Loading...
On Sale

Hill's Prescription Diet t/d Dental Care Chicken Flavor Dry Cat Food

  • List Price:

    $49.19

  • Price:

    $40.99 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping over $49

  • You Save:

    $8.20 (17%)

In stock
8.5-lb bag
  • 4-lb bag
  • 8.5-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

Dental care for your pet may be more important than you think. The accumulation of bacteria laden plaque above the gumline can lead to long term oral health issues. Recent studies have demonstrated there is an association between oral health issues and systemic more general health issues altering the kidney, heart and metabolic systems.  Nutritionists and veterinarians have developed clinical nutrition especially formulated to keep your cat's teeth clean and help control the oral bacteria found in plaque.

Key Benefits

  • Clinical nutrition especially formulated to keep your cat's teeth clean and help control the oral bacteria found in plaque
  • Cleans the tooth surface while reducing plaque, stain and tartar build up
  • Fights bacteria-laden plaque to promote overall health and reduces bad breath
  • Complete and balanced nutrition recommended for lifelong feeding of adult cats
  • Unique kibble shape and size and special fiber matrix technology makes this a recipe your cat will love

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69828
  • Weight
    8.5 pounds
  • Brand
    Hill's, Science Diet
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Chicken By-Product Meal, Brewers Rice, Corn Gluten Meal, Whole Grain Corn, Powdered Cellulose, Pork Fat, Chicken Liver Flavor, Calcium Sulfate, Lactic Acid, Soybean Oil, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Dl-Methionine, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Taurine, Iodized Salt, Calcium Carbonate, Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, Phosphoric Acid, Beta-Carotene, Natural Flavors.

Caloric Content

  1. 268 kcal/cup
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 30.0% min
Crude Fat 14.0% min
Crude Fiber 10.5% max
Calcium 0.65% min
Phosphorus 0.45% min
Phosphorus 0.9% max
Magnesium 0.08% max
Taurine 0.1% min
Vitamin C 85 ppm min
Vitamin E 500 IU/kg min

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. For maximum benefit, this product must be fed as the only food. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet Lovers Also Bought

Customer Reviews

Hill's Prescription Diet t/d Dental Care Chicken Flavor Dry Cat Food is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 78.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cats like it! This was recommended by a veterinarian and to my surprise the cats actually like it.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cats love this products and it really does help to keep there teeth clean. Cats love this product. Helps to keep teeth clean.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not sure A few months ago I started both my cats on the dental kibble. Today I had the younger cat, who's 3 and never had her teeth cleaned before, to the vet for plaque removal and cleaning. Unfortunately she needed a couple of extractions, because 2 tiny teeth were cracked. I can't help but wonder if the large, hard dental kibble was the cause. She is small sized, probably her teeth are on the small size too, and maybe the large kibble is just too hard and big for her teeth. I don't know. Any answers out there?
Date published: 2015-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product!!! I give this to my cat as a treat. I give her 8-10 at a time twice a day.... she loves it!! Her teeth and gums look great, greatly improved from before starting her on this food.
Date published: 2015-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the herd! Having a couple of cats with dental problems but several others with healthy tuskers, I looked for a dental treatment that they all would like but that wouldn't break the bank. Our vet recommended this food and it's a hit! We feed it as a twice daily treat and all six cats come around for it. The pieces are big, requiring even our food gulper cat to chew it, which is the whole point of the dental food! Since giving the cats this food no one has required a tooth cleaning or extraction, which was the goal. Our cats heartily recommend this food to all of their fellow felines!
Date published: 2014-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats love it! We previously used Royal Canin, which they liked, but this they absolutely love. One of my cats chewed a hole in the bag to get more of it!
Date published: 2015-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Recommendation By Vet Our oldest boy had beginning tartar buildup issues w/initial stage gingivitis so our vet recommended this food. Due to his FLUTD issues (and the price - yikes!) we've been giving him and his six brothers and sisters (all rescues) a few kibbles each day as treats. Our vet approved using them as a treat since there is little chance of a few each day creating any issues with his UT problems. She also agreed that using them as a treat for the other cats would be a good idea as they could slow or even prevent any potential future tooth issues. And using as treats also ensures we make a bag last a lot longer.
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kitties Love It! We have 5 cats age 1 to 5. The TD is great for keeping their teeth in better condition and saving us vet bills on dental work. I have used it for years - with my older cat (now departed) and have seen the benefits. The great bonus is the cats think of it as a treat! We give them a few "balls" with their food every day and if the kids forget to add them to their bowl the cats turn their nose and walk away! :)
Date published: 2014-07-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from treats only! The ingredients list does not impress me. Brewers rice provides no nutrition at all (is a cheap filler). Corn gluten meal is likewise a cheap filler. The protein content is too low. Cats are obligate carnivores. They use protein and fat for energy, not carbohydrates. Whenever I see grains like rice and corn in a cat food, I think, "it's a raccoon food." I would never feed this to my cats as part of their diet, their nutrition. However, I have adopted a cat who is a do-not-mess-with-me girl, and she hasn't yet accepted the idea of my cleaning her teeth. I see that this stuff does seem to clean teeth, so I'm offering it as a treat. I'll let you know how that goes.
Date published: 2016-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this My cat was too elderly for a dental cleaning (the anesthesia) so our Vet recommended TD. It has done wonders for her teeth!!! I would highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2015-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dental treat I bought this product to fight dental tartar accumulation on my cats' teeth. I feed them this as a treat and they love it. The nuggets are larger than other brands and forces the cats to chew them rather than just swallow them.
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps keeps cats teeth strong Our cat had trouble with her teeth and gums when we adopted her. After her first year the Vet recommended Prescription diet TD for her teeth. This product really helped her. Noe her gums are sound, and her teeth look very good.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! T/D is great for their teeth and low in fat. I use it as treats mostly, they have no idea and they love it! I have 5 kitties so healthy teeth and gums and important.
Date published: 2015-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from our cat likes it Our 16 year old cat has always been picky about what foods she eats. Doesn't like canned food. Doesn't like cat treats. But she will eat this food, and our vet says it is good for her teeth.
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from bought because vet recommended to help with plaque on teeth I only give 6 pieces per cat (2) and they LOVE it! I feed it to my cats as a treat and they come running!!
Date published: 2014-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for tartar and dental health When I adopted my two cats the vet said get this stuff for their teeth - and it can be hard to impossible to find locally in NYC (crazy). But it's the best. My cats are almost 9 yrs old and our last vet exam - the vet and tech both ooohh-ed about the 'like brand new' teeth in near perfect condition. For cats a teeth cleaning is about $300 per cat - and anesthesia- yuck. If there's a dental concern this is the stuff you get.
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cats love this I have 2 cats and they absolutely love it and it's so great for their teeth! If you're familiar with Greenies treats which are also great for teeth, this food is similar in terms of forcing cats to chew and crunch their food which scrapes away plaque and tartar. The difference is it also has the daily nutrients cats need! It's also low cal, so if you have some overweight cats (I have one) I can give her "more" of this while keep her kcal count down so it's been helping her lose weight without her begging me for more food.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats love this food We have 4 cats. They all love this food. It was prescribed for our male cat, Mr. Felix, but the other cats begged and begged for it. Being the softy that I am, I let them try a piece thinking that if it was too crunchy, they wouldn't want it. My mistake...they loved it. The food is great for cleaning their teeth too. Mr. Felix's breath used to smell like something died in there but now he has no smell except when he doesn't get this food that day. Oh, and the vet OK'd the other cats eating it too, so I guess we'll be buying this for a while.
Date published: 2015-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps keep my cat's teeth clean. I am very pleased with this excellent product. My cat's teeth are in great shape due to the cleansing ability of this product. I put a few of the pellets in my cat's regular food and he loves the pellets.
Date published: 2014-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Helpful! Dental problems were a concern before our vet recommended this food. We mix half and half with her regular food. She loves it, and we love no more teeth cleaning having to be done.
Date published: 2014-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from cats love it and gums look good It has been difficult finding something our cats like for gum treats. We do not feed as a food. It is only a treat and their gums look good.
Date published: 2015-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All six of my cats love this food, although only one needs it! My veterinarian prescribed this food for my newest kitty, who, unfortunately, has a condition which causes her system to reabsorb her teeth, as I understand it. She's so young; only 1+ year! No problem eating these big morsels, and she loves it. I allow my other cats to indulge, because it can help remove their placque build-up, too. Haven't been using it long enough to tell how well it's working, but I do know they are all eating it. And it smells wonderful, even to me!
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent dry food - it does the trick! This has kept my cats' teeth in excellent shape. It keeps plaque and tarter from building up. They get it twice per day, after a plate of wet food.
Date published: 2014-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product My cats love this food. It's good for their teeth and they fight over who gets the last piece. Totally worth the money in my opinion. I do add it to Science Diet older cat food.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best dental food I've tried Not particularly cheap but the Best dental food I've tried
Date published: 2014-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hills TD Rx Dry Food As A Treat For My Feline Your site was suggested to me by my Vet office. My first CSR was, Angelica C. She took outstanding care of me & my Lily-Grace. All the CSR are truly amazing.
Date published: 2015-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice size Great size bag. Chewy customers service was great. My car loves this food and the vet recommended to help keep her teeth clean.
Date published: 2016-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommended by my Vet This food was recommended by my vet to help my cat with tartar control on his teeth. I use it as treats. Felix loves it!
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WONDEFUL My cats love this product and CHEWY delivered without missing a beat ! I LOVE CHEWY's !
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hill's Prescription Diet t/d Dental Care for Cats Excellent for my 5 cats! I have a 11-yo with IBS, and no problems with throwing up! My other cats are ages 2 years to 8 months. I use the food for snacks, as recommended by my vet. I cannot praise this food enough!
Date published: 2015-11-28
  • y_2017, m_2, d_22, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_78
  • loc_en_US, sid_69660, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrchewy