Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Dry Dog Food

- Quantity +
  • List Price:

    $95.99

  • Price:

    $82.44 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping

  • You Save:

    $13.55 (14%)

In stock
  • 8.5-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag

Description

  • Item Number
    87466
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Made in
    United States
  • Lifestage
    Adult

Kidneys are important because they remove waste substances from the blood, and maintain the normal balance of fluid and minerals within the body. Once kidney damage occurs, the consequences are usually irreversible. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet k/d, clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your dog's kidney health. In fact, k/d is clinically tested nutrition to improve and lengthen quality of life.

Key Benefits

  • Protects vital kidney & heart function
  • Boosts vitality & energy
  • Supports appetite & eating enjoyment
  • Sustains healthy body condition
  • Targeted levels of high quality protein
  • Controlled phosphorus
  • Low sodium
  • Lean muscle support complex
  • Made in the USA

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Ingredients

Brewers Rice, Pork Fat, Chicken, Egg Product, Flaxseed, Whole Grain Corn, Whole Grain Sorghum, Dried Beet Pulp, Chicken Liver Flavor, Powdered Cellulose, Soybean Oil, Lactic Acid, Pork Liver Flavor, Calcium Carbonate, Potassium Chloride, L-Lysine, Choline Chloride, Potassium Citrate, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin A Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Biotin, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), L-Threonine, Iodized Salt, Taurine, Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, L-Tryptophan, Dl-Methionine, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 261 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good price. My dog likes it better than Purina. She is a picky eater. I appreciated the $15 discount (one time) for ordering an additional bag. I like the convenience and reliable delivery. May 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great price, service and product. I'm very please with the quality of the product and pricing. Love the free shipping! May 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprised... When my vet told me to consider a special kidney diet for my aging Boxer, I researched several brands and, after recovering from sticker shock, actually decided to try another brand. When I pulled out the prescription, I realized the vet wrote the specific food on the Rx so rather than call and ask for a change, I went with it. After reading about how dogs turn their noses up at this food, I was shocked when I mixed his first bowl (old w/new). He devoured it. He is now on 100% Hill's k/d and eats every drop, every day. We are addressing a few healthy issues simultaneously, so I cannot say which improvement comes from which treatment, but I can say overall his energy is high, his coat is as soft as ever, and he never leaves a morsel of food in the bowl. I'm pleasantly surprised, but I think I hit a homerun on this one. February 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unexpected service An order arrived including two packages of prescription diet canned food. One of those packages was badly damaged with one can actually spilt open and drained onto the other cans which it so happened were dented by not open. I told Chewy about this and they promised to replace the damaged goods. To my surprise they not only sent me a replacement for the one case damaged but replaced the WHOLE order of two cases. I offered to pay them for the extra case but the wonderful women that answered my enquiry told me that for my inconvenience the extra case was 'on the house’. I am now a commited customer of Chewy and feel quite safe in ordering prescription diets that are needed by my Abby. April 15, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dog says "ick" My dog picks out kernels of this food that he doesn't like and the only way I can get him to eat any of the nuggets is to mix it with chicken broth. Pain. The only good thing is that it is suppose to be better for his kidneys. :\ May 10, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Thoughts on KD Kibble for Dogs I have an 11-year-old Labrador male Dog guide who has had to eat KD kibble since June. It has kept his numbers just above the normal range. But he has generally been a picky eater from the time I've had him and he really doesn't like the food. My vet tells me a lot of dogs do not like it because of the lower protein levels. He would pick out anything I would add to the food such as small amounts of finely diced chicken, or even any type of sauce on the food. So now he just has to eat it dry. He has held out for as long as 48 hours. To prevent this from continuing to happen, I have found that if I split feed at the times he really likes, such as 5pm and 10pm, rather than morning and evening, he will accept the food a little better; if your dog is like mine you might consider finding the times of day your dog might be most receptive. I considered the canned food but I'm not convinced my dog wouldn't pick it out and leave the kibble once again; right now the schedule change has been the key to successfully having him eat on a regular basis. October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog doesn't mind this food! I think this food has changed in taste in the past year or two since my dog likes this new one much better (it is a little darker in color and much smellier). Chewy got the precription from our vet quickly and it shipped out within a day or two! May 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Site Site easy to navigate. Shipping on time and in good condition May 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by the product is very good the product very good and the service is excellent. I would definetly recommend. May 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by food my dog loves the food and seems to eat it without any problems. thank youMolly7 May 6, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works but Dogs Don't Seem to Like It This dog food has seemed to help stabilize my dog's kidney issues, so that's fantastic!! However, she doesn't seem to like it. She waits to eat it and even when she does she seems to be constantly scavenging for more food. It's possible it's because she just can't eat as much protein due to her kidney problem. My vet recommended to supplement with plain pasta or white rice - which she wolfs down! April 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chewy was very helpful getting this product for us. Our vet recommended this food for our older dog. He's eating this and seems to be fine so far. Chewy was very helpful getting the prescription for this food. April 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome product! This food has been great for my dog with kidney issues. Her high kidney levels have pretty much diminished in 6 weeks after using this. Kidneys are back to the normal range!!! YAY! I feed her one meal of this dog food and one meal of homemade food, cooked chicken and rice. I can't credit all of her kidney success to this food as I spend many hours meal prepping homemade food for my dogs each week. However, I think this food has definitely helped her. I highly recommend it. My dog also had no problem with the taste of the food. It is expensive but worth it if you want your dog to be the healthiest it can possibly be. I don't feed what the recommended amounts are, I don't agree with them. My 53lb dog only gets 1 cup at her dry food meal. I believe the bag recommends 2 cups or more. The vet said 1 cup was fine if that's what she was used to on her previous food and she didn't seem starving after her meals. 2 cups will easily make your dog gain weight if you aren't careful. My dogs get walked 2-4 miles 7 days a week plus they run around at the horse ranch everyday. On 1 cup she still is hefty, not overweight but definitely not underweight. She could stand to lose 1-2lbs still but the vet said she is looking great. I can't imagine her weight if we feed her the recommended amount on the bag. Just be aware of that. No complaints though, best food ever for dogs with kidney issues. March 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beef stew I recommend it to any dog that has renal disease My dog runs to her bowl when she smells it. April 14, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dog likes it The dog enjoys this food. Price is extremely high & have been told they don't have quality protein in it like other foods do that will help with Kidney issues. My Pointer has tick relate disease that can cause kidney issues so Vet put me on this. I will also try Purina's Kidney diet. Chewy is THE place to buy it cause the price is right and ships FAST! April 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lhasa loves it My little Lhasa has some elevated kidney values so she needed a prescription diet food. Three were recommended. I chose Hills because corn is not the first ingredient. My Lhasa loves it. April 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bad news...Good news.... After a blood test, (the bad news) my 14 year old Cairn Terrier was prescribed this food by his Vet, but the good news is that Scruffy does like it and enjoys meal time with a food that is good for his kidney condition, I mix in a couple spoons of the canned (soft) type also. Excited meals times again :) April 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far so good Our 13.5 year old lab was in the high range for kidney function in her most recent lab test. She seems to be doing well on this new food (although is gaining weight-- the recommendation for amount is way too high). April 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product. I have used Hill's Science Diet Prescription products for both dogs and cats and highly recommend it. Their products contain only the best quality ingredients available. Our baby is a 14 year old Siberian Husky wolf mix and we feed her a combination beef stew and dry food. She loves the taste and is more active and healthier than ever since we started feeding her Hill's Science Diet Prescription KD. March 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog loves it I had previously had my dog on ProPlan NF food and it really upset his digestive system. I also could not pronounce most of the ingredients. Not so with the Hills Science Diet k/d. This food does not cause my dog digestive distress and he appears to really love the taste. He has gotten his energy back and is back to his old self. I would recommend this food if your dog needs a kidney diet food. March 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by GEt this in Dry and wet!!! My dog loves this food both dry and canned stew. The customer service team is excellent. Doug took care of getting the script from the vet and used my coupons from Hills without hesitation. I wish they had stores like Petco or Petsmart at every corner. I will not go to either of those stores since they use distributors that have abused and killed animals they sell. They suck!! I encourage anyone reading this before they decide where to go to buy to buy from CHEWY!! Ask for Doug or Patrick the manager they seem to be tops at what they do and truly care!! March 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helped my little girl gain weight! My 7 year old yorkie was diagnosed with kidney disease in September- this food along with medication and aminos have helped my girl gain weight! She loves this food and would eat more if I allowed her. Her favorite is the wet food (beef stew). Her last two blood panels have been steady - hoping for the same next month. Thanks for this food! Its given my girl more time and has helped her regain the pound that she lost! My other yorkie who has no health problems also love this food :) March 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product gave my 12 yo miniature schnauzer a new lease on life! My miniature schnauzer was very ill, had been in ICU several times with renal failure. He was lethargic, and not at all his usual self. His vet prescribed Prescription Hill kidney care ( k/d )! The change has been phenomenal! He is literally bounding down the stairs and out the door in the mornings and we hear him playing with his squeaky toys in the other room in the evenings now too! I am very thankful for this product because it was touch and go for a few weeks. If your dog is having renal issues I highly recommend k/d, or if he is just not as active as he was. This product definitely increases energy levels! If your dog does not like it as first, just keep offering it, per my vet, a change in food flavors can be difficult. So he refused it twice and and we put some in his crate with him and he gobbled it up, now he wants more! November 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hills k/d is miracle food! At 8 years old, our Golden Retriever, Coach, was diagnosed with stage 3 kidney failure. He was placed on Hills k/d and takes 1 medication. After a year and a half on k/d, his energy is that of a two year old! We are so appreciative of our vet and of the folks at Hills to keep our Coach the best he can be! March 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved my Chihuahua My five year old got sick 8/15 . Went the vet and some tests later . It's kidney issue so Rx kd it is. It's helped him. I gave 5 stars because of that. It took a little time for him to get used to it. Now he likes it. J. J loves the Rx kd beef or chicken stew wet food. March 21, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by My other dog is jealous I just started my 11 year old dog on Hills k/d food this week after my vet suggested it since her blood work came back that her kidneys aren't functioning properly. Chewy customer service contacted my vet for me and shipped it to me in two days! After the first bowl full was scarfed down and my other dog was wanting to get in on that action, I was relieved that she loved it. I'm assuming the slight sticky coating to the kibble is what makes them like it because it smells like goose poo. And you know how dogs are attracted to that! February 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Dog Jill Loves the food. My vet told me that my dog Jill may not like this special diet. But she loves it and has alot more energy since she has been on it. She is 13 years old and is now acting like a pup again. March 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent and palatable prescription food! My 11 year old shepherd mix is on this food and she loves it! We hope to stave off her renal insufficiency which is borderline at the moment... March 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by He loves it!!!!!! He loves it!!!! I was worried he wouldn't like this special food but he loves it February 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Chewy provided us with the kidney diet for our elderly lab with kidney disease. She also had the kidney treats which she loved! She has now passed on over the rainbow bridge but we certainly think highly of this company and their services. Thank you chewy! We will be repeat customers in the future! JG February 17, 2016
  • 2016-07-27 T08:51:14.056-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_261, tr_261
  • loc_en_US, sid_69609, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>