Loading...

Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Canned Cat Food, 5.5-oz, case of 24

  • Price:

    $48.99 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping over $49

In stock
- Quantity +

Description

The Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Canned Cat Food is clinically proven nutrition that can help transform your pet’s life. As pets age, damage to the kidney tissues may occur, which affects the kidney’s role to function properly and filter toxins and waste from the blood. It is irreversible, and will lead to further loss of kidney function. This may also decrease their appetite, which could eventually result in the loss of muscle mass. And so the Hill’s nutritionists and veterinarians created this special diet, which supports your cat’s kidney function and helps to sustain muscle mass—in fact, the nutrition of k/d is clinically tested to improve and lengthen the quality of life.

Key Benefits

  • Protects vital kidney and heart function with proven nutrition developed by nutritionists and veterinarians.
  • Stimulates appetite and increases caloric intake, and supports the natural ability to build lean muscle daily.
  • Made with controlled phosphorus and low sodium, plus therapeutic levels of l-carnitine and omega-3 fatty acids.
  • Also includes high levels of essential amino acids, which are the building blocks of protein.
  • Made in USA and clinically tested to improve and lengthen the quality of life.

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69844
  • Food Texture
    Pate
  • Brand
    Hill's, Science Diet
  • Food Form
    Wet Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Water, Pork Liver, Chicken, Egg Product, Brewers Rice, Sugar, Chicken Fat, Chicken Liver Flavor, Modified Rice Starch, Powdered Cellulose, Fish Oil, Calcium Sulfate, Potassium Citrate, Guar Gum, Soybean Oil, Natural Flavor, Caramel color, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Niacin Supplement, Ascorbic Acid (source of Vitamin C), Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Vitamin A Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Folic Acid, Menadione Sodium Bisulfite Complex (source of Vitamin K), Vitamin D3 Supplement), Taurine, Dicalcium Phosphate, Potassium Chloride, L-Arginine, L-Carnitine, minerals (Zinc Oxide, Ferrous Sulfate, Manganese Sulfate, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate), Choline Chloride, Beta-Carotene.

Caloric Content

  1. 177 kcal/ 5.5 oz can
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 6.0% min
Crude Fat 4% min
Crude Fiber 1.5% max

Feeding Instructions

Weight of Cat – lb (kg) Amount per Day
6 lb (2,7 kg) 1 can
8 lb (3,6 kg) 1 1/4 cans
10 lb (4,5 kg) 1 1/2 cans
12 lb (5,4 kg) 1 2/3 cans
14 lb (6,4 kg) 2 cans
16 lb (7,3 kg) 2 cans
18 lb (8,2 kg) 2 1/3 cans

Transition Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Cover and refrigerate unused portion. Gradually transition to your pet's new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, canned food & treats. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pet's condition.

Pet Lovers Also Bought

Customer Reviews

Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Canned Cat Food is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 162.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This flavor works well for our fussy 17 yr old boy This cat has had kidney issues most of his life and been on several dry kidney foods. With worsening kidney function his appetite hit the skids and vet recommended canned food to aid w/water intake and gave us samples to see what he would like. Hill's PD is his favorite. Last vet visit he had bun and creatine levels in the normal range so fingers crossed.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cat actually eats it! Ive had any cats over the yrs. that prescription diets have been recommended for . Usually the cats wont eat it. But surprisingly my cat IS eating this! And the new formula is a nice soft pate. The old version had hard lumps in it. And usually they were left on the plate. I am very happy with this new formula. And best of all my cat is too!
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not great tasting See my review on the tuna flavor. By comparison, this is often left in the dish. Tends to become very -- well -- "adhesive" when left out. Having said that, they have learned that it's either tuna or chicken kd for wet food, so on chicken flavor days they eat more dry NF food and less of the "treat".
Date published: 2017-02-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hills Kidney Cat Food Our poor cat needs a kidney diet cat food but he really does not want to eat it. We purchased this food at the Vet's recommendation but I guess no one talked to the cats that have to eat it. This is not a negative comment against Chewy as they handled the order well and delivered it quickly.
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding product & highly digestible I have a private cat rescue & use Science Diet K/D prescription canned as well as Royal Canin Renal Support prescription canned for cats with kidney disease, renal failure, & others that may be temporarily ill with a bad appetite. Our kitties love it! & it is palatable,gentle, & highly digestible.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats like it When my cat likes something for more than a week I have nothing bad to say about it. This has a nice smooth texture which he likes I add some water because he needs extra water, mix it around and he gobbles it up. He really likes it.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from For kidney failure Cat just diagnosed with renal failure was eating delicious Merrick grain free food. At first he ate this heartily. Now he either hates it or he's getting too sick to eat. Pate consistency is nice.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My cats don't finish the food in the can My two cats will eat some of the food in the can in 1 to 3 days, but they never finish it all. I throw out 1/4 to 1/3 of the food. They prefer the dry food made by the same company.
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kitties like it! I have 7 yr old male kitty and a 22 yr old female and it appears to be appetizing and satisfying to both kitties although I wish it wasn't quite so satisfying to my 7 yr old guy because he doesn't need the calories! My tiny old lady kitty needs all the calories she can get but unfortunately there is not much we can do to improve her ailing kidneys - the digestive issues remain even with the "id" Prescription. I am happy that they both eat it and they are living proof that good food prolongs their life.
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from read label! There are 2 different types of K/D cans. Kitty was very clear that he preferred the other which i didn't realize until after I ordered. Be careful when ordering
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Although prescribed by her Vet, our cat, Runt, doesn't like the taste of this food. Runt prefers regular cat food to this kind. But, this is the food that was prescribed for her by her Vet. So, this is what she gets.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our 9 year old just loves it! Was worried that our senior adopted missy would have a problem adjusting to a new prescription diet..she loves it
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good price Good price - good food - excellent packaging. I am very happy with chewy.com. The product arrives within 2 days.
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This is one of the best products for elderly cats or cat that are staring kidney failure. My cats love it.
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cat approved I was concerned our cat would not like this food due to it being prescription. But, she really likes it.
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat loves this food Excellent see an immediate change in my cat weight and has more energy
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeping my girl feeling well. I highly recommend Vet recommended & my girl is feeling better. I highly recommend
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product and service! Everything was handled 1st class! Thank you, Jim Polson
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy! I was giving my cat Hill's Prescription Diet k/d - fish flavored canned food. I decided to change to the chicken flavor. My cat really likes it and eats it all. She used to leave some or most of the fish flavor. I don't know if she was tired of it, but she sure gobbles all the chicken flavor I give her. Again, she might be glad for a change, but in any case, this is good stuff. Her kidneys are great.
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I highly recommend hills k/d chicken moist food My 14 year old male cat was recently diagnosed with limited kidney function. He was losing weight, losing his appetite and slowing down. The Vet highly recommended hills k/d formula moist food. He absolutely loves it, cant get enough. Within a few days he was a new cat. He inhales his food and tears through the house. He plays with his toys and runs around with our other cat.
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doctor recommended The Chewy staff was very helpful. They called my vet to get the prescription so my order could be completed.
Date published: 2013-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good product to aid in kidney disease I've been using this product for years for my cat and she's certainly benefitted from it as she'll be 21 years old in Sept. Not a bad record for this tough old gal! Altho her kidney disease is slowly progressing, this product does help to extend her quality of life and I'm pleased she's doing so well.
Date published: 2014-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product and even better customer service! I have a 14 your old male cat who has been living with chronic kidney disease. He loves this food! I alternate with a high quality conventional non-prescription food every few days, but this is his main brand. Even better than the food was the service I received from Chewy when I goofed and accidentally bought a type of food that bothered my cat's allergies. :-/ In less than 30 minutes Doug had heard my problem, refunded my costs for the case of allergen-laden food, asked me to donate the remainder to a shelter, helped me pick out a food that my cat could tolerate, called my vet for approval, and shipped it to me in less than 24 hours. I'm so impressed. Thank you, Doug!
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Necessary, I suppose. Had to put cat on a low phosphorous diet for her kidneys. She eats this food reluctantly. Clearly she doesn't like it as she licks it a little and walks away. She comes back often as it's the only food available to her. She's 16 years old, and I've had her for her entire life so I know when she likes and dislikes a food. This food she dislikes. Also, for the high price, they seem to use a lot of garbage ingredients (Pork By-Products, Brewers Rice, Corn Starch, Glucose). If anyone knows a canned low phosphorus food that cats like better, please post. I'd love to give her something she likes better.
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price for Hill's K/D cat food I purchased a case of Hill's K/D cat food for a great price. Much cheaper than what my Vet charges!
Date published: 2013-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a great Chewy service. I've tried other online stores for Rx pet food, but none of them compare to Chewy's ability to get you what you need with such a fast turn around time.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vet recommended This product seems to be helping my 16-year-old kitty with her kidney issues. Chewy.com was definitely the best buy and fast service. Thank you.
Date published: 2014-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat loves this food My cat is 15 yrs old and was diagnosed a little over a year ago with Kidney issues and was put on this diet. It seems to be working great for her as her last labs showed that things were stable and in some areas had improved. I was getting the food from the Vet's office but I was having to stop frequently and it was becoming a real hassle to get the food she needed. I started ordering the canned food from Chewy and found out how easy it was to get it delivered to my door that I decided to continue getting it delivered and even started getting the dry food also. Not only is it convenient having it delivered but it was less expensive than getting it at the Vet's office. I plan on continuing to order from Chewy for as long as I have my kitty as I like being able to save time and money.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the one he'll eat! Tony is my 17 year old baby! His pure gray coat is not as silky as it once was and he walks a little slower...but so do I. He still jumps on to the couch and settles into my lap as always and each day with him is special. But he started losing weight and was found to have kidney disease. And to my surprise, I learned that protein was not good for his kidneys. At first the Vet put him on Royal Kanin renal but Tony did not like it at all... he's spoiled but he MUST eat! I'm so relieved that he's found a cat foof that will help him an he actually likes. I'd do anything to make my little guy happy!
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm amazed! When our vet put my 17-1/2 year old cat on this Hill's diet, I was really worried. Shelby was always such a picky eater & would go without or scrounge around the neighborhood for food before she'd eat most new foods. I also had to rotate flavors or she'd stop eating. I was expecting a huge fight or a very sick cat--but she loves it!! And the fact that there's only one flavor hasn't bothered her a bit! She begs for more!
Date published: 2013-10-24
  • y_2017, m_3, d_29, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_162
  • loc_en_US, sid_69648, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrchewy