Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food

  • List Price:


  • Price:

    $89.23 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

  • You Save:

    $18.66 (17%)

In stock
  • 8-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 25-lb bag
- Quantity +


  • Item Number
  • Weight
    25.0 pounds
  • Brand
  • Breed Size
    Small, Medium, Large, All Breeds
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food

Food sensitivities and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Dogs that have a food sensitivities or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your dog suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet z/d clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your dog's skin and food sensitivities. In fact, z/d is clinically proven nutrition to help avoid adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Helps improve digestion & stool quality
  • Helps eliminate food related causes of skin irritation
  • Visible improvement in skin & coat
  • Helps maintain a healthy skin barrier
  • Highly hydrolyzed protein
  • Single carbohydrate source: Corn Starch
  • Essential fatty acid enriched
  • Clinically proven antioxidants

Note: Hill's is going through a packaging and formulation change. Customers may receive the old packaging and formulation during this transition.

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

Pet lovers also bought...


Corn Starch, Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Powdered Cellulose, Soybean Oil, Calcium Carbonate, Dicalcium Phosphate, Lactic Acid, Potassium Chloride, Glyceryl Monostearate, Choline Chloride, Iodized Salt, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), DL-Methionine, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 475 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent flavor Our little Boston terrier would not eat his food unless it were superior tasting and she loves it so it must be very very good. It is prescribed for her severe allergies to almost every other kind of food but she is starting to respond positively to this food by scratching less and having less Damage to her skin September 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick delivery. Thank you for the great service, I would definitely recommend. September 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally stopped tearing her side up from scratching My Dobie has suffered from incessant scratching on her left side. No reason for the left can be found. Nevertheless, putting her on the Z/D has been the only time we have gotten relief. I highly recommend you try if if the obvious hasn't worked. September 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Our lab has severe skin and stomach allergies. Our vet highly recommend Hill's Prescription Diet z/d. We tried another product that was suppose to be good for him but just not as effective as "Diet z/d". I am pleased with this dog food and very pleased with "Chewy" price and prompt delivery. September 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by love the large size bag AWESOME will be buying always from here. great price and fast delivery time September 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hills Prescription Diet z/d My dog's allergies are being contained. The best part is the arrival of the dog food. It arrived the day after I ordered. Amazing. September 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such a great product! My 8-year-old golden retriever has had allergy problems and constantly had ear infections. One vet was content to just keep giving her steroid shots; I never liked that, and they were not only not helping much anymore, but they were hurting her hips. The new vet said he's had about a 90-95% success rate with dogs that have used this food, so we gave it a try. I had tried so many different foods, including limited ingredient ones that got great reviews, so one more couldn't hurt. She's been on the z/d food for more than 2 mos. now, and it's made such a big difference. There was a time or two I was tempted to stop it because it didn't seem to be helping, but the vet said it can take 6-8 wks. or more to really see a difference, so we hung in there, and I'm so glad we did. It has totally cleared up her ears, and they were always so bad before. If your dog has allergies, I recommend giving this food a try. It's pricey, but its formula works, and it's worth the cost. The Chewy price and service are awesome. January 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pug doing better so far I have a 21 month old pug who has been very sick with IBS. At 18 months she had two bowel resections due to blockages from what we now know was caused by IBS. My Vet gave me this food to try. In the past I would have never used Hills Science Diet, but was desperate because my girl was so sick and wouldn't eat and vomited everything she ate. Thanks to Reglan therapy to increase her appetite and this food she slowly began to improve. Because her food leaves her stomach slowly we use Reglan to increase the movement for now, with the hope we can stop the Reglan eventually. I also grind this food into a powder in my food processor because the kibble isn't small enough for her. I then add warm water and make the food into a paste. She absolutely loves this food and my other dogs always lick her bowl, so this flavor must be appealing to dogs. It's only been two weeks and she still has a little reflux, but the vet says her stomach and intestines will take about 6 weeks to heal and to give it time. I'm hoping this food continues to work because food trials with novel proteins seems like it will be difficult on her delicate system. I grind about two cups up at a time and then store it in bell jars dry until I need it. August 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hill's Science Diet ZD for Dogs My dogs have been on this food since I adopted them. Some have allergies. They like the ZD and it's rests easy on their tummies. I have tried switching to a regular dog food for sensitivities (Blue Buffalo) and it upsets their systems. No more switching at this house. Only the best for my babies! September 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Every pup is different With having a dog that is allergic to basically anything, even air, it is so refreshing to have a food that she is excited to eat and that doesn't give her an allergic reaction. I plan on feeding this to her for the rest of her life. Shes a mix pitbull and she cannot eat anything else!! September 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved it. Everything was perfect! Thank you. Our dog is pleased and so are we. September 8, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is a quality product. This food has mostly resolved my dogs food issues, however she does not like the new formula as well. She will occasionally push her bowl around and leave it, sometimes skipping a meal. I wish there was a better alternative. September 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog likes this food My dog is on this z/d food to hopefully cure his recurrent diarrhea. I was skeptical that he would eat it, but he does! He even likes the canned version of this product. Ordering was a breeze and the food came quickly. This is the best price around for this product. September 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Fresh product delivered timely and great price. Could not be more pleased. Website also very easy to use, and response to my inquiry was swift and helpful. August 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hills dog food is very expensive but with the coupon and free delivery it came out almost 45% off! Thanks for being very reasonable with your prices and the free delivery adds more saves to the bottom line! Paid almost 45% off retail! I recommend this website! August 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by German Shepherd skin issues I have switched diets at least 6 times over the last 5 years because of itching and sores. So far this is what I have been looking for. It is a little early, but I see a big difference already. August 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heard very good reviews from my neighbor. My dog has a lot of problems with allergies. Just starting with this new food for my dog. One thing I have to say is that the customer service of Chewy is the best!! August 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Food is all my dog can digest Recommend by my Veterinan, my dog has severe food allergies. This food is only food my dog can eat. August 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Product! My 1 year old English Bulldog started developing severe allergies a few months ago, and so far this food seems to be the only one that works for her! Chewy does ship in 1-2 days but that is PENDING prescription checking with vet offices. Great company! great food! August 20, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good My dog loves the Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food. I have a chocolate Lab who seems to have constant ear infections. She is doing very well after changing to just this brand of food but the price is so very expensive. August 17, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Food didn't settle well with my dog, but Chewy customer service was outstanding! My pup has food allergies and I've been feeding her Royal Canin Hydrolyzed Protein for a while now. And although she does well with that food, she has been itching a lot more recently. My vet suggested I try the Hills Prescription to see if that may work better. Unfortunately…that was not the case. It did not settle well with my her tummy at all and gave her horrible gas. :( I think I'll probably just stick with the Royal Canin for now. Although the product didn't work for me, the customer service was seriously OUTSTANDING! I called to return the item and there was no hassle whatsoever. I was off the phone with the friendly customer service rep in less then 5 minutes and the return was on its way back to my card. I will definitely continue placing my orders through them. Thank you Chewy! June 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product changed my dog's energy level! I thought my dog was getting old & lazy......turns out he was suffering from food allergies & lethargic due to being sick. His whole demeanor changed on this food. August 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Zd products works well for allergies I did not know what was wrong with Sparky mini pincher, he would scratch a lot so my vetenerian said that he was allergic to everything. So he recommended ZD food and after two weeks we notice he was not scratching as much after a month no more scratching. It worked for Sparky know he hair looks healthy too. Thank You! Chewy! August 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far so good I have a 3 year old white boxer with hypersinsitive skin and food allergies. Her skin would break out in bumps all over her body that would scab and then fall off leaving her with splotches of missing fur all over. We had put her on other prescription dog food which worked well for her skin but after a few months she refused to eat it. It was white with no smell and looked more like Kix cereal than dog food. I was worried something was wrong with her since she stopped eating. So I quickly I switched to Hills z/d which was the other recommendation from her vet and she loves it! She can't wait to eat now and drools all over while she's waiting for me to get it to her. This looks and smells like regular dog food which the other brand did not. It's been one month and no new breakouts. So all I can say is so far so good! I pray it stays this way. May 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loves it! I was worried that my dog may not like it, since it's a prescription diet……….but he loves it! I ordered the wet and dry and he gobbles down both. He enjoys the treats too. August 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by a life saver for our adopted poodle We adopted Pixie Poodle 10 months ago. she was a mess..very large scabs & sores everywhere! she was on a specialty food that she was actually only MILDLY alergic to. she smelled bad, looked bad & obviously felt bad. We took her to our own vet the next day with the chart of her allergies & they immediately changed her food to Z/D dry. we also got Z/D treats that i break into 4 pcs & we got canned Z/D that i cut into slices & then small wedges & freeze. I use the frozen wedges as treats as well. when the cat gets his canned food, Pixie gets a frozen wedge treat. She LOVES ALL 3 varieties of Z/D food & treats. The positive results & improvements for her were Immediate! Within a week her scabs were gone, no more scratching & pawing at her mouth, she smelled better, no more loose stools & her breath was an instant improvement. We would NEVER feed her anything else. It has worked a miracle for her as she has MANY allergies to MANY food options. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] May 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great price! My dog has an allergy to proteins & this is all he is able to keep down. I'm glad to have found this site to get the food a bit cheaper. It's very expensive but two thumbs up for cutting down the price a bit! Every bit helps! August 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bella loves the smaller bite-size portions since she is a small Chihuahua A Good buy, Quick delivery to my doorstep and good customer service are a few of the things that will bring me back to chewy! August 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick Delivery, nowhere less expensive, great service. I have to say I was pretty impressed with Chewy. The dog food I bought required a prescription and they were very helpful in ensuring that they shipped as soon as possible - and the time to ship was very short. During this time I worked with Customer Service and they were quick, accommodating, light-hearted and humorous but to the point. The price was $30 lower then anywhere else including Amazon.com. Awesome buying experience..... July 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prescription food Our pit bull/husky mix has had skin problems since we adopted her three years ago and this food is great, her belly is not as red and she doesn't itch as much. It is expensive, but with the price at Chewy it is more affordable. July 22, 2016
  • 2016-10-23 T05:51:55.079-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_475, tr_475
  • loc_en_US, sid_69629, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>