Loading...

Hill's Prescription Diet y/d Thyroid Care with Chicken Canned Cat Food, 5.5-oz, case of 24

  • List Price:

    $67.79

  • Price:

    $56.49 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

  • You Save:

    $11.30 (17%)

In stock
- Quantity +

Description

Prescription Diet y/d is the safe, effective and easy way to manage thyroid health. Clinically proven nutrition to restore thyroid health in 3 weeks.

Key Benefits

  • When this recipe is fed as the sole source of nutrition, this formula has been clinically proven to restore thyroid health in just 3 weeks
  • Supports kidney health with controlled phosphorus and low sodium and helps maintain bladder health with controlled mineral levels
  • Promotes healthy skin and a luxurious hair coat with high levels of omega 3 and omega 6 fatty acids
  • Promotes heart health with essential nutrients like taurine and carnitine for optimal health benefits
  • Complete daily nutrition with a taste your cat will love

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69820
  • Food Texture
    Pate
  • Brand
    Hill's, Science Diet
  • Food Form
    Wet Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Water, Liver, Meat By-Products, Chicken, Whole Grain Corn, Rice Flour, Chicken Fat (Preserved with Mixed Tocopherols and Citric Acid), Chicken Liver Flavor, Powdered Cellulose, Calcium Carbonate, Fish Oil, Dried Yeast, Potassium Chloride, L-Lysine, Dl-Methionine, Guar Gum, Vitamin E Supplement, Taurine, Choline Chloride, Salt, L-Cysteine, Thiamine Mononitrate, L-Carnitine, Dicalcium Phosphate, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Ascorbic Acid (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Sulfate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Beta-Carotine, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin, Biotin, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid.

Caloric Content

  1. 188 kcal/5.5 oz can
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 8.0% min
Crude Fat 6.0% min
Crude Fiber 1.5% max

Feeding Instructions

Because iodine intake from other food sources -- treats, another cats food, etc. -- can compromise the effectiveness of low-iodine nutrition, its critical that you follow your veterinarians feeding instructions carefully and feed only y/d.Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Cover and refrigerate unused portion. Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food & canned food. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet Lovers Also Bought

Customer Reviews

Hill's Prescription Diet y/d Thyroid Care with Chicken Canned Cat Food is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 95.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Food helped my cat regain her normal weight This product has really helped my 10 year old cat with thyroid troubles. She has regained her normal weight. She doesn't eat a lot of the wet food but gets great nutrition from her portion. She also loves the dry food version.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cat eats it We have a finicky cat. Start the product by mixing with your cat's regular food and a little hot water to make a broth. Our cat transitioned very easily.
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product My pet has been on since 2015. She has gotten used to not having anything other then this product in can and dry food. I'm satisfied with it
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I wish they would eat it. The Rx diet wet food for thyroid would be ideal if they made it appealing to cats.Barney
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This has helped our kitty When our kitty was diagnosed we were thankful there is a treatment . We purchased the can and dry food and she started to improve quickly. Our only complaint is there is only one flavor, she tires of the same flavor ... Otherwise, this is a great way to treat your hyperthyroid cat
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Serves its purpose When my cat was diagnosed with hypothyroidism I thought I only had 1 choice available to me, medication. It was found that after taking the pills for a short time, the pills did a number to her blood levels(which could be an actual side effect to the meds). My next option was to try this food & so far so good!! Her thyroid levels are much better than what they were & she loves it!! We do both wet & dry & she eats it all up!! She seems like a happy kitty & a happy kitty makes a happy Mommy :)
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cat didn't like it I tried mixing it with her regular food, then slowly putting her on just this food. She wouldn't touch it. She didn't eat for over a day so I had to put her back on her preferred food. The other thing that really bothered me was that the only choice was to order a case rather than just a few cans. Now I'm out over $50 for something my cat wouldn't eat.
Date published: 2016-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cat won't eat it withoout adding a sauce Product is very thick, sticky, pasty, overcooked. Hard for our cat to ingest. We have to add a sauce or a liquid to dilute it. Even with this most of the time the bowl stays half full, and we have to throw the rest away. We split 1 can is split in 2 for his appetite, or else we would waste it. Not a good option.
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money We have one cat that has a problem with her thyroid. We have found that she loves the taste and has not had any problems eating this food.
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from y/d food to manage thyroid conditions I started my 17-yr-old male cat on y/d about two months ago after several years of giving him methimazole to manage his thyroid condition. It had been working up until a year ago when he started refusing the pill and eventually would literally run from me at mealtime (not normal for him!). I started him on the dry, then added in the canned. His coat is gorgeous, he's maintaining his weight, and is back to his old self again. And no pills!
Date published: 2014-03-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Our little cat had eagerly eaten the y/d thyroid canned food without chicken, but he refused the new formula with chicken. My first experience with Chewy, com was very favorable - helpful staff and very quick delivery. Our cat, who'd just recently been diagnosed with a thyroid problem, had started his diet on y/d without chicken, obtained from the veterinarian. However, he refused the new formula with chicken. We are now contemplating the radioactive thyroid treatment instead of diet. I was very impressed with the understanding representative at Chewy.com, who gave us a refund and suggested we take the remaining cans of food to a local animal shelter. Many thanks to the good people at Chewy.com. I only wish that Hills would bring back the oiriginal y/d formula.
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from our cat *loves* it! The dry version of y/d was *not* working for out cat ... she really did not like it. We understood that she needed y/d for her thyroid condition, but clearly she was not thriving on the dry y/d. As soon as we got the canned y/d ... what a difference! She loves it, she begs for it, it's actually kind of annoying but at the same time wonderful :) She seems much healthier and happier on this ... whether that's because it is really treating her thyroid condition, or simply because she is eating well, we are very happy.
Date published: 2014-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely palatable Since this is a prescription food, I had my doubts that my cat would actually eat it, but she loves it! Because she has hyperthyroidism, she has to gain weight and keep it on. With this food, I am sure she will reach her goal.
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good price I save over 10.00 a case compared buying from my vet. Same great product for a great price. thanks oh and the cat food has good long shelf life
Date published: 2013-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Absolutely saved our kitty! Our kitty Tabitha turned out to be allergic to the thyroid medication, so we had no option other than this food. Thank goodness this was available! Between the canned and kibble, she put back on all the lost weight in about two weeks, and her thyroid levels returned to normal. I need to see if the smaller cans are available though. She won't eat it after it's been opened for a couple days, and as a 6lb cat, definitely doesn't eat the whole can in a day. Unfortunately, at this moment, we end up throwing a lot of it away, and that's just plain expensive.
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast shipping Best price I found anywhere on Hills Prescription Diet YD..fast shipping. Will buy from all the time.
Date published: 2013-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from the company was great to work with I purchased both the dry & the canned food. My cat will only eat the dry....so, I have a case of canned food that I don't know what to do with. I've thrown away all the packaging. They need more than one flavor.
Date published: 2016-05-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Jury is out.... My kitty desperately needs to like this food and he ate it up the first 6 days or so.... now won't touch it. I cannot get him to eat in any manner. I'm fast running out of options to keep food in him. I SO wish this came in other flavors to keep him interested. It is too costly to have ordered so much more and now he won't eat at all. :(
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big Difference It took about three weeks and my cat (Lewis) got sick at first but he has really made some progress and seems to be feeling really good. We were making final plans for him but he has since regained his health since being exclusively on Hills.
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For our cat, Talulah, this food has been a life saver. Our cat, Talulah, was rapidly losing weight, energy and her will to live when the problem was diagnosed. We could not afford the alternative treatments and the Vet recommended your diet. She is "finicky" and we worried that she would not eat this food, but she loved it from the first can. She eats the dry food too, but it is the canned food that she really feasts on. Talulah has gained weight and has gotten back her playfulness. We go back to the Vet soon, but we can see already that she just "feels better". You can tell. We are sticking with the diet all the way. For our cat, Talulah, this food has been a life saver.
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great for managing hyperthyroidism Our cats have been on this for a few months now and our 1 cat is now within the normal thyroid range and our second cat is almost there! They love the taste and enjoy the y/d dry cat food as well.
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Addresses hyperthyroidism This product addresses our cat's need to avoid foods with iodine content. The hope is to avoid the need for prescription drug maintenance of the problem.
Date published: 2016-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gets the Job Done Pros: Hill's Prescription Diet y/d Feline Thyroid Health Canned Cat Food has decreased my cat's thyroid count from 5.5 to 3.1 in just 4 weeks and that was done by only feeding him the prescribed amount of canned food. Cons: There is only one flavor in the canned food and I'm afraid that my cat will eventually get bored of the same flavor. Also, since the diet requires that you only feed your cat the prescription food, you cannot feed your cat anything else (i.e. treats). And unfortunately this brand does not have treats for the Thyroid Health diet which is a bummer since my cat loves treats and I love to give my cat treats. I wish the Company would come out with some!
Date published: 2014-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Website......Very Pleased This food is specifically prescribed for my cat's hyperthyroidism. It doesn't work for all cats, but it appears to have worked for mine for the last 3 years. It is the only food my cats eats. No milk, treats, scraps or anything else is allowed in order to control hyperthyroidism in cats. This is my first purchase from Chewy.com and I was very, very pleased. They contacted my vet for approval and shipped very quickly. This will be my new place to purchase cat food.
Date published: 2014-03-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cat refuses to eat it She will not eat this food. Will keep trying to feed it to her.
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps my cat healthy Easy to use. Wish there was a variety of flavors..
Date published: 2016-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product This product saved my 15 year old cat's life. Within a week she was eating again, and within a month her thyroid levels were normal. When I opened the can, I couldn't believe the wonderful smell. One can isn't like one can of regular cat food, it goes a long way. It is dense.
Date published: 2015-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's helping with thyroid So after noticing my cat had gotten really skinny, I took him to the vet and after a blood test determined had a hyperthyroid condition. His t4 levels were 19, where 3-4 is normal. My vet suggested to try this diet first and I agreed. He really likes it, and after 4 weeks his t4 levels are now down to 4.4, very impressive results. His weight hasn't improved though but it was because I was unintentionally under feeding him. Personally I hate the idea of my car eating terrible, overpriced (I blame Hills, not Chewy) cat food for the rest of his life but it seems to be working so far.
Date published: 2014-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little too early to tell..... I may finally rate this a 5 star product, however it has been only 12 days. This was my sister's cat (she recently died and wanted me to take care of her). This sweet 11 year old cat was literally skin, bone and fur! She was always super hungry and hyper with a T-4 level reading of 19. Once I got the wet and dry food, she seems to have calmed down a bit. As I pet her on her spine it seems that she may have less bony ridges, but if that is the case it is still an issue. I have to constantly draw a fork through this densely packed wet food, which allows her to eat more. I will write another review after 3-5 weeks, as I'd love to have restored this sweet kitty's health! My other cat is a big extremely healthy Norwegian Forrest cat whose paws are over 2x the size of this grey long-haired tabby. They are slowly getting used to each other, but I hope that the new addition will be super healthy in a few weeks. It is better than the alternative of using a Radiated Iodine treatment that I am told costs $1,500 + 2 weeks in a vet hospital until the radiation exposure is safe. Ugh! I just wish that the food wasn't so expensive and that at least there would be another flavor, as a lifetime of one flavor is kind of tough. However it beats the alternative. Thank God that someone has seen to this solution for our unfortunate furry friends.
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cat simply won't eat it. The very first day; my cat ate the canned Y/D. After that, he pretty much "shunned" it and tried to bury it. Even my other cats who were curious enough to try it gave up on it after a couple days. Despite the fact I feed him nothing else but the Y/D, my hyperthyroid cat eats only the kibbled Y/D. Thank heavens he likes that. Great product idea; same not palatable problem as other Hills veterinary diets.
Date published: 2016-05-19
  • y_2017, m_2, d_24, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_95
  • loc_en_US, sid_69664, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrchewy