Loading...

Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Dry Dog Food

  • List Price:

    $106.79

  • Price:

    $88.99 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

  • You Save:

    $17.80 (17%)

In stock
27.5-lb bag
  • 8.5-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

Kidneys are important because they remove waste substances from the blood, and maintain the normal balance of fluid and minerals within the body. Once kidney damage occurs, the consequences are usually irreversible. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet k/d, clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your dog's kidney health. In fact, k/d is clinically tested nutrition to improve and lengthen quality of life.

Key Benefits

  • Protects kidney and heart function with targeted levels of high quality protein
  • Boosts vitality and energy with controlled phosphorus and low sodium
  • Supports appetite and eating enjoyment to keep your dog eating a healthy amount
  • Sustains healthy body condition while supporting lean muscle
  • Feed your dog clinically tested nutrition to improve and lengthen his quality of life

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    87466
  • Weight
    27.5 pounds
  • Brand
    Hill's, Science Diet
  • Breed Size
    All Breeds, Small, Medium, Large
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Brewers Rice, Pork Fat, Chicken, Egg Product, Flaxseed, Whole Grain Corn, Whole Grain Sorghum, Dried Beet Pulp, Chicken Liver Flavor, Powdered Cellulose, Soybean Oil, Lactic Acid, Pork Liver Flavor, Calcium Carbonate, Potassium Chloride, L-Lysine, Choline Chloride, Potassium Citrate, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin A Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Biotin, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), L-Threonine, Iodized Salt, Taurine, Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, L-Tryptophan, Dl-Methionine, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Caloric Content

  1. 398 kcal/cup
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 12.0% min
Crude Protein 16.0% max
Crude Fat 17.0% min
Crude Fiber 5.0% max
Calcium 0.4% min
Phosphorus 0.15% min
Phosphorus 0.5% max
Sodium 0.28% max
Vitamin C 85 mg/kg min
Vitamin E 450 IU/kg min

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, wet food and treats. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet Lovers Also Bought

Customer Reviews

Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Dry Dog Food is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 224.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care My dog had some health issues and our vet recommended this. We've used it before on other pets so we know it works, fixed him up good. Danny Panik
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Patsy loves it! I have noticed a big improvement in Patsy's health since she has been eating this prescription food. And, she does love it which is a great plus.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My lab loves this food I ordered this food around noon one day and I received the order by 4 pm the very next day. Great service
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doing what it's supposed to This food is helping my dog immensely. As a bonus he also loves it!
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs love this. Highly recommended. Great product and very prompt delivery. Highly recommended!!
Date published: 2017-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog has used this product for a year and half now! My 2 1/2 year old Pitbull has been on this product since he was about 10 months. I found out he had kidney disease after he was neutered. The vet said it's rare for a puppy to have this but he did. Our vet recommended this product to us. After 6 months we did more test and they his results had improved. I never had problems with him eating it. He always gobbles it down like he is starving. You could never tell my baby is sick because he is 80 pounds of pure love and happiness. Hills Presciption changed some things in this product, the pieces are bigger and it has a different smell. I thought it was weird because I didn't want my dog eating something he wasn't suppose to. I use to buy it at petsmart but I remembered my neighbors buy her special dog food from chewy. I honestly love chewy because you get more for your money, shipping is free, it automatically ships (I forget until the last minute to buy dog food so this feature is awesome), it arrives in two days or less, and customer services is AMAZING. And I mean amazing if I call with anything they always ask how my baby boy is doing and even gave me a partial refund when shopping was messed up. It was fedex fault not theirs. I actually got my mom to start using this company on my dogs litter mate.
Date published: 2017-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been using the product for a while, and switched to Chewy because of the poor service I received from our veterinarian's practice. My vet decided not to carry this brand, and did not come through with promised food to transition to the brand he will be carrying. I decided to ditch the vet for food and go with Chewy. After bad service from the vet's staff, it was a joy to be able to get this taken care of with a phone call and have the food conveniently delivered to my front door! No more phone calls not returned, promises not kept, not to mention the added convenience of not stopping at the vet's to pick up the food. I wish I had done this a long time ago, but better late than never!
Date published: 2016-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results! After 4 weeks on KD my labs blood work is finally in the normal range. Hopefully I can expect this for the rest of his life.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Thoughts on KD Kibble for Dogs I have an 11-year-old Labrador male Dog guide who has had to eat KD kibble since June. It has kept his numbers just above the normal range. But he has generally been a picky eater from the time I've had him and he really doesn't like the food. My vet tells me a lot of dogs do not like it because of the lower protein levels. He would pick out anything I would add to the food such as small amounts of finely diced chicken, or even any type of sauce on the food. So now he just has to eat it dry. He has held out for as long as 48 hours. To prevent this from continuing to happen, I have found that if I split feed at the times he really likes, such as 5pm and 10pm, rather than morning and evening, he will accept the food a little better; if your dog is like mine you might consider finding the times of day your dog might be most receptive. I considered the canned food but I'm not convinced my dog wouldn't pick it out and leave the kibble once again; right now the schedule change has been the key to successfully having him eat on a regular basis.
Date published: 2014-10-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Probably good for dogs with kidney issues, but only if the dog will eat it! I ordered this Rx food for my Golden Retriever, who had never been a picky eater. He refused to eat it, even when I know he was hungry! He waited eagerly for his food, sniffed it and just walked away...even when we tried mixing in some yummy wet food that I know he liked! The product may be desirable for dogs with kidney issues, but only if they will eat it! In my opinion, I think many dogs will find the palatability of this dry food to be not to their liking!
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My dog doesn't like it :-( First, the service from Chewy was good, the delivery etc...I gave 3 stars because my dog doesn't like it at all and this kind of food is expensive.I totally wasted my money in this one. I don't know if the problem is the odor that the food have but she couldn't eat it. I have the package almost new and I don' t want to enforce her to eat something that she doesn't want to eat.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our Dog is Living a Good Life on K/D Dog Food Our Vet started our dog on K/D dog food two years ago, he is now 18 years old. We didn't think he would have lived as long. We recently found out our other dog of 16 years has a kidney problem also, started him on K/D and now he is bouncing around like he is a puppy again. This food is worth the extra time we have with our dogs. Glad Chewy carries a larger bag. Thank you!
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves this stuff! My dog has recently been diagnoised with kidney diseases and I have been worried sick about having to change his diet. I have been purchasing this through my vet and its pretty expensive. When I found it on Chewy.com I was very excited to see that it is a little cheaper! Every bit helps! Great price and great product!
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Food Our vet placed our 11 year old Lab on this food due to early kidney disease. He loves the food and it does not bother any of his many allergies. He acts like he is feeling better and is more alert and happy. We plan to continue using this food.
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The product has great features. My dog is a very picky eater, so I gradually started her on K/D and she loves it. She is almost 17 yrs old and I want her around for another 17 yrs, so K/D is a diet that will keep her around for a long time and am glad she enjoys her food. I ordered K/D and it arrived in 2 days. Great service.
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good product and excellent service My dog is in early renal failure and was vomiting. My vet ordered this food and he is doing much better and his appetite has returned. The delivery to my house is essential as I am disabled. Very satisfied
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for my dog with renal issues. I have fed Tank KD for the past 6yrs. He developed renal issues after a life threatening illness. KD has helped in his recovery and good health today. I gave a lifelong commitment to his health, as does Hills. He loves the KD chicken!
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Kidney diet food was a big hit with TEDDY. He is an old guy and has started having many special needs. My dog likes it better than the food he was eating before. He really likes it with a spoon of the wet food stirred in with the dry. I hope it helps the old guys kidney function, I want him to hang in with me for as long as possible.
Date published: 2016-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what we wanted! Lighting fast delivery, I could not believe it came so fast. Cheaper that our vet could offer, and fresher. Love the heavy duty bags with the zip lock tops, keeps food fresh. Our older dog is doing well on it, well worth the price.
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CHEWY....... When you need a special diet for a pet, Chewy can be counted on for such a fast service, your head will spin!! THANKS, Chewy!
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The shape and size is difficult for small dogs to eat. She like the flavor but had trouble with the barrel shape and the size. She has all her teeth, but had difficulty eating it.
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what the doctor ordered Service was great, product is what the doctor ordered, ease of ordering is simple. All and all we are happy with Chewy.com.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs love this food! I love your very quick delivery and the canned food is very fresh! Thank you
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding! What I ordered actually arrived and it only took 2 or 3 days for delivery.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product is well packaged. Easy Open - Easy Close! Heavy plastic packaging for protection.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My Dog loves it and he's a picky eater My dog was recently diagnosed with early stage kidney failure and this product was recommended by our vet to help keep up his quality of like and possibly extend the amount of time we have with him. I was skeptical as our dog is a very picky eater. However, he loves this. The only thing that I didn't like about it was the price. It is very expensive especially when looking at the ingredients in it. The food we used to feed him had a better ingredient list and cost less than this. But if it helps extend his life and make him more comfortable I guess you can't go wrong.
Date published: 2016-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best price around I need to give my dog this food for kidney problems. My vet said it would add two years to his life. You can only get it with a script from your vet. Chewy handled the whole process for me. This food is very expensive and Chewy had the best price. I received it within 24 hours of ordering and now have it on autoship so I never have to worry about running out. Thanks Chewy!
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product; exceptional service My dog was recently put on Prescription Diet k/d for kidney issues. It is expensive food when purchased from the vet. I was able to save a lot of money buying through Chewy, and received the order in just a couple of days with FREE SHIPPING. Chewy handled getting the Rx approval from my vet, and sent me emails letting me know when the order was processed, as well as shipped. I have already recommended my friends to your website!
Date published: 2014-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from got kidney values back to normal! our 14-year-old lab/chow mix has recently entered early stage kidney disease and the vet recommended we switch to this food - when we checked his kidney function bloodwork about 6 weeks after the diet switch, his numbers were back to normal! "high" normal but still within normal range, which they hadn't been at the previous appointment.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best for dogs with kidney problems After a bad experience with some "high quality" food, two of my dogs have gone into kidney failure. My veterinarian has put them on this food. They are doing very well and I couldn't be happier. They love the food and it has helped their kidneys return to almost normal function! I can't say enough good things about this product. It has saved my dogs' lives. If more people listened to their veterinarian, our animal companions would have much fewer health problems.
Date published: 2016-07-21
  • y_2017, m_2, d_18, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_224
  • loc_en_US, sid_69609, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrchewy