Loading...

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Canned Cat Food, 5.5-oz, case of 24

  • List Price:

    $75.59

  • Price:

    $62.99 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

  • You Save:

    $12.60 (17%)

In stock
- Quantity +

Description

Food sensitivity and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Cats that have a food sensitive or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your cat suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. At Hill's, nutritionists and veterinarians have developed clinical nutrition especially formulated to help manage your cat's dietary sensitivity and help reduce the possibility of adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Clinical nutrition especially formulated to help manage your cat's dietary sensitivity and help reduce the possibility of adverse reactions to food
  • Formulated with highly digestible carbohydrates and fats to help reduce gastrointestinal workload
  • Developed with increased omega 3 and 6 fatty acids to help nourish the skin and coat
  • No intact animal protein is included which helps avoid adverse reactions your cat might otherwise have
  • Added antioxidants to support a healthy immune system and skin barrier function

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69815
  • Food Texture
    Pate
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Food Form
    Wet Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Sensitive Digestion, Prescription Food

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Water, Corn Starch, Soybean Oil, Powdered Cellulose, Calcium Carbonate, Dl-Methionine, Potassium Chloride, Dicalcium Phosphate, Choline Chloride, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Ascorbic Acid (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid), Iodized Salt, Taurine, Calcium Sulfate, Minerals (Zinc Oxide, Ferrous Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Beta-Carotene.

Caloric Content

  1. 169 kcal/5.5 oz can
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 7.5% min
Crude Fat 2.3% min
Crude Fiber 0.6% max

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Cover and refrigerate unused portion. Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, canned food & treats. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet lovers also bought...

Customer Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 104 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by The new z/d formulation is horrible. My cat has an autoimmune disease and was doing well on the old z/d formulation for over a year. He was switched to the new formulation without warning while being boarded because the old stock was used up. He came home with diarrhea and I noticed that the smell of the new formulation was horrible. Sort of like ammonia. I called Hill's right away and they calmly told me that there had been NO other reports of problems with the new formulation. They said only minor changes were made to the fiber and the antioxidants. They sent me 3 coupons. The new formulation smells and looks so different that my poor kitty doesn't want to eat it. We are now trying desperately to find another product that he can eat. Recently, I found out that the new z/d formulation is back ordered and I'm hoping they are changing it back to the old formulation. Please keep contacting Hill's!!! September 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cat loved eating the old version of Z/D. My 14 year old cat has loved eating the older original Z/D formula for years. That formula is what I was ask to review as that is what I purchased from Chewy. Hills now has a new IMPROVED FORMULA and the amount of some of the ingredients has changed. Example-iodized salt has moved up to the 10th ingredient listed in the new formula compared with being about the 20th ingredient in the old formula. Some ingredients, calcium sulfate, cysteine, l-lysine, manganese sulfate and potassium citrate have been added. Sodium Selenite has been removed. Chewy now shows the IMPROVED FORMULA on its web site. That can has red on the label... the old can didn't. To help your cat avoid any possible digestive upset, it is best to gradually add more of the new food to the old food, for about a week, before totally feeding the new food all by itself. I think Hills recommends this also. I'll review the new formula later. August 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than expected My cat is on this RX cat food which is expensive. I had read several of the reviews about the new and improved formula and so many folks found their cats wouldn't eat it. I was very concerned but my finicky cat gobbled it up better than the previous version. The old version would be left after a few bites, but the new one gets a clean dish after. I love Chewy.com. Great experience with the RX for this food. Not to mention with the coupon that I received in the mail, I got this food at a large savings. They are comparatively priced and with the regular delivery option I save more. Not to mention it comes right to my door in a couple days. November 13, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Was Recommended For Cat W/Pancreatitis GREAT for IBD cats due to the hydrolyzed protein aspect. HORRIBLE for Pancreatitis - they need LOW fat. Not sure why a Vet recommended this, however their prescription helped other IBD cats at the sanctuary I volunteer for. OLD formula = no idea, started when this new formula came out NEW formula = smells like death, weird gummy texture, not lickable, still has corn, difficult for most cats to eat, takes 30-40 minutes for a cat to eat 1/4 can. November 22, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by But don't like the new food consistency. Why do companies feel they always need to improve on their products. November 19, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by NO to the "Improved" formula My cat has been dealing with suspected food allergies since February, after many months of agony and stress and many expensive vet visits we put her on the Z/D. She was doing quite well on it, it was controlling her scratching and licking and she was just in general more herself....until the new formula came out, I noticed almost immediately the itching and licking return. I called Hills to see what they changed and they said that they did not change any ingredients but added more fiber and anti oxidants....I am not happy. They also asked if I transitioned her to the new formula, how am I supposed to do that when just one day you show up to the pet store and there is a new formula with no warning that the old was going away?!!! Going to try a LID that has better ingredients to begin with :( September 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT COMPANY! GREAT PRODUCT! A+++++ Thank you very much for the outstanding service. Your crew cares about what they are doing. Very refreshing to have good people out there looking to help others. The product was delicious. "Lil' 2Pac" hasn't stopped dancing since it arrived. Thank you again. You have a customer and a very happy/healthy kitty thanks to YOU..... October 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by For my cat with extreme food allergies I haven't found another company that offers a hydrolyzed canned food for cats. Hill's makes a good one. My cat doesn't devour it like other canned food but this is the only canned she can eat due to her food allergy. November 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Product as expected ,fast delivery Cat really does great on this special diet. Highly recommend this for cats with stomach issues!Been on it for 6 years November 4, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by New z/d formula is terrible! I have 10 rescued cats, three who are on z/d. I was so happy to find one wet food that they all liked. Then the Manufacturer changed it. Why? I don't even like opening the can with the new smell. Surprisingly two out of the three are eating it, at least these first three days. The other one doesn't want anything to do with it. He really does need it with his reoccurring behavior of licking all the hair off his tummy and sometimes on a leg. One thing I did like with the new was the new consistency as I always had to add water to the old kind to make it more runny to please the cats (especially for one who doesn't have teeth left) but unfortunately now I'll have to look for some other food that all three will like. That's always a pain. September 8, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by New formula is horrible Prior to the "new improved formula", our cat was doing much better with his breathing and digestive issues. In fact, we had been able to reduce his prednisolone dosage from .8 ml daily to .4 ml daily - and we were ecstatic. Once the formula changed, our cat threw EVERYTHING up when he ate it - and his breathing started sounding worse. He eventually refused to eat it. We've had to up his dose again, and are currently working with our vet to find a different food. Very disappointed that Hill's changed the formula. October 10, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Necesssary for special diet and cats will eat it - although not their favorite. Vet recommended for stomach problems. Cats will eat a little of it, but not their favorite. Too bad, because its all hey can have other than their special dry food. October 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by No problems! Everything seems to work out without a hitch and the price was good! October 16, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by New Improved Formula Is Awful Devastated. Cat with inflammatory bowel disease has been on Z/D for two years. They go and put out this "improved formula" (noted on can with red stripe) and it is horrible! It is runny, it smells to high heaven and my cat does not like it at all! Too scared to use anything else because I just got her off of 15 months of prednisone and I don't want to rock the boat. WTH did Hills do this already perfect food? I have called them, I have written to them, to no avail! Please, everyone CALL THEM!! 1-800-445-5777 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. CST, Monday through Friday. September 22, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cats won't touch the new formula I understand that this new formulation has had so many complaints that the company has pulled it and is going back to the old formula. Thanks Chewy for refunding the purchase price on the case that came under our auto order! October 13, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Product seemed fresh. Product appeared to be fresh and consistency decent. October 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's Helping! My vet put my cat on this food to help with weight loss and to help her to stop scooting. It is working! She still scoots sometimes but it is significantly less. She immediately last weight. She also had dandruff and now she doesn't. I tried her on the same formula but the dry version and it was disastrous! I will only use the canned food. The two downsides are the cost and the smell. It is literally the worst smelling cat food I have ever experienced. It is also very expensive. So far I'm willing to pay the price at the expense of my nose and wallet based on the results so far. September 12, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by The 'Improved Formula': My Cats Disagree Below is the review I submitted to the Hills website over 3 weeks ago. It was posted and then removed after THREE days. Since then, I have been checking on their website every few days, and I have noticed that random 1-2 negative reviews are simply disappearing each time I check back. Clearly, Hills realizes they have a problem, but removing the negative reviews while telling customers there is nothing wrong with the The 'Improved Formula' is simply wrong. On my vets recommendation I have now transitioned my cats to the 'Original Formula' z/d kibble - which I purchase here at Chewy - and my cats are happily eating and now doing VERY well. I will use the 'Original Formula' kibble as long as possible, and hope that Hills realizes that whatever they did when they changed the canned formula has resulted in a LOT of suffering for their customers. Here is the review that Hills allowed to be posted, then removed a few days later: The 'Improved Formula': My Cats Disagree After working with my vet for months & months trying to find a diet that would work for my two cats we FINALLY discovered that the ONLY diet that worked for them was Hills Prescription Diet z/d. My cats had been doing great on the original prescription z/d canned formula for over a year, and when the 'Improved Formula' was released I tried to transition them as per the 7 day transition guideline, however, despite my best efforts to get them to eat this 'Improved Formula', both cats refuse to eat it. They meow & meow and sit by their food dish, and finally eat a tiny bit of the 'Improved Formula' then walk away. Others have mentioned the texture and the smell, both of which are VERY unappealing, but I would be okay with both, if my cats would eat the food! PLEASE, bring back the OLD FORMULA of the prescription z/d - IT WORKED! Signed a very frustrated caretaker of two cats. October 6, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Different than same brand at the Vet The product (feline z/d) I recieved must have been old. I buy the same one from my vet, but this one says "improved formula" which the ones from the vet don't say that and they go through it so fast that I can't always get it there. The food is soft, but this supposedly "new" formula from my first chewy.com order is almost too soft to scoop up and sticks to the can with zero form. My cat won't eat it- which leads me to believe it's not "new" or improved, but old inventory. I signed up for the autoship thinking it's easier than driving to the vet every few weeks I think I'll have to cancel. September 11, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by MY Cat Will NOT Eat It My veterinarian suggested that I try feeding my 11 year old cat this canned food due to having serious skin problems as well as digestive issues. Unfortunately, my cat will NOT eat it. Even after several attempts to mix it with her old food, putting a taste on my finger and dabbing it in her mouth as well as starving her--SHE WILL NOT TOUCH IT! Texture is just like jello and it has an odd odor. Sadly, this product requires a prescription and it's VERY expensive. I would not recommend this product. September 7, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by New "improved" formula SUCKS!!!!! What can't you people leave well enough alone? My cats hate the so-called improved formula! Even my cats veterinarian said that when he opened a can of the "improved " formula, he thought it was an old and out-dated can because of how it looked and the smell . OMG, the smell of this new formula is so bad, one sniff and my cats walk away. Go back to the previous formula, PLEASE, I'm begging you, go back to the previous formula! Normally I would recommend this product, but I cannot recommend this new formula. September 4, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cat will not eat new formula Since adopting her, my cat has had stomach issues. After many vet visits/tests/prescriptions/etc, she was finally doing well when using the original z/d wet food. And as a bonus, she loved the food and would eat all of it. Unfortunately, she does not like the new and 'improved' formula. It has an odd texture, very mushy and messy. Not sure what I am going to feed her now. Hoping to find another brand that she will eat. September 11, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by My cat hates the new "improved" formula I never leave reivews, but the new formula is a dud. I am going to try a new food for my senior cat- She loved the old formula, but the new "Improved" version she will not eat. She takes a bite or two the begs for food because she is still hungry and does not want top eat the new z/d formula anymore. Hope this helps! Bring back the old formula!!! September 16, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by New Formula is terrible We had such success with the old formula. BUT, The new formula is not being accepted by our girl cat who has skin allergies and needs this special diet. The can reeks, the consistency is very different, and she won't eat it at all. I don't appreciate Hills drastically changing the formula with out some kind of heads up or at least option to keep the old formula. September 21, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely Frustrated First I have to say the 4.o rating you see is not for the Improved Formula that you are buying. Most of the reviews were before the new formula came out. My old review (which was a 5 was one of them, was in there). Unfortunately, thanks to the New Formula, my cat is now sick again. Why would they change a prescription food, without some notice. I have no idea what to feed my cat at this point. September 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seems to be doing the trick! Our kitty Emma was losing weight and diagnosed with what seemed like inflammatory bowel syndrome. Using the z/d helped us stabilize her weight and now, after a couple of weeks, she is starting to gain again. She likes the taste, although I think she preferred the firmer consistency to the more liquidy newer one. However, she is eating everything on her plate and that's what we care most about! September 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Noticeably resolved allergies Silvie is feline leukemia positive and so has a host of issues. Once I switched him to Hill's Z/D wet and dry, his itchiness and teary eyes subsided. His coat condition became noticeably healthier and he sheds less. Although his eye issue may be from herpes, now I realize that allergies contributed/caused it. I tried to gradually re-introduce Wellness dry food and his teary eyes returned, so I'm almost positive food allergies are the main culprit. He still has minor itchiness, but I still have him on non-hypoallergenic L-Lysine treats (not to mention the Miami gnats that sometimes get in and bite both of us). He likes the wet food but doesn't finish it quickly like he did the Nutro, but he still likes it enough. He loves the dry Z/D. The only con is the price and lack of discounts. But, it saves me vet visits and I have a healthier, happier, softer kitty :) I noticed they just changed the formula to make it more soupy and less like a gross jelly, but I had gotten used to the jelly consistency and appreciated that I could easily scoop all of it out of the can. I just added water to the old formula and it was fine. Now I can't scoop it all out, but Silvie likes the taste of the new formula more. Bottom line: if your kitty has a suspected food allergy, this is the only way to go! August 5, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by why smaller cans are not available? Fortunately, my cat eats it. Why smaller cans are not available? Also a stew version would help. September 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than the local pet store Although I always try to support local stores, this is 38% less expensive than in my local pet store. September 25, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by cats will not eat the z/d "Improved formula" :( My cats have been eating Z/D formula for about 8 months because of having skin sensitivites and seemed to do the trick. I thought it would be hard to change to a new food, but they actually liked z/d wet food better. Unfortunately the z/d wet food has changed (why?) and my cats will not eat it the "Improved Formula". I have to find a new brand of wet food for skin sensitives. Very disappointing!! August 29, 2016
  • 2017-01-18 T06:54:40.654-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_104, tr_104
  • loc_en_US, sid_69668, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>