Loading...

Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food

  • List Price:

    $88.39

  • Price:

    $79.05 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

  • You Save:

    $9.34 (11%)

In stock
27.5-lb bag
  • 6-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

Just like the human epidemic, almost 50% of the pet population is overweight. Even a little extra weight can impact the pet's quality of life and relationship with family because that extra weight can reduce play time, impact mobility and affect the lifelong general health of your dog. Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Dry Dog Food was developed and specially formulated by Hill's nutritionists & veterinarians to support your dog's weight management.

Key Benefits

  • Naturally works with your pet's unique metabolism
  • Helps avoid weight regain after weight loss
  • Helps your pet feel full & satisfied between meals
  • Supports vitality & holistic health

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69782
  • Weight
    27.5 pounds
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Breed Size
    Small, Medium, Large, All Breeds
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food, Weight Control

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Chicken Meal, Whole Grain Wheat, Whole Grain Corn, Soybean Mill Run, Corn Gluten Meal, Soybean Meal, Pea Fiber, Dried Beet Pulp, Dried Tomato Pomace, Chicken Liver Flavor, Pork Fat, Flaxseed, Coconut Oil, Pork Liver Flavor, Lactic Acid, Powdered Cellulose, Dl-Methionine, L-Lysine, Carrots, Iodized Salt, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Calcium Pantothenate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Vitamin A Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Lipoic Acid, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Minerals (Manganese Sulfate, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, L-Carnitine, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Caloric Content

  1. 260 kcal/cup
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 24.0% min
Crude Fat 9.0% min
Crude Fiber 15.0% max
Calcium 0.6% min
Phosphorus 0.55% min
Vitamin C 115 mg/kg min
Vitamin E 540 IU/kg min

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, wet food and treats. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet lovers also bought...

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 186 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bulldog Love We have two finicky Bulldogs when it comes to their dinner or breakfast. We had a sample of this and we gave it to our two Bulldogs Who gobbled it up in a matter of a minute. So we decided to order a large bag, or Bulldogs are still enjoying it and cleaning their bowls each time. Keep in mind that your veterinarian must approve it for your dogs or dog September 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT WEIGHT LOSS DOG FOOD My vet put Sammy on Metabolic weight loss kibble by Hills. He has done very well on it. I was very pleased with every aspect of my interaction with Chewy.com including the ordering, the discount, the delivery speed, and customer service. I will definitely use Chewy.com for my pet supplies in the future. September 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super easy, fast and hassle free! My pug loves this weight management food, and hes lost 2 out of 4 pounds he needs to loose! Super easy, fast and hassle free for my first time ordering. The price is fair. September 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Your products are nice and fresh Thank you for all your help with first time customers. Judy September 1, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by expensive food, it's helping with weight loss It seems to be helping him lose weight and he loves the taste of it. I'm hoping that we can switch to something less pricey. We've been using wheat free for a few years now. My dog was always hungry no matter how much we gave him and then he started gaining weight. The vet recommended this food stating that the wheat free has too many calories for dogs. My dog injured his leg b/c of the weight gain, so it was pretty important for him to lose weight fast. I just wish is wasn't so dang expensive and why need an Rx? It's dog food!! August 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good food My dog has lost 20 lbs on this. Recommended by vet and worked August 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Proof enough for ME I have struggled to keep one of my doxies from being overweight. I used to have them on Hill's RD which is a very restrictive dog food, but it makes your dog use the restroom excessively. It also made one of my girl doxie overly hungry where she was constantly begging for food. It was non-stop begging. After multiple testings with nothing wrong I decided to change the food. I tried a natural and organic dog food, multiple brands such as Instinct and it caused my doxies both to gain a lot of weight. So now I'm using this dog food and both of them have lost weight. My girl is heavier and dropped two pounds. She was weighing nearly sixteen pounds and she is a mini dachshund. In a month's time, she dropped two pounds. I can see that she is slimming down and I'm so grateful for this dog food. It has also slimmed down my boy doxie but he was only slightly overweight and he reached his goal weight already. If you are a dachshund owner, you know how important it is for a dachshund NOT to be overweight because it can cause major back issues. January 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worked Wonders on BOTH my furry-Four-legged Kids.!!.!.!! Definitely would recommend. I'm the proud owner of both a 12 year old Brittany, Beau; and an 8 yr old Golden Retriever, Missy. Since being on a mixture of RD and Metabolic (wet & dry) both have lost weight and kept it off. Missy had the start of hip dysplasia, but the proper diet plan and exercise she's no longer forced to use a wheelchair. Yippy Skippy.!!.!.!!. Anyone who has issues with this particular product should NOT ONLY watch what their "kids" get into, but severely LIMIT the kinds and amount of treats! My late husband BLESS his soul was feeding the kids foods that aren't GOOD for canines. He was overweight and a little obese as well. Perhaps He should've HAD a human metabolic that he could help control his little problem; perhaps then he might've lived past 74. Oh well, LIFE goes ON and he lived a Very rich & full life ONLY to go home when The Lord above had room for his soul/spirit. February 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gabby likes it My vet put Gabby on this for weight control. She had never liked dry dog food but likes this and it seems to be working for her weight control. August 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Metabolic Dog Food my dog loves metabolic dog food for weight control August 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I wanted Just started this product. I have a 10 year old golden with a weight problem. Been on it three weeks and I think I already see results. Can't wait for a weigh in at the vets at 60 days. We are in a contest. Quick shipping after they got the script from my vet. July 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent molly really enjoyed it fast service and great product great follow up from chewy thanks emery July 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product & Service This product has really helped my dogs lose and maintain their weights. Pricey, but worth it. Chewy.com made the whole process very easy. No more lugging heavy bags in and out of a cart or dragging it into my house from the car! July 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product! Our beagle was about 6-7 pounds overweight when we first tried the Metabolic Diet, and he is now at a perfect weight! He loves the food and it keeps him at the weight he should be. July 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick delivery and great service Delivery was quick and excellent customer service. July 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This food is a godsend. I truly don't know what I would do without Hill's Metabolic. I have tried numerous different weight control foods for my Chihuahua, who we can say was extremely "fluffy", and I'm not talking fur. The Vet had us cutting portions down to next to nothing, but nothing seemed to work. Then we found Hill's and the miracle happened. I thoroughly researched the product and everywhere I looked gave it rave reviews. The best review came from my dog, who loves it. Even better, she gets normal portion sizes and the weight fell off her. She has tons of energy, her coat looks healthier and overall she seems much happier. When it comes to weight management food for dogs, Hill's Metabolic can't be beat. May 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rx dog food I was out of my rx dog food. My Vet out of towns web site was ridiculously difficult. My hesitation in switching to an rx dog food. After several attempts I found Chewy. They worked with me sent me the address to send a photo of my dogs rx. I had his food in two days shipped free. Just in time as he was out the day it arrived. Thank you Chewy! June 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT MY DOG LOVES IT! I HAVE A HARD TIME KEEPING MY CAT FROM SNEAKING A BITE OCCASSIONALY. I HAVE NOT HAD IT LONG ENOUGH TO SEE HOW IT WILL DO WITH WEIGHT CONTROL. June 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It Works! My dog has struggled with his weight always, and even being on thyroid medication has not helped with his weight issue. I'd tried other diet dog foods and he always seemed ravenous, which caused additional worries about what he would find to eat since he thought he was 'starving'! He is finishing his first bag of Hills Prescription Metabolic and it's working! He has lost weight, has more energy, and has never acted like he is 'starving' between meals. This product so far seems like a miracle cure. He likes the flavor, too, and for the first time in his life, acts 'full' after eating! One caveat: the dog has to remain on this food, and the volume you feed will go UP once the ideal weight has been achieved. So, it's not an inexpensive solution, but for the dog that has serious weight issues and always seems "hungry", I highly recommend this food. June 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent This product has already shown results and our dog has only been on it for about a month! June 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hill's Prescription Diet This seems to be working. She's been on it for a month and already doesn't seem as barrel chested. Hopefully this will work! June 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great products! Phenomenal customer service! Omg, where do I start? Ok, on a scale of 1through 10 you are a 30! Riley our 13 years old dachshund is diabetic and loves the hills w/d kibble and chicken stew wet. Our lab, baroness is on hills metabolic kibble. I can't say enough great things a boy chewy,hills and our fantastic vet, Dr. Laurel Logas. You guys rock!!! Thank You!'thank you!'thank you! :-) :-) :-) June 3, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product is working for my dog My vet recommended this product because my dog is overweight and cannot seem to lose weight. I was a little dismayed at the cost, but my vet said it would work. After two weeks, I brought her in for her nails to be trimmed, and asked the vet's assistant to weigh her. She has lost 3 pounds! What is amazing is that my dog is normally finicky about food, and she loves the Metabolic food. May 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Metabolic Diet I have one extremely obese dog due to years of excess treats and foods that he loved but didn't need. He is elderly (11) and I decided that he really needed a strict diet. My Vet recommended the Hill's Metabolic Diet. I purchased a small bag to wean him onto this diet, and when I gave him the food he was really very enthusiastic about it, and had no problem with him being fussy about eating it. I add a tablespoon of the canned metabolic pate to his food also. I am extremely pleased with the results. I would recommend this to anyone who has an obese dog. April 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product This product is very effective and I am noticing a major and significant different in my dog's weight and mobility. June 6, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dry food My dog will not eat it she likes the wet but not the dry May 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by A miracle for my dog Like many of you my dog was overweight by 10 pounds. After I put my 16 year old Shiba Inu down my younger Shiba went into grieving and was very depressed. He didn't even want to go for a walk and when I would hook the leash to him and pull on him he wouldn't budge. And he always loved his walks. After about a year of this behavior he had gained a lot of weight. I cut back on his food to the point that I thought it was almost cruel. But he still didn't lose weight and in fact continued to gain. My vet suggested Hills Metabolic diet and I started him on it 8 weeks ago. He prefers the canned but I give him the dry as treats. He eats less than is recommended and never seems hungry and he loves it. He is following the chart exactly as was printed out by my vet. He has lost 5 pounds in 8 weeks so he is halfway to his goal loss of 10 pounds. I also got a shiba inu puppy for him (and me) and he is now able to really play and run with her without tiring or grunting. I am so impressed with this food. Even when he reaches his goal weight I will continue him on this as I don't want the weight to come back. Great product with great results. May 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the product, Hills Percription Diet foods. What I like most is the excellent service your organization provides. An example is that if I need to change an order or delivery time the staff are always very accomadating. May 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is SO convenient! I needed to order a prescription dog food for my overweight dog. Chewy contacted the vet and sent the food within 48 hours. No shipping costs! Now that's service! May 30, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Value Reasonable price, promptly delivered. Hard to find prescription dog food; so pleased Chewy carries it. Expensive item so Chewy's favorable price is certainly appreciated. May 31, 2016
  • 2016-10-31 T07:02:45.002-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_186, tr_186
  • loc_en_US, sid_69615, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>