Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Canned Dog Food

  • List Price:

    $52.49

  • Price:

    $42.67 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping over $49

  • You Save:

    $9.82 (19%)

In stock
  • 5.5-oz, case of 24
  • 13-oz, case of 12
- Quantity +

Description

  • Item Number
    69803
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Food Form
    Wet Food
  • Made in
    United States
  • Breed Size
    All Breeds
  • Lifestage
    All Stages

Food sensitivities and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Dogs that have a food sensitivity or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your dog suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet z/d clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your dog's skin and food sensitivities. In fact, z/d is clinically proven nutrition to help avoid adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Helps improve digestion & stool quality
  • Helps eliminate food related causes of skin irritation
  • Visible improvement in skin & coat
  • Helps maintain a healthy skin barrier
  • Highly hydrolyzed protein
  • Single carbohydrate source: Corn Starch
  • Essential fatty acid enriched
  • Clinically proven antioxidants

Note: Hill's is going through a packaging change: Original was formerly Ultra; same great formula, just a new name!

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Ingredients

Water, Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Corn Starch, Powdered Cellulose, Soybean Oil, Dicalcium Phosphate, Calcium Carbonate, Potassium Chloride, Iodized Salt, Choline Chloride, Dl-Methionine, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Ascorbic Acid (Source of Vitamin C), Thiamine Mononitrate, Niacin Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Biotin, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid), Potassium Citrate, Minerals (Zinc Oxide, Ferrous Sulfate, Manganese Sulfate, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate), Magnesium Oxide, L-Tryptophan, Taurine, Beta-Carotene.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 159 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by FINALLY NO BITING NOR ITCHING!! My shih-tzu, Sookie, 5.5 years developed severe itching and biting over the last year. Her skin became very irritated and flakey. I tried special baths and shampoos. She began smelling like she lived outside all the time-although I was bathing her. I initially thought she got a bad episode of "fleas" that started it, but it just never stopped. Finally, i took her to the vet. He prescribed this after giving her some steroids to wean off of and a special bath than would numb her scratched, raw areas. THIS IS THE BEST DOG FOOD! She is always so picky and thought she would never eat this. It's consistancy is that of thick refried bean mash. SHe even eats the dry food (I only wish it were the tiny bites like the Science Diet). I also make her treats with it. I just slice it up into chunks and put it in the oven on 305 for about 20 min. SHE LOVES THEM! Thanks so much for the great food! It is expensive, but Ive made sacrifices so she doesnt have to be miserable! I just wish there were some coupons!! Thanks again! January 26, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rubber The food looks like rubber. Its prescription food so maybe it has to look like this July 21, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by z/d dog food my dog has been on the z/d food. I got my first order. i think i will not have any problem. thank you July 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product was great value Product was great value for my pooch and prices was match able June 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product My dog easily digests this food and it seems to provide all the nutrients for his health. June 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product does what it is designed to do. Although I admit that my dog doesn't really care for this product, it fulfills its designed purpose. While on this prescription food, my dog no longer chews constantly on her paws so they have healed and she is much happier. June 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by pup likes this Rx diet My dog is on this diet for IBD and he seems to prefer it out of the limited options available to him. It is a sticky homogeneous texture and it's good for hiding pills in it. It seems to be suiting his digestive needs while being exciting enough for him to want to eat it. May 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Z/D is the only one he will continue to eat! My male Shih Tzu has been quite particular about his food since diagnosed with IBD and severe skin allergies a couple of years ago. We have purchased every appropriate prescriptive food on the market and he would tire of it after only a few days and then refuse to eat any more. Finally when he initially tried Z/D he ate ravenously and still craves it - we even use it for his treats! He has finally gained back his weight and runs around like a puppy - not bad for a 14-year old dog! He is currently on case 4. Thank you Hills Z/D!! April 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by z/d canned dog food This dog food was recommended by our vet for a dog (Boxer) with colitis. The dog food together with medication helped our dog to stop her constant diarrhea. She will be eating this food and nothing else for six weeks. So far it's working well, and I can recommend it if your dog is having a similar problem. After six weeks I will introduce other foods one by one hoping to isolate what she can and cannot eat. May 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for food allergies Our baby suffers from intestinal Lymphangiectasia and this wet good is a great complement to her dry food- plus she loves the taste of it! May 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is the only food that my rescue collie can tolerate. Before Chewy.com, we had to look all over our entire area to purchase enough food for our collie to last a week. Chewy has taken all of the pressure off. What a relief. And when I call customer service, I get a live person right away, who actually cares. We will be with Chewy.com forever! April 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog likes this. He has severe skin problems and they seem to be going away. This product is good quality and my pet appears to enjoy it. April 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for allergies We broke down and had my dog allergy tested a couple of years ago. It turned out she was allergic to five ingredients in her previous food. We put her on ZD and many of her problems were eliminated. Now we just have to worry about outdoor allergies. This was our first order with Chewy. Very impressed. Less expensive than getting the food from the vet. April 15, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Doesn't look appetizing but if my dog eats it, it's okay with us. She doesn't scratch like she used to, and is looking a lot better. April 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is an excellent food source for dogs with environmental and skin allergies. It is also a great product for dogs with digestion problems. I have tried at least 20 different dog foods for my dog. Each one came with side effects. Countless dollars had been spent on various expensive dog foods over the years that claimed to prevent digestion issues, skin issues, etc. My veterinarian gave me samples of the Hill's Prescription Diet zd dog food to try. I was amazed! Prior to trying this brand, my dog was constantly at the vets for skin irritations and staph infections on his skin. Before, he constantly was chewing his paws and anywhere else he could reach to obtain relief from constant itching. He also suffered from digestion issues. He would get hiccups, bloated belly and bowel problems. With in a week of using this product, the rashes went away and the paw chewing had subsided. He has had no more hiccups, bloating and has regular, normal bowel movements. Also, he likes the flavor. One can is enough for three meals, for he is a small breed. So, it is actually cheaper than all the other foods we have tried. He has even lost weight and is more energetic. I only wish that Hill's would manufacture the dry dog food in the zd in tiny bites for small breed dogs as mine. They do have it in a small size however, I purchased it for my dog and he would not eat it because the morsels were still to large for his tiny mouth. January 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by No More Diarrhea Buddy started having unexplained diarrhea that lasted almost 6 months without any relief. Our vet had us try many different things and many tests were done. it was finally determined that he most likely had a food allergy so he was prescribed a Z/D diet (can & dry). His diarrhea stopped immediately and hasn't returned in 2 years. Buddy was a very picky eater before (maybe the other food made his tummy hurt?), but has never once passed up a Z/D meal. He gobbles up this food like it's a steak dinner. Since he is on such a strict diet it was hard finding a treat that wouldn't mess up his stomach. We decided to try and bake the Z/D canned food and had great results. We just slice up the can food and bake at 350 on each side for 16 minutes. The smell is terrible, but these make really great treats for a dog with a sensitive stomach. Our other dogs love them as treats too! September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prices keep climbing! Food is fantastic for my dog's health but over the past six months the price on here keeps climbing. It's almost no savings compared to my vet anymore. April 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is great This is not what I was picturing a canned food to be but it works great- and it is a nice treat for our dog since she has terrible allergies and can't have special treats. April 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solved the GI problems We switched to a combined diet of the wet food and dry kibble using the Hill's prescription Z/D after our Golden came down with pancreatitis and additional undiagnosed illness the vets believed was related to the pancreatitis. Our pet couldn't keep any food down and was rapidly losing weight, was lethargic and we were genuinely concerned that he wasn't going to make it to his 4th birthday. It's been over 2 weeks since we switched to the hydrolyzed food and he hasn't had a vomiting episode since. He's done a complete 180 degree turn and is slowly putting back the weight he's lost. He's energetic, his eyes are clear and he's just like his former self. We believe this dog food saved his life. We're slowly reducing the amount of the wet dog food and introducing more kibble to his diet. May 27, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by The food is to mashed/patued Wish it had chunks. My dog doesn't really like it. March 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by She says it's good! My Peanut was prescribed this food as she had not been doing well. I highly doubted that she would eat it, as I had tried numerous different things to no avail. Well, getting it home and giving it to her...SUCCESS! she absolutely loves it. Had never been around pate, it had a weird consistency. But hey, if she eats it I don't care how it looks! February 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our dog loves this food... Because of some allergies and other food sensitivities our vet prescribed Z/D. We had really resisted moving to "wet" food because of the inconvenience and mess compared to dry however the dog absolutely loves it, so we just couldn't bring ourselves to move back to dry. The only two issues I know of with this dog food are that (1) it doesn't smell great and (2) it is expensive as compared to other dog food no matter where you buy it. One thing to think about when setting up auto delivery is the number of cans you need vs. the default ship schedule. After I setup auto delivery, I contacted customer service and they were good enough to modify the auto ship schedule so that I won't run "over" building up a surplus of cans over time, and also wont run short so that we run out of cans before the next shipment arrives. Thanks Chewy! January 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our dog's life has changed Our poodle now eats prescribed Hill's z/d, and she now eats twice-a-day. In the past she might have eatten twice but usually once. Buying the canned dog food from Chewy has made it so easy. The two cases arrive as part of a standard order and the cost is a bit less than most other suppliers, including the vet's office. Good food and a good price delivered on a regular schedule, it's a dog's life. February 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This has really helped Zoey with her allegies to food MY dog had issues and the vet, suggested this food along with medicine. She has got better and was switched to dd. She has really improved and the food was great for her, but I was feeding 3to 4 cans a day for 3 months. She is a lab and requires a lot of food. It is quite expensive for a long term treatment . I would like to keep her on it but when she gets better I will have to switch .I am buying 2 cases a week for her and that is expensive , yes this is helping and if my income was unlimited I wouldn't have a problem with the price. I did print the coupons from the website but that is a one time thing. Other than being expensive for long term care I see that the food really is helping and she likes it. September 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Game changer for my hound My sweet hound mix has always struggled with awful digestive issues. Not to be too graphic, but before switching to his food, she'd never once had a totally firm stool and often had chronic diarrhea. After 2 years of trying meds and all kinds of diets, I got a referral for her to see specialists at the Univ of GA vet school. It turns out she has protein allergies. This food has been the miracle cure. She loves it - eats it right up. So thankful to have found this via the awesome doctors at the UGA vet school. January 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smells like Human Grade - Rocky Says YUM! What a Surprise: This food is Flavorful, has a Great Scent and is easy on the tummy and allergy free. WOW!!! We Love It! (check out thedry food and treats too) February 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chewy ROCKS! Love the price & delivery time This was our first time trying Chewy.com and it won't be our last. Our toy poodle is on Hills z/d and we needed to buy a large supply of the canned. Chewy had the best prices and FREE delivery over $49. The food arrived in a reasonable amount of time and we saved $$$. Z/d is awesome in helping our furry kids with their tummy and skin problems. We only wish we had started our Raven (poodle) on it years ago. z/d and Chewy.com ROCKS! December 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm buying more. Our dog "Fred" loves the food and his skin has cleared up. He is a little 8 lb. rescue dog who is now feeling much better. February 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by no allergy worries and pet loves the taste My 7 year old ShihTzu had severe allergies both environmental and food. He also has had to have bladder stones removed. He had been eating the z/d dry food but we needed to increase his water intake. I tried the canned z/d ultra and he loves it. Knowing that the Hill's company stays with a fixed formula on their diets eases my mind that I KNOW THE INGREDIENTS in his food. The quality is excellent and I do not worry about "all those pet food recalls" that have plagued other pet food companies. He loves his diet and I am able to control the portion of his allergies that are food related. I know the food is expensive but it is worth it. Veterinary visits are not inexpensive and the better his allergies are controlled the less visits we have. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by just what my dog needs It is unfortunate to have a pet with gastric issues but when my girl got to where she could not eat anything without upsetting her system the vets recommendation to the z/d has allowed her to return to a normal, healthy life. As a specialty food it is not cheap but to see my girl feeling good it is worth the money. January 12, 2016
  • 2016-08-26 T09:59:33.227-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_159, tr_159
  • loc_en_US, sid_69628, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>