Loading...

Hill's Science Diet Adult Optimal Care Chicken Recipe Dry Cat Food

  • Was:

    $43.99

  • Price:

    $32.79 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping over $49

  • You Save:

    $11.20 (25%)

In stock
16-lb bag
  • 4-lb bag
  • 7-lb bag
  • 16-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

Nourish your cat from the inside out with Hill’s Science Diet Adult Optimal Care Chicken Recipe Dry Cat Food. Precisely balanced with an exclusive blend of nutrients, this special formula enriches his skin and coat while supporting a healthy immune system. And with natural, high-quality ingredients that are free from artificial flavors, the result is an easy-to-digest diet that your cat will love—and you’ll love how the superior proteins promote a healthy weight.

Key Benefits

  • Exclusive blend of omega-6 fatty acids and other nutrients nourish your cat’s skin and coat.
  • Clinically proven antioxidant blend with vitamins C and vitamins E to help support a healthy immune system.
  • Natural, high quality, easy-to-digest ingredient with no artificial colors, flavors or preservatives for a flavorful, nutritious meal.
  • Taurine and controlled levels of phosphorus promote healthy vital organs, including the heart and kidneys.
  • High-quality proteins help promote a healthy weight.

See all items by Hill's Science Diet

  • Item Number
    93925
  • Weight
    16.0 pounds
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Chicken, Whole Grain Wheat, Corn Gluten Meal, Pork Fat, Chicken Meal, Dried Beet Pulp, Brown Rice, Chicken Liver Flavor, Calcium Sulfate, Lactic Acid, Potassium Chloride, Fish Oil, Soybean Oil, Iodized Salt, Choline Chloride, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Taurine, Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Oat Fiber, Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene, Apples, Broccoli, Carrots, Cranberries, Green Peas.

Caloric Content

  1. 504 kcal/cup
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 31.0% min
Crude Fat 19.0% min
Crude Fiber 3.5% max
Vitamin C 85 mg/kg min
Vitamin E 500 IU/kg min
Omega 6 Fatty Acids 2.5% min

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. New to this food? Mix increasing amounts of your pets new food with decreasing amounts of the old food over a 7-day period. Keep fresh water available at all times! Your pets nutritional needs may change as they age. Ask your vet at every checkup. Science Diet is available in a wide variety of dry and canned foods for your pets unique needs.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food.

Pet Lovers Also Bought

Precisely Balanced Nutrition for Adult Cats

Hill's Science Diet adult cat food provides precisely balanced, easy-to-digest nutrition for a visible difference in adult cats. These yummy recipes are specially formulated for cats 1-6 years of age to help improve skin and coat health and support immunity.

Precisely Balanced Nutrition for Adult Cats
Vets' #1 Choice

Vets' #1 Choice to Feed Their Own Pets

More than anyone, veterinarians know a healthy cat food when they see one. That's why they give Hill's Science Diet to their own cats more than any other brand. Hill's works with pet nutritionists to develop recipes with the best cat food standards in mind. These recipes are designed to keep your feline family member healthy and strong so she can enjoy more moments of purring and playing.

The Science Behind Happy

With over 220 veterinarians, Ph.D. nutritionists and food scientists working every day around the world, Hill's is able to create new products and improve existing ones that help your pet live a long, healthy and full life. They pride themselves on wholesome ingredients, precise nutrition and high-quality standards in pet food because they know firsthand that when your cat is healthier, she's happier too.

The Science Behind Happy
Natural Recipes Made in the USA

Natural Recipes Made in the USA

Hill's is proudly made in the USA with only high-quality protein. Real chicken, lamb or salmon is the first ingredient, along with other natural ingredients sourced from North America, Europe and New Zealand-all free of artificial colors, flavors and preservatives.

Fresh, Whole Food Ingredients

Hill's uses high-quality ingredients to provide the proper balance of essential nutrients for optimal health. Guided by evidence-based research, Hill's formulas are precisely balanced to meet each pet's specific life-stage, size or special needs.

FISH OIL

FISH OIL

Good source of Omega-3 fatty acids that helps calm itchy skin, promote a shiny, healthy coat and reduce shedding.

DRIED BEET PULP

DRIED BEET PULP

Excellent insoluble fiber source that supports healthy digestion, and the prebiotic fiber stimulates the growth of the favorable gut bacteria (probiotics).

APPLES

APPLES

Good source of antioxidants, vitamin A, vitamin C and dietary fiber, which helps with joint problems and promotes overall gastrointestinal health.

BROCCOLI

BROCCOLI

Great source of fiber and vitamin C and boosts the immune system, supports skin and heart health and helps the body release toxins.

CARROTS

CARROTS

Excellent source of B vitamins and vitamin C and contains the most carotene of any vegetable as well as high levels of antioxidants that provide protection against free radicals.

CRANBERRIES

CRANBERRIES

Excellent source of vitamin C and unique natural source of tannins (astringents found in plants) that help prevent harmful bacteria from thriving in the urinary tract.

About Hill's Pet Nutrition

For more than 70 years, Hill's Pet Nutrition has helped enrich and lengthen the special relationship between people and their pets by putting their passion for balanced pet nutrition into everything they do. With a dedicated team of veterinarians and pet nutritionists involved in the development of all their products, Hill's is able to ensure high-quality pet food to help all pets live a happy and healthy life.

Shop Hill's Pet Nutrition

About Hill's Pet Nutrition

Customer Reviews

Hill's Science Diet Adult Optimal Care Chicken Recipe Dry Cat Food is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 107.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 13 year cat "buddy" OUR 13 YEAR OLD CAT BUDDY WILL NOT EAT ANYTHING ELSE BUT THIS CAT FOOD.HE DOES NOT LIKE ANY TREATS, PEOPLE FOOD, ECT. IF THEY CHANGE THIS FLAVOR OF SCIENCE DIET DRY FOOD I DON'T KNOW WHAT I WILL DO !!WE LIVE WHERE IT SNOWS AND WE SOMETIMES DON'T WANT TO GO SHOPPING FOR BUDDY'S FOOD. THIS IS WONDERFUL. IT COMES RIGHT TO THE DOOR.
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cats eat around it I started to change over to this from the one we used for years, mixing it half and half. The cats eat around it and leave behind only the Hill's. Although this was recommended as better for the cats, the calorie count and fat percentage are far lower in the other brand. The moisture content of this product is low, too, which isn't healthy for one of our cats.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for my cats My cats have a half wet and half dry diet. I feel Hill's Science Diet food is a step up from many dry foods, and is one of the rotating dry foods I give to my cats. My cats have experienced no issues with it.
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food for cats & terrific service This was my first purchase from Chewy and I am completely satisfied. In fact, I am happy to have found the site and the product that our cats both enjoy and thrive on. Thanks, Chewy!
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hills cat food I'm a big fan of the Hills pet food line. Always used it for the past 41 years. There coat is so shinny for the food and less clean up in litter box or the outside on the dogs.
Date published: 2017-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from they LOVE this dry food. I have to put the bag in a secure place or my two cat work out how to get the bag and chew through it. Their favorite so I stopped introducing other brands.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect. Looking for quality at reasonable price. Searching for dry cat food that offers quality ingredients and still offered at a reasonable price. Thanks, Phil and Jeanne
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like availibility, cost, quick delivery Glad that I'm able to get same food my cats have been eating. Appreciated a lower cost and the quick delivery.
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats fur looks like silk when they eat this food !! Cat food comes right to my house !! No more going to the PetsMart for cat food makes me very happy !!
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great features You must write at least 50 characters for this field.
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Stepping Stone As You Bring Your Kitties to No-Grain ! We rescued ferals in our general neighborhood for years. We would graduate them from the most tasty yet least pricey grain-laden (because we were not educated in feline nutrition) kibble to this brand once they decided we had finally tamed down enough for them to live with us. As applicable for their age, they, eventually had this particular kibble in their bowl. It is their early years comfort food. They don't eat much of it anymore but do like having it available. They sort of treat it like a granola bar that is already crumbled up for them, though the hard round pellets do offer them a challenge. They do have to slow down when they eat it or they end up tossing their cookies. By the way, this brand also offers a no grain kibble. Just saying, had I a do over opportunity, I would have gone with the no grain right from the start. And, yes, most likely, have chosen this particular brand. Enjoy! Love Those Felines of Yours! You are All Worthy !
Date published: 2015-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats love this food The kitties love this food and come running when they hear me open the package! The food is always fresh and the resealing package actually works. I recommend Hills Science Diet cat foods to any cat owner.
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent My cats love this. I wouldn't use anything else. They are a healthy weight and they are healthy. Thanks Science Diet.
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product All of my cats love Hills Science diet.I have several cats that have teeth problems and Science diet is the only dry cat food with the small kibbles.My cats with no teeth have NO problem eating it.Plus it has l-lysine in it for the control of herpes(Optimal care product).I would recommend this product to everyone who has a cat or dog!
Date published: 2013-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hill's Science Diet Cat Food is great for my cats. I have used Hill's Science Diet cat foods for years. My cats have been much healthier by eating Science Diet. I am truly impressed with Chewy.com. The prices are very reasonable and the auto shipping is fantastic. Glad I found Chewy.com and so are my 31 rescued cats.
Date published: 2014-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Product for Dry food Since one cat cannot eat fish, this is great for all of my five kitties! They all love it, and I especially enjoy the fact that it is great for their overall health!
Date published: 2013-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE IT: Sidney Well, Sidney Crosby, the Siamese, not the Penguin, loves it.His brother Hines Ward, not retiring in any sense of the word, likes it too, but he's really a canned food kind of guy. there is also a new blend...for which I had a coupon, we tried it and loved it..
Date published: 2012-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Science Diet for cats I purchased this food for our feral cat that has adopted us. Even though it is a bit expensive, I know Science Diet is a great brand. Our vet toured their plant and highly recommends their products.
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy transition from Science Diet Kitten Formula When I rescued my seal point Siamese from the shelter and took him to the vet for his first visit, they gave me a bag of free goodies, one of which was Science Diet. I used the kitten formula until he was one year and transitioned him to the adult without a single complaint. My last cat of 15 years was on Science Diet and, as in this instance, he readily ate 'special' diets when he was ill, and the senior diet in his senior years. I have only ever used Science Diet with my pets and recommend it to others.
Date published: 2012-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The right size morsal for my cats to eat dry food. I've been using the optimal Science Diet dry cat food for years. I vary the three cats dry food, but they always seem to want to go back to this.
Date published: 2012-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of many possibilities. Good product. Good price. Good service. Feeding 5 Newfoundland dogs & 2 cats so what they offer is very important. Only wish they would provide rewards or coupons for frequent buyers. Will continue to use as long as the above remains the same.
Date published: 2013-07-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Science Diet Optimal Care for Cats The only reason that I provide a small amount of this product is that I was a feral cat person - many years ago I started using this product. A few of the remaining originally trapped and semi-tamed cats are still living and need their "fix" of junk food. I generally feed Taste of the Wild Dry and consider it to have a better grade of ingredients.
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My cat likes this particular brand which is hard to find. Ordered two large bags late afternoon on a Thursday and the bags were delivered late Friday morning. Excellent service, no shipping charges. Extensive selection of pet food, my cat happens to like this particular brand which is not carried in most markets. I will definitely use Chewy again and recommend it.
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great healthy product 8 year old cat has so much more energy with Hill's Science Diet.
Date published: 2013-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Satisfies my cats I was feeding another brand of cat food. My cats were constantly wanting to be fed and acting as if they were not ever satisfied. I began to wonder if they were not getting enough nutrition. After reading the labels at my local store I noticed chicken was the first ingredient in this cat food. Now they eat less and I am not actually out more money even though this food is quite a bit more expensive.
Date published: 2014-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So worth the price! Our young cat was recently diagnosed with FeLV. The vet said in order for him to have any chance at living very long he would need optimum care, including a high protein quality food. Hills meets that need and Sammie really loves it. He is maintaining a good weight and staying healthy so far. Thank you so much for supplying quality pet foods at affordable prices!
Date published: 2014-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The litter box dont smell!! That is what I really love about it! And it takes very little to fill them up. I feed all five of my cats and the feral cats the same thing...it makes them look so pretty, I have the best looking feral cats in the neighborhood!
Date published: 2014-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cat's love it! Our cat was being fed this particular cat food when we adopted her from the local animal shelter. We have continued to keep feeding her this food, and she has an amazing shiny coat. We adopted another cat a few months later at another shelter and he too has an amazing soft coat.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Provides optimal nutrition, and my cat actually eats it! My daughter, who lives out of state, recommends Hills Science Diet, and the shelter from which we adopted our cat feeds it to its animals, so Zumi was already eating it when we brought her home. She especially LOVES the canned salmon for ages 1-6.
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Favorite of My Kitties! My Ebony ate SD and lived to 20 years! She was always active and trim. Several of my kitties do very well with this food.
Date published: 2014-04-06
  • y_2017, m_2, d_19, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_107
  • loc_en_US, sid_46242, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrchewy