Loading...

Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food

  • List Price:

    $88.39

  • Price:

    $79.05 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

  • You Save:

    $9.34 (11%)

In stock
27.5-lb bag
  • 6-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

Just like the human epidemic, almost 50% of the pet population is overweight. Even a little extra weight can impact the pet's quality of life and relationship with family because that extra weight can reduce play time, impact mobility and affect the lifelong general health of your dog. Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Dry Dog Food was developed and specially formulated by Hill's nutritionists & veterinarians to support your dog's weight management.

Key Benefits

  • Naturally works with your pet's unique metabolism
  • Helps avoid weight regain after weight loss
  • Helps your pet feel full & satisfied between meals
  • Supports vitality & holistic health

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69782
  • Weight
    27.5 pounds
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Breed Size
    Small, Medium, Large, All Breeds
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food, Weight Control

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Chicken Meal, Whole Grain Wheat, Whole Grain Corn, Soybean Mill Run, Corn Gluten Meal, Soybean Meal, Pea Fiber, Dried Beet Pulp, Dried Tomato Pomace, Chicken Liver Flavor, Pork Fat, Flaxseed, Coconut Oil, Pork Liver Flavor, Lactic Acid, Powdered Cellulose, Dl-Methionine, L-Lysine, Carrots, Iodized Salt, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Calcium Pantothenate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Vitamin A Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Lipoic Acid, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Minerals (Manganese Sulfate, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, L-Carnitine, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Caloric Content

  1. 260 kcal/cup
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 24.0% min
Crude Fat 9.0% min
Crude Fiber 15.0% max
Calcium 0.6% min
Phosphorus 0.55% min
Vitamin C 115 mg/kg min
Vitamin E 540 IU/kg min

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, wet food and treats. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet lovers also bought...

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 186 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the service It is a great service since I do not have time to drive 20 Miles pick up food for my girls May 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by For losing weight it is great! My terrier, Penne, has become slightly larger in a year by a whole 9 lbs! I was going crazy with what to do as she loves to EAT! My vet, suggested to try Metabolic, as it could possibly work. l did, and in 5 weeks she has lost 1.25 lbs! I am hoping for the next month to be higher, but I will take what she does. She still is always hungry, so I bought the biscuits too. She gets one a day at night. It is still difficult, but she is losing. I have to say I have 3 other dogs that are not overweight that doesn't help. She wants their food too! She is 29.5 now and should be about 20! Thanks April 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by regular order works for me, so easy to do. recommend this [rocess to all May 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Balanced weight loss food. My dogs don't realize they're on a diet. They loved this food immediately at one-quarter less the amount of their previous food, feeding twice a day. I add hot water and let it sit for a few minutes and they love the gravy it produces. They are full, content and their poop is firmer. In two weeks they've lost one pound, which I've heard is equivalent to 10 lbs. human weight lost. Our goal is two months on this food, per our veterinarian's instructions, and then will reassess their diet. They look healthier, act younger, and have more energy. April 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service! My dogs have thrived on the Hills Prescription Dry Food, both with health problems! Chewy.com has the best overall price with autoship! Very responsive to emails also. Highly recommend. May 18, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Loosing Weight My dog has such a cute face that it's hard to say no when you're eating to give him table scrapes. But over time, we started to notice his enormous stomach. Took him to the vet to find out if he had a thyroid problem or if something else was wrong. After blood work and thyroid test we realized we were over feeding him. He was 124 lbs which is way to large for a collie/chow mix dog. Our vet recommended a Metodolic dog food that you can only get by perscrption. We can see in less than two weeks of him eating this dog food he has more engergy and is starting to lose weight. He still has a long way to go but we know we are on the right track to get him down to 80 lbs February 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prescription Food - Great price & fast shipping I was happy to find my dogs prescription food on Chewy's website and they did all the work to get my dogs prescription. Not only am I saving money but it is super convenient with the auto shipping program! Looking forward to seeing some weight loss on my Coonhound. Only about a month in and so far he loves the food. April 27, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by this food really has helped my dog Now he is loosing weight and becoming more active so I know is working good for him May 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Even a picky Rottie likes it! My "Rottie " was very overweight and he's a very picky eater and with this food he took to it right away..No added stuff to make / coax him into eating his food. We even give him individual kibble as a treat and reward. April 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Thank you Chewy, The packing was perfect and I love the free shipping. I will be ordering from you again and I would recommend you to any one.. April 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Results with Hill's Prescription Diet Dog food! Can't say enough about weight control for our dog. It's the BEST dog food we have found for our 8 year old English Black Lab for weight and health. April 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reommend this to anyone with over weight dogs My vet (VCA) recommended this dog food for my over weight Chihuahua (26 lbs) should be 12. She gave me the amounts to feed her- I mix canned with the dry. And in the past year she has lost a total of 7 lbs, yep she is down to 19 lbs using metabolic dog food. She gets around a lot better and my other Chihuahuas love it too... Yes the chunks are alittle big but it doesn't seem to bother any of them because the food isn't as solid as the other brands...light and airy. Best thing I could have done for my dogs. February 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by WIN, WIN, WIN Cheaper than the competition, delivered to my door and my FurBaby loves it. April 5, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by My dog Liked it too but.... My 13 year old minuture poodle is very picky about food (yes, still..lol), and he was eating Science Diet light SMALL BITES. He was neuter a few months ago and started gaining weight so the Doctor change him to the Metabolic. He did liked the food right from the first time he tried it. However, 2 weeks after he started I notice he wasn't eating until the end of the day. I would like to suggest the manufacture to do the same food in SMALL BITES as well. For senior dogs, small bites is better due to the fact that as they grow old they tend to loss teeths and small bites would be a great idea. In the meantime I'm adding a little water or homemade vegetable broth and let it sit with the food until it get soft. Only then he will eat it. August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for weight loss and older dogs My dogs (12 and 10 years old) are finally losing weight since switching from Science Diet WD to Metabolic. They actually love the taste of this dry food. I usually mix a small amount of a quality cannned food into the dry, but they love the taste of Metabolic by itself. It is amazing food. My daughter's dog (8 years old) has joint problems from years of frisbee competition and she is doing much better on Metabolic and has also lost weight. I have tried all the name brand "high quality" dry foods but Metabolic beats them all. My dogs really like the food and the our vet is pleased that they are losing weight. November 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Food We were prescribed this food by out vet for our 13" beagle that is a foodie and eats everything and anything. Cutting out extras and putting her on this food a few months ago she has lost 6 lbs. She loves the food. March 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this food! I have a 6 yr old Bichon Frise and he was overweight weighing in at 29.1 - my vet started Bogie on it in 4/2015 and by July he has went to 24.2 - I was so excited! So I thought I could change him back to natural balance for fat dogs, he threw it up it didn't even dissolve. Everytime I try to go back to original food he gains weight, so from now on he's staying on this. February 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It Works! We have put my very overweight dog on several types of foods/diets over the last year and a half and have been unsuccessful with them all. We took her in for thyroid monitoring an was told her numbers were in range. We were about to give up when this formula was suggested to us. She has been on it for about a month and is visibly thinner. She loves the taste and seems very excited to eat it during mealtimes. February 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible results Product has done wonders for our 2 year old choc lab - after 6 months she has lost over 20% of her body weight. Hoping to move to a mtce program in another few months once we get another 10lbs off... We used other products to get weight off but nothing works like Hills February 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product does what it says it will do. My dog loves it! Gobbles it up! March 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by worked for my dog My dog was the perfect candidate for this product. She gets no food other than what I weigh and measure for her. So when I switched from grocery store brands to this brand, we would know for sure if it worked or not. She lost 7% of her body weight in the first month. February 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It Works! My Chocolate Lab needed to drop some weight, so my Vet recommended Metabolic. It works and he loves the food, so both I and my Vet are pleased. February 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by WE ARE IN CLOVER!! After 2 weeks of feeding Hill's Metabolic Diet to my dog, there is a visible weight loss for the first time!! I am extremely happy with this progress!! I have used other "weight loss" diets without any results whatsoever. Hills Metabolic has proven to be the best for my "Clover!! February 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by HIGHLY RECOMMEND My 13 year old Chihuahua was 3 pounds over weight. We tried all the weight loss foods on her with no results. Our Vet finally recommended a diet plan for her that included 1/4 c of metabolic Kibble and 1 treat a day. The treat was too large for her so I mashed it up and put a tsp. of low sodium fat free chicken broth on it. She ate that in the morning and the 1/4 cup of kibble in the evening. She has lost 2 1/2 pounds and will be at her goal of 6 pounds very soon. Since then we have added 1 tbsp. of Canned metabolic diet to her kibble. She loves it and she is now more energetic. She has a seizure disorder and a heart murmur. Loosing this weight is very beneficial to her health. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog loves this food Our bulldog is overweight and his vet recommended this food for him. He loves it and it seems to be working. He has just started on it so hopefully in 2-3 months we will really see some results. February 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by weight loss results After starting my dog on it about 2.5 weeks ago he is already down 4 pounds. He has about 25 to go still, but he is making great progress! I did not have high hopes at first after my vet told us it could take 6 months to see results, but prior to starting him on this food we tried just decreasing the amount of food and treats we were giving him and increasing exercise and nothing worked. We even had his thyroid tested, which came back fine. People should be warned though that this seems to give the dog "puppy-like" energy. Despite the price, it is well worth it to have a happy, healthy dog! My dog also gets very excited for meal times and finds the food very tasty! October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by MY PUG LUVS IT Doing great on losing weight!!! so far so good. would recommend. February 18, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful product Great! So much cheaper than the veternarian office!!!! February 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worked wonders My 11 year old lab gained weight after my daughter came back from college and table fed her. She was 88 lbs. She has been eating this product for over 9 months, starting at 84 lbs. She is now a svelte 71 lbs. She loves the food (though labs eat anything) and she seems to be more satisfied. The only drawback is the expense, She is on maintenance now which requires a lot more of the food than when she was reducing. My 6 year old golden also seemed to be heftier and we switched her to this food as well. Though we haven't weighed her, she seems to have lost weight as well. I would recommend but they need a follow up product for maintenance because of the cost. April 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recommended by vet I got this by recommendation of Jack's vet because he was 15-20 lbs overweight. I had been overfeeding him Orijen adult and despite feeding him less, Jack wasn't losing weight appropriately. With Hill's I could feed him more but it just meant more poop. After one bag I switched back to Orijen - senior formula. He lost weight on that and I just felt it was better quality without so much coming out the other end. Jack isn't picky so he didn't seem to mind the change in taste of Hill's and it's the same price roughly. So in the end it was the poo factor (and maybe Orijen's sexy packaging?) that convinced me. June 13, 2015
  • 2016-10-31 T07:02:44.838-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_186, tr_186
  • loc_en_US, sid_69615, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>