Hill's Science Diet Adult Light Small Bites Dry Dog Food

  • List Price:


  • Price:

    $39.74 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping over $49

  • You Save:

    $23.15 (37%)

In stock
  • 5-lb bag
  • 17.5-lb bag
  • 33-lb bag
- Quantity +


  • Item Number
  • Weight
    33.0 pounds
  • Brand
  • Breed Size
    Extra Small, Small
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
  • Made in
    United States
  • Special Diet
    Weight Control

Hill's Science Diet Adult Light Small Bites dog food provides precisely balanced nutrition in a smaller kibble for a light, healthy lifestyle. 

Key Benefits

  • Recommended for adult dogs 1-6 years of age the require fewer calories, such as those that are less active or neutered
  • High-quality chicken protein helps maintain lean muscle
  • 19% lower in calories than Adult Advanced Fitness
  • Natural vegetable fibers help satisfy hunger between meals
  • L-carnitine helps convert fat into energy
  • No chicken by-product meal
  • Made in the USA!

See all items by Hill's Science Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Precisely Balanced Nutrition for Adult Dogs

Hill's Science Diet adult dog food provides precisely balanced, easy-to-digest nutrition for a visible difference in adult dogs. These yummy recipes are specially formulated for dogs 1-6 years of age to help improve skin and coat health, maintain strong, lean muscles and support immunity.

Vets' #1 Choice to Feed
Their Own Pets

More than anyone, veterinarians know a healthy dog food when they see one. That's why they give Hill's Science Diet to their own dogs more than any other brand. Hill's works with pet nutritionists to develop recipes with the best dog food standards in mind. These recipes are designed to keep your furry family member healthy and strong so he can enjoy more moments of overwhelming happiness.

The Science Behind Happy

With over 220 veterinarians, Ph.D. nutritionists and food scientists working every day around the world, Hill's is able to create new products and improve existing ones that help your pet live a long, healthy and full life. They pride themselves on wholesome ingredients, precise nutrition and high-quality standards in pet food because they know firsthand that when your dog is healthier, he's happier too.

Natural Recipes Made
in the USA

Hill's is proudly made in the USA with only high-quality protein. Real chicken, lamb or salmon is the first ingredient, along with other natural ingredients sourced from North America, Europe and New Zealand-all free of artificial colors, flavors and preservatives.

Fresh, Whole Food Ingredients

Hill's uses high-quality ingredients to provide the proper balance of essential nutrients for optimal health. Guided by evidence-based research, Hill's formulas are precisely balanced to meet each pet's specific
life-stage, size or special needs.


Excellent insoluble fiber source that supports healthy digestion, and the prebiotic fiber stimulates the growth of the favorable gut bacteria (probiotics).


Rich in Omega-3 fatty acids that improve the shine of the pet's coat and high in fiber that helps move food through the digestive system.


Excellent source of fiber and minerals and a good natural source of beta-carotene, an antioxidant essential for neutralizing free radicals.


Excellent source of vitamin C and unique natural source of tannins (astringents found in plants) that help prevent harmful bacteria from thriving in the urinary tract.


Good source of antioxidants, vitamin A, vitamin C and dietary fiber, which helps with joint problems and promotes overall gastrointestinal health.


Great source of fiber and vitamin C and boosts the immune system, supports skin and heart health and helps the body release toxins.

About Hill's

For more than 70 years, Hill's Pet Nutrition has helped enrich and lengthen the special relationship between people and their pets by putting their passion for balanced pet nutrition into everything they do. With a dedicated team of veterinarians and pet nutritionists involved in the development of all their products, Hill's is able to ensure high-quality pet food to help all pets live a happy and healthy life.

Shop Hill's Pet Nutrition


Chicken Meal, Pea Bran Meal, Whole Grain Sorghum, Whole Grain Wheat, Corn Gluten Meal, Cracked Pearled Barley, Whole Grain Corn, Powdered Cellulose, Chicken Liver Flavor, Dried Beet Pulp, Soybean Oil, Lactic Acid, Flaxseed, Potassium Chloride, Iodized Salt, L-Lysine, Choline Chloride, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Oat Fiber, L-Carnitine, Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, Beta-Carotene, Phosphoric Acid, Natural Flavors, Dried Apples, Dried Broccoli, Dried Carrots, Dried Cranberries, Dried Peas.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 221 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent product and service This product meets all of the needs of my puppy and was suggested mt his vet. and he loves it. August 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy order This is a easy way to get a big bag of dog food, brought right to the door and since I ordered two bags the shipping was free. I have two dogs one is eight and one is four they both eat Science Diet, but a different type. August 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has great features This product does exactly what it says. It fills my dog up with a smaller portion , keeping his weight in check. August 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Have used Hill's Science Diet for a long time. They have all reached 15 years of age or older. This is the first time I've used Chewy.com. Had not heard of it before. Good prices and fast service. I will be using them from now on. July 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have been using this brand for years! I have been feeding this exact food to my dogs for years. Ever since I had a diabetic Dog that needed to drop some weight. It has always kept them at a nice decent weight! They always eat their share and I don't hear any complaints! Lol! July 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service. I purchased Science Diet dog food and Greenies. My order was here the next day. Very happy with your prices and service. Joey loves his food and especially his Greenies. July 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Healthy Dog Food I have a small dog who loves the smaller bites of food. Hills Science Diet Food is good quality dog food at reasonable prices. I alternate this dry food with the canned soft food of the same brand. It maintains my dogs weight at a healthy level. July 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by hills easy to order, have a very good selection. prompt shipping, would recommend to anyone....hassle free experience.. July 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by bag this was my first time at chewy. good fast shipping, but the bag had tape on it. that kinda bugged me, but felt, looked and smell fresh, I wouldn't buy a bag like that at a store, so I don't expect that. June 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! Chewy had super fast free shipping! Will order again! June 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dogs eat it! Got 2 picky eaters but they both can agree on this dry food! June 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far so good... my Pomeranian is a bit over weight and i tried different foods, he would pick and chose the kibbles from the bowl but so far with this food he is eating it all up, fingers crossed that the weight will start coming off! June 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our dogs love this food. We have a 7 year old dog and a 2 year old dog, so I mix the small bite food with the larger kibble and our dogs go after it! The combo suits both dog palates and we never have trouble getting them to eat any more. May 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product was recommended by my vet. So nice to have it delivered and the price was a bonus. May 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product and great customer service Good experience with my order. Thank you for the service. May 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Healthy Food for Obese Dog This is a great food for my little fat beagle I have that is a very easy keeper. I have been able to drop some weight off her and keep her healthy at the same time. Her coat is pretty with a shine and she as lots of energy. May 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeping my dog healthy and shiny. I have a miniature doberman pinscher. This breed is one that not too many people see with their weight under control. When we went to the vet for her one year visit she was over weight, so I switched to the Adult small bite light dry kibble. The results were amazing. She has lost weight and is now down to the 15lbs. the vet said she should be. Not only is she lean and trim, her coat is like patent leather. Everyone who sees her says she is the cleanest dog they have ever seen. They compliment her lean muscle but love that her coat is so shiny and her teeth are so white. I always give credit to Science Diet, because I truly believe the food I give her is the reason for all of it. Thank you very much for making a product my dog and I both love. She gives me so much love, and feeding her a food I am proud of, is one of the ways I give back. :) [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] May 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great option My dogs are really enjoying this food, I had purchase before the one with bigger pellets, but this tiny ones work better, they eat much slower and this definitely helps them not being hungry again so fast!! March 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My picky eaters love this products. Its the perfect bite size, especially for my min pin with him having some of his teeth extracted. Both of my babies love the taste. March 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog acts like he's starving when I serve this! My dog acts like he's starving when I serve this! This is the best price for this size bag, at least that I can find, particularly when you count "free delivery." I like not having to carry that large and heavy bag to the car and inside my house! February 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly Recommend for the Diabetic Dog! If you have a diabetic dog like us then this is the right dry for you that is "not vet buy from only"! This has more fiber in it then "those brands" and it is easier to eat for all types of dogs. It does last longer too as far as how often you have to buy it. At least for me it does. You have to find your balance of how much to give your dog due to weight and size plus if you add anything else to it. But, once you get the just of it things move right a long at eating time. One thing since this is a high fiber kibble you may want to up the going out to potty factor as well until his system gets use to it and you get use to that part as well. They will need more outdoor time. February 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is made by the best company for animals! Chewy is the best site to order your pet products. I have ordered many items from them and they deliver on time and the product is always what you excepted to have delivered! There is not better site for ordering what you need for your animals! January 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vet recommended My dog is diabetic and the lite seems to be doing a great job on keeping her levels good... February 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fuzzy Fuzzy is her name. She came to live with me and my husband after my mother passed away last year. Fuzzy came from a shelter and I didn't want her to go back there so we took her and gave her a forever home. She was pretty fat and she needed to lose weight fast. I have tried alot of different dog foods and this one Hill's Science Diet Adult Light Small Bites really works for her. She loves the food and she is losing weight. She is a very good dog. My mom gave her treats all day long and of cause she gained alot of weight. She is on the road to a slimmer and more fix dog. Thanks for Science Diet. And I love the shipping right to my home. Thanks again Bonny March 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by garbage in garbage out We started with science diet when our vet told us that our dog's food was the cause for him having frequent bowel movements. We was using a grocery store's store brand of dog food. so when we took dog for check up we said to to the vet that it seemed like this dog was having frequent bowel movements. The vet asked us what we was feeding the dog and we told the vet the brand we was using, then the vet said"garbage in garbage out" He said that science diet was a little bit more expensive, but that we would have to use less because the dog's body used most of the stuff in food that dog would be healthier and have less frequent bowel movements. So now happy dog and happy owners. January 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by I didn't realize that it had pork fat in it. Good service and fast delivery so I'm happy with that. I looked at the ingredients and saw only chicken products. I stopped reading when I got to the vitamin list. After I received the order, I realized it has pork fat in it which we definitely do not want in our house. So anyone else with that concern should be aware. November 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Food for somewhat finicky little Yorkies! We have two little Yorkie males (brothers) that are 5 and a half years old. Barney, the larger of the two, is border line Cushings disease. We have had trouble in the past getting them to eat the dry food; they always want something added in order to eat it. The new Science Diet must have a wonderful taste because in the morning I am able to give them just the dry food. I add ground cooked vegetables to their food at night. I know Science Diet is highly recommended by our vet and it is a very good food. I would highly recommend it. Our boys are Barney & Bailey and they add much joy to our lives. We are greatly concerned about their health and want to feed them the best! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] May 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good to drop weight and maintain it!! We started using Hill's Science Diet Adult Light after our veterinarian recommended it for our overweight beagle. (The pet store associate recommended the Small Bites because beagles are a smaller dog, and she seems to eat and digest this size better than when we fed her the regular sized bites). We only have one dog, so she doesn't play with other dogs on a regular basis to expend her energy and it was turning into excess weight. Since starting this food (which she gobbles up, by the way) she has lost some weight and maintained what she has lost. I am very pleased with this food, and will continue to feed it to Bailey to keep her going in the right direction! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] May 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Good a Human would love it!!! I knew just from looking at the packaging that this was the right choice for my 20lb Boston terrier and French Bulldog mix puppy Bella. Immediately I saw the Boston terrier on the bag and I thought that this would be perfect for her. I thought right, she loves it and is very healthy and happier since I started her on it. When I give it to her in the morning and in the evening I sometimes do so even before I myself eat and at times I am tempted to try some myself just because it smells so yummy and it is all natural and healthy. But my better sense gets me and I resist. I will definitely continue feeding my Boston Hills Science diet without question. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] May 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helped with weight I have four dogs. My black lab when he was 1 yr old weighed 92 lbs and he was having hip problems. I was not over feeding and the vet recommend the light science diet large breed. He lost 20 lbs and has no problems anymore. I also have a pug and fed him the small breed light then tried switching because they were out of it. In that one 40 lb bag he gained at least 4 lbs. switched back recently and he is getting his shape back and getting around a lot better. I recommend this food all the time. September 16, 2015
  • 2016-10-22 T05:50:52.358-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_221, tr_221
  • loc_en_US, sid_46243, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>