Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food

- Quantity +
  • List Price:

    $107.89

  • Price:

    $89.23 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping

  • You Save:

    $18.66 (17%)

In stock
  • 8-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 25-lb bag

Description

  • Item Number
    69806
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Made in
    United States
  • Breed Size
    All Breeds
  • Lifestage
    Adult

Food sensitivities and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Dogs that have a food sensitivities or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your dog suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet z/d clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your dog's skin and food sensitivities. In fact, z/d is clinically proven nutrition to help avoid adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Helps improve digestion & stool quality
  • Helps eliminate food related causes of skin irritation
  • Visible improvement in skin & coat
  • Helps maintain a healthy skin barrier
  • Highly hydrolyzed protein
  • Single carbohydrate source: Corn Starch
  • Essential fatty acid enriched
  • Clinically proven antioxidants

Note: Hill's is going through a packaging change: Original was formerly Ultra; same great formula, just a new name!

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Ingredients

Corn Starch, Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Powdered Cellulose, Soybean Oil, Calcium Carbonate, Dicalcium Phosphate, Lactic Acid, Potassium Chloride, Glyceryl Monostearate, Choline Chloride, Iodized Salt, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), DL-Methionine, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 443 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Z/D Dog Food For the last year, my 2 year old German Shepherd's skin allergies has done a number on his coat and his skin, especially around his ears. Since eating the Hills diet Z/D dry food along with his current meds, the hair on his ears has grown back and his skin is no longer red. April 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog is allergic to everything so this is all he can eat! I appreciate that you offer this specialty food for pet because my dog can only have ZD and non-allergic treats. Thank goodness he likes it so much! April 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a wonderful product... My dog had been losing his hair for about 2 years, and was quite bald on his back. The vet recommended Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food. After a few short weeks, his hair is growing back. I am so amazed and pleased! And he likes his new food. :) April 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chewy is the best for buying Hill's Z/d food This food has been a godsend for our toy poodle who has suffered several bouts of pancreatitis over her 13+ years. Chewy.com has the best price and gets the food to you right away. You guys ROCK!!! April 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is amazing We have a puppy with terrible allergies- she has been on meds for months and this is the first dog food she has been able to eat and not break out in dermatosis- We are thankful that she is not in pain anymore and can act like a puppy again. April 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has helped prevent ear infections for my dog with food allergies My 3 year old lab, who is an outside dog, was getting ear infections every 6-8 weeks before we started using Hill's Prescription DietZ/D. Our doctor put her own this diet because he thinks that she has food allergies causing her to get these frequent ear infections. Once we completely switched to the Z/D diet she has not had a single ear infection. She was also in the obese category per her doctor, but she has lost 14 pounds since starting this diet, and she is now in the healthy range for her age and type. I would highly recommend this dog food and using Chewy.com to order your food because it's cheaper then at the vet or any other store and it is shipped right to your home. I have set up a bag of food to be delivered every 6 weeks, and I am looking forward to not having to worry about remembering to go to the vet to pick the food up. This is a great place to order your pets food from! January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Z/d diet Great product! My dog has been on this z/d diet since he was diagnosed with skin allergies and it works great April 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Expensive but worth it I hate the cost of this food, but it works. My dog was having ongoing stomach and allergy issues even on a bland eggs and rice diet. He has done very well on ZD. He and my other dog love it. I use the kibble for training treats also since he can't eat anything else for the ZD to work properly. Both of my dogs do obedience, Rally and agility and I am very happy that they like it enough to be motivated by it! March 20, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by more questions than answers i put both my dogs (11 y/o & 1 y/o toy poodles) on the hills prescription diet at the request of my vet, due to the suspicion that they both may have food allergies. the word prescription gives one the allusion that the food can only be purchased with a doctors prescription, the same as humans need a prescription to purchase drugs. although the food can only be purchased at the vets office it was not something that required a prescription at all. research on the internet regarding these prescription diets gave me the impression that there is a lot of bunk regarding all the processes given prior to bagging and selling the product. i felt that there was an amount of deception involved with the "prescription" diet from the veterinary clinic i go to. i will admit that my dogs loved the food and both dogs are and always have been very finicky to dog foods in general. April 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this works Until this food, my dog has been unable to tolerate standard or prescription dog foods for very long, and even then has required supplemental herbs and medications. This stuff is a lifesaver. I still keep her on a small dose of prednisone to help her with stress responses, but in routine settings, she does not require any supportive medications or supplements to digest her food. The bonus is she absolutely devours this stuff. March 17, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by My dog isn't vomiting anymore. My 11 yr. old dog has always had a queasy stomach that our vets couldn't precisely pinpoint why. Various tests were always normal. But she had gotten to the point of vomiting almost daily, skipping many meals, losing weight. A diagnostician vet suggested a food allergy. She had previously eaten a duck/potato food and then switched to Hill's W/D. She ate both of those for a few years consecutively. The vet suggested trying the Z/D because of the hydrolized proteins. Right away, the vomiting is dramatically reduced, skipping meals is reduced, her demeanor is much improved. She has been eating this food for about a month now. We have phased out sucralfate and metronidazole about a week ago. So far so good. My only minor concern is that her stools are very soft. Not sure if that is typical on this food or if it will change over time. But my dog is much better now. August 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cordelia's Mom Wants Puppy Cody to Be Healthy My mixed Golden Retriever/German Shepherd has had digestive problems all along, and she is 2 this week. The vet recommended the regular Hills Science Diet for Sensitive Stomachs, which seemed to help for awhile, but Cody could never seem to get rid of her periodic bouts of diarrhea. After trying everything else, including blood tests (all negative) and deworming, the vet finally suggested Hills Z/D for Skin/Food. What a difference! Cody's been on it for several weeks now and her stools are perfectly normal. She loves the food. The only problem we ran into was that we weren't feeding her enough, in light of the fact that she is no longer getting chicken, rice or any regular-market treats. Check the feeding chart for the weight of your dog. (And yes, it is expensive, but totally worth it.) October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seems to be working. .. After our german shepherd started loosing weight and has had stomach issues our vet recommend this for our dog. As you know prescription dog food is not cheap, but the product here is best value I could find. It's hard to say since she is on medication, but since being on z/d she has not had any vomiting and has started to gain some weight. March 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Z/D Changed our Dog's Life Our Borador girl was going to the Vet's with unfortunate regularity with ear infections that didn't appear to be caused by environmental conditions, but still left the doctor with few ideas about a remedy, except for changing her (the dog's not the Vet's) food to an Rx diet, specifically Hill's Z/D. I was skeptical but was willing to do just about anything to give Trixie relief from nearly constant head-shaking and assumed discomfort. The change has made a night and day difference - since starting the regimen three years ago, there has been no reoccurrence of the ear problem (and no vet visits other than annual checkups). Z/D is well worth the difference in cost between it and standard food. I would highly recommend it for allergy, skin, and other chronic problems. December 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only food my dog can tolerate. ZD ultra dry dog food saved my dog's life. We tried all types of dog food the first two years of her life and she could not tolerate any of them. The higher the protein the worse the reactions such as irritable bowel and vomiting. She seemed to be miserable. I was accused by the vet of not changing her diet properly so we switched to a new vet. He listened and thought about it and said let's try Hills ZD first and if it doesn't work we will try other things (like testing, etc). My dog apparently has a food allergy to the protein in the dog food and ZD breaks down the protein so my dog can digest it properly without side affects. If she has has one piece of another dog food she gets G I distress and is miserable. She likes the food's taste (which is good - considering) and she is living a happier and healthier life. Thanks for ZD prescription dry dog food. January 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This's an okay product. Wish the product came in different sizes like for small dogs. The food is alittle bit to big for small dogs to eat. March 14, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good for dogs with food sensitivities My dog seems to be doing well on this but she acts like she doesn't like the taste and has some flatulence on it. May switch back to the Hills Prescription Duck formula (but she gained a lot weight on it). I will say a positive in that this formula will help her lose some weight (she doesn't need as much to keep her from acting hungry and begging for more compared to the duck formula-which she loved and begged constantly for more). February 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally, a solution to our dog's skin issues! our 5-year old female rescue pug Tia always seemed to have ongoing skin/fur and ear infections. We hated having to always medicate her continuously, usually with limited success. Our vet suggested the change of her daily kibble in her diet. This product immediately showed results. AND.. she loves to food too. March 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by z/d Hill's Prescription Diet is excellent for allergic dogs Thank you shipping my order on time. Hill's Prescription Diet z/d, in this case, is great for allergic dogs. Laura March 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Diet Z/D skin/ food sensitivities If your dog has food allergies this is a great. It really has helped my dog. He likes the taste had no problem switching he to it . March 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Got my 105lb Shepard regular. Very happy with this product. The only downfall is the prescription can hold up delivery. Ma March 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top of the line! As a veterinary professional, I understand how crucial it is to feed your pet the appropriate diet. Seeing clients day in and day out who insist on feeding "organic, grain-free, raw, etc" diets drives me crazy because I see the damage it does to their beloved pets. This food is great for food allergy dogs (and no it is not the same as over the counter "allergy" diets because the machines are cleaned and sanitized for hours before production begins ensuring no cross contamination plus the protein is hydrolyzed). My "allergic to everything" mutt has always been itchy because she suffers from food and environmental allergies. Even D/D was making her itch, though not Z/D! It's phenomenal. I absolutely love, trust, and stand by Hill's 110% because their foods are developed by nutritionists with the appropriate credentials. September 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seems helpful, but prohibitive cost In the last year, my healthy Lab/Pointer began having acute GI episodes-heavy drooling, some vomiting and bloody diarrhea. Lab tests ruled out major possibilities. Ultrasound showed thickening in the intestinal tract, so we are going with food allergy. We've just transitioned from I/d to Z/d. It is honestly too early to tell....his stool is less frequent, but very loose- unlike his "normal" pattern. I'm trying to be patient and hope he will stabilize on Z/d. It frustrates me that people with modest means have no recourse when their beloved pet needs this type of food. I think Hill could go a long way in public relations if they developed a program for qualified lower-income people to qualify for a price break or even a rewards program (buy 10, get one free). We are likely going to be customers for our pet's life. September 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally a solution We have two golden retrievers....Mia is 9 and Jake 1 year and a half. When Jake was 6 months old he began having trouble with food. Our vet at that time wasn't much help and they didn't want to recommend any type of food stating that they all have their favorites. A couple days before Christmas, after dealing with these problems for months......Jake broke out in a bad case of hives. It was like a lightbulb went off in our vets head......he suggested we try z/d. We had results almost immediately,. Jake was a different dog - much more content and not so aggitated. The hives went away and he has been on this food ever since. He will be 2 in November and the vet said we can try and wean him onto something else, but truthfully, this is worth the money. He is much happier and so are we. June 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dog loves the flavor My Pekingese loves the flavor but I have to make small chunks for him. It would be nice if they made this in small chunks for smaller animals. February 17, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Maggie Loves It We have used this for a week and a half, Maggie loves the taste. We are waiting to see results. I was told it could take several months. February 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Noticed a difference in coat in 3 days My dog started reacting to her old food bad, loss of fur... at first we thought she had lupus, but tests came back negative. Dr switched her to this and with in 3 days I noticed a shine back to her coat and her energy and attitude is back to being amazing. I thought she was "just getting old and crabby" but she really felt aweful for a while, I can tell that now. Poor dog. Thank god for this food. It gave me my old dog back January 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hills Z/D Recommended by the vet since our lab has skin and food allergies. Tried many many other foods out there. So far so good. Food honestly doesn't smell the best but the dog doesn't seem to Mind so I guess that isn't an issue. He isn't scratching at his skin and he isn't digging at his paws nearly as much so that's an improvement from before. February 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by the product really works worked great on our golden AFTER THE FIRST BAG OF Z/D A 100 % INPROVEMENT after the first bag of z/d a 100 % improvement a February 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cleared up my pets chronic ear issues Ollie, my 2 1/2 year old German Shepherd had chronic ear issues that were being treated with cortisone shots and ointment for his ears. It had gotten to the point where he would start to whimper when I would reach for the ear ointment. Upon switching his food to ZD, his ear issue has resolved, his coat condition is excellent, and he is overall a much happier dog. An added bonus is that this is such a high quality food that you actually feed less that standard pet food. Ollie gives a resounding 2 paws up for the change the ZD has made. December 17, 2015
  • 2016-07-30 T08:17:28.497-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_443, tr_443
  • loc_en_US, sid_69629, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>