Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Canned Cat Food, 5.5-oz, case of 24

  • List Price:

    $67.59

  • Price:

    $58.19 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

  • You Save:

    $9.40 (14%)

In stock
- Quantity +

Description

Food sensitivity and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Cats that have a food sensitive or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your cat suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. At Hill's, nutritionists and veterinarians have developed clinical nutrition especially formulated to help manage your cat's dietary sensitivity and help reduce the possibility of adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • **Hill's is going through a packaging change: Original was formerly Ultra; same great formula, just a new name!**
  • Formulated with Hill's Hydrolyzed Protein System - highly digestible proteins that minimize the chances of adverse reactions to food
  • No intact animal protein to help avoid adverse reactions to food
  • Highly digestible carbohydrates and fats to help reduce gastrointestinal workload
  • Increased in omega 3 and 6 Fatty Acids to help nourish the skin and coat
  • Added antioxidants to support a healthy immune system
  • Made in the USA

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69815
  • Food Texture
    Pate
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Food Form
    Wet Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Sensitive Digestion, Prescription Food

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Water, Corn Starch, Soybean Oil, Powdered Cellulose, Calcium Carbonate, Dl-Methionine, Potassium Chloride, Dicalcium Phosphate, Choline Chloride, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Ascorbic Acid (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid), Iodized Salt, Taurine, Calcium Sulfate, Minerals (Zinc Oxide, Ferrous Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Beta-Carotene.

Caloric Content

  1. 169 kcal/5.5 oz can
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 7.5% min
Crude Fat 2.3% min
Crude Fiber 0.6% max

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Cover and refrigerate unused portion. Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, canned food & treats. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet lovers also bought...

Customer Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by 92 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Product seemed fresh. Product appeared to be fresh and consistency decent. October 18, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cats won't touch the new formula I understand that this new formulation has had so many complaints that the company has pulled it and is going back to the old formula. Thanks Chewy for refunding the purchase price on the case that came under our auto order! October 13, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by The 'Improved Formula': My Cats Disagree Below is the review I submitted to the Hills website over 3 weeks ago. It was posted and then removed after THREE days. Since then, I have been checking on their website every few days, and I have noticed that random 1-2 negative reviews are simply disappearing each time I check back. Clearly, Hills realizes they have a problem, but removing the negative reviews while telling customers there is nothing wrong with the The 'Improved Formula' is simply wrong. On my vets recommendation I have now transitioned my cats to the 'Original Formula' z/d kibble - which I purchase here at Chewy - and my cats are happily eating and now doing VERY well. I will use the 'Original Formula' kibble as long as possible, and hope that Hills realizes that whatever they did when they changed the canned formula has resulted in a LOT of suffering for their customers. Here is the review that Hills allowed to be posted, then removed a few days later: The 'Improved Formula': My Cats Disagree After working with my vet for months & months trying to find a diet that would work for my two cats we FINALLY discovered that the ONLY diet that worked for them was Hills Prescription Diet z/d. My cats had been doing great on the original prescription z/d canned formula for over a year, and when the 'Improved Formula' was released I tried to transition them as per the 7 day transition guideline, however, despite my best efforts to get them to eat this 'Improved Formula', both cats refuse to eat it. They meow & meow and sit by their food dish, and finally eat a tiny bit of the 'Improved Formula' then walk away. Others have mentioned the texture and the smell, both of which are VERY unappealing, but I would be okay with both, if my cats would eat the food! PLEASE, bring back the OLD FORMULA of the prescription z/d - IT WORKED! Signed a very frustrated caretaker of two cats. October 6, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by New z/d formula is terrible! I have 10 rescued cats, three who are on z/d. I was so happy to find one wet food that they all liked. Then the Manufacturer changed it. Why? I don't even like opening the can with the new smell. Surprisingly two out of the three are eating it, at least these first three days. The other one doesn't want anything to do with it. He really does need it with his reoccurring behavior of licking all the hair off his tummy and sometimes on a leg. One thing I did like with the new was the new consistency as I always had to add water to the old kind to make it more runny to please the cats (especially for one who doesn't have teeth left) but unfortunately now I'll have to look for some other food that all three will like. That's always a pain. September 8, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by New Improved Formula Is Awful Devastated. Cat with inflammatory bowel disease has been on Z/D for two years. They go and put out this "improved formula" (noted on can with red stripe) and it is horrible! It is runny, it smells to high heaven and my cat does not like it at all! Too scared to use anything else because I just got her off of 15 months of prednisone and I don't want to rock the boat. WTH did Hills do this already perfect food? I have called them, I have written to them, to no avail! Please, everyone CALL THEM!! 1-800-445-5777 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. CST, Monday through Friday. September 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's Helping! My vet put my cat on this food to help with weight loss and to help her to stop scooting. It is working! She still scoots sometimes but it is significantly less. She immediately last weight. She also had dandruff and now she doesn't. I tried her on the same formula but the dry version and it was disastrous! I will only use the canned food. The two downsides are the cost and the smell. It is literally the worst smelling cat food I have ever experienced. It is also very expensive. So far I'm willing to pay the price at the expense of my nose and wallet based on the results so far. September 12, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by My cat hates the new "improved" formula I never leave reivews, but the new formula is a dud. I am going to try a new food for my senior cat- She loved the old formula, but the new "Improved" version she will not eat. She takes a bite or two the begs for food because she is still hungry and does not want top eat the new z/d formula anymore. Hope this helps! Bring back the old formula!!! September 16, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Different than same brand at the Vet The product (feline z/d) I recieved must have been old. I buy the same one from my vet, but this one says "improved formula" which the ones from the vet don't say that and they go through it so fast that I can't always get it there. The food is soft, but this supposedly "new" formula from my first chewy.com order is almost too soft to scoop up and sticks to the can with zero form. My cat won't eat it- which leads me to believe it's not "new" or improved, but old inventory. I signed up for the autoship thinking it's easier than driving to the vet every few weeks I think I'll have to cancel. September 11, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by New Formula is terrible We had such success with the old formula. BUT, The new formula is not being accepted by our girl cat who has skin allergies and needs this special diet. The can reeks, the consistency is very different, and she won't eat it at all. I don't appreciate Hills drastically changing the formula with out some kind of heads up or at least option to keep the old formula. September 21, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by New "improved" formula SUCKS!!!!! What can't you people leave well enough alone? My cats hate the so-called improved formula! Even my cats veterinarian said that when he opened a can of the "improved " formula, he thought it was an old and out-dated can because of how it looked and the smell . OMG, the smell of this new formula is so bad, one sniff and my cats walk away. Go back to the previous formula, PLEASE, I'm begging you, go back to the previous formula! Normally I would recommend this product, but I cannot recommend this new formula. September 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than the local pet store Although I always try to support local stores, this is 38% less expensive than in my local pet store. September 25, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cat will not eat new formula Since adopting her, my cat has had stomach issues. After many vet visits/tests/prescriptions/etc, she was finally doing well when using the original z/d wet food. And as a bonus, she loved the food and would eat all of it. Unfortunately, she does not like the new and 'improved' formula. It has an odd texture, very mushy and messy. Not sure what I am going to feed her now. Hoping to find another brand that she will eat. September 11, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by why smaller cans are not available? Fortunately, my cat eats it. Why smaller cans are not available? Also a stew version would help. September 21, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by MY Cat Will NOT Eat It My veterinarian suggested that I try feeding my 11 year old cat this canned food due to having serious skin problems as well as digestive issues. Unfortunately, my cat will NOT eat it. Even after several attempts to mix it with her old food, putting a taste on my finger and dabbing it in her mouth as well as starving her--SHE WILL NOT TOUCH IT! Texture is just like jello and it has an odd odor. Sadly, this product requires a prescription and it's VERY expensive. I would not recommend this product. September 7, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely Frustrated First I have to say the 4.o rating you see is not for the Improved Formula that you are buying. Most of the reviews were before the new formula came out. My old review (which was a 5 was one of them, was in there). Unfortunately, thanks to the New Formula, my cat is now sick again. Why would they change a prescription food, without some notice. I have no idea what to feed my cat at this point. September 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seems to be doing the trick! Our kitty Emma was losing weight and diagnosed with what seemed like inflammatory bowel syndrome. Using the z/d helped us stabilize her weight and now, after a couple of weeks, she is starting to gain again. She likes the taste, although I think she preferred the firmer consistency to the more liquidy newer one. However, she is eating everything on her plate and that's what we care most about! September 9, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by cats will not eat the z/d "Improved formula" :( My cats have been eating Z/D formula for about 8 months because of having skin sensitivites and seemed to do the trick. I thought it would be hard to change to a new food, but they actually liked z/d wet food better. Unfortunately the z/d wet food has changed (why?) and my cats will not eat it the "Improved Formula". I have to find a new brand of wet food for skin sensitives. Very disappointing!! August 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Noticeably resolved allergies Silvie is feline leukemia positive and so has a host of issues. Once I switched him to Hill's Z/D wet and dry, his itchiness and teary eyes subsided. His coat condition became noticeably healthier and he sheds less. Although his eye issue may be from herpes, now I realize that allergies contributed/caused it. I tried to gradually re-introduce Wellness dry food and his teary eyes returned, so I'm almost positive food allergies are the main culprit. He still has minor itchiness, but I still have him on non-hypoallergenic L-Lysine treats (not to mention the Miami gnats that sometimes get in and bite both of us). He likes the wet food but doesn't finish it quickly like he did the Nutro, but he still likes it enough. He loves the dry Z/D. The only con is the price and lack of discounts. But, it saves me vet visits and I have a healthier, happier, softer kitty :) I noticed they just changed the formula to make it more soupy and less like a gross jelly, but I had gotten used to the jelly consistency and appreciated that I could easily scoop all of it out of the can. I just added water to the old formula and it was fine. Now I can't scoop it all out, but Silvie likes the taste of the new formula more. Bottom line: if your kitty has a suspected food allergy, this is the only way to go! August 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hills z/d diet works great with my older cat with a sensitive digestive system. My order came quick, and will purchase from Chewy.com again Hills z/d diet works great with my older cat with a sensitive digestive system. August 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service It was great having my cat's, Hannibal Mandela, prescription delivered to my door tax free, no s&h, at a 20% discount with no heavy lifting in 2 days. I'm a retired senior and lifting cat food and litter is a pain... Literally, I have fibromyalgia and arthritis. August 13, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Soxie had very bad allergies Thank heavens for this food! Soxie was eating then vomiting. She was skinny as a rail. This food has enabled her to eat and not throw up. It's not perfect for her, but it's the best that we've found, so far. August 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Slow adjustment My cat was slow to adjust to ZD, but now he loves it. Smooshing it on a plate with a tablespoon or two of water was helpful. August 6, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seems to have worked, my cat has stopped vomiting I like the product and will reorder, but the order took too long to get here August 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works for Zoey! My 11 year old very healthy cat started vomiting more than the 'usual cat stuff'. Had excellent blood work but a 'thickening' in her tummy. X-rays & exploratory surgery (to be sure it wasn't cancer) confirmed irritable bowel/pancreatitis/inflammation. My vet suggested ZD. She eats both the dry and canned & has not vomited in a month. This food seems to keep her from getting inflammation. July 16, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by medicinal cat food helps my cat overcome digestive ailment This z/d canned cat food has a strange texture. It's like mousse for kitties. My cat will eat it only if I add a tiny amount of water to thin it out. He doesn't seem to mind the taste. I got this cat food because my cat was having bouts of vomiting and diarrhea. His veterinarian diagnosed him as having something like irritable bowel syndrome for kitties. I thought maybe getting him some more natural cat food with no artificial flavors and colors would help and I bought some of that at the pet store. But the more natural food didn't help and the diarrhea came back. So I bought Hills prescription canned and dry cat food. When I feed him only the prescription food he's fine with no vomiting or diarrhea. April 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Food for Allergies This food is specifically designed to help our kitties with tummy issues and it has been effective for our precious Himalayan. He seems to have adapted easily to the change and he had been a fancy feast addict prior to having this problem. We are pleased that he has made the transition to this new food easily. May 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hills Z/D My 7 year old cat has been exclusively on one high quality brand since she was 2 years old. She was amazingly healthy through the years up until last October (2013). She started throwing up almost every meal no matter the amount of food I gave her and over 3 months time lost more than 2 lbs and was fast becoming skin and bones. After 3 1/2 months of countless vet and vet specialist visits, tests to rule out a blockage or other problems, and finally three food brand changes later she was diagnosed with a hypersensitivity to chicken. Her primary vet had me try two prescription hypoallergenic brands both of which she continued to throw up on. Then the vet specialist put her on Z/D. From the day she started on the Z/D she has not thrown up once. While I am not thrilled with the Hills Science Diet brand as a whole I cannot deny how wonderful she's done on it. March 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I THINK WE STRUCK THE MOTHERLODE i'm not sure after only 2 days but my 12 yr old arthur with the ultra-sensitive tummy and the finicky taste buds seems to luv this food after only starting by weaning him onto 25% of this vis. a. vis the d/d duck that he wasnt too excited about. he's eating this up like a dynamo. were probab gonna continue to up this very gradually to 50%/50% in the next week and then decide to remain on a mixture of the 2 or all z/d. basically, this food is predominantly hydrolized chicken livers & hearts with some minerals thrown in (no by products) and a few other things---none objectionable. chewy's will be getting a whole heckuva lotta biz from me in the near future. will also buy the dry, i reckon. oh, did i forget to say we have had 3 rock solid bowel movements?? i'm keeping my fingers crossed but i would do anything for this boy of mine who has the heart of a lion. March 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by My cat loves it. My cat loves this canned cat food. It seems to be helping with her stomach problems, but it's really too soon to tell for that. In the meantime she is very happy with the food. June 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Did the trick Our cat for many years has had some form of feline IBD. She had been sustained through diet, special dry food, for some years. However, this food no longer was good for her and we underwent a trial by error period of time looking for some other form of special food that would be helpful . We tried this special food, through our vet's recommendation and it has seemed to restore the tenuous balance in her system. We add a bit of water to it to help her eat it as she has had many teeth removed and the gel like texture was seemingly frustrating for her. Her well sister also craves it every once in awhile as well. We are pleased with the results and Chewy.com has made it easy to restock when needed. March 18, 2016
  • 2016-10-31 T07:02:54.643-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_92, tr_92
  • loc_en_US, sid_69668, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 next>>