Loading...

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food

  • Price:

    $94.99 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping on this item

In stock
25-lb bag
  • 8-lb bag
  • 17.6-lb bag
  • 25-lb bag
- Quantity +

Description

Food sensitivities and intolerance are potentially serious problems that can result in sensitive or irritated skin, coat and ear conditions or even gastrointestinal upset. Dogs that have a food sensitivities or intolerance, also called adverse reactions to food, typically experience an abnormal response to the protein in the food. If your dog suffers from adverse reaction to food, it is even more important to feed the right food. Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians developed Prescription Diet z/d clinical nutrition especially formulated to support your dog's skin and food sensitivities. In fact, z/d is clinically proven nutrition to help avoid adverse reactions to food.

Key Benefits

  • Helps improve digestion and stool quality with highly hydrolyzed protein
  • Helps eliminate food related causes of skin irritation and results in visible improvement to the skin and coat
  • Helps maintain a healthy skin barrier and enriched with essential fatty acid
  • Developed with a single carbohydrate source: Corn Starch
  • Clinically proven antioxidants are added for optimal health benefits

Special Note

Hill's is going through a packaging and formulation change. Customers may receive the old packaging and formulation during this transition.

Hill's Prescription Diets require a veterinary prescription. This product will not be shipped until a copy of a valid prescription authorization is faxed to 1-800-619-7973 or e-mailed to rx@chewy.com.

See all items by Hill's Prescription Diet

  • Item Number
    69806
  • Brand
    Hill's, Science Diet
  • Breed Size
    Small, Medium, Large, All Breeds
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
    Adult
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Prescription Food

Nutritional Info

Ingredients

  1. Corn Starch, Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Powdered Cellulose, Soybean Oil, Calcium Carbonate, Dicalcium Phosphate, Lactic Acid, Potassium Chloride, Glyceryl Monostearate, Choline Chloride, Iodized Salt, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), DL-Methionine, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Caloric Content

  1. 354 kcal/cup
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein 14.0% min
Crude Fat 10.0% min
Crude Fiber 5.0% max
Omega 3 Fatty Acids 0.3% min
Omega 6 Fatty Acids 3.0% min

Feeding Instructions

Adjust feeding amounts as necessary to maintain optimal weight. If you are unsure, ask your veterinarian. For best results & safety practices: Use only as directed by your veterinarian. Gradually transition to your pets new food over a 7 day period. Exclusively feed the recommended Prescription Diet dry food, canned food & treats. Keep fresh water available at all times. Have your veterinarian monitor your pets condition.

Transition Instructions

A gradual transition to a new pet food is important to avoid digestive upset. To transition, mix your pet’s current food with the new food. Over 7 days, gradually decrease the amount of the current pet food while increasing the amount of new pet food. In some cases, your veterinarian may recommend no transition or a shorter transition time.

Pet Lovers Also Bought

Customer Reviews

Hill's Prescription Diet z/d Original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 300.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for severe allergies This food saved my dog's life. She has horrible allergies and kept getting sick costing me tons of Money. This was the only food she was able to eat and her skin would stay clear. She has red hair and can't have protein plus she's always been itchy and needed benadryl once and a while. I totally recommend this product but it needs to be a strick diet under doctor's care. FYI I have been using chewy.com for over a year and they are top notch!
Date published: 2016-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Allergies? BUY THIS!! After researching, reviewing, and testing many dog foods (even completely raw food diets and grain/starch free foods), I felt completely helpless and thought my dog would be itching and scratching her entire life. The only thing that would tame her yeasty ears and itchy underarms was prednisone. I finally came across this food and was skeptical that, like the rest, we would have another failure. We got the prescription and tried it out, and I have to say it has been the best food ever! No more yeasty ears or itchy/scabbed skin. My dog is SO much more comfortable! I highly recommend this food if you feel like you've tried everything without success!
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a Food That Willow Can Enjoy! Trust me, I have tried to feed my little girl most "quality" foods on the market and other prescription foods. She always seemed to have an upset tummy and wouldn't enjoy eating. Dr. gave a sample pack of Z/D and Willow loved it. Ordered an 8 lb bag. Also took allergy tests. It looks like we will be on Z/D for some time. We are also so happy that "Chickie" is not one of the foods that she is allergic to because she loves baked chicken breast in it too. Just a tiny bit! So very happy and it seems that Willow is too. Having an upset tummy for so long I think she is adjusting to not having one. Thank you Hill's prescription Diet for Z/D!
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for dogs with a sensitive stomach My Cairn Terrier has had acid-reflux type symptoms since she was a puppy. We tried pepcid, pumpkin, ginger, rice & chicken, you name it. This food is the only thing that has helped! I would highly recommend it.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hypoallergenic My 1 year 9 months old Lab has rejected all regular dog foods, after that, he ate my home cook meals for three months then stopped, all the above gave him diarrhea, he lost 7 pounds. His vet advised to go on this hypoallergenic prescription diet, he's been eating it for two months now, he's gaining weight, diarrhea has stopped. Hope this will be the solution.
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally stopped tearing her side up from scratching My Dobie has suffered from incessant scratching on her left side. No reason for the left can be found. Nevertheless, putting her on the Z/D has been the only time we have gotten relief. I highly recommend you try if if the obvious hasn't worked.
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hill's Prescription Diet Z/D Review Great product, excellent service and quick delivery time! Our dogs struggle with sensitivities/allergies and we have seen huge improvements in their symptoms since switching to this brand/type.
Date published: 2016-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product for dogs with food allergies My dog loves this food which in itself says a lot. He normally doesn't eat very much and is quite picky. z/d has helped him with his allergies and thankful he likes it too.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this product works and has helped with my dog's allergies My dog has had skin allergies due to different foods. She loves this food and it has greatly helped with her allergies. Thank you' Leda Manfre
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works and smells good too Has definitely helped our dog with itchy skin. She's been on it for about 3 weeks. She likes food a lot.
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good dog food Very good dog for my Lexi. She also likes it. She has bad allergy.
Date published: 2016-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Very tasty and filling!!! Would recommend to a friend
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hills z/d dry dog food product is exactly as ordered and dog is progressing nicely with skin clearing up. Service was exactly as promised and plan on reordering when needed.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Reduces Colitis Flareups--Slow Shipping My 11 year old German Shepherd mix was having frequent bouts of diarrhea due to colitis. It was getting to the point where I was having to put her on a course of meds every 2.5-3 weeks to reduce the flareups. The vet recommended trying her on a novel protein or hydrolyzed protein diet. We tried this since the vet carried it in their office. The Z/D has not cured her diarrhea issues, but has definitely made them less frequent. Since starting the Z/D, though, she has had two ear infections and still seems to be licking a lot; I thought this food would help with those issues as well. Chewy claims to have 1-2 day shipping, but I have now placed three orders with them and I would say that their shipping is more along the lines of 5 days. They use FedEx Home Delivery. I placed my most recent order on a Thursday morning but won't receive it until the end of day on Tuesday.
Date published: 2016-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solved a Digestive Problem We have been using this food for about a year and the results have been excellent. Solved a chronic digestive problem and Sammy now enjoys great health and I am sure has a happy colon.
Date published: 2015-01-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The z/d dog food relieved his severe itching/chewing. This is the third bag of the Hill's z/d dog food. It was recommended by our veterinarian to see if his excessive itching/chewing was related to a food (protein) allergy. It was completely effective in relieving his excessive itching/chewing. I did notice that his stools became much softer and the frequency was reduced from 2 to 1 stool per day- which the vet said is normal. Being a German Shepherd dog ( almost 9 years old) he has had digestive issues in the past. Although the food is very expensive, I was willing to pay it for his relief of allergy symptoms. Unfortunately, he now is very reluctant to eat it and often refuses it completely. He has had many dietary changes recently which may have contributed to this. Otherwise, the food was effective for him and I hope to continue with it.
Date published: 2014-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First food my pet has eaten with no digestive problems! My little Yorkie has had allergies & taken medication for it since I have owned him. My new vet suggested that I convert to the Science Prescription ZD diet to eliminate any potential for food allergies with the goal to eliminate his allergy meds. Well this food has done it! He loves the dry food & has just thrived. He has not needed his allergy meds for two weeks now. His coat is so shiny & healthy & he had no problems with the conversion.
Date published: 2014-02-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Absolutely not the right food for my dog I wrote a lengthier, more in depth review on the canned food, which gave my dog hard, tiny stool that she struggled to pass. On the dry version of this, she had wet, dark, large, and outlandishly foul smelling bowel movements. It's worth a try if your doctor has prescribed it, but we had terrible results with this one. So grateful that Chewy refunded us on it.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my allergy-prone dog This is the only food we've found that does not give our dog allergies. We were desperate for an alternative after trying several dry foods and even started cooking our dog's meals at home. When our vet recommended this food we were skeptical, but it really worked! Our frenchie is rash-free and she loves the taste! This is The second bag we buy!
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Food has helped with Mattie's digestion Mattie, a 6year old ShiTzu has suffered from digestion problems off and on since she was a puppy. Hill's Prescription Diet z/d original Skin/Food Sensitivities Dry Dog Food has given her the consistency that I was looking for.
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Zd products works well for allergies I did not know what was wrong with Sparky mini pincher, he would scratch a lot so my vetenerian said that he was allergic to everything. So he recommended ZD food and after two weeks we notice he was not scratching as much after a month no more scratching. It worked for Sparky know he hair looks healthy too. Thank You! Chewy!
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Our dog is now 11 years old, and she has been on this food since she was a puppy with a sensitive stomach. We've found no reason to feed her anything else since it works so well for her.
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good My 12-year old Maltese was switched to this from another Hills Rx diet. She took to it immediately and has had no problems since.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really helped our Shilo Our 5 year old cockapoo was suffering from severe food allergies. We tried switching foods on our own, but didn’t have luck. We took him to a new vet. This vet suggested this food. He is now on a very strict diet and his allergies are gone! Shilo’s belly is healed. He is not scratching or licking there anymore. The base of his tail is also healing. Shilo is getting his personality back and is even playing each day! This food made a huge difference. It is expensive, but it is worth it. Our next step was going to take Shilo to a animal dermatologist. Trust me this would be much more expensive. It’s a bit of a challenge with two dogs to make sure Shilo eats only this, but it is worth it!
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Both the product and the service were outstanding! Chewy.com Is now my go to place for all things for Our Beagle! The products, service, and people are simply outstanding!
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific product, expensive price This product is terrific, however it is very expensive. It is always appreciated when free shipping is offered.
Date published: 2016-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Love this site. Prices are great. Shipment is very fast. Have already recommended to others. Love it
Date published: 2016-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product Our dogs have eaten the product for years and are doing great! Jim
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for dogs with food allergies! great food for dogs with stomach/pancreas sensitivities!!
Date published: 2016-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from INSTANT ALLERGY RELIEF ......For several years, we have tried many medications to try to rid Phoebe of her itching and scratching problems. Her treatments have included several allergy tests, prednisone tablets and cream, cyclosporin, special shampoos. Not to mention many Vet. visits. One Vet., even suggested "putting her down". That was not an option! Within a week, after starting her on Hill's ZD dry food, her scratching has all but ceased. The ugly lesions are quickly clearing, her coat looks healthier and she has even shed a few pounds.(needed) Had someone suggested Hill's, "early on", we and Phoebe, could have eliminated a lot of "angst". "Hill's to the Rescue"
Date published: 2013-12-14
  • y_2017, m_3, d_21, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_300
  • loc_en_US, sid_69629, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrchewy