Hill's Prescription Diet j/d Joint Care Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food

  • List Price:

    $91.39

  • Price:

    $81.47 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

  • You Save:

    $9.92 (11%)

In stock
27.5-lb bag
  • 8.5-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

Improving your dogs mobility is as easy as feeding the right nutrition. Being proactive about mobility issues early can avoid the need for more aggressive treatments. Hill's Prescription Diet j/d helps your dog walk, run and jump more easily in just 21 days.

Key Benefits

  • Help improve your dog's ability to run, walk and jump in as little as 21 days with a clinically proven combination of nutrients
  • An excellent source of the Omega 3 fatty acid, EPA, to nourish cartilage
  • Controlled calorie content and added L-carnitine help maintain a healthy weight and avoid extra stress on joints

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69770
  • Weight
    27.5 pounds
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Breed Size
    Small, Medium, Large, All Breeds
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Senior, Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Whole Grain Corn, Chicken By-Product Meal, Flaxseed, Soybean Mill Run, Brewers Rice, Soybean Meal, Pork Fat, Chicken Liver Flavor, Powdered Cellulose, Fish Oil, Lactic Acid, Potassium Chloride, L-Lysine, Calcium Carbonate, Choline Chloride, Iodized Salt, Dl-Methionine, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), L-Threonine, Taurine, Soy Lecithin, Glucosamine Hydrochloride, Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), L-Tryptophan, L-Carnitine, Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, Chondroitin Sulfate, Phosphoric Acid, Beta-Carotene, Natural Flavors.

Caloric Content

  1. 353 kcal/cup
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 17.0% min
Crude Fat 11.0% min
Crude Fiber 12.0% max
Omega 3 Fatty Acids 2.0% min
Carnitine 200 ppm min

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Use within 60 days after opening. Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, canned food & treats. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet lovers also bought...

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 90 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Same great quality and timely delivery I was very surprised how easy this it was to set up to deliver every 6 weeks and a great price. I am very pleased with chewy.com as are my pups! August 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and convenient This is the only dog food my pet should eat and chewy makes it easy and convenient to purchase! July 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog has a better quality of life. I was skeptical about the ability of this food but was pleasantly surprised in the difference it made. July 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Great customer service with great discounts offering a great product! July 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressed with the quick delivery of the dog foor. This was the first time I ordered Hills Prescription Diet from Chewy. First of all, I was impressed with the quick delivery and the packing of the food. I now found a new store to buy all my dog's food. Thank you for the great service. June 8, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Too soon to see benefits but will continue Our Chocolate Lab is about 10 lbs overweight and our vet recommended this product. We started a month ago, but he had to have knee surgery (torn ligaments) and has been unable to exercise normally so no weight loss yet. However, his bowel movements are regular and no issues with loose stools like he used to have, so that is a plus. He's not particularly wild about the taste but eventually finishes his meal throughout the morning. Unfortunately, the other knee will have surgery next week so we won't know for awhile how effective the food is. May 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hill's RX Diet - J/D Joint Care has been amazing in my girl's recovery and maintaining her health When my 7 yr old Golden Girl was diagnosed with a cruciate tear and mild hip dysplasia; my local veterinarian recommended to immediately do surgery with only a 50/50% of success. I found another recommended veterinarian for a 2nd opinion. Dr. Burns recommended "baby steps" and surgery was not necessary at this point; which I was thrilled with. She put her on J/D and meds and it was a total 180 degree turnaround!! She runs around and plays with her puppy friends! She's very happy and my silly girl! She loves her J/D Diet and has always devoured her J/D dinner without hesistation! i credit Hill's RX J/D diet and Dr Burns with returning my happy little girl back to where she was! And yay -- no surgery!!! :-) We definitely swear by Hill's RX J/D Diet and recommend anyone in our situation to give it a try! It'll amaze you! September 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Did wonders for my dogs. This food was a great help for my arthritic dogs. I noticed a difference in their range of motion and movements within a week of switching to this food. May 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Time Saver My dogs on a prescription diet so keeping up on dog food meant driving to the vet during vet hours (limited & inconvient) and lugging a huge bag of heavy expensive food home. Having good delivered at a great price was a huge help . if my dog didn't pass away ID still be using it. Luckily they let you cancel with one click, no questions asked April 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by JD Prescription Dog Food The only food we have found that helps our older, arthritic lab to be comfortable and more mobile. Bonus is a beautiful, shiny coat! April 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog likes this food, which is important because he needs it. If your dog has hip and joint issues, this food is excellent. He has already lost some weight after 2 weeks and likes the food April 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Science diet JD dog food I was concerned my dog would not like this food as he is pretty picky. However, to my great pleasure he really likes it. April 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good product We have fed this food to our senior dogs for a few years, and it seems to work together with herbal medications. March 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helper My dog is doing much better. You were recommended to me by a veterinarian. March 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing results in less than two weeks I have a Shepherd mix mutt rescue who has had some joint issues pretty much in all four legs. He got to a point of serious "head-bob" walking 24/7 so we took him to the vet (again), who said that there was no (expensive) surgery to fix things and that we should consider acupuncture or the J/D diet. We said we'd start with the J/D diet and in LESS THAN TWO WEEKS the limp entirely disappeared. We are thrilled with the results and are grateful for our guy to feel so much better! January 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by good company to deal with Dr recommended this food for my husky that had arthritis and seems to be helping. Giving him less medication with this food. March 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by We've noticed significant improvement When our vet suggested prescription food for our 12 year old Boxer, I was skeptical; however, I figured it couldn't hurt to try it. Well, Thai food is well worth the cost! We have noticed a significant improvement in her agility and movement. She now uses the stairs multiple times a day, whereas in the past she will avoid them. She is still an arthritic 12 year old Boxer, but her quality of life definitely seems improved. We highly recommend this product and will continue to use it. January 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Product for joint issues Dog has been on product for 6 months; I think it has reduced his joint pain. Price was lower at Chewy by 10.00 compared to my Vet's price. Shipping was free because it was over 49.00. March 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Significant Results! I have a 13 year old Springer Spaniel. I was having to carry her up the stairs due to arthritis, etc. My vet's receptionist told me to try Hillside Prescription Diet. She said it's pricey, but after I see the results I will want to buy it again. Maggie now walks upstairs by herself, is more active and acts more like a younger dog! It tells me something about human's nutrition as well. January 30, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by It really seems to be helping my dog's mobility I was skeptical when my vet prescribed this food but my lab really seems to have improved mobility after @4 weeks of being on this food. I will keep using it. February 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product REALLY works!! I have two dogs - one about 12 years old and the other 8 years old. The younger one had hip dysplasia problems from his early days as a puppy and I had considered surgery to correct it however, that was postponed indefinitely due to weight problem that would have aggravated his recovery. On one visit to the vet, I saw a promotional video that showed a dog before using Hill's j/d and after using Hill's j/d. The difference was so dramatic, I felt it had to be a propaganda video that would not have any merit. My first bag was provided complimentary by the vet. Within the first two weeks, my young pooch showed such a dramatic improvement, I was a confirmed believer in this product!! July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent product The food was recommended by my vet for my young lab whose elbow did not grow together as a fetus. He explained that the nutrient in the food could not be duplicated by administering supplements. I also put my 10 year old golden on it as she was exhibiting some difficulty getting up from time to time. My golden acts like a young dog again and I haven't seen my lab limp since he has been on it. I feel I am giving the very best to my best friends. Chewy has a great price and wonderful service. December 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seems fine? Our 11 year old lab mix with sore hips has been eating this for about 2 months. I have to say I don't notice any improvement in his mobility, soreness, or ability to get up quickly, but he likes the food and hasn't had any troubles with it. I'm not sure it's worth nearly $80 if I don't see any other results, but otherwise no complaints. January 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by No need for extra meds and chewy is awesome My 11 year old dog has had arthritis his entire life. I always gave him Science Diet, but when his symptoms started becoming more noticeable in older age my vet recommended JD as an alternative or supplement to pain killers. My dog, and my friend's dog each have a significant different in their mobility. Also, Chewy.com is a lifesaver. They are more affordable, and they automatically deliver to my house. January 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hills Vet Recommendations for food The UC Davis Veteranary School recommended Hills for our dog's joint mobility. I assume it was to lose weight and maintain muscle using the Hill food. A 28# bag goes for $90 but Chewy sells it for $76. We will try it out and compare to the over the counter food that Hills produces for older dogs. January 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent!! This is a good product. I feel it helps my dog. I still have to mix it with her other food as she is picky! I wish it came in a different flavor as well. It is pricsy but if it helps her I will continue to purchase it. February 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs love this dog food Both of my dogs have arthritis, and one of my dogs' joints would sometimes "pop" when he walked. After they started eating this dog food, my male dog stopped "popping" and both of my dogs are more active than ever. I wouldn't change a thing. January 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product My dog loves the food and it seems to work. I have been using for the last year or so based on my vet's recommendation. She runs like a young dog (she's 10 years old). Additionally, her stools are always firm. Previously her stools varied greatly, from watery to firm. Now there are never any accidents. Life is good! January 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Noticeable Improvement within 3 weeks!! My 7th month old cane corso has hip displasia. This food combined with stage 3 glysoflex has helped tremendously! Saw mass improvements within weeks!! He is no longer lethargic and moves around so much better!!! January 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This food helped my dog amazingly well in weeks!! My vet recommended this for my 8 year old hound/heeler mix who was starting to limp badly due to his arthritis. In a few weeks of eating this food, his limp has disappeared and he is now able to keep up with our border collie who runs everywhere! I was skeptical that food alone might help, but it REALLY has!! January 16, 2016
  • 2016-10-31 T07:02:43.704-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_90, tr_90
  • loc_en_US, sid_69607, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 next>>