Loading...

Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Dry Cat Food

  • Price:

    $46.49 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping over $49

In stock
8.5-lb bag
  • 4-lb bag
  • 8.5-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

The Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Dry Cat Food is clinically proven nutrition that can help transform your pet’s life. As pets age, damage to the kidney tissues may occur, which affects the kidney’s role to function properly and filter toxins and waste from the blood. It is irreversible, and will lead to further loss of kidney function. This may also decrease their appetite, which could eventually result in the loss of muscle mass. And so the Hill’s nutritionists and veterinarians created this special diet, which supports your cat’s kidney function and helps to sustain muscle mass—in fact, the nutrition of k/d is clinically tested to improve and lengthen the quality of life.

Key Benefits

  • Protects vital kidney and heart function and supports the natural ability to build lean muscle daily.
  • Enhanced Appetite Trigger (E.A.T.) technology helps stimulate the appetite and increase caloric intake.
  • Made with controlled phosphorus and low sodium, plus therapeutic levels of l-carnitine and omega-3 fatty acids.
  • Also includes high levels of essential amino acids, which are the building blocks of protein.
  • Made in USA and clinically tested to improve and lengthen the quality of life.

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69843
  • Brand
    Hill's, Science Diet
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Brown Rice, Corn Gluten Meal, Chicken, Pork Fat, Whole Grain Wheat, Cracked Pearled Barley, Wheat Gluten, Chicken Liver Flavor, Pea Protein, Egg Product, Fish Oil, Lactic Acid, Potassium Citrate, Calcium Sulfate, L-Lysine, L-Arginine, Choline Chloride, Calcium Carbonate, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Menadione Sodium Bisulfite Complex (source of Vitamin K)), L-Threonine, Taurine, Iodized Salt, DL-Methionine, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Potassium Chloride, L-Carnitine, L-Tryptophan, Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Caloric Content

  1. 541 kcal/cup
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 26.0% min
Crude Fat 20.0% min
Crude Fiber 4.0% max
Phosphorus 0.3% min
Phosphorus 0.75% max
Sodium 0.4% max
Taurine 0.2% min

Feeding Instructions

Weight of Cat – lb (kg) Amount per Day
6 lb (2,7 kg) 1/3 cup
8 lb (3,6 kg) 3/8 cup
10 lb (4,5 kg) 1/2 cup
12 lb (5,4 kg) 1/2 cup
14 lb (6,4 kg) 5/8 cup
16 lb (7,3 kg) 2/3 cup
18 lb (8,2 kg) 3/4 cup

Transition Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Gradually transition to your pet's new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, canned food & treats. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pet's condition.

Pet Lovers Also Bought

Customer Reviews

Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Dry Cat Food is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 241.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from necessary K/D food, extremely efficient ordering, fast delivery, exceptionally friendly service! Chewy goes up, over, and beyond any customer's expectation! I ordered the necessary K/D food and litter pans for our 18.5 yo cat. I just mentioned at ordering time (Tues.) that I needed to receive Saturday. It was to be New Year's Holiday on Friday. Chewy said they could ship following day (Wed.). Not only did they, instead, ship the same day (Tues.) (I ordered late on Tuesday), but also the order was received at our home on Thurs. !!! WOW, Chewy! You even have a super huge heart! This is the service I receive time after time, when ordering with Chewy! They hire only the friendliest people, most helpful too. Chewy is a model company for other companies to try to work toward. Best pricing too! And if a customer (or their animals) are not satisfied, or if Chewy sends wrong product, they say don't send back but donate to local Humane Society. WOW, again, Chewy! Bravo! I continue to tell many friends and acquaintences to order from Chewy.
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING PRODUCT!!! We took our 12 year old male Maine Coon, Ike, into the vet because of significant weight loss, and vomiting. Come to find out he had lost 3 lbs, and had a terrible UTI/bladder/kidney infection. Before the Vet got the results back about the infection, he gave us a sample of this food to help him get his kidneys into optimum health. WHAT A DIFFERENCE!!! He immediately scarfed down this food, and has at every meal since. Just from a month of feedings, he has gained back almost all of his weight, and is thriving. He is also no longer urinating outside of the litter box, but that could be due to the infection clearing up. Never the less, he LOVES this food, and has not thrown up ONCE since we started him on it. Also, we mix it with the k/d canned food, which makes it much easier for an older kitty to eat. Prescription needed, keep in mind if you are reading this review.
Date published: 2016-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loves It!!! Our cat who recently was diagnosed with kidney failure was switched to Hill's Kidney Care formulas by our vet. He recommended to try first the soft food but our cat did not care for that very much. When we switched to the dry food he really, really liked it. We still try to give him the soft food but find we have to sprinkle on some of the dry to get him to eat it.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the customer service person was so polite and professinal - I cannot say enough good things about her. I bought the wrong flavor for my cat and offered to send it back (I opened one of the flats) and she said that they like for their customers to donate it to the shelter. What a wonderful offer on the part of Chewy's. My order arrived in 2 days.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Chicken and vegetable stew I have the chicken and vegetable stew and my Michael likes it. He has CRF and thus his appetite is rather poor but he does like this brand better than the other Hills kidney diets. And it smells good to me too!
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product Our prescription food eating kitty loves it so we're able to leave her food when we leave for a long day
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vet recommended My vet recommended changing my 16 year old cat to kidney diet, he loves the food and cleans his plate
Date published: 2017-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good I am enjoying this flavor better than the Ocean Fish. Cleo the cat
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Changed my cat's life My cat Jasmine was diagnosed with kidney disease in August after she had a few accidents outside of the litter box. My vet prescribed this food and it has literally changed her life. She looks and acts like a different cat. I can tell that she feels so much better too! She comes running as soon as I put the food in her bowl. My other cats try to eat it too. It's an expensive food, but it really makes a difference in her quality of life and it's totally worth it.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This helps keep my kitty alive. My cat has been diagnosed with end stage renal failure. A few months ago she was near death, and her lab results supported that. The vet taught me how to give subcutaneous fluids, and said I should feed her Hill's prescription K/D dry food. Between the two treatments, she has had her lab results come close to normal, and she is obviously a happy cat, playing with me, purring, eating and drinking well. Thank you, Chewy, for offering this product, and for contacting my vet for me.
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If your cat doesn't eat it mixed with old food, try giving 100% prescription food before giving up on this food. My cat was diagnosed with kidney disease. He's not usually a picky eater, but the vet warned me that cats tend not to like the kidney prescription foods. They gave me a free sample of this food and he ate it right away, so I ordered a larger bag from Chewy. I followed the instructions on the bag and began mixing it (25% new prescription, 75% old food) with his old food to ease him onto the new diet. He refused to eat the mixed old/new food. At first I assumed the vet was right about just having to try a few different brands to figure out what he liked, but I thought this was weird since he seemed to like this Hills prescription food just fine when I gave him the sample from the vet on Day 1. So after a couple days of seeing his food bowl go untouched, we gave him a bowl of 100% prescription food again and he ate all of it immediately. Since then we have just given him the prescription food every day and skipped the mixing step and he seems to love the prescription food. So if you are following the instructions on the bag of mixing the old/new food for a month and your cat isn't eating it, I would suggest giving a bowl of just the prescription food and skipping that step altogether before giving up and trying another food.
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great cat food for kidney trouble I had 2 cats who were brother and sister. They both had kidney trouble at age 11. Sadly, the brother did not make it. The vet put my girl on Prescription Hill k/d for felines and at age 18 is still going strong. She immediately loved the food. She loves the dry. I give her the canned food about once a week and she loves that, too. She's losing her hearing and sight but about once a week she races around the house like a kitten. Her coat is shiny from the food. Healthy old lady cat! :)
Date published: 2015-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cat loves new kidney food I had heard that kidney food is not as flavorful and I was worried that my older cat would not like it and not eat it. He is losing weight and needs to eat. He IS eating the food very hungrily. Yay!
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It is a hit! Glad I bought Hill`s brand of k/d food. Kibble is staple to the diet. Jack loves this chow. Thank you for a chow that Jack does not get tired of eating.
Date published: 2016-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's Hills Prescription Diet It is what it is; Hill's KD. The food itself seems to effectively manage chronic renal failure. I had one cat live for 10 years on this, and now have been "blessed" with another poor, sweet baby who [at age 14] has entered renal failure. This has stabilized his condition, and he seems to have returned to his normal demeanor and activity level. The food has been readily (actually,eagerly) accepted by both of my cats who've required it. The price here is not any big savings over the vet's price, but it's much easier to order here than to try to get to the vet on my time off from work to pick it up during their limited hours of availability. I placed the order and provided my vet's name and contact info as requested on the Chewy site, and they apparently called to make the needed verification of the Rx. The food arrived (with the other items on my order) quickly. The package is freshness-dated, and the date is fine, not old or nearing expiration. I like the convenience and will probably continue to buy this food from Chewy instead of breaking my neck to get to the vet to pick it up.
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loves K/D dry cat food We tried the Hill's K/D prescription canned food but our cat quickly got tired of it and refused to eat it. He loves the Hill's K/D prescription dry cat food and is eager to eat it whenever it is dinnertime!
Date published: 2014-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cat loves it My cat loves dry food more than K/D cans. I have tried to give him less dry food as the moisture content is better in cans and he also throws up rather much due to hairballs if he eats too much dry food. Well, he's not having any of that! He cries till I feed him this dry food, knocks down things to get my attention. He really loves this food.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved My Cat's Life Ally is 17 next month, kidneys are slowing down AND she got two spider bites. Very sick, lost weight down to skin and bones so tried many prescription foods and this was the one she ate. She started to regain her health once she started to eat again so now also wolf's down Hill's k/d dry as well. Acts like she is a kitten again. AMAZING!
Date published: 2016-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great product, just right nutritional balance. Seymour (cat) immediately took to the change in his diet within the first week. He is acting better in the litter box.
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rex approved Renal diets are hard to find in GA. The folks that do carry them don't carry some bags, Rex is a small cat so the 4 lb bag is just the right size to keep all feeding fresh and tasty. Rex eats this food with no hesitation...
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money! One of my kitties was prescribed this diet to help protect her kidneys. Luckily, all 3 of our cats love it! It's spendy, but worth it. She's doing great, and all the cats can now have healthier kidney function.
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My elderly cat absolutely loves her kibble. I was impressed at how easy it was to use your website and how quickly my cat"s food arrived! And yes, she played inside her new "box toy!"
Date published: 2016-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Our 15 year old cat has kidney failure. We bought both the wet and dry food and mix it together. He loves it! Our 15 year old cat has kidney failure. We bought both the wet and dry food and mix it together. He loves it!
Date published: 2014-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenges with kidney diets My one year old rescue was diagnosed with kidney disease. Not only were we shocked, but then began the long and arduous process of finding foods she would eat that are good for her condition. As a rescue, she was used to dry food, but even before her diagnosis, our household is a wet food high protein locale based on past pet health issues. The only thing she initially would eat was Hills Science Diet K/D dry food! She loves it and would probably prefer if that is all she got to eat. We still search for wet food as she is not a good drinker of water. Hills Science Diet K/D stew in Tuna flavor is her other favorite. We sprinkle in some other high quality wet food too. Chewy's has helped us in this process, which we truly appreciate.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 17 yr young kitty, now has her weight back :) My 17 yr old kitty was not holding on to her weight & my vet recommended trying this. She's now, back to her normal weight & looks great. She also enjoys eating this food. When she gets a little finicky, I just put a few Kibbles of my other kitties food on top. I also love the quick delivery, the way they pack my items that are in nice strong boxes. I am very Happy with Chewy & the Customer Service is Excellent. I have 8 loving kitties at different ages of there life & 1 sweet Yorkie little girl. I buy all there different types of food from Chewy, on Auto Delivery & you can edit your items at any time which is great! And there 24/7 :)
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Dry Cat Food My kitty, Pookey Mittens, about 6.5 yrs old, was diagnosed with stage 4 kidney failure. I took him to the Veterinarian and they gave him fluids and pills, Daily. Needless to say, Pookey did not like this and became quite a different cat, not trusting me and his surroundings anymore. I started giving him K/D Kidney Care food along with distilled water and a powder supplement and no more trips to the Vet. Pookey has responded quite well with this treatment and his trust in me and his surroundings have been restored.
Date published: 2015-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well liked by both cats I was concerned about switching over to k/d because both my cats had been eating their other dry food so well. I didn't want to switch but my oldest kitty needed the prescription diet. The vet said there was no problem switching them both due to the fact that even my younger kitty isn't all that young either. To my delight, I shifted gradually and there was no problem AT ALL. In fact, I find a nice side effect is fewer hair ball incidences. I am very pleased with this food. Of course it's more expensive but they don't go through a bag as quickly as they did the Purina indoor cat food I bought previously.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kidney care food that both my cats like! One of my cats has kidney failure, the other doesn't. I free feed dry food in addition to wet, and so I opted for this food my vet prescribed. The great part is that even the healthy cat loves it! This despite the fact that it's chicken flavor -- they've never previously liked anything that wasn't fish. It's pricey, but with two 14-year-old cats, nutrition makes a HUGE difference.
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from kitties with crd needing special kd food M kitties liked the Hills Prescription KD dry food with chicken from the first - my one kitty eats it exclusively and is very satisfied with it. At first he ate more than the 5/8 cup that Hills Diet recommends but after he got used to it-he slowed down and seems satisfied. My 10 year old kitty uses this as her "treat" as she eats wet food most of the time.
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My cat does not like it. After being given a sample of this food from the Vet, I tried it on my 19 year old cat. She ate the sample, so I ordered it online. It was a prescription food and the script had to be approved by the Vet via email before they would fill the order. After a few days the Vet approved the order, I received the food. I had ordered a substantial quantity to qualify for free shipping. However, she will not touch it! Even when there was no other food available, she would not eat at all! She did not eat for several days until I finally went and got the food she normally ate and she is back to eating again. Both of the foods were dry food, so that was not a factor. I have since discussed this with other cat owners with similar situations and they experienced tha same thing.
Date published: 2015-09-16
  • y_2017, m_3, d_26, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_241
  • loc_en_US, sid_69650, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrchewy