Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care with Chicken Dry Dog Food

  • List Price:

    $95.99

  • Price:

    $82.44 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

  • You Save:

    $13.55 (14%)

In stock
  • 8.5-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

  • Item Number
    87466
  • Weight
    27.5 pounds
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Made in
    United States
  • Lifestage
    Adult

Kidneys are important because they remove waste substances from the blood, and maintain the normal balance of fluid and minerals within the body. Once kidney damage occurs, the consequences are usually irreversible. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet k/d, clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your dog's kidney health. In fact, k/d is clinically tested nutrition to improve and lengthen quality of life.

Key Benefits

  • Protects vital kidney & heart function
  • Boosts vitality & energy
  • Supports appetite & eating enjoyment
  • Sustains healthy body condition
  • Targeted levels of high quality protein
  • Controlled phosphorus
  • Low sodium
  • Lean muscle support complex
  • Made in the USA

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Ingredients

Brewers Rice, Pork Fat, Chicken, Egg Product, Flaxseed, Whole Grain Corn, Whole Grain Sorghum, Dried Beet Pulp, Chicken Liver Flavor, Powdered Cellulose, Soybean Oil, Lactic Acid, Pork Liver Flavor, Calcium Carbonate, Potassium Chloride, L-Lysine, Choline Chloride, Potassium Citrate, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin A Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Biotin, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), L-Threonine, Iodized Salt, Taurine, Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, L-Tryptophan, Dl-Methionine, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 274 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by got kidney values back to normal! our 14-year-old lab/chow mix has recently entered early stage kidney disease and the vet recommended we switch to this food - when we checked his kidney function bloodwork about 6 weeks after the diet switch, his numbers were back to normal! "high" normal but still within normal range, which they hadn't been at the previous appointment. August 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great price! The food seems to be helping out. This first large bag. Our dog has been on it for about a month and seems to lIke it. August 13, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product Though a bit costly, it appears to be a great asset to our elderly pooch. We ordered it on friday was supposed to be free one to teo day shipping it didnt arrive during that time frame. That having been said enen though it was pricey the food was the cheapest I have found: though it didnt arrive as anticipated the two day window, it did arrive in a timely manner. Thanks. Our pooch is eating and drinking less as well as regaining some of his lost weight. July 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value! And Free Shipping! The weight and free shipping made this product an excellent value! July 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best for dogs with kidney problems After a bad experience with some "high quality" food, two of my dogs have gone into kidney failure. My veterinarian has put them on this food. They are doing very well and I couldn't be happier. They love the food and it has helped their kidneys return to almost normal function! I can't say enough good things about this product. It has saved my dogs' lives. If more people listened to their veterinarian, our animal companions would have much fewer health problems. July 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seems to work for our dog with Chronic Renal Failure Our dog likes the food, we think. She has never missed a meal in her life. Her stools were pretty soft, so we do add a scoop of pureed pumpkin and all is good Blood and urine were better after 5 weeks on the food, so we hope this will help prolong her life. July 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Great prices, great customer service. Love the free shipping. I just signed up for auto ship. July 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loves this food During a recent vet visit our dog was diagnosed with kidney disease and our vet told us a k/d diet was necessary for our dog. She had become very picky with her regular food so spending this much on dog food made me nervous ( but is not an option at this point per the health of our pet). Our dog has not hesitated once about eating this food since switching over, she absolutely loves it. July 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vet recommendation My senior dog has only one kidney and she's been on this food for about a year. She likes it and her kidney values have remained good. July 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great customer service Changed dogs food better flavor for our dog. Great service from people who need the RX and customer service. Highly reccomed chewy July 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product This product works excellent on my dog and the best price on the market. July 13, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Thoughts on KD Kibble for Dogs I have an 11-year-old Labrador male Dog guide who has had to eat KD kibble since June. It has kept his numbers just above the normal range. But he has generally been a picky eater from the time I've had him and he really doesn't like the food. My vet tells me a lot of dogs do not like it because of the lower protein levels. He would pick out anything I would add to the food such as small amounts of finely diced chicken, or even any type of sauce on the food. So now he just has to eat it dry. He has held out for as long as 48 hours. To prevent this from continuing to happen, I have found that if I split feed at the times he really likes, such as 5pm and 10pm, rather than morning and evening, he will accept the food a little better; if your dog is like mine you might consider finding the times of day your dog might be most receptive. I considered the canned food but I'm not convinced my dog wouldn't pick it out and leave the kibble once again; right now the schedule change has been the key to successfully having him eat on a regular basis. October 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Dog loves it and he's a picky eater My dog was recently diagnosed with early stage kidney failure and this product was recommended by our vet to help keep up his quality of like and possibly extend the amount of time we have with him. I was skeptical as our dog is a very picky eater. However, he loves this. The only thing that I didn't like about it was the price. It is very expensive especially when looking at the ingredients in it. The food we used to feed him had a better ingredient list and cost less than this. But if it helps extend his life and make him more comfortable I guess you can't go wrong. May 31, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by My dog doesn't like it. I can only say that My dog would not eat this food.!! June 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprised... When my vet told me to consider a special kidney diet for my aging Boxer, I researched several brands and, after recovering from sticker shock, actually decided to try another brand. When I pulled out the prescription, I realized the vet wrote the specific food on the Rx so rather than call and ask for a change, I went with it. After reading about how dogs turn their noses up at this food, I was shocked when I mixed his first bowl (old w/new). He devoured it. He is now on 100% Hill's k/d and eats every drop, every day. We are addressing a few healthy issues simultaneously, so I cannot say which improvement comes from which treatment, but I can say overall his energy is high, his coat is as soft as ever, and he never leaves a morsel of food in the bowl. I'm pleasantly surprised, but I think I hit a homerun on this one. February 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unexpected service An order arrived including two packages of prescription diet canned food. One of those packages was badly damaged with one can actually spilt open and drained onto the other cans which it so happened were dented by not open. I told Chewy about this and they promised to replace the damaged goods. To my surprise they not only sent me a replacement for the one case damaged but replaced the WHOLE order of two cases. I offered to pay them for the extra case but the wonderful women that answered my enquiry told me that for my inconvenience the extra case was 'on the house’. I am now a commited customer of Chewy and feel quite safe in ordering prescription diets that are needed by my Abby. April 15, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good price. My dog likes it better than Purina. She is a picky eater. I appreciated the $15 discount (one time) for ordering an additional bag. I like the convenience and reliable delivery. May 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great price, service and product. I'm very please with the quality of the product and pricing. Love the free shipping! May 18, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dog says "ick" My dog picks out kernels of this food that he doesn't like and the only way I can get him to eat any of the nuggets is to mix it with chicken broth. Pain. The only good thing is that it is suppose to be better for his kidneys. :\ May 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog doesn't mind this food! I think this food has changed in taste in the past year or two since my dog likes this new one much better (it is a little darker in color and much smellier). Chewy got the precription from our vet quickly and it shipped out within a day or two! May 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product gave my 12 yo miniature schnauzer a new lease on life! My miniature schnauzer was very ill, had been in ICU several times with renal failure. He was lethargic, and not at all his usual self. His vet prescribed Prescription Hill kidney care ( k/d )! The change has been phenomenal! He is literally bounding down the stairs and out the door in the mornings and we hear him playing with his squeaky toys in the other room in the evenings now too! I am very thankful for this product because it was touch and go for a few weeks. If your dog is having renal issues I highly recommend k/d, or if he is just not as active as he was. This product definitely increases energy levels! If your dog does not like it as first, just keep offering it, per my vet, a change in food flavors can be difficult. So he refused it twice and and we put some in his crate with him and he gobbled it up, now he wants more! November 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by the product is very good the product very good and the service is excellent. I would definetly recommend. May 10, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works but Dogs Don't Seem to Like It This dog food has seemed to help stabilize my dog's kidney issues, so that's fantastic!! However, she doesn't seem to like it. She waits to eat it and even when she does she seems to be constantly scavenging for more food. It's possible it's because she just can't eat as much protein due to her kidney problem. My vet recommended to supplement with plain pasta or white rice - which she wolfs down! April 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Site Site easy to navigate. Shipping on time and in good condition May 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome product! This food has been great for my dog with kidney issues. Her high kidney levels have pretty much diminished in 6 weeks after using this. Kidneys are back to the normal range!!! YAY! I feed her one meal of this dog food and one meal of homemade food, cooked chicken and rice. I can't credit all of her kidney success to this food as I spend many hours meal prepping homemade food for my dogs each week. However, I think this food has definitely helped her. I highly recommend it. My dog also had no problem with the taste of the food. It is expensive but worth it if you want your dog to be the healthiest it can possibly be. I don't feed what the recommended amounts are, I don't agree with them. My 53lb dog only gets 1 cup at her dry food meal. I believe the bag recommends 2 cups or more. The vet said 1 cup was fine if that's what she was used to on her previous food and she didn't seem starving after her meals. 2 cups will easily make your dog gain weight if you aren't careful. My dogs get walked 2-4 miles 7 days a week plus they run around at the horse ranch everyday. On 1 cup she still is hefty, not overweight but definitely not underweight. She could stand to lose 1-2lbs still but the vet said she is looking great. I can't imagine her weight if we feed her the recommended amount on the bag. Just be aware of that. No complaints though, best food ever for dogs with kidney issues. March 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by food my dog loves the food and seems to eat it without any problems. thank youMolly7 May 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chewy was very helpful getting this product for us. Our vet recommended this food for our older dog. He's eating this and seems to be fine so far. Chewy was very helpful getting the prescription for this food. April 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by GEt this in Dry and wet!!! My dog loves this food both dry and canned stew. The customer service team is excellent. Doug took care of getting the script from the vet and used my coupons from Hills without hesitation. I wish they had stores like Petco or Petsmart at every corner. I will not go to either of those stores since they use distributors that have abused and killed animals they sell. They suck!! I encourage anyone reading this before they decide where to go to buy to buy from CHEWY!! Ask for Doug or Patrick the manager they seem to be tops at what they do and truly care!! March 11, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dog likes it The dog enjoys this food. Price is extremely high & have been told they don't have quality protein in it like other foods do that will help with Kidney issues. My Pointer has tick relate disease that can cause kidney issues so Vet put me on this. I will also try Purina's Kidney diet. Chewy is THE place to buy it cause the price is right and ships FAST! April 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beef stew I recommend it to any dog that has renal disease My dog runs to her bowl when she smells it. April 14, 2016
  • 2016-09-23 T06:28:13.247-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_274, tr_274
  • loc_en_US, sid_69609, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>