Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food

- Quantity +
  • List Price:

    $107.89

  • Price:

    $89.23 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping

  • You Save:

    $18.66 (17%)

In stock
  • 8-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 25-lb bag

Description

  • Item Number
    69806
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Made in
    United States
  • Breed Size
    All Breeds
  • Lifestage
    Adult

Food sensitivities and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Dogs that have a food sensitivities or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your dog suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet z/d clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your dog's skin and food sensitivities. In fact, z/d is clinically proven nutrition to help avoid adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Helps improve digestion & stool quality
  • Helps eliminate food related causes of skin irritation
  • Visible improvement in skin & coat
  • Helps maintain a healthy skin barrier
  • Highly hydrolyzed protein
  • Single carbohydrate source: Corn Starch
  • Essential fatty acid enriched
  • Clinically proven antioxidants

Note: Hill's is going through a packaging change: Original was formerly Ultra; same great formula, just a new name!

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Ingredients

Corn Starch, Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Powdered Cellulose, Soybean Oil, Calcium Carbonate, Dicalcium Phosphate, Lactic Acid, Potassium Chloride, Glyceryl Monostearate, Choline Chloride, Iodized Salt, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), DL-Methionine, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 440 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great pricing!! I am excited to have a company whos food isnt too over priced for special cared for dogs. July 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product is the same as I was getting from the vet's office. Any time that I place an order to Chewy it is always shipped quickly. July 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has great values Product has great value and price when signup for autoship June 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far so good I have a 3 year old white boxer with hypersinsitive skin and food allergies. Her skin would break out in bumps all over her body that would scab and then fall off leaving her with splotches of missing fur all over. We had put her on other prescription dog food which worked well for her skin but after a few months she refused to eat it. It was white with no smell and looked more like Kix cereal than dog food. I was worried something was wrong with her since she stopped eating. So I quickly I switched to Hills z/d which was the other recommendation from her vet and she loves it! She can't wait to eat now and drools all over while she's waiting for me to get it to her. This looks and smells like regular dog food which the other brand did not. It's been one month and no new breakouts. So all I can say is so far so good! I pray it stays this way. May 9, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by GOOD FOR A SHORT TERM I had originally been purchasing this food through my Vet and after 3 months doing so I came across Chewy.com. At that time it was more convenient to purchase online and I am very happy with Chewy Service. The food however started to give my dog issues going #2. Progressively it became less solid and more watery and she was very uncomfortable. We had to stop giving her this food after she had 2 major accidents. Her new diet is helping, but she does not like the food as much. June 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for my allergy-prone dog This is the only food we've found that does not give our dog allergies. We were desperate for an alternative after trying several dry foods and even started cooking our dog's meals at home. When our vet recommended this food we were skeptical, but it really worked! Our frenchie is rash-free and she loves the taste! This is The second bag we buy! June 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product worked as it should, thankfully ;-) My American bull dog had been waking me up at midnight and at 3 am each night - having to go poops. Itchy and feeling irritable, the vet thought we should go prescription to rule out food allergies. That night, I slept through the night ~ I was convinced something was happening in a good way. I think we can gradually move on to our other foods - I think perhaps the food she had been eating was not agreeing with her. Whatever, it's been a solution worth venturing into. I was totally hesitant to try it, but the added cost does not compare to the sleepless nights and vet bills... June 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Dogs love it! Easy and fast delivery! I will use them again.. :) June 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great dog food My dog has many digestive issues and food allergies and Bill's z/d has helped her so much. June 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such a great product! My 8-year-old golden retriever has had allergy problems and constantly had ear infections. One vet was content to just keep giving her steroid shots; I never liked that, and they were not only not helping much anymore, but they were hurting her hips. The new vet said he's had about a 90-95% success rate with dogs that have used this food, so we gave it a try. I had tried so many different foods, including limited ingredient ones that got great reviews, so one more couldn't hurt. She's been on the z/d food for more than 2 mos. now, and it's made such a big difference. There was a time or two I was tempted to stop it because it didn't seem to be helping, but the vet said it can take 6-8 wks. or more to really see a difference, so we hung in there, and I'm so glad we did. It has totally cleared up her ears, and they were always so bad before. If your dog has allergies, I recommend giving this food a try. It's pricey, but its formula works, and it's worth the cost. The Chewy price and service are awesome. January 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by No more itchy dog! My Dalmatian was constantly chewing her feet until they were raw. We had tried everything on her. This is the only food that has vanished all of her food allergies. It's pricey but worth it if she's not miserable! June 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prescription Diet for my dogs We are very happy with the Hill's Pet Food. Both of our dogs like it and we have already noticed a difference in their coat. We would recommend this product to pet owners who have pets with allergies. June 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Z/D Science Hill Dog Food You need a prescription from your vet for this product. If you get it ahead of time, it will make for a smoother transaction. June 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Allergies? BUY THIS!! After researching, reviewing, and testing many dog foods (even completely raw food diets and grain/starch free foods), I felt completely helpless and thought my dog would be itching and scratching her entire life. The only thing that would tame her yeasty ears and itchy underarms was prednisone. I finally came across this food and was skeptical that, like the rest, we would have another failure. We got the prescription and tried it out, and I have to say it has been the best food ever! No more yeasty ears or itchy/scabbed skin. My dog is SO much more comfortable! I highly recommend this food if you feel like you've tried everything without success! May 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really helped our Shilo Our 5 year old cockapoo was suffering from severe food allergies. We tried switching foods on our own, but didn’t have luck. We took him to a new vet. This vet suggested this food. He is now on a very strict diet and his allergies are gone! Shilo’s belly is healed. He is not scratching or licking there anymore. The base of his tail is also healing. Shilo is getting his personality back and is even playing each day! This food made a huge difference. It is expensive, but it is worth it. Our next step was going to take Shilo to a animal dermatologist. Trust me this would be much more expensive. It’s a bit of a challenge with two dogs to make sure Shilo eats only this, but it is worth it! April 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by a life saver for our adopted poodle We adopted Pixie Poodle 10 months ago. she was a mess..very large scabs & sores everywhere! she was on a specialty food that she was actually only MILDLY alergic to. she smelled bad, looked bad & obviously felt bad. We took her to our own vet the next day with the chart of her allergies & they immediately changed her food to Z/D dry. we also got Z/D treats that i break into 4 pcs & we got canned Z/D that i cut into slices & then small wedges & freeze. I use the frozen wedges as treats as well. when the cat gets his canned food, Pixie gets a frozen wedge treat. She LOVES ALL 3 varieties of Z/D food & treats. The positive results & improvements for her were Immediate! Within a week her scabs were gone, no more scratching & pawing at her mouth, she smelled better, no more loose stools & her breath was an instant improvement. We would NEVER feed her anything else. It has worked a miracle for her as she has MANY allergies to MANY food options. May 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good product Help my dog with its problem. Have a good price so I have to say May 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great! My Great Dane was having terrible acne and rashes. She had to be on antibiotics several times to clear it up. After my Vet ruled out any allergies, she recommended we try this food. It worked! She must have had a sensitivity to an ingredient in other dog foods...and we tried several brands!! Yes, this food is expensive, (especially for a Great Dane) but worth it. Deliveries from Chewy have been great! No problems at all. We order food for our other Dane here as well. Highly recommended! April 22, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by The price is less expensive than at the vet. I know that vet's have to make a living and pay for the staff & rent, etc.. Our dog is doing good so far on this prescription food. The on-line sales rep's were very helpful in establishing and guiding us through the Rx process. Since this food is vet prescribed. The only draw back on this food is that it is big round pebbles, wish they had smaller bites for small dogs - takes me a few minutes to smash them into smaller bites. April 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by RX dog food - no choice I have no choice but to buy this food due to my dog's food sensitivities. I must say, he does enjoy it though. My review is more about the convenience of auto ship. I should have done this years ago! April 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works for my pet My dog has terrible allergies and skin sensitivity. These products do seem to help her.I look in her eyes and I don't see a look of suffering anymore. I recommend these products to any person whose dog(s) have allergies. My dog also seems to like the taste. May 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fixed my dog right up. This is the only food that helps with my dogs digestive tract problems! Yes, it is on that bit of the expensive side, but worth it over having my dog be so sick! April 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Product is great for food allergies ZD is great for dogs with food allergies to protein...unfortunately this is the only product available whose protein value is low enough so it is not acknowledged by the dogs system. Although this is great for her overall health, she does not like the taste much as she rather have what my other two dogs have who is not affected by food allergies. The price really isn't one my daughter can afford as the dog is hers so I am having to pay for the dog food along with the immunotherapy as she has allergies to fungus that is associated with wet grass and roaches which lives in the dirt. This was based on the allergy testing done on the dog. If another flavor can be produced along with lowering the price, I believe this demand would be higher. It appears many just buy regular food and deal with the hair loss based on the price of the product. Coupons are hard to come by and the product never seems to go on sale. March 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My highly allergic dog loves this food! My 8 1/2 year old pit-boxer mix has severe food allergies to many protein sources and has had difficulties with many foods during his life. Since California's reinstatement of the ban on Kangaroo meat in January, we had to switch him off of the Iam's Kangaroo prescription blend (which had worked for him for almost 8 months!), and moved over to Royal Canin PV (venison), which he refused to eat after just a few days. When we offered him this z/d formula, he immediately inhaled it, and has had no stomach, intestinal or skin issues. I'm hugely impressed with Chewy, who refunded me the full value of the PV bag I had just ordered (and not even opened yet) and asked me to donate it to a local shelter, so that I could instead order the Z/D. February 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the expense My Shih Tzu, Sammy, has had several ear infections and issues with itchy paws. His poor paws have even become inflammed and swollen. It looks like it was all related to food allergies. After being on this for a few weeks his paw stopped itching and the redness subsided. My poor little guy just had allergies. He also has a very sensitive stomach and he's a very picky eater. He LOVES this food. I don't have any issue getting him to eat. I do have to measure his food other one will overeat which is very new for us. In the past, he wouldn't eat. I could leave his food out and he would eat a bite here and there. This is marvelous. I'm so happy he is eating so well. March 2, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not the same :( Our Doxie has been on this for years for acute ear infections. It's not only the package that has changed. He has been to Vet 3 times for ear infections and tearing at his skin. Have 2 Rescued Doxies that were switched to this for their meat/protein allergies...they got worse :( Next is to try Royal Canine :( April 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast shipping and packaged well. Arrived quickly and was packaged well, so not to be punctured or split during shipping. April 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Z/D Dog Food For the last year, my 2 year old German Shepherd's skin allergies has done a number on his coat and his skin, especially around his ears. Since eating the Hills diet Z/D dry food along with his current meds, the hair on his ears has grown back and his skin is no longer red. April 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog is allergic to everything so this is all he can eat! I appreciate that you offer this specialty food for pet because my dog can only have ZD and non-allergic treats. Thank goodness he likes it so much! April 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chewy is the best for buying Hill's Z/d food This food has been a godsend for our toy poodle who has suffered several bouts of pancreatitis over her 13+ years. Chewy.com has the best price and gets the food to you right away. You guys ROCK!!! April 2, 2016
  • 2016-07-25 T14:11:53.622-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_440, tr_440
  • loc_en_US, sid_69629, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>