Loading...

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food

  • Price:

    $94.99 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

In stock
25-lb bag
  • 8-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 25-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

Food sensitivities and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Dogs that have a food sensitivities or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your dog suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet z/d clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your dog's skin and food sensitivities. In fact, z/d is clinically proven nutrition to help avoid adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Helps improve digestion and stool quality with highly hydrolyzed protein
  • Helps eliminate food related causes of skin irritation and results in visible improvement to the skin and coat
  • Helps maintain a healthy skin barrier and enriched with essential fatty acid
  • Developed with a single carbohydrate source: Corn Starch
  • Clinically proven antioxidants are added for optimal health benefits

Special Note

Hill's is going through a packaging and formulation change. Customers may receive the old packaging and formulation during this transition.

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69806
  • Brand
    Hill's, Science Diet
  • Breed Size
    Small, Medium, Large, All Breeds
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Corn Starch, Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Powdered Cellulose, Soybean Oil, Calcium Carbonate, Dicalcium Phosphate, Lactic Acid, Potassium Chloride, Glyceryl Monostearate, Choline Chloride, Iodized Salt, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), DL-Methionine, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Caloric Content

  1. 354 kcal/cup
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 14.0% min
Crude Fat 10.0% min
Crude Fiber 5.0% max
Omega 3 Fatty Acids 0.3% min
Omega 6 Fatty Acids 3.0% min

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Use only as directed by your veterinarian. Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, canned food & treats. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet Lovers Also Bought

Customer Reviews

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 303.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We were purchasing our dog food from our vet, but it was costly and parking is difficult in that location. You beat their prices and with free shthere We were purchasing same dog food from our vet, but it was costlier and parking is a challeng at vet office. Your same dog food is cheaper and with free shipping, it's a no-brainer to get it from you!
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is great. Since feeding Daisy Mae this food she hasn't had any hives. Her skin has cleared up and her hair is returning. Her former bald pink belly now has white hair covering it. Also she loves it.
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped immediately with our dogs has issues. So far so good. He seems to like the flavor and his gas issues have gone away. As for stool consistency, is looks better as well.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a great product! My 8-year-old golden retriever has had allergy problems and constantly had ear infections. One vet was content to just keep giving her steroid shots; I never liked that, and they were not only not helping much anymore, but they were hurting her hips. The new vet said he's had about a 90-95% success rate with dogs that have used this food, so we gave it a try. I had tried so many different foods, including limited ingredient ones that got great reviews, so one more couldn't hurt. She's been on the z/d food for more than 2 mos. now, and it's made such a big difference. There was a time or two I was tempted to stop it because it didn't seem to be helping, but the vet said it can take 6-8 wks. or more to really see a difference, so we hung in there, and I'm so glad we did. It has totally cleared up her ears, and they were always so bad before. If your dog has allergies, I recommend giving this food a try. It's pricey, but its formula works, and it's worth the cost. The Chewy price and service are awesome.
Date published: 2014-01-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stay away What to begin... I have a older English bulldogge that was prescribed this diet which I didn't agree with from the start. The ingredients are just horrible. Well he actually did good on the Hills Science Diet Ultra z/d until we bought the bag that said "New & Improved" because they decided to make numerous changes. So my dog ended up at the vet after continuous scratching and a very large hot spot with mild ear infection and also some hair loss on his face. Well my roommate decided to try the remainder of the bag for her dog. Low and behold he now has a large hot spot (he is not a bulldog and is a mixed breed). The roommate's dog is 6 years old and has never experienced a hot spot and bouts of itching such as this. I'm sorry Science Diet but I also called and complained and the lady seemed careless as to what I was saying. I hope others read this and decide to make better choices!!!
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Larger bag of prescription food I have been purchasing the same prescription food for my dog for over 4 year and had always found it a big hassle when purchasing the food at the pet store since it always required a prescription card which I almost always forget. Purchasing online is not only hassle free but way more convenient. Also, I am able to purchase a larger bag which most stores do not carry and the auto-ship is the best feature.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped my Border Collie's IBS My 10 year old Border Collie was in and out of the hospital and ER with severe GI upset. We thought we were going to lose her a couple times. After a bowel biopsy revealed Irritable Bowel Syndrome, my vet recommend the Hills Z/D. I'm all about natural ingredients, so I was skeptical about this, but would do anything for my dogs and was willing to try it. After a week, her symptoms got better and then resolved. Now this is the only food she can eat. NO more diarrhea, vomiting, teeth grinding, or drooling. For her it is a miracle food. We've discovered after trial and error that she can't have fish products (or anything marine related), so this is the only food of its kind on market she is able to stomach. Literally. Glad they have a treat as that is the only treat she can have as well. Glad to have my barn friend back. :-)
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing results it is not hyperbole when I say that Z/D kibble has revitalized my 16 year old poodle! For the last year she has been declining in mental acuity and everyday physical ability- spending the majority of her time sleeping or wandering listlessly. I tried the hills food to give her diet more protein but got a totally different result. A month after being on the food there was a noticeable uptick in her energy level and mental alertness- it has truly transformed her quality of life. She is now frisky, takes long brisk walks without getting tired, and mentally she is so much improved!!! As I haven't changed anything else in her life I really attribute her change to the new food
Date published: 2016-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Right food, right Company The Vet prescribed this food and it works, so that is good enough for me and my dog loves the taste. Add to that the fact that Chewy is a great company to deal with. They answer the phone without an answering machine to direct you and immediately do their best to meet your need. So glad that the Vet's receptionist recommended Chewy.
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interim change of dog food The vet recommended this prescription diet food for my dog's sensitivities. I am transitioning her to the new food and we are at 90% new and 10% previous food. So far there has been marked improvement in her scratching behavior and at 100% new food she should continue to do well.
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It seems to work Max our 3 yr old German Shepherd that weighs in at 135 lbs is a picture of health, but for the scratching he had. With this new food for the past three weeks he hardly scratches now. It seems to have cured his problem. This pic is when he was 3 months old. Larry S.
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It is a good product but a bit pricey. We still don't know if it is going to help our pet with her issues, but things seem to be better for the short time she has been eating it. Bring a bigger dog it will cost us almost a hundred dollars a month or more. Not sure yet how much she will need a month.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs eat it without problem Was worried about the price and if the dogs would like it. Both of them took to it right away and with no problem in gradual changing over of their foods.
Date published: 2017-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Love Chewy.com. We order wet and dry for our dog. She has allergies. So easy with Chewy.com. Absolutely love it!
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Protein supplement My Chessie and Brittany enjoy z/d it was for the Chessie's allergy but the Brittany steals it.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my dog! I have been very pleased with this Hills dog food. My dog loves it.
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what the doctor ordered I recommend this product for dogs with digestive issues.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good I have a 3 year old white boxer with hypersinsitive skin and food allergies. Her skin would break out in bumps all over her body that would scab and then fall off leaving her with splotches of missing fur all over. We had put her on other prescription dog food which worked well for her skin but after a few months she refused to eat it. It was white with no smell and looked more like Kix cereal than dog food. I was worried something was wrong with her since she stopped eating. So I quickly I switched to Hills z/d which was the other recommendation from her vet and she loves it! She can't wait to eat now and drools all over while she's waiting for me to get it to her. This looks and smells like regular dog food which the other brand did not. It's been one month and no new breakouts. So all I can say is so far so good! I pray it stays this way.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Could be a life saver I wish my dog was prescribed on this hydrolyzed protein diet long time ago so myself and my dog should have not suffered for a long time. It's pricey but for as long as it helps my dog with his GI issues and spares us from vet visits, I will continue to work hard so I will be able to afford it. My dog has the Z/D one.
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog is finally healthy Kooper itched and licked his feet constantly. Thankfully Science Diet cured that
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's A Miracle My cocker spaniel will be 11 soon. She was diagnosed with food allergies and prescribed Hill zd dry and wet when she was 4. She hated the wet and since neither seemed to be making any difference in her skin lesions, I stopped using the canned and began cooking for her myself. She loved that for a while and got bored. Now she is on the new zd dry and Hills +7. I bathe Taffy twice a week to control her skin issues. Two days on the zd dry new formula (which reads exactly the same as the old), her skin cleared up with no new eruptions. I was surprised not to find differences in the formula since the size and texture of the new zd dry are so different. I've got my fingers crossed and I hope Hills will continue to research and upgrade their products for our beloved pets. PAdams, NY
Date published: 2016-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hills Z/D Rx diet works for our Goldendoodle's allergies Chewy's price on Hills Prescription Z/D diet for skin allergies is what the vet suggested, and definitely less expensive than purchasing from our vet. We decided to go ahead with the automatic ordering and delivery which shaves a bit more off the price of our 50# bag. This diet is really helping our 60 lb. rescue dog, along with some medication which she takes daily. She's got yeast problems - had smelly, oily coat and constant scratching. Tried some other remedies before asking our vet for allergy help. She's doing great - the only food she gets is Hills Z/D. NOTHING ELSE! No table scraps, treats, zip.
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has helped prevent ear infections for my dog with food allergies My 3 year old lab, who is an outside dog, was getting ear infections every 6-8 weeks before we started using Hill's Prescription DietZ/D. Our doctor put her own this diet because he thinks that she has food allergies causing her to get these frequent ear infections. Once we completely switched to the Z/D diet she has not had a single ear infection. She was also in the obese category per her doctor, but she has lost 14 pounds since starting this diet, and she is now in the healthy range for her age and type. I would highly recommend this dog food and using Chewy.com to order your food because it's cheaper then at the vet or any other store and it is shipped right to your home. I have set up a bag of food to be delivered every 6 weeks, and I am looking forward to not having to worry about remembering to go to the vet to pick the food up. This is a great place to order your pets food from!
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only been 3 weeks My Boy really likes this food he is a blue color Pit an only a yr old. He's coat was absolutely beautiful up until now. I'm hoping it will work with his coat an itchy skin so fingers crossed. He also had a shot an he's not itching so bad but hopeful. I feel is bad for him. I only rated this a 4 star because not long enough to see if it's gonna work
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my pit bulls Do to serious skin issues we have tried several different types of foods without success . ZD prescription seems to be doing the trick. Even my most finicky eater can't wait for breakfast and dinner. Excellent product .
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! My dog had such bad skin allergies from food. I fed her chicken, rice, and veggies for the last six months. This is the first dog food she has been able to tolerate. Now, I have more time to play with her, instead of cooking her food every day!
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Z/D Z/D has be prescribed to my dog after finding out he has inflammatory bowel disease it has helped so much with his digestion love this product works well for my dog
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved the day My 2 year old black lab was throwing up at least once per month on several test foods. Since using this food she has not thrown up once in 2 months.
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No problems when we switched our skin sensitive dog to this food Our dog is doing better with his skin issues on this Vet recommended Hills food ! He also finds it tasty and no digestive issues when he switched .
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A life saver! Earlier this year my Bulldog/boxer mix was found to have IBS. After going through tests, vets bills, rapid weight loss and chronic watery stools, I thought we were going to lose our girl. We tried the food that the vet prescribed but she continued to worsen. Finally after many different foods we have found that the Hills Prescription Diet Z/D food works! She now has solid stools, skin is shiny and has gained weight.It takes time to get the right food for your pet but so worth it.
Date published: 2016-10-09
  • y_2017, m_3, d_29, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_303
  • loc_en_US, sid_69629, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrchewy