Loading...

Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food

  • Price:

    $84.49 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

In stock
27.5-lb bag
  • 6-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

Just like the human epidemic, almost 50% of the pet population is overweight. Even a little extra weight can impact the pet's quality of life and relationship with family because that extra weight can reduce play time, impact mobility and affect the lifelong general health of your dog. Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Dry Dog Food was developed and specially formulated by Hill's nutritionists & veterinarians to support your dog's weight management.

Key Benefits

  • Developed and specially formulated to support your dog's weight management with a synergistic blend of ingredients
  • Naturally works with your pet's individual metabolism with a unique fiber blend from fruits and vegetables
  • Helps avoid weight regain after weight loss and keeps your pet feeling full and satisfied between meals
  • Developed with a unique fiber blend from fruits and vegetables to keep your pet at the optimal weight. In fact, 88% of pets lost weight at home in 2 months
  • Supports vitality and holistic health with powerful antioxidants

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69782
  • Brand
    Hill's, Science Diet
  • Breed Size
    Small, Medium, Large, All Breeds
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food, Weight Control

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Chicken Meal, Whole Grain Wheat, Whole Grain Corn, Soybean Mill Run, Corn Gluten Meal, Soybean Meal, Pea Fiber, Dried Beet Pulp, Dried Tomato Pomace, Chicken Liver Flavor, Pork Fat, Flaxseed, Coconut Oil, Pork Liver Flavor, Lactic Acid, Powdered Cellulose, Dl-Methionine, L-Lysine, Carrots, Iodized Salt, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Calcium Pantothenate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Vitamin A Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Lipoic Acid, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Minerals (Manganese Sulfate, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, L-Carnitine, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Caloric Content

  1. 260 kcal/cup
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 24.0% min
Crude Fat 9.0% min
Crude Fiber 15.0% max
Calcium 0.6% min
Phosphorus 0.55% min
Vitamin C 115 mg/kg min
Vitamin E 540 IU/kg min

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, wet food and treats. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet Lovers Also Bought

Customer Reviews

Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 232.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A miracle for my dog Like many of you my dog was overweight by 10 pounds. After I put my 16 year old Shiba Inu down my younger Shiba went into grieving and was very depressed. He didn't even want to go for a walk and when I would hook the leash to him and pull on him he wouldn't budge. And he always loved his walks. After about a year of this behavior he had gained a lot of weight. I cut back on his food to the point that I thought it was almost cruel. But he still didn't lose weight and in fact continued to gain. My vet suggested Hills Metabolic diet and I started him on it 8 weeks ago. He prefers the canned but I give him the dry as treats. He eats less than is recommended and never seems hungry and he loves it. He is following the chart exactly as was printed out by my vet. He has lost 5 pounds in 8 weeks so he is halfway to his goal loss of 10 pounds. I also got a shiba inu puppy for him (and me) and he is now able to really play and run with her without tiring or grunting. I am so impressed with this food. Even when he reaches his goal weight I will continue him on this as I don't want the weight to come back. Great product with great results.
Date published: 2015-05-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not for small dogs We purchased this food in hopes that it would help our dog lose weight. When we received it the morsels were way to big for our small dogs to eat. We have 2 chihuahuas. I cut the morsels into small pieces but they pushed them around with their nose and ate everything else but the metabolic food. Food should come in small size pieces for small dogs. We purchased the treats as well they are also made for big dogs. A little disappointed with the size. Was a waste of money for us
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Results! My dog has had an obesity problem for years. She was a stray until I adopted her. The necessity of foraging in her early years never left her. She would eat constantly if allowed. This food appears to give her the best satiation & the pounds have came off. Even when she lost her weight & I put her back on "regular" dog food her weight returned. She feels great & looks good.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Off to good start... Vet rec'd product to help my 7yo Yellow Lab lose a few pounds--other attempts had ended with her eating cardboad and other (usually nasty) random items and no weight loss. So far: feeding, for my own conveniece, to both my dogs and both LOVE to eat it! Time will tell if the weight loss follows.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Samson is no longer fat! We have two Cavalier King Charles Spaniels. Within the first year, Samson was fat. We were very surprised. Our daughter in law who is a vet recommended this kibble after she finished lecturing us on over feeding:(. Sam loves his kibble. He has lost weight. He is a happy boy!
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I put both of my dogs on this food and they both lost weight fairly quickly. My only complaint is that the kibble is quite large for my miniature pinschers. I wish they would make this product in a smaller size.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product!! My dog loves this food, 1 cup in the morning and 1 cup in evening. I give him 5 or 6 pieces 2 or 3 times during the day for a snack. I feel like he is losing weight after 2 weeks.
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Our 2 yr old English bulldog was fifteen pounds overweight and this product has worked great to help him lose weight. He even loves the taste of it.
Date published: 2016-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This food is a godsend. I truly don't know what I would do without Hill's Metabolic. I have tried numerous different weight control foods for my Chihuahua, who we can say was extremely "fluffy", and I'm not talking fur. The Vet had us cutting portions down to next to nothing, but nothing seemed to work. Then we found Hill's and the miracle happened. I thoroughly researched the product and everywhere I looked gave it rave reviews. The best review came from my dog, who loves it. Even better, she gets normal portion sizes and the weight fell off her. She has tons of energy, her coat looks healthier and overall she seems much happier. When it comes to weight management food for dogs, Hill's Metabolic can't be beat.
Date published: 2016-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it Just started feeding this to my dog, so have not seen results yet. But my dog has a sensitive stomach and usually vomits for a few days when her food is switched, even though we gradually change it. She had absolutely no problems with her stomach with this food. Transition was easy!
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked Wonders on BOTH my furry-Four-legged Kids.!!.!.!! Definitely would recommend. I'm the proud owner of both a 12 year old Brittany, Beau; and an 8 yr old Golden Retriever, Missy. Since being on a mixture of RD and Metabolic (wet & dry) both have lost weight and kept it off. Missy had the start of hip dysplasia, but the proper diet plan and exercise she's no longer forced to use a wheelchair. Yippy Skippy.!!.!.!!. Anyone who has issues with this particular product should NOT ONLY watch what their "kids" get into, but severely LIMIT the kinds and amount of treats! My late husband BLESS his soul was feeding the kids foods that aren't GOOD for canines. He was overweight and a little obese as well. Perhaps He should've HAD a human metabolic that he could help control his little problem; perhaps then he might've lived past 74. Oh well, LIFE goes ON and he lived a Very rich & full life ONLY to go home when The Lord above had room for his soul/spirit.
Date published: 2016-02-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product didn't help and added more trouble. My vet recommended this dog food for my 10 year old pug. She didn't lose much weight so I cut the amount food but still didn't lose much. Addition to the disappointment, she started to going poo inside the house. She didn't have any control of when she needed to go and couldn't wait to go outside, the poo just pushed out. My poor pug. She felt bad going inside the house, but she couldn't help it. We thought it was because of her old age, but after we switched her food to her previous food, it's all improved. We will never go back to the food.
Date published: 2014-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product We have a three year old golden retriever. He weighed 120 pounds and the vet put him on this food. He just went back for his two week check after switching his diet and has lost 5 pounds. I was skeptical, but he eats just as much food and is very happy. I balked at the price, but he's worth it and it works!!
Date published: 2015-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My dog Liked it too but.... My 13 year old minuture poodle is very picky about food (yes, still..lol), and he was eating Science Diet light SMALL BITES. He was neuter a few months ago and started gaining weight so the Doctor change him to the Metabolic. He did liked the food right from the first time he tried it. However, 2 weeks after he started I notice he wasn't eating until the end of the day. I would like to suggest the manufacture to do the same food in SMALL BITES as well. For senior dogs, small bites is better due to the fact that as they grow old they tend to loss teeths and small bites would be a great idea. In the meantime I'm adding a little water or homemade vegetable broth and let it sit with the food until it get soft. Only then he will eat it.
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weight Control Dog Food In trying to control the weight of my dogs who love to eat, my vet suggested Hills RD dog food. This was slightly before Hills launched their Metabolic food. So we fed our dogs the RD for about 3 weeks but did not see any weight loss in them. As soon as our vet received the Metabolic we switched our dogs to that new food. Our dogs love the flavor and taste of Metabolic and after being on it for 4 weeks we finally saw weight loss in our dogs. They have been on the Metabolic now for almost a year and our vet is very happy with the weight loss results and so are we.
Date published: 2014-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is wonderful. My Fritz loves this dog food; he liked it the first time I give it to him. It seems like he can't wait for his second feeding and I'm serious. Fritz needs more exercise which I'm trying to do depending on the weather. I would recommend this dog food to anyone who has a dog with a weight problem. I must add, he loves the bones, too. I am very anxious to find out if Fritz has lost any weight.
Date published: 2014-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog food purchase I like that the food was less expensive. My one dog is over weight and needs this diet food but too expensive at the vets. With your company I was able to purchase 2 dog foods for the price of one.
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too much $$$, too little results Our Golden was on this program for three months and she actually gained weight. The only notable benefits I saw were that the dry food is apparently very easily digested and the stools were excellent. But over $3 per pound is a high price for pet food and puts it in the same price range as good hamburger, chicken, etc. Someone is making a lot of money on this food....
Date published: 2014-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HIGHLY RECOMMEND My 13 year old Chihuahua was 3 pounds over weight. We tried all the weight loss foods on her with no results. Our Vet finally recommended a diet plan for her that included 1/4 c of metabolic Kibble and 1 treat a day. The treat was too large for her so I mashed it up and put a tsp. of low sodium fat free chicken broth on it. She ate that in the morning and the 1/4 cup of kibble in the evening. She has lost 2 1/2 pounds and will be at her goal of 6 pounds very soon. Since then we have added 1 tbsp. of Canned metabolic diet to her kibble. She loves it and she is now more energetic. She has a seizure disorder and a heart murmur. Loosing this weight is very beneficial to her health.
Date published: 2015-03-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from hair loss My Sheltie has been on the Metabolic Weight Management for several months. Won't touch it unless I add cut up chicken breast. Lately I notice his coat seems very dry and lifeless and seems to be falling out in clumps. Has anyone else had this issue
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food My Golden went from 117 to 99 and gobbles the food.
Date published: 2014-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great weight-loss product Sawyer was a rescue and 135 lb golden retriever. The rescue put them on this diet. We adopted him three weeks ago and have continued with this great food. He is down to 115 pounds now and we hope to have him at his goal weight of 105 by next spring. His coat is good and his energy level is high I highly recommend this product for anyone working to get their dog back in shape.
Date published: 2014-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog Loves It!! My 9 year old Weimaraner needed to lose weight. She loves this food, is losing the weight, and I have noticed that she doesn't smell as bad as she would sometimes smell on other foods. It's expensive but temporary and worth it for my fur baby.
Date published: 2015-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Metabolic Hills RX Dog Food This dog food is awesome! My overweight Rat Terrier has lost 12 lbs. in 3 months. She's happier, more playful, and more agile now. I would recommend this food to anyone with an over weight dog..
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs love it.... Our five little furry fat ones are loving this food and they don't seem to miss the larger portions that they are used to. The kids ages range from 14 to 2 and they all have a few pounds to shed. They have only been eating it for a week so I'm looking forward to seeing results in the near future.
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works! My dog has struggled with his weight always, and even being on thyroid medication has not helped with his weight issue. I'd tried other diet dog foods and he always seemed ravenous, which caused additional worries about what he would find to eat since he thought he was 'starving'! He is finishing his first bag of Hills Prescription Metabolic and it's working! He has lost weight, has more energy, and has never acted like he is 'starving' between meals. This product so far seems like a miracle cure. He likes the flavor, too, and for the first time in his life, acts 'full' after eating! One caveat: the dog has to remain on this food, and the volume you feed will go UP once the ideal weight has been achieved. So, it's not an inexpensive solution, but for the dog that has serious weight issues and always seems "hungry", I highly recommend this food.
Date published: 2015-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features My dachshund has been on this dog food for two weeks and after she eats she wants out to poop. It seems to go through her very fast, in fact, she poops more than once at a time in different places each time she goes out. As far as weight loss, I do not know that at this time.
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog's Hollie and Oreo love it Our vet recommended Metabolic Canine Dry food for both our dogs. The food was great but the vet's prices were not. My daughter told us about Chewy and I now order our dog and cat food (CD cat food) for our 5 cats. Chewy saves us a great deal of money and we are still getting the vet recommended food for our pets. THANK CHEWY
Date published: 2014-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! He has only been eating this for a week, but his stools are now perfect, and he loves his food for a change. He needs to lose weight, so, hopefully, this will happen!
Date published: 2016-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for my overweight pet This product was recommended to help my dog lose weight. It is economical, my dog loves the taste, and hopefully it will bring him to his target weight.
Date published: 2016-11-21
  • y_2017, m_3, d_21, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_232
  • loc_en_US, sid_69615, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrchewy