Loading...

Hill's Prescription Diet j/d Joint Care Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food

  • Price:

    $85.99 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

In stock
27.5-lb bag
  • 8.5-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

Improving your dogs mobility is as easy as feeding the right nutrition. Being proactive about mobility issues early can avoid the need for more aggressive treatments. Hill's Prescription Diet j/d helps your dog walk, run and jump more easily in just 21 days.

Key Benefits

  • Improving your dog's mobility can be as easy as feeding the right nutrition
  • Help improve your dog's ability to run, walk and jump in as little as 21 days with a clinically proven combination of nutrients
  • An excellent source of the Omega 3 fatty acid, EPA, to nourish cartilage
  • Controlled calorie content and added L-carnitine help maintain a healthy weight and avoid extra stress on joints
  • Enriched with glucosamine and chondroitin sulfate and controlled calories and added L-carnitine for a healthy and highly palatable formula your dog will love

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69770
  • Brand
    Hill's, Science Diet
  • Breed Size
    Small, Medium, Large, All Breeds
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Senior, Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Whole Grain Corn, Chicken By-Product Meal, Flaxseed, Soybean Mill Run, Brewers Rice, Soybean Meal, Pork Fat, Chicken Liver Flavor, Powdered Cellulose, Fish Oil, Lactic Acid, Potassium Chloride, L-Lysine, Calcium Carbonate, Choline Chloride, Iodized Salt, Dl-Methionine, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), L-Threonine, Taurine, Soy Lecithin, Glucosamine Hydrochloride, Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), L-Tryptophan, L-Carnitine, Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, Chondroitin Sulfate, Phosphoric Acid, Beta-Carotene, Natural Flavors.

Caloric Content

  1. 353 kcal/cup
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 17.0% min
Crude Fat 11.0% min
Crude Fiber 12.0% max
Omega 3 Fatty Acids 2.0% min
Carnitine 200 ppm min

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Use within 60 days after opening. Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, canned food & treats. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet Lovers Also Bought

Customer Reviews

Hill's Prescription Diet j/d Joint Care Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 104.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food for dogs with joint problems! Great food, great price, free shipping, and Chewy.com gets it to you quickly! Can't recommend them enough!!!!!! great
Date published: 2017-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for senior dog's joints! Has helped with joint & pain issues. Like a young pup again!
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Product - Requires Prescription Our rottweiler had knee replacement surgery earlier this year and our vet switched her to this prescription dog food to help improve joint function and hopefully prolong the time until she needs her other knee replaced. Both the vet and the surgeon recommended this food and approved of the quality and amount of ingredients that actually help with joint movement (as opposed to other brands that don't have adequate ingredients to actually make a difference). I honestly can't say if I've noticed a difference in the pup, but I'm not going to switch to another brand just to find out (she's just as active and playful as ever, so maybe that's the proof?). BEWARE, though, no matter where you purchase this food, you will need to provide prescription information - you can't just buy this off the shelf.
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great vet quality food and excellent service We buy Hill's JD for our Siberian Husky from our vet in Indianapolis. However, we live in a small mountain town in Colorado during the summer and winter, and sometimes run out. The vet here will order food for us, but they don't stock Hill's. We have had a mix up in the order before, distributor's error. Now we know we can order directly from Chewy and get the food our pup needs. The ordering process was easy, the food came quickly, and the order was accurate.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good Both our dogs seem to like the flavor and neither of them had any digestive issues switching to this food. They were on glucosamine/chondroitin tablets and vetprofin for arthritic hips. The vet suggested Hill's J/D to take the place of both of those since she had luck doing the same with her dogs.
Date published: 2016-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great features I have a 14 year old dog with arthritis in her front legs. After using this food, she is like a puppy again. She is happy, she is playful and it warms my heart knowing that this particular food is helping her keep young and has improved her over all health!!!!
Date published: 2016-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love Chewy.com! Everything I have bought from Chewy.com has been great. When I purchased 3 elevated bowls and they were not tall enough, I called to send them back and buy others and they gave me my money back and said for me to donate them to a local shelter, so I have donated them to the Hounds of the Heartland rescue.
Date published: 2014-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great prescription Food! This Food is highly recommended from my Vet to feed my older arthritic dog. Chewy was great about following up with the Vet's office to get the prescription filled and the food out to me as quickly as possible.
Date published: 2014-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't live without! My dog has been on this food for over 10 yrs. She used to get very stiff and limped a lot. We tried this food and within a week, you could see the difference. I tried over the counter, same brand, appeared to have the same ingredients but within a few days, the limping returned. I went back on the JD and within days, she was back to normal. My dog is now about 14 1/2. She still walks and runs but doesn't chase the rabbits so much. Had to purchase a ramp to get in and out of the truck but still no signs of limping. I have recommended to several people. They all comment on the change for the good in their dog!
Date published: 2016-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Service I made my first purchase from Chewy and it went flawlessly. I had to fax a copy of the prescription needed for my dog's particular food and it was linked to the account I set up within twenty minutes. I was therefore able to submit my order and have the dog food delivered two days later. Aside from the fact that there is a significantly lower price offered by Chewy vs. Petsmart, Chewy's door-to-door service certainly beats driving to the store hoping the food is actually in stock, standing in line to make the purchase, and shlepping the 25 lbs sack back home. I certainly will repeat my purchase with Chewy when I have to replenish the dog food.
Date published: 2016-08-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed Vet recommended it as he suspected dog had arthritis and he said it might help. My dog had been on grainfree food the whole time i had her before that and it didnt occur to me to check before i ordered. Primary ingredient is Corn and it has created other concerns for me with her digestive system (poop looks less healthy), weight gain and possible impact on prior skin condition just doesnt make the pros outweigh the cons. I can give her supplements that support her joint health.
Date published: 2016-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! My dog almost died due to an allergic reaction to arthritis meds. This is one of the few things we can safely give her. It takes a while to really help, but she has been playing fetch lately which she hasn't done in a while. Auto ship makes my life so much easier since it is a prescription food and I don't just carry it with me at all times. Now I don't have to worry about running out of food and not having the prescription on me so I can restock.
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth It! My dog is a very picky eater, but he likes the Hill's Science Diet brand for the most part. Murphy has eaten Hill's Science Diet Mature Adult Active Longevity Original Dry Dog Food for year's, but now that he is 10 years old our vet suggested that we switch to a medicated dog food to help his hips and ease his pain. I was nervous at first, because this dog food does smell a bit like fish oil, but to my surprise, Murphy ate it without any problems and seems to be feeling a little bit better now. This medicated dry dog food is more expensive than regular Science Diet, but I would say it is more than worth it!
Date published: 2014-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! We have been using this brand of dog food for our little Dachshund Walter at the recommendation of our veterinarian. He absolutely loves it and is always looking forward to it first thing in the morning and in the evening.
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Awesome I have been spending money on Hill'd J/D for years. I know that prescription food is expensive but Petsmart has been increasing the price every year. I stumbled on chewy and thank my pocket ever since. They save me a trip and time. THANK YOU!!
Date published: 2014-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! So happy! I can tell a big difference in my dog's mobility!
Date published: 2016-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hill's RX Diet - J/D Joint Care has been amazing in my girl's recovery and maintaining her health When my 7 yr old Golden Girl was diagnosed with a cruciate tear and mild hip dysplasia; my local veterinarian recommended to immediately do surgery with only a 50/50% of success. I found another recommended veterinarian for a 2nd opinion. Dr. Burns recommended "baby steps" and surgery was not necessary at this point; which I was thrilled with. She put her on J/D and meds and it was a total 180 degree turnaround!! She runs around and plays with her puppy friends! She's very happy and my silly girl! She loves her J/D Diet and has always devoured her J/D dinner without hesistation! i credit Hill's RX J/D diet and Dr Burns with returning my happy little girl back to where she was! And yay -- no surgery!!! :-) We definitely swear by Hill's RX J/D Diet and recommend anyone in our situation to give it a try! It'll amaze you!
Date published: 2015-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product REALLY works!! I have two dogs - one about 12 years old and the other 8 years old. The younger one had hip dysplasia problems from his early days as a puppy and I had considered surgery to correct it however, that was postponed indefinitely due to weight problem that would have aggravated his recovery. On one visit to the vet, I saw a promotional video that showed a dog before using Hill's j/d and after using Hill's j/d. The difference was so dramatic, I felt it had to be a propaganda video that would not have any merit. My first bag was provided complimentary by the vet. Within the first two weeks, my young pooch showed such a dramatic improvement, I was a confirmed believer in this product!!
Date published: 2014-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product has made a difference on the quality of my dogs life. This product has made a real difference in my 14 year old lab. Prior to starting on this food, it was very hard for him to walk even short distances. After being on this for several months, he is not so stiff and can actually trot when he sees his dog friends.
Date published: 2014-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product and so does our baby!! We love the convenience and quality of service that Chewy.com offers us! Thank you from very happy customers! :)
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog has a better quality of life. I was skeptical about the ability of this food but was pleasantly surprised in the difference it made.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Cheaper than going to the store and much easier to have it delivered.
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Great customer service with great discounts offering a great product!
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too soon to see benefits but will continue Our Chocolate Lab is about 10 lbs overweight and our vet recommended this product. We started a month ago, but he had to have knee surgery (torn ligaments) and has been unable to exercise normally so no weight loss yet. However, his bowel movements are regular and no issues with loose stools like he used to have, so that is a plus. He's not particularly wild about the taste but eventually finishes his meal throughout the morning. Unfortunately, the other knee will have surgery next week so we won't know for awhile how effective the food is.
Date published: 2016-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing food My 10 years old Weimaraner started on this food after his ACL surgery , we stopped every antiflamatory medicine. He has been on this diet for now 2 years.
Date published: 2014-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Food :) This food does wonders for my dogs!!! I have a cathoula leopard hound who is 13 yrs old and was struggling to get up and move around. My other dog a lab shepard has been on this for a few years and she couldn't move without it. Sure enough after a few weeks my boy was up and about with much more ease. Make sure to give it time to kick in and after about 3 weeks you will see a difference ~ well worth the money. Thanks Chewy! :)
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Convenient and economical Heard about your site from a friend, and love saving on our dog's food (previously bought through the vet) and appreciate the convenience of automatic shipping.
Date published: 2014-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Essential Hill's Prescription Diet j/d is ennential for our 18 month old Golden's continuing hip health & comfort as she has, as yet, asymptomatic bilateral hip dysplasia
Date published: 2014-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressed with the quick delivery of the dog foor. This was the first time I ordered Hills Prescription Diet from Chewy. First of all, I was impressed with the quick delivery and the packing of the food. I now found a new store to buy all my dog's food. Thank you for the great service.
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kept our dog from shedding! Amazing Our dog sheds a ton but stopped once she started on this food! Amazing
Date published: 2014-09-01
  • y_2017, m_3, d_23, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_104
  • loc_en_US, sid_69607, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrchewy