Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Dry Cat Food

  • List Price:

    $61.99

  • Price:

    $43.16 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping over $49

  • You Save:

    $18.83 (30%)

In stock
  • 4-lb bag
  • 8.5-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

  • Item Number
    69843
  • Weight
    8.5 pounds
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult

Kidneys are important because they remove waste substances from the blood, and maintain the normal balance of fluid and minerals within the body. Once kidney damage occurs, the consequences are usually irreversible. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet k/d, clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your cat's kidney health. In fact, k/d is clinically tested nutrition to improve and lengthen quality of life.

Key Benefits

  • Protects vital kidney & heart function
  • Boosts vitality & energy
  • Supports appetite & eating enjoyment
  • Sustains healthy body condition
  • Targeted levels of high quality protein
  • Controlled phosphorus
  • Low sodium
  • Lean muscle support complex
  • Made in the USA

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Ingredients

Chicken, Brewers Rice, Corn Gluten Meal, Whole Grain Wheat, Pork Fat, Brown Rice, Wheat Gluten, Chicken Liver Flavor, Dried Beet Pulp, Flaxseed, Egg Product, Lactic Acid, Calcium Carbonate, Soybean Oil, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Potassium Citrate, Dl-Methionine, Dicalcium Phosphate, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Taurine, L-Lysine, Calcium Sulfate, Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, L-Tryptophan, Iodized Salt, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 325 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by picky cat reluctantly eats this She prefers this to all other forms of k/d. But of course, with high-output renal failure, she does not have a good appetite. August 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for cat health Recommended for my elderly cat for early kidney disease. She hates change. But she loves this food. As I was transitioning, she would pick it out & leave the old food in the bowl. And, finally, a food that doesn't upset her stomach. August 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Doctor Recommended My Senior (17 yr old) Cat, has kidney failure and this product was prescribed. I believe it has helped his health. I do wish there were mini size of various flavors available, though. August 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by If your cat doesn't eat it mixed with old food, try giving 100% prescription food before giving up on this food. My cat was diagnosed with kidney disease. He's not usually a picky eater, but the vet warned me that cats tend not to like the kidney prescription foods. They gave me a free sample of this food and he ate it right away, so I ordered a larger bag from Chewy. I followed the instructions on the bag and began mixing it (25% new prescription, 75% old food) with his old food to ease him onto the new diet. He refused to eat the mixed old/new food. At first I assumed the vet was right about just having to try a few different brands to figure out what he liked, but I thought this was weird since he seemed to like this Hills prescription food just fine when I gave him the sample from the vet on Day 1. So after a couple days of seeing his food bowl go untouched, we gave him a bowl of 100% prescription food again and he ate all of it immediately. Since then we have just given him the prescription food every day and skipped the mixing step and he seems to love the prescription food. So if you are following the instructions on the bag of mixing the old/new food for a month and your cat isn't eating it, I would suggest giving a bowl of just the prescription food and skipping that step altogether before giving up and trying another food. June 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by necessary K/D food, extremely efficient ordering, fast delivery, exceptionally friendly service! Chewy goes up, over, and beyond any customer's expectation! I ordered the necessary K/D food and litter pans for our 18.5 yo cat. I just mentioned at ordering time (Tues.) that I needed to receive Saturday. It was to be New Year's Holiday on Friday. Chewy said they could ship following day (Wed.). Not only did they, instead, ship the same day (Tues.) (I ordered late on Tuesday), but also the order was received at our home on Thurs. !!! WOW, Chewy! You even have a super huge heart! This is the service I receive time after time, when ordering with Chewy! They hire only the friendliest people, most helpful too. Chewy is a model company for other companies to try to work toward. Best pricing too! And if a customer (or their animals) are not satisfied, or if Chewy sends wrong product, they say don't send back but donate to local Humane Society. WOW, again, Chewy! Bravo! I continue to tell many friends and acquaintences to order from Chewy. January 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeps my cat healthy I have a ten year old male and last year he was diagnosed with IBD. So far my vet and I have been able to prevent any reoccurrence with changes to his diet and a little laxitve when he's shedding. We began him on the canned K/D which he liked at first but he had always had dry food so I switched to the dry version, which has an added bonus of keeping his teeth cleaner. July 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2 paws up My cat needs to be on a prescription diet and this is the only food I've found that he likes. August 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by MY CAT LOVES THESE!!!! My kitty hates a lot of foods, but he loves this food. Great for his body, and wonderful that he eats it. July 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by seems to be the only two products that is kd that my cat will eat was very happy with the service received very quickly will purchase again July 31, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fussy KD Cat will eat this I often have to mix this with water to get him to eat it, but he eats it better than most KD food. The only problem is that my healthy cat loves it and she'll often push him out of the way if I'm not looking, and she always cleans up his leftovers. A little aggravating, since she doesn't need the special diet. July 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Challenges with kidney diets My one year old rescue was diagnosed with kidney disease. Not only were we shocked, but then began the long and arduous process of finding foods she would eat that are good for her condition. As a rescue, she was used to dry food, but even before her diagnosis, our household is a wet food high protein locale based on past pet health issues. The only thing she initially would eat was Hills Science Diet K/D dry food! She loves it and would probably prefer if that is all she got to eat. We still search for wet food as she is not a good drinker of water. Hills Science Diet K/D stew in Tuna flavor is her other favorite. We sprinkle in some other high quality wet food too. Chewy's has helped us in this process, which we truly appreciate. May 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by cat seems to like it product arrives in a timely manner - the small cans are perfect when feeding product to one cat June 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by kitties with crd needing special kd food M kitties liked the Hills Prescription KD dry food with chicken from the first - my one kitty eats it exclusively and is very satisfied with it. At first he ate more than the 5/8 cup that Hills Diet recommends but after he got used to it-he slowed down and seems satisfied. My 10 year old kitty uses this as her "treat" as she eats wet food most of the time. June 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mikey loves it!!! My cat has liver shunts and is on a restricted, low protein diet. He enjoys this dry food. June 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product for cats beginning renal failure. Excellent product for cats beginning renal failure. In fact, after switching my cat to k/d canned and dry, her kidney values increased into the normal range! June 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow! The food is magical More than a year ago my 19 plus year old cat Mitten was diagnosed with kidney failure. She was listless and I thought she was dying. The Vet prescribed Hill's K/D prescription cat food and she is now 20 years old and appears to be doing fine. She loves the food. She has energy for a 20 year old cat and seems to do well. The shape of the food is also great. Over Mitten's lifetime, I have had trouble finding a dry food that she would eat the entire morsel. She bites the middle of the triangles, squares and leaves the rest. Hill's K/d is round and finally she eats the whole thing. yes, it is expensive but, the shape is perfect and the cat is thriving! Too bad it has to be a prescription! April 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by All cats love it! This is a prescription diet product for cats in or heading into kidney/renal failure. All my cats, most of whom do not have kidney issues look to see if anything is left over so they can "pick."Mari June 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cats love and it's good for them Chewy was great, they contacted my vet for the prescription and kept me updated on the process. The food is cheaper through Chewy than going to the vet's office. June 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food I was so glad to find Hills Prescription renal care cat food at a better price than the veterinarian office. How nice to have it delivered to your door in a timely manner. I have two cats on this food so we do go through quite a bit in a very short time. I would definitely recommend your services to others. Thank you. May 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My 17 yo cat enjoys k/d dry! When I was told that my 17 year old furry little Angel needed to be on a special diet because he was in early renal failure, I was devastated. He's a very sweet boy and we live him so much. Also,I had already gone through, it seemed liked, every brand and flavor of soft food because of his bad teeth and was able to find one flavor of one brand that he tolerated. So,I was very concerned that finding a prescription kidney food would be just as hard. My very said most cats prefer the soft Science Diet k/d, do I left with 3 cans and my fingers crossed. He ate it ok for about a week, then decided it wasn't for him. So I picked up a bag of the dry k/d, immediately, he dug right in. I was cautiously optimistic, after the experience with soft food. But one year later, he still loves it! I have little bowls of food in most of the house so he can eat without much effort, poor little guy. Thank you! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] February 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fast service! My cat's vet recommended this food, but it can be hard to obtain. Chewy made it easy and fast! June 9, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for prescription food This was my cat's favorite of the sample prescription foods my vet gave me. He seems to enjoy it for the most part, although he's been eating less of it lately (possibly the hot weather decreasing his appetite). May 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's Hills Prescription Diet It is what it is; Hill's KD. The food itself seems to effectively manage chronic renal failure. I had one cat live for 10 years on this, and now have been "blessed" with another poor, sweet baby who [at age 14] has entered renal failure. This has stabilized his condition, and he seems to have returned to his normal demeanor and activity level. The food has been readily (actually,eagerly) accepted by both of my cats who've required it. The price here is not any big savings over the vet's price, but it's much easier to order here than to try to get to the vet on my time off from work to pick it up during their limited hours of availability. I placed the order and provided my vet's name and contact info as requested on the Chewy site, and they apparently called to make the needed verification of the Rx. The food arrived (with the other items on my order) quickly. The package is freshness-dated, and the date is fine, not old or nearing expiration. I like the convenience and will probably continue to buy this food from Chewy instead of breaking my neck to get to the vet to pick it up. November 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by K/d renal-kidney dry food This product, while only available by prescription can be a real plus for a cat beginning or enduring kidney problems. I had one cat live 8 more years post-diagnosis by using this food. The diet helps spare and preserve kidney function, is easy to use, can be left out for "grazing," and seems to be liked quite well by the animals. I have a second cat using it now, and they eat it without any problems. May 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally a dry food Zoe will eat and enjoys. Veterinarian prescribed Hill's k/d. But Zoe refused to eat their K/D canned "wet" food varieties. At the same time she was vomiting after every canned food we tried and refused to eat every dry food we tried. "Treats" were her only food. What a relief when we gave her this food, she ate it all up and continues to eat it with good self regulation. She prefers her k/d dry food over treats. And she is getting the diet her Vet prescribed. April 25, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product seems to keep my cat's condition from getting worse. I have been using this product for over a year. It was recommended by our vet. Initially I tried the canned wet food. Since my cat (Bob) was use to only eating dry food after two cans of wet food (same product) switched to only the dry food. Since my cat (Bob) does not like stale food I buy the 8 lb bag and divide into 3 plastic bags. This works out real well and Bob eats a normal serving every day. Only when I open a fresh bag of quality non-prescription dry cat food for my second cat (Betty) I need to keep an eye on Bob so he does not eat Betty's food. After Betty's bag of cat food has been open for two weeks, Bob no longer tries to eat her food. Instead, he acts like he is trying to cover it like his messes in the litter box. Since Bob's been eating this for over a year he still acts like before he was diagnosed and needed a special diet. October 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good old-fashioned customer service! First of all, the customer service at Chewy.com is spectacular, and the prices are the best around. We have been overpaying for this prescription cat food at our vet's office for years. It's an excellent product. We are so very happy we have discovered Chewy.com. I wish you carried Harrison's bird food too. Thank you! April 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kidney care food that both my cats like! One of my cats has kidney failure, the other doesn't. I free feed dry food in addition to wet, and so I opted for this food my vet prescribed. The great part is that even the healthy cat loves it! This despite the fact that it's chicken flavor -- they've never previously liked anything that wasn't fish. It's pricey, but with two 14-year-old cats, nutrition makes a HUGE difference. April 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by showed initiative Required a vet's prescription for this; asked for the contact info and took care of the rest. Arrived on time after that. Should go faster next time. April 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service Our first order from Chewy had a case of canned KD cat food that had leaked and was very messy. I called and it was replaced in two days. Thanks for the great service -- I'll be back when I need more food! April 18, 2016
  • 2016-09-23 T06:28:40.951-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_325, tr_325
  • loc_en_US, sid_69650, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>