Loading...

Hill's Prescription Diet w/d Digestive/Weight/Glucose Management Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food

  • List Price:

    $92.39

  • Price:

    $76.99 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

  • You Save:

    $15.40 (17%)

In stock
27.5-lb bag
  • 8.5-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 27.5-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

Some dogs can be more prone to gain weight than others. Weight problems can be successfully managed through changes in your dog's food. At Hill's, nutritionists and veterinarians have developed clinical nutrition especially formulated to provide complete and balanced nutrition to manage dogs prone to weight gain. Prescription Diet w/d also helps dogs maintain normal blood glucose levels and promotes healthy digestion.

Key Benefits

  • Clinically tested nutrition for conditions that respond to fiber
  • Helps metabolize fat, maintain lean muscle, and maintain a healthy weight with added antioxidants to control cell oxidation and promote a healthy immune system
  • Promotes urinary tract health and an overall healthy immune system
  • High levels of L-carnitine to increase energy metabolism and burn fat while increasing lean muscle mass
  • Moderately high fiber levels provide a feeling of fullness and may help reduce begging and this formula helps stabilize and minimize fluctuation of blood glucose levels in dogs requiring glucose management

Special Note

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69799
  • Weight
    27.5 pounds
  • Brand
    Hill's, Science Diet
  • Breed Size
    All Breeds, Small, Medium, Large
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Sensitive Digestion, Prescription Food, Weight Control

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Whole Grain Wheat, Whole Grain Corn, Powdered Cellulose, Chicken Meal, Corn Gluten Meal, Whole Grain Sorghum, Soybean Mill Run, Chicken Liver Flavor, Pork Fat, Soybean Oil, Pork Liver Flavor, Lactic Acid, Caramel Color, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, L-Lysine, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Calcium Pantothenate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Vitamin A Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Iodized Salt, Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, L-Carnitine, Calcium Sulfate, Dl-Methionine, L-Threonine, L-Tryptophan, Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Caloric Content

  1. 240 kcal/cup
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 15.0% min
Crude Fat 6.0% min
Crude Fiber 20.0% max
Sodium 0.33% max
Magnesium 0.12% max
Carnitine 200 ppm min

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet® dry food, canned food, & treats Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet Lovers Also Bought

Customer Reviews

Hill's Prescription Diet w/d Digestive/Weight/Glucose Management Chicken Flavor Dry Dog Food is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 365.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Diabetic Dog My dog is 7 & has been a diabetic for a year. She lost weight by giving her 1 cup in am & pm. She slimmed down by 22 pounds. Also she love the taste. I so grateful for being able to get this food online.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Problem solved! This food has saved our dog from a serious issue. He constantly had loose stool, however since he is on Hills w/d for the last 3 years he is completely normal and healthy. Thank you, Hills W/D!
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food at a real savings. My dog is diabetic and this food is a must for him. It can get pretty expensive but with Chewy I can get it at a great price and that really helps!
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product great and service great Order was shipped quickly and accurately. Pleasure doing business.
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for diabetic dogs So our dog was diagnosed with diabetes and was prescribed this food in can form but he did not like it and wanted to eat his old dry food. I searched this formula and found it in dry form ordered and he LOVES it. He goes crazy when is feeding time. I also noticed his digestion has improved. I absolutely recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, real glucose control My 12ish year old lab mix was recently diagnosed with diabetes mellitus. She started on regular insulin and i searched around to find her a diet i *thought* would keep her glucose levels in check. Well, simply reading ingredients isnt enough. It is also crucial to have the right amount and type of fiber in the diet. With other limited ingredient and potato free foods, her levels were still climbing into high 400s, even with 23 units of insulin. Low 200s were difficult to reach, and forget about getting below that. After one week or so with the Hills W/D glucose management food, she recently tested back down near 200. That is with keeping all other variables relatively constant, and only switching her food source. And that was also accomplished with only 20 units of insulin. At first, i was nervous about the high price and if my dog would like a food with 20% fiber. She LOVES it. she previously needed chicken or something added to her food to make it more enticing, but this stuff she gobbles up without hesitation. The price is well worth the peace of mind that comes with a manageable glucose level. Best decision in my dog's diabetes care was to invest in this food. If you have trouble getting glucose levels to safe and healthy ranges, try this food first before you throw money away on increasing insulin doses.
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food! My Belle was diagnosed with diabetes and we were told she has to eat this food. She is extremely picky, but started eating this with a mixture of the canned. She has lost weight and her glucose levels (along with the insulin of course) are at a manageable level! If your dog doesn't mix dry, the canned food is a favorite of Belle's, too.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome ! My 5 year old Airedale terrier took to this product without hesitation ! I have had many dogs over the years and have never seen one of my dogs take to it so fast. She can't get enough of it !! It even has a nice smell. At this point I feel that it has cleared up her digestive issues.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great products my dog hunter is a yellow lab. He is the pickiest dog I have ever had. He would give me that look like what this I had to add meat or chicken . When he tried Hills w/d chicken flavored dog food he eats everything in his bowl. we tried every dog food out there. nothing compares.
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has kept my show dog happy and healthy I cannot praise Chewy enough for their selection of products. Recently I had to think about finding another brand of dog biscuit, and they were very helpful in suggesting what they had available that would meet my dog's needs. I recommend them to everyone that I can.
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cleared up soft stools I put my puppy on WD food after trying other foods to firm up her soft stools. WD worked great . I eventually was able to slowly switch her over to a higher protein food.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So convenient!! My little old cocker spaniel loves this new diet!!! She was Gaining too much weight in her senior years. Much more energy now and she has lost 5 pounds.
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Diabetic My MinPin is a diabetic and this food is perfect for him. Kibble is the right size, not smelly, and fits his medical needs.
Date published: 2017-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great company This is a rx food my dog needs and I pay 90 at petsmart This company is reasonably cheaper!!!!!! Fast delivery
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from dog food great product for animals who need a special diet. Our dog loves the food. Can't wait to get her meal each day.
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Fix For Young 100# Male Lab with Stomach Issues We went through all of the testing in the world and many different food brands all labeled as "sensitive stomach recipe." This one by far and large was the best thing we ever gave our big guy. He does not have weight issues as he is a large statured dog, he has had issues with diarrhea and loose stool since we brought him home at 7 weeks old. It got to the point he was refusing to eat in fear of what would happen when he used the bathroom. With this food, that's certainly not the case at all. He scarfs it down and does the happy dance while I am filling his bowl. His stool has been solid and has not reacted poorly to any other treats given to him since we started this food brand. It's high fiber content helps BIG TIME! Wish it had more protein but we find ways to substitute it in his diet. The price is high of course but definitely beats $150 trips to the vet once a month!!
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Put it in the Blender! This food is so hard that my dog couldn't eat it esp after having 4 teeth pulled so I put it in my ninja blender and grind it into a fine powder. Scoop out what you need into the bowl and mix well with water until there is no powder left. I add half a can of the hills prescription stew and mix together. My dog loves it and it's helped her stomach issues a lot. Giving 4 stars instead of 5 since I have to grind it. I grind up enough for 3-4 weeks and store it in an air tight Tupperware container.
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Food for for diabetic dog Being newly diagnosed with diabetes, Georgi is now restricted in his eating. The dry kibble as prescribed by his vet is mixed with a little W/D canned and makes the kibble much more palatable. He is feeling much better and loosing a little weight. When we needed quick replenishment of his food and the vet indicated they would need to order it and it would take at least a week, we went to chewey and received our order in 3 days.
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good substitution for IAMs Vet Formula My 11 1/2 year old has been on IAMs Vet Formula for nearly 10 years due to his always gassy stomach. My vet told me that they would be discontinuing the IAMS Vet Formula and has switched my dog to Hills W/D formula, so far no gassy stomach and no diarrhea. Seems to be a good fit.
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our dogs love this food Our older pet was diagnosed with a thyroid problem and our vet put him on Prescription diet. He lost a few pounds and had more energy. Started to go for walks again. Decided to try it for the other two as one has a weight problem. Too soon to tell only on this for two weeks.
Date published: 2017-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for digestion problems! Our dogs love this product and we love how easy it is to pickup their pet waste as it is well formed and very consistent. No more bloody stools for our intestinally challenged puppy and it helps maintain his healthy weight. We highly recommend it!
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Medically Necessary Since my boy has been diagnosed diabetic, he was placed on w/d food. As for the dry, he barely tolerates it but he loves the canned varieties (both stew & pate). This is great condition specific food& I would recommend it highly.
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product was prescribed by my dog's vet and he has been on it for at least 2 years! He is 14 years old and still my best friend ever! I was delighted to find the Chewy site. I ordered without any problems and received it within 2 days or so! This is my new go to site for Scooby's dog food and treats. Wonderful phone customer service as well! Happy Camper!!
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog did a complete 180! This food, as prescribed by my dog's veterinarian, totally changed my little Pug. She's a completely different dog, energetic, no GI issues and LOVES to play!
Date published: 2017-02-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dogs do not like the "smell" of this product ! Only food the "girls" have not devoured, therefore, the product may be good for them, but is it because they will not eat as much.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs love this dog food My dogs have been on this dog food for a while, they love it…And it is an easy digestive dog food….
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Great product. Used it for years buying it through the vets office. This is much more convenient.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you. Great price, delivered on time. Thank you. Great price, delivered on time. I'm looking at the monthly delivery now.
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dietary product for a diabetic dog. Prompt delivery, easy ordering, good competitive pricing and a huge time saver!
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just starting it So far Chelsea eats it well. Unable to know if it works to short of time frame
Date published: 2017-01-10
  • y_2017, m_2, d_25, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_365
  • loc_en_US, sid_69625, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrchewy