Loading...

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food

  • List Price:

    $113.99

  • Price:

    $94.99 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

  • You Save:

    $19.00 (17%)

In stock
25-lb bag
  • 8-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 25-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

Food sensitivities and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Dogs that have a food sensitivities or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your dog suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet z/d clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your dog's skin and food sensitivities. In fact, z/d is clinically proven nutrition to help avoid adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Helps improve digestion and stool quality with highly hydrolyzed protein
  • Helps eliminate food related causes of skin irritation and results in visible improvement to the skin and coat
  • Helps maintain a healthy skin barrier and enriched with essential fatty acid
  • Developed with a single carbohydrate source: Corn Starch
  • Clinically proven antioxidants are added for optimal health benefits

Special Note

Hill's is going through a packaging and formulation change. Customers may receive the old packaging and formulation during this transition.

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69806
  • Weight
    25.0 pounds
  • Brand
    Hill's, Science Diet
  • Breed Size
    Small, Medium, Large, All Breeds
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Corn Starch, Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Powdered Cellulose, Soybean Oil, Calcium Carbonate, Dicalcium Phosphate, Lactic Acid, Potassium Chloride, Glyceryl Monostearate, Choline Chloride, Iodized Salt, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), DL-Methionine, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Caloric Content

  1. 354 kcal/cup
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 14.0% min
Crude Fat 10.0% min
Crude Fiber 5.0% max
Omega 3 Fatty Acids 0.3% min
Omega 6 Fatty Acids 3.0% min

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Use only as directed by your veterinarian. Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, canned food & treats. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet Lovers Also Bought

Customer Reviews

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 292.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for dogs with a sensitive stomach My Cairn Terrier has had acid-reflux type symptoms since she was a puppy. We tried pepcid, pumpkin, ginger, rice & chicken, you name it. This food is the only thing that has helped! I would highly recommend it.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have dogs that need prescription diet The service was exceptional and was very happy with customer service and the quickness of receiving the product.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good results so far!! My 10 month old boxer has had soft bloody stools since he was small. After so many tests at the vet, different foods, probiotics, home cooked meals, medications nothing would help him, my vet recommend trying this food to see if maybe he had a protein allergy. After a week of mixing this with his other prescription food he is now only on this and his stools are firming up without blood. He loves it and gobbles it up faster then any other food we have tried. The food is pricey but if it helps him it's worth it. This is the food to try for any allergy!
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from stopped the scratching! we have 2 dogs: chow and chow/shepherd mix. the chow scratched like crazy and the mix would scratch pretty good as well from natural balance dry. our vet recommended this food and fairly quick both slowed down on the scratching and now about 3 weeks on and both just do the normal random scratching that most dogs do. it does cost a bit more but the scratching made me crazy...I can just imagine what they felt.
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent This product has been really good for my Great Dane. She was on ground beef and rice for a couple of years. I had tried several different foods with no success. Now she eats canned z/d and dry z/d and doesn't have as many sick days.
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hill's Prescription Diet Z/D Review Great product, excellent service and quick delivery time! Our dogs struggle with sensitivities/allergies and we have seen huge improvements in their symptoms since switching to this brand/type.
Date published: 2016-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is great. Since feeding Daisy Mae this food she hasn't had any hives. Her skin has cleared up and her hair is returning. Her former bald pink belly now has white hair covering it. Also she loves it.
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product for dogs with food allergies My dog loves this food which in itself says a lot. He normally doesn't eat very much and is quite picky. z/d has helped him with his allergies and thankful he likes it too.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this product works and has helped with my dog's allergies My dog has had skin allergies due to different foods. She loves this food and it has greatly helped with her allergies. Thank you' Leda Manfre
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped immediately with our dogs has issues. So far so good. He seems to like the flavor and his gas issues have gone away. As for stool consistency, is looks better as well.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works and smells good too Has definitely helped our dog with itchy skin. She's been on it for about 3 weeks. She likes food a lot.
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good dog food Very good dog for my Lexi. She also likes it. She has bad allergy.
Date published: 2016-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a great product! My 8-year-old golden retriever has had allergy problems and constantly had ear infections. One vet was content to just keep giving her steroid shots; I never liked that, and they were not only not helping much anymore, but they were hurting her hips. The new vet said he's had about a 90-95% success rate with dogs that have used this food, so we gave it a try. I had tried so many different foods, including limited ingredient ones that got great reviews, so one more couldn't hurt. She's been on the z/d food for more than 2 mos. now, and it's made such a big difference. There was a time or two I was tempted to stop it because it didn't seem to be helping, but the vet said it can take 6-8 wks. or more to really see a difference, so we hung in there, and I'm so glad we did. It has totally cleared up her ears, and they were always so bad before. If your dog has allergies, I recommend giving this food a try. It's pricey, but its formula works, and it's worth the cost. The Chewy price and service are awesome.
Date published: 2014-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hills z/d dry dog food product is exactly as ordered and dog is progressing nicely with skin clearing up. Service was exactly as promised and plan on reordering when needed.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's A Miracle My cocker spaniel will be 11 soon. She was diagnosed with food allergies and prescribed Hill zd dry and wet when she was 4. She hated the wet and since neither seemed to be making any difference in her skin lesions, I stopped using the canned and began cooking for her myself. She loved that for a while and got bored. Now she is on the new zd dry and Hills +7. I bathe Taffy twice a week to control her skin issues. Two days on the zd dry new formula (which reads exactly the same as the old), her skin cleared up with no new eruptions. I was surprised not to find differences in the formula since the size and texture of the new zd dry are so different. I've got my fingers crossed and I hope Hills will continue to research and upgrade their products for our beloved pets. PAdams, NY
Date published: 2016-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Larger bag of prescription food I have been purchasing the same prescription food for my dog for over 4 year and had always found it a big hassle when purchasing the food at the pet store since it always required a prescription card which I almost always forget. Purchasing online is not only hassle free but way more convenient. Also, I am able to purchase a larger bag which most stores do not carry and the auto-ship is the best feature.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Absolutely not the right food for my dog I wrote a lengthier, more in depth review on the canned food, which gave my dog hard, tiny stool that she struggled to pass. On the dry version of this, she had wet, dark, large, and outlandishly foul smelling bowel movements. It's worth a try if your doctor has prescribed it, but we had terrible results with this one. So grateful that Chewy refunded us on it.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Right food, right Company The Vet prescribed this food and it works, so that is good enough for me and my dog loves the taste. Add to that the fact that Chewy is a great company to deal with. They answer the phone without an answering machine to direct you and immediately do their best to meet your need. So glad that the Vet's receptionist recommended Chewy.
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pitbull skin issues We have had our pitbull on the same food for years. Then all of a sudden she started getting hives and losing hair. After 6 months and 1000's of $ we were introduced to this food by her vet. One months later she's back to her normal self and healthy coat! No hives!
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs eat it without problem Was worried about the price and if the dogs would like it. Both of them took to it right away and with no problem in gradual changing over of their foods.
Date published: 2017-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good My 12-year old Maltese was switched to this from another Hills Rx diet. She took to it immediately and has had no problems since.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Love Chewy.com. We order wet and dry for our dog. She has allergies. So easy with Chewy.com. Absolutely love it!
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Love this site. Prices are great. Shipment is very fast. Have already recommended to others. Love it
Date published: 2016-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Protein supplement My Chessie and Brittany enjoy z/d it was for the Chessie's allergy but the Brittany steals it.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my dog! I have been very pleased with this Hills dog food. My dog loves it.
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what the doctor ordered I recommend this product for dogs with digestive issues.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good I have a 3 year old white boxer with hypersinsitive skin and food allergies. Her skin would break out in bumps all over her body that would scab and then fall off leaving her with splotches of missing fur all over. We had put her on other prescription dog food which worked well for her skin but after a few months she refused to eat it. It was white with no smell and looked more like Kix cereal than dog food. I was worried something was wrong with her since she stopped eating. So I quickly I switched to Hills z/d which was the other recommendation from her vet and she loves it! She can't wait to eat now and drools all over while she's waiting for me to get it to her. This looks and smells like regular dog food which the other brand did not. It's been one month and no new breakouts. So all I can say is so far so good! I pray it stays this way.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog is finally healthy Kooper itched and licked his feet constantly. Thankfully Science Diet cured that
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has helped prevent ear infections for my dog with food allergies My 3 year old lab, who is an outside dog, was getting ear infections every 6-8 weeks before we started using Hill's Prescription DietZ/D. Our doctor put her own this diet because he thinks that she has food allergies causing her to get these frequent ear infections. Once we completely switched to the Z/D diet she has not had a single ear infection. She was also in the obese category per her doctor, but she has lost 14 pounds since starting this diet, and she is now in the healthy range for her age and type. I would highly recommend this dog food and using Chewy.com to order your food because it's cheaper then at the vet or any other store and it is shipped right to your home. I have set up a bag of food to be delivered every 6 weeks, and I am looking forward to not having to worry about remembering to go to the vet to pick the food up. This is a great place to order your pets food from!
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my pit bulls Do to serious skin issues we have tried several different types of foods without success . ZD prescription seems to be doing the trick. Even my most finicky eater can't wait for breakfast and dinner. Excellent product .
Date published: 2016-11-19
  • y_2017, m_2, d_21, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_292
  • loc_en_US, sid_69629, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrchewy