Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Dry Cat Food

  • List Price:

    $61.99

  • Price:

    $43.16 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping over $49

  • You Save:

    $18.83 (30%)

In stock
8.5-lb bag
  • 4-lb bag
  • 8.5-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

Kidneys are important because they remove waste substances from the blood, and maintain the normal balance of fluid and minerals within the body. Once kidney damage occurs, the consequences are usually irreversible. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet k/d, clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your cat's kidney health. In fact, k/d is clinically tested nutrition to improve and lengthen quality of life.

Key Benefits

  • Targeted levels of high quality protein work to reduced levels of protein to help reduce kidney workload and reduced phosphorus helps maintain healthy kidney function and minimize stress on kidneys
  • Reduced sodium to help maintain normal blood pressure while increased levels of omega-3 fatty acids support kidney health
  • Increased levels of B-complex vitamins compensate urinary losses
  • Boosts vitality and energy while supporting appetite and eating enjoying
  • Protects vital kidney & heart function and sustains healthy body condition

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69843
  • Weight
    8.5 pounds
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Chicken, Brewers Rice, Corn Gluten Meal, Whole Grain Wheat, Pork Fat, Brown Rice, Wheat Gluten, Chicken Liver Flavor, Dried Beet Pulp, Flaxseed, Egg Product, Lactic Acid, Calcium Carbonate, Soybean Oil, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Potassium Citrate, Dl-Methionine, Dicalcium Phosphate, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Taurine, L-Lysine, Calcium Sulfate, Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, L-Tryptophan, Iodized Salt, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Caloric Content

  1. 521 kcal/cup
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 24.0% min
Crude Protein 29.0% max
Crude Fat 19.0% min
Crude Fiber 4.0% max
Calcium 0.5% min
Phosphorus 0.3% min
Phosphorus 0.75% max
Sodium 0.29% max
Magnesium 0.1% max
Taurine 0.08% min
Vitamin C 85 ppm min
Vitamin E 550 IU/kg min

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, canned food & treats. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet lovers also bought...

