Loading...

Hill's Prescription Diet i/d Digestive Care Chicken Flavor Dry Cat Food

  • Price:

    $37.99 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping over $49

In stock
8.5-lb bag
  • 4-lb bag
  • 8.5-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

Dietary indiscretion, food allergies, or lack of digestive enzymes can affect your cat's digestive health. Efficient digestion is essential for your cat to be able to build and repair tissues and obtain energy, and for these reasons it is important to feed a food that is formulated to help support digestive health. Hill's nutritionists & veterinarians developed Prescription Diet i/d clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your cat's digestive health. In fact, i/d is clinically proven nutrition that helps improve digestion & stool quality.

Key Benefits

  • Clinically proven nutrition that helps improve digestion & stool quality
  • Highly digestible protein and fat to help assimilate nutrients and repair tissues faster
  • Mixed fiber source to help maintain gastrointestinal health
  • Optimal balance of nutrients to help replenish the body and help encourage recovery
  • Added antioxidants help control cell oxidation

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69848
  • Brand
    Hill's, Science Diet
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Sensitive Digestion, Prescription Food

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. ​Chicken, Cracked Pearled Barley, Corn Gluten Meal, Brewers Rice, Pork Fat, Chicken Meal, Whole Grain Corn, Egg Product, Chicken Liver Flavor, Lactic Acid, Dried Beet Pulp, Potassium Chloride, Calcium Sulfate, DL-Methionine, Choline Chloride, Fructooligosaccharides, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Taurine, Iodized Salt, L-Lysine, Psyllium Seed Husk, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Natural Flavors, Magnesium Oxide, Beta-Carotene.

Caloric Content

  1. 498 kcal/cup
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 35.0% min
Crude Fat 17.0% min
Crude Fiber 4.0% max

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, wet food, & treats Keep fresh water available at all times. Split the recommended daily amount into smaller portions and feed throughout the day. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet Lovers Also Bought

Customer Reviews

Hill's Prescription Diet i/d Digestive Care Chicken Flavor Dry Cat Food is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 118.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats love this food! This cat food was recommended by my vet. Where I use to buy it was hit or miss if they had in stock and more expensive. Love this food and love Chewy!
Date published: 2017-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this product Chewy.com is very user friendly. I like their prices and also auto delivery
Date published: 2017-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hills's i/d digestive care cat food works great Before trying this food my middle aged cat would vomit 2-3 times per week...vet said it could be due to aging intestines (all other tests were negative). We tried i/d digestive dry cat food and she hasn't been sick once. She likes eating it and her coat seems to be silker. While the cost is 4x more than her previous food it is so worth it.
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to Work I adopted a cat from a shelter, not realizing just how terribly ill she was. She had every parasite, worm and bacteria known to man, was severely malnourished, so tiny and fragile...she weighed 4.5 lbs at 3 yrs old. After getting all the bugs cleared out, she was still unable to process food and had constant diarrhea with regular vomiting. In full panic mode, I took her back to the vet who suggested another prescription high fiber food, dry and wet, but my little one didn't like it and stopped eating. Given her condition, she HAD to eat. Another emergency vet visit, and this food was a last hope before specialists were required. It took a couple of weeks to get her intestines scrubbed out, but after a massive blow-out of awful black sludge, now my baby is not having accidents and has started to give me formed poo. She really likes the food so is gaining weight, her fur is softer and shinier, and she's running and playing! The big boy cat I adopted at the same time likes this food as well and is growing too. This food has been a miracle for us. I love the Chewy Autoship option too. Never running out of this food is very important around our house!
Date published: 2015-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally found a food to help with my cat's digestive problems In one of the reviews, they were complaining about only being able to get this at one store, I get mine at Petsmart or here a Chewy, you do need a prescription though I don't know why you would need a prescription. My cat has digestive problems and this particular product works very well and she likes it (wet and dry) No more throwing up her food. She will be 14 next month and has an inflammatory bowel...the only other problem she has had for some time now is diarrhea...I can't seem to find anything to help with this. Any suggestions?
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food for cat's digestive system My cat was loosing weight and having a hard time going to the bathroom. Since eating the new food, she has gained good weight and less bathroom problems. I'm glad I found this product.
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This food is great! My cat loves it! Great cat food for any cat with digestive issues! He feels much better after switching to this cat food, and I couldn't be happier:
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has relieved our cat's IBD We ordered this on advice from our vet. It seems to have worked as our cat currently is symptom free.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The product is offered in a nice size bag I like having the choice to purchase a larger bag than what is offered at the Vet office.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality My kittens were put on this food after having parasites and serious GI issues. Within 2 days they were back to having normal bowel movements. They enjoying eating it and I feel like I'm giving them something nutritious. They are at an ideal weight and their fur is soft and shiny. I will continue to give my fur babies this food. I was ordering it from my vet but found it at a better price on Chewy and I have it auto shipped. This makes my life so much easier not having to think about it. I have done auto ship with other websites but nothing compares to Chewy. Their customer service is excellent. Everyone in my family orders from Chewy. I will continue to shop here for all my pets needs
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My cat loves it My cat Simba had been very sick to his stomach and looking miserable. He had no energy, looked depressed and he was losing weight and vomiting everything he ate up. We were worried he was going to die soon if it continued. We were desperate to find out what was wrong with him. We were feeding him the best wet food money could buy, the stuff that's more expensive than people food, and he was still getting sick each and every time, slowly losing his will to even eat. Luckily we were able to get him in to see a vet, and she told us to try this food, both the wet and dry versions, and he has not vomited but twice in the last month or so. (And he only vomited because he hoarded his dry food after he got a bit hungry overnight. So he gets wet food first thing in the morning from now on). He's gained his weight back. His coat is soft and shiny and he's well-hydrated. He's more lively than he's been in ages and he's 13 this month! Ideally Simba would be on that very expensive wet food that's low carb and has only the best ingredients. I love my cat and want him to live a long life, and some of the ingredients in this food just sound less than ideal. But the fact is, he's not vomiting and he feels good. So really that is all I can ask for and I'm grateful that we found something that will not upset his stomach like the premium wet cat foods were. Sometimes you just have to do what works for you pet because their quality of life is really what matters.
Date published: 2013-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product My cat has digestion problems ever since being on an antibiotic post surgery that never seemed to clear up even after putting him through two rounds of Flagyl. This food is helping a lot. I can tell he is happier probably from not having a tummy ache anymore, etc. He is a fussy cat and doesn't like the moist can version of this so I am reall grateful they have the dry food. I also received this order within three to four days which was impressive. I highly recommend this product for anyone who has a cat with digestion issues.
Date published: 2016-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gus, Maine Coon Loves Chewy.com! If you have a Maine Coon or other cat with possible constipation and want to avoid Megacolon, then get your vet to order this cat food. We tried High Fiber but turned out it was not the best choice. After some consultation (Vet to Vet) they recommended Hill's Prescription Diet i/d Feline Gastrointestinal Health Dry Cat Food. Food is "low residue" and now our cat, Gus, does not strain. Has regular BM's. It was the answer to our concerns. We couldn't get the large bag at local store so looked on-line. Chewy.com had best price and will deliver free at scheduled intervals. Can't ask for better than that! I even sent Chewy a picture of Gus (in the Chewy box) after we received our 1st delivery. And another of him eating the food. he is 25 lbs! GUS Loves Chewy.com!
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product When I tried to transition my 13 yr. old cat from dry urinary so to a wet cat food, he developed severe diarrhea. Vet prescribe Hills digestive care i/d and a probiotic. Cat loves the food and is back to normal. He also drinks lots of water so his urinary tract is good. I was able to stop the probiotic. My only wish is that they had a moderate calorie version. But overall, I am very pleased.
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My cat doesn't like the new formula. My cat liked the previous formula ID. He will not touch the "improved" formula at all. So I will be switching foods for him. It's a shame Science Diet changed the food somewhat with the improved formula. My cat will not touch it, and he is not a picky eater.
Date published: 2016-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rx cat food The Rx food has slowed down her throwing up. She does like the taste and her appetite is better.
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product works My cat had diarrhea, after prednisone I wanted to wean him off. Put him on this food, no pred and his fecal is great for years now.
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy cat Cat is loving healthy food! Kitty is doing great while happily eating good food
Date published: 2016-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My two cats like it & has decreased their vomiting Recommended by my vet for sensitive stomach issues & pleased w/ results.
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This food saved my relationship with Molly My persian cat Molly apparently couldn't digest properly. I tried a slew of foods for GI sensitive cats, including cooking food myself according to recipes for sensitive stomachs, and NOTHING worked. She vomited constantly, and was always constipated. Then I found this brand and I'm happy to report that since feeding it to Molly, I no longer have to clean up her vomit, and her excretory functions have normalized.
Date published: 2014-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cats LOVE this. Good for kitties prone to tummy issues. My vet recommended this for my cat that has had pancreatitis. All the other cats love it also. He has had no further problems since starting this food. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2014-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a Wonderful Product!!!! My cat has thrown up since I got him when he was 5 months old and he's now 11 years old. In the past few months I changed vets and the new vet recommended both the dry and the wet food described above. It was like a miracle happened, and he's nearly stopped throwing up. He must have a very sensitive stomach, and even though I tried to give him food for sensitive systems, I didn't know that a prescription food would be so wonderful for him. I am so grateful that this food was suggested to me by my vet!!! And I think my cat is even more grateful!
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good food, great price! Science Diet I.D. was recommended by my veterinarian for my older cats with stomach issues. I was so pleased to find it on Chewy.com for half of what the veterinarian was charging for the same thing. The cats love the food and I don't feel as stretched to purchase it with the good price and great service and convenience of having it shipped to me directly. It saves me time and money a double bonus!
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Possibly wonderful for some but not for my cat I'm not qualified to review this product because I bought it for a cat who has IBS - & he can't seem to tolerate it any better than the dozen (literally) other brands of dry food I've tried. I've started him on a diet of homemade chicken & rice plus the 2 available Hill's i/d canned foods with good results.
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pricey, but gentle on the tummy Every other food upsets my cat's stomach. This food does not eliminate, but greatly reduces the vomiting so I buy it despite the high price. She eats it readily. There is little fiber in this food so watch for constipation.
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well for cats with IBS & diarrhea My cat has IBS & had very watery diarrhea. This product helped immensely with these problems.
Date published: 2015-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more messes! My 10 yr old cat was making runny messes all over the house. Vet said he seems otherwise healthy & recommended this food. Within a few days all is back to normal & in the litter box. A happy ending for all!
Date published: 2014-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my cats love it! vet recommended this as 2 cats were experiencing bathroom problems (going in different places and bloody stools). mixed with regular food, cats go crazy to eating and bathroom problems have gone away!!
Date published: 2014-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product - best price on the web! My cats love this vet-prescribed food. My 2 cats both have IBS/IBD, and this helps them quite a bit. I will keep buying it, and from Chewy, if they keep their good prices. Thanks Chewy!
Date published: 2015-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for my cat After 8 years of sub-par food, my cat started vomiting nightly. Our vet prescribed this and since he's started on the I/D prescription food, he hasn't vomited, not even once. Highly recommend if your pet has started to develop sensitivity to their regular food.
Date published: 2016-11-05
  • y_2017, m_3, d_21, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_118
  • loc_en_US, sid_69645, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrchewy