switch back to the Hills Prescription Duck formula (but she gained a lot weight on it). I will say a positive in that this formula will help her lose some weight (she doesn't need as much to keep her from acting hungry and begging for more compared to the duck formula-which she loved and begged constantly for more). February 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Diet Z/D skin/ food sensitivities If your dog has food allergies this is a great. It really has helped my dog. He likes the taste had no problem switching he to it . March 3, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Maggie Loves It We have used this for a week and a half, Maggie loves the taste. We are waiting to see results. I was told it could take several months. February 24, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dog loves the flavor My Pekingese loves the flavor but I have to make small chunks for him. It would be nice if they made this in small chunks for smaller animals. February 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Z/D Changed our Dog's Life Our Borador girl was going to the Vet's with unfortunate regularity with ear infections that didn't appear to be caused by environmental conditions, but still left the doctor with few ideas about a remedy, except for changing her (the dog's not the Vet's) food to an Rx diet, specifically Hill's Z/D. I was skeptical but was willing to do just about anything to give Trixie relief from nearly constant head-shaking and assumed discomfort. The change has made a night and day difference - since starting the regimen three years ago, there has been no reoccurrence of the ear problem (and no vet visits other than annual checkups). Z/D is well worth the difference in cost between it and standard food. I would highly recommend it for allergy, skin, and other chronic problems. December 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by the product really works worked great on our golden AFTER THE FIRST BAG OF Z/D A 100 % INPROVEMENT after the first bag of z/d a 100 % improvement a February 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Allery food for dogs. Would always buy, this brand the best. And my dog loves it. February 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hills Z/D Recommended by the vet since our lab has skin and food allergies. Tried many many other foods out there. So far so good. Food honestly doesn't smell the best but the dog doesn't seem to Mind so I guess that isn't an issue. He isn't scratching at his skin and he isn't digging at his paws nearly as much so that's an improvement from before. February 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Diet Food Never Tasted So Good What a Surprise: This food is Flavorful, has a Great Scent and is easy on the tummy and allergy free. WOW!!! We Love It! (check out the soft food and treats too) February 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Noticed a difference in coat in 3 days My dog started reacting to her old food bad, loss of fur... at first we thought she had lupus, but tests came back negative. Dr switched her to this and with in 3 days I noticed a shine back to her coat and her energy and attitude is back to being amazing. I thought she was "just getting old and crabby" but she really felt aweful for a while, I can tell that now. Poor dog. Thank god for this food. It gave me my old dog back January 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has helped prevent ear infections for my dog with food allergies My 3 year old lab, who is an outside dog, was getting ear infections every 6-8 weeks before we started using Hill's Prescription DietZ/D. Our doctor put her own this diet because he thinks that she has food allergies causing her to get these frequent ear infections. Once we completely switched to the Z/D diet she has not had a single ear infection. She was also in the obese category per her doctor, but she has lost 14 pounds since starting this diet, and she is now in the healthy range for her age and type. I would highly recommend this dog food and using Chewy.com to order your food because it's cheaper then at the vet or any other store and it is shipped right to your home. I have set up a bag of food to be delivered every 6 weeks, and I am looking forward to not having to worry about remembering to go to the vet to pick the food up. This is a great place to order your pets food from! January 12, 2015
  • 2016-05-29 T05:29:50.640-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_188, tr_188
  • loc_en_US, sid_69629, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>