Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food

  • List Price:

    $107.89

  • Price:

    $89.23 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

  • You Save:

    $18.66 (17%)

In stock
  • 8-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 25-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

  • Item Number
    69806
  • Weight
    25.0 pounds
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Made in
    United States
  • Breed Size
    All Breeds
  • Lifestage
    Adult

Food sensitivities and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Dogs that have a food sensitivities or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your dog suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet z/d clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your dog's skin and food sensitivities. In fact, z/d is clinically proven nutrition to help avoid adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Helps improve digestion & stool quality
  • Helps eliminate food related causes of skin irritation
  • Visible improvement in skin & coat
  • Helps maintain a healthy skin barrier
  • Highly hydrolyzed protein
  • Single carbohydrate source: Corn Starch
  • Essential fatty acid enriched
  • Clinically proven antioxidants

Note: Hill's is going through a packaging and formulation change. Customers may receive the old packaging and formulation during this transition.

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Ingredients

Old Formulation: Corn Starch, Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Powdered Cellulose, Soybean Oil, Calcium Carbonate, Dicalcium Phosphate, Lactic Acid, Potassium Chloride, Glyceryl Monostearate, Choline Chloride, Iodized Salt, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), DL-Methionine, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.
New Formulation: Corn Starch, Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Powdered Cellulose, Soybean Oil, Calcium Carbonate, Dicalcium Phosphate, Lactic Acid, Potassium Chloride, Glyceryl Monostearate, Choline Chloride, Iodized Salt, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), DL-Methionine, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 455 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Zd products works well for allergies I did not know what was wrong with Sparky mini pincher, he would scratch a lot so my vetenerian said that he was allergic to everything. So he recommended ZD food and after two weeks we notice he was not scratching as much after a month no more scratching. It worked for Sparky know he hair looks healthy too. Thank You! Chewy! August 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loves it! I was worried that my dog may not like it, since it's a prescription diet……….but he loves it! I ordered the wet and dry and he gobbles down both. He enjoys the treats too. August 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great price! My dog has an allergy to proteins & this is all he is able to keep down. I'm glad to have found this site to get the food a bit cheaper. It's very expensive but two thumbs up for cutting down the price a bit! Every bit helps! August 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bella loves the smaller bite-size portions since she is a small Chihuahua A Good buy, Quick delivery to my doorstep and good customer service are a few of the things that will bring me back to chewy! August 5, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Food didn't settle well with my dog, but Chewy customer service was outstanding! My pup has food allergies and I've been feeding her Royal Canin Hydrolyzed Protein for a while now. And although she does well with that food, she has been itching a lot more recently. My vet suggested I try the Hills Prescription to see if that may work better. Unfortunately…that was not the case. It did not settle well with my her tummy at all and gave her horrible gas. :( I think I'll probably just stick with the Royal Canin for now. Although the product didn't work for me, the customer service was seriously OUTSTANDING! I called to return the item and there was no hassle whatsoever. I was off the phone with the friendly customer service rep in less then 5 minutes and the return was on its way back to my card. I will definitely continue placing my orders through them. Thank you Chewy! June 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prescription food Our pit bull/husky mix has had skin problems since we adopted her three years ago and this food is great, her belly is not as red and she doesn't itch as much. It is expensive, but with the price at Chewy it is more affordable. July 22, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by week 2 going okay our vet told us to expect 6-8 weeks for treatment to work...we are on week 2 with very little improvement but still optimistic for week 6-8!!! July 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick Delivery, nowhere less expensive, great service. I have to say I was pretty impressed with Chewy. The dog food I bought required a prescription and they were very helpful in ensuring that they shipped as soon as possible - and the time to ship was very short. During this time I worked with Customer Service and they were quick, accommodating, light-hearted and humorous but to the point. The price was $30 lower then anywhere else including Amazon.com. Awesome buying experience..... July 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Product is great! The product is expensive, but is a prescription food. It has done wonders for my dog's digestive system! July 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally smaller kibble Got a new bag home and noticed improved formula??? Opened it up and finally Hills has made the kibble much smaller!!! The old kind was harder to eat for my Dixie. He seems to love the new formula! Also it doesn't smell nearly as bad as the old formula! July 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by We have been very pleased with Hills Prescription dog food. Our 14 year old Westie is still going strong. We are very pleased with Hill's Prescription dog food products. July 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such a great product! My 8-year-old golden retriever has had allergy problems and constantly had ear infections. One vet was content to just keep giving her steroid shots; I never liked that, and they were not only not helping much anymore, but they were hurting her hips. The new vet said he's had about a 90-95% success rate with dogs that have used this food, so we gave it a try. I had tried so many different foods, including limited ingredient ones that got great reviews, so one more couldn't hurt. She's been on the z/d food for more than 2 mos. now, and it's made such a big difference. There was a time or two I was tempted to stop it because it didn't seem to be helping, but the vet said it can take 6-8 wks. or more to really see a difference, so we hung in there, and I'm so glad we did. It has totally cleared up her ears, and they were always so bad before. If your dog has allergies, I recommend giving this food a try. It's pricey, but its formula works, and it's worth the cost. The Chewy price and service are awesome. January 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent service from