Free Shipping on orders $49+

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food

List Price: $107.89
Price: $84.99 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping
You Save: $22.90 (21%)
In Stock
25-lb bag
  • 8-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 25-lb bag

Product Description

Food sensitivities and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Dogs that have a food sensitivities or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your dog suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet z/d clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your dog's skin and food sensitivities. In fact, z/d is clinically proven nutrition to help avoid adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Helps improve digestion & stool quality
  • Helps eliminate food related causes of skin irritation
  • Visible improvement in skin & coat
  • Helps maintain a healthy skin barrier
  • Highly hydrolyzed protein
  • Single carbohydrate source: Corn Starch
  • Essential fatty acid enriched
  • Clinically proven antioxidants

Note: Hill's is going through a packaging change: Original was formerly Ultra; same great formula, just a new name!

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69806
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
Brand
  • Hill's Science Diet
  • Science Diet
Food Form
  • Dry Food
Country of Origin
  • United States
Breed Size
  • All Breeds
Lifestage
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Important Information

Ingredients

Starch, hydrolyzed chicken liver, soybean oil, hydrolyzed chicken, powdered cellulose, lactic acid, dicalcium phosphate, calcium carbonate, glyceryl monostearate, potassium chloride, iodized salt, choline chloride, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid), dl-methionine, minerals (ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), taurine, mixed tocopherols for freshness, natural flavors, beta-carotene

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 155 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by How can anyone not recommend this product? I cannot begin to tell you how brutal it's been while I watched my little yorkie suffer through her food allergies over the past 3 years! I've had saliva testing, thyroid testing, blood allergy testing, skin testing, homeopathic meds, antibiotics, allergy shots, etc.. Nothing worked.. (Thank god for pet insurance!!!!) I originally didn't give this product a chance b/c the kibble size is tooo large, but I soak it in diluted apple cider vinegar and olive oil with warm water so it's easy to break down. Yum!! .. no.. more like yuck! lol!, but she eats it! I stayed the course with this one, and after 6 weeks, the dry spots finally went away and she may itch a tiny bit, but little and normal tolerable stuff. No more hair loss with bloody faces from rubbing her head into the carpet!!! yuck! The funny thing is that I was able to get my hands on the new APOQEL drug for dogs that stops the itch.. It's supposedly safer than pred and the other med and specifically targets the itch ONLY. Well, it's not available in this country yet b/c it has been held up at the manufacturer.. I ended up ordering from the UK and have it on hand "JUST IN CASE".. lol! I'm assuming I won't be needing it any time soon... I only wish the kibble of this food was smaller so I didn't have to make it mushy for her, but hey; I'll do what I have to do!! Anything is better than watching your little doggie suffer in an ungodly fashion! Now I just need to know if she can stay on it for the rest of her life?? Does it provide her with enough nutrients that she needs as she gets older? A+++! May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1st time customer First time Chewy.com user....the product came in excellent time, customer service excellent & kind. I enjoyed the savings for sure! March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has helped prevent ear infections for my dog with food allergies My 3 year old lab, who is an outside dog, was getting ear infections every 6-8 weeks before we started using Hill's Prescription DietZ/D. Our doctor put her own this diet because he thinks that she has food allergies causing her to get these frequent ear infections. Once we completely switched to the Z/D diet she has not had a single ear infection. She was also in the obese category per her doctor, but she has lost 14 pounds since starting this diet, and she is now in the healthy range for her age and type. I would highly recommend this dog food and using Chewy.com to order your food because it's cheaper then at the vet or any other store and it is shipped right to your home. I have set up a bag of food to be delivered every 6 weeks, and I am looking forward to not having to worry about remembering to go to the vet to pick the food up. This is a great place to order your pets food from! January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A must if your dog has allergies! I spent a good two years trying to find my dog a food that would help with his allergy/skin problems. I tried everything from holistic to grain free! Nothing worked! I ended up going to the vet and he put my dog on this food! Hydrolyzed Protein System made by Hills, it is so much better for my dogs system! His allergy and itchy skin problem has cleared up and I love this dog food! July 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The z/d dog food relieved his severe itching/chewing. This is the third bag of the Hill's z/d dog food. It was recommended by our veterinarian to see if his excessive itching/chewing was related to a food (protein) allergy. It was completely effective in relieving his excessive itching/chewing. I did notice that his stools became much softer and the frequency was reduced from 2 to 1 stool per day- which the vet said is normal. Being a German Shepherd dog ( almost 9 years old) he has had digestive issues in the past. Although the food is very expensive, I was willing to pay it for his relief of allergy symptoms. Unfortunately, he now is very reluctant to eat it and often refuses it completely. He has had many dietary changes recently which may have contributed to this. Otherwise, the food was effective for him and I hope to continue with it. June 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Prescription Food My yellow lab, Nixon, has severe food and skin allergies. He has been on medication for allergy infections and multiple diets to help with his food allergies. We have tried him on three different prescription foods and none have worked as well as the Hills Science Diet Z/D food. He still takes a regular dosage of allergy medication for his skin, but in conjunction with the Z/D formula it has helped clear up his skin problems along with the constant upset stomach. Since switching to Hills Nixon is much more regular and doesn't require me to constantly take him out for bathroom breaks. I am extremely happy with this food. September 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Product works because I use it The product works for food allergies although the ingredients are awful but what choice do pets have with allergies. October 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by So Far So Good Our dog has Inflammatory Bowel Disease and has become very sensitive to other dog foods. Its been about a week so far and all is looking good. He is eating and holding it down as well a having healthier 'movements'. He has his energy back and is gaining healthy weight as well. Might have to up my autoship ;) June 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great resource for dogs with advanceD IBD My oldest dog has had inflammatory bowel disease for the past 5 years. He has been eating a prescription diet that was working well for him until recently. Apparently his immune system had begun recognizing and attacking the proteins in that food. Rather than embarking on a process of experimenting with different foods, we opted to switch to Z/D Ultra, knowing that it avoids an immune response because of the hydrolyzed proteins. With the new food and medication to reduce the inflammation, my big boy is starting to feel better. April 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent for allergy prone pets My pup is allergic to just about everything under the sun! From environmental factors to food allergies, he is very uncomfortable constantly. Scratching almost incessantly, up until we bought this food. He is finally finding some relief! February 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seems to be working! My dogs were a little hesitant to eat the food at first. It has a very pungent odor. But, after a couple of weeks I can already tell a diffence in my dog with severe food allergies. He is scratching less, sores are gone and the piles of hair are almost gone from my home. I just wish the food came with a smaller price tag! December 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has REALLY helped my dog!! For many months, my dog, Darla, had been vomiting regularly (sometimes every day) and no one could figure out why. They just assumed she kept getting in to something in the yard. I knew that was NOT the case. Turns out after a lot of testing, the ultrasound showed a thickening of the bowel wall. The vet believed it to be inflammatory bowel disease and wanted her to try Hill's Prescription Z/D. I bought it and started her on it right away. The change was immediate!! She has been on this food for almost 2 years and has not gotten sick once. She has also put some weight on now that she is able to digest her food properly. I highly recommend this product!!! October 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by No more itching! Since we changed to Z/D No more itching!! No