Hill's Science Diet Adult Optimal Care Chicken Recipe Dry Cat Food

  • List Price:


  • Price:

    $29.99 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping over $49

  • You Save:

    $21.00 (41%)

In stock
  • 4-lb bag
  • 7-lb bag
  • 16-lb bag
- Quantity +


  • Item Number
  • Weight
    16.0 pounds
  • Brand
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
  • Made in
    United States

Hill's Science Diet Adult Optimal Care Original cat food provides Precisely balanced, easy-to-digest nutrition for a visible difference.

Key Benefits

  • Recommended for adult cats 1-6 years of age
  • Taurine and controlled levels of phosphorus promote healthy vital organs
  • High-quality, lean protein helps promote a healthy weight
  • Omega 6 fatty acids and vitamin E to improve skin & coat in 30 days
  • Real chicken #1 with natural ingredients and no chicken by-product meal
  • Made in the USA!

See all items by Hill's Science Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Precisely Balanced Nutrition for Adult Cats

Hill's Science Diet adult cat food provides precisely balanced, easy-to-digest nutrition for a visible difference in adult cats. These yummy recipes are specially formulated for cats 1-6 years of age to help improve skin and coat health and support immunity.

Vets' #1 Choice to Feed Their Own Pets

More than anyone, veterinarians know a healthy cat food when they see one. That's why they give Hill's Science Diet to their own cats more than any other brand. Hill's works with pet nutritionists to develop recipes with the best cat food standards in mind. These recipes are designed to keep your feline family member healthy and strong so she can enjoy more moments of purring and playing.

The Science Behind Happy

With over 220 veterinarians, Ph.D. nutritionists and food scientists working every day around the world, Hill's is able to create new products and improve existing ones that help your pet live a long, healthy and full life. They pride themselves on wholesome ingredients, precise nutrition and high-quality standards in pet food because they know firsthand that when your cat is healthier, she's happier too.

Natural Recipes Made in the USA

Hill's is proudly made in the USA with only high-quality protein. Real chicken, lamb or salmon is the first ingredient, along with other natural ingredients sourced from North America, Europe and New Zealand-all free of artificial colors, flavors and preservatives.

Fresh, Whole Food Ingredients

Hill's uses high-quality ingredients to provide the proper balance of essential nutrients for optimal health. Guided by evidence-based research, Hill's formulas are precisely balanced to meet each pet's specific life-stage, size or special needs.


Good source of Omega-3 fatty acids that helps calm itchy skin, promote a shiny, healthy coat and reduce shedding.


Excellent insoluble fiber source that supports healthy digestion, and the prebiotic fiber stimulates the growth of the favorable gut bacteria (probiotics).


Good source of antioxidants, vitamin A, vitamin C and dietary fiber, which helps with joint problems and promotes overall gastrointestinal health.


Great source of fiber and vitamin C and boosts the immune system, supports skin and heart health and helps the body release toxins.


Excellent source of B vitamins and vitamin C and contains the most carotene of any vegetable as well as high levels of antioxidants that provide protection against free radicals.


Excellent source of vitamin C and unique natural source of tannins (astringents found in plants) that help prevent harmful bacteria from thriving in the urinary tract.

About Hill's

For more than 70 years, Hill's Pet Nutrition has helped enrich and lengthen the special relationship between people and their pets by putting their passion for balanced pet nutrition into everything they do. With a dedicated team of veterinarians and pet nutritionists involved in the development of all their products, Hill's is able to ensure high-quality pet food to help all pets live a happy and healthy life.

Shop Hill's Pet Nutrition


Chicken, Whole Grain Wheat, Corn Gluten Meal, Pork Fat, Chicken Meal, Dried Beet Pulp, Brown Rice, Chicken Liver Flavor, Calcium Sulfate, Lactic Acid, Potassium Chloride, Fish Oil, Soybean Oil, Iodized Salt, Choline Chloride, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Taurine, Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Oat Fiber, Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene, Apples, Broccoli, Carrots, Cranberries, Green Peas.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 85 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kitties love it! An exceptional product. My cats love it. I l love Chewy.com because their website is easy to order from, & our products arrive in a timely manner. August 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our cats love it First time using chewy, service was fast, free shipping, and now they will automatically deliver my order each month August 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome food! Fast Shipping too! My cats love Hills Science Diet Adult Optimal Care Chicken Recipe and the ingredients are top of the line. August 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by As always, Science Diet is great for my animals Got the Science Diet and started to feed it to my cats--the immediate improvement in their appearance and health was magnificent! The cats are doing better and are eating with much enthusiasm!! July 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by convenient fast efficient service good price My new kitty loves Science diet in cans and the dry. My vet recommended the basic wet and a few sprinkles of the dry. July 8, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Science Diet Optimal Care for Cats The only reason that I provide a small amount of this product is that I was a feral cat person - many years ago I started using this product. A few of the remaining originally trapped and semi-tamed cats are still living and need their "fix" of junk food. I generally feed Taste of the Wild Dry and consider it to have a better grade of ingredients. June 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product at a great price A great product at a great price. They pack it neatly and it arrives in under a week, usually withing 2 days of ordering except during holidays where there is often a short delay. June 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cats love this My cats will sometimes turn their nose up at canned wet food in favor of this Science Diet crunchy dry food. They are very healthy on this food. June 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cats loves this food One of my cats is very picky with his food, but he absolutely loves this one. I am very happy how my cats looks with their diet. They are healthy, happy, and not overweight at all. Fantastic product! May 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by good product The cat seems to enjoy it over other kinds of food. May 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent product She loves this dry food and it is so well-balanced May 18, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recommended by vet When I got my cat she was on this product and the vet recommended that she stay on it. May 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Science diet cat food is the best The food came in 2days. With the free shipping it was still quite a bit cheaper than the local store price. May 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product keeps my cats healthy and thriving My vet recommended this product and it is much better than other products I have used. One of my cats has a sensitive stomach and tolerates this well.They are active, happy and healthy on this and like it. May 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My boys love this food and thrive on it! Excellent product. My initial introduction to Chewy's. As I have recently fractured my arm and had to have surgery, the delivery was perfect for me. April 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Veterinary Technician approved! will only ever feed science diet to my pets. Awesome prices and quick delivery! April 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Kitties LOVE this food! I recently switched my kitties to Hill's Science Diet Adult Optimal Care Chicken Recipe Dry Cat Food. They all had been eating the Longevity recipe. My two older cats passed away, so I wanted to feed my 5 younger kitties an age appropriate food. They all see to be doing well with it. I'm weaning them off the other slower, so as not to cause any IG issues which can happen if you just switch over to the new food. March 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly Recommended! This cat food stopped my cats from peeing everywhere and also made all the short hair cats coat just beautiful. I recommend it to everyone I know who has cats. Well worth the extra cost. March 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by good brand and cats like it These pellets are small enough that cats with eating problems are able to eat without problems. It also works for my older kittens. They like the flavor and eat it very well. March 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Adult Optimal care I have a very picky cat, and he seems to really like this food. I have not had any problems with this food at all. March 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by health my cats coats have become shiny and their oveall health has improved March 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful cat food I have fed this to my cats (previous one) and new kitty and they love it. Most vets carry it and it is excellent. My kitty loves it. February 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by good product and price We have fed this dry cat food (in addition to wet) for a long time. We were glad to find it on chewey.com for a little cheaper than our local store, and we don't have to haul it home! Love that! February 18, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by My cats liked it but didn't love it Pretty good but wellness better. I mixed the two and they really liked it better. February 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by An absolutely fantastic product I breed Siamese cats, three of which have always had chronic diarrhea. Recently I was given a Bengal who started having diarrhea all over my apartment up to 6 times a day. My vet suggested that the food I fed my cats might be the problem. I decided to change to Science Diet but expected my food bill to skyrocket. Instead, the cats eat less, there is less solid waste in the litter boxes, all diarrhea has stopped and my cats are more playful and healthy. Using Science Diet with my nine cats actually cut my food bill by $30 per month and has benefitted my cat's overall health tremendously. I highly recommend this product. January 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cat likes this flavor. She is extremely on target with what she favors and what she doesn't. The cat enthusiastically anticipates dining on this cat food. She licks her chops and really does enjoy this cat food. January 18, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not happy :( My cat Clara who's never been sick vomited all over the house after a meal of this! I waited two days and tried again. Same thing! I'm stuck with 17.5 pound bag of expensive cat food I can't use. NOT A HAPPY SALE! December 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good product. Cats love it. This has been my go-to kibble for years now. My cats all love it. Their coats are nice and shiny and they are healthy. I have added in other kibble options in other bowls, but they always go to this one more. December 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food, price and shipping. This is a wonderful and nutritious food for the cats. The price is great and the shipping fast. The speedy service is much appreciated. December 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by THEY LOVE IT We have eight rescue cats. Four were feral and four were pets at one time. They range in age from ten to one years old. We have tried grain free, chicken, turkey, fish, expensive and not so expensive. Nothing seemed to entice them all to eat the same food. Years ago We fed Iams and Science Diet with good success. Our animals were healthy and happy with the flavor - so we ordered Science Diet Optimal Care Original. They all love it and their coats have improved. Our ten year old has a sensitive stomach and he is doing very well with it. January 1, 2015
  • 2016-10-27 T05:43:38.918-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_85, tr_85
  • loc_en_US, sid_46242, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 next>>