Hill's Prescription Diet t/d Dental Care Chicken Flavor Dry Cat Food

  • List Price:

    $46.19

  • Price:

    $38.79 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping over $49

  • You Save:

    $7.40 (16%)

In stock
  • 4-lb bag
  • 8.5-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

  • Item Number
    69828
  • Weight
    8.5 pounds
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food

Dental care for your pet may be more important than you think. The accumulation of bacteria laden plaque above the gumline can lead to long term oral health issues. Recent studies have demonstrated there is an association between oral health issues and systemic more general health issues altering the kidney, heart and metabolic systems.  Nutritionists and veterinarians have developed clinical nutrition especially formulated to keep your cat's teeth clean and help control the oral bacteria found in plaque.

Key Benefits

  • Reduce the amount of bacteria laden plaque in the mouth to promote systemic health
  • Clinically proven to reduce plaque, stain and tartar buildup
  • Reduces bad breath
  • Added antioxidants to control cell oxidation and promote a healthy immune system
  • Awarded the Veterinary Oral Health Council (VOHC) Seal of Acceptance for helping reduce both plaque and tartar accumulation
  • Made in the USA

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Ingredients

Chicken By-Product Meal, Brewers Rice, Corn Gluten Meal, Whole Grain Corn, Powdered Cellulose, Pork Fat, Chicken Liver Flavor, Calcium Sulfate, Lactic Acid, Soybean Oil, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Dl-Methionine, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Taurine, Iodized Salt, Calcium Carbonate, Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, Phosphoric Acid, Beta-Carotene, Natural Flavors.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 163 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for cats with dental issues and a little fussy My cats love this product and Chewy saved me some $$$ which I appreciate July 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT / HAPPINESS MOVED TO T/D - FROM ZIWI PEAK - OF NECESSITY / ALMOST A YEAR AGO. OUR PRECIOUS CAT TOOK TO THE FLAVOUR / TASTE / TEXTURE, FROM THE FIRST BITE . GREAT FOR PET AND FAMILY HAPPINESS / PERFECT DENTAL AND OVERALL HEALTH. July 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Effective dental health maintenance Not only do my cats relish the taste of this product, but their teeth and gums are as good it gets. July 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Recommendation By Vet Our oldest boy had beginning tartar buildup issues w/initial stage gingivitis so our vet recommended this food. Due to his FLUTD issues (and the price - yikes!) we've been giving him and his six brothers and sisters (all rescues) a few kibbles each day as treats. Our vet approved using them as a treat since there is little chance of a few each day creating any issues with his UT problems. She also agreed that using them as a treat for the other cats would be a good idea as they could slow or even prevent any potential future tooth issues. And using as treats also ensures we make a bag last a lot longer. May 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by our cat likes it Our 16 year old cat has always been picky about what foods she eats. Doesn't like canned food. Doesn't like cat treats. But she will eat this food, and our vet says it is good for her teeth. June 13, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Perhaps an issue of quality control I purchased a bag of the Prescription dry feline t/d formula recently upon the recommendation of my vet. She gave me a sample of the food which my cat enjoyed quite a bit. However, once that sample bag was gone and I went through the hassle of getting a prescription and spent a lot of money on a fresh bag, he would not eat the food anymore. He would sniff it, even take it in his mouth but then he would just spit it out. Once he even crunched it up but left the crunched up food in his bowl. Something is wrong with this food. It does not make sense to me that the food he loved so much would suddenly become so distasteful and unpalatable to him. I am thinking there may be a problem with consistency from one batch to another...? I don't know what the issue is, all I know is that I spent a lot of money for food that I was sure he would like based on very recent past experience and he won't eat it. Like I said, each time I try to give it to him he will either just sniff it and walk away, or take it in his mouth and spit it out. I am completely dissatisfied with this food and will never purchase it again. September 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My love cats love it! Both cats love this product and it definitely helps keep their teeth clean. June 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeps kitty's teeth clean My cat loves this and her teeth are clean. Her teeth are clean enough that she does not have to have the vet clean them May 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cats love their "treats" and it's good for them too! We adopted our 3 cats as litter mates from our vet. He suggested that we use T/D to help clean their teeth. They are 7 1/2 years old now and have excellent checkups, particularly regarding their dental health. I realize that this food would suffice as their only food, but prefer to use it as treats, while primarily feeding wet food. They love it! They play with it! And we are delaying, hopefully for a very long time, the anesthesia and dental treatments at the vet, as well as keeping them generally healthy because their dental health is excellent. (I do not brush their teeth or use any other dental care for them.) Our four previous cats did not have this benefit, and as they aged, needed expensive and traumatic dental cleanings at the vet. So, although at first skeptical, I am convinced that this advance in pet food is good preventative care for their dental and general health. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] June 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cats love this I have 2 cats and they absolutely love it and it's so great for their teeth! If you're familiar with Greenies treats which are also great for teeth, this food is similar in terms of forcing cats to chew and crunch their food which scrapes away plaque and tartar. The difference is it also has the daily nutrients cats need! It's also low cal, so if you have some overweight cats (I have one) I can give her "more" of this while keep her kcal count down so it's been helping her lose weight without her begging me for more food. April 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by my cats love it cats love it. It is packaged well, less expensive than other sources & received it quite promptly. May 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by No more dental issues Since I've been feeding this to our cats, their vet always gives their teeth an A+ rating. No dental procedures for them--yea! April 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful to use as treats. Out cat eats wet food in order to compensate for his not being fond of drinking water, however I use these as treats to keep his teeth clean. He loves them. April 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product This is a great product. My cat's teeth and noticeably cleaner and breath smell is normal. April 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by T/D This is for the post from The Big Guy from 9/10/15. If you purchased that bag from your vet, bring it back for a full refund! Seriously. Hill's guarantees their products 100%. No I am not paid by Hill's to say this. I know of this because I am a retired Vet Tech. If you purchased product on-line, contact them & tell them the problem & try to get a refund. It is a bit of a concern sometimes to order on-line because you do not know how long it's been hanging around the warehouse, or being subjected to temperature changes that can affect the product during shipping, or if there was a very small hole/tear that air could of gotten into & oxidize certain ingredients. Hope this helps & good luck! There are other dental dry diets, ask your vet what other option would be good for your cat. September 20, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by treats only! The ingredients list does not impress me. Brewers rice provides no nutrition at all (is a cheap filler). Corn gluten meal is likewise a cheap filler. The protein content is too low. Cats are obligate carnivores. They use protein and fat for energy, not carbohydrates. Whenever I see grains like rice and corn in a cat food, I think, "it's a raccoon food." I would never feed this to my cats as part of their diet, their nutrition. However, I have adopted a cat who is a do-not-mess-with-me girl, and she hasn't yet accepted the idea of my cleaning her teeth. I see that this stuff does seem to clean teeth, so I'm offering it as a treat. I'll let you know how that goes. January 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Treat and Good for the Cats My cats think that the t/d Dental Care Chicken dry cat food is a treat. I think it avoids the dentist and anesthesia for them. This is a win/win. It is on my cats diet! April 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fewer Dental Cleanings with TD This food is amazing especially when you have cats with a perchance for dental issues. We have 3 Burmese and prior to using the TD they were in for teeth cleaning every other year. Our 7 year old girl has yet to have a cleaning as her gums & teeth are in great shape - she has eaten the food since we got her. It is also a great food giving them great coats and lots of energy. It is also nice to find it cheaper that the Vets and delivered to boot. February 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by T/D is called Kitty Krack at our house! Although only one kitty at our house is actually on this diet all four go nuts for this stuff! Keeps their teeth clean and breath fresher for sure - and they love the large sized crunchies. Highly recommend! March 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by KITTY LOVES THESE. I am so glad to know that I can order these on Chewy.com. It is a vet prescription, but Chewy makes it so easy to purchase it from them and saves me the trip to the vet each time. Even my vet uses Chewy for hospital supplies. LOVE CHEWY!!! March 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cats love it and it works! I have six cats (including my daughter's two) who love these. I give them as treats - each cat gets 4 every night before bed. I have been doing this for at least 5 years and they have not needed a dental cleaning yet. I'm saving money and saving my cats from those cleanings. It is so much easier than brushing their teeth. February 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It is working for us This dry cat food has really made a difference on Cali's gums. And, like so many felines... Cali is a very finicky eater and she accepted the food on day one. February 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product! I have used this for both my dog that I used to have and for all my cats, and I can't say enough about how well it works. My current cat is now 8 tears old and she has eaten this since she came to my home as a rescue when she was 6 months old. She has her yearly exams and her Vet is always surprised that she has perfect teeth and never needs to have them cleaned, and I do not brush her teeth. Her teeth and gums are perfectly healthy! I will never have another dog or cat who is not fed the T/D formula, and I will never have to worry about putting them under for dental care....this formula really works and is worth the extra cost. I have recommended it to all my friends and they all love it, too. September 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by None of my 3 cats will eat it. They need to make this tastier. My 2, 1 1/2 yr old male kittens prefer the Hill's Science Diet "Active Longevity for Mature Adult 7-10" to the t/d and my 15 yr old female cat prefers the Hill's Science Diet " Indoor Adult 1-6" to the t/d. I won't buy the Hill's t/d until they improve the taste. February 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product has done wonders for the teeth in both my cats, and they love it! Excellent product, cats love it, vet says it's great for their teeth. March 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat loves this food and his teeth are beautiful After traumatizing my cat, Charlie, by having his teeth cleaned several years ago, my veterinarian recommended the T/D dry cat food to help Charlie keep his teeth in tip-top shape and to keep pricey, painful dental cleanings to a minimum. It has been 2 1/2 years since Charlie's one and only cleaning, and the feedback from my vet has been that Charlie's teeth are A+. His teeth and gums look amazing! Furthermore, Charlie loves the T/D food so much that he thinks it is a treat. When I put Charlie to bed each night, I take out several "morsels" of "fresh" T/D dry food (I keep it in an airtight container# and he gobbles them up and purrs like crazy! Charlie just LOVES the T/D dry food. It is truly an amazing, effective #and, apparently, delicious!) product! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kitties love it! This was recommended by my vet as a way to maintain healthy gums after a dental cleaning. The kitties love it and Chewy offered a great price and service. January 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the kids teeth My wife and I are the proud custodians of four wonderful Selkirk Rex kitties. Like most kids, our furry friends enjoy their treats during the day. Unfortunately, our veterinarian would usually recommend that they have yearly dental cleanings which requires that they get knocked out. Not a good thing to have to do to them. But the vet also recommended that we start using the Hill's t/d dry food as a treat for them. What a difference that has made for the kids. Only one dental the last three years & they love the product. It also saves a lot of $$$ compared to the little bags of treats that you can buy at the grocery store. I highly recommend this product for all cat owners. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] July 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by the best stuff for kitty teeth! my kitties love this stuff and it's good for keeping their teeth clean! December 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by THis helped my cat's dental disease Our 4 year old DSH cat has had gingivitis problems since he was a juvenile. In spite of there being no plaque build up, his gums remained red and irritated. Once he turned about 1 year old, we started him on the T/D dry food. We had used it very sucessfully before in our previous cats as a preventative for dental disease and they had always enjoyed the taste--going to the extent of picking out the T/D to eat first when we blended it with other foods. Our new cat also took to the food right away and within 2 months the outward signs of gingivitis resolved by 90%. I recommend this diet serveral times weekly and have seen the positive effects personally. December 20, 2013
  • 2016-09-30 T06:48:23.718-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_163, tr_163
  • loc_en_US, sid_69660, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>