Chewy's Chewy's called my vet and delivered my products in a shorter time than I could have imagined!!!! Called in my order Thursday and my package was on my doorstep Saturday afternoon!!! Excellent service!!!!!! July 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent dog food ! Its a excellent product for my dog. she's a border collie and has been sick this past 2 1/2 yrs she has been on this dog food this past yr and has helped her so much and now she's good......no problems .....the Vet recommended the z/d food for her and we have tried 3 other foods but this has been the best for her sensitive stomach !!! All is Well and doing wonderful !! July 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good stuff My dog has had stomach issues for 9 months, eating grass every other day, throwing up etc. The Vet recommended trying this food and our dog has improved wonderfully! It's unfortunate it's so expensive b/c I can't really afford to continue feeding it to him. I'm hoping this will at least heal his tummy and then we can go back to regular food. July 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far so good I have a 3 year old white boxer with hypersinsitive skin and food allergies. Her skin would break out in bumps all over her body that would scab and then fall off leaving her with splotches of missing fur all over. We had put her on other prescription dog food which worked well for her skin but after a few months she refused to eat it. It was white with no smell and looked more like Kix cereal than dog food. I was worried something was wrong with her since she stopped eating. So I quickly I switched to Hills z/d which was the other recommendation from her vet and she loves it! She can't wait to eat now and drools all over while she's waiting for me to get it to her. This looks and smells like regular dog food which the other brand did not. It's been one month and no new breakouts. So all I can say is so far so good! I pray it stays this way. May 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great pricing!! I am excited to have a company whos food isnt too over priced for special cared for dogs. July 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick! Very happy with the ease of ordering and the quick delivery! July 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product is the same as I was getting from the vet's office. Any time that I place an order to Chewy it is always shipped quickly. July 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has great values Product has great value and price when signup for autoship June 29, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by GOOD FOR A SHORT TERM I had originally been purchasing this food through my Vet and after 3 months doing so I came across Chewy.com. At that time it was more convenient to purchase online and I am very happy with Chewy Service. The food however started to give my dog issues going #2. Progressively it became less solid and more watery and she was very uncomfortable. We had to stop giving her this food after she had 2 major accidents. Her new diet is helping, but she does not like the food as much. June 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for my allergy-prone dog This is the only food we've found that does not give our dog allergies. We were desperate for an alternative after trying several dry foods and even started cooking our dog's meals at home. When our vet recommended this food we were skeptical, but it really worked! Our frenchie is rash-free and she loves the taste! This is The second bag we buy! June 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product worked as it should, thankfully ;-) My American bull dog had been waking me up at midnight and at 3 am each night - having to go poops. Itchy and feeling irritable, the vet thought we should go prescription to rule out food allergies. That night, I slept through the night ~ I was convinced something was happening in a good way. I think we can gradually move on to our other foods - I think perhaps the food she had been eating was not agreeing with her. Whatever, it's been a solution worth venturing into. I was totally hesitant to try it, but the added cost does not compare to the sleepless nights and vet bills... June 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great dog food My dog has many digestive issues and food allergies and Bill's z/d has helped her so much. June 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Dogs love it! Easy and fast delivery! I will use them again.. :) June 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by a life saver for our adopted poodle We adopted Pixie Poodle 10 months ago. she was a mess..very large scabs & sores everywhere! she was on a specialty food that she was actually only MILDLY alergic to. she smelled bad, looked bad & obviously felt bad. We took her to our own vet the next day with the chart of her allergies & they immediately changed her food to Z/D dry. we also got Z/D treats that i break into 4 pcs & we got canned Z/D that i cut into slices & then small wedges & freeze. I use the frozen wedges as treats as well. when the cat gets his canned food, Pixie gets a frozen wedge treat. She LOVES ALL 3 varieties of Z/D food & treats. The positive results & improvements for her were Immediate! Within a week her scabs were gone, no more scratching & pawing at her mouth, she smelled better, no more loose stools & her breath was an instant improvement. We would NEVER feed her anything else. It has worked a miracle for her as she has MANY allergies to MANY food options. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] May 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prescription Diet for my dogs We are very happy with the Hill's Pet Food. Both of our dogs like it and we have already noticed a difference in their coat. We would recommend this product to pet owners who have pets with allergies. June 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by No more itchy dog! My Dalmatian was constantly chewing her feet until they were raw. We had tried everything on her. This is the only food that has vanished all of her food allergies. It's pricey but worth it if she's not miserable! June 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Z/D Science Hill Dog Food You need a prescription from your vet for this product. If you get it ahead of time, it will make for a smoother transaction. June 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Allergies? BUY THIS!! After researching, reviewing, and testing many dog foods (even completely raw food diets and grain/starch free foods), I felt completely helpless and thought my dog would be itching and scratching her entire life. The only thing that would tame her yeasty ears and itchy underarms was prednisone. I finally came across this food and was skeptical that, like the rest, we would have another failure. We got the prescription and tried it out, and I have to say it has been the best food ever! No more yeasty ears or itchy/scabbed skin. My dog is SO much more comfortable! I highly recommend this food if you feel like you've tried everything without success! May 6, 2016
  • 2016-08-29 T10:11:55.753-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_455, tr_455
  • loc_en_US, sid_69629, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>