Free Shipping on orders $49+

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food

List Price: $107.89
Price: $84.99 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping
You Save: $22.90 (21%)
In Stock
25-lb bag
  • 8-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 25-lb bag

Product Description

Food sensitivities and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Dogs that have a food sensitivities or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your dog suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet z/d clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your dog's skin and food sensitivities. In fact, z/d is clinically proven nutrition to help avoid adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Helps improve digestion & stool quality
  • Helps eliminate food related causes of skin irritation
  • Visible improvement in skin & coat
  • Helps maintain a healthy skin barrier
  • Highly hydrolyzed protein
  • Single carbohydrate source: Corn Starch
  • Essential fatty acid enriched
  • Clinically proven antioxidants

Note: Hill's is going through a packaging change: Original was formerly Ultra; same great formula, just a new name!

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69806
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
Brand
  • Hill's Science Diet
  • Science Diet
Food Form
  • Dry Food
Country of Origin
  • United States
Breed Size
  • All Breeds
Lifestage
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Important Information

Ingredients

Starch, hydrolyzed chicken liver, soybean oil, hydrolyzed chicken, powdered cellulose, lactic acid, dicalcium phosphate, calcium carbonate, glyceryl monostearate, potassium chloride, iodized salt, choline chloride, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid), dl-methionine, minerals (ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), taurine, mixed tocopherols for freshness, natural flavors, beta-carotene

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 156 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very convenient to order the product on line. Reliable company, it certainly allows you the convenience of ordering a large quantity of food without the burden of carrying it oneself. January 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's helped my Lab My lab has had GI problems all his life. This food has helped maybe 50%. It's too expensive though. July 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will not purchase again I have a small dog with allergies, she is also a picky eater. This did not work for her all. She didn't eat more than a bite or two at meals, yet she was very hungry. What little she got in her night 6, she threw up. Nuggets are much too large for small breeds, the canned, my 1 year old yellow lab would not even go near it. I would not recommend if you want your dog to be able to eat !! Quite disappointed in this product, I had high hopes. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solved the GI problems We switched to a combined diet of the wet food and dry kibble using the Hill's prescription Z/D after our Golden came down with pancreatitis and additional undiagnosed illness the vets believed was related to the pancreatitis. Our pet couldn't keep any food down and was rapidly losing weight, was lethargic and we were genuinely concerned that he wasn't going to make it to his 4th birthday. It's been over 2 weeks since we switched to the hydrolyzed food and he hasn't had a vomiting episode since. He's done a complete 180 degree turn and is slowly putting back the weight he's lost. He's energetic, his eyes are clear and he's just like his former self. We believe this dog food saved his life. We're slowly reducing the amount of the wet dog food and introducing more kibble to his diet. May 27, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not for my Rottie I can't speak for the allergy benefits of this food as my girl had tummy troubles with it. I can say that she didn't care for it even when I first presented it to her while mixed with her previous food. I just kept offering it to her as the vet said to do and eventually she ate it. For the few days she was on it she had a bad gas problem and diarrhea. So we're still looking for a food that will help her with her allergy problems. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has releived my dog's severe allergy symptoms. Our dog had suffered for years with chronic skin and ear infections due to multiple grain allergies. Our Vet recommended Z-D for the hydrolized proteins and after 1/4 bag our poor Duffy began to improve. He is now 1 year into this brand and has never been better. His coat is thick and shiney and his ears are near perfect(except when he sneaks a treat from the grandkids). I only wish we had done this sooner as he may not have lost his hearing. It is the only brand for a dog with Grain and Protein allergies! December 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such a great product! My 8-year-old golden retriever has had allergy problems and constantly had ear infections. One vet was content to just keep giving her steroid shots; I never liked that, and they were not only not helping much anymore, but they were hurting her hips. The new vet said he's had about a 90-95% success rate with dogs that have used this food, so we gave it a try. I had tried so many different foods, including limited ingredient ones that got great reviews, so one more couldn't hurt. She's been on the z/d food for more than 2 mos. now, and it's made such a big difference. There was a time or two I was tempted to stop it because it didn't seem to be helping, but the vet said it can take 6-8 wks. or more to really see a difference, so we hung in there, and I'm so glad we did. It has totally cleared up her ears, and they were always so bad before. If your dog has allergies, I recommend giving this food a try. It's pricey, but its formula works, and it's worth the cost. The Chewy price and service are awesome. January 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I was really surprised. I was surprised because I did not know that z/d ultra is a prescription dog food sold only that way. It is a great dog food that has helped my dog over come her allergies. We had been trying every thing to stop the itching, as well as stomach problems. I would recommend this to everyone with a pet with these problems. Thank you HILLS! December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ended his frequent back scratching and skin breakouts. He used to get on his back and scratch on the carpet and in the yard. He also had frequent sores on his belly. All gone since switching to ZD. He loves the taste. November 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing transformation My 6 year old rottie had constant very serious gasto problems from birth. We started her on the z/d food 9 months ago and she hasn't had one bout of liquid stool or stomach growling or vomiting since. Worth it's weight in gold to us. We had her tested and found out that she had food sensitivites so my vet recommended this. November 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by problem with stool quality it did help a little with our Doberman skin and coat, but he is constantly have diarrhea, its almost 2 months since we start giving this food and from the day one he has diarrhea. the doctor told to us to continue and wait, but we probably will try different food. October 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hill's Diet z/d is a good is good if your dog eats the dry. Good product,however my dog prefers the canned! Will only takes the dried as "treats",but gobbles down the canned. October 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by z/d does help pets with sensivity and allergies. All 3 of my dogs enjoy the flavor of z/d. The redness, skin sensitivity and allergies are decreasing since starting on z/d. October 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This food smells good! One of my dogs have Protein-Losing Enteropathy (PLE) and the vet put her on prednisone for 30 days and has recommended a permanent diet change and prescribed the ZD for her. I was worried that she would not eat, as she can be a bit picky, especially when feeling poorly. She has only been on it for 2 weeks and so far so good, she loves it. I had to put the male on the same food to prevent them from sharing and he eats it up too. All good, I am hoping that the combination of the meds and food will make her better. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Life saver At ago eight my dog had been sick all her life. The last three or four months before we tried zd I cooked for her daily but in a three month period a 50 lb dog went down to 38 lbs. She has made almost a 100% turn around. Worth every dollar, as we were spending huge amounts of money on vet bills and had tried several other foods. We give it to her wet as her regular food and dry as candy. We never give her anything else. She loves it Her brother also loves it as a treat. October 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Product is great for my dog with allergies My dog loves the food and it was easier than going to get the bag since it is hard for me to lift that much. October 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hill's ZD took care of my dog's food allergies. I tried so many different specialty dog foods to help alleviate my puppy's scratching and itching. He rubbed his chin raw before we found Hill's Prescription ZD through our vet! Thank goodness he recommended we try it. That was 10 years ago. Today he is the healthiest looking 11 year old dog you can imagine. Besides not itching, he is slim, trim and has a healthy coat. October 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It really works... I decided to purchase this product based off a youtube video of a Cocker Spaniel owner who had the same issue as I had.. Glad I did. Bought this product with Zymox Otic Pet Ear Treatment with Hydrocortisone. This has wiped out my buddies problems.Good product. September 20, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Doesn't like it.. My new vet just put my Shih Tzu on this food. She will be 5 years old in Nov. When I first brought her home at 8 weeks she threw up. She has continued to do that even to the point of blood in urine and stool. Long story but she got better once I put her on Pepcid AC. Now she gets sick every 2 months. My problem is she doesn't like it. I mix it but she picks it out. My vet just called to say to just give her the Z/D without mixing it. Breaks my heart she doesn't like it. Any suggestions? September 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Large Kibbles! My Golden Retriever pup has had all kinds of food issues that have affected her skin. I have had her on high-end grain-free dog food from Fromm's; however, she is constantly scratching and has scabs all over her skin. She has just finished a regimen of Prednisone and antibiotics in conjunction with the Hills Prescription food. She has stopped scratching but it is too soon to tell if her hair will grow back in (she has lost buckets of hair enough to make a sweater!). She loves the flavor and eats all of her food right up. We will stick with this brand although very expensive to see if there is an improvement. September 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Allegies! My Bouvier des Flandres has a food allergy. It took us (including the Vet) 5 tries to find the right food for our dog. We are very pleased with this dry food. We feed our dog Z/D dry and/or W/D dry dog food along with the W/D canned food. Our dog had problems with the Z/D canned food; go figure! September 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Vet prescribes this dog food for my dog. My dog is fighting allergies and my Vet prescribed this dog food. It has been great in fighting his battle with his allergies. I recommend it. September 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why carry when it gets delivered to your door. A savings and easy method to get this prescription dog food. My dog loves to eat and loves this food while helping us eliminate allergens. We will see how auto ship works. Way to go Chewy.com. August 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really Helpful Our dog started having problems with his coat and itching. Our vet recommended Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food. Within a few weeks our dogs coat started improving and after a month looks almost back to normal. August 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food and quick shipping! My Cocker Spaniel has food allergies and this is finally the food she can eat!! Chewy.com has the best price and free shipping! Plus they went the extra step when I needed my vet to provide the prescription for this product. They have SUPER FAST shipping! I will be buying from Chewy again and again! July 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved money! Found you on-line. Larger bag at less money. Thank you, thank you, thank you...... July 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr. Picky really likes it! We've had trouble finding a kibble that both meets our dog's allergy needs AND that he will eat. Z/D Ultra seems to be working great so far. We're very glad to have found it. June 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Same Great Food My dog has severe allergies and has been on this food for eight years. We couldn't live w/o these yummies in our house. Best price online, free and fastest shipping...Thanks chewy.com. June 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog loves it. Our cocker has allergies and this is the only food he has been able to eat and not have severe reactions. We love it and Chewey makes it easy to get. June 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hopeless to so happy!! I cannot say enough about this amazing food. I have two pugs that I have spent thousands of dollars on vet bills, ointments, shampoos,pills you name it. When the vet finally changed their diet I thought it was just to make or money, but it worked! My pugs are super happy and look great, no more bad odors or awful coat. The food cost are high but since I am no longer spending on the vet I have saved lots of money. BTW the dogs love the taste. Dry morsels are too big but I add some organic broth to moisten them a bit. June 13, 2015
  • 2016-02-12 T13:31:13.974-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_156, tr_156
  • loc_en_US, sid_69629, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Questions? Call our friendly customer service team anytime. We're here 24 hours a day! 1-800-67-CHEWY (672-4399)