Loading...

Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food

  • List Price:

    $101.39

  • Price:

    $84.49 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

  • You Save:

    $16.90 (17%)

In stock
27.5-lb bag
  • 6-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

Just like the human epidemic, almost 50% of the pet population is overweight. Even a little extra weight can impact the pet's quality of life and relationship with family because that extra weight can reduce play time, impact mobility and affect the lifelong general health of your dog. Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Dry Dog Food was developed and specially formulated by Hill's nutritionists & veterinarians to support your dog's weight management.

Key Benefits

  • Developed and specially formulated to support your dog's weight management with a synergistic blend of ingredients
  • Naturally works with your pet's individual metabolism with a unique fiber blend from fruits and vegetables
  • Helps avoid weight regain after weight loss and keeps your pet feeling full and satisfied between meals
  • Developed with a unique fiber blend from fruits and vegetables to keep your pet at the optimal weight. In fact, 88% of pets lost weight at home in 2 months
  • Supports vitality and holistic health with powerful antioxidants

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69782
  • Weight
    27.5 pounds
  • Brand
    Hill's, Science Diet
  • Breed Size
    Small, Medium, Large, All Breeds
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food, Weight Control

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Chicken Meal, Whole Grain Wheat, Whole Grain Corn, Soybean Mill Run, Corn Gluten Meal, Soybean Meal, Pea Fiber, Dried Beet Pulp, Dried Tomato Pomace, Chicken Liver Flavor, Pork Fat, Flaxseed, Coconut Oil, Pork Liver Flavor, Lactic Acid, Powdered Cellulose, Dl-Methionine, L-Lysine, Carrots, Iodized Salt, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Calcium Pantothenate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Vitamin A Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Lipoic Acid, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Minerals (Manganese Sulfate, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, L-Carnitine, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Caloric Content

  1. 260 kcal/cup
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 24.0% min
Crude Fat 9.0% min
Crude Fiber 15.0% max
Calcium 0.6% min
Phosphorus 0.55% min
Vitamin C 115 mg/kg min
Vitamin E 540 IU/kg min

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, wet food and treats. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet Lovers Also Bought

Customer Reviews

Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 222.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food for special dietary needs My dog has special dietary needs which are critical in maintaining her health. This dry food with the canned food has been our salvation. Chewy has the best price and customer service was helpful with obtaining necessary documentation from my vet in order to supply my needs. My dog and I are very thankful for Chewy.
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Off to good start... Vet rec'd product to help my 7yo Yellow Lab lose a few pounds--other attempts had ended with her eating cardboad and other (usually nasty) random items and no weight loss. So far: feeding, for my own conveniece, to both my dogs and both LOVE to eat it! Time will tell if the weight loss follows.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Samson is no longer fat! We have two Cavalier King Charles Spaniels. Within the first year, Samson was fat. We were very surprised. Our daughter in law who is a vet recommended this kibble after she finished lecturing us on over feeding:(. Sam loves his kibble. He has lost weight. He is a happy boy!
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I put both of my dogs on this food and they both lost weight fairly quickly. My only complaint is that the kibble is quite large for my miniature pinschers. I wish they would make this product in a smaller size.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This is a prescription dog food. My two Cavaliers are having shoulder problems & needed to lose some weight. The specialist put them on this. They both lost 2 pounds in 1 1/2 months.
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product definitely helps with weight loss. My Beagle has been on this food for the past 18 months, when we started he was 37.4lbs, and he has lost a total of 10.4lbs, he is down to 27lbs. It may ot seem like a lot of weight, but he has lost over 30% of his body weight in the past 18 months. He is so much more healthier now. We will keep him in this food, and adjust accordingly. I recommend this to anyone with an overweight dog.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too soon to see results, but Sadie seems to like it! We have only been feeding Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management food for about 2 weeks now, still mixing it with a little of the old food. So far, so good. Our 3 year old Lab seems to like her new food, and since she actually gets more of it than the old food, that makes her happy. We haven't seen any weight loss results quite yet, but hope it helps her in the coming months. I will say the food definitely produces a lot more output and makes her have to go a lot more often. Which I guess is to be expected if she is eating more and what she is eating is more fillers, but wow... it is quite a lot more. I'll try to come back and update my review in a few months when I have more clear results.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not to happy about it. My dog is a malamute/aussie shepherd mix. When we adopted him at 9 months he weighed a sleek 77 lbs. After about 3 1/2 years of age he started to gain weight. My vet recommend metabolic at 2 cups per day (seems everything I have read requires more). But instead of loosing he is gaining. He is at about 102 and will be 7 this month. The vet keeps making comments about it even tho he said 2 cups per day. At this rate I do not believe it works for my dog
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Canine weight management food My vet recommended this for my puggy pug and he loves it and actually so do the other members of my pack but they do not need to loose any weight. I get to feed him more food as recommended on the package than I would normally so he's pretty happy about that and is always full now. We have just started on his diet and I haven't weighed him yet but he looks like he has slimmed down a tad. Really pleased with the product.
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product For a dry food both my dogs will eat it. Our puppy sneaks a few pieces every chance he gets so I usually put two or three pebbles with his puppy food and he always seeks this out. We are mixing the dry with the wet (same brand) in hopes our over weight Schnauzer will lose some weight. Will know at the end of January. Keeping my fingers crossed.
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My old dog likes this food on its own My rescue dog has put on weight after being spayed, so my vet suggested this.MaggieMae likes the food, without me having to add anything to it. She is starting to lose weight, after being on it two weeks, hopefully more, once the weather gets nicer and we can take longer walks. Thank you for a terrific product.
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features My dachshund has been on this dog food for two weeks and after she eats she wants out to poop. It seems to go through her very fast, in fact, she poops more than once at a time in different places each time she goes out. As far as weight loss, I do not know that at this time.
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat loves it! I used to buy dry cat food in the supermarket and my cat loved it, but the vet wanted her on a weight management diet. I was worried that she wouldn't like the new food, but she took to it right away. Very pleased that my cat is happy!
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazed at my dogs weight lose. My vet recommended you and that says a lot. I was told that you and your employees love animals as much as your customers and go the extra mile. I am grateful for the results of the food and the company.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Love My little girl need this and she loves it.The Dr said she needed to go on a diet and this product seams to help her. Thank you Chewy for calling my vet to confirm with them on my behalf.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it My dog has severe arthritis making her inactive and she keeps putting on weight. She loves the food, and hopefully we will see a weight reduction.
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good food Our dogs are very happy eating this food and they have lost weight just like the instructions explained, as long as you follow their lead....
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog thinks this food is a treat. This is the best food to maintain my Malipoo's weight. It was recommended by the Vet. She had been overweight, now she is perfect.
Date published: 2016-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Maintenance diet I like the size of the kibble for my large lab. He seem to have more energy and his weight loss is being achieved.
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is great - the service from Chewy was awesome Service was great! Used to pay a lot to get this food from my vet. So happy a friend of mine told me about Chewy
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, Love, Love this food... Hill's Prescription Food is loved by my 120lb Pit Bull. It is definitely helping him to lose some weight.
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cavaliers love this food. My boys have been on this food for 6 years- no problems- it keeps them trim- and they like the taste!!
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective weight loss solution. Both of our large breed dogs are on it and have lost weight. I highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Arrived on time I can't really say it because I have never tasted it. However, My dog seems to enjoy it,
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like that the product because it works. My dog loves it and she acts like she is a puppy and she is 10 years old. Awesome
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from expensive food, it's helping with weight loss It seems to be helping him lose weight and he loves the taste of it. I'm hoping that we can switch to something less pricey. We've been using wheat free for a few years now. My dog was always hungry no matter how much we gave him and then he started gaining weight. The vet recommended this food stating that the wheat free has too many calories for dogs. My dog injured his leg b/c of the weight gain, so it was pretty important for him to lose weight fast. I just wish is wasn't so dang expensive and why need an Rx? It's dog food!!
Date published: 2016-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it Just started feeding this to my dog, so have not seen results yet. But my dog has a sensitive stomach and usually vomits for a few days when her food is switched, even though we gradually change it. She had absolutely no problems with her stomach with this food. Transition was easy!
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to be workin- Tried giving Barley, my overweight lab, the Metabolic & Mobility diet formula to help him lose some weight and assist in his elderly joint issues. It made him sick (I think it was the glucosamine element) so switched to just the metabolic formula. Took him awhile to get used to it but now he seems to like it. He has lost about 2-3 pounds so far without seeming to experience any hunger, which is lovely. Wish someone could do this for me!
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog food purchase I like that the food was less expensive. My one dog is over weight and needs this diet food but too expensive at the vets. With your company I was able to purchase 2 dog foods for the price of one.
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product so far is everything it says it is. We have two yellow Labs. They love to eat and overweight dogs can be a problem. We have had Labs on diets before with minimal success. This product took off Five pounds each on both our dogs in a month of use. We are now weaning them back on to their regular food. This product has been great. The dogs did not appear to be hungary like they did on other diet foods. I would highly recommend this food. I would also highly recommend Chewy.com. We saved money ordering through Chewy rather than getting it from the Vet. We also got free shipping! That is a huge savings on almost sixty pounds of food delivered to my door!
Date published: 2013-11-10
  • y_2017, m_2, d_25, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_222
  • loc_en_US, sid_69615, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrchewy