Loading...

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Canned Cat Food, 5.5-oz, case of 24

  • List Price:

    $75.59

  • Price:

    $62.99 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

  • You Save:

    $12.60 (17%)

In stock
- Quantity +

Description

Food sensitivity and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Cats that have a food sensitive or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your cat suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. At Hill's, nutritionists and veterinarians have developed clinical nutrition especially formulated to help manage your cat's dietary sensitivity and help reduce the possibility of adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Clinical nutrition especially formulated to help manage your cat's dietary sensitivity and help reduce the possibility of adverse reactions to food
  • Formulated with highly digestible carbohydrates and fats to help reduce gastrointestinal workload
  • Developed with increased omega 3 and 6 fatty acids to help nourish the skin and coat
  • No intact animal protein is included which helps avoid adverse reactions your cat might otherwise have
  • Added antioxidants to support a healthy immune system and skin barrier function

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69815
  • Food Texture
    Pate
  • Brand
    Hill's, Science Diet
  • Food Form
    Wet Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Sensitive Digestion, Prescription Food

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Water, Corn Starch, Calcium Sulfate, Soybean Oil, Powdered Cellulose, DL-Methionine, Cysteine, Potassium Chloride, Iodized Salt, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Ascorbic Acid (source of Vitamin C), Thiamine Mononitrate, Niacin Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid), Calcium Carbonate, Potassium Citrate, Taurine, Choline Chloride, L-Lysine, minerals (Zinc Oxide, Ferrous Sulfate, Manganese Sulfate, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate), Dicalcium Phosphate, Beta-Carotene.

Caloric Content

  1. 169 kcal/5.5 oz can
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 7.5% min
Crude Fat 2.3% min
Crude Fiber 0.6% max

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Cover and refrigerate unused portion. Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, canned food & treats. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet Lovers Also Bought

