Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Canned Cat Food, 5.5-oz, case of 24

  • List Price:

    $64.99

  • Price:

    $45.58 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping over $49

  • You Save:

    $19.41 (30%)

In stock
- Quantity +

Description

Kidneys are important because they remove waste substances from the blood, and maintain the normal balance of fluid and minerals within the body. Once kidney damage occurs, the consequences are usually irreversible. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet k/d, clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your cat's kidney health. In fact, k/d is clinically tested nutrition to improve & lengthen quality of life.

Key Benefits

  • Protects vital kidney & heart function
  • Boosts vitality & energy
  • Supports appetite & eating enjoyment
  • Sustains healthy body condition
  • Targeted levels of high quality protein
  • Controlled phosphorus
  • Low sodium
  • Lean muscle support complex

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69844
  • Food Texture
    Pate
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Food Form
    Wet Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Water, Pork Liver, Chicken, Pork By-Products, Brewers Rice, Oat Fiber, Corn Starch, Chicken Fat, Dextrose, Potassium Citrate, Psyllium Seed Husk, Guar Gum, Calcium Carbonate, Calcium Sulfate, Fish Oil, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Ascorbic Acid (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid), Dl-Methionine, Choline Chloride, Taurine, Iodized Salt, Cysteine, Glycine, Minerals (Zinc Oxide, Ferrous Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Beta-Carotene.

Caloric Content

  1. 183 kcal/5.5 oz can
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 6.5% min
Crude Fat 5.5% min
Crude Fiber 1.2% max

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Cover and refrigerate unused portion Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, canned food & treats. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet lovers also bought...

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 127 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what the doctor ordered My vet recommended this food when it was discovered my cat's kidneys were not optimally performing. The ease with which I was able to order, and definitely the price will keep me coming back! August 11, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Why chicken when you can have tuna in gravy with vegetables? My elderly cat was diagnosed with kidney failure after having a blood test to see if his body would tolerate anesthesia for root removal on a rotting tooth. We have fed him kibble all his life. (Truth be told, he refused for the longest time to eat anything but.) He had been losing weight, because it hurt him to eat his kibble. As a result, we decided we needed to take the wet food route. I thought by purchasing this product I would have something "not quite so rich" for my older cat. It also comes in bigger cans which is a boon volume/cost wise. We can get two meals from one can. I figured wet food is wet food; what will it matter? Apparently, it matters. While the prescriptive benefits are there, he prefers the texture and flavor of the tuna and vegetable stew with gravy in this same brand. This product (Chicken) is not eaten well, and I am having to mix some Fancy Feast Signature in with it so he will "take his medicine." This defeats the purpose for which it was purchased. I'm having to double up on food so he will eat the one he needs. Spend the little bit extra for the "fancier" yet smaller cans of this brand. You will feel your money more well spent. May 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Canned Cat Food My Laser loves his Chicken canned food he likes pate cat food,easy for him to chew due to his age Laser is 16yrs young. Happy I found your website. I now see your commercial on TV , like the Auto ship and the price. Don't have to leave the house just go online. Great communications. Thanks chewy August 5, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great customer service, cat just doesn't like it Chewy is amazing. Great customer service.. Food came in 2 days. Unfortunately my cat doesn't like this soft food. He just will not eat it. My other cats who don't need it will eat it. He likes the Hills kd hard food though. It must be a hit or miss with this product. July 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Moe loves it! I was afraid to spend the money if she hated it so I got one can of each flavor from my vet. She ate it so ordered in bulk. Great price and fast shipping! June 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pricey, but cat does very well on it. It's the only prescription canned cat food my cat will eat - he likes it a lot. Good, because he's 13 and has a number of health problems. He needs canned cat food because additional meds need to be mixed in June 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product and even better customer service! I have a 14 your old male cat who has been living with chronic kidney disease. He loves this food! I alternate with a high quality conventional non-prescription food every few days, but this is his main brand. Even better than the food was the service I received from Chewy when I goofed and accidentally bought a type of food that bothered my cat's allergies. :-/ In less than 30 minutes Doug had heard my problem, refunded my costs for the case of allergen-laden food, asked me to donate the remainder to a shelter, helped me pick out a food that my cat could tolerate, called my vet for approval, and shipped it to me in less than 24 hours. I'm so impressed. Thank you, Doug! April 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cat loves it! Our cat is over 15 years old, and the Hill's K/D chicken canned cat food is new to him. He loves it and will not stop begging for more. A prescription from our vet is required for purchase as this cat food is designed to help kidney function in older cats. So far, so good! June 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by this product seems appealing to my cats Product seems pleasing to my cats. They seem to enjoy it June 13, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Uneaten My cat literally would have starved rather than eat this. Thanks goodness for the chicken and veg. Stew. June 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't Get Enough My kidney diet kitties can't get enough. They love it! May 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My picky eater loves it My older cat was recently diagnosed with kidney disease. The vet gave us Purina NF but he wouldn't touch it. I purchased the Hills based on customer reviews & it was a hit. May 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great price, great product & great service. Our 22 yr old Maine coon really likes the chicken renal diet. He scarfs it down and wants more. The price for this product was the best on the web. Fast delivery too. April 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by They like it :) My cats love this more than the other KD flavors.. April 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My ill Maine Coon does well on this. Our 13 year old cat was diagnosed with fluid on the lungs and possible heart failure. He has been put on various meds and the vet prescribed this Hills kd food to protect his kidneys. He eats one to 1 to 1 1/2 food tins daily (5.5 oz chicken) with the dry food and is doing much better. We tried him on the smaller chicken with vegetable tin which he'll eat but he seems to prefer the consistency of the larger tin. March 6, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stanley, Oliver and Gizmo love this food. One kitty has the kidney problems, but the other two lap it up too. My kitties love this product. April 5, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Big success Our CKD cat eats this flavor. While she devours the fish k/d, this also disappears! Our cat never was a big chicken flavored cat food girl. So I was nervous about purchasing this flavor, but not any more. March 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Fussy Feline Adores this Product My cat has a kidney ailment but gobbles this up, even though I mix his Meds in with it. I have to lock the other cat in the other room or they'll fight over it. What little remnants are left I leave out for the raccoons and they polish the can until it shines. This is great stuff. The fish flavor is popular with my furry charges as well. March 2, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by My cat really enjoys eating this This product was recommended by his vet and also this website. He usually doesn't like the "pate" style wet food but enjoys how this tastes. March 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by He likes it! Getting cats to eat a prescription diet can be trying at the best of times. And when your cat has Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) and you are hoping he lives as long as possible, you are desperate to find a kidney diet he will eat! Luckily, The Zach Attack (or "Zach" for short) loves k/d wet food. He has an esophageal problem, and cannot eat the kibble, which he would actually prefer. So finding something he likes and eats is important. Cats can be finicky, and I know some cats won't touch this stuff - but I know I'm happy with the product, and so is Zach. December 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cats love it I wasn't sure if they'd like this as they're more into the stew dishes but they both love this. March 12, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Cat Likes It My elderly cat lost alot of weight & is always hungry but she is missing some teeth. The Hill's kidney diet was recommended by my veterinarian. It is easy to digest & my cat likes the taste. I'm glad I found something to keep her happy. I sometimes mix in a spoonful of another flavor of wet catfood to change up the taste for her. February 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finicky Cat I have the most finicky cat in the world. I have to go extra steps to get him to eat. He is now eating the pate and doing well with it. March 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by You'd think catnip was a secret ingredient! our cat loves this so much, she will actually sit in front of the fridge until we give her more. The vet said she might tire of it, but so far, she's licking the bowl clean every time. February 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by good for health Once the prescription was to Chewy we were able to have the food shipped. Our one cat is in need of this variety of food. It is very easy to do as we live north and south each year. It works really well. Thank you February 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stabilized Kidney Condition in Elderly Cat On recommendation of my vet, I bought Hill Prescription k/d for my old kitty. Murphy's lost 25% efficiency in his kidneys but for 17, that's not all bad. The Hills enabled him to stabilize with 48 hours and he can't get enough of the chicken pate. Add the second-to-none customer service from Chewy.com, and my beloved animal companion will be with me well into the New Year--for which I'm profoundly thankful. Thanks! John December 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just starting. My cat just began eating the k/d food. She has been eating turkey and chicken with gravy, so she turned her nose up at the k/d. I started mixing a bit of the k/d with the gravy food and she has begun eating it. I hope to be able to withdraw all the turkey & chicken w/gravy as I add more of the k/d. If that doesn't work, I will need advice on that to do. January 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat's kidneys purr My vet put all three of my cats (9-12 years old) on this PLUS has me mix water in with it, since felines don't drink enough. She says, technically, all cats should be on wet food as a preemptive measure. The cats love it. I just don't like the smell and prep. January 10, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good cat food My cat has kidney disease and has been eating this but I have to add some chicken broth to entice her to eat it (and she does). January 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by We are grateful to have our Maggie, our 12.5 year old feline playing and sleeping next to us again We chose Chewy because they were the best priced, email with tracking on same day of order, and Chewy delivered Hills Prescription k/d promptly. Thank you. By the 2nd day of k/d diet she stopped throwing up after eating and now it's just the usual fur balls about 3 times a week. By all appearances it looks like we may have another year or two of enjoyment with her. Maggie has been on the K/D Feline Renal diet for 2 weeks now and has been acting frisky and affectionate. While I have not tasted her k/d food (yet), it actually smells very good and is the best quality I have seen in a wet food diet for felines. All the Best May 30, 2014
  • 2016-10-31 T07:02:51.347-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_127, tr_127
  • loc_en_US, sid_69648, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>