Blue Buffalo Life Protection Formula Adult Fish & Brown Rice Recipe Dry Dog Food

  • List Price:


  • Price:

    $45.99 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping over $49

  • You Save:

    $16.00 (26%)

In stock
  • 6-lb bag
  • 15-lb bag
  • 30-lb bag
- Quantity +


  • Item Number
  • Weight
    30.0 pounds
  • Brand
    Blue Life Protection
  • Breed Size
    All Breeds, Small, Medium, Large
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    No Corn No Wheat No Soy

Blue Buffalo Life Protection Formula was created for the health and well-being of dogs. All formulas start with real meat, whole grains, garden veggies and fruit, plus added LifeSource Bits, a precise blend of nutrients that have been enhanced with a Super 7 package of antioxidant-rich ingredients. This Adult Fish & Brown Rice Recipe features delicious, protein-rich deboned whitefish and other natural ingredients for a healthy meal your dog will love.

Key Benefits

  • High-quality protein for healthy muscle development
  • Essential proteins and carbs for energy for an active life
  • Calcium, phosphorus and essential vitamins for strong bones and teeth
  • Glucosamine for joint health and mobility
  • Omega 3 and 6 fatty acids for healthy skin and coat
  • Vitamins, chelated minerals and antioxidants for immune system health
  • No corn, wheat, soy or chicken (or poultry) by-product meals
  • Made in the USA

See all items by Blue Buffalo

Pet lovers also bought...

The Original Healthy Formula
That Started It All

BLUE Life Protection Formula always features high-quality real meat, healthy fruits and wholesome whole grains. Like all BLUE foods, it's made from the finest natural ingredients enhanced with vitamins and minerals.

Blue Buffalo Life Protection Plan Adult
Blue Buffalo Best Pal

Finding the Right Food for
Your Best Pal Is Easy

BLUE has more foods specific to breed size and life stages than any other natural pet food. You'll find healthy, delicious BLUE Life Protection Formula recipes for toy, small and large breeds as well as puppies and adult and senior dogs.

Exclusive LifeSource Bits

All BLUE dry food formulas feature a precise blend of vitamins, minerals and antioxidants selected by holistic veterinarians and animal nutritionists to help promote immune system health, fulfill life stage requirements and support a healthy oxidative balance. All Life Protection Formula LifeSource Bits are enhanced with their Super 7 package of antioxidant-rich ingredients:


Blue Buffalo Exclusive LifeSource Bits

Formulated to Help Dogs Thrive

  • Healthy Muscle Development: High-quality protein from real chicken, duck or salmon helps promote strong muscles. Small breed formulas are precisely blended to help meet small and toy breeds' higher energy needs. Large breed formulas feature L-carnitine to help promote lean muscle mass.
  • STRONG BONES AND TEETH: Calcium, phosphorus and essential vitamins help promote strong bones and teeth. Small breed formulas feature special "small-bite" kibble for easier chewing and tartar removal. Large breed formulas contain glucosamine and chondroitin to support joint function and overall mobility.
  • Healthy Skin and Coat and Immune System: Omega-3 and 6 fatty acids help promote a shiny coat and healthy skin. Essential vitamins, chelated minerals and important antioxidants help support the immune system.

About BLUE Buffalo

BLUE Buffalo began with unconditional love and some furry inspiration from a large breed Airedale, Blue. When Blue's family started a pet food company, their vision was clear. They wanted pet parents to be able to feed their pets with the same care they would feed family. So they created the #1 natural pet specialty food to help furry family members live happy, healthy lives. Of course, they named it after Blue.

Shop BLUE Buffalo

About BLUE Buffalo


Whitefish, Menhaden Fish Meal (Source Of Omega 3 Fatty Acids And Glucosamine), Brown Rice, Barley, Oatmeal, Peas, Chicken Fat (Preserved With Mixed Tocopherols), Flaxseed (Source Of Omega 6 Fatty Acids), Pea Protein, Natural Flavor, Dried Tomato Pomace, Potatoes, Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Calcium Carbonate, Dried Chicory Root, Potato Starch, Choline Chloride, Potassium Chloride, Salt, Caramel, Dicalcium Phosphate, DL-Methionine, Sweet Potatoes, Carrots, Preserved With Mixed Tocopherols, Garlic, Vitamin E Supplement, Ferrous Sulfate, Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Zinc Amino Acid Chelate, Zinc Sulfate, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Oil Of Rosemary, Blueberries, Cranberries, Apples, Blackberries, Pomegranate, Spinach, Pumpkin, Barley Grass, Dried Kelp, Parsley, Turmeric, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source Of Vitamin C), Copper Sulfate, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Nicotinic Acid (Vitamin B3), Calcium Pantothenate (Vitamin B5), L-Lysine, Taurine, Biotin (Vitamin B7), Manganese Sulfate, Vitamin A Supplement, Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, L-Carnitine, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Vitamin D3 Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Beta Carotene, Dried Yeast, Dried Enterococcus Faecium Fermentation Product, Dried Lactobacillus Acidophilus Fermentation Product, Dried Aspergillus Niger Fermentation Extract, Dried Trichoderma Longibrachiatum Fermentation Extract, Dried Bacillus Subtilis Fermentation Extract, Folic Acid (Vitamin B9), Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 196 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has been beneficial to the healthy diet for my pet. My pet had suffered with a pancreatic disorder. After his recovery, his wonderful vet had this food as a choice for a diet regiment for him. It has worked very well. August 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Research Based on my research, I decided that this was the best all around product to feed my dog. August 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super convenient same brands as store bought food We have only been using chewy for a little while now. All I can say is WOW. Why didn't I do this earlier. Super convenient fast delivery great prices. Auto delivery all the way August 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product is top quality and helps keep my Schnauzer within her healthful weight. If free mailing and price difference between Chewy and stores stay the same it is a wonderful offer and of course so convenient. I will use you again. July 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service l have been feeding this dog food after a dog dermatologist recommended it. It smells so good, I think I can eat it myself. But the really great thing...is having it delivered to my door. No more driving to the store, lifting heavy bags of dog food, driving it home, and lifting the heavy bag again. Plus, it doesn't cost any more than if I bought it from the store. July 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by dogs love this food We love the blue food for our dogs. They have done really well on it. July 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our dogs have never been so healthy We started Blue several years and 5 dogs ago, and they stay in excellent health. It makes all the difference in the world for playfulness, energy and very little gastro probs (which are probably their own fault for eating bugs, grass, etc.). Whoever started selling the muck off the floor as food for animals should be baking in Hades. July 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect! Two of my doggie babies have skin issues. Now that we are feeding this they have disappeared. The one drawback is their breath stinks lol but the benefit outweighs that. July 11, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lab/Dane mix My 8 year old dog who has the energy level of a puppy has always had a sensitive stomach. He did well on this food until the last couple of months. He started having loose stools which at first I contributed to him getting into cats food or kids feeding him something from plate. But once I do the routine with bland diet and return to his regular food which is mixed with merrick can problems returned. Just read about recall which was on the large bag of salmon and sweet potato and decided to switch to Fromm. Chewy was great as always stating recall did not affect their stock but refunded me for purchase. June 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific Brand! Been using Blue Buffalo dry dog food for many years. Always satisfied! Never had any issues with my dogs eating it, or doing well on it. Glad to see a place that offers more than one or two flavors and the "small breed" option as well! June 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Blue Buffalo order Everything was great! We ordered, and got a great deal on the price, and our shipment came the next day! All in good condition, and our two bouviers enjoyed helping us unpack it. Keep up the great work! June 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great. The dog food was great, but I already knew that. I have bought it many times from other places. What I want to talk about is the service from Chewy. They shipped my order extremely quickly and they even did it for free. June 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Have used this product for years Service via Chewy.com was great. One email and the food was at the door within 2 days June 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Great product, love the delivery to my home! My two dogs love this food! June 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Dog Food, exspecially dogs with Food Allergies This Salmon & Potatoe recipe dog food is a hit in my home. My dogs love this & one of my dogs has bad food allergies and this dog food has helped greatly. Great choice for dogs. Thank you Blue Buffalo for ur great healthy dog food, keep up the great work :) May 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very happy with all the Blue Buffalo products I have purchased. I have a picky little Puerto Rican rescue dog who has tolerated BB products very well. June 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is helping with the dry coat on my dogs! I love it! I have 3 dogs. Al of them are 'rescued". The lab/boxer mix has real dry skin and seasonal allergies. We call him our "free" million dollar dog! We switched to Blue Buffalo, grain free, sweet potato and salmon. He still has seasonal allergies, but his skin is so much nicer. No white flaky skin when you brush him. Great product! May 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent healthy choice for dogs I have fed my 4 year old Labrador the Wilderness white fish and sweet potato for his entire life. His coat is perfect, healthy and shiny. He has no allergies and per the vet is in perfect health. May 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Price, on-time delivery! I have used this dog food for quite some time, and the dogs never get tired of it, and they both have great coats. May 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Different flavor I will try a different flavor next time. I thought my dog would love the flavor but, shes not all that enthusiastic, although, there's a huge improvement in her breath! May 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only food we feed Have two pitbull mixes that have allergies to almost everything, this food is the best we have found. Small kibbles for easy eating and healthy natural ingredients! What could be better! Thank you Blue Buffalo for continually food we can trust. May 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Review My dogs love blue. I happened to get something in the mail for this site and decided to try it because of the free 1 to 2 day shipping. As long as the shipping remains free and no longer than five days I will use this site for all my doggy needs for now on. Only used it once but so far no complaints. It's great! May 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fish & Sweet Potato diet for the sensitive stomach I have four rescue dogs 2 Boston Terriers and 2 large mixed breeds. They are all doing great since I started them on Blue Buffalo. My female Boston had terrible problems with throwing up. When I got her she was throwing up some blood. I finally traced her problems to chicken. She is doing wonderful on her Blue Buffalo fish and sweet potato diet. April 30, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product has too muchsweet potato content as it has the possibility to creat too much waste. Think BB is a generally good product that exceeds most generic brands in quality. May 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product great service I love chewy.com the food is high quality and the prices are better than anyone else's. Auto ship is great! Comes right to my door for free! May 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional This way of getting food for my dog is not only completely convenient for me but as long as the pricing is competitive, I will order from here. I've told many friends already about it and know that they will find it the same convenient way. Keep the coupons coming in the mail - it's a huge help for those of us who try our best to make ends meet. Thank you!!! April 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My three pits love this brand and flavor. Chewy gave me the best price ever. Delivered two days after ordered~~the fastest delivery, too. This company has a wide variety of items. I intend to do more of my dog shopping here. April 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs' Choice I bought this food for my sister's dogs because this is what they eat! (I only have cats; they do NOT eat Blue Buffalo.) Her dogs are Newfies and she has said that they have skin allergies on other foods, and are in general better health when fed Blue. So, since I know she and Bo, Tess and Pilot LOVE this food, I will give it the rating she chooses because they're the ones with the experience. March 27, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by We only use Blue My 3 girls' fur is healthy, their weight is perfect, and they have tons of energy. We always use Blue for its high quality ingredients. We add homemade wet food for a tasty, well balanced meal. We eat well and feel our dogs deserve the same. April 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chewy.com is in a class of its own Great price and speedy delivery. Only problem is , I have 2 large dogs. I would love to apply for auto shipment . I buy the 30lb bag that lasts me exactly 3 weeks . Auto ship is every 4 or 2 weeks and there's no 40lb bag ( in flavor and brand I need) I can purchase.. April 14, 2016
  • 2016-10-25 T05:37:24.920-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_196, tr_196
  • loc_en_US, sid_45060, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>