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 214 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the money! One of my kitties was prescribed this diet to help protect her kidneys. Luckily, all 3 of our cats love it! It's spendy, but worth it. She's doing great, and all the cats can now have healthier kidney function. October 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cats gobble it up My vet prescribed this food for my cat's kidney failure. Since he had eaten only one food for 15 years I feared he hate it. Well, he loves it and the other cats are all angling to get in his bowl too! October 8, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by good product even though I don't like the bye product issue, my cat loves the dry food, and I do need to help her out. October 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good stuff. We changed the Princess Missie-poo's food at her vet's suggestion. She likes this so much that it's replaced her treats. She just eats a few kibbles from my hand instead of treats, even tho there's a bowl full available. Cats! lolz September 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Looks great and Bertha goes crazy for it Can't say I've tried it but the vet recommended we give Bertha this food as she has gotten older and her kidneys are strained a bit more. She seems happy when her bowl of food arrives. She squawks with delight and goes to work on her prescription food. September 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by works great for my cat! Just what I needed when my cat really needed it. Great service! September 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cats loved the taste Unfortunately, I started it too late for Genghis, who already had kidney failure. I should have been feeding him high quality food from birth. He was only 12 years old. I will feed it to my other 3 cats now. I'll have to change my user name to 2cats and a kitten. September 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Needed nutrients This cat food is very much needed for my 18 yr old cat that is having some problems with his kidneys. My cat has some kidney stones (very small) but are not causing any blockage and I want to keep it that way. This food has Omega 3 fatty acids and Omega 6 that will help his health and kidneys. He loves this food and has no problem keeping it down with his sensitive stomach. September 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat loves it My cat enjoys the food so much I am ordering larger bags. September 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat loves this flavor Our 14 year old cat with kidney failure loves this flavor, but doesn't like the ocean flavor. My other cat, who is healthy, tries to steal her food. September 17, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by My cat loves it My cat gobbles it up. Very easy process ordering and Chewy contacted my vet for the prescription. September 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by necessary K/D food, extremely efficient ordering, fast delivery, exceptionally friendly service! Chewy goes up, over, and beyond any customer's expectation! I ordered the necessary K/D food and litter pans for our 18.5 yo cat. I just mentioned at ordering time (Tues.) that I needed to receive Saturday. It was to be New Year's Holiday on Friday. Chewy said they could ship following day (Wed.). Not only did they, instead, ship the same day (Tues.) (I ordered late on Tuesday), but also the order was received at our home on Thurs. !!! WOW, Chewy! You even have a super huge heart! This is the service I receive time after time, when ordering with Chewy! They hire only the friendliest people, most helpful too. Chewy is a model company for other companies to try to work toward. Best pricing too! And if a customer (or their animals) are not satisfied, or if Chewy sends wrong product, they say don't send back but donate to local Humane Society. WOW, again, Chewy! Bravo! I continue to tell many friends and acquaintences to order from Chewy. January 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat loves this food. Even though his former favorite hard food is still available to him, he seems to prefer this new food. I serve small portions to make him think he is getting a snack. September 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Older cat enjoys this product My older cat is enjoying this cat food. I was concerned that he would not like the switch as he was just recently diagnosed as having kidney issues. I will be reordering this product. August 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat loves it!! My cat loves this chicken flavor as well as the fish flavor. August 27, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by picky cat reluctantly eats this She prefers this to all other forms of k/d. But of course, with high-output renal failure, she does not have a good appetite. August 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for cat health Recommended for my elderly cat for early kidney disease. She hates change. But she loves this food. As I was transitioning, she would pick it out & leave the old food in the bowl. And, finally, a food that doesn't upset her stomach. August 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by If your cat doesn't eat it mixed with old food, try giving 100% prescription food before giving up on this food. My cat was diagnosed with kidney disease. He's not usually a picky eater, but the vet warned me that cats tend not to like the kidney prescription foods. They gave me a free sample of this food and he ate it right away, so I ordered a larger bag from Chewy. I followed the instructions on the bag and began mixing it (25% new prescription, 75% old food) with his old food to ease him onto the new diet. He refused to eat the mixed old/new food. At first I assumed the vet was right about just having to try a few different brands to figure out what he liked, but I thought this was weird since he seemed to like this Hills prescription food just fine when I gave him the sample from the vet on Day 1. So after a couple days of seeing his food bowl go untouched, we gave him a bowl of 100% prescription food again and he ate all of it immediately. Since then we have just given him the prescription food every day and skipped the mixing step and he seems to love the prescription food. So if you are following the instructions on the bag of mixing the old/new food for a month and your cat isn't eating it, I would suggest giving a bowl of just the prescription food and skipping that step altogether before giving up and trying another food. June 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Doctor Recommended My Senior (17 yr old) Cat, has kidney failure and this product was prescribed. I believe it has helped his health. I do wish there were mini size of various flavors available, though. August 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeps my cat healthy I have a ten year old male and last year he was diagnosed with IBD. So far my vet and I have been able to prevent any reoccurrence with changes to his diet and a little laxitve when he's shedding. We began him on the canned K/D which he liked at first but he had always had dry food so I switched to the dry version, which has an added bonus of keeping his teeth cleaner. July 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2 paws up My cat needs to be on a prescription diet and this is the only food I've found that he likes. August 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by seems to be the only two products that is kd that my cat will eat was very happy with the service received very quickly will purchase again July 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by MY CAT LOVES THESE!!!! My kitty hates a lot of foods, but he loves this food. Great for his body, and wonderful that he eats it. July 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Challenges with kidney diets My one year old rescue was diagnosed with kidney disease. Not only were we shocked, but then began the long and arduous process of finding foods she would eat that are good for her condition. As a rescue, she was used to dry food, but even before her diagnosis, our household is a wet food high protein locale based on past pet health issues. The only thing she initially would eat was Hills Science Diet K/D dry food! She loves it and would probably prefer if that is all she got to eat. We still search for wet food as she is not a good drinker of water. Hills Science Diet K/D stew in Tuna flavor is her other favorite. We sprinkle in some other high quality wet food too. Chewy's has helped us in this process, which we truly appreciate. May 17, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fussy KD Cat will eat this I often have to mix this with water to get him to eat it, but he eats it better than most KD food. The only problem is that my healthy cat loves it and she'll often push him out of the way if I'm not looking, and she always cleans up his leftovers. A little aggravating, since she doesn't need the special diet. July 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's Hills Prescription Diet It is what it is; Hill's KD. The food itself seems to effectively manage chronic renal failure. I had one cat live for 10 years on this, and now have been "blessed" with another poor, sweet baby who [at age 14] has entered renal failure. This has stabilized his condition, and he seems to have returned to his normal demeanor and activity level. The food has been readily (actually,eagerly) accepted by both of my cats who've required it. The price here is not any big savings over the vet's price, but it's much easier to order here than to try to get to the vet on my time off from work to pick it up during their limited hours of availability. I placed the order and provided my vet's name and contact info as requested on the Chewy site, and they apparently called to make the needed verification of the Rx. The food arrived (with the other items on my order) quickly. The package is freshness-dated, and the date is fine, not old or nearing expiration. I like the convenience and will probably continue to buy this food from Chewy instead of breaking my neck to get to the vet to pick it up. November 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow! The food is magical More than a year ago my 19 plus year old cat Mitten was diagnosed with kidney failure. She was listless and I thought she was dying. The Vet prescribed Hill's K/D prescription cat food and she is now 20 years old and appears to be doing fine. She loves the food. She has energy for a 20 year old cat and seems to do well. The shape of the food is also great. Over Mitten's lifetime, I have had trouble finding a dry food that she would eat the entire morsel. She bites the middle of the triangles, squares and leaves the rest. Hill's K/d is round and finally she eats the whole thing. yes, it is expensive but, the shape is perfect and the cat is thriving! Too bad it has to be a prescription! April 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by kitties with crd needing special kd food M kitties liked the Hills Prescription KD dry food with chicken from the first - my one kitty eats it exclusively and is very satisfied with it. At first he ate more than the 5/8 cup that Hills Diet recommends but after he got used to it-he slowed down and seems satisfied. My 10 year old kitty uses this as her "treat" as she eats wet food most of the time. June 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by cat seems to like it product arrives in a timely manner - the small cans are perfect when feeding product to one cat June 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mikey loves it!!! My cat has liver shunts and is on a restricted, low protein diet. He enjoys this dry food. June 16, 2016
  • 2016-10-31 T07:02:52.118-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_214, tr_214
  • loc_en_US, sid_69650, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>