Hill's Prescription Diet j/d Joint Care Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food

  • List Price:


  • Price:

    $81.47 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

  • You Save:

    $9.92 (11%)

In stock
  • 8.5-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag
- Quantity +


  • Item Number
  • Weight
    27.5 pounds
  • Brand
  • Breed Size
    Small, Medium, Large, All Breeds
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Senior, Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food

Improving your dogs mobility is as easy as feeding the right nutrition. Being proactive about mobility issues early can avoid the need for more aggressive treatments. Hill's Prescription Diet j/d helps your dog walk, run and jump more easily in just 21 days.

Key Benefits

  • Help improve your dog's ability to run, walk and jump in as little as 21 days with a clinically proven combination of nutrients
  • An excellent source of the Omega 3 fatty acid, EPA, to nourish cartilage
  • Controlled calorie content and added L-carnitine help maintain a healthy weight and avoid extra stress on joints

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

Pet lovers also bought...


Whole Grain Corn, Chicken By-Product Meal, Flaxseed, Soybean Mill Run, Brewers Rice, Soybean Meal, Pork Fat, Chicken Liver Flavor, Powdered Cellulose, Fish Oil, Lactic Acid, Potassium Chloride, L-Lysine, Calcium Carbonate, Choline Chloride, Iodized Salt, Dl-Methionine, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), L-Threonine, Taurine, Soy Lecithin, Glucosamine Hydrochloride, Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), L-Tryptophan, L-Carnitine, Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, Chondroitin Sulfate, Phosphoric Acid, Beta-Carotene, Natural Flavors.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 566 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Golden Stuff I was working as a receptionist at a veterinary clinic when this product became available. I was feeding a common brand of dog food in addition to a joint supplement and a skin/coat supplement. My dog was the type to hate taking pills of any kind. I immediately did the math, and per day, feeding this premium diet was cheaper than my current daily feeding. I put both my 12 year old dog who had had both cruciates repaired, and my healthy 6 year old dog on this diet. They both loved the taste immediately, and I was no longer needing to give daily supplements. In addition to the joint benefits... the skin and coat of both dogs improved greatly. I have been feeding this exclusively ever since. When the older dog passed away at 14.5 (a 70lb newfoundland/husky mix) people still asked if she was a puppy. The younger dog is now 11.5 and you'd never know it! I also saw MANY people with similar results when they tried the diet over the course of my remaining years at the vet clinic. March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Pyr loves it! My Great Pyrenees' hips are not great...he was having some stiffness when rising from lying down and his bunny hop while running let me know he was in pain. I am a vet tech and know the signs. Also, hips and joints are such a major concern with giant breeds. I tried joint supplements but only saw a slight improvement. Once I started him on the J/d, however, is when I saw the biggest change. He loves the food....in fact he drooled every time I fed him for about 2 weeks. His coat is better than it has ever been and he is so much more willing to run and get on and off furniture. I see him happily patrolling the yard and protecting his 3 little dogs and 2 cats now in a way that I did not see before. I am also able to keep him trim and lean on J/d to further decrease stress on his joints. I love the food and recommend it to every giant breed owner. I know that I am improving and extending his life and that means I have more time with my giant fluffy sweet bear dog. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] November 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gave our old dog new tricks and more time. We have an older German Sheppard mix named Sagebrush who we believe to be about 14 years old. Like all of our dogs she was a foster that wound up being ours after they couldn't be placed. About 8 years ago she was hit by a truck after blazing through the invisible fence after seeing her first deer when we moved to Tennessee. She suffered major hip injuries, but with a lot of rest and TLC she bounced back enough to follow us on the horses and get around just fine. About 18 months ago she started to slow down, and soon couldn't even make it up the three steps on our deck without help. Our vet suggested we try the J/D Mobility. Two weeks on J/D and she started to regain strength and after 2 months she was taking medium(slow) walks. Now after several months she moves around the property with ease, and has gone back to taking her place on the dog futon. Nothing can truly turn back time, but we really believe that the J/D has given Sagebrush more "Good" time! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] December 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Same great quality and timely delivery I was very surprised how easy this it was to set up to deliver every 6 weeks and a great price. I am very pleased with chewy.com as are my pups! August 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and convenient This is the only dog food my pet should eat and chewy makes it easy and convenient to purchase! July 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nutrition makes all the difference! Only weeks after adopting our dog Monkey, we noticed a significant limp and pain after he was active. I am a veterinary technician and the veterinarian initially prescribed multiple medications to help deal with pain and inflammation. The medications helped to a certain extent, but the limping continued. Then I began working at another clinic that had a strong relationship with Hill's and their diets. The veterinarian suggested putting Monkey on Hill's j/d diet and seeing how he did. He loved the food and within a matter of weeks we had not only discontinued the medications, but Monkey showed no signs of limping, even after a long active day. Monkey has been on j/d ever since (about 6 years!) and I know it has significantly extended not only the length, but the quality of his life too. We are constantly complimented on how soft and shiny his fur is, too, no doubt a side effect of all those good Omega-3's! As a vet tech I'm constantly telling clients about the benefits of j/d and what it can do for the quality of their pet's life. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food for large breed dogs at risk of osteoarthritis I have an extremely active lab/pit/shepherd mix. He is 5 years old and I have had him on Hills Prescription Diet j/d food dry since he was 2 years old. It seems that most people wait until their pets are diagnosed with osteoarthritis before they make the transition to j/d food but I am hoping to prevent this progressive disease by starting him on it before the onset of clinical signs. With his extra-active lifestyle I know the amount of stress on his joints plays a large factor on how rapidly the deterioration can occur. I am also aware that any lack of ability to run and play would negatively impact his quality of life. Keeping him on a food that is able to reverse the inflammatory process as it begins in hopes to extend his active lifestyle well into his senior years is crucial to his, and my, happiness. Thank you for providing a highly palatable nutritious way to give back to our furry family who give us so much love and joy in return. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog has a better quality of life. I was skeptical about the ability of this food but was pleasantly surprised in the difference it made. July 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Great customer service with great discounts offering a great product! July 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best food on the market I started using j/d for my 9 year-old lab mix a few year ago at the first signs of joint aging & slowing. I'll admit, the first few days, it took us both getting used too.There was a strong smell to the food as I opened the bag, he even spit it out. But by day 3 he was eating it well, he actually liked it, and by day 6 or 7 he was bouncing around again! He is now 13 years old and still going strong, I know it was the food that has helped him this far. I don't know how bad-off he'd be without it. I was so impressed with it, I also feed it to my other dogs, no problems with them yet as they get older and their coats are shiny and stools are right as they should be. I recommend j/d and Science Diet to everyone. They're one of the only companies that I know that have reliable AAFCO statements (when it says it's for adult dogs, it really is for adults and not "all life stages"). My dogs are much healthier and happier because of Hill's. August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressed with the quick delivery of the dog foor. This was the first time I ordered Hills Prescription Diet from Chewy. First of all, I was impressed with the quick delivery and the packing of the food. I now found a new store to buy all my dog's food. Thank you for the great service. June 8, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Too soon to see benefits but will continue Our Chocolate Lab is about 10 lbs overweight and our vet recommended this product. We started a month ago, but he had to have knee surgery (torn ligaments) and has been unable to exercise normally so no weight loss yet. However, his bowel movements are regular and no issues with loose stools like he used to have, so that is a plus. He's not particularly wild about the taste but eventually finishes his meal throughout the morning. Unfortunately, the other knee will have surgery next week so we won't know for awhile how effective the food is. May 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by How j/d has helped my dog! I have a 13 year old chocolate lab. When I rescued him he was 8 and weighed 104#. I knew I needed to get weight off of him if I wanted him to live longer. I first put him on Hill's Metabolic diet, within 3 months he had lost a total of 30#. In the mean time I had x-rays taken which showed the had arthritis in all for legs and was affected his hind end the most. He could barely get up and didn't want anything to do with activity. Since the loss of 30# he now runs around the yard and plays with the children. He currently is on Hill's J/D for his arthritis and joint mobility. I have been able to keep the weight off and keep him active. During the time off weight loss he was on Rimadyl to help with the pain. Since the loss and being on J/D I have not given him any pain meds in 2 years. I just want to thank Hill's and their continue efforts in helping maintain good health for our animals. May 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm so glad my vet recommended j/d for my senior dogs! We have a lab mix and a standard poodle, both senior pets. In the last few years, we tried diets from a few different companies to meet the needs of our girls but could never find a diet that truly worked to feed both dogs. As they were getting older and in particular our lab mix seemed to be slowing down, we wanted a diet that would promote joint health. Additionally, we needed a diet that would work for our poodle who has food sensitivities and can have pretty itchy skin depending on what she eats. Two years ago, our veterinarian recommended we give j/d a try. Happily, j/d has been a fantastic choice for both our girls. First of all, they seem to really enjoy the food! Our lab mix is 8 years old now and still joyfully plays fetch out in the yard, leaps off and on the furniture and loves to go for walks. Our poodle will be 12 soon. Her skin and coat look the best they ever have and she quite often spins and bounces around like a silly puppy. My husband and I are so pleased that our sweet dogs are looking and feeling good. We hope they will be eating j/d for a long time to come. December 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hill's RX Diet - J/D Joint Care has been amazing in my girl's recovery and maintaining her health When my 7 yr old Golden Girl was diagnosed with a cruciate tear and mild hip dysplasia; my local veterinarian recommended to immediately do surgery with only a 50/50% of success. I found another recommended veterinarian for a 2nd opinion. Dr. Burns recommended "baby steps" and surgery was not necessary at this point; which I was thrilled with. She put her on J/D and meds and it was a total 180 degree turnaround!! She runs around and plays with her puppy friends! She's very happy and my silly girl! She loves her J/D Diet and has always devoured her J/D dinner without hesistation! i credit Hill's RX J/D diet and Dr Burns with returning my happy little girl back to where she was! And yay -- no surgery!!! :-) We definitely swear by Hill's RX J/D Diet and recommend anyone in our situation to give it a try! It'll amaze you! September 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has crucial beneficial ingredients for the senior pet I was reluctant to switch my older dog (11 years old at the time) to J/D Mobility because he was doing well on the food I was giving him. I work at a veterinarian office and they recommend I look at the ingredients of what my current food had compared to Hill's. I found out that not only was it cheaper than the dog food I was giving him, but it had all the same ingredients but at a larger percentage and also a few other ingredients that would help my senior pet with his mobility. Client's were raving about the effects they were seeing with their dogs, so it was a no brainer for me to make the change. I have not regretted it, and the client's were right. My dog has shown great improvement with getting up and I can tell it has given us many quality years with him. He is now 13 years old and not slowing down any time soon. I contribute that a lot to his solid nutrition. Thank you Hills! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] March 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs are "NSAID-Free!" We have 2 pit bulls age 5 and 3. The younger one was dealing with forelimb and hindlimb lameness since we adopted her at age 1. This past summer she had TPLO surgery on both stifles 3 weeks apart. Our older pit bull had and ACL tear repaired with a suture technique at age 2 and an TTL repair on opposite patella at age 3. Both dogs have been on J/D for 2 plus years and have been off all other supplements and any NSAIDS since 2 weeks post-op their respective surgeries (other than the occasional NSAID they may get after a day of heavy exercise--but this need is rare). Ther are both in good body condition (2.5/5 and 3.5/5) and live on 15 fenced in acres which they have free run of and are out in all day in good weather. We couldn't be happier with the results we've seen in both our dogs on J/D. These dogs are both orthopedic disasters and they are happy active sound dogs! If I had to complain about anythiing with the J/D product it is the packaging. Unfortunately, the plastic bag it is packaged in is non-recyclable and we are big into recycling and with two big dogs we go through a lot of J/D! December 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs love this food! We started feeding J/D to our Doberman/Ridgeback cross after TPLO surgery. Not only did we see an improvement in his overall mobility, but his chronic atopic dermatitis improved a great deal as well. After he passed away, we adopted a 13 year old Border Collie cross who was morbidly obese. After he lost 40 pounds eating R/D we switched him and our other 2 dogs to J/D. He is now 16.5 years old, maintaining his ideal 40 pound weight (yes, he lost half of his body weight in 12 months!) eating nothing but 2 cups of J/D dry per day and running around with his much younger housemates (8, 9 and 1.5 years old) and at times passing them up when running around the yard. All of our dogs have healthy stools and no digestive issues, and they all have shiny, healthy coats. As long as our adult dogs do not have other primary health concerns such as kidney or liver problems, they will all get J/D. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] November 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Changed my dog's life! My Golden Retriever, Riley, competes in the sport of Dockdogs and 2 years ago she started slowing down on the dock and showing signs of discomfort after jumping. She absolutely loves competing and lights up at the first sign of water so it broke my heart to see what keeps her spirits high cause her pain. She also stopped jumping up on the bed to sleep at night which also tugged at my heart strings so I had steps built so she could continue to sleep in her favorite spot. She had been on glucosamine supplements for several years and I wasn't ready to take the step to other long-term medications so her vet and I decided to try J/D. WOW! Before I even had the chance to start training her to use the new steps she was back to jumping back on the bed and she started hitting new personal bests while competing! After 2 years the steps are still stored in the basement yet to be used and this year at 10 years old my girl placed 1st at Regional Championships and 4th in the WORLD at the Dockdog World Championships in her division! J/D has changed her life and given us many more years of happiness on the dock! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] December 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great diet for any aging/less mobile pet! Before trying the Hill's j/d, I had my dachshund on a weight maintenance diet and fish oil and glucosamine supplements as well as a daily prescription pain reliever. He was still in obvious pain and discomfort. I was looking into adding more pain medications to make him feel comfortable. I heard about j/d and started the transition over. My dog absolutely loves his food and I noticed a difference in his coat, skin and joints soon after switching. That was in January 2014. To date, my dog has not had any pain medications in months. I believe his last dose was in the summer. He is off of all his joint supplements, and we are weaning off of his fish oil (he was put back on due to an auto-immune skin condition). He is walking, running and acting like he did as a 5-6 year old dog. He is absolutely more happy and comfortable than he was before the switch. I always tell people to believe in nutriseutical treatments over pharmaceuticals, but that food treatment is ideal. I am saving money on expensive supplements and prescription medications and all I did was change my dog's diet. He is happier and I am, too. February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Did wonders for my dogs. This food was a great help for my arthritic dogs. I noticed a difference in their range of motion and movements within a week of switching to this food. May 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeping my active dog's joints healthy after 2 knee surgeries! No one expects their happy, bouncy Lab puppy to have to undergo 2 orthopedic surgeries before they turn 18 months old-but that is exactly what happened to my pup, Alvy, when she ruptured both of her ACL's. A once vibrant, bouncing puppy turned in to a little old lady dog-it was painful to watch as it was painful for her! At the recommendation of our orthopedic surgeon, Alvy started Prescription Diet j/d-and the healing process began. Of course she was on pain relief medications before and immediately post operative, but it was obvious she needed much lower doses and required them for shorter periods than dogs undergoing those same surgeries who weren't being fed the j/d diet. j/d is a perfect solution for busy families who don't have time to measure out separate supplements and food additives, and who realize the benefits of "medicating with diet." Alvy will be staying on j/d to help keep her lean and fit, to help protect not only those (expensive!) surgically repaired knees but as preventive care for all of her other joints, too. Thank you, Hill's, for helping to return Alvy to her happy, bouncy self! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] July 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Time Saver My dogs on a prescription diet so keeping up on dog food meant driving to the vet during vet hours (limited & inconvient) and lugging a huge bag of heavy expensive food home. Having good delivered at a great price was a huge help . if my dog didn't pass away ID still be using it. Luckily they let you cancel with one click, no questions asked April 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Live long and prosper Owning a giant breed dog means there is more to love - for a shorter time. Knowing joint pain can slow down a large dog, it can end the life of a giant dog. You can't simply carry them up the stairs or outside, they must be able to move themselves. Feeding j/d has helped Ebony reduce the wear and tear on her joints by reducing inflammation with the omega fatty acids added. She is now a 8 year old Great Dane who retired from agility in September - not for joint issues but because she lost her sight dur to glaucoma. Her body is lean, fit and her mobility is only slowed by her lack of vision. When she has open space she runs like the wind. We chose to feed j/d as a preventative diet, it is easier and more cost effective than buying a good food and then having to supplement with other things. She loves her kibbles and the canned formula too. Thanks Hills! December 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product seems to help I have one dog who has severe hip dysplasia and has been on this product for a few years now. Between J/D and daily Metacam for pain management, she rarely shows any signs of the hip dysplasia, i.e. stumbling, falling. Another dog of mine has recently been diagnosed with arthritis in his right shoulder, after he started limping badly. He was on prednisone for skin issues, so I have had to wait a couple of weeks before introducing Metacam to him. In the meantime, I have switched him to J/D. So far, although the limping is still there, it does not seem to be quite as bad. He still runs like a puppy, although he is 7-1/2 years old now. He does turn his right front leg outwards due to the arthritis in his shoulder bothering him, but it's not quite as noticeable since I started him on the J/D. Soon the Metacam will also be added for pain management. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] November 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by J/d is the only food choice for my four-legged kids I have a 13 year old golden retriever and I've fed her J/d food for years. As a 2 year old her hips were graded OFA fair. I have fed her J/d for years. While she is on J/d food she is much more active, jumps, and plays a lot more. A few times I have run out of J/d without reordering/purchasing fast enough so I have to settle for a grocery store seller or just use some extra expired food in the clinic. There is a major difference when she is off J/d for even a couple weeks; she will even no longer jump in the car. The food is also great for skin, ears, and hair coats. I have a water loving golden retriever with no ear problems or ever even a hot spot. I feel due to the quality and ingredients of J/d food improving the health of her skin and joints I have a happier and healthier 13 year old golden retriever without having to rely on pharmaceutical drugs. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by J/D has been the key! I have a three year old great dane. From the start I knew he was special and had special needs. He had a few accidents early on as a puppy causing him to have bad hips and a badly broken knee. Arthritis set in for the poor boy very quickly. My fiance and I noticed him dragging his feet; due to not being able to move with stiff and achey joints. I tried NSAIDS but they did not agree with his stomach. I work at a veterinary clinic and my Dr. (also his Dr.) recommended putting him on Science Diet J/D. Not even through the first bag I noticed a difference in his mobility! Now 6 months later our great dane is no longer dragging his feet and playing as much as a young dog should! He is a great weight and we no longer have to use NSAIDS! I am so happy to find a product and food that really works and provides pets with what they need. Thank you Science Diet! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] December 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased I put my 9 year old Border Collie on j/d about 9 months ago because he was limping after his favorite game of frisbee. The joint supplements and fish oil just weren't cutting it anymore. He has been doing GREAT ever since. In fact, he has only limped ONCE since being on it, which is a huge improvement. I love the high levels of omega 3 fatty acids, there are so many benefits. His skin is healthy and his coat is soft and shiny. He can be a Border Collie again and enjoy his frisbee! This food is definitely worth the price, just think of all the money you would be spending on joint supplements and fish oil without the same results! And it is a better choice over prescription drugs like Previcox, Rimadyl, and Metacam which can be hard on their liver and stomach when given on a daily basis. Every senior dog should be on this! Heck, even young dogs! January 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is amazing. This product is great. My dogs love the taste and usually want more as soon as the bowl is empty. They also recognize the bag when they see it. I am very pleased with this product and its additional benefits such as added omegas for overall health benefits including joint health.The price is affordable and well worth the cost. I love my dogs and I want them to eat a healthy diet and have the best quality food provided for them so that they can live long, healthy, happy lives. When my dogs are happy so am I. It gives me great pleasure to know that nutritionally they are consuming the best food to suit their needs.Diet is very important for overall health and is one aspect of caring for a pet that we as owners have the responsibility to provide for them.Providing a healthy diet is just one simple gift that we can give them, because we all know that they give us so much more. I encourage others to feed this diet because it has so many great benefits and the company guarantees the quality of this prescription therapeutic diet. This product also comes in a variety of bag sizes and can food to suit your pets needs and preference. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] October 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helps with my dogs mobility I love J/D!!! I have a 7 yr old Vizsla. In the past year and a half he has had to TPLO surgerys. Due to having hip problems he was already on J/D prior to both surgeries. J/d helped him support his joints while he was healing from the surgeries. He did so well and it and since it has all the supplements and fatty acids. It is so much easier to just feed him the diet rather than give him pills. He did so well on the diet that we switched our 7 yr old to J/D as well. Besides seeing a difference in mobility/ I have also seen a difference in their coat, which is a bonus! We ran out of J/D at our clinic and I had to try a different joint diet. After a few days of the other diet. I did notice a difference in their coat and they seemed not as agile. I am very happy with J/D. Thank you for making such a wonderful diet for our aging family members. April 16, 2014
  • 2016-10-24 T05:52:35.574-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_566, tr_566
  • loc_en_US, sid_69607, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>