Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Dry Cat Food

  • List Price:

    $61.99

  • Price:

    $43.16 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping over $49

  • You Save:

    $18.83 (30%)

In stock
  • 4-lb bag
  • 8.5-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

  • Item Number
    69843
  • Weight
    8.5 pounds
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult

Kidneys are important because they remove waste substances from the blood, and maintain the normal balance of fluid and minerals within the body. Once kidney damage occurs, the consequences are usually irreversible. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet k/d, clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your cat's kidney health. In fact, k/d is clinically tested nutrition to improve and lengthen quality of life.

Key Benefits

  • Protects vital kidney & heart function
  • Boosts vitality & energy
  • Supports appetite & eating enjoyment
  • Sustains healthy body condition
  • Targeted levels of high quality protein
  • Controlled phosphorus
  • Low sodium
  • Lean muscle support complex
  • Made in the USA

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Ingredients

Chicken, Brewers Rice, Corn Gluten Meal, Whole Grain Wheat, Pork Fat, Brown Rice, Wheat Gluten, Chicken Liver Flavor, Dried Beet Pulp, Flaxseed, Egg Product, Lactic Acid, Calcium Carbonate, Soybean Oil, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Potassium Citrate, Dl-Methionine, Dicalcium Phosphate, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Taurine, L-Lysine, Calcium Sulfate, Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, L-Tryptophan, Iodized Salt, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 318 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by MY CAT LOVES THESE!!!! My kitty hates a lot of foods, but he loves this food. Great for his body, and wonderful that he eats it. July 26, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fussy KD Cat will eat this I often have to mix this with water to get him to eat it, but he eats it better than most KD food. The only problem is that my healthy cat loves it and she'll often push him out of the way if I'm not looking, and she always cleans up his leftovers. A little aggravating, since she doesn't need the special diet. July 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by necessary K/D food, extremely efficient ordering, fast delivery, exceptionally friendly service! Chewy goes up, over, and beyond any customer's expectation! I ordered the necessary K/D food and litter pans for our 18.5 yo cat. I just mentioned at ordering time (Tues.) that I needed to receive Saturday. It was to be New Year's Holiday on Friday. Chewy said they could ship following day (Wed.). Not only did they, instead, ship the same day (Tues.) (I ordered late on Tuesday), but also the order was received at our home on Thurs. !!! WOW, Chewy! You even have a super huge heart! This is the service I receive time after time, when ordering with Chewy! They hire only the friendliest people, most helpful too. Chewy is a model company for other companies to try to work toward. Best pricing too! And if a customer (or their animals) are not satisfied, or if Chewy sends wrong product, they say don't send back but donate to local Humane Society. WOW, again, Chewy! Bravo! I continue to tell many friends and acquaintences to order from Chewy. January 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Challenges with kidney diets My one year old rescue was diagnosed with kidney disease. Not only were we shocked, but then began the long and arduous process of finding foods she would eat that are good for her condition. As a rescue, she was used to dry food, but even before her diagnosis, our household is a wet food high protein locale based on past pet health issues. The only thing she initially would eat was Hills Science Diet K/D dry food! She loves it and would probably prefer if that is all she got to eat. We still search for wet food as she is not a good drinker of water. Hills Science Diet K/D stew in Tuna flavor is her other favorite. We sprinkle in some other high quality wet food too. Chewy's has helped us in this process, which we truly appreciate. May 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by cat seems to like it product arrives in a timely manner - the small cans are perfect when feeding product to one cat June 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mikey loves it!!! My cat has liver shunts and is on a restricted, low protein diet. He enjoys this dry food. June 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product for cats beginning renal failure. Excellent product for cats beginning renal failure. In fact, after switching my cat to k/d canned and dry, her kidney values increased into the normal range! June 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by kitties with crd needing special kd food M kitties liked the Hills Prescription KD dry food with chicken from the first - my one kitty eats it exclusively and is very satisfied with it. At first he ate more than the 5/8 cup that Hills Diet recommends but after he got used to it-he slowed down and seems satisfied. My 10 year old kitty uses this as her "treat" as she eats wet food most of the time. June 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by All cats love it! This is a prescription diet product for cats in or heading into kidney/renal failure. All my cats, most of whom do not have kidney issues look to see if anything is left over so they can "pick."Mari June 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cats love and it's good for them Chewy was great, they contacted my vet for the prescription and kept me updated on the process. The food is cheaper through Chewy than going to the vet's office. June 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food I was so glad to find Hills Prescription renal care cat food at a better price than the veterinarian office. How nice to have it delivered to your door in a timely manner. I have two cats on this food so we do go through quite a bit in a very short time. I would definitely recommend your services to others. Thank you. May 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow! The food is magical More than a year ago my 19 plus year old cat Mitten was diagnosed with kidney failure. She was listless and I thought she was dying. The Vet prescribed Hill's K/D prescription cat food and she is now 20 years old and appears to be doing fine. She loves the food. She has energy for a 20 year old cat and seems to do well. The shape of the food is also great. Over Mitten's lifetime, I have had trouble finding a dry food that she would eat the entire morsel. She bites the middle of the triangles, squares and leaves the rest. Hill's K/d is round and finally she eats the whole thing. yes, it is expensive but, the shape is perfect and the cat is thriving! Too bad it has to be a prescription! April 25, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fast service! My cat's vet recommended this food, but it can be hard to obtain. Chewy made it easy and fast! June 9, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for prescription food This was my cat's favorite of the sample prescription foods my vet gave me. He seems to enjoy it for the most part, although he's been eating less of it lately (possibly the hot weather decreasing his appetite). May 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by K/d renal-kidney dry food This product, while only available by prescription can be a real plus for a cat beginning or enduring kidney problems. I had one cat live 8 more years post-diagnosis by using this food. The diet helps spare and preserve kidney function, is easy to use, can be left out for "grazing," and seems to be liked quite well by the animals. I have a second cat using it now, and they eat it without any problems. May 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally a dry food Zoe will eat and enjoys. Veterinarian prescribed Hill's k/d. But Zoe refused to eat their K/D canned "wet" food varieties. At the same time she was vomiting after every canned food we tried and refused to eat every dry food we tried. "Treats" were her only food. What a relief when we gave her this food, she ate it all up and continues to eat it with good self regulation. She prefers her k/d dry food over treats. And she is getting the diet her Vet prescribed. April 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My 17 yo cat enjoys k/d dry! When I was told that my 17 year old furry little Angel needed to be on a special diet because he was in early renal failure, I was devastated. He's a very sweet boy and we live him so much. Also,I had already gone through, it seemed liked, every brand and flavor of soft food because of his bad teeth and was able to find one flavor of one brand that he tolerated. So,I was very concerned that finding a prescription kidney food would be just as hard. My very said most cats prefer the soft Science Diet k/d, do I left with 3 cans and my fingers crossed. He ate it ok for about a week, then decided it wasn't for him. So I picked up a bag of the dry k/d, immediately, he dug right in. I was cautiously optimistic, after the experience with soft food. But one year later, he still loves it! I have little bowls of food in most of the house so he can eat without much effort, poor little guy. Thank you! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] February 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's Hills Prescription Diet It is what it is; Hill's KD. The food itself seems to effectively manage chronic renal failure. I had one cat live for 10 years on this, and now have been "blessed" with another poor, sweet baby who [at age 14] has entered renal failure. This has stabilized his condition, and he seems to have returned to his normal demeanor and activity level. The food has been readily (actually,eagerly) accepted by both of my cats who've required it. The price here is not any big savings over the vet's price, but it's much easier to order here than to try to get to the vet on my time off from work to pick it up during their limited hours of availability. I placed the order and provided my vet's name and contact info as requested on the Chewy site, and they apparently called to make the needed verification of the Rx. The food arrived (with the other items on my order) quickly. The package is freshness-dated, and the date is fine, not old or nearing expiration. I like the convenience and will probably continue to buy this food from Chewy instead of breaking my neck to get to the vet to pick it up. November 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by showed initiative Required a vet's prescription for this; asked for the contact info and took care of the rest. Arrived on time after that. Should go faster next time. April 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good old-fashioned customer service! First of all, the customer service at Chewy.com is spectacular, and the prices are the best around. We have been overpaying for this prescription cat food at our vet's office for years. It's an excellent product. We are so very happy we have discovered Chewy.com. I wish you carried Harrison's bird food too. Thank you! April 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kidney care food that both my cats like! One of my cats has kidney failure, the other doesn't. I free feed dry food in addition to wet, and so I opted for this food my vet prescribed. The great part is that even the healthy cat loves it! This despite the fact that it's chicken flavor -- they've never previously liked anything that wasn't fish. It's pricey, but with two 14-year-old cats, nutrition makes a HUGE difference. April 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good option to vet. Convenient to get food home delivered with cost similar to vet. April 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service Our first order from Chewy had a case of canned KD cat food that had leaked and was very messy. I called and it was replaced in two days. Thanks for the great service -- I'll be back when I need more food! April 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cats love taste Needed this prescription kidney diet for one cat but checked with vet and was advised it was ok for my 3 other cats. They all love the taste of it. Have only been feeding them a couple of weeks so can't say yet if it has helped. April 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by So thankful for CHEWY! My 7 year old kitty, Bella is in renal failure. Thanks to CHEWY, she loves the k/d Dry Food/Chicken flavor. Thank you so much. April 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prescription cat food purchases The prescription kd food has helped our 4 yr old cat go from needing fluids under the skin several times per week to normal. The food has improved the health of his kidneys April 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by New To Kidney Disease Got JR. from a shelter who is 7 years old. Found out he has kidney disease and started feeding him Hill's. He likes his dry and canned food so far and is doing pretty good. April 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far so good We give our cat a handful of this every so often; she thinks they're cat treats. April 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Improved my cats kidney numbers My cat has a very sensitive stomach so I was a little worried about the transition but she ate it with no problems at all and her blood work showed a huge improvement!!! April 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT..! I love that I can buy this amazing Vet-recommended product at such a savings at Chewy.com..! The fact that it delivers so quickly is the icing on the Chewy-cake..! April 5, 2016
  • 2016-08-24 T09:35:37.781-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_318, tr_318
  • loc_en_US, sid_69650, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>