Hill's Prescription Diet y/d Thyroid Care with Chicken Canned Cat Food, 5.5-oz, case of 24

- Quantity +
  • List Price:

    $61.69

  • Price:

    $53.34 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping

  • You Save:

    $8.35 (14%)

In stock

Description

  • Item Number
    69820
  • Food Form
    Wet Food
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult

Prescription Diet y/d is the safe, effective and easy way to manage thyroid health. Clinically proven nutrition to restore thyroid health in 3 weeks.

Key Benefits

  • Clinically proven nutrition to restore thyroid health
  • Improves thyroid health in 3 weeks (when fed as the sole source of nutrition)
  • Complete daily nutrition with a taste your cat will love
  • Supports kidney health with controlled phosphorus and low sodium
  • Helps maintain bladder health with controlled mineral levels
  • Promotes heart health with essential nutrients like taurine and carnitine
  • Promotes healthy skin and a luxurious hair coat with high levels of omega-3 and -6 fatty acids

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Ingredients

Water, Liver, Meat By-Products, Chicken, Whole Grain Corn, Rice Flour, Chicken Fat (Preserved with Mixed Tocopherols and Citric Acid), Chicken Liver Flavor, Powdered Cellulose, Calcium Carbonate, Fish Oil, Dried Yeast, Potassium Chloride, L-Lysine, Dl-Methionine, Guar Gum, Vitamin E Supplement, Taurine, Choline Chloride, Salt, L-Cysteine, Thiamine Mononitrate, L-Carnitine, Dicalcium Phosphate, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Ascorbic Acid (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Sulfate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Beta-Carotine, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin, Biotin, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 132 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING FOOD I cannot express how amazing this y/d food is. We thought our kitty would not like the food but we gave her the chance. This is such a great alternative to the ID treatment (that is costly but if we had to do it we would). Our cats thyroid level was very high and we put her on this food - only water and y/d. We were in compliance with it for four weeks and she went back to be tested and it was normal - even the doctors were AMAZED!! Added note: it must be refrigerated after opening - our kitty is spoiled so we take a quarter of the can and mash it up with a tiny bit of water and microwave it for 9 seconds - and she eats the whole thing (she hates it cold from the frig). Another great idea is slice off some like you would cranberry sauce from a can and cut into small squares and bake on a ungreased cookie sheet for 30 minutes in a 350 degree oven. It must be 30 minutes from trial and error or they are soft. After completely cooled, store them in a plastic bag. Don't spoil them to much with this treat. Again, we strongly recommend this y/d food. May 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good savings and convenient My little guy is on this prescription diet. I'm saving about 30 cents a can over Petsmart and my vet. Free delivery (over $50) right to my front door. This is a no brainer. May 3, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by My cat likes it if water added Cats will drive you crazy. At first he would not eat it. Then I mixed it with his other food and he ate a little. Then I mixed in some warm water and made a soup. Gradually I decreased the other food but I kept the water. And now he loves it. I will have his thyroid test redone in a few weeks and I will let you know how it is. April 24, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by High Price My cat loves it, it seems to be helping. High price keeping me from giving it 5 stars. May 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good find Our beloved 18-yr-old Siamese has become very thin and cannot tolerate medication for her hyper thyroid. When our vet recommended Hill Thyroid Card y/d, I was afraid she wouldn't eat it; however, as the vet predicted, Rascal eats it really well. It's very thick so I mash it with a little water to make it a consistency Rascal can handle and she is doing really well on it. April 11, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Product should be temporary This prescription does lower the thyroid levels in hyperthyroid felines, however this food should not be use as a permanent food. Dogs and Cats need protein in their diet and this is only corn and soy based non nutritional food. felines on a long term diet have bone loss and other nutritional problems. This food is fed prior to the Radio iodine therapy. I have read the reviews and I believe that most reviewers think that this food should be given on a permanent basis. Please do your research. February 26, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by 14-year-old Murphy loves it! I'm not ready to give this food a recommendation. Murphy's been eating it for 3 weeks and my vet said to continue feeding it to Murphy for another 3 weeks until I have her thyroid tested again. She likes it a lot and gobbles it up with zest...which is, of course, a good thing. We'll see if it does the trick. March 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vet recommended I have to buy this food for my cat. I love that I can set up an automatic order and shipping so I don't have to drive to the vet to purchase it. Also am glad Chewy requires vet authorization. March 23, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs more moisture & other flavors,including hairball formula I am happy to say that this product has helped my 2 senior cats' thyroid issues & they no longer require medications. BUT, I'm sad to say that both cats do not come running to eat this canned food; but, they will eat it eventually. It is VERY dry & needs more moisture/gravy, as they were used to for 16 yrs. Also, I don't understand why there is only 1 type of canned. My cats are now throwing up more hairballs b/c I used to feed them a canned "hairball" formula. (They can be cranky and don't like to be brushed.) So, Hill's folks: KUDOS for this product working, but PLEASE come up with (soon please!) some more flavors and an anti-hairball version that my cats will like (it is sad to see them walk away when i put it in their bowls). And, I would also like it if i don't have to clean up throw-ups off my carpet! Thank you! January 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tammy Likes It! My 13 year old, Tammy has hyperthyroidism. She used to like the dry y/d food, but stopped eating it. She loves the wet food, and even gives me her "mom, feed me!" look. From a medical perspective, the vet told me that Tammy's thyroid levels are perfect thanks to this food! March 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is extremely effective in controlling thyroid levels. Since our cat has been eating Y/D (both dry and can), her thyroid levels have returned to normal. She has been on this diet for at least two years now. March 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleased w/everything Very pleased with the cat food ordered. Came fast & beats the price the Vet charges. Happy camper! March 8, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Socks doesn't approve Dear Hills, please improve your canned y/d food. I would likes my foods to have real meats and vegetables in it. The y shouldn't stand for yucky and I shouldn't be stuck eating just this one flavor for the rest of my life. ~Socks The Ideal Balance canned dog food we won looks so appealing while this looks most unappealing and smells awful. I can't blame my cat for not wanting to eat it and trying to sneak the dog food. It certainly isn't an easy way to manage my cats thyroid health as he hates the food and is constantly trying to find other food to eat. In a multiple pet household it is very changeling to keep other food out of his reach as he will literally take the dogs food away from them while they are eating. They thyroid pills (which Socks can no longer take due to problems with anemia) were much easier and cheaper. November 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Must have for thyroid disease I know that my cat needs this food, but I do not think he likes the taste at all. I've tried watering it down to a different consistency and he'll eat some...but I wish it came in different flavors or a different consistency. Will continue to try and find the way that will allow my cat to enjoy the food he needs. February 14, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nope Unfortunately my cat won't eat it. $50 wasted. Not chewys fault, she's just picky. February 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vet requested this My vet requested that I use this product I have a 15 year old cat that was possibly starting to have thyroid problems due to some of the tests she did.I also have a younger cat so before I asked if it would be alright for that one to eat it also due to the expensiveness slightly. I really couldn't afford to buy two different types of cat food. She told me it would not be a problem have noticed one thing at least with my younger cat he doesn't eat it like he was starving and than few minutes later upchucking it. So I think it is a blessing even for him even though he really doesn't need it., Dealing with my older cat she gets the wet food the younger one will not touch the wet food has never like wet food. I also think it is helping my baby girl who is the one that it is prescribed for it April 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Flavor Cat's enjoy the taste since they gobble it up in no time! Just waiting on blood work in 3 weeks to check the cat's thyroid level. I sure hope the food does it for him! January 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Am hopeful So far his majesty, Mr. Fussy Eater, is eating the dry y/d happily. I tell him it is better than when I had to force pills in his head. But he is not that happy with the canned. I chop it up small and put some filtered water in it and he will suffer through it. It has been four weeks now and he has gone back to drinking a lot of water, hence much urinating, just like he did before the pills. After reading reviews I am thinking maybe this will change as his system regulates itself to the y/d as it did when the medication got into his system. I see some pusses have had quick and not so quick changes. November 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works but needs improvement This product has improved my cat's health. However, without going into a lot of my cat's health history, here's what we need from you: 1. Small portioned cans so our babies can get that "fresher" taste and texture each time, without having to refrigerate leftovers. They need this to make it more palatable, and we owners need this feature to make it more cost effective. 2. I understand the difficulty in having variation in the flavor, because of the precise levels of ingredients, etc., but with all of the advances made in cat food, surely there is something that can be done, especially for the price we are paying. 3. Specially formulated "treats" for cats would be wonderful. Thank you for letting me share my concerns. This truly is a great product. May 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too dry My cat likes gravy in her food. She doesn't like it. February 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cat food Will know more if food is working after our next blood work up. It's hard to make sure only the one cat eats it and no other food February 1, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by For thyroid problems This food is made only for cats who have a prescription. I have to say my cats do not like this unless I add liquid to it because it is a very dense pate and my cats prefer food that has more juice. January 10, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by This product gave me options when the medicine made my cat very ill. I was pleased with the quality and concentration of the can food. It gave me options for an almost 19 year old cat with hyperthyroid, since the thyroid medicine had made him very ill. I mixed the y/d can food with water. At first he loved the flavor, but being old and having kidney disease also, he has become very finicky. After 10 days did not want to eat it any more. I soaked y/d dry in water and he ate that once. I am using appetite increasing medicine to try to get him to eat. I wish the price was lower and I also wish there were choices in flavors, so I could rotate them in order to avoid flavor boredom. I go today to have his thyroid retested and have him weighed. I will write an update from those test results. March 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Kitty won't eat the canned food but likes the dry food. My cat will not even take one bite of this canned food. I feel terrible for her because she seems to be craving more food with her thyroid condition. She never ate human food before but something about restricting the iodine in her diet with the dry food (which she loves!) makes her go crazy when we are cooking and eating. The vet says she cannot have anything other than the y/d food or else it will not be effective. I wish the canned version was appealing to her and/or there were treats in the y/d. September 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My older cat loves it! Muffy has been on the food for about a week and a half. Already I've noticed she's getting more sleep and is not as hyper. She is still craving water but not as intensely as before. Hopefully we'll see more improvements very soon. Chewy got the food to me surprisingly fast. Very pleased with the service. I will order more from Chewy should the need arise. Thanks for being there. December 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by concern about one flavor If you read the ingredients you see that pork liver is the main ingredient. That is fine but how long will my cat tolerate the same flavor. I have not had my cat's blood levels taken since he is on y/d so I cannot speak to its effectiveness. I do know he will most likely be on it for life so that is why I am concerned about the limited flavors November 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need smaller portion cans My cat has been on a restricted diet of y/d dry and wet for approximately 8 months. She enjoys the dry food, but does not take more than a few bites of the wet canned y/d at one feeding. It would be great if the wet food came in much smaller single-portion cans. Overall, the y/d diet has preserved my geriatric cat's life. She no longer takes the oral meds, has stopped vomiting, has stopped losing weight. She is not gaining weight and is still very thin, but her overall health and demeanor is improved due to strict diet of Hill's y/d. At 19 years old, surgery or radioiodine are not practical management strategies for her thyroid tumor. March 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lifesaver Was recommended by my vet for my 16 yr old cat. He'd had a major thyroid imbalance, was down to 8 lbs, lethargic, diarrhea, bad breath, dandruff. I went in to discuss having him put to sleep. The vet gave me a starter pack and after 1 month he began a visible recovery and will eat this Y/D exclusively for the remainder of his life. After 5 months he is chunky, full of spunk and back to his old self. This food was a way better option than a daily pill. Than you for providing this food! I rated it low on taste because he only eats it because he has no other options,not course he would prefer his old supermarket junk food. He does however LOVE the YD crunchies, October 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by my alternative to the cat thyroid medication My cat likes the food best when I first open the can. I cover the remaining can food with tin foil and put it in a plastic deli type container with lid to seal it the best I can. It always begins to get very dry. I heat it a little in the microwave to get the chill out and I add a little water. She eats it but she is not thrilled with it. Please make this y/d thyroid can food to be more moist or not to dry out in this manner. She also eats the y/d dry food so she has a choice. She eats it a little at a time, because she is still hungry or there is no can food left in her dish, I want her to eat both. Once again she is not really thrilled. September 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gets the Job Done Pros: Hill's Prescription Diet y/d Feline Thyroid Health Canned Cat Food has decreased my cat's thyroid count from 5.5 to 3.1 in just 4 weeks and that was done by only feeding him the prescribed amount of canned food. Cons: There is only one flavor in the canned food and I'm afraid that my cat will eventually get bored of the same flavor. Also, since the diet requires that you only feed your cat the prescription food, you cannot feed your cat anything else (i.e. treats). And unfortunately this brand does not have treats for the Thyroid Health diet which is a bummer since my cat loves treats and I love to give my cat treats. I wish the Company would come out with some! December 19, 2014
  • 2016-07-27 T08:52:01.145-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_132, tr_132
  • loc_en_US, sid_69664, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>