Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food

- Quantity +
  • List Price:

    $88.39

  • Price:

    $79.05 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping

  • You Save:

    $9.34 (11%)

In stock
  • 6-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag

Description

  • Item Number
    69782
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food, Weight Control
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Made in
    United States
  • Breed Size
    All Breeds
  • Lifestage
    Adult

Hill's Prescription Diet Canine Metabolic Advanced Weight Solution is formulated with the following benefits:

  • Clinically proven to safely and naturally improve metabolism in dogs
  • Clinically proven to safely provide 28% body fat loss in 2 months in dogs
  • Clinically proven to avoid weight regain following a weight loss program
  • A Complete portfolio of dry food, canned food, and treats designed to work together to ensure safe and healthy weight loss and easy weight maintenance

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Ingredients

Chicken Meal, Whole Grain Wheat, Whole Grain Corn, Soybean Mill Run, Corn Gluten Meal, Soybean Meal, Pea Fiber, Dried Beet Pulp, Dried Tomato Pomace, Chicken Liver Flavor, Pork Fat, Flaxseed, Coconut Oil, Pork Liver Flavor, Lactic Acid, Powdered Cellulose, Dl-Methionine, L-Lysine, Carrots, Iodized Salt, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Calcium Pantothenate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Vitamin A Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Lipoic Acid, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Minerals (Manganese Sulfate, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, L-Carnitine, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 498 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dry food My dog will not eat it she likes the wet but not the dry May 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great products! Phenomenal customer service! Omg, where do I start? Ok, on a scale of 1through 10 you are a 30! Riley our 13 years old dachshund is diabetic and loves the hills w/d kibble and chicken stew wet. Our lab, baroness is on hills metabolic kibble. I can't say enough great things a boy chewy,hills and our fantastic vet, Dr. Laurel Logas. You guys rock!!! Thank You!'thank you!'thank you! :-) :-) :-) June 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helped Both of My Dogs We have a 4 year old Golden and 8 year old Pointer/Border Collie Mix. Both of them should be 70 lbs per the vet. They transitioned to this food easily and it's been effective for both of them. 8 yo is now at her ideal weight and on maintenance, while the Golden still has about 7 lbs to go. Our vet commended us on following the feeding guidelines and making the accomplishments we did - Said we should be poster candidates as they have a lot of people who buy the food, but don't follow directions and their pets don't lose weight. Instead of dog treats, we give them frozen green beans, chunks of raw carrot and apple etc. per vets suggestion. Too many goodies and/or table scraps can put the weight on. We all become a bit more sedentary in the winter, but with this food it's easy to control weight. The cost can be prohibitive to some, but it really works. I wish the company would reduce the cost some to make it more affordable for everyone. Our vet is great about providing coupons and a buy 10 get 1 free program. It truly works! August 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product This product is very effective and I am noticing a major and significant different in my dog's weight and mobility. June 6, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product is working for my dog My vet recommended this product because my dog is overweight and cannot seem to lose weight. I was a little dismayed at the cost, but my vet said it would work. After two weeks, I brought her in for her nails to be trimmed, and asked the vet's assistant to weigh her. She has lost 3 pounds! What is amazing is that my dog is normally finicky about food, and she loves the Metabolic food. May 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worked Wonders on BOTH my furry-Four-legged Kids.!!.!.!! Definitely would recommend. I'm the proud owner of both a 12 year old Brittany, Beau; and an 8 yr old Golden Retriever, Missy. Since being on a mixture of RD and Metabolic (wet & dry) both have lost weight and kept it off. Missy had the start of hip dysplasia, but the proper diet plan and exercise she's no longer forced to use a wheelchair. Yippy Skippy.!!.!.!!. Anyone who has issues with this particular product should NOT ONLY watch what their "kids" get into, but severely LIMIT the kinds and amount of treats! My late husband BLESS his soul was feeding the kids foods that aren't GOOD for canines. He was overweight and a little obese as well. Perhaps He should've HAD a human metabolic that he could help control his little problem; perhaps then he might've lived past 74. Oh well, LIFE goes ON and he lived a Very rich & full life ONLY to go home when The Lord above had room for his soul/spirit. February 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the product, Hills Percription Diet foods. What I like most is the excellent service your organization provides. An example is that if I need to change an order or delivery time the staff are always very accomadating. May 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It really works I own 3 Chihuahuas and they were all over weight. I tried cutting their regular food back to a smaller portion and only fed them twice a day. I also increased their exercise routine and cut out all treats. Nothing happened. They could not lose weight. My veterinarian recommended the Metabolic diet and I decided to give it a try. I bought a 27.5 pound bag to split between the three dogs and bag of treats. My veterinarian gave me a feeding plan and we started it immediately. In two weeks we went back to the vet for a weigh-in and they all had lost weight. After only 4 months on Metabolic they had all reached their ideal weight. They all had more energy and looked great. We continued on Metabolic and they have maintained a healthy weight for almost a year now. We added in can food as well. I would recommend this product highly to anyone struggling with an overweight pet. It is easy to follow the feeding plan. They still can have treats and canned food. The best part is that it is and easy way to get to a healthy weight. March 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is SO convenient! I needed to order a prescription dog food for my overweight dog. Chewy contacted the vet and sent the food within 48 hours. No shipping costs! Now that's service! May 30, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Update in my review This is my second review for this product. My first review stated that the taste of the food was good but it did not keep my Yorkie full from meal to meal. After several conversations with the lovely and informed customer service personnel at Hills, I learned that my dog should have been measured at my vet and the statistics entered in a Hill's computer program to determine the correct feeding amount. This was not done to begin with. It was finally done about 6 weeks after my Yorkie began the food. During those 6 weeks my Yorkie went from 8.4 pounds to 6.0 pounds. I must say the diet works but I was Obviously told, by my vet the incorrect amount to feed my dog. We have increased his food amount and will check his weight in a month. I do hate that he lost 1/4 of his body weight in 6 weeks. That is excessive and really mean. I feel terrible about it, but it was not Hill's fault, but was the fault of my vet for not measuring my dog at the beginning. Do Not make that mistake. Your dog cannot tell you how hungry he/she is! March 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Value Reasonable price, promptly delivered. Hard to find prescription dog food; so pleased Chewy carries it. Expensive item so Chewy's favorable price is certainly appreciated. May 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the service It is a great service since I do not have time to drive 20 Miles pick up food for my girls May 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by regular order works for me, so easy to do. recommend this [rocess to all May 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Metabolic Diet I have one extremely obese dog due to years of excess treats and foods that he loved but didn't need. He is elderly (11) and I decided that he really needed a strict diet. My Vet recommended the Hill's Metabolic Diet. I purchased a small bag to wean him onto this diet, and when I gave him the food he was really very enthusiastic about it, and had no problem with him being fussy about eating it. I add a tablespoon of the canned metabolic pate to his food also. I am extremely pleased with the results. I would recommend this to anyone who has an obese dog. April 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service! My dogs have thrived on the Hills Prescription Dry Food, both with health problems! Chewy.com has the best overall price with autoship! Very responsive to emails also. Highly recommend. May 18, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by this food really has helped my dog Now he is loosing weight and becoming more active so I know is working good for him May 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow I can't believe the fast results My very overweight cocker spaniel has seen unbelievable results in just 1 month ! We had tried everything to get the weight off and nothing seemed to work. We always gave into the big brown eyes. Well Rusty had some medical conditions and we said now is the time to get serious about the weight. We asked for the metabolic diet at the last vet appointment ready to give it a try. We started with both the wet and dry carefully measuring both. Rusty loves it. I have never seen him eat dog food so quickly. He also gets 1 metabolic treat a day, plenty of love along with some carrots, cucumbers and an occasional kale stick. We just got back from the vet and he has lost an impressive 4lbs! The tech measured him twice on the scale just to be sure. I was jumping up and down. So happy with this food. Convinced Rusty would not have lost the weight without Metabolic. So much easier to stay committed to the diet with the fast results, for we still get the big brown eyes pleading for a human treat. Thanks Hills from the bottom of both of our hearts! September 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Proof enough for ME I have struggled to keep one of my doxies from being overweight. I used to have them on Hill's RD which is a very restrictive dog food, but it makes your dog use the restroom excessively. It also made one of my girl doxie overly hungry where she was constantly begging for food. It was non-stop begging. After multiple testings with nothing wrong I decided to change the food. I tried a natural and organic dog food, multiple brands such as Instinct and it caused my doxies both to gain a lot of weight. So now I'm using this dog food and both of them have lost weight. My girl is heavier and dropped two pounds. She was weighing nearly sixteen pounds and she is a mini dachshund. In a month's time, she dropped two pounds. I can see that she is slimming down and I'm so grateful for this dog food. It has also slimmed down my boy doxie but he was only slightly overweight and he reached his goal weight already. If you are a dachshund owner, you know how important it is for a dachshund NOT to be overweight because it can cause major back issues. January 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by For losing weight it is great! My terrier, Penne, has become slightly larger in a year by a whole 9 lbs! I was going crazy with what to do as she loves to EAT! My vet, suggested to try Metabolic, as it could possibly work. l did, and in 5 weeks she has lost 1.25 lbs! I am hoping for the next month to be higher, but I will take what she does. She still is always hungry, so I bought the biscuits too. She gets one a day at night. It is still difficult, but she is losing. I have to say I have 3 other dogs that are not overweight that doesn't help. She wants their food too! She is 29.5 now and should be about 20! Thanks April 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prescription Food - Great price & fast shipping I was happy to find my dogs prescription food on Chewy's website and they did all the work to get my dogs prescription. Not only am I saving money but it is super convenient with the auto shipping program! Looking forward to seeing some weight loss on my Coonhound. Only about a month in and so far he loves the food. April 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Balanced weight loss food. My dogs don't realize they're on a diet. They loved this food immediately at one-quarter less the amount of their previous food, feeding twice a day. I add hot water and let it sit for a few minutes and they love the gravy it produces. They are full, content and their poop is firmer. In two weeks they've lost one pound, which I've heard is equivalent to 10 lbs. human weight lost. Our goal is two months on this food, per our veterinarian's instructions, and then will reassess their diet. They look healthier, act younger, and have more energy. April 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Even a picky Rottie likes it! My "Rottie " was very overweight and he's a very picky eater and with this food he took to it right away..No added stuff to make / coax him into eating his food. We even give him individual kibble as a treat and reward. April 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Thank you Chewy, The packing was perfect and I love the free shipping. I will be ordering from you again and I would recommend you to any one.. April 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worked where other products failed. Our German Shepherd was drastically overweight. She couldn't run and definitely couldn't jump. Walking up the steps was even hard for her. We tried many products recommended by pet stores and nutritionists. Finally, our doctor recommended Hill's Metabolic. She has been using the product for about 5 months now and has lost over 20 pounds. We go for three mile walks together. She has no trouble jumping up onto things (when allowed) and has recovered a lot of her youthful energy she used to have, even though she is nine years old. The product really works. At first I thought she would be hungry since we also cut down the amount of food we were feeding her, but the product is developed to fulfill her hunger on less food. She often left some of the food and went back later to eat it. As soon as she gets to her goal weight we will switch to the Hills Maintenance program, but we are not going back to our past brand of food. January 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This food works! My dog ended up gaining weight after she hurt her back and ended up not being able to be as active as before she got hurt. My wife and I tried many things to try and get her to lose the weight-like increasing her level of activity and having her on Hill's w/d Prescription Diet. This didn't seem to work for her as her weight stayed pretty much the same. However, once we talked to our vet about the new Metabolic food and our vet did the measurements required by Hill's, we were told what amount of food to feed her and here we are about 8 months later and she is almost down to her target weight! I have also noticed increased muscle strength and she just seems lighter on her feet. It is also worth mentioning that our dog absolutely LOVES the taste of this food--more so than any other we have previously tried. Both my wife and I are very happy with the results of this food and the value of it and we would both recommend it! October 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Results with Hill's Prescription Diet Dog food! Can't say enough about weight control for our dog. It's the BEST dog food we have found for our 8 year old English Black Lab for weight and health. April 22, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Loosing Weight My dog has such a cute face that it's hard to say no when you're eating to give him table scrapes. But over time, we started to notice his enormous stomach. Took him to the vet to find out if he had a thyroid problem or if something else was wrong. After blood work and thyroid test we realized we were over feeding him. He was 124 lbs which is way to large for a collie/chow mix dog. Our vet recommended a Metodolic dog food that you can only get by perscrption. We can see in less than two weeks of him eating this dog food he has more engergy and is starting to lose weight. He still has a long way to go but we know we are on the right track to get him down to 80 lbs February 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by WIN, WIN, WIN Cheaper than the competition, delivered to my door and my FurBaby loves it. April 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It Works! My dog has struggled with his weight always, and even being on thyroid medication has not helped with his weight issue. I'd tried other diet dog foods and he always seemed ravenous, which caused additional worries about what he would find to eat since he thought he was 'starving'! He is finishing his first bag of Hills Prescription Metabolic and it's working! He has lost weight, has more energy, and has never acted like he is 'starving' between meals. This product so far seems like a miracle cure. He likes the flavor, too, and for the first time in his life, acts 'full' after eating! One caveat: the dog has to remain on this food, and the volume you feed will go UP once the ideal weight has been achieved. So, it's not an inexpensive solution, but for the dog that has serious weight issues and always seems "hungry", I highly recommend this food. June 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow! It really works. Our 7 yr old dachshund came out of surgery for a ruptured disc and one of the first things ordered was for him to lose weight. Starting at 22 lbs., after just two weeks on this dog food and following the guidelines, our pup has lost 3 pounds! And, he is no longer always hungry and he loves this dog food. And, we don't mind the smell of it either, unlike some other foul smelling dog foods. His target weight is 15 to 17 lbs., and we're confident he'll get there easily. As for pricing, we were concerned that any dog food that requires a prescription and available only from our vet was going to be expensive. Not the case with this here. The Metabolic actually costs less than many of the "boutique" dog foods we've bought in the past, and our dog really likes this one, too. We have only high praise for this dog food and the results we are seeing it have on our 7 yr old dachshund. May 14, 2014
  • 2016-07-23 T11:15:04.315-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_498, tr_498
  • loc_en_US, sid_69615, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>