Hill's Prescription Diet y/d Thyroid Care with Chicken Canned Cat Food, 5.5-oz, case of 24

  • List Price:

    $61.69

  • Price:

    $53.34 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

  • You Save:

    $8.35 (14%)

In stock
- Quantity +

Description

  • Item Number
    69820
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Food Form
    Wet Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food

Prescription Diet y/d is the safe, effective and easy way to manage thyroid health. Clinically proven nutrition to restore thyroid health in 3 weeks.

Key Benefits

  • Clinically proven nutrition to restore thyroid health
  • Improves thyroid health in 3 weeks (when fed as the sole source of nutrition)
  • Complete daily nutrition with a taste your cat will love
  • Supports kidney health with controlled phosphorus and low sodium
  • Helps maintain bladder health with controlled mineral levels
  • Promotes heart health with essential nutrients like taurine and carnitine
  • Promotes healthy skin and a luxurious hair coat with high levels of omega-3 and -6 fatty acids

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Ingredients

Water, Liver, Meat By-Products, Chicken, Whole Grain Corn, Rice Flour, Chicken Fat (Preserved with Mixed Tocopherols and Citric Acid), Chicken Liver Flavor, Powdered Cellulose, Calcium Carbonate, Fish Oil, Dried Yeast, Potassium Chloride, L-Lysine, Dl-Methionine, Guar Gum, Vitamin E Supplement, Taurine, Choline Chloride, Salt, L-Cysteine, Thiamine Mononitrate, L-Carnitine, Dicalcium Phosphate, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Ascorbic Acid (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Sulfate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Beta-Carotine, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin, Biotin, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 142 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeps my cat healthy Easy to use. Wish there was a variety of flavors.. July 31, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cat refuses to eat it She will not eat this food. Will keep trying to feed it to her. July 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING FOOD I cannot express how amazing this y/d food is. We thought our kitty would not like the food but we gave her the chance. This is such a great alternative to the ID treatment (that is costly but if we had to do it we would). Our cats thyroid level was very high and we put her on this food - only water and y/d. We were in compliance with it for four weeks and she went back to be tested and it was normal - even the doctors were AMAZED!! Added note: it must be refrigerated after opening - our kitty is spoiled so we take a quarter of the can and mash it up with a tiny bit of water and microwave it for 9 seconds - and she eats the whole thing (she hates it cold from the frig). Another great idea is slice off some like you would cranberry sauce from a can and cut into small squares and bake on a ungreased cookie sheet for 30 minutes in a 350 degree oven. It must be 30 minutes from trial and error or they are soft. After completely cooled, store them in a plastic bag. Don't spoil them to much with this treat. Again, we strongly recommend this y/d food. May 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Helps to control thyroid but not very palatable. My 16-year-old cat has been eating Y/D since it first arrived on the market. I serve him both the canned and the dry food. Unfortunately, in spite of the fact that he has always preferred canned food, he does not like this food. The problem seems to be lack of flavor and especially a dry consistency. He will eat the first serving out of the can and then refuse the rest of the can - a very expensive waste. I have tried warming it slightly, adding warm water to it to make a softer serving but he still refuses it more often than he eats it. I have two other cats who even though they do not need Y/D I have offered it to them - they won't eat it either. I am pleased that you have been able to develop this product and it does help to control his thyroid problem but he is constantly looking for other food and wastes much of the Y/D canned. I look forward to the possibility that with more research you can come up with a tastier product. September 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Life saver! This thyroid food literally saved our cats life! We live on an island and no proper medication available. Our vet in the USA suggested this site as a last resort. After three weeks our cat was running up and down the stairs practically like a kitten. He looks forward to his meals and loves the taste. Thank you Hill's y/d! June 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product! My cat loves this canned cat food. He gets so excited when I open a can and put some in his bowl! He's been eating this food exclusively for a month, and his thyroid levels are improving. I am very happy with this product. June 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very palatable Kitty has a hyperthyroid condition and it's too soon to know if this food will help; however, kitty loves the taste and likes the canned food more than the dry food. June 4, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cat simply won't eat it. The very first day; my cat ate the canned Y/D. After that, he pretty much "shunned" it and tried to bury it. Even my other cats who were curious enough to try it gave up on it after a couple days. Despite the fact I feed him nothing else but the Y/D, my hyperthyroid cat eats only the kibbled Y/D. Thank heavens he likes that. Great product idea; same not palatable problem as other Hills veterinary diets. May 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prescription food for feline hyper-thyroid My 14-year old cat has a hyper-active thyroid so the vet prescribed y/d Thyroid Care food which, along with medication, solved the problem. I had been buying cases of the canned food at my vet's office but asked about buying it online and they suggested Chewy.com. Turns out that the price is slightly discounted online and shipping is free over a certain minimum, so it is LESS expensive and MORE convenient to order through Chewy. Thank you! p.s. I tried to get my cat and then my dog to sit in the Chewy box but to no avail ... May 10, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by the company was great to work with I purchased both the dry & the canned food. My cat will only eat the dry....so, I have a case of canned food that I don't know what to do with. I've thrown away all the packaging. They need more than one flavor. May 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by went to this food for health reasons My Mercedes is 16 yrs old. At her checkup she was found to have hyperthyroid. I chose to change her food instead of trying to give her pills. She loves this food. She was on it for around a month or so and at her check up her thyroid was back to normal. She will need to stay on this food and if for some reason she stops liking it she will need to take pills. (hope this does not happen). Thanks Chewy for calling Mercedes vet to get the script faxed to you!! May 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good savings and convenient My little guy is on this prescription diet. I'm saving about 30 cents a can over Petsmart and my vet. Free delivery (over $50) right to my front door. This is a no brainer. May 3, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by High Price My cat loves it, it seems to be helping. High price keeping me from giving it 5 stars. May 2, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by My cat likes it if water added Cats will drive you crazy. At first he would not eat it. Then I mixed it with his other food and he ate a little. Then I mixed in some warm water and made a soup. Gradually I decreased the other food but I kept the water. And now he loves it. I will have his thyroid test redone in a few weeks and I will let you know how it is. April 24, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs more moisture & other flavors,including hairball formula I am happy to say that this product has helped my 2 senior cats' thyroid issues & they no longer require medications. BUT, I'm sad to say that both cats do not come running to eat this canned food; but, they will eat it eventually. It is VERY dry & needs more moisture/gravy, as they were used to for 16 yrs. Also, I don't understand why there is only 1 type of canned. My cats are now throwing up more hairballs b/c I used to feed them a canned "hairball" formula. (They can be cranky and don't like to be brushed.) So, Hill's folks: KUDOS for this product working, but PLEASE come up with (soon please!) some more flavors and an anti-hairball version that my cats will like (it is sad to see them walk away when i put it in their bowls). And, I would also like it if i don't have to clean up throw-ups off my carpet! Thank you! January 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good find Our beloved 18-yr-old Siamese has become very thin and cannot tolerate medication for her hyper thyroid. When our vet recommended Hill Thyroid Card y/d, I was afraid she wouldn't eat it; however, as the vet predicted, Rascal eats it really well. It's very thick so I mash it with a little water to make it a consistency Rascal can handle and she is doing really well on it. April 11, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Socks doesn't approve Dear Hills, please improve your canned y/d food. I would likes my foods to have real meats and vegetables in it. The y shouldn't stand for yucky and I shouldn't be stuck eating just this one flavor for the rest of my life. ~Socks The Ideal Balance canned dog food we won looks so appealing while this looks most unappealing and smells awful. I can't blame my cat for not wanting to eat it and trying to sneak the dog food. It certainly isn't an easy way to manage my cats thyroid health as he hates the food and is constantly trying to find other food to eat. In a multiple pet household it is very changeling to keep other food out of his reach as he will literally take the dogs food away from them while they are eating. They thyroid pills (which Socks can no longer take due to problems with anemia) were much easier and cheaper. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] November 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Product should be temporary This prescription does lower the thyroid levels in hyperthyroid felines, however this food should not be use as a permanent food. Dogs and Cats need protein in their diet and this is only corn and soy based non nutritional food. felines on a long term diet have bone loss and other nutritional problems. This food is fed prior to the Radio iodine therapy. I have read the reviews and I believe that most reviewers think that this food should be given on a permanent basis. Please do your research. February 26, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by 14-year-old Murphy loves it! I'm not ready to give this food a recommendation. Murphy's been eating it for 3 weeks and my vet said to continue feeding it to Murphy for another 3 weeks until I have her thyroid tested again. She likes it a lot and gobbles it up with zest...which is, of course, a good thing. We'll see if it does the trick. March 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vet requested this My vet requested that I use this product I have a 15 year old cat that was possibly starting to have thyroid problems due to some of the tests she did.I also have a younger cat so before I asked if it would be alright for that one to eat it also due to the expensiveness slightly. I really couldn't afford to buy two different types of cat food. She told me it would not be a problem have noticed one thing at least with my younger cat he doesn't eat it like he was starving and than few minutes later upchucking it. So I think it is a blessing even for him even though he really doesn't need it., Dealing with my older cat she gets the wet food the younger one will not touch the wet food has never like wet food. I also think it is helping my baby girl who is the one that it is prescribed for it [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] April 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vet recommended I have to buy this food for my cat. I love that I can set up an automatic order and shipping so I don't have to drive to the vet to purchase it. Also am glad Chewy requires vet authorization. March 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tammy Likes It! My 13 year old, Tammy has hyperthyroidism. She used to like the dry y/d food, but stopped eating it. She loves the wet food, and even gives me her "mom, feed me!" look. From a medical perspective, the vet told me that Tammy's thyroid levels are perfect thanks to this food! March 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is extremely effective in controlling thyroid levels. Since our cat has been eating Y/D (both dry and can), her thyroid levels have returned to normal. She has been on this diet for at least two years now. March 4, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works but needs improvement This product has improved my cat's health. However, without going into a lot of my cat's health history, here's what we need from you: 1. Small portioned cans so our babies can get that "fresher" taste and texture each time, without having to refrigerate leftovers. They need this to make it more palatable, and we owners need this feature to make it more cost effective. 2. I understand the difficulty in having variation in the flavor, because of the precise levels of ingredients, etc., but with all of the advances made in cat food, surely there is something that can be done, especially for the price we are paying. 3. Specially formulated "treats" for cats would be wonderful. Thank you for letting me share my concerns. This truly is a great product. May 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Must have for thyroid disease I know that my cat needs this food, but I do not think he likes the taste at all. I've tried watering it down to a different consistency and he'll eat some...but I wish it came in different flavors or a different consistency. Will continue to try and find the way that will allow my cat to enjoy the food he needs. February 14, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nope Unfortunately my cat won't eat it. $50 wasted. Not chewys fault, she's just picky. February 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleased w/everything Very pleased with the cat food ordered. Came fast & beats the price the Vet charges. Happy camper! March 8, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Am hopeful So far his majesty, Mr. Fussy Eater, is eating the dry y/d happily. I tell him it is better than when I had to force pills in his head. But he is not that happy with the canned. I chop it up small and put some filtered water in it and he will suffer through it. It has been four weeks now and he has gone back to drinking a lot of water, hence much urinating, just like he did before the pills. After reading reviews I am thinking maybe this will change as his system regulates itself to the y/d as it did when the medication got into his system. I see some pusses have had quick and not so quick changes. November 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by This product gave me options when the medicine made my cat very ill. I was pleased with the quality and concentration of the can food. It gave me options for an almost 19 year old cat with hyperthyroid, since the thyroid medicine had made him very ill. I mixed the y/d can food with water. At first he loved the flavor, but being old and having kidney disease also, he has become very finicky. After 10 days did not want to eat it any more. I soaked y/d dry in water and he ate that once. I am using appetite increasing medicine to try to get him to eat. I wish the price was lower and I also wish there were choices in flavors, so I could rotate them in order to avoid flavor boredom. I go today to have his thyroid retested and have him weighed. I will write an update from those test results. March 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Flavor Cat's enjoy the taste since they gobble it up in no time! Just waiting on blood work in 3 weeks to check the cat's thyroid level. I sure hope the food does it for him! January 29, 2016
  • 2016-09-30 T06:48:24.486-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_142, tr_142
  • loc_en_US, sid_69664, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>