Loading...

Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food

  • List Price:

    $101.39

  • Price:

    $84.49 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

  • You Save:

    $16.90 (17%)

In stock
27.5-lb bag
  • 6-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

Just like the human epidemic, almost 50% of the pet population is overweight. Even a little extra weight can impact the pet's quality of life and relationship with family because that extra weight can reduce play time, impact mobility and affect the lifelong general health of your dog. Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Dry Dog Food was developed and specially formulated by Hill's nutritionists & veterinarians to support your dog's weight management.

Key Benefits

  • Developed and specially formulated to support your dog's weight management with a synergistic blend of ingredients
  • Naturally works with your pet's individual metabolism with a unique fiber blend from fruits and vegetables
  • Helps avoid weight regain after weight loss and keeps your pet feeling full and satisfied between meals
  • Developed with a unique fiber blend from fruits and vegetables to keep your pet at the optimal weight. In fact, 88% of pets lost weight at home in 2 months
  • Supports vitality and holistic health with powerful antioxidants

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69782
  • Weight
    27.5 pounds
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Breed Size
    Small, Medium, Large, All Breeds
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food, Weight Control

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Chicken Meal, Whole Grain Wheat, Whole Grain Corn, Soybean Mill Run, Corn Gluten Meal, Soybean Meal, Pea Fiber, Dried Beet Pulp, Dried Tomato Pomace, Chicken Liver Flavor, Pork Fat, Flaxseed, Coconut Oil, Pork Liver Flavor, Lactic Acid, Powdered Cellulose, Dl-Methionine, L-Lysine, Carrots, Iodized Salt, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Calcium Pantothenate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Vitamin A Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Lipoic Acid, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Minerals (Manganese Sulfate, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, L-Carnitine, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Caloric Content

  1. 260 kcal/cup
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 24.0% min
Crude Fat 9.0% min
Crude Fiber 15.0% max
Calcium 0.6% min
Phosphorus 0.55% min
Vitamin C 115 mg/kg min
Vitamin E 540 IU/kg min

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, wet food and treats. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet lovers also bought...

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 213 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for older dogs. My 9 year old Rottweiler has been on metabolic for about 6 months and has lost about 10 lbs. She is a completely new dog with tons of energy December 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Arrived on time I can't really say it because I have never tasted it. However, My dog seems to enjoy it, December 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good food Our dogs are very happy eating this food and they have lost weight just like the instructions explained, as long as you follow their lead.... December 26, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not ecstatic The weight loss instructions table only goes to 100 lbs. leaving it a guessing game for larger dogs. I chatted online with the company and they didn't have answers either. Bowel movements are VERY dry, verging on constipation. My dog is fed 2xs day. Used to pass BM 2xs am and pm, now is not going usually until the pm. Seems distraught and uncomfortable. My dog seems to think the flavor is OK. Added some water to the food to add moisture, has helped a little. Adding the wet food made it all worse. Undetermined if this is worth the angst. December 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by I saved a lot of money The vet recommended the Metabolic food for my dog and she loves it. She's been eating it for two years and I'm able to keep her weight down. I also save money by ordering it from Chewy. December 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Results! My dog has had an obesity problem for years. She was a stray until I adopted her. The necessity of foraging in her early years never left her. She would eat constantly if allowed. This food appears to give her the best satiation & the pounds have came off. Even when she lost her weight & I put her back on "regular" dog food her weight returned. She feels great & looks good. December 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Off to good start... Vet rec'd product to help my 7yo Yellow Lab lose a few pounds--other attempts had ended with her eating cardboad and other (usually nasty) random items and no weight loss. So far: feeding, for my own conveniece, to both my dogs and both LOVE to eat it! Time will tell if the weight loss follows. December 19, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great features My dachshund has been on this dog food for two weeks and after she eats she wants out to poop. It seems to go through her very fast, in fact, she poops more than once at a time in different places each time she goes out. As far as weight loss, I do not know that at this time. December 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog thinks this food is a treat. This is the best food to maintain my Malipoo's weight. It was recommended by the Vet. She had been overweight, now she is perfect. December 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Samson is no longer fat! We have two Cavalier King Charles Spaniels. Within the first year, Samson was fat. We were very surprised. Our daughter in law who is a vet recommended this kibble after she finished lecturing us on over feeding:(. Sam loves his kibble. He has lost weight. He is a happy boy! December 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Maintenance diet I like the size of the kibble for my large lab. He seem to have more energy and his weight loss is being achieved. December 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I put both of my dogs on this food and they both lost weight fairly quickly. My only complaint is that the kibble is quite large for my miniature pinschers. I wish they would make this product in a smaller size. December 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loves it My dog has severe arthritis making her inactive and she keeps putting on weight. She loves the food, and hopefully we will see a weight reduction. December 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is great - the service from Chewy was awesome Service was great! Used to pay a lot to get this food from my vet. So happy a friend of mine told me about Chewy December 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for my overweight pet This product was recommended to help my dog lose weight. It is economical, my dog loves the taste, and hopefully it will bring him to his target weight. November 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product!! My dog loves this food, 1 cup in the morning and 1 cup in evening. I give him 5 or 6 pieces 2 or 3 times during the day for a snack. I feel like he is losing weight after 2 weeks. November 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loves it! He has only been eating this for a week, but his stools are now perfect, and he loves his food for a change. He needs to lose weight, so, hopefully, this will happen! November 12, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by hair loss My Sheltie has been on the Metabolic Weight Management for several months. Won't touch it unless I add cut up chicken breast. Lately I notice his coat seems very dry and lifeless and seems to be falling out in clumps. Has anyone else had this issue October 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs love it.... Our five little furry fat ones are loving this food and they don't seem to miss the larger portions that they are used to. The kids ages range from 14 to 2 and they all have a few pounds to shed. They have only been eating it for a week so I'm looking forward to seeing results in the near future. November 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service. Food was delivered on time. Great product. Helps my Yorkies to stay at an perfect weight. You will need a prescription from your vet. November 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Proof enough for ME I have struggled to keep one of my doxies from being overweight. I used to have them on Hill's RD which is a very restrictive dog food, but it makes your dog use the restroom excessively. It also made one of my girl doxie overly hungry where she was constantly begging for food. It was non-stop begging. After multiple testings with nothing wrong I decided to change the food. I tried a natural and organic dog food, multiple brands such as Instinct and it caused my doxies both to gain a lot of weight. So now I'm using this dog food and both of them have lost weight. My girl is heavier and dropped two pounds. She was weighing nearly sixteen pounds and she is a mini dachshund. In a month's time, she dropped two pounds. I can see that she is slimming down and I'm so grateful for this dog food. It has also slimmed down my boy doxie but he was only slightly overweight and he reached his goal weight already. If you are a dachshund owner, you know how important it is for a dachshund NOT to be overweight because it can cause major back issues. January 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seems to be workin- Tried giving Barley, my overweight lab, the Metabolic & Mobility diet formula to help him lose some weight and assist in his elderly joint issues. It made him sick (I think it was the glucosamine element) so switched to just the metabolic formula. Took him awhile to get used to it but now he seems to like it. He has lost about 2-3 pounds so far without seeming to experience any hunger, which is lovely. Wish someone could do this for me! October 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worked Wonders on BOTH my furry-Four-legged Kids.!!.!.!! Definitely would recommend. I'm the proud owner of both a 12 year old Brittany, Beau; and an 8 yr old Golden Retriever, Missy. Since being on a mixture of RD and Metabolic (wet & dry) both have lost weight and kept it off. Missy had the start of hip dysplasia, but the proper diet plan and exercise she's no longer forced to use a wheelchair. Yippy Skippy.!!.!.!!. Anyone who has issues with this particular product should NOT ONLY watch what their "kids" get into, but severely LIMIT the kinds and amount of treats! My late husband BLESS his soul was feeding the kids foods that aren't GOOD for canines. He was overweight and a little obese as well. Perhaps He should've HAD a human metabolic that he could help control his little problem; perhaps then he might've lived past 74. Oh well, LIFE goes ON and he lived a Very rich & full life ONLY to go home when The Lord above had room for his soul/spirit. February 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product definitely helps with weight loss. My Beagle has been on this food for the past 18 months, when we started he was 37.4lbs, and he has lost a total of 10.4lbs, he is down to 27lbs. It may ot seem like a lot of weight, but he has lost over 30% of his body weight in the past 18 months. He is so much more healthier now. We will keep him in this food, and adjust accordingly. I recommend this to anyone with an overweight dog. September 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Diet food for our dog Our dog needs to loose some weight so we are very hopeful this will help him. September 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Our 2 yr old English bulldog was fifteen pounds overweight and this product has worked great to help him lose weight. He even loves the taste of it. September 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loves it Just started feeding this to my dog, so have not seen results yet. But my dog has a sensitive stomach and usually vomits for a few days when her food is switched, even though we gradually change it. She had absolutely no problems with her stomach with this food. Transition was easy! September 19, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product has great reviews. Having just received this product, I really cannot tell yet if in fact it is working as promised. My Bichon is a bit overweight and is 9 years old, so we are very anxious to have a few pounds come off for her own health. I have been very pleased with Chewy.com in the past and have recommended it to all of my friends. Thank you. September 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bulldog Love We have two finicky Bulldogs when it comes to their dinner or breakfast. We had a sample of this and we gave it to our two Bulldogs Who gobbled it up in a matter of a minute. So we decided to order a large bag, or Bulldogs are still enjoying it and cleaning their bowls each time. Keep in mind that your veterinarian must approve it for your dogs or dog September 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog food purchase I like that the food was less expensive. My one dog is over weight and needs this diet food but too expensive at the vets. With your company I was able to purchase 2 dog foods for the price of one. September 16, 2016
  • 2017-01-16 T06:17:20.298-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_213, tr_213
  • loc_en_US, sid_69615, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>