Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Canned Cat Food, 5.5-oz, case of 24

- Quantity +
  • List Price:

    $64.99

  • Price:

    $45.58 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping over $49

  • You Save:

    $19.41 (30%)

In stock

Description

  • Item Number
    69844
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Food Form
    Wet Food
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult

Kidneys are important because they remove waste substances from the blood, and maintain the normal balance of fluid and minerals within the body. Once kidney damage occurs, the consequences are usually irreversible. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet k/d, clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your cat's kidney health. In fact, k/d is clinically tested nutrition to improve & lengthen quality of life.

Key Benefits

  • Protects vital kidney & heart function
  • Boosts vitality & energy
  • Supports appetite & eating enjoyment
  • Sustains healthy body condition
  • Targeted levels of high quality protein
  • Controlled phosphorus
  • Low sodium
  • Lean muscle support complex

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Ingredients

Water, Pork Liver, Chicken, Pork By-Products, Brewers Rice, Oat Fiber, Corn Starch, Chicken Fat, Dextrose, Potassium Citrate, Psyllium Seed Husk, Guar Gum, Calcium Carbonate, Calcium Sulfate, Fish Oil, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Ascorbic Acid (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid), Dl-Methionine, Choline Chloride, Taurine, Iodized Salt, Cysteine, Glycine, Minerals (Zinc Oxide, Ferrous Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Beta-Carotene.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 202 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't Get Enough My kidney diet kitties can't get enough. They love it! May 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved my cat's life!!! We thought that our soon to be 18 year old cat, Tigger, was dying. He became so skinny, was stumbling and intermittently had an arched, locked up neck. He would just lay in his cat bed that I had on the floor near the heat register. I took him to the vet to see if it was time to say goodbye to my old pal. The vet ran bloodwork. Tigger's kidneys were functionng at half rate and could not filter things. For the past four months, Tigger has eaten both the dry and canned chicken k/d feline renal health cat food. He seemed to instantly get better when he started eating this food. He is now jumping from my bedroom dresser to my bed and never sleeps in that little cat bed on the floor anymore! Anyway, this cat food really has saved my now 18 year old cat's life. There is NO doubt in my mind about this. Thanks Hill's Pet Nutrition! Awesome, life saving cat food. Oh, Tigger really seems to enjoy the taste of this cat food as well. June 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat says Yum! My senior cat with chronic kidney disease and pancreatitis, who has always eaten canned food, started eating prescription renal food a few months ago. He liked another brand fine. A few weeks ago I offered him Hill's, just as a test, and he could hardly stop eating it! Now I alternate, or mix, the two brands. Hill's has lower protein, phosphorus, and sodium than the other prescription brand, and it has the slightly higher fat content that he loves. I'm careful about his fat intake because of the pancreatitis; so far it's going well for him. I mix his canned food with warmish water, using a stick mixer, to make a soup that he eagerly laps up. He also gets sub-q fluids every second day, frequent checkups and testing, and supplements as recommended. BTW, for anyone whose cat has CKD, the website Tanya's Comprehensive Guide to Feline Chronic Kidney Disease is invaluable as you consult with your vet in your cat's best interest. (And it's the website from which I learned about Chewy.com, which is in the best interest of my wallet!) March 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product and even better customer service! I have a 14 your old male cat who has been living with chronic kidney disease. He loves this food! I alternate with a high quality conventional non-prescription food every few days, but this is his main brand. Even better than the food was the service I received from Chewy when I goofed and accidentally bought a type of food that bothered my cat's allergies. :-/ In less than 30 minutes Doug had heard my problem, refunded my costs for the case of allergen-laden food, asked me to donate the remainder to a shelter, helped me pick out a food that my cat could tolerate, called my vet for approval, and shipped it to me in less than 24 hours. I'm so impressed. Thank you, Doug! April 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My picky eater loves it My older cat was recently diagnosed with kidney disease. The vet gave us Purina NF but he wouldn't touch it. I purchased the Hills based on customer reviews & it was a hit. May 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great price, great product & great service. Our 22 yr old Maine coon really likes the chicken renal diet. He scarfs it down and wants more. The price for this product was the best on the web. Fast delivery too. April 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by They like it :) My cats love this more than the other KD flavors.. April 8, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stanley, Oliver and Gizmo love this food. One kitty has the kidney problems, but the other two lap it up too. My kitties love this product. April 5, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Big success Our CKD cat eats this flavor. While she devours the fish k/d, this also disappears! Our cat never was a big chicken flavored cat food girl. So I was nervous about purchasing this flavor, but not any more. March 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My ill Maine Coon does well on this. Our 13 year old cat was diagnosed with fluid on the lungs and possible heart failure. He has been put on various meds and the vet prescribed this Hills kd food to protect his kidneys. He eats one to 1 to 1 1/2 food tins daily (5.5 oz chicken) with the dry food and is doing much better. We tried him on the smaller chicken with vegetable tin which he'll eat but he seems to prefer the consistency of the larger tin. March 6, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by My cat really enjoys eating this This product was recommended by his vet and also this website. He usually doesn't like the "pate" style wet food but enjoys how this tastes. March 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Fussy Feline Adores this Product My cat has a kidney ailment but gobbles this up, even though I mix his Meds in with it. I have to lock the other cat in the other room or they'll fight over it. What little remnants are left I leave out for the raccoons and they polish the can until it shines. This is great stuff. The fish flavor is popular with my furry charges as well. March 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cats love it I wasn't sure if they'd like this as they're more into the stew dishes but they both love this. March 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finicky Cat I have the most finicky cat in the world. I have to go extra steps to get him to eat. He is now eating the pate and doing well with it. March 1, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Cat Likes It My elderly cat lost alot of weight & is always hungry but she is missing some teeth. The Hill's kidney diet was recommended by my veterinarian. It is easy to digest & my cat likes the taste. I'm glad I found something to keep her happy. I sometimes mix in a spoonful of another flavor of wet catfood to change up the taste for her. February 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by You'd think catnip was a secret ingredient! our cat loves this so much, she will actually sit in front of the fridge until we give her more. The vet said she might tire of it, but so far, she's licking the bowl clean every time. February 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by good for health Once the prescription was to Chewy we were able to have the food shipped. Our one cat is in need of this variety of food. It is very easy to do as we live north and south each year. It works really well. Thank you February 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hills Prescription Food really works! I've had a number of pets over the years on many of Hill's Prescription diets. I've been a vet tech fof 14 years; I have full trust in the quality of Hill's products. Both my dogs and cats have never turned their noses up...very palatable. I firmly believe that Hills food has extended the lives of my pets over the years! Thank you!~ December 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by He likes it! Getting cats to eat a prescription diet can be trying at the best of times. And when your cat has Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) and you are hoping he lives as long as possible, you are desperate to find a kidney diet he will eat! Luckily, The Zach Attack (or "Zach" for short) loves k/d wet food. He has an esophageal problem, and cannot eat the kibble, which he would actually prefer. So finding something he likes and eats is important. Cats can be finicky, and I know some cats won't touch this stuff - but I know I'm happy with the product, and so is Zach. December 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good cat food My cat has kidney disease and has been eating this but I have to add some chicken broth to entice her to eat it (and she does). January 22, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Our 19yr old Princess doesn't like it at all! Our 19-1/2 yr old Princess domestic shorthair has just been diagnosed with Kidney disease. she's lost weight and her labs are high. As a result, she's been put on this food. She loves the dry, but this chicken leaves much to be desired. She tried it the first time and wouldn't go near it again even when we heated it up in the microwave. she favors seafood, so we weren't surprised when she turned her nose up at this one, but for the price and the reason for it, we were hoping she'd eat it. We're hoping she'll like the oceanfish one. As a result, we can't recommend it. Over the years, we've have different dogs and cats that were put on various RX diets for different reasons and when it came to eating them, our animals turned their noses up to them. January 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stabilized Kidney Condition in Elderly Cat On recommendation of my vet, I bought Hill Prescription k/d for my old kitty. Murphy's lost 25% efficiency in his kidneys but for 17, that's not all bad. The Hills enabled him to stabilize with 48 hours and he can't get enough of the chicken pate. Add the second-to-none customer service from Chewy.com, and my beloved animal companion will be with me well into the New Year--for which I'm profoundly thankful. Thanks! John December 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat's kidneys purr My vet put all three of my cats (9-12 years old) on this PLUS has me mix water in with it, since felines don't drink enough. She says, technically, all cats should be on wet food as a preemptive measure. The cats love it. I just don't like the smell and prep. January 10, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just starting. My cat just began eating the k/d food. She has been eating turkey and chicken with gravy, so she turned her nose up at the k/d. I started mixing a bit of the k/d with the gravy food and she has begun eating it. I hope to be able to withdraw all the turkey & chicken w/gravy as I add more of the k/d. If that doesn't work, I will need advice on that to do. January 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cats LOVE It! My 13 and 14 year old cats love the food and it doesn't smell awful like the Ocean Fish flavor. Win-Win for all! January 15, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Bubba Bear is in kidney failure so needs this I am so grateful that a product exists to help my poor little baby. He has had a hard life. I was his 4th foster mom (from the shelter) in a year - but I kept him, and have had him for over a year now. He is used to free food, and treats, and he knows to come and lick my face when he wants his wet food. Now he will be eating k/d exclusively. So far he is in an adjustment period, he seemed to like it at first, but now I think he wants his other wet food back! I have ordered 2 more cases, in different flavors (tuna and chicken) hoping to see if I can find something he prefers. August 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat likes it Feline renal food has begun to get more flavor and texture options over the last year. While my cat enjoys this, she still likes the standard chicken flavor pate. This is a little softer than most other canned pate I'm used to, but she doesn't mind. December 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Didn't know there were different flavors. I didn't know the cans came in all these flavors. I think my vet only carries one flavor. My cat follows us around and begs to be fed this canned food. We give her some morning and night and she is always ready to eat. I really would like to have more coupons available, or a lower price for the product. I feel I am trapped into buying because of her health condition, and the price is definitely much higher than other foods. September 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by This she eats. We first tried the chicken&veg and tuna@veg stews, but she wasn't interested in them. She would ignore them in favor of the other cats' food. She would eventually eat a stew, but only after the other food was consumed. This she will eat right off. She will still swipe the other food, but at least she starts off with the right stuff. December 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Kidney Failure My cat is 16 years old and was constantly throwing up on the moist food she ate twice a day. Took her to the vet and she was diagnosed with kidney failure. Vet recommended this food for her. She gobbled up this food for the first 6 months and has only vomited maybe a handful of times now. This past month she has started to not have an appetite now. I wish there was more of a variety for her to eat in this type of food. I have started to mix very little regular moist food with this moist food and she now has an appetite again with no vomiting. I know this food has helped her and it is a little pricey compared to the regular moist food but she's worth the extra money. September 26, 2013
  • 2016-07-24 T13:00:56.517-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_202, tr_202
  • loc_en_US, sid_69648, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>