Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food

  • List Price:

    $107.89

  • Price:

    $89.23 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

  • You Save:

    $18.66 (17%)

In stock
  • 8-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 25-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

  • Item Number
    69806
  • Weight
    25.0 pounds
  • Brand
    Hill's
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Made in
    United States
  • Breed Size
    All Breeds
  • Lifestage
    Adult

Food sensitivities and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Dogs that have a food sensitivities or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your dog suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet z/d clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your dog's skin and food sensitivities. In fact, z/d is clinically proven nutrition to help avoid adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Helps improve digestion & stool quality
  • Helps eliminate food related causes of skin irritation
  • Visible improvement in skin & coat
  • Helps maintain a healthy skin barrier
  • Highly hydrolyzed protein
  • Single carbohydrate source: Corn Starch
  • Essential fatty acid enriched
  • Clinically proven antioxidants

Note: Hill's is going through a packaging and formulation change. Customers may receive the old packaging and formulation during this transition.

NOTE: Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Ingredients

Old Formulation: Corn Starch, Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Powdered Cellulose, Soybean Oil, Calcium Carbonate, Dicalcium Phosphate, Lactic Acid, Potassium Chloride, Glyceryl Monostearate, Choline Chloride, Iodized Salt, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), DL-Methionine, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.
New Formulation: Corn Starch, Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Powdered Cellulose, Soybean Oil, Calcium Carbonate, Dicalcium Phosphate, Lactic Acid, Potassium Chloride, Glyceryl Monostearate, Choline Chloride, Iodized Salt, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), DL-Methionine, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 457 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Z/D Science Hill Dog Food You need a prescription from your vet for this product. If you get it ahead of time, it will make for a smoother transaction. June 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Allergies? BUY THIS!! After researching, reviewing, and testing many dog foods (even completely raw food diets and grain/starch free foods), I felt completely helpless and thought my dog would be itching and scratching her entire life. The only thing that would tame her yeasty ears and itchy underarms was prednisone. I finally came across this food and was skeptical that, like the rest, we would have another failure. We got the prescription and tried it out, and I have to say it has been the best food ever! No more yeasty ears or itchy/scabbed skin. My dog is SO much more comfortable! I highly recommend this food if you feel like you've tried everything without success! May 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really helped our Shilo Our 5 year old cockapoo was suffering from severe food allergies. We tried switching foods on our own, but didn’t have luck. We took him to a new vet. This vet suggested this food. He is now on a very strict diet and his allergies are gone! Shilo’s belly is healed. He is not scratching or licking there anymore. The base of his tail is also healing. Shilo is getting his personality back and is even playing each day! This food made a huge difference. It is expensive, but it is worth it. Our next step was going to take Shilo to a animal dermatologist. Trust me this would be much more expensive. It’s a bit of a challenge with two dogs to make sure Shilo eats only this, but it is worth it! April 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good product Help my dog with its problem. Have a good price so I have to say May 21, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Product is great for food allergies ZD is great for dogs with food allergies to protein...unfortunately this is the only product available whose protein value is low enough so it is not acknowledged by the dogs system. Although this is great for her overall health, she does not like the taste much as she rather have what my other two dogs have who is not affected by food allergies. The price really isn't one my daughter can afford as the dog is hers so I am having to pay for the dog food along with the immunotherapy as she has allergies to fungus that is associated with wet grass and roaches which lives in the dirt. This was based on the allergy testing done on the dog. If another flavor can be produced along with lowering the price, I believe this demand would be higher. It appears many just buy regular food and deal with the hair loss based on the price of the product. Coupons are hard to come by and the product never seems to go on sale. March 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great! My Great Dane was having terrible acne and rashes. She had to be on antibiotics several times to clear it up. After my Vet ruled out any allergies, she recommended we try this food. It worked! She must have had a sensitivity to an ingredient in other dog foods...and we tried several brands!! Yes, this food is expensive, (especially for a Great Dane) but worth it. Deliveries from Chewy have been great! No problems at all. We order food for our other Dane here as well. Highly recommended! April 22, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by The price is less expensive than at the vet. I know that vet's have to make a living and pay for the staff & rent, etc.. Our dog is doing good so far on this prescription food. The on-line sales rep's were very helpful in establishing and guiding us through the Rx process. Since this food is vet prescribed. The only draw back on this food is that it is big round pebbles, wish they had smaller bites for small dogs - takes me a few minutes to smash them into smaller bites. April 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works for my pet My dog has terrible allergies and skin sensitivity. These products do seem to help her.I look in her eyes and I don't see a look of suffering anymore. I recommend these products to any person whose dog(s) have allergies. My dog also seems to like the taste. May 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My highly allergic dog loves this food! My 8 1/2 year old pit-boxer mix has severe food allergies to many protein sources and has had difficulties with many foods during his life. Since California's reinstatement of the ban on Kangaroo meat in January, we had to switch him off of the Iam's Kangaroo prescription blend (which had worked for him for almost 8 months!), and moved over to Royal Canin PV (venison), which he refused to eat after just a few days. When we offered him this z/d formula, he immediately inhaled it, and has had no stomach, intestinal or skin issues. I'm hugely impressed with Chewy, who refunded me the full value of the PV bag I had just ordered (and not even opened yet) and asked me to donate it to a local shelter, so that I could instead order the Z/D. February 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fixed my dog right up. This is the only food that helps with my dogs digestive tract problems! Yes, it is on that bit of the expensive side, but worth it over having my dog be so sick! April 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has helped prevent ear infections for my dog with food allergies My 3 year old lab, who is an outside dog, was getting ear infections every 6-8 weeks before we started using Hill's Prescription DietZ/D. Our doctor put her own this diet because he thinks that she has food allergies causing her to get these frequent ear infections. Once we completely switched to the Z/D diet she has not had a single ear infection. She was also in the obese category per her doctor, but she has lost 14 pounds since starting this diet, and she is now in the healthy range for her age and type. I would highly recommend this dog food and using Chewy.com to order your food because it's cheaper then at the vet or any other store and it is shipped right to your home. I have set up a bag of food to be delivered every 6 weeks, and I am looking forward to not having to worry about remembering to go to the vet to pick the food up. This is a great place to order your pets food from! January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by RX dog food - no choice I have no choice but to buy this food due to my dog's food sensitivities. I must say, he does enjoy it though. My review is more about the convenience of auto ship. I should have done this years ago! April 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the expense My Shih Tzu, Sammy, has had several ear infections and issues with itchy paws. His poor paws have even become inflammed and swollen. It looks like it was all related to food allergies. After being on this for a few weeks his paw stopped itching and the redness subsided. My poor little guy just had allergies. He also has a very sensitive stomach and he's a very picky eater. He LOVES this food. I don't have any issue getting him to eat. I do have to measure his food other one will overeat which is very new for us. In the past, he wouldn't eat. I could leave his food out and he would eat a bite here and there. This is marvelous. I'm so happy he is eating so well. March 2, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not the same :( Our Doxie has been on this for years for acute ear infections. It's not only the package that has changed. He has been to Vet 3 times for ear infections and tearing at his skin. Have 2 Rescued Doxies that were switched to this for their meat/protein allergies...they got worse :( Next is to try Royal Canine :( April 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Z/D Dog Food For the last year, my 2 year old German Shepherd's skin allergies has done a number on his coat and his skin, especially around his ears. Since eating the Hills diet Z/D dry food along with his current meds, the hair on his ears has grown back and his skin is no longer red. April 3, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by more questions than answers i put both my dogs (11 y/o & 1 y/o toy poodles) on the hills prescription diet at the request of my vet, due to the suspicion that they both may have food allergies. the word prescription gives one the allusion that the food can only be purchased with a doctors prescription, the same as humans need a prescription to purchase drugs. although the food can only be purchased at the vets office it was not something that required a prescription at all. research on the internet regarding these prescription diets gave me the impression that there is a lot of bunk regarding all the processes given prior to bagging and selling the product. i felt that there was an amount of deception involved with the "prescription" diet from the veterinary clinic i go to. i will admit that my dogs loved the food and both dogs are and always have been very finicky to dog foods in general. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] April 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast shipping and packaged well. Arrived quickly and was packaged well, so not to be punctured or split during shipping. April 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a wonderful product... My dog had been losing his hair for about 2 years, and was quite bald on his back. The vet recommended Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food. After a few short weeks, his hair is growing back. I am so amazed and pleased! And he likes his new food. :) April 4, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by My dog isn't vomiting anymore. My 11 yr. old dog has always had a queasy stomach that our vets couldn't precisely pinpoint why. Various tests were always normal. But she had gotten to the point of vomiting almost daily, skipping many meals, losing weight. A diagnostician vet suggested a food allergy. She had previously eaten a duck/potato food and then switched to Hill's W/D. She ate both of those for a few years consecutively. The vet suggested trying the Z/D because of the hydrolized proteins. Right away, the vomiting is dramatically reduced, skipping meals is reduced, her demeanor is much improved. She has been eating this food for about a month now. We have phased out sucralfate and metronidazole about a week ago. So far so good. My only minor concern is that her stools are very soft. Not sure if that is typical on this food or if it will change over time. But my dog is much better now. August 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is amazing We have a puppy with terrible allergies- she has been on meds for months and this is the first dog food she has been able to eat and not break out in dermatosis- We are thankful that she is not in pain anymore and can act like a puppy again. April 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Z/D Changed our Dog's Life Our Borador girl was going to the Vet's with unfortunate regularity with ear infections that didn't appear to be caused by environmental conditions, but still left the doctor with few ideas about a remedy, except for changing her (the dog's not the Vet's) food to an Rx diet, specifically Hill's Z/D. I was skeptical but was willing to do just about anything to give Trixie relief from nearly constant head-shaking and assumed discomfort. The change has made a night and day difference - since starting the regimen three years ago, there has been no reoccurrence of the ear problem (and no vet visits other than annual checkups). Z/D is well worth the difference in cost between it and standard food. I would highly recommend it for allergy, skin, and other chronic problems. December 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog is allergic to everything so this is all he can eat! I appreciate that you offer this specialty food for pet because my dog can only have ZD and non-allergic treats. Thank goodness he likes it so much! April 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Expensive but worth it I hate the cost of this food, but it works. My dog was having ongoing stomach and allergy issues even on a bland eggs and rice diet. He has done very well on ZD. He and my other dog love it. I use the kibble for training treats also since he can't eat anything else for the ZD to work properly. Both of my dogs do obedience, Rally and agility and I am very happy that they like it enough to be motivated by it! March 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only food my dog can tolerate. ZD ultra dry dog food saved my dog's life. We tried all types of dog food the first two years of her life and she could not tolerate any of them. The higher the protein the worse the reactions such as irritable bowel and vomiting. She seemed to be miserable. I was accused by the vet of not changing her diet properly so we switched to a new vet. He listened and thought about it and said let's try Hills ZD first and if it doesn't work we will try other things (like testing, etc). My dog apparently has a food allergy to the protein in the dog food and ZD breaks down the protein so my dog can digest it properly without side affects. If she has has one piece of another dog food she gets G I distress and is miserable. She likes the food's taste (which is good - considering) and she is living a happier and healthier life. Thanks for ZD prescription dry dog food. January 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this works Until this food, my dog has been unable to tolerate standard or prescription dog foods for very long, and even then has required supplemental herbs and medications. This stuff is a lifesaver. I still keep her on a small dose of prednisone to help her with stress responses, but in routine settings, she does not require any supportive medications or supplements to digest her food. The bonus is she absolutely devours this stuff. March 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chewy is the best for buying Hill's Z/d food This food has been a godsend for our toy poodle who has suffered several bouts of pancreatitis over her 13+ years. Chewy.com has the best price and gets the food to you right away. You guys ROCK!!! April 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Z/d diet Great product! My dog has been on this z/d diet since he was diagnosed with skin allergies and it works great April 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cordelia's Mom Wants Puppy Cody to Be Healthy My mixed Golden Retriever/German Shepherd has had digestive problems all along, and she is 2 this week. The vet recommended the regular Hills Science Diet for Sensitive Stomachs, which seemed to help for awhile, but Cody could never seem to get rid of her periodic bouts of diarrhea. After trying everything else, including blood tests (all negative) and deworming, the vet finally suggested Hills Z/D for Skin/Food. What a difference! Cody's been on it for several weeks now and her stools are perfectly normal. She loves the food. The only problem we ran into was that we weren't feeding her enough, in light of the fact that she is no longer getting chicken, rice or any regular-market treats. Check the feeding chart for the weight of your dog. (And yes, it is expensive, but totally worth it.) October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seems to be working. .. After our german shepherd started loosing weight and has had stomach issues our vet recommend this for our dog. As you know prescription dog food is not cheap, but the product here is best value I could find. It's hard to say since she is on medication, but since being on z/d she has not had any vomiting and has started to gain some weight. March 15, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good for dogs with food sensitivities My dog seems to be doing well on this but she acts like she doesn't like the taste and has some flatulence on it. May switch back to the Hills Prescription Duck formula (but she gained a lot weight on it). I will say a positive in that this formula will help her lose some weight (she doesn't need as much to keep her from acting hungry and begging for more compared to the duck formula-which she loved and begged constantly for more). February 19, 2016
  • 2016-08-31 T08:59:17.656-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_457, tr_457
  • loc_en_US, sid_69629, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>