Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Canned Cat Food, 5.5-oz, case of 24

- Quantity +
  • List Price:

    $67.59

  • Price:

    $58.19 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping

  • You Save:

    $9.40 (14%)

In stock

Description

  • Item Number
    69815
  • Special Diet
    Sensitive Digestion, Prescription Food
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Food Form
    Wet Food
  • Made in
    United States
  • Lifestage
    Adult

Food sensitivity and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Cats that have a food sensitive or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your cat suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. At Hill's, nutritionists and veterinarians have developed clinical nutrition especially formulated to help manage your cat's dietary sensitivity and help reduce the possibility of adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Hill's is going through a packaging change: Original was formerly Ultra; same great formula, just a new name!
  • Formulated with Hill's Hydrolyzed Protein System - highly digestible proteins that minimize the chances of adverse reactions to food
  • No intact animal protein to help avoid adverse reactions to food
  • Highly digestible carbohydrates and fats to help reduce gastrointestinal workload
  • Increased in omega 3 and 6 Fatty Acids to help nourish the skin and coat
  • Added antioxidants to support a healthy immune system
  • Made in the USA

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Ingredients

Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Water, Corn Starch, Soybean Oil, Powdered Cellulose, Calcium Carbonate, Dl-Methionine, Potassium Chloride, Dicalcium Phosphate, Choline Chloride, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Ascorbic Acid (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid), Iodized Salt, Taurine, Calcium Sulfate, Minerals (Zinc Oxide, Ferrous Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Beta-Carotene.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 87 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank God my cat loves it. After finding out my cat has MRSA, she was put on a diet of a special dry food only. Well, since she always got wet food also, I felt really bad for her and was on the hunt for wet food that she could eat also. I finally found the Z/D Duck and Pea food, thinking she'll never eat this (she's very picky). Then when I opened the can, I really thought "no way". The food is like wet rubber. Well, much to my surprise, she loves it and always wants seconds. I'd love to find another flavor though, just to give her some variety. Any suggestions for another flavor of the Hydrolyze Protien food? April 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good product My cat is almost 2 years old and has a history of vomiting often. Recently he was vomiting twice a day so I took him to the Vet. He gave us this prescription food to see if the cat has some intolerance to protein. I was afraid that my kitty wasn't going to eat the new food, instead he loves it and he hasn't vomited since I start the therapy! Although I have to say that he is now constipated and it may be because of the new food, I will ask the Vet. April 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Did the trick Our cat for many years has had some form of feline IBD. She had been sustained through diet, special dry food, for some years. However, this food no longer was good for her and we underwent a trial by error period of time looking for some other form of special food that would be helpful . We tried this special food, through our vet's recommendation and it has seemed to restore the tenuous balance in her system. We add a bit of water to it to help her eat it as she has had many teeth removed and the gel like texture was seemingly frustrating for her. Her well sister also craves it every once in awhile as well. We are pleased with the results and Chewy.com has made it easy to restock when needed. March 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cat loves it!! My cat goes through spells of not liking his special diet cat food.....this Z/D canned food is great! He ate all of it! I could only get the dry food from the vet, so it is very nice to be able to get it cheaper than the other special diet food from them!! April 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lifesaver My cat has had IBD most of his life & this food has been our saving grace! He's been happily eating Z/D wet for almost 3 years now (with Royal Canin HP dry) & going strong. Plus, Chewy has the best price I've ever seen so I highly recommend!!! April 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by IT WORKS RELIEVED THE ALLERGY PROBLEM TO "STORE BOUGHT" FOODS. April 8, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not like your regular canned cat food This food is fed to cats with health conditions. Our cat is allergic, and this food seems to help her. She has no issues eating it. However, do not expect the canned food to look like regular food. It has a gelatin like texture..One big "glob" in the can. I need to mash it out a lot to break it down to make it easy to eat. I often add a little water to it. March 2, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product has helped my Chester. Hills prescription z/d has been good for my cat. He has IBD and seems to have allergy issues. His sensitive tummy tolerates this food better than others. I wish the cans were smaller, as he does not seem to like it once I have to refrigerate it. Glad we have found something that works for him. February 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality food and seems to work! My sister's cat, Tommy, who I help to care for likes to eat this food and it seems to work well for him. He is robustly healthy and has nice skin and fur. Purchasing this product from Chewy.com is also MUCH less expensive than buying it at the large chain pet store and easier for me. Yay! March 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by I THINK WE STRUCK THE MOTHERLODE i'm not sure after only 2 days but my 12 yr old arthur with the ultra-sensitive tummy and the finicky taste buds seems to luv this food after only starting by weaning him onto 25% of this vis. a. vis the d/d duck that he wasnt too excited about. he's eating this up like a dynamo. were probab gonna continue to up this very gradually to 50%/50% in the next week and then decide to remain on a mixture of the 2 or all z/d. basically, this food is predominantly hydrolized chicken livers & hearts with some minerals thrown in (no by products) and a few other things---none objectionable. chewy's will be getting a whole heckuva lotta biz from me in the near future. will also buy the dry, i reckon. oh, did i forget to say we have had 3 rock solid bowel movements?? i'm keeping my fingers crossed but i would do anything for this boy of mine who has the heart of a lion. March 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hills Z/D My 7 year old cat has been exclusively on one high quality brand since she was 2 years old. She was amazingly healthy through the years up until last October (2013). She started throwing up almost every meal no matter the amount of food I gave her and over 3 months time lost more than 2 lbs and was fast becoming skin and bones. After 3 1/2 months of countless vet and vet specialist visits, tests to rule out a blockage or other problems, and finally three food brand changes later she was diagnosed with a hypersensitivity to chicken. Her primary vet had me try two prescription hypoallergenic brands both of which she continued to throw up on. Then the vet specialist put her on Z/D. From the day she started on the Z/D she has not thrown up once. While I am not thrilled with the Hills Science Diet brand as a whole I cannot deny how wonderful she's done on it. March 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hypoallergenic food We tried this for our VERY fussy eater. She seemed to like it on the first day but refused to eat it after that. She is very hard to please when it come to wet food so, while she did not like it I would still recommend it to others who might need this Rx food for their pet. It provides an option for their pet if they are used to canned food. Chewy was wonderful and refunded me for all of the un-used cans! February 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Find My cat loves it and its one of the few foods he can eat due to allergies. I'm grateful to have found this. February 14, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Did the trick ! Our senior cat was backing off from his dry food, even though I had him checked out by the vet, I thought maybe his teeth hurt, ( he is 14 this month) I wanted to supplement his diet with some wet food and this did the trick. He now eats 1/2 a can and 1/2 of a cup of dry food daily. He is a very happy boy. He has IBS so has to be on prescription food and also a medication. February 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cat food Very happy with this can cat food for my cat. She has skin allergies and we need to watch what she eats. She likes this product and I'm am so happy she does. Thank you February 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only food my cat can tolerate Z/D canned food has so far been the only food that doesn't upset my Siamese/Snowshoe mix. He seems allergic to everything. Since I have two cats, they both eat it. February 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for cats with intestinal problems We started using this product on the recommendation of our Vet for colitis in our cat. It is a more easily digestible product than regular cat food. We use it in small amounts to add probiotic to daily. One can lasts 5 days. Our cat also eats hydrolyzed Cannon dry food. Since being on this diet, especially the ZD food, he doesn't shed much and the coat is shiny and healthier. His colitis is much improved and we are happy with this product. January 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Life changing food for my cat! I cannot say enough good things about this product! I have a domestic shorthair cat whose health seemed to be getting worse as the years went on. He seemed not to have too much energy, had constant loose stool, refused to use his litter box to go number 2 and was throwing up every so often. Tried all different foods and litters and went to the vet numerous times to try different shots and things and nothing seemed to work. Finally the vet wrote a prescription for this food and I have my old cat back! He now is full of energy, hasn't thrown up once, uses his litter box and his stool is normal. Cannot say enough good things. A couple of tips for those cats that may be a little hesitant to eat the food at first like my cat. One, make sure to chop and mash the food to get the same consistency as ground beef. Second, when I take out a half can leftovers from the fridge, I nuke the food in the microwave for 5 seconds to get it to room temp. The only bad thing I can say about the product is the price but trust me it is well worth it. Also cannot say enough about chewy.com. They were extremely fast to ship the food and they have the best prices around. February 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Please make smaller cans It's the only can food my cat will eat. Please make smaller cans because he doesn't like it as much when refrigerated..sometimes half he can is wasted. January 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent for cats with allergies to other foods. This food has definitely enhanced the quality of my senior cat's life. She is allergic to most of the ingredients in regular cat food as well as a thyroid problem. She's nearly 15 but now often plays like a kitten. She gained some much needed weight and her coat is soft, thick and has a shine not seen for a while. I'm grateful that our vet recommended this food...both the wet and the dry. My only request would be to increase the packaging to 25 lbs. December 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it It has a fluffy, velvety texture and my cat gobbles it all up. January 23, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cat did not like this food at all !!! Not for our our cat and a very expensive product ... January 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by quality has improved I have fed this food in the wet and dry formulas in the past and found the cats didnt care For it however it has definitely improved! My IBD baby loves it one day and is not in love with it the next but his brother and my outdoor babies love it. Depends on how picky the cat is I think. I usually add some warm water and mix it well. I believe they like it better that way since the consistency is different than other canned foods. December 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food for my kitty I have a senior cat who has always been a very finicky eater. Since I rescued her two years ago, she has had a series of gastro-intestinal issues, sometimes requiring hospitalization. After her last attack, her doctor prescribed Z/D Feline Ultra food for her. Given that she is a very picky cat, I was concerned that she would not eat it. Wrong! She made the transition from her old food to the Z/D in 3 days! Now, she doesn't want anything else. She seems to be doing very well, and her doctor and I are optimistic that this food will help her. Also, after I received a damaged shipment, Hill's responded immediately to resolve the issue. Thanks, Hill's for all that you are doing for my kitty and me! June 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by my cats favorite wet prescription food The only brand my cats will eat in the canned allergy foods January 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Speedy processing and delivery! I am extremely pleased with the speedy processing and delivery of my Hill Prescription z/d cat food. The packaging was great and all cans were in perfect shape; no dents! Chewy was recommended by a vet so they must have a good name!!! November 30, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need smaller canns "Wheezer" will eat but we waste half a can most times because he won't eat it after it's been open for a little while. Wish it came in smaller than 5.5 oz September 30, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sensitive stomach food is neeed for some cats. My cat has a sensitive stomach so this is why it was prescribed. My cat likes the wet but not so much the dry. This is an expensive food, i have tried several times to get coupons online but I'm never successful. September 30, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Food is very rubbery Food is very rubbery like jello. My cat refuses to eat this. December 5, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by She wouldn't eat it I am sure it is good for her, but she just wouldn't eat it. Which is why I gave it a mixed review. I am sure it is a wonderful product, but I couldn't get her to get near it! She LOVES the chicken vegetable I/d food, so that is what I am back to. November 19, 2015
  • 2016-07-24 T13:00:59.223-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_87, tr_87
  • loc_en_US, sid_69668, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 next>>