Customer Reviews

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Canned Cat Food is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 107.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Re-formulated horrible My cats have been eating the original ZD for 7-9 years and loving it, however, the new and improved formula my cats will not eat. I have tried to incorporate the food slowly from original formula and many other integration methods. They will not eat it.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from New formula is horrible Prior to the "new improved formula", our cat was doing much better with his breathing and digestive issues. In fact, we had been able to reduce his prednisolone dosage from .8 ml daily to .4 ml daily - and we were ecstatic. Once the formula changed, our cat threw EVERYTHING up when he ate it - and his breathing started sounding worse. He eventually refused to eat it. We've had to up his dose again, and are currently working with our vet to find a different food. Very disappointed that Hill's changed the formula.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from New "improved" formula SUCKS!!!!! What can't you people leave well enough alone? My cats hate the so-called improved formula! Even my cats veterinarian said that when he opened a can of the "improved " formula, he thought it was an old and out-dated can because of how it looked and the smell . OMG, the smell of this new formula is so bad, one sniff and my cats walk away. Go back to the previous formula, PLEASE, I'm begging you, go back to the previous formula! Normally I would recommend this product, but I cannot recommend this new formula.
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from New z/d formula is terrible! I have 10 rescued cats, three who are on z/d. I was so happy to find one wet food that they all liked. Then the Manufacturer changed it. Why? I don't even like opening the can with the new smell. Surprisingly two out of the three are eating it, at least these first three days. The other one doesn't want anything to do with it. He really does need it with his reoccurring behavior of licking all the hair off his tummy and sometimes on a leg. One thing I did like with the new was the new consistency as I always had to add water to the old kind to make it more runny to please the cats (especially for one who doesn't have teeth left) but unfortunately now I'll have to look for some other food that all three will like. That's always a pain.
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Helps, but cat doesn't like it much I bought this product for my cat, who has long-standing IBD. I don't like prescription diets, but since nothing else was helping him, I decided to try it. The first few cans I got from the vet were okay, other than looking like brown Jello, but at least my cat ate it. So I bought a case of the stuff from Chewy. The new stuff was marked "improved formula," which is arguable. It is slightly less gelatinous, but my cat doesn't like it as much. I think it's going to be hard to keep his weight up on this stuff since his appetite is rather poor anyway, despite being on an appetite stimulant. I do mix some of the dried Z/D in with it, which helps him accept it a little better. Can't really say whether I recommend it or not. Yes, because it does seem to lessen his symptoms of IBD, but no because it isn't very palatable. Some of the other cats don't seem to have a problem with it, so I guess you just have to try it and see how your cat reacts.
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from New Improved Formula Is Awful Devastated. Cat with inflammatory bowel disease has been on Z/D for two years. They go and put out this "improved formula" (noted on can with red stripe) and it is horrible! It is runny, it smells to high heaven and my cat does not like it at all! Too scared to use anything else because I just got her off of 15 months of prednisone and I don't want to rock the boat. WTH did Hills do this already perfect food? I have called them, I have written to them, to no avail! Please, everyone CALL THEM!! 1-800-445-5777 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. CST, Monday through Friday.
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprise, surprise he loves this food! This was purchased for a very finicky, sick cat. He eats more now and his condition appears to be improving. It was obvious most other foods didn't make him feel very well. This product has been a tremendous help.
Date published: 2016-12-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from MY Cat Will NOT Eat It My veterinarian suggested that I try feeding my 11 year old cat this canned food due to having serious skin problems as well as digestive issues. Unfortunately, my cat will NOT eat it. Even after several attempts to mix it with her old food, putting a taste on my finger and dabbing it in her mouth as well as starving her--SHE WILL NOT TOUCH IT! Texture is just like jello and it has an odd odor. Sadly, this product requires a prescription and it's VERY expensive. I would not recommend this product.
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The 'Improved Formula': My Cats Disagree Below is the review I submitted to the Hills website over 3 weeks ago. It was posted and then removed after THREE days. Since then, I have been checking on their website every few days, and I have noticed that random 1-2 negative reviews are simply disappearing each time I check back. Clearly, Hills realizes they have a problem, but removing the negative reviews while telling customers there is nothing wrong with the The 'Improved Formula' is simply wrong. On my vets recommendation I have now transitioned my cats to the 'Original Formula' z/d kibble - which I purchase here at Chewy - and my cats are happily eating and now doing VERY well. I will use the 'Original Formula' kibble as long as possible, and hope that Hills realizes that whatever they did when they changed the canned formula has resulted in a LOT of suffering for their customers. Here is the review that Hills allowed to be posted, then removed a few days later: The 'Improved Formula': My Cats Disagree After working with my vet for months & months trying to find a diet that would work for my two cats we FINALLY discovered that the ONLY diet that worked for them was Hills Prescription Diet z/d. My cats had been doing great on the original prescription z/d canned formula for over a year, and when the 'Improved Formula' was released I tried to transition them as per the 7 day transition guideline, however, despite my best efforts to get them to eat this 'Improved Formula', both cats refuse to eat it. They meow & meow and sit by their food dish, and finally eat a tiny bit of the 'Improved Formula' then walk away. Others have mentioned the texture and the smell, both of which are VERY unappealing, but I would be okay with both, if my cats would eat the food! PLEASE, bring back the OLD FORMULA of the prescription z/d - IT WORKED! Signed a very frustrated caretaker of two cats.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is great for cats lovers Great product has helped alot with my cats senstive skin condition
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Different than same brand at the Vet The product (feline z/d) I recieved must have been old. I buy the same one from my vet, but this one says "improved formula" which the ones from the vet don't say that and they go through it so fast that I can't always get it there. The food is soft, but this supposedly "new" formula from my first chewy.com order is almost too soft to scoop up and sticks to the can with zero form. My cat won't eat it- which leads me to believe it's not "new" or improved, but old inventory. I signed up for the autoship thinking it's easier than driving to the vet every few weeks I think I'll have to cancel.
Date published: 2016-09-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extremely Frustrated First I have to say the 4.o rating you see is not for the Improved Formula that you are buying. Most of the reviews were before the new formula came out. My old review (which was a 5 was one of them, was in there). Unfortunately, thanks to the New Formula, my cat is now sick again. Why would they change a prescription food, without some notice. I have no idea what to feed my cat at this point.
Date published: 2016-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life changing food for my cat! I cannot say enough good things about this product! I have a domestic shorthair cat whose health seemed to be getting worse as the years went on. He seemed not to have too much energy, had constant loose stool, refused to use his litter box to go number 2 and was throwing up every so often. Tried all different foods and litters and went to the vet numerous times to try different shots and things and nothing seemed to work. Finally the vet wrote a prescription for this food and I have my old cat back! He now is full of energy, hasn't thrown up once, uses his litter box and his stool is normal. Cannot say enough good things. A couple of tips for those cats that may be a little hesitant to eat the food at first like my cat. One, make sure to chop and mash the food to get the same consistency as ground beef. Second, when I take out a half can leftovers from the fridge, I nuke the food in the microwave for 5 seconds to get it to room temp. The only bad thing I can say about the product is the price but trust me it is well worth it. Also cannot say enough about chewy.com. They were extremely fast to ship the food and they have the best prices around.
Date published: 2014-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I THINK WE STRUCK THE MOTHERLODE i'm not sure after only 2 days but my 12 yr old arthur with the ultra-sensitive tummy and the finicky taste buds seems to luv this food after only starting by weaning him onto 25% of this vis. a. vis the d/d duck that he wasnt too excited about. he's eating this up like a dynamo. were probab gonna continue to up this very gradually to 50%/50% in the next week and then decide to remain on a mixture of the 2 or all z/d. basically, this food is predominantly hydrolized chicken livers & hearts with some minerals thrown in (no by products) and a few other things---none objectionable. chewy's will be getting a whole heckuva lotta biz from me in the near future. will also buy the dry, i reckon. oh, did i forget to say we have had 3 rock solid bowel movements?? i'm keeping my fingers crossed but i would do anything for this boy of mine who has the heart of a lion.
Date published: 2014-03-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from cats will not eat the z/d "Improved formula" :( My cats have been eating Z/D formula for about 8 months because of having skin sensitivites and seemed to do the trick. I thought it would be hard to change to a new food, but they actually liked z/d wet food better. Unfortunately the z/d wet food has changed (why?) and my cats will not eat it the "Improved Formula". I have to find a new brand of wet food for skin sensitives. Very disappointing!!
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My cat hates the new "improved" formula I never leave reivews, but the new formula is a dud. I am going to try a new food for my senior cat- She loved the old formula, but the new "Improved" version she will not eat. She takes a bite or two the begs for food because she is still hungry and does not want top eat the new z/d formula anymore. Hope this helps! Bring back the old formula!!!
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cat will not eat new formula Since adopting her, my cat has had stomach issues. After many vet visits/tests/prescriptions/etc, she was finally doing well when using the original z/d wet food. And as a bonus, she loved the food and would eat all of it. Unfortunately, she does not like the new and 'improved' formula. It has an odd texture, very mushy and messy. Not sure what I am going to feed her now. Hoping to find another brand that she will eat.
Date published: 2016-09-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from New Formula is terrible We had such success with the old formula. BUT, The new formula is not being accepted by our girl cat who has skin allergies and needs this special diet. The can reeks, the consistency is very different, and she won't eat it at all. I don't appreciate Hills drastically changing the formula with out some kind of heads up or at least option to keep the old formula.
Date published: 2016-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hills Z/D My 7 year old cat has been exclusively on one high quality brand since she was 2 years old. She was amazingly healthy through the years up until last October (2013). She started throwing up almost every meal no matter the amount of food I gave her and over 3 months time lost more than 2 lbs and was fast becoming skin and bones. After 3 1/2 months of countless vet and vet specialist visits, tests to rule out a blockage or other problems, and finally three food brand changes later she was diagnosed with a hypersensitivity to chicken. Her primary vet had me try two prescription hypoallergenic brands both of which she continued to throw up on. Then the vet specialist put her on Z/D. From the day she started on the Z/D she has not thrown up once. While I am not thrilled with the Hills Science Diet brand as a whole I cannot deny how wonderful she's done on it.
Date published: 2014-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Allergies I purchased this product because my cat has allergies. I don't know if the allergies are food based yet and she hasn't been on the diet long enough to speak to that side of this product. She does like the wet food. It's very 'sticky'. I read online about mixing some water in it. I've been doing that and it's working out really well. So far so good.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Allergic Cat Bought this after a vet visit for my cat, Samantha. We are waiting to see if it helps her itchy ears/head thinking it's related to a food allergy. She is 5 weeks into the food trial and is doing better although it's too soon to see if this is the solution to her itchiness problem. She seems to like the taste...the trial continues.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Was Recommended For Cat W/Pancreatitis GREAT for IBD cats due to the hydrolyzed protein aspect. HORRIBLE for Pancreatitis - they need LOW fat. Not sure why a Vet recommended this, however their prescription helped other IBD cats at the sanctuary I volunteer for. OLD formula = no idea, started when this new formula came out NEW formula = smells like death, weird gummy texture, not lickable, still has corn, difficult for most cats to eat, takes 30-40 minutes for a cat to eat 1/4 can.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cats won't touch the new formula I understand that this new formulation has had so many complaints that the company has pulled it and is going back to the old formula. Thanks Chewy for refunding the purchase price on the case that came under our auto order!
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected My cat is on this RX cat food which is expensive. I had read several of the reviews about the new and improved formula and so many folks found their cats wouldn't eat it. I was very concerned but my finicky cat gobbled it up better than the previous version. The old version would be left after a few bites, but the new one gets a clean dish after. I love Chewy.com. Great experience with the RX for this food. Not to mention with the coupon that I received in the mail, I got this food at a large savings. They are comparatively priced and with the regular delivery option I save more. Not to mention it comes right to my door in a couple days.
Date published: 2016-11-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from But don't like the new food consistency. Why do companies feel they always need to improve on their products.
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Feline Ultra Canned Cat Food One of our cats is very allergic to most foods. Z/D feline canned cat food is one of the few products that he can not only eat without having a reaction, but which he actually likes. We have tried all the major brands of cat food, and Hills canned, along with their Z/D dry food and the hypo allergen treats produced by Hill's are the only foods that, again, don't kick off an allergic response, and which he also loves to eat. Our other cat eats these products and also loves them. We used to feed each of them different products, but the Hill's foods are apparently so tasty, that the other cat won't hardly eat anything else either. Thank You Chewy. Sincerely....Dave & Glenda Freeman
Date published: 2014-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from medicinal cat food helps my cat overcome digestive ailment This z/d canned cat food has a strange texture. It's like mousse for kitties. My cat will eat it only if I add a tiny amount of water to thin it out. He doesn't seem to mind the taste. I got this cat food because my cat was having bouts of vomiting and diarrhea. His veterinarian diagnosed him as having something like irritable bowel syndrome for kitties. I thought maybe getting him some more natural cat food with no artificial flavors and colors would help and I bought some of that at the pet store. But the more natural food didn't help and the diarrhea came back. So I bought Hills prescription canned and dry cat food. When I feed him only the prescription food he's fine with no vomiting or diarrhea.
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a hit for my IBS cat! My sphynx cat has moderate IBS and regularly goes outside the litter box when having issues. Our vet switched him to Royal Canin hydrolized protein hard food. My cat prefers soft over hard food, so he was constantly crying by the food dish for soft food. I tried this product, and it's a hit! It is gelatin-like. I add a bit of water to it and smash it up with a fork into tiny pieces....the water seems to help. Even my other sphynx cat, who doesn't have IBS, finds it to be a hit!
Date published: 2014-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT COMPANY! GREAT PRODUCT! A+++++ Thank you very much for the outstanding service. Your crew cares about what they are doing. Very refreshing to have good people out there looking to help others. The product was delicious. "Lil' 2Pac" hasn't stopped dancing since it arrived. Thank you again. You have a customer and a very happy/healthy kitty thanks to YOU.....
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not like your regular canned cat food This food is fed to cats with health conditions. Our cat is allergic, and this food seems to help her. She has no issues eating it. However, do not expect the canned food to look like regular food. It has a gelatin like texture..One big "glob" in the can. I need to mash it out a lot to break it down to make it easy to eat. I often add a little water to it.
Date published: 2016-03-02
  • y_2017, m_2, d_25, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_107
  • loc_en_US, sid_69668, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrchewy