Loading...

Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Canned Cat Food, 5.5-oz, case of 24

  • List Price:

    $58.79

  • Price:

    $48.99 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping over $49

  • You Save:

    $9.80 (17%)

In stock
- Quantity +

Description

Kidneys are important because they remove waste substances from the blood, and maintain the normal balance of fluid and minerals within the body. Once kidney damage occurs, the consequences are usually irreversible. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet k/d, clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your cat's kidney health. In fact, k/d is clinically tested nutrition to improve & lengthen quality of life.

Key Benefits

  • Clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your cat's kidney health with clinically tested nutrition to improve and lengthen quality of life
  • This irresistible food makes it easier for you to bond with your pet with gently cooked, bite-sized chunks of real chicken and natural ingredients with added vitamins and minerals
  • This recipe protects vital kidney and heart function while boosting vitality and energy
  • Supports appetite and eating enjoyment as well as aids in sustaining a healthy body condition
  • Targeted levels of high quality protein and controlled phosphorus coupled with low sodium allow this recipe to give optimal support to your cat’s kidney health

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69844
  • Food Texture
    Pate
  • Brand
    Hill's, Science Diet
  • Food Form
    Wet Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Water, Pork Liver, Chicken, Egg Product, Brewers Rice, Sugar, Chicken Fat, Chicken Liver Flavor, Modified Rice Starch, Powdered Cellulose, Fish Oil, Calcium Sulfate, Potassium Citrate, Guar Gum, Soybean Oil, Natural Flavor, Caramel color, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Niacin Supplement, Ascorbic Acid (source of Vitamin C), Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Vitamin A Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Folic Acid, Menadione Sodium Bisulfite Complex (source of Vitamin K), Vitamin D3 Supplement), Taurine, Dicalcium Phosphate, Potassium Chloride, L-Arginine, L-Carnitine, minerals (Zinc Oxide, Ferrous Sulfate, Manganese Sulfate, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate), Choline Chloride, Beta-Carotene.

Caloric Content

  1. 177 kcal/ 5.5 oz can
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 30.0% min
Crude Fat 23% min
Crude Fiber 2.4% max

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Cover and refrigerate unused portion Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, canned food & treats. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet Lovers Also Bought

Customer Reviews

Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Canned Cat Food is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 156.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This flavor works well for our fussy 17 yr old boy This cat has had kidney issues most of his life and been on several dry kidney foods. With worsening kidney function his appetite hit the skids and vet recommended canned food to aid w/water intake and gave us samples to see what he would like. Hill's PD is his favorite. Last vet visit he had bun and creatine levels in the normal range so fingers crossed.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cat actually eats it! Ive had any cats over the yrs. that prescription diets have been recommended for . Usually the cats wont eat it. But surprisingly my cat IS eating this! And the new formula is a nice soft pate. The old version had hard lumps in it. And usually they were left on the plate. I am very happy with this new formula. And best of all my cat is too!
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Problem Eating I was sad when I found out that my second cat has kidney issues. The doctor said to feed her the kidney prescription food. My first cat had a finicky palate and I had to doctor it up with pieces of turkey or tuna. Thank goodness Sneakers doesn't have those issues. She eats it with no problems. The includes the dry.
Date published: 2016-12-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not great tasting See my review on the tuna flavor. By comparison, this is often left in the dish. Tends to become very -- well -- "adhesive" when left out. Having said that, they have learned that it's either tuna or chicken kd for wet food, so on chicken flavor days they eat more dry NF food and less of the "treat".
Date published: 2017-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding product & highly digestible I have a private cat rescue & use Science Diet K/D prescription canned as well as Royal Canin Renal Support prescription canned for cats with kidney disease, renal failure, & others that may be temporarily ill with a bad appetite. Our kitties love it! & it is palatable,gentle, & highly digestible.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from k/d canned food I was suppose to order the tuna/vegetable canned food. My cat that was suppose to eat this will not eat the chicken. However, the other cats that do not need to eat special prescription canned food loved it. Why are none of us surprised. Have since changed my order to tuna.
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Prescription Kidney Care Cat Food This particular brand of cat food was prescribed by my vet, because my cat is experiencing renal failure. She loves this food, and it's much more affordable through Chewy than at our local pet stores! I'll definitely order this again!
Date published: 2016-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats like it When my cat likes something for more than a week I have nothing bad to say about it. This has a nice smooth texture which he likes I add some water because he needs extra water, mix it around and he gobbles it up. He really likes it.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from For kidney failure Cat just diagnosed with renal failure was eating delicious Merrick grain free food. At first he ate this heartily. Now he either hates it or he's getting too sick to eat. Pate consistency is nice.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My cats don't finish the food in the can My two cats will eat some of the food in the can in 1 to 3 days, but they never finish it all. I throw out 1/4 to 1/3 of the food. They prefer the dry food made by the same company.
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped My Kitties Both my senior kitties are on this diet now, and they like it. I have already seen an improvement in the appearance of their coats, and it has only been a month.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from read label! There are 2 different types of K/D cans. Kitty was very clear that he preferred the other which i didn't realize until after I ordered. Be careful when ordering
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cat likes the Chicken KD At first he really gobbled up this Chicken KD. Later he has slowed down, it is no longer his favorite. But he still eats some.
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our 9 year old just loves it! Was worried that our senior adopted missy would have a problem adjusting to a new prescription diet..she loves it
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good price Good price - good food - excellent packaging. I am very happy with chewy.com. The product arrives within 2 days.
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This is one of the best products for elderly cats or cat that are staring kidney failure. My cats love it.
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cat approved I was concerned our cat would not like this food due to it being prescription. But, she really likes it.
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat loves this food Excellent see an immediate change in my cat weight and has more energy
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cat doesn't like it My cat does't like this food and he's usually not very fussy.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product and service! Everything was handled 1st class! Thank you, Jim Polson
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy! I was giving my cat Hill's Prescription Diet k/d - fish flavored canned food. I decided to change to the chicken flavor. My cat really likes it and eats it all. She used to leave some or most of the fish flavor. I don't know if she was tired of it, but she sure gobbles all the chicken flavor I give her. Again, she might be glad for a change, but in any case, this is good stuff. Her kidneys are great.
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I highly recommend hills k/d chicken moist food My 14 year old male cat was recently diagnosed with limited kidney function. He was losing weight, losing his appetite and slowing down. The Vet highly recommended hills k/d formula moist food. He absolutely loves it, cant get enough. Within a few days he was a new cat. He inhales his food and tears through the house. He plays with his toys and runs around with our other cat.
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doctor recommended The Chewy staff was very helpful. They called my vet to get the prescription so my order could be completed.
Date published: 2013-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good product to aid in kidney disease I've been using this product for years for my cat and she's certainly benefitted from it as she'll be 21 years old in Sept. Not a bad record for this tough old gal! Altho her kidney disease is slowly progressing, this product does help to extend her quality of life and I'm pleased she's doing so well.
Date published: 2014-08-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Necessary, I suppose. Had to put cat on a low phosphorous diet for her kidneys. She eats this food reluctantly. Clearly she doesn't like it as she licks it a little and walks away. She comes back often as it's the only food available to her. She's 16 years old, and I've had her for her entire life so I know when she likes and dislikes a food. This food she dislikes. Also, for the high price, they seem to use a lot of garbage ingredients (Pork By-Products, Brewers Rice, Corn Starch, Glucose). If anyone knows a canned low phosphorus food that cats like better, please post. I'd love to give her something she likes better.
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price for Hill's K/D cat food I purchased a case of Hill's K/D cat food for a great price. Much cheaper than what my Vet charges!
Date published: 2013-12-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My cats like it. I mix it up with the ocean k/d. They like it better that way. Some batches smell fresher than others. I think they added more moisture to the recipe than what I've seen a year ago. And that's a good thing for a kidney patient.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Food My cat has slight kidney issues and my vet recommended this food, she loves both the dry and wet food!
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vet recommended This product seems to be helping my 16-year-old kitty with her kidney issues. Chewy.com was definitely the best buy and fast service. Thank you.
Date published: 2014-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product and even better customer service! I have a 14 your old male cat who has been living with chronic kidney disease. He loves this food! I alternate with a high quality conventional non-prescription food every few days, but this is his main brand. Even better than the food was the service I received from Chewy when I goofed and accidentally bought a type of food that bothered my cat's allergies. :-/ In less than 30 minutes Doug had heard my problem, refunded my costs for the case of allergen-laden food, asked me to donate the remainder to a shelter, helped me pick out a food that my cat could tolerate, called my vet for approval, and shipped it to me in less than 24 hours. I'm so impressed. Thank you, Doug!
Date published: 2016-04-12
  • y_2017, m_2, d_18, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_156
  • loc_en_US, sid_69648, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrchewy