Loading...

Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food

  • Price:

    $84.49 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

In stock
27.5-lb bag
  • 6-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

Just like the human epidemic, almost 50% of the pet population is overweight. Even a little extra weight can impact the pet's quality of life and relationship with family because that extra weight can reduce play time, impact mobility and affect the lifelong general health of your dog. Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Dry Dog Food was developed and specially formulated by Hill's nutritionists & veterinarians to support your dog's weight management.

Key Benefits

  • Developed and specially formulated to support your dog's weight management with a synergistic blend of ingredients
  • Naturally works with your pet's individual metabolism with a unique fiber blend from fruits and vegetables
  • Helps avoid weight regain after weight loss and keeps your pet feeling full and satisfied between meals
  • Developed with a unique fiber blend from fruits and vegetables to keep your pet at the optimal weight. In fact, 88% of pets lost weight at home in 2 months
  • Supports vitality and holistic health with powerful antioxidants

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69782
  • Brand
    Hill's, Science Diet
  • Breed Size
    Small, Medium, Large, All Breeds
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food, Weight Control

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Chicken Meal, Whole Grain Wheat, Whole Grain Corn, Soybean Mill Run, Corn Gluten Meal, Soybean Meal, Pea Fiber, Dried Beet Pulp, Dried Tomato Pomace, Chicken Liver Flavor, Pork Fat, Flaxseed, Coconut Oil, Pork Liver Flavor, Lactic Acid, Powdered Cellulose, Dl-Methionine, L-Lysine, Carrots, Iodized Salt, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Calcium Pantothenate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Vitamin A Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Lipoic Acid, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Minerals (Manganese Sulfate, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, L-Carnitine, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Caloric Content

  1. 260 kcal/cup
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 24.0% min
Crude Fat 9.0% min
Crude Fiber 15.0% max
Calcium 0.6% min
Phosphorus 0.55% min
Vitamin C 115 mg/kg min
Vitamin E 540 IU/kg min

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, wet food and treats. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet Lovers Also Bought

Customer Reviews

Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 232.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product definitely helps with weight loss. My Beagle has been on this food for the past 18 months, when we started he was 37.4lbs, and he has lost a total of 10.4lbs, he is down to 27lbs. It may ot seem like a lot of weight, but he has lost over 30% of his body weight in the past 18 months. He is so much more healthier now. We will keep him in this food, and adjust accordingly. I recommend this to anyone with an overweight dog.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too soon to see results, but Sadie seems to like it! We have only been feeding Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management food for about 2 weeks now, still mixing it with a little of the old food. So far, so good. Our 3 year old Lab seems to like her new food, and since she actually gets more of it than the old food, that makes her happy. We haven't seen any weight loss results quite yet, but hope it helps her in the coming months. I will say the food definitely produces a lot more output and makes her have to go a lot more often. Which I guess is to be expected if she is eating more and what she is eating is more fillers, but wow... it is quite a lot more. I'll try to come back and update my review in a few months when I have more clear results.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not to happy about it. My dog is a malamute/aussie shepherd mix. When we adopted him at 9 months he weighed a sleek 77 lbs. After about 3 1/2 years of age he started to gain weight. My vet recommend metabolic at 2 cups per day (seems everything I have read requires more). But instead of loosing he is gaining. He is at about 102 and will be 7 this month. The vet keeps making comments about it even tho he said 2 cups per day. At this rate I do not believe it works for my dog
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Canine weight management food My vet recommended this for my puggy pug and he loves it and actually so do the other members of my pack but they do not need to loose any weight. I get to feed him more food as recommended on the package than I would normally so he's pretty happy about that and is always full now. We have just started on his diet and I haven't weighed him yet but he looks like he has slimmed down a tad. Really pleased with the product.
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product For a dry food both my dogs will eat it. Our puppy sneaks a few pieces every chance he gets so I usually put two or three pebbles with his puppy food and he always seeks this out. We are mixing the dry with the wet (same brand) in hopes our over weight Schnauzer will lose some weight. Will know at the end of January. Keeping my fingers crossed.
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far my dachshund has lost 3 lbs on this prescription diet. I was so happy with my first order with Chewy.com. I had to get a prescription from our Vet before they could complete my order. I was surprised when my Vet charged me $10 to do this. However, Chewy.com deducted that $10 from my order. I will definitely order from them again. I consider that going above and beyond. Thank you Chewy!
Date published: 2017-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My old dog likes this food on its own My rescue dog has put on weight after being spayed, so my vet suggested this.MaggieMae likes the food, without me having to add anything to it. She is starting to lose weight, after being on it two weeks, hopefully more, once the weather gets nicer and we can take longer walks. Thank you for a terrific product.
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Veterinary recommendation As our veterinarian recommended this food for our dog, we were pleased to be able to order it through Chewy.com. It arrived so quickly and we have already reordered the larger size. As our dog had put on weight, this dry food is supposed to aid in the weight loss. She loves it!
Date published: 2017-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best For Weight Loss & Maintenance When my dog ended up at the vet with a sore back, they had to reweigh him because they could not believe how much weight he had gained since his last visit. Our vet recommended this diet and we couldn't be happier with the results. Best of all, our dog loves it!
Date published: 2017-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat loves it! I used to buy dry cat food in the supermarket and my cat loved it, but the vet wanted her on a weight management diet. I was worried that she wouldn't like the new food, but she took to it right away. Very pleased that my cat is happy!
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Girthy Bulldog! My 12 yr. old bulldog is a bit fluffy. She needed to lose a pound or two (like most of us). Her vet recommended Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management food and treats. It really works and my Biscuit loves it!
Date published: 2017-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazed at my dogs weight lose. My vet recommended you and that says a lot. I was told that you and your employees love animals as much as your customers and go the extra mile. I am grateful for the results of the food and the company.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Vet Recommended Our vet recommended this product to help our dog loose some weight. We have yet to weight him to see how many lbs he's lost but since we began giving him this food, his stool has been overall better.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food for weight control Hills Metabolic food is great for weight control. It keeps our Golden Retriever full between meals and most of all Molly loves it. Sort of pricey but it is worth it to keep her healthy.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product really works I bought the Weight Management chicken flavored dry dog food for my Boston Terrier. He is a big Boston & had gained some weight. As I can't exercise him much, I was concerned. I I bought the chicken flavored Weight Management dry dog food for my Boston Terrier. He is a big Boston but had started to gain weight as I can't exercise him a lot. He loves it & best of all has lost 3 lbs. in less than a month. I'm very pleased so far & will continue using it til he loses a few more pounds.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, does what it promises Have had my slightly overweight golden retriever on this diet for a little over 4 months, and she's lost 10 pounds. She loves it, has more energy, I'd highly recommend.
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good food Our dogs are very happy eating this food and they have lost weight just like the instructions explained, as long as you follow their lead....
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog thinks this food is a treat. This is the best food to maintain my Malipoo's weight. It was recommended by the Vet. She had been overweight, now she is perfect.
Date published: 2016-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sassy likes this product and has lost weight!! Sassy likes this product and has lost weight!! When ordering from CHEWY they contacted the Vet to get the prescription.
Date published: 2017-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This food works! My dogs needed to lose weight, and by eating this, they did! This food really helped my dogs drop the pounds! They do need to poop more frequently, so be prepared for that.
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, Love, Love this food... Hill's Prescription Food is loved by my 120lb Pit Bull. It is definitely helping him to lose some weight.
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cavaliers love this food. My boys have been on this food for 6 years- no problems- it keeps them trim- and they like the taste!!
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective weight loss solution. Both of our large breed dogs are on it and have lost weight. I highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from VERY EXPENSIVE BUT GREAT FOOD VERY EXPENSIVE BUT GREAT FOOD. TRYING TO HAVE MY BORBOEL LOSE AT LEAST 60 POUNDS FOR SURGERY
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Arrived on time I can't really say it because I have never tasted it. However, My dog seems to enjoy it,
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like that the product because it works. My dog loves it and she acts like she is a puppy and she is 10 years old. Awesome
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from expensive food, it's helping with weight loss It seems to be helping him lose weight and he loves the taste of it. I'm hoping that we can switch to something less pricey. We've been using wheat free for a few years now. My dog was always hungry no matter how much we gave him and then he started gaining weight. The vet recommended this food stating that the wheat free has too many calories for dogs. My dog injured his leg b/c of the weight gain, so it was pretty important for him to lose weight fast. I just wish is wasn't so dang expensive and why need an Rx? It's dog food!!
Date published: 2016-08-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not ecstatic The weight loss instructions table only goes to 100 lbs. leaving it a guessing game for larger dogs. I chatted online with the company and they didn't have answers either. Bowel movements are VERY dry, verging on constipation. My dog is fed 2xs day. Used to pass BM 2xs am and pm, now is not going usually until the pm. Seems distraught and uncomfortable. My dog seems to think the flavor is OK. Added some water to the food to add moisture, has helped a little. Adding the wet food made it all worse. Undetermined if this is worth the angst.
Date published: 2016-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to be workin- Tried giving Barley, my overweight lab, the Metabolic & Mobility diet formula to help him lose some weight and assist in his elderly joint issues. It made him sick (I think it was the glucosamine element) so switched to just the metabolic formula. Took him awhile to get used to it but now he seems to like it. He has lost about 2-3 pounds so far without seeming to experience any hunger, which is lovely. Wish someone could do this for me!
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product so far is everything it says it is. We have two yellow Labs. They love to eat and overweight dogs can be a problem. We have had Labs on diets before with minimal success. This product took off Five pounds each on both our dogs in a month of use. We are now weaning them back on to their regular food. This product has been great. The dogs did not appear to be hungary like they did on other diet foods. I would highly recommend this food. I would also highly recommend Chewy.com. We saved money ordering through Chewy rather than getting it from the Vet. We also got free shipping! That is a huge savings on almost sixty pounds of food delivered to my door!
Date published: 2013-11-10
  • y_2017, m_3, d_21, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_232
  • loc_en_US, sid_69615, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrchewy