Hill's Prescription Diet u/d Urinary Care Chicken Flavor Canned Dog Food, 13-oz, case of 12

  • List Price:

    $46.99

  • Price:

    $32.97 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping over $49

  • You Save:

    $14.02 (30%)

In stock
- Quantity +

Description

  • Item Number
    69793
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Food Form
    Wet Food
  • Made in
    United States
  • Lifestage
    Adult

Bladder stones are collections of mineral crystals that combine together in the urinary tract. They can cause discomfort and lead to more serious problems that require the care of a veterinarian. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians have developed clinical nutrition especially formulated to help support your dog's bladder health.Dogs need the right balance of minerals to maintain good bladder health. Excess minerals can encourage the formation of crystals in the urine, which can lead to the creation of bladder stones.

Key Benefits

  • Reduced levels of protein and calcium to help limit the formation of bladder stones
  • Added taurine and high levels of L-carnitine help maintain healthy heart muscle function
  • Added antioxidants to control cell oxidation and promote a healthy immune system
  • Made in the USA

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Ingredients

New Formula: Water, Egg Product, Corn Starch, Chicken Fat (Preserved with Mixed Tocopherols and Citric Acid), Pork Liver, Sucrose, Rice, Soybean Oil, Powdered Cellulose, Soy Fiber, Potassium Citrate, Calcium Carbonate, Choline Chloride, Iodized Salt, Dicalcium Phosphate, Taurine, Vitamin E Supplement, L-Lysine, L-Tryptophan, L-Carnitine, Ferrous Sulfate, Magnesium Oxide, Zinc Oxide, Thiamine Mononitrate, Beta-Carotene, Niacin, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Manganous Oxide, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Biotin, Copper Sulfate, Riboflavin, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Calcium Iodate, Folic Acid, Sodium Selenite.
Water, Egg Product, Corn Starch, Chicken Fat, Pork Liver, Sucrose, Rice, Soybean Oil, Powdered Cellulose, Soy Fiber, Potassium Citrate, Choline Chloride, Iodized Salt, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Niacin Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Biotin, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid), Calcium Carbonate, Dicalcium Phosphate, Taurine, L-Lysine, Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Manganous Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), L-Tryptophan, L-Carnitine, Magnesium Oxide, Beta-Carotene.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 74 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hooray for the Chicken Flavor! My three year old dachshund, who ordinarily eats anything, would not touch the original flavor u/d when it was prescribed for Cystinuria. Luckily he gobbled the chicken flavor as soon as I put the bowl on the floor. April 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hill RX U/D can dog food Millie my dog likes it and appears to be helping.. April 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! Our ten year old goldendoodle has some serious kidney problems. We are not sure how much longer she will be with us. Our Vet told as long as she has a good appetite she will be okay. She loves this food and can’t wait to eat it. March 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is good for uti problem I thought my dog would not like it- but he loves it.. the shipment was fast. and I had even received a call confirming the correct product to ship for my dogs medical problem. So glad they checked with my vet. March 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome Dog love this food .He cry for it! Lol. He just can't get enough. March 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by great price This product is because of my dog having urate stones and your price is the best March 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for our foster dog! This prescription food was recommended by a veterinary specialist. Our foster dog suffers from kidney disease and this food has helped her to not develop new stones. She gobbles it quickly! February 17, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by For a cystine stone- prone schipperke Vet recommended Hills u/d after two emergency surgeries to remove cystine crystals that had obstructed my little guy. Been feeding him the canned food for nine months and the x rays and urinalysis keep coming back clean and clear! What a relief! Between the high water content and the fact that it makes him thirsty means he is constantly flushing out and his urine stays diluted. A con: quality and nutrition seem kind of poor (lots of filler in this formula) but I don't have much of a choice in this scenario. October 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by My Shi tsue doesn't care for this at this time. I'm at my end of line with trying what ever it takes to get him back to the Happy Dog i had. I know this has to take time for a dog to get use to; but sense his bladder surgery to remove stones. . . .he won't eat and enjoy food like he was.. . He and 2 other Shi tsue's we have don't have these issues. I know i have a unique and challenging problem. . . it isn't easy for a dog any more than a human with food problems. He still needs to eat to stay healthy. The Vet gave me ad to help with stimulating his appetite. . .that doesn't help either. Not giving some kind of treat as they normally got each morning, lets them think I'm being mean to them. . . . I'm looking for something that I can replace treats as an option? Seeking some options with my problem. . Buddy and I , Thank you! September 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor quality control and lack of customer response My dog's health condition requires he eat the Prescription U/D diet and I have not found a substitute that my Vet will recommend. My dog has been eating this food for the last seven years. Over the past year, the product texture has been inconsistent which has made me question the overall quality of the company standards and the product. One can will be of a dry grainy consistency and the next will be the wet, smooth consistency (the desired and intended texture). My dog doesn't like the dry texture and as a result doesn't get the nutrition he needs. I have called Hill's and received assurances that it is merely a "texture" issue that does not affect the food quality, and can be attributed to severe cold weather separating the water from the food. I was advised to merely add water to the food to achieve the softer, intended, texture. In the short term, I accepted this remedy awaiting warmer weather. However, this problem has now continued throughout the Spring and Summer. If there were an alternative I would pursue it. My complaints surely are not a singular issue and are not being addressed. Hills needs to review it's quality control problems and reestablish it's reputation for quality. For the price paid for Prescription food, there should be more company accountability and customer attention. September 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dented Cans...but came on time! We ordered three cases. They came on time, according to the estimated delivery. However, all of the cans in one case, and more than half the cans in the other two cases were dented. November 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Carly really likes the food My 3 yr old mini schnauzer had 3 large stones removed. I never heard of bladder stones. So now we have to be on this UD diet. I mix the canned with some filtered water(as my well water may have played a hand in the stone formation, and to add extra water to her diet) warm it in the microwave and she comes running. I have made treats by baking the canned and she jumps up and down when I take her treats out of the fridge. I hope she doesn't get to fat as I can tell she has gained weight. Thanks chewy for all your help in getting the vet approval. I have set up my auto shipment and contrary to what I read you do get the free shipping on the auto ship as long as it is still over $49.00 November 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by He likes it! Hey, doggie! From the time they were puppies, my dogs, Regan & Taco, would eat anything once. Once being the operative word! I would bring them food, put it in their bowl and they would eat like they hadn't been fed in weeks. But the next day they would sniff it and look up as if to say, "Not this..... again." I literally had 5 different types/brands of food for them, and I couldn't give them the same thing 2 days in a row. My vet suggested Hill's prescription diet wet, so I gave it a shot. They love it! The sound of the can opener longer causes them to bark, instead it makes them run around in circles at my feet. Thanks! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] October 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent food!!!!! :) I have a yorkie that has had medical issues in the past and had to have major surgery due to stones. After his surgery his vet then prescribed the help of u/d science diet food. He eats the canned version. With the help of this food he is able to keep the stones from forming again:) The bonus is that he loves his food!! Highly recommend. Also this site is amazing, delivery was speedy fast, the product was great, and the best part 24/7 customer service. Amazing!! The rep I spoke to was so sweet and knowledgeable. Best customer service I ever experienced!!! Thank you so much chewy :) March 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Labrador loves this food Our vet said some dogs don't care for this food but our Labrador loves it and I've even made treats using it for him. November 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by overall great product! Our dog Bently loves the taste and would eat all day if we let him. It's nice to see him healthy once again. Since using this product he has had far less urinary tract infection. I highly recommend this product. It would be helpful if cost was a bit lower or you made more coupons available. Love love the product! September 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great food but still gets stones, however it may be my fault My dog had a bladder cystotomy 2 1/2 years ago and had been on U/D ever since. I will admit I have been giving him non-prescription treats. This past week two more stones were found and removed on Friday. U/D may not be enough. The vet said we may need to add additional potassium citrate supplements in order to keep his Ph at 7. His urine will have a full UA in 14 days when the stitches come out and then again every 3 months for Ph and crystals. an x-ray will be taken every 6 months to be sure no stones are forming. I am hoping that this tie, without the treats, the U/D will be enough. January 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bladder Stones My Bichons love the taste of the food, but don't like they get less as the Kcal is higher than other non-prescription varieties. The benefit is that our older mail bichon has trimmed down from 15.3lbs to around 13.6lbs at age 12+. We are hoping the modified diet will slow the growth of the males bladder stones as we've had one surgery and now 2 basket retrievals in the last 4 years; we just switched since the last procedure about 4 months ago on recommendation from the U of M Vet Clinic....we're hopeful! May 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It seems to be working. Kat is on the UD because she had crystals in her urine. She is not crazy about the dry food so I bought the canned to mix in with the dry. The canned food is too dry to coat the dry food to her taste. It is also too dry to wrap around the antibiotic capsules that she is currently taking. Lucky for me she usually swallows the chucnk with the pill in it without tasting it. The canned UD is too pricey for me to give it to her exclusively. I would suggest that you consider putting a "pop-top" type of lid on it. June 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Canine UD keeps my Pugs stone free!!! I can trust Hill's with the health of my pets. I have two pugs that were diagnosed with calcium oxalates in their urinary bladders. They love the food and go crazy for it at meal time. Palatability was never an issue. The food is very cost effective because it prevents the huge expense of surgery. And it saves my dogs from going under the knife again! Included is a picture of the bladder stones from one of my pugs. I adopted him so he could have his surgery and not be euthanized! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] December 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by ADDING CANNED PRESCRIP FOOD TO TJHE DRY FOOD MADE IT MORE APPEALING TO MY DOG MY DOG IS 14 YEARS OLD AND WAS NOT EATING THE DRY PRESCRIPTION DOG FOOD FROM HILL'S VERY WELL. ADDING THE CANNED CHICKEN FLAVORED U/D DIET FOOD DID THE TRICK. HE NOW CAN'T WAIT FOR HIS MEAL. July 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seems to be maintaining his bladder stone issues and he loves the taste. My nine year old dalmation had emergency surgery for bladder stones 6 months ago. My vet informed me that one of the best recommendations that he could make that may prevent future problems would be to feed him UD prescription can food. I want to give him every chance, so I agreed. He loves the tastes, his energy has increased and so far the bladder issues are being held at bay. Other than the product being a bit pricey,,, I can't say enough good things about this diet. January 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great products! My dog loves it, he is 6 1/2 years old and he has never eaten his food and want more the way he does this food. I am happy my vet prescribed this for him he's healthy now and happy! Thanks Chewy.com for being here for us. Sincerely Buddy's mom July 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by recommended by vet to make meatballs to disguise medication to prevent bladder stones Stanlee is a 7 year old "OLDE ENGLISH BULLDOGGE." He had surgery to remove bladder stones and is now on a diet of ONLY Hill's UD. In addition, he gets 2 pills a day of Allpurinol to stop the formation of more stones. The vet suggested we get canned UD, form it into meatballs, and hide his medication inside. What a terrific idea! Stanlee reminds us when it's time to take his pills. April 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great if your dog has bladder stones My Bichon had bladder stones removed and we were forced to find a new diet for him so that the problem did not reoccur. He is a very fussy eater and had eaten a dry kibble his entire life. Our Vet recommended Hill's U/D which was a major change for Raymond (our Bichon). He loves it and we don't have to beg him to eat any more. He recently went for a checkup and has no signs of the stones reoccurring. He also is drinking only distilled water which is helping as well. April 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Dog food and customer service Our dog Koda really enjoys his new food. He now lets us know when he thinks it is time for him to eat (which is always). We are happy to see him enjoy his food because sometimes he can be very choosey. Thank-You for making our life easier. Just knowing we don't have to always search for this food and seeing the cost is very capable if not cheaper than the dog food stores help take some of out everyday stress away. December 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by my dog loves it and it keeps him healthy Thanks to Hill's Prescription Diet I don't have to worry about my dog having the problems he's had in the past. After having surgery two years in a row he's now on the u/d diet and he loves it and so do we, just knowing that he can eat what he enjoys and we have piece of mind knowing what he eats will keep him healthy. Thank You Hill's. October 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by please add an every 3 weeks shipping option The boxes are 12 cans each or 24 per case. For a dog who eats a can a day, every 2 weeks is too often but every 4 weeks makes my dog hungry. How hard would it be to add an "every 3 weeks option"? June 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog must eat this food This food Seems to be helping with his bladders crystals July 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My dogs love the taste of this prescription food. I had absolutely no problem switching my dogs to UD. They eat dry for meals and receive small can amounts for treats and to take medication with. They really feel like they are getting a treat. The only problem I have with the canned food is that it crumbles when you try to push the pills inside. I wish the consistency was a little better. April 26, 2014
  • 2016-08-23 T09:27:25.020-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_74, tr_74
  • loc_en_US, sid_69622, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 next>>