Hill's Science Diet Adult Small & Toy Breed Dry Dog Food

  • List Price:


  • Price:

    $26.24 FREE 1-2 Day Shipping over $49

  • You Save:

    $12.45 (32%)

In stock
  • 4.5-lb bag
  • 15.5-lb bag
- Quantity +


  • Item Number
  • Weight
    15.5 pounds
  • Brand
  • Breed Size
    Small, Extra Small
  • Food Form
    Dry Food
  • Lifestage
  • Made in
    United States

Hill's Science Diet Adult Small & Toy Breed dog food provides precisely balanced, easy-to-digest nutrition tailored for small and toy breeds.

Key Benefits

  • Recommended for adult dogs 1-6 years of age that weigh up to 25 pounds when full grown
  • High-quality chicken protein
  • Vitamins C & E enhance immunity to support long life expectancy
  • Omega 6 fatty acids for healthy skin and shiny coat
  • Calcium to support bone and muscle strength
  • No chicken by-product meals
  • Made in the USA!

See all items by Hill's Science Diet

Pet lovers also bought...

Precisely Balanced Nutrition for Adult Dogs

Hill's Science Diet adult dog food provides precisely balanced, easy-to-digest nutrition for a visible difference in adult dogs. These yummy recipes are specially formulated for dogs 1-6 years of age to help improve skin and coat health, maintain strong, lean muscles and support immunity.

Vets' #1 Choice to Feed
Their Own Pets

More than anyone, veterinarians know a healthy dog food when they see one. That's why they give Hill's Science Diet to their own dogs more than any other brand. Hill's works with pet nutritionists to develop recipes with the best dog food standards in mind. These recipes are designed to keep your furry family member healthy and strong so he can enjoy more moments of overwhelming happiness.

The Science Behind Happy

With over 220 veterinarians, Ph.D. nutritionists and food scientists working every day around the world, Hill's is able to create new products and improve existing ones that help your pet live a long, healthy and full life. They pride themselves on wholesome ingredients, precise nutrition and high-quality standards in pet food because they know firsthand that when your dog is healthier, he's happier too.

Natural Recipes Made
in the USA

Hill's is proudly made in the USA with only high-quality protein. Real chicken, lamb or salmon is the first ingredient, along with other natural ingredients sourced from North America, Europe and New Zealand-all free of artificial colors, flavors and preservatives.

Fresh, Whole Food Ingredients

Hill's uses high-quality ingredients to provide the proper balance of essential nutrients for optimal health. Guided by evidence-based research, Hill's formulas are precisely balanced to meet each pet's specific
life-stage, size or special needs.


Excellent insoluble fiber source that supports healthy digestion, and the prebiotic fiber stimulates the growth of the favorable gut bacteria (probiotics).


Rich in Omega-3 fatty acids that improve the shine of the pet's coat and high in fiber that helps move food through the digestive system.


Excellent source of fiber and minerals and a good natural source of beta-carotene, an antioxidant essential for neutralizing free radicals.


Excellent source of vitamin C and unique natural source of tannins (astringents found in plants) that help prevent harmful bacteria from thriving in the urinary tract.


Good source of antioxidants, vitamin A, vitamin C and dietary fiber, which helps with joint problems and promotes overall gastrointestinal health.


Great source of fiber and vitamin C and boosts the immune system, supports skin and heart health and helps the body release toxins.

About Hill's

For more than 70 years, Hill's Pet Nutrition has helped enrich and lengthen the special relationship between people and their pets by putting their passion for balanced pet nutrition into everything they do. With a dedicated team of veterinarians and pet nutritionists involved in the development of all their products, Hill's is able to ensure high-quality pet food to help all pets live a happy and healthy life.

Shop Hill's Pet Nutrition


Chicken Meal, Whole Grain Wheat, Brewers Rice, Whole Grain Sorghum, Soybean Meal, Cracked Pearled Barley, Pork Fat, Chicken Liver Flavor, Soybean Oil, Flaxseed, Lactic Acid, Pork Liver Flavor, Dried Carrots, Dried Spinach, Dried Grape Pomace, Dried Tomato Pomace, Dried Citrus Pulp, Iodized Salt, Oat Fiber, Choline Chloride, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Potassium Chloride, Mixed Tocopherols for Freshness, Phosphoric Acid, Beta-Carotene, Natural Flavors.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 146 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dog seems to like it Selecting a food for your furkid is so complicated these days. So many recalls. So many sources telling you what the foods should and should not contain. So many vendors not being open and honest about what actually goes in their products. I went with Science diet on the recommendation of our vet. I don't believe they have had any recalls either. April 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome food My baby's love it when I was putting it in there feeding container they where going crazy to eat it.it really smells like real food it was making me hungry. lol needless To say they are enjoying it very much I just wish it came in a 30lb bag as well as the 15lb I know I would buy it in a heartbeat!!!! I will be telling friends about this wonderful dog food n telling them to try it!! April 17, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Using new food. My dog is just switching from puppy food to adult food. Been having a problem finding something he likes. He seems to like this fed to him with my hand. lol His mouth is very, very small and needs something tiny and it is a great size. I only wish we could buy dog food in sample packages. I have bought so many and just have to give it sway. April 10, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Yorkie likes Science Diet When I adopted my Yorkie his foster mom had just started him on Science Diet and he has been eating it for 2 1/2 years now. Tried changing to a different brand that advertises its got better ingredients but he didn't like it and started having difficulty "doing his business". Switched back to Science Diet Toy & Small dog dry plus Science Diet wet and he hasn't had "business" issues and he likes it. Science Diet seems to making ingredient changes which makes me feel better about feeding him their product. Plus they just made the kibble smaller which is easier for him to chew. There aren't a lot of products out their for toy breeds, and the ones I've seen are extremely expensive. My Yorkie does well on Science Diet, he's got lots of energy, maintains his correct weight and most importantly, he eats it. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] October 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Dog Food - Great service from Chewy.com I have a 4 year old Maltese and a 3.5 year old Poodle. They have eaten this food for the past 2 years and love it! This was my first order from Chewy.com, the order said I would receive it on a Tuesday, 1 week after purchase. I was pleasantly surprised when it arrived 2 days later on a Friday! My dogs and I were very happy! March 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Cavaliers love it. I love the fast service, the non-needed trip to the pet store, and the freshness of the product. April 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is great My sons girlfriend has a yorkie, and he's always been a very picky eater! He would rarely eat at all, so when I decided to get my sons new puppy food, I figured I should get his girlfriends dog some new! I used to work at a vets office and we had several clients would always bought this food for their small dogs. I bought a bag for her dog and he absolutely loves it! They have told me that since they switched his food he eats it all! I will be placing more orders for them in the future! March 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This food makes my dogs' coats shine. My two smooth mini dachshunds love this food. One of them is a picky eater and I had a hard time finding a food that she would eat eagerly. Their coats are soft and so shiny that our vet even commented on it. The higher fiber level in it seems to agree with their digestion better than a lower fiber food did. They have great energy and love to play.The small kibble size is just right for them. I like that the ingredients are named ingredients and not just generic types of ingredients. I also like that the dog food's AAFCO statement is the feediing trial statement and not just the formulated statement. I think you can make any food look good on paper but the proof is in the feeding. I would like to see this product in a larger than 15.5 pound bag. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] May 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great dog food!! My fussy Pomchi will eat this food. She is very fussy and of the few dry foods she will eat this is one. Very small bite size pieces. March 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love the science diet for my dog I love this food product not only is it healthy but it also doesn't leave a smelly poop after she pottys March 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Poodle likes it Finally, Hills Science is using healthy ingredients (in some of their dog food anyway). I would never buy it before because their ingredients was by products and corn. This one for toy dogs has chicken meal, no more by products and no corn and my little 4.5 pound rescue poodle likes it. At the rescue he had to eat what ever was donated, even if it was giant kibble for big dogs. This kibble is perfect size for his tiny little mouth and he loves crunching it away. I do want to switch him over to Farmina Wild Boar eventually, (my cats are eating it and LOVING it) but I have to wait until chewy starts carrying it again, hopefully! December 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall good dog food Our dog adjusted well to this dog food. I was surprised by the amount of servings that was in the bag. A good amount. Only small complaint is it looks really dry so sometimes we put a little oil on it. Overall an great product. January 14, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by A dependable brand! My dog has a very sensitive stomach, and any changes to his menu can cause extra gas and loose stool. I have to say the first day I added this to his dish, yes, it upset his stomach for just that day but just the following morning he was fine, his stool was solid and his gas went away. Typically it takes my dog 3 days for his bowel movements to get back on track, so this proves to me that Science Diet is easily digestible for even the most sensitive of pets. I have a Papillion mix and one of the main reasons why I love this food aside from the ingredients is the size of the kibble! It's hard for me to find dog food that caters to smaller dogs. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] May 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My dog loved this product My dog loves this food. She is usually pretty finicky, but when you put this in her bowl, she loves it. It is nice and small for small dogs to eat. January 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product My dog has a sensitive stomach and can't eat just any brand of food. However, all of Hills Science Diet foods allow him to enjoy food and snacks that don't upset him and that he seemingly loves. He always eats everything in his bowl and I have peace of mind knowing he's getting a nutritious meal. December 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply the BEST!! I have a 4 year old toy poodle, I have been feeding him Hills Science Diet since he was 5 months old. I obtained a sample pouch from my Vet, and have used the small and toy breed formula, first for puppies, then adult after he had his 1st birthday. I would not use or trust any other brand for my dog. He is healthy, maintains a healthy weight, and has shiny, soft hair and eyes!!! With all of the recent scares in dog food, I KNOW my pet is safe!!! Hills is made in the USA, and he LOVES the bite sized flavor kibble!!! THANK YOU Hills for making a superior product that we can rely on for the happy healthy life of my toy poodle!!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] August 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this Food! I have trusted this brand for my dog since the day I picked him up. The pet store highly recommended this dog food and explained why...it's real, natural food my dog would eat. If you look at it as this dog food is like cooking a nice home cooked, healthy meal for your dog everyday compared to other name brand dog food that you buy in supermarkets that are like bringing your dog to McDonald's everyday. And it's true! Have you ever read what is in your dog food?!?! I trust this brand and my dog loves it! Every now and then I add warm chicken broth to it as a treat for my dog. I would not change brands, ever! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] May 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing improvement in dog My 13 yo Pomeranian is like a puppy again. She loves the food, but its the energy, healthy coat, and overall change in her that pleases me most. I recommended Science diet to all who care about their pets December 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sadie finds these tiniest of kibble easiest to chew I mix her Tbls of wet food, a Tbls of water with one third cup of this tiny kibble, and she eats every bite. December 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Promotes Healthy Skin and Coat, and Maintains Ideal Weight I have an 18 month old Chihuahua named Lulu Belle, and I have fed her Hills Science Diet foods since the day she came home to live with me. She was the runt of her litter, and I was afraid she would stay tiny forever, but with the help of Hills Science Diet foods she has reached her full adult weight of 5 pounds! The vet always comments on how healthy her skin and coat look, and praises her weight as being "just right". I really like the fact that Hills Science Diet foods and treats come in a variety of age and weight varieties, making it ideal to continue feeding it at any stage of life. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] May 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast delivery Really good experiences from ordering from this site. I got a great deal on the dog food we have been buying from our vet for years! December 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Transition time! My Jack Russell Terrier female just turned one year. The vet suggested we pull her off Hill's small breed puppy food and transition her to the adult small and toy breed so that she wouldn't get fat. Not likely, as active is she is, but anyway, she's not a baby anymore. She had no trouble transitioning and truly, given a choice, any dog in our extended family, will choose Science Diet over any other food we have offered. So...another 5 Star rating for Hill's Science Diet! Thanks for the great product. July 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My fur babies love it. I have been feeding my chihuahuas Hill's Science Diet from the time I got them and they seem to do very well on it. December 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great dog food Our Yorkie has been on this food since she was 4 months old and does very well with this food. It is cheaper for me to order through Chewey than purchasing it at the pet stores! November 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Quality For the Money All my pets have been science diet babies.They have all done great on this food and lived long healthy lives so I will never change to a different food.My yorkie loves the food and we also use science diet treats. When my friends get pets I always try to get them to use science diet to. You get what you pay for.I also appreciate that I can usually get coupons for the food on the hills website as that always helps. Thanks for asking ... August 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Adults 1-6 This is the food for our two friends that are adults but not seniors. They need more vitiamns and protein to stay healthy than my older girl needs . Chewy has something for all of our pets needs. November 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent taste for small teacup dogs. My teacup poodle, Bonnie, loves the Small Bites. I recently changed to the Advanced Formula for Small Dogs. She likes it even better. She has done really great on this food. She was rescued from a puppy mill in Tennessee and we have never fed her anything buy Science Diet Small Bites. I am considering changing to Oral Care because her teeth are bad, She developed 2 sets of teeth before we got her, due to the poor diet she was fed. We had one set pulled, but now she has poor teeth. She only weighs 3 lbs and is the light of our life. Science Diet made her healthy. July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nothin Better I have given this to my dogs since they were old enough to eat it. Never have I had a problem with them refusing it and when any other dogs are at my house, I can't keep them out of it! My wife's stepdad brings his dog and can't understand it. I tell him why! It's just the best! October 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Preferred My dog prefers this food to any other. She won't eat other including canned food. This brand was recommended by her vet. November 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy order; super fast delivery I was running out of dog food for my 2 dogs and didn't realize it until Monday. I knew I wasn't going to get to the store until the weekend so I took a chance and ordered. I am happy I did. Chewy made everything easy and the food was delivered in 2 days! I had free delivery and the price was comparable (or less) than what I would pay at my local store. I was so satisfied with the service that i setup the auto delivery. Now I don't have to carry 30 pounds of dog food. Would definitely reccomend to others. April 24, 2013
  • 2016-10-26 T05:49:20.083-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_146, tr_146
  • loc_en_US, sid_46261, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>