more hot spots!!! Great relief. October 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product really helped my dog's skin allergy. My poor Maggie Mae had weeping scabs everywhere and was losing her beautiful border collie coat. We tried other hypoallergenic dog foods but this is the one that works. I resisted putting her on it because of negative comments online stating that vets just sell it to make money. Can't be true my vet gave me a RX to buy online and a friend of ours who is a vet in California also gave it the thumbs up. It's pricey and really zaps my budget (have 3 dogs including a rescue) but for my girl's well being I spend the extra $$. I'm pleased at how beautiful Maggie's coat looks and she loves it. Chewy makes it easy to order and their representatives are so helpful. I was happy with my purchase. October 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog is Allergy Free My two year old doberman developed severe allergies and ear infections. Vet said lets start with food, since it is the most common allergy. He also said food allergy tests are not very accurate. It worked!! Horrific hives, ear infections, etc are all gone. Of course we need to wait till summer comes and see if it holds true. Otherwise it is allergy testing for grass, etc which are very accurate, so my vet says. I have even put my 11 year old dobe on it and her tummy issues have cleared up. Plus my dogs love this food. January 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by No positive results noticed. This product was recommended by our vet to help with our dogs allergies and infested ears. After two months and spending a lot of money, we have noticed no improvement from using this product. Our cocker spaniel didn't like the food but we forced her to eat it for several months per the vets instructions and her condition did not improve. Not 100% satisfied with product and will doubt if I will get a refund on my two purchases. Respectfully, Dave November 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Allergic reaction resolution! My poor Sadie has been riddled with skin afflictions for about six months now. She is constantly itching but since we started Hills she seems to be itching less and her sores are healing. The vet told me it would take about 9 weeks to see the full effect if indeed she has allergies. We are about 4 weeks in now. I will be sure to let you know. October 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My male English Bulldog's itching has greatly improved since I have been using ZD. And whatever it has in it, it distracts fleas. His skin improved. My English Bulldog's sensitive skin has improved so much since I started using Hills ZD for sensitive skin. The itching has stopped and the redness disappeared. He also loves the flavor so much. His digestion is also very good, so whatever it has in it, helps him in so many ways, including him not getting one flea. I appreciate that this can be shipped to me without a shipping charge as well. I have tried other products for sensitive skin, but it doesn't work like the Hills Science Diet ZD for sensitive skin! September 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has helped our Yorkie Our Yorkie is picky about her food, but she really likes this product. It has helped her allergy problem. I recommended it to my sister for her itchy dogs. Thanks September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This works, and Jasper loves it. My vet recommended Hill's Prescription ZD for my dog's skin allergy. Jasper loves the taste and I can see the difference in his skin after just 1 week. No more red, raw patches. Jasper is a calm dog again. September 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for my dogs and they love it One of my dogs got a flu-like illness about once a quarter with no apparent cause. My vet recommended this food and so far so good. She is well and loves the food which is great a she is picky. One of the best things is that my most picky eater a 16 year old cocker spaniel absolutely loves it! The first night I gave it to the one dog, my cocker did something she have never done--she went over to the other dog's bowl to steal the food. Well, it is a hit with all of my dogs and if it keeps them well it pleases me no end. The only problem is that it is unbelievably expensive. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by does the job This is food for treatment/ management of illness so it is what it is. My girl seems to like it enough and it is controlling her digestive issues but it is very expensive. As a toy breed she has had a bit of difficulty with the size of the kibble so it would be nice to see it made in smaller bites for smaller dogs. July 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Food was prescribed by vet to help allergies We are currently trying to "cleanse" our dog from meat proteins as suggested by our vet to help with her allergies. We are only about a month into it and it seems like her itching has subsided some, but is not totally gone yet. We were told to keep up with this for 3 months, so we will see if it works! June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has helped Our yorkie has a food allergy... this food is very helpful to her. The kibble is very large for her. I would love to see it in a smaller kibble... :) May 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Allergy Relief My dog has food intolerances and environmental allergies. Since feeding him ZD dry and Canned, he has no digestive issues and 90% of his itching has subsided. May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Canine Ultra Allergen-Free Dry Dog Food We have two Wheatons and they tend to have several allergies, some food and some yeast. We have tried so many things to control our poor pups discomforts and the Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Canine Ultra Allergen-Free Dry Dog Food was the ticket! We are so thankful and pleased! February 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Provided relief from skin irritation and scratching. The Hills dog food was effective in neutralizing the incidence of scratching, open sores my 7-year old lab/coon hound mix has experienced over the last year. I mix two tablespoons of brown rice (for fiber) with a cup and 1/4 of the dog food. She loves the food and no more health issues. February 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for allergies! I have a Westie who is allergic to rice, lamb, eggs etc. This food he really likes, smells decent and really has helped his itching. Not cheap but worth it. Kibble is a little big for a small dog but he has no problem - just takes him longer to eat it which is probably a good thing! December 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great Hills product, without the allegens my canine suffers from Science Diet Z/D Ultra is a wonderful and welcome relief for my Chessie who suffers from food allergies with painful skin problems. She is doing much better since on this diet. October 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by No more ear infections! My standard poodle Nikita was plagued with ear infections for a very long time. Finally our Veterinarian prescribed Hills Prescription Diet Z/D Canine Ultra, and her ears cleared up immediately. She has not had any itching or problems at all with her ears since we changed her diet. It is a blessing! And I have to add the Chewy.com offered the best price and super fast shipping for a great product. Doesn't get much better than this! October 20, 2013
  • 2016-02-06 T16:16:10.055-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_155, tr_155
  • loc_en_US, sid_69629, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Questions? Call our friendly customer service team anytime. We're here 24 hours a day! 1-800-67-CHEWY (672-4399)