Loading...

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Cat Food

  • Price:

    $57.99 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

In stock
8.5-lb bag
  • 4-lb bag
  • 8.5-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

Food sensitivity and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Cats that have a food sensitivity or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your cat suffers from adverse reactions to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. At Hill's, nutritionists and veterinarians have developed clinical nutrition especially formulated to help manage your cat's dietary sensitivity and help reduce the possibility of adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Clinical nutrition especially formulated to help manage your cat's dietary sensitivity and help reduce the possibility of adverse reactions to food
  • Designed to improve digestion and stool quality with ingredients to help reduce gastrointestinal workload
  • Helps eliminate food related causes of skin irritation and a healthy skin barrier
  • Formulated with highly digestible proteins that minimize the chances of adverse reactions to food
  • Clinically proven antioxidants help maintain a healthy immune system and skin barrier function

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

Please note: Hill's is going through a packaging change: Original was formerly Ultra; same great formula, just a new name!

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69817
  • Food Texture
    Pate
  • Brand
    Hill's, Science Diet
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Sensitive Digestion, Prescription Food

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Brewers Rice, Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Soybean Oil, Powdered Cellulose, Chicken Liver Flavor, Lactic Acid, Calcium Carbonate, Calcium Sulfate, Glyceryl Monostearate, Potassium Chloride, DL-Methionine, Choline Chloride, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Taurine, Iodized Salt, Dicalcium Phosphate, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Caloric Content

  1. 398 kcal/cup
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 28.0% min
Crude Fat 12.0% min
Crude Fiber 3.5% max
Omega 3 Fatty Acids 0.3% min
Omega 6 Fatty Acids 3.0% min

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, canned food & treats. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet Lovers Also Bought

Customer Reviews

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Cat Food is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 110.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat has a very sensitive digestive system My cat has a very sensitive digestive system. He has trouble keeping his food down. The Z/D Prescription Diet helps to abate his digestion and he doesn't throw up as much as he did. My cat is a ravenous yet a picky eater. He loves the flavor of the Z/D dry cat food & the canned food as well.
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is what my cat wants. Our cat, Gizmo, was diagnosed with a digestive disorder that requires a prescription for his food. We were originally getting the Z/D dry cat food from the vet but they did not always have it in stock. Chewy.com provides the dry cat food very conveniently and Gizmo really likes it!
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality products, all our pets love them Great selection of products and pricing, customer service is excellent. Fed Ex shipping is second to none!! Amazing and Chewy gets an overall A+++++. Recommend to everyone.
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 18 year old cat loves these...he thinks they are treats! My 18 year old needs to be on a special diet. I had him on the canned zd for awhile but he stopped eating them. Glad he loves the crunchies!
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Prescription food that is nesessary for pets Ordered from chewy and got soon, but the price is too high, they should bring down the price
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good choice for my persian I had to switch my persian to this diet because he was on the Royal Canine hypoallergenic diet earlier but he suddenly decided to stop liking it. I transitioned it in with the old diet and he eventually loved it. I only gave it 4 stars because the shape of the food is not Persian friendly. Persians normally don't chew their food and like to just swallow it so although he likes the taste, he has a hard time keeping it in his mouth. I wish the company would consider making a persian friendly version. The upside is that there is a wet version. Overall, I'm happy with the new diet. **I would also like to point out that I had already purchased a Royal Canine hypoallergenic dry food bag for my cat that I hadn't opened yet. Since my cat stopped eating that one completely, I ordered this diet for him prescribed by his Vet. Customer support at Chewy.com was kind enough to give me a full refund on the old unopened bag. 5 stars on customer service!
Date published: 2016-05-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stopped the vomiting, but produced diarrhea Our 3 cats were vomiting -- both freshly eaten food as well as just puddles of bile -- on their Blue Buffalo food. The vet presumed they had developed an allergy to it, so we switched them over to z/d. The vomiting stopped immediately! However, their stools are now so soft they're just puddles, and one cat has started leaving those outside the litter box for us to examine (how considerate). Their stools also contain mucus, which is not a happy thing. In addition to the loose stools, this food has also increased their shedding enormously. One cat who has never produced a hairball has now produced two in four weeks. While I'm sure it's great for them to not be allergic to their food, I don't know if these effects are any better.
Date published: 2016-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product was great and then they changed the formula... I have been purchasing this food for almost an entire year after my senior cat was diagnosed with pancriatitis and IBD. He was doing extremely well on this food and then recently Hill's changed the formulation of it. He has been vomiting every couple of days since using the new bag of food with the new formulation. I'm not sure what Hill's changed but I will be purchasing a new brand of food tomorrow. Very disappointed.
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product does what it claims! Zuzu had been to the vet three times regarding a skin disorder. Her rash is completely healed and fur is growing back. Her coat is now soft and shiny.
Date published: 2016-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Cats LOVE IT! When our vet recommended Hill's Food Sensitivities cat food, I was concerned that our <very picky> fur babies would not accept their new food. Totally unfounded concern. My kitties LOVE this food. During the integration process (combining their prior food with the new food to allow them to adjust), they ATE AROUND their old food to get to the new delicious Hill's Sensitivities diet food. YAY!!
Date published: 2016-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My other cat loves it I bought this kibble because the veterinarian at U.C. Davis prescribed it for my older cat, who was diagnosed with irritable bowel syndrome. It helped him regain weight and muscle mass. He was underweight with muscle wasting. My other cat likes it, too. I can sprinkle his medicine on it. It is not as dry as non-Rx kibble and his powdered meds stick to it. Much easier!
Date published: 2016-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Working very well on stomache issues & weightloss? My old girl, 13yrs, tried this because I would find little vomit spots all over. It has helped tremendously with that, as long as she doesn't find ribbon/leaves/etc otherwise that comes up. (My indoor/outdoor cat 15 yrs has not tried this yet.) I have noticed she has lost a lot of weight. It probably makes her the ideal weight. I am allowing her to eat as much as she wants. I am bringing her to the vet this week for a weight check. I have read most of the reviews below, but I have not seen anyone else mention this side effect. Her poop stinks, as does the food, from the human perspective! My 3rd maltese dog-child, stands under the table and cries because she wants this food so bad. Needless to say, the cat eats higher than the dog can jump.
Date published: 2015-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for cats with a sensitive stomach. Great product for cats who have extremely sensitive stomachs. Took my cat, Napolean, into the vet because he was vomiting at least once a day. I was at my wits end as I tried all sorts of things to help him and nothing worked. After running various test on Napolean and finding nothing medically wrong, My vet recommended trying Z/D Hills prescription Diet Skin/Food Sensitivities. Of course, at first, He wouldn't touch it. Then after two days he started eating it and now loves it. The best part is, no more vomiting.
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hills ZD has really helped my cat who has skin allergies. My cat has been using the dry food version of Hills ZD for several years. His skin allergies are totally under control. It took several weeks for results to show but once they did he's been scratch free ever since. I use the dry food version because the wet food had an odor I could not tolerate.
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from product success My cat has irritable bowel and has had many hospitalizations. Z diet is working well. We feed solely Z diet in small portions, many times daily.
Date published: 2014-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like a miracle! My cat had extreme allergies and suffered for a year until my vet put him on this food. His face and skin cleared up and his quality of life was greatly improved!
Date published: 2013-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats like it so far! Took a couple days for my cats to get used to the taste, but now they both seem to love it. One of my cats is constantly over grooming to the point where the sides of his body have really shorthair. The vet said it might take 8 to 10 weeks to see a difference, since he likely has an allergy. It's only been 4 and haven't noticed a huge difference yet but it's early. This food has somewhat of a strong smell when you first open the bag.
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps my cat's allergies Managing my cat's allergens has been never ending. He's allergic to multiple things. Science diet definitely helps (I think I've tried every possible diets). The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because my cat's stool stinks to high heaven on this food, but if it helps him not to lick himself bald....I'll deal with that.
Date published: 2014-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from recommended by vet my cat has been having allergic reactions with sneezing and nasal congestion that leads to sinus infections and includes a strange build up along his lower mouth lip area. First we stopped all plastic and stainless steel bowls feeders, etc, on vet recommendation. No change. Then vet recommended we use this food because it was probably something in his food. I was feeding expensive Natural Balance food prior. This seems to definitely help. I think he is accepting of this food and my other cat in the house has also changed easily since they eat out of each other's bowls. Thanks to Chewy, I am able to get this food at a much better price then my vet or amazon.
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Senior cat likes it. I adopted a senior abysinnian who had only been fed Purina One kibbles all her life. She was barely eating any of it the first few days I had her and when she did eat, she would barf it up. I took her to the vet to make sure she was healthy and her labs all came back great for an 11 1/2 year old. I had suspected an allergic reaction to something in the food and tried feeding her a grain free kibble, but she didnt take to it. The vet suggested the Hills z/d and gave me a sample. In the past, I was not impressed by Hills or Science Diet, but as long as Phoebe is eating, I am happy. I have added canned food to her diet now as well and she is putting the weight she lost back on and is a happy cat. No more vomiting. !!!
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for Jake For the last 2 years, this has kept Jake from vomiting up most of his food. Jake went thru nearly every type of gluten free dry cat food (and many canned), trying all types of protein on the market - after 2-6 wks, each one would start coming back up again. Hills Z/D does not, and having dry food in a feeder is paramount - this 18# cat is a complete PEST, 24/7, when he starts to think that Humans Are Where Food Comes From. Very Thankful for this catfood! Jake is a picky eater, and a bird fan, but not a fish/game fan - he moved to this food easily. Very excited to find the Z/D on Chewy.com, for the cheapest price, with free (fast!) shipping, too!
Date published: 2016-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cats love it! This food is working wonders for our kitten! Allergies no more!
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Food has STRONG SMELL, might offend CAT I purchased this dry food because my cat has food allergies. This food did address those issues and the itching stopped within (3) days of starting to only give him this food mixed with Royal Canin "calm". Calm was his original dry food and I thought well maybe I'll try this one since it specifically addresses the food allergies. The Calm was given by my vet for another reason but it helped the scratching/itching. Well, this food does address allergies but it has a SUPER STRONG SCENT. My cat did not like the scent, he ate is the first day, then after that...he would not eat it. I even mixed it with calm and he would eat all the "calm" and leave this food. I would not recommend buying a 8 lb bag, Calm has no smell at all at least not one I can smell. I'm sure the cat smell's something. This food works so don't misunderstand but the smell is very strong.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our cat hasn't been sick since she started this food We had sort of resigned to the fact that our cat must just be getting older and having new symptoms that we would have to just accept. She had been throwing up more and more, losing weight, and acting sickly for over a year. Our vet recently recommended trying this food.....hydrolyzed protein for our sensitive cat. (Knock wood) She hasn't been sick again since she started eating this food....not once. It's only been 10 days, but this is a huge change. We're hopeful she will have lasting comfort from this specially formulated food.E
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Food and flea allergies My cat was prescribed this food (Z/D) by his Vet to combat a serious flea allergy and then a suspected food allergy. He loves to eat this food and consumes about one bag a month. So far, while he is still on antibiotics for the same condition for another week, he is feeling really good. Nothing else is being fed to him, not even treats, to prevent further health problems. Dr. Ethelle Lord Pioneer in Alzheimer's Coaching Remembering4You(dot)Com
Date published: 2013-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from really helped my cat Before I switched to this food my cat lost several pounds and could hold nothing down and had horribly stinky, runny poop. Since switching to Hill's z/d, he is back to normal. I only wish they didn't put so many preservatives in it. But I have no choice but to keep him on it. Good thing is my other cats can eat it, too, unlike some prescription food, because if my cat gets one morsel of other food he pukes.
Date published: 2015-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Cats "Meow" We have two very different cats. One is female and one is male. The male is a main coon. Very large about 22 lbs. The female a tiny grey and white tabby about 6 lbs. They bot LOVE this food and think it's the cats "meow" . Their skin and fur are so soft and luxurious. They go nuts when they know it is time for some "crunchy" Tigger, the main coon, had skin issues and would itch his collar and neck area endlessly to the point of rawness. All gone, since he has been eating Hill's prescription diet z/d dry food. I highly recommend this diet to any cat who may have sensitive skin issues.
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat loves her food! My cat was put on this prescription food after nearly dying due to a bad case of hepatic lipidosis. Our vet recommended it because of worries my cat also had IBS that contributed to her declining health. Ever since she's been on this food, she's back to herself and has the softest, fluffiest coat. At 10 yrs old, the shelter we got her from said no one wanted to adopt such an old cat but now that she's been on this food, she's so happy and healthy, you would never tell she's 11 yrs old because she has so much energy! This food literally saved my cat's life.
Date published: 2016-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expensive but good My Zoey has been diagnosed w/ inflammatory bowel disease. She may be allergic to ingredients in regular cat food. I've put her on ZD - both wet & dry & she's doing pretty darn good. The stuff is very expensive but you can get coupons thru Science Diet. She's no longer vomiting and I'll keep her on this forever if that's what she needs.
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product Love the product but am dismayed by how many emails Chewy sends.
Date published: 2016-12-13
  • y_2017, m_3, d_29, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_110
  • loc_en_US, sid_69667, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrchewy