Hill's Prescription Diet u/d Urinary Care Original Dry Dog Food

  • List Price:

    $94.99

  • Price:

    $83.41 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

  • You Save:

    $11.58 (12%)

In stock
  • 8.5-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

  • Item Number
    69795
  • Weight
    27.5 pounds
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Made in
    United States
  • Lifestage
    Adult

Bladder stones are collections of mineral crystals that combine together in the urinary tract. They can cause discomfort and lead to more serious problems that require the care of a veterinarian. Because the food your dog eats plays an important role in his or her overall health and well-being, Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians have developed clinical nutrition especially formulated to help support your dog's bladder health. Dogs need the right balance of minerals to maintain good bladder health. Excess minerals can encourage the formation of crystals in the urine, which can lead to the creation of bladder stones.

Key Benefits

  • Reduced levels of protein and calcium to help limit the formation of bladder stones
  • Added taurine and high levels of L-carnitine help maintain healthy heart muscle function
  • Added antioxidants to control cell oxidation and promote a healthy immune system

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Ingredients

Brewers Rice, Corn Starch, Pork Fat, Dried Egg Product, Powdered Cellulose, Chicken Liver Flavor, Flaxseed, Lactic Acid, Potassium Citrate, Soybean Oil, Calcium Carbonate, L-Lysine, Iodized Salt, Choline Chloride, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid), Dried Beet Pulp, L-Threonine, Taurine, Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Manganous Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), L-Carnitine, L-Tryptophan, Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, Phosphoric Acid, Beta-Carotene, Natural Flavors.
New Formula: Brewers Rice, Corn Starch, Pork Fat, Egg Product, Powdered Cellulose, Chicken Liver Flavor, Flaxseed, Lactic Acid, Potassium Citrate, Soybean Oil, Calcium Carbonate, L-Lysine, Iodized Salt, Choline Chloride, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Dried Beet Pulp, L-Threonine, Taurine, Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Manganous Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), L-Carnitine, L-Tryptophan, Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 93 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by UD diet great for a shiny coat but....... If you want your Dachshund to have a shiny coat ( must be good) The UD DIET 9 pellets and Tin ) is great. But to get rid of stones or prevent them it just doesn't work. I have 2 dachshunds ( twins) and the one has had stone removal surgery and the other has had 4 operations the last one being the dreaded Bowel bypass surgery from which he is still recovering. ( a last resort op) Both these dogs have been on the UD diet ( pellets and tins for over a year and in that time the second one had one op and the first one ( which was the reason to go on the diet) had 3 ops) the vet says its genetic which I think means "we don't know" but even so the validity of the prevention is non existent. We continue feeding them this because...... well what else do we do! We stuck to the diet religiously for nearly 2 years it must be noted. October 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The food works, no new stones. Two years ago my Schnauzer Bella had 90% of her bladder filled with urinary stones. She had the stones removed and was put on Science Diet UD. After a recent visit to the vet she is still stone free. Bella gobbles up the dry food with no problems. Occasionally I will mix the wet UD with the dry and she loves that too. February 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is good for uti problem Thanks so much. Will order all pet products from this company March 4, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by U/D great for uninary problems, but not for weight gain We had used a competitor's low calorie urinary tract food because of vet's determination that Baxter (dachshund) had crystals in his urine and had incontinence issues. We got him as a rescue when he was 8, and he has never had bladder stones to our knowledge. The vet has now determined that he still has crystals, so we switched to Hill's UD. The only positive result is that he no longer has any incontinence, but the flip side is that he not just loves the food, he wants to devour it and anything else edible he can find! Even though we are feeding him the same amount as before, he has gained 5 lbs in 4 months and is a complete pest about wanting to eat more. We asked the vet about other diet possibilities, but they adamantly refuse to consider anything other than Hills U/D. The only admissable alternative would be to feed him less than the recommended amount, with high-fiber raw vegetables. Why is there not a low calorie version of this diet? It seems the other dogs mentioned in these reviews are mostly the larger, more active breeds that would not have a weight problem. What do you do with a whale-tail dachshund? Would you recommend a mixture of the U/D and another Hills low calorie diet? September 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by No problems with my Doxie Star has been on the c/d and u/d dog food and has had no issues since. Problems with bladder stone when she was under 2 yrs old. Now she's 10 and doing well. Your service was outstanding -- I made a mistake in ordering c/d and you recontacted my vet and got the u/d ordered for me. The 20% off was also outstanding! Thank you. January 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by very palatable my older terrier mix developed calcium oxylate stones. he loves the flavor & texture of the u/d dry. it has helped keep his urine dilute & the appropriated pH. I feel confident that it will prevent further stones from developing. December 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent!!! My two dogs have been on the Hills U/D for seven years. Thanks Chewy for giving me a break on price. I was pleasantly surprised to find out it was cheaper than the vet without risking quality. I will recommend you to all my friends. Thanks again! November 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is soooo expensive elsewhere ! My greyhound's life was saved when my vet put him on this food ! He had an episode of renal failure, and could not tolerate high protein food. He' now 11and1/2 yrs. old and doing just great !....When I found this product on Chewy for a lot less, I ordered it from them ! Plus it's delivered to my door ! Very happy ! November 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is great I have a 11yr old Yorkie who had to have surgery to remove bladder stones. After this life saving surgery my Vet put my dog on the U/D formula of dog food with strict instructions that he was to only eat this. Well, my concern being that my dog is very picky about his food and at times would just refuse it; I was very concerned that he would not eat this dog food. I purchased the dry and wet food from my Vet and to my surprise my dog LOVES this food !!! He has had more urine tests and still no stones. Also, since he cannot have "store bought dog treats" I use the wet food as his treat and with its texture it works great. Thank you for such a wonderful product.. February 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by u/d for our Chihuahuas We have 2 male Chihuahua's, one 4 years and the other 1+. The older dog had bladder stones, had them surgically removed and our vet recommended Hills u/d as a preventative for future recurrence. For our dogs, the size of the u/d product is too large. Our dogs take one piece from their bowl, start chewing and what ever falls to the floor may or may not get eaten. So there's a fair amount of cleanup for us, hence the "good" versus "excellent" rating. I'd suggest that Hills consider also making this product in a small breed size. Otherwise, for a prescription product, the dogs love the taste and hopefully it will help in preventing more bladder stone events. June 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by My dog still got stones This expensive product did nothing to stop bladder stones in my toy poodle. he ate it every day after his operation for stones 2 years ago. Now he just had surgery again same stones. The food does not work! November 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Buddy Says 4 Paws Up! Buddy is a rescue lab who has battled bladder stones in the past. We were told that switching him to this food kept him bladder stone-free. He loves it, and we have the added knowledge that what he loves is also good for him! Chewy's has the best prices by far on this prescription (and therefore pretty costly) food. We're very happy with it. August 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just what my dog's special diet requires. I'm glad that this food is available but I wish there were a couple of flavor options. We learned that this food would be my dalmatian's only diet for the rest of his life before he was a year old. He's bored with the flavor but we've been unable to find anything else that his system will tolerate. October 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hills U/D was prescribed by my Vet. My vet recommeded Hills U/D for my dog and suggested I order future supplies through Chewy.com. My order consisted of Hills U/D Dry (27 lb. bag), 12 cans of Hills U/D wet food, and a package of Liver Health Chews. I placed the order on Sunday night. My Vet was contacted Monday morning to verify the Prescription authorization. I received all three items in one box on Wednesday morning via UPS. Everything was in perfect condition and well within recommended expiration dates. I will use Chewy.Com in the future. Best price and very convenient. October 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog seems to like this product I was worried that my dog would not eat the U/D because he was not use to it...but he is eating very well so it must have a good flavor to him! October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fairly new user My adult male dalmation recently developed bladder stones to the point of needing emergency surgery. He did quite well, recovery was quick and he's doing great. This was something new for me, even though I've been a dog owner for many years. My vet recommeneded that my dog's best chance of his bladder stones not returning was to feed him UD Rx diet. I quite willingly want to do the very best I can for him and feed him what is rec. He loves the product, always licks the bowl. I would strongly recommend this product to anyone in need of a special diet for their beloved cannine. ;-) August 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pup loves his food Vet recommended prescription food is perhaps more expensive, but a necessity. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My pet loves the dry and wet food My dog loves the dry and wet food. It seems to help her with her bladder stones so far. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Dog Loves this Food. After our Dog had Surgery for Bladder stones, our Vet told us we needed to give this product to our dog. We were worried our Dog wouldn't eat this food because she tends to be a picky eater but she Loves it! September 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by PLEASE, PLEASE make pieces smaller - like w/d with chicken I have a small dog with only a few teeth. He has been eating the w/d with chicken small bites for years with no problem. He recently developed bladder stones, so we had to switch to u/d. He loves the canned food, but I like to use the dry food - which he also loves - for treats and some variation. Because the chunks are so much larger than the w/d, I have to sit and cut each piece of the u/d in half - a tedious task. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE make the bites smaller - the size of w/d with chicken is fine...... May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rusty loves it He was used to eating a grain free high protein dsog food which gave him cystine stones and since he has been on this has been healthy and happy. Did not think he woul like it but with a touch of butter he gobbles it down!!!!! August 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by U/d Hills Prescription Diet for our husky after bladder stone surgery This is the only dry dog food that I can feed my husky Timber without making a special raw type dog food. It helps for me to know this food is specifically made for dogs with his condition and not having to guess what crazy combinations of raw foods will keep the bladder stones from coming back. My only complaint is that this gets very expensive to feed my 75 LB male husky, 2 1/4 cups a day and buying the 27.5 Lb bag every 3-4 months. His blood work keeps coming back negative so this food does work. June 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great products! My dog loves it, he is 6 1/2 years old and he has never eaten his food and want more the way he does this food. I am happy my vet prescribed this for him he's healthy now and happy! Thanks Chewy.com for being here for us. Sincerely Buddy's mom July 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recommended by veterinarian for kidney problems with my miniature Schnauzer It has been several years since my dog had surgery for kidney stones which had shredded his bladder. Since the surgery I have used U/D Prescription Dog Food exclusively for him. My vet has even remarked that he was surprised that we have not had more problems - I credit the U/D Prescription Dog Food. HOWEVER, it is terribly expensive - I can see where some dog owners would not use it just because of the cost. Some could not afford it. April 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All our dogs ar on UD wet and dry We have 3 dogs Phoebe a Bichon 10 years Sassy a Maltese 5 years Percy a Bichon 1 1/2 years The three of them do a dance in the kitchen when we are preparing their food. I never saw dogs so excited over eating in my life. Sassy was a rescue and we were told she was a very poor eater. I wish you could see how well the poor eater loves her food now. We purchase a 27 lb bag from our vet.Wet we buy at pet smart when they have a sale. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] August 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only food for My Tyson I have a lab and pit mix, he is three and has had three surgery's for stone already. Science diet U/D dry and can has made a big difference, along with a drug called Thiola. the cost is not cheap between the three, we spend about two hundred a month for food and meds, on this dog only. but we have already put about two grand into him just in vet bills. science diet is great food but very expensive, we could use some help in that department! March 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product After 3 bladder surgeries for bladder stones and testing on the stones our Vet switched our 10 year old Schnauzer Hansel to Science Diet UD. Since then and feeding the UD he has been free of bladder stones. It's so comforting to know he won't have to go through another painful surgery! March 24, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Way too expensive and my dogs hate it. I have 2 dogs onprescription dog food and I spend more on their food than on my family food. They hate the taste so I have to buy some can dog food to mix in with it or they just won't eat it I try to get the coupons and can't get in my account half the time and when I do the coupons won't print. If it wasn't for my pet's health I would not purchase this food. October 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding customer service and dog for product. Our dog Koda really enjoys his new food. He now lets us know when he thinks it is time for him to eat (which is always). We are happy to see him enjoy his food because sometimes he can be very choosey. Thank-You for making our life easier. Just knowing we don't have to always search for this food and seeing the cost is very capable, if not cheaper, than the dog food stores help take some of out everyday stress away. December 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product corrected urinary issues. Our Pomeranian loves this dog food. She was diagnosed with urinary issues that could cause bladder stones. Our vet recommended this dog food. The tradition from one dog food to another was virtually non existent. She adapted to it immediately. We love that we can get it in larger quantities at Chewy.com, as the vet's office carries only the small bags. September 25, 2014
  • 2016-08-28 T11:00:40.272-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_93, tr_93
  • loc_en_US, sid_69623, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 next>>