Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Cat Food

- Quantity +
  • List Price:

    $70.19

  • Price:

    $55.77 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping

  • You Save:

    $14.42 (21%)

In stock
  • 4-lb bag
  • 8.5-lb bag

Description

  • Item Number
    69817
  • Special Diet
    Sensitive Digestion, Prescription Food
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Made in
    United States
  • Lifestage
    Adult

Food sensitivity and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Cats that have a food sensitivity or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your cat suffers from adverse reactions to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. At Hill's, nutritionists and veterinarians have developed clinical nutrition especially formulated to help manage your cat's dietary sensitivity and help reduce the possibility of adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Hill's is going through a packaging change: Original was formerly Ultra; same great formula, just a new name!
  • Formulated with Hill's Hydrolyzed Protein System, highly digestible proteins that minimize the chances of adverse reactions to food
  • A single, highly digestible carbohydrate source to help avoid adverse reactions to food
  • Highly digestible carbohydrates and fats to help reduce gastrointestinal workload
  • Increased omega 3 and 6 Fatty Acids to help nourish the skin
  • Added antioxidants to help maintain a healthy immune system and skin barrier function

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Ingredients

Brewers Rice, Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Hydrolyzed Chicken, Soybean Oil, Powdered Cellulose, Lactic Acid, Calcium Carbonate, Calcium Sulfate, Glyceryl Monostearate, Potassium Chloride, Dl-Methionine, Choline Chloride, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin A Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid), Taurine, Iodized Salt, Dicalcium Phosphate, Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, Beta-Carotene, Natural Flavors.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 130 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Vet prescribed this food and it works! We were using another vet prescribed major brand product for a specific cat. That worked for awhile and then there were problems with digestion. We saw a new vet who prescribed the Hills z/d and man, what a difference! Within 5 days we were switched over with no problems. The one cat with the problem, got better with the new food (and medication.) The other cat who use to throw up every other night or way too often, stopped throwing up at all! At all!! And that cat's skin issues have gotten better, not perfect, but improved, just from changing the diet. All these prescribed diet foods are pricey, but in our case made a world of difference to the quality of our kitties' lives. April 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by He likes it!!! Skyy is very happy with his new dry food. He has had some bowel problems, and might be on the road to recovery. Thank you Chewy Family May 3, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seems to have solved the problem Tuck's fur is growing back and the skin eruptions are gone. We have only had one issue with food being thrown up after eating since we started the new food. Tuck is still very very thin I hope he will put on some meat to cover his bones soon. Ace who did not have any problems with their previous food is happy to eat the new one. He has lost some weight and he really needed to. He is a "BIG" boy about five pound over what would be best for him. Tuck always skinny may need some aid to gain weight back he is eating but not gaining any weight. April 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by products features I tried a different brand (Royal Canin) - who knows why but my cat would not eat it - switched to Hill's prescription diet and cat is eating it just fine - he has been on it for a month so I do not know if it is curing his allergy issues - will not know for a while but happy to have found a food he likes and hopefully it will solve his health issues - will follow up at a later date - April 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by So thankful for this product! My cat Winston developed a food allergy several years after I adopted him. Before that was diagnosed, he was violently ill almost daily. I tried food for sensitive stomach but that wasn't the answer. It got so bad our vet told me to feed him baby food in order for him to get some kind of nutrition that he could tolerate. We tried several low allergen foods but he wouldn't eat them and several medications that just wouldn't help. My heart was broken for this sweet cat that just couldn't get better. I actually considered having him put to sleep because his quality of life was so poor and I couldn't bear his suffering. Thankfully the vet had us try the Hill's Rx ZD. I can't say how thankful I am for this food. He has now been on this diet for almost 5 years (he'll be 13 this year!). He is an absolute joy. He's so active and funny and loving. He appreciates his good health as much as I do! January 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good products & good prices! Trying to get cat to accept this cat food on the Vet's advice. Cats can certainly be finicky but I think acceptance is coming. Canine Fortiflora I've used for my Golden for years and it is a Godsend!!!! April 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat loves this prescription food Lucky us My cat loves this prescription food. He has some itching in his belly and ears and since I have him extrictly on this food he is doing better. March 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Positively hassle free I'm so happy that I researched pet food on line. The experience from buying the product for my cat from Chewy.com was hassle free. The price was cheaper than my local pet store . I received the product in 2 days ! This will be the only way that I buy my cat food.! Thank you Chewy.com March 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cat with food allergies My cat, Annie, who is 9 yrs old has many food allergies. We have been working very hard to find a dry food that she will tolerate because she missed eating the hard food. This is the third hard food we have tried with her and she seems to be tolerating it just fine! Thank goodness for great veterinarians and great pet food companies willing to make foods for kitties needing special diets!!! At one time, her allergies were so bad I thought I was going to lose her. She is her old, sweet self again! March 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by I highly recommend Hills Prescription Diet dry cat food. food. This Hills Prescription cat food is great for my cat with a sensitive stomach. My picky cats love the taste and size. I highly recommend this food. March 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product This has been the best dry food for our cat. She likes the food and it doesn't upset her system. March 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just What The Doctor Ordered Recently my cat Cleo became very sensitive to everything she ate, even the non-prescription sensitive system foods, as a result of a newly developed medical condition. She vomited multiple times a day and was losing weight fast. My vet and I reviewed several options and decided to go with Prescription Diet z/d. I am so glad we did. It has been a godsend. No more vomiting from day 2 (the other food had to clear her system)! She tolerates it well and ate it right away without the usual "change is bad" feline reaction. She is a much happier kitty, making me a happier pet parent. She doesn't need much a day because of the nutrient levels (make sure you feed only as much as the instructions tell you!), so a bag lasts a long time. This makes the food much more affordable than I had feared. On the Cleo scale, z/d gets 2 paws way up! August 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cats LOVE this dry food! My cats eat the wet version of this food (because it's better for them), but I add a little of this in: 1) because they love it, and 2) because it allows me to give them a little more to eat without having to waste food left over from a second can. March 6, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love/Hate Relationship Skitty was prescribed Hill's z/d Dry Cat Food after bouts with vomiting and retching. She readily ate the samples given by the vet so I ordered a bag from Chewy as they seemed to have the best price. My order arrived quickly. However, for some unknown reason, Skitty decided that she would no longer eat this food. It took more experimentation with limited ingredient/no grain foods before we found another dry food that she would eat. Unfortunately, I bought a large bag of food that my cat will not eat. February 12, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tasty and healthy My cat has 4 teeth, skin problems and cannot usually chew dry food. This dry food is very tiny pellets and apparently tasty because she eats it! I was happy to find a dry food she can digest and likes! February 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hypoallergenic dry food My finicky girl just LOVES this. We had to put our cat on a hypoallergenic diet recently and I was worried she wouldn't eat it. We were very pleased she took to it right away and enjoys eating it. Thank you Hill's for a great product that works and my cat loves! I would recommend this product to anyone needing to put their cat on a hypoallergenic diet! February 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Working very well on stomache issues & weightloss? My old girl, 13yrs, tried this because I would find little vomit spots all over. It has helped tremendously with that, as long as she doesn't find ribbon/leaves/etc otherwise that comes up. (My indoor/outdoor cat 15 yrs has not tried this yet.) I have noticed she has lost a lot of weight. It probably makes her the ideal weight. I am allowing her to eat as much as she wants. I am bringing her to the vet this week for a weight check. I have read most of the reviews below, but I have not seen anyone else mention this side effect. Her poop stinks, as does the food, from the human perspective! My 3rd maltese dog-child, stands under the table and cries because she wants this food so bad. Needless to say, the cat eats higher than the dog can jump. October 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Strong Smell My cats love the food. They will run right to the bowl. The food has a stronger smell then some brands and that seems to draw them to it February 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Life Saver We have a two year-old kitten that, as it turns out, has a food allergy. At first we didn't know why she bit her fur and licked it raw. At one point her head was bald. The Dr. recommended ZD before we go to any other extremes. What a safe saver for our kitty. By the time we got her on the diet, she was not only bald, but was hairless with little rash-like bumps over her entire belly and very thin hair on the insides of her legs. After about 6 months on this diet hair covers her entire body (although still thin on the tummy and legs). But what makes this product extra special is that she actually enjoys the taste and consistency. She's put on weight, her fur where she has it is beautiful, and her licking and biting has been all but eliminated. Thanks so much for making such a good product. December 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hills ZD has really helped my cat who has skin allergies. My cat has been using the dry food version of Hills ZD for several years. His skin allergies are totally under control. It took several weeks for results to show but once they did he's been scratch free ever since. I use the dry food version because the wet food had an odor I could not tolerate. January 26, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by I wish it wasn't expensive. It's a small dark kibble and it smells like beef bouillon. I don't know what it is. We went from i/d, which was almost always spoiled when we got it to the zd. By the way, I now understand why I couldn't get Hills to sell feline i/d in larger bags. Even though it costs a lot more, at least it doesn't stink. I don't have to make anything from scratch, either. I'm glad to have a healthy food that I can feed to my cat and he likes it. You can and I do feed it to the healthy ones and the other two with sensitive stomachs. This food alone didn't cure my cat's problem. We're going through some additional medicine. November 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cat did not like this product at all !!! Not a good experience, our cat ate a bit and then thru up all over the bed ... January 23, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Marlee loves it! Our adopted kitty Marlee came to us with a sensitive tummy and food allergies. The vet reccomended Hill's Perscription Diet. Not only does she love dinnertime, she hasn't had any real problems since she's been on it. Not sure if it's an added benefit of the food but wow her fur is as soft as a chinchilla! January 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for allergy sufferers My cat suddenly started throwing up her kibble after every meal, the same brand she had always eaten. My vet prescribed her this food and I was surprised how much she liked it. One unexpected benefit was that the intense dandruff she had always had went away and now her coat looks so much shinier and healthier. This food isn't cheap but it has helped my cat so much. December 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great food but inconsistent quality My cat has IBD and the vet prescribed this food. I have found that if it's more than 1 month old, even though it has a shelf life of 2 years my cats don't like it as much as the freshest food and I end up throwing half of it away. You can see the difference in the texture from a case that's 1 month vs. 2 or more months old. At about $2.50 per can x 2 cats x 2 cans a day, it's very expensive to have to throw 1/2 can away or sometimes more because they don't like it as much as a very fresh case. I wish there was a way for the manufacturer to improve on the length of the fresh texture. Having said that, I am amazed that both of my cats continue to eat it every day, day in and day out for over a year now without complaint. May 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by My siamese won't eat it Maya my siamese cat suffers from food allergies and the vet prescribed this food, but she won't eat it. She's very picky and now she barely eats anything. I've bought every brand possible. I don't know what to do anymore! November 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Cats "Meow" We have two very different cats. One is female and one is male. The male is a main coon. Very large about 22 lbs. The female a tiny grey and white tabby about 6 lbs. They bot LOVE this food and think it's the cats "meow" . Their skin and fur are so soft and luxurious. They go nuts when they know it is time for some "crunchy" Tigger, the main coon, had skin issues and would itch his collar and neck area endlessly to the point of rawness. All gone, since he has been eating Hill's prescription diet z/d dry food. I highly recommend this diet to any cat who may have sensitive skin issues. September 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Has reduced my cats itchy skin Good product, nice size bags. Some of the competitors bag size are too large. Kibble is small, I would like to see a larger kibble or at least an option to purchase the same product with a larger kibble. Has was too many carbs in it. Would be nice if treats of some type came in the ZD formula. September 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Z/D saved our cat's life! Our cat just turned 6 years old. She has been an allergic cat since we adopted her at 12 weeks. Early on, it was discovered that she was aggressively scratching and biting at her chest. Her food allergy was so bad that it was causing her to scratch her chest until she bled. Our vet put her on the d/d diet and it worked great for 5 years! No more scratching!!! Unfortunately, within the past 2 months our allergic cat started vomiting profusely. After lab tests and X-rays, our vet determined that our precious cat has IBD. He immediately put her on the z/d diet and after a couple of days (food adjustment) her symptoms improved dramatically! She was given two separate cortisone shots (to help with her gastrointestinal inflammation) over the past 8 weeks. So a combination of the shots and the z/d has turned our cat's life around. Her vomiting has been extremely minimal and little by little she has put her weight back that she lost and is slowly returning to the cat we know and love. I highly recommend this product. The cost of the food is slightly higher than the "regular" cat food, but to my family, the benefit outweighs the cost of the prescription diet (the coupons are nice). We are just happy that she is recovering and that the z/d will help her live a good life. Thank you Science Diet for providing this food for cats like ours. :) April 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by My cat will eat and can tolerate this food without vomiting. While my cat is not crazy about the food she will eat it and it does not cause gastrointestinal distress. My only great concern is that the soy product that is used most likely is a GMO soy because most soy products are. Since I think her food intolerance may have been caused by GMO's it would be better if it was GMO free. October 14, 2015
  • 2016-07-23 T11:15:34.980-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_130, tr_130
  • loc_en_US, sid_69667, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>