Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Cat Food

  • List Price:

    $70.19

  • Price:

    $55.77 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

  • You Save:

    $14.42 (21%)

In stock
  • 4-lb bag
  • 8.5-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

  • Item Number
    69817
  • Weight
    8.5 pounds
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Sensitive Digestion, Prescription Food

Food sensitivity and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Cats that have a food sensitivity or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your cat suffers from adverse reactions to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. At Hill's, nutritionists and veterinarians have developed clinical nutrition especially formulated to help manage your cat's dietary sensitivity and help reduce the possibility of adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Hill's is going through a packaging change: Original was formerly Ultra; same great formula, just a new name!
  • Formulated with Hill's Hydrolyzed Protein System, highly digestible proteins that minimize the chances of adverse reactions to food
  • A single, highly digestible carbohydrate source to help avoid adverse reactions to food
  • Highly digestible carbohydrates and fats to help reduce gastrointestinal workload
  • Increased omega 3 and 6 Fatty Acids to help nourish the skin
  • Added antioxidants to help maintain a healthy immune system and skin barrier function

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Ingredients

Brewers Rice, Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Soybean Oil, Powdered Cellulose, Chicken Liver Flavor, Lactic Acid, Calcium Carbonate, Calcium Sulfate, Glyceryl Monostearate, Potassium Chloride, DL-Methionine, Choline Chloride, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Taurine, Iodized Salt, Dicalcium Phosphate, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 144 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by A good choice for my persian I had to switch my persian to this diet because he was on the Royal Canine hypoallergenic diet earlier but he suddenly decided to stop liking it. I transitioned it in with the old diet and he eventually loved it. I only gave it 4 stars because the shape of the food is not Persian friendly. Persians normally don't chew their food and like to just swallow it so although he likes the taste, he has a hard time keeping it in his mouth. I wish the company would consider making a persian friendly version. The upside is that there is a wet version. Overall, I'm happy with the new diet. **I would also like to point out that I had already purchased a Royal Canine hypoallergenic dry food bag for my cat that I hadn't opened yet. Since my cat stopped eating that one completely, I ordered this diet for him prescribed by his Vet. Customer support at Chewy.com was kind enough to give me a full refund on the old unopened bag. 5 stars on customer service! May 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat hates dry food - but loves this I've had to find dry and canned foods my cat is not allergic to. She typically hates dry food and will only nibble a bit if she is starving. This one she will eat all day long and will cry if her bowl is empty. Amazing. Unfortunately she doesn't feel the same about the z/d canned food. September 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by We Love Chewy! Border Collie Ben, The Meister and Crabby Abby all love Chewy.com! We love that our food is delivered right to the door (Mom doesn't have to go shopping and then carry big bags up the stairs, so she has more energy to play with us). Thanks for always providing exceptional service. August 29, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stopped the vomiting, but produced diarrhea Our 3 cats were vomiting -- both freshly eaten food as well as just puddles of bile -- on their Blue Buffalo food. The vet presumed they had developed an allergy to it, so we switched them over to z/d. The vomiting stopped immediately! However, their stools are now so soft they're just puddles, and one cat has started leaving those outside the litter box for us to examine (how considerate). Their stools also contain mucus, which is not a happy thing. In addition to the loose stools, this food has also increased their shedding enormously. One cat who has never produced a hairball has now produced two in four weeks. While I'm sure it's great for them to not be allergic to their food, I don't know if these effects are any better. July 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Z/D plus medication helped my cat with his skin allergies. When I had to change my cats diet from rabbit to Z/D, he was very happy with the dry food, but would not eat the wet. The consistency is almost like play dough, though I know cats who eat it without a problem. August 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product for cats with a sensitive stomach. Great product for cats who have extremely sensitive stomachs. Took my cat, Napolean, into the vet because he was vomiting at least once a day. I was at my wits end as I tried all sorts of things to help him and nothing worked. After running various test on Napolean and finding nothing medically wrong, My vet recommended trying Z/D Hills prescription Diet Skin/Food Sensitivities. Of course, at first, He wouldn't touch it. Then after two days he started eating it and now loves it. The best part is, no more vomiting. July 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Normally bought at store more expensive.. Love that it is the bag size perfect for my cat and me. Perfect price and easy quick ordering/shipping. Highly recommend to save money on pet supplies. We will ordering again. Thank you. August 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product After my cat, Penny turned 2, he began scratching himself to the point where he would bleed and lose his hair. His belly was always red, and he was just miserable. After visiting many vets, I finally found one that recommended a prescription diet for him. After using this product and ONLY this product for about two weeks, his skin started to clear up and the scratching stopped. However, if your cat gets in to any other kind of food or treats (like mine tries to) the product does not work as effectively. Luckily, he is not a picky eater, so he enjoys the taste of the food too. I do have another cat who is a VERY picky eater (but no allergies), and he refuses to eat this food. If you have multiple cats and only one with an allergy, I would not recommend trying to put them all on this food. It is very expensive, so it's hard to keep up with. However, the product is definitely worth it if your kitty has a food allergy. February 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick easy convenient Fast and convenient process. Will use regularly from now on. Job well done! July 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cats like it so far! Took a couple days for my cats to get used to the taste, but now they both seem to love it. One of my cats is constantly over grooming to the point where the sides of his body have really shorthair. The vet said it might take 8 to 10 weeks to see a difference, since he likely has an allergy. It's only been 4 and haven't noticed a huge difference yet but it's early. This food has somewhat of a strong smell when you first open the bag. July 7, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seems fine I have two Maine coons with skin allergies. I am still mixing Hill's with their previous food, but they are eating it and seem to like it. July 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works for Jake For the last 2 years, this has kept Jake from vomiting up most of his food. Jake went thru nearly every type of gluten free dry cat food (and many canned), trying all types of protein on the market - after 2-6 wks, each one would start coming back up again. Hills Z/D does not, and having dry food in a feeder is paramount - this 18# cat is a complete PEST, 24/7, when he starts to think that Humans Are Where Food Comes From. Very Thankful for this catfood! Jake is a picky eater, and a bird fan, but not a fish/game fan - he moved to this food easily. Very excited to find the Z/D on Chewy.com, for the cheapest price, with free (fast!) shipping, too! May 28, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Vet prescribed this food and it works! We were using another vet prescribed major brand product for a specific cat. That worked for awhile and then there were problems with digestion. We saw a new vet who prescribed the Hills z/d and man, what a difference! Within 5 days we were switched over with no problems. The one cat with the problem, got better with the new food (and medication.) The other cat who use to throw up every other night or way too often, stopped throwing up at all! At all!! And that cat's skin issues have gotten better, not perfect, but improved, just from changing the diet. All these prescribed diet foods are pricey, but in our case made a world of difference to the quality of our kitties' lives. April 16, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Made our kitty sicker! Our vet suggested this food for our kitty to help with loose stools. It made it worse!! June 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by So thankful for this product! My cat Winston developed a food allergy several years after I adopted him. Before that was diagnosed, he was violently ill almost daily. I tried food for sensitive stomach but that wasn't the answer. It got so bad our vet told me to feed him baby food in order for him to get some kind of nutrition that he could tolerate. We tried several low allergen foods but he wouldn't eat them and several medications that just wouldn't help. My heart was broken for this sweet cat that just couldn't get better. I actually considered having him put to sleep because his quality of life was so poor and I couldn't bear his suffering. Thankfully the vet had us try the Hill's Rx ZD. I can't say how thankful I am for this food. He has now been on this diet for almost 5 years (he'll be 13 this year!). He is an absolute joy. He's so active and funny and loving. He appreciates his good health as much as I do! January 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Customer Service i've used this before for my cats,Flopsy and Tessa. But the difference is the fabulous customer service from Chewy! May 26, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seems to have solved the problem Tuck's fur is growing back and the skin eruptions are gone. We have only had one issue with food being thrown up after eating since we started the new food. Tuck is still very very thin I hope he will put on some meat to cover his bones soon. Ace who did not have any problems with their previous food is happy to eat the new one. He has lost some weight and he really needed to. He is a "BIG" boy about five pound over what would be best for him. Tuck always skinny may need some aid to gain weight back he is eating but not gaining any weight. April 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by He likes it!!! Skyy is very happy with his new dry food. He has had some bowel problems, and might be on the road to recovery. Thank you Chewy Family May 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just What The Doctor Ordered Recently my cat Cleo became very sensitive to everything she ate, even the non-prescription sensitive system foods, as a result of a newly developed medical condition. She vomited multiple times a day and was losing weight fast. My vet and I reviewed several options and decided to go with Prescription Diet z/d. I am so glad we did. It has been a godsend. No more vomiting from day 2 (the other food had to clear her system)! She tolerates it well and ate it right away without the usual "change is bad" feline reaction. She is a much happier kitty, making me a happier pet parent. She doesn't need much a day because of the nutrient levels (make sure you feed only as much as the instructions tell you!), so a bag lasts a long time. This makes the food much more affordable than I had feared. On the Cleo scale, z/d gets 2 paws way up! August 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by products features I tried a different brand (Royal Canin) - who knows why but my cat would not eat it - switched to Hill's prescription diet and cat is eating it just fine - he has been on it for a month so I do not know if it is curing his allergy issues - will not know for a while but happy to have found a food he likes and hopefully it will solve his health issues - will follow up at a later date - April 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good products & good prices! Trying to get cat to accept this cat food on the Vet's advice. Cats can certainly be finicky but I think acceptance is coming. Canine Fortiflora I've used for my Golden for years and it is a Godsend!!!! April 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Working very well on stomache issues & weightloss? My old girl, 13yrs, tried this because I would find little vomit spots all over. It has helped tremendously with that, as long as she doesn't find ribbon/leaves/etc otherwise that comes up. (My indoor/outdoor cat 15 yrs has not tried this yet.) I have noticed she has lost a lot of weight. It probably makes her the ideal weight. I am allowing her to eat as much as she wants. I am bringing her to the vet this week for a weight check. I have read most of the reviews below, but I have not seen anyone else mention this side effect. Her poop stinks, as does the food, from the human perspective! My 3rd maltese dog-child, stands under the table and cries because she wants this food so bad. Needless to say, the cat eats higher than the dog can jump. October 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cat with food allergies My cat, Annie, who is 9 yrs old has many food allergies. We have been working very hard to find a dry food that she will tolerate because she missed eating the hard food. This is the third hard food we have tried with her and she seems to be tolerating it just fine! Thank goodness for great veterinarians and great pet food companies willing to make foods for kitties needing special diets!!! At one time, her allergies were so bad I thought I was going to lose her. She is her old, sweet self again! March 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat loves this prescription food Lucky us My cat loves this prescription food. He has some itching in his belly and ears and since I have him extrictly on this food he is doing better. March 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Life Saver We have a two year-old kitten that, as it turns out, has a food allergy. At first we didn't know why she bit her fur and licked it raw. At one point her head was bald. The Dr. recommended ZD before we go to any other extremes. What a safe saver for our kitty. By the time we got her on the diet, she was not only bald, but was hairless with little rash-like bumps over her entire belly and very thin hair on the insides of her legs. After about 6 months on this diet hair covers her entire body (although still thin on the tummy and legs). But what makes this product extra special is that she actually enjoys the taste and consistency. She's put on weight, her fur where she has it is beautiful, and her licking and biting has been all but eliminated. Thanks so much for making such a good product. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] December 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Positively hassle free I'm so happy that I researched pet food on line. The experience from buying the product for my cat from Chewy.com was hassle free. The price was cheaper than my local pet store . I received the product in 2 days ! This will be the only way that I buy my cat food.! Thank you Chewy.com March 21, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love/Hate Relationship Skitty was prescribed Hill's z/d Dry Cat Food after bouts with vomiting and retching. She readily ate the samples given by the vet so I ordered a bag from Chewy as they seemed to have the best price. My order arrived quickly. However, for some unknown reason, Skitty decided that she would no longer eat this food. It took more experimentation with limited ingredient/no grain foods before we found another dry food that she would eat. Unfortunately, I bought a large bag of food that my cat will not eat. February 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by I highly recommend Hills Prescription Diet dry cat food. food. This Hills Prescription cat food is great for my cat with a sensitive stomach. My picky cats love the taste and size. I highly recommend this food. March 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product This has been the best dry food for our cat. She likes the food and it doesn't upset her system. March 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cats LOVE this dry food! My cats eat the wet version of this food (because it's better for them), but I add a little of this in: 1) because they love it, and 2) because it allows me to give them a little more to eat without having to waste food left over from a second can. March 6, 2016
  • 2016-09-29 T06:29:02.953-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_144, tr_144
  • loc_en_US, sid_69667, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>