Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food

List Price: $107.89
Price: $89.23 & FREE 1-2 Day Shipping
You Save: $18.66 (17%)
In Stock
25-lb bag
  • 8-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 25-lb bag

Product Description

Food sensitivities and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Dogs that have a food sensitivities or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your dog suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet z/d clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your dog's skin and food sensitivities. In fact, z/d is clinically proven nutrition to help avoid adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Helps improve digestion & stool quality
  • Helps eliminate food related causes of skin irritation
  • Visible improvement in skin & coat
  • Helps maintain a healthy skin barrier
  • Highly hydrolyzed protein
  • Single carbohydrate source: Corn Starch
  • Essential fatty acid enriched
  • Clinically proven antioxidants

Note: Hill's is going through a packaging change: Original was formerly Ultra; same great formula, just a new name!

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet »

Item Number 69806
Special Diet
  • Prescription Food
Brand
  • Hill's Science Diet
  • Science Diet
Food Form
  • Dry Food
Country of Origin
  • United States
Breed Size
  • All Breeds
Lifestage
  • Adult

Pet lovers who bought this item also bought...

Ingredients

Starch, hydrolyzed chicken liver, soybean oil, hydrolyzed chicken, powdered cellulose, lactic acid, dicalcium phosphate, calcium carbonate, glyceryl monostearate, potassium chloride, iodized salt, choline chloride, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid), dl-methionine, minerals (ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), taurine, mixed tocopherols for freshness, natural flavors, beta-carotene

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 188 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs My dog developed a stomach problem and the vet recommended this product after 8 years he didn't want the old food . So we switched the other 2 boys also so now we have three Bernese mountain dogs on this product ! January 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy switch We had to switch from a kangaroo based food due to a new CA law and boy am I happy. My dog loves this food and is doing great on it. His itching has lessened. He's happy, I'm happy. January 27, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by good feed for dogs with health issues Have fed this food for 2 years but just ordered it from Chewy. The price was good, service was good and it arrived right on time. We will use chewy again January 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recommended by my vet This is a great product! Pricey; but good for my dogs! January 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is amazing for my pups This product is amazing for my pups, especially because they have allergies. January 21, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by this product has worked wonders on my dog My dog has had allergies that have not quit. We have tried many other foods and this one immediately has worked. His fur is growing back and he is looking much better. January 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best The only food that worked for my dachshund's sensitive stomach & digestive system-everything is normal & I am soooo grateful! January 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for our french bulldog Easy to order, they contact my vet, great discount, arrived fast January 18, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by She's not touching this...... No matter what......she's not going to eat this. She is a Chihuahua, the size of the kibble is too big for small dogs. Just the smell sends her running. The wet food works better but it's too costly and we will go through it too fast. Not sure what to do next. January 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast delivery,lowest prices WE have been a customer for years but recently we discovered our pet has IBS and we've had to change his diet with a prescription dog food and we are optimistic that this change will help in his overall health. Coby is 9 years old and travels with us wherever we go and has brought us so much joy' he is part Weimaraner and Vizsla and a beautiful chocolate color. Happy that his food is delivered straight to our door and at the lowest price compared to other pet stores or on-line. Thanks to your company!! December 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good and hard I have a Bichon that has allergies with everything he eats. This prescription z/d diet food is showing promise when he eats it .The kibbles are way too big and hard for our small dog. There should be different sizes for all dogs. I am disappointed in the food because he can't eat this food unless I break it down for him. This gets old when you have to grind 25 lbs. of dog food. December 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recommended by Veterinary Dog loves the taste and no problems switching from present dog food. Doesn't quite satisfy her hunger as much but of course doesn't have all the fillers. We will reorder. January 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs like the taste I haven't been using this for a long time but I've had no difficulty switching over to it with both my dogs. They both have skin issues so it's really too early to tell. Their skin starts to give them trouble in summer so that will be the true test. Love the free shipping and delivery to my door with a 25 lb. bag! Chewy.com is great! December 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has REALLY helped my dog!! For many months, my dog, Darla, had been vomiting regularly (sometimes every day) and no one could figure out why. They just assumed she kept getting in to something in the yard. I knew that was NOT the case. Turns out after a lot of testing, the ultrasound showed a thickening of the bowel wall. The vet believed it to be inflammatory bowel disease and wanted her to try Hill's Prescription Z/D. I bought it and started her on it right away. The change was immediate!! She has been on this food for almost 2 years and has not gotten sick once. She has also put some weight on now that she is able to digest her food properly. I highly recommend this product!!! October 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great My 2 shih tzu's are very picky eaters but they love this. December 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far so good ) I was really happy at the ease of shopping on this site! I was bummed I was going to receive the food after my girl ran out, but the food was delivered before the expected date. I will definitely be ordering again! December 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog has food allergies. Not only does my dog like this food, it helps reduce his itching and scratching due to food allergies. It is the best food I have found for him. December 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product really helps with weight control. My dog needed to lose about 8 lbs and he has very sensitive skin. He was given a prescription for the ZD formula. The first week I mixed it half and half with his old food. He did have some loose stool; however, he is now very tolerant of the dry food and loves it. He lost 10 lbs in one month. Will continue to order. I also really liked the service with chewy.com. Very friendly staff and fast delivery. November 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Price and Convenience! We need the prescription food due to allergies and having found Chewy.com makes it so much easier. We text them the prescription and they keep track of how many refills we have. The convenience of having it come to the door on auto delivery is wonderful. We get the dry 25lb bag and the wet cans for our dogs. The prices of dog toys is so much better than any pet store also. Love Chewy.com! November 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by No hassle So glad my friend recommended Chewy! My dog has food allergies and requires hills prescription diet and my vet doesn't keep it in stock, it cost a fortune to ship to the house. Since I've used Chewy they confirmed the prescription with my vet and had it shipped free to my house within 3 days! December 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solved the GI problems We switched to a combined diet of the wet food and dry kibble using the Hill's prescription Z/D after our Golden came down with pancreatitis and additional undiagnosed illness the vets believed was related to the pancreatitis. Our pet couldn't keep any food down and was rapidly losing weight, was lethargic and we were genuinely concerned that he wasn't going to make it to his 4th birthday. It's been over 2 weeks since we switched to the hydrolyzed food and he hasn't had a vomiting episode since. He's done a complete 180 degree turn and is slowly putting back the weight he's lost. He's energetic, his eyes are clear and he's just like his former self. We believe this dog food saved his life. We're slowly reducing the amount of the wet dog food and introducing more kibble to his diet. May 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very tasty and relieves the itch I've tried everything for my dog's allergies for the past year to relieve her bowel problems and constant itching. This food has been great and immediately relieved her symptoms! She is a picky eater but thinks this food tastes great! Now she can relax after a hard day of chasing everything that moves. November 28, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by No positive results noticed. This product was recommended by our vet to help with our dogs allergies and infested ears. After two months and spending a lot of money, we have noticed no improvement from using this product. Our cocker spaniel didn't like the food but we forced her to eat it for several months per the vets instructions and her condition did not improve. Not 100% satisfied with product and will doubt if I will get a refund on my two purchases. Respectfully, Dave November 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This food smells good! One of my dogs have Protein-Losing Enteropathy (PLE) and the vet put her on prednisone for 30 days and has recommended a permanent diet change and prescribed the ZD for her. I was worried that she would not eat, as she can be a bit picky, especially when feeling poorly. She has only been on it for 2 weeks and so far so good, she loves it. I had to put the male on the same food to prevent them from sharing and he eats it up too. All good, I am hoping that the combination of the meds and food will make her better. October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works well enough My recent rescue and I have been struggling for a while to find a brand of dog food that didn't upset his stomach. Recommended by our Vet, Z/d has definitely helped in changing his stool from being liquid to being a soft level of 'firm'. With a sprinkling of Metamucil at each meal (2 1/8 teaspoons in the morning, 3 in the afternoon) we've finally achieved a level of firmness that I'm happy with (with the added bonus that cleaning up after my dog is now a lot easier). My reason for not giving 5 stars is mainly the price. I bought my first 8lbs bag from my Vet for $50, so am absolutely happy that I can find it almost $20 cheaper on Chewy. However when you compare it to other dog food brands it's still rather pricey. That said until I find another brand that works better, I'll keep coming back to Z/d. August 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Large Kibbles! My Golden Retriever pup has had all kinds of food issues that have affected her skin. I have had her on high-end grain-free dog food from Fromm's; however, she is constantly scratching and has scabs all over her skin. She has just finished a regimen of Prednisone and antibiotics in conjunction with the Hills Prescription food. She has stopped scratching but it is too soon to tell if her hair will grow back in (she has lost buckets of hair enough to make a sweater!). She loves the flavor and eats all of her food right up. We will stick with this brand although very expensive to see if there is an improvement. September 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing transformation My 6 year old rottie had constant very serious gasto problems from birth. We started her on the z/d food 9 months ago and she hasn't had one bout of liquid stool or stomach growling or vomiting since. Worth it's weight in gold to us. We had her tested and found out that she had food sensitivites so my vet recommended this. November 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ended his frequent back scratching and skin breakouts. He used to get on his back and scratch on the carpet and in the yard. He also had frequent sores on his belly. All gone since switching to ZD. He loves the taste. November 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Life saver At ago eight my dog had been sick all her life. The last three or four months before we tried zd I cooked for her daily but in a three month period a 50 lb dog went down to 38 lbs. She has made almost a 100% turn around. Worth every dollar, as we were spending huge amounts of money on vet bills and had tried several other foods. We give it to her wet as her regular food and dry as candy. We never give her anything else. She loves it Her brother also loves it as a treat. October 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by The z/d dog food relieved his severe itching/chewing. This is the third bag of the Hill's z/d dog food. It was recommended by our veterinarian to see if his excessive itching/chewing was related to a food (protein) allergy. It was completely effective in relieving his excessive itching/chewing. I did notice that his stools became much softer and the frequency was reduced from 2 to 1 stool per day- which the vet said is normal. Being a German Shepherd dog ( almost 9 years old) he has had digestive issues in the past. Although the food is very expensive, I was willing to pay it for his relief of allergy symptoms. Unfortunately, he now is very reluctant to eat it and often refuses it completely. He has had many dietary changes recently which may have contributed to this. Otherwise, the food was effective for him and I hope to continue with it. June 16, 2014
  • 2016-05-25 T05:42:27.502-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_188, tr_188
  • loc_en_US, sid_69